Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

White's Boots, Inc.

Phone: (509) 535-2422 View Additional Phone Numbers 4002 E Ferry Ave, Spokane, WA 99202 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.whitesboots.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

White's Boots is an ISO-9001 certified boot manufacturer. For over a century, White's Boots has established a tradition of building a fine quality boot. The management and employees of White's Boots recognize this and take great pride to continue the legacy today and into the future. Continuous quality improvement is the tool that provides White's Boots the ablity to build boots that endure the test of time to meet and exceed customer's expectations in value and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that White's Boots, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for White's Boots, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on White's Boots, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1955 Business started: 01/01/1902 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1902 Business incorporated 07/01/1959 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kelly Moreland, Customer Service Manager Mr. Gary March, President and CEO Mr. Steve Scheller, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kelly Moreland, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Shoes - Custom Made Shoes - Retail Clothing - Retail Shoe Manufacturers Supplies Boots Coffee & Tea

Method(s) of Payment
All Major credit cards, checks, and cash.
Refund and Exchange Policy
All returns must be pre-approved by White's Return Department. A return authorization (RA) number can be obtained by calling our Customer Service Department at (800) 541-3786. All returned merchandise must be shipped prepaid to: White's Boots Inc. at 4002 E. Ferry Ave., Spokane, WA 99202, with the RA number clearly marked on the outside of the shipping container.



Returns can also be made at our store location, but must include original sales slip.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

White's Boots, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4002 E Ferry Ave

    Spokane, WA 99202 (800) 541-3786 (509) 535-1875 (509) 535-2422

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/28/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pair of Whites Boots Hawthorne Explorers before the 2015 fire season. The beginning of the season was slow, and I used them primarily just for hiking. Halfway through the 6 month season, after only a handful of days on actual wildfires, the boots starts breaking down and soon had totally fallen apart. The leather quickly burned through in several places, and the front toe of one boot came totally removed from the sole, opening a flap that had to be taped until I could get a replacement boot. This to me represents a defect in material (shoddy leather that became seriously damaged prematurely) and craftmanship (poor boot to sole lacing the resulted in the opening of the toe flap). The Whites warranty : "White's and Hathorn brand boots are unquestionably warranted to be free of defects in material and workmanship one year from date of purchase."

Desired Settlement: I contacted Whites, and upon request sent in my pair of damaged boots. They would not grant me a full refund of the boots, even after I offered to take the refund in store credit. I believe that a full refund of the boots is in order, according to their stated warranty and my boot breakdown timeline.

Business Response: Our warranty is a one year warranty from date of purchase which covers manufacturing defects and materials defect. General wear and tear or abuse to a boot do not fall under warranty. Upon inspection and evaluation of the customer's boots and evidenced by the attached photos, the customers boots were not properly cared for, fit improperly and suffered extreme conditions. The sole is worn nearly flat in sections, the leather is severely abraded on the counter pockets and the toe leather to the point there is no toe leather left in places. The boots traversed terrain with sharp objects evidenced by cuts and heavy abrasions. The leather was also very hard which indicates lack of leather conditioner to the leather and in conjunction with the abrasion from the rocky terrain, caused the stitching to no longer have anything of substance to grasp to. The stitching around the heel leather is worn through and is no longer there, the backstay leather is cracked clear through on both boots. When a defect on the boots occur, it generally occurs in one location. With the overall wear from the sole being worn down, to the boots rolling over, the abrasions on the toe and counter, the backstay being cracked in half, the welt giving way, the counter pocket stitching abraded through, the boots suffered from heavy wear and tear, not a defect. The customer was offered a 20% discount off any boot of his choosing due to his dissatisfaction but declined the offer and his boots were promptly returned to him.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The bottom line is the boots barely saw 3-4 weeks of actual wildfire before they broke down. The fires the boots were on were  also not particularly hot. I am a loyal customer, this was my third pair of explorers, so I know what to expect and what's normal and what's not. Total breakdown after barely a month of wildfire use is premature. So general wear and tear or abuse voids the warranty, fine. Neither thing happened here, the boots were worked out in for two months then saw less that a month of very moderate heat. Again, this was a major safety concern, I was forced to tape and glue the boots for half a roll due to their rapid breakdown. As a gesture of comprimise, i offered to take my refund in store credit instead of cash, but my offer was rejected.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: Dear Sir. To resolve this issue, upon a timely return of your Hathorn Explorer’s to our facility, we will be willing to place an in store credit towards a pair of White’s manufactured boots on your account in the amount of $239.19. The credit from this boot will act as fulfillment of warranty. In the future if an issue with a purchase arises, we do ask that the boots be sent in when the issue occurs rather than delaying the return by several months. We will continue following our warranty policy by warrantying defects in materials and workmanship but not wear and tear. We trust it is now better understood what is considered a defect and what is considered wear and tear. Thank you, White’s Boots

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered custom measured boots in July 2013 from an authorized dealer. Over the last 15 months I have been unable to get the boots to feel comfortable. White's has tried to stretch the boots without success. I paid $460 for the boots( this does not include all of the postage and travel money I have spent), now they want another $110 to relast the boots.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a pair of custom made boots that actually fit/are comfortable to wear.

Business Response: Mr. ***** ***** purchased this pair of boots from a store named ******** ***** in Alliance Nebraska in August 2013. ******’s Shoe Store purchases White’s Boots wholesale from us, to stock and sell in their retail store. Mr. ***** was fit for a pair of boots at ******’s, and they submitted a request for a pair of custom boots to be manufactured for him. We constructed the boots as ******’s directed and shipped them to ******’s ***** in Alliance Nebraska, on August 15, 2013, for their customer. Mr. ***** contacted us directly, at the factory on November 22, 2013 informing us these boots did not fit. We encouraged Mr. ***** to contact ******’s ***** Store, directly to request assistance with any issues that he may have, as they would be responsible to honor any guarantees to the customer. Mr. ***** stated that he had since moved from Nebraska to California and he was unable to return the boots to the store he purchased them from because of the distance. We told Mr. ***** that because of the unusual circumstances, we would be happy to adjust the boots for him by either attempting to stretch the boots at no charge including free shipping OR rebuild the boots to a new size for half the cost. The boots were received into our factory from Mr. ***** on November 26, 2013. I gave Mr. ***** a call and asked him whether he would like the boots to be stretched or rebuilt. Mr. ***** requested that we stretch the boots for him at no charge which we did. The boots were returned to Mr. ***** December 4, 2013 and Mr. ***** wore them and did not contact us again until April 28th, 2014 when he said that the boots have developed a squeak and he wanted to know how the squeak could be eliminated at which time he did not mention any more issues with the size not working after we had stretched them. I informed Mr. ***** we are more than willing to remove the squeak for him. Mr. ***** returned the boots on May 19, 2014 with a request to remove the squeak. We removed the squeak for him and returned the boots on May 29, 2014 at no charge. On July 25, 2014, Mr. ***** emailed us and said that he had shipped the boots to ******’s ***** Store, in Nebraska because he just does not want them anymore. We have had no further requests or conversation with Mr. *****. Therefore I am unsure why Mr. ***** has a complaint with White's Boots and not ******’s *****, the store where he purchased the boots. I called ******** ***** on October 9, 2014 and the sales associate who helped Mr. ***** said that they have his boots and they are unsure why Mr. ***** has not been in contact with them or expressed complaints directly to them. ******** ***** store said they will be willing to guarantee their fit, and they will be returning the boots to us at the factory, to be resized according to Mr. ***** request. I have also contacted Mr. ***** and told him to please let us know the size boot he would like to have these reworked to. I am sorry Mr. ***** feels that he has received unsatisfactory customer service, as we have always been willing to go above and beyond his requests.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on White's Boots, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart