BBB Accredited Business since

Akland Pump and Irrigation

Phone: (509) 452-7867 View Additional Phone Numbers 3701 Fruitvale Blvd, Yakima, WA 98902 http://www.aklandpump.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Akland Pump and Irrigation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Akland Pump and Irrigation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Akland Pump and Irrigation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 05, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1949 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1949 Business incorporated 10/27/1983 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Curtis C. Akland, President General Manager Mr. Mark C. Akland, Secretary Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Curtis C. Akland, President General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark C. Akland, Secretary Treasurer
Business Category

Pumps - Service & Repair Irrigation Systems & Equipment Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems

Alternate Business Names
A K Leasing, Inc.
Licensing

General Contractor   AKLANPC136NL; Electrical Contractor  AKLANP1898RH


Additional Locations

  • 3701 Fruitvale Blvd

    Yakima, WA 98902 (509) 452-7867

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Representative arrived onsite to address water issue. Representative stated well pump needed pulled. Representative stated that access needed to well house and he would be back. Akland Pump arrived back onsite to pull pump and another representative stated pump is in working condition. I decided to have another company come out and fix the actual problem, which had nothing to do with the well pump. When the other company came out to fix actual problem, they uncovered that Akland Pump had left the well house door open and broke the heat light that kept the pump from freezing during winter weather, which caused the pump to freeze. Not happy with their services. Called Akland Pump and discussed this issue with them. Another company fixed all issues, including damage by Akland Pump.

Desired Settlement: Pay for damages and time of other company to fix Akland Pump carelessness, which damaged my property.

Business Response: At 3:30 pm on January 14, 2013 we received an "OUT OF WATER" service call request to go to 30 Tampico Park Road.  It was about dark when our service technician arrived and there was about 2 feet of snow on the access to the pumphouse.  The door to the pumphouse was closed and secured with 4 or 5 screws.  Upon access we found the heat lamp bulb broken and no light in the pumphouse.  Upon system checkout we determined the tank had failed and there were no isolation valves between the pumphouse and the mobile home.  Not seeing any evidence of leaks in the snow between the pumphouse and the mobile home we determined that the pump should be pulled and checked.  The customer was to provide access to the pumphouse for a boom truck and replace the heat lamp bulb.  We then secured the pumphouse door and left.  The following morning we called to check that access was established.  We promptly returned and lifted the pump up off the pitless adapter and varified that the pump performance was ok.  Not seeing any visible leaks in the pumphouse or in the snow between the pumphouse and the mobile home we observed multiple large gaps in the mobile home skirting.  Upon viewing through one of there large gaps we could see multiple leaks spraying under the mobile home.  At this time we again recommended that the customer replace the failed heat lamp in the pumphouse and contract with a licensed plumber to repair the under mobile home leaks.  We then again closed the pumphouse door and secured it with the screws.  By the way, unless the tank has been replaced it still needs to happen ASAP.  We did not enter the area under the mobile home and saw no leaks in the pumphouse.  Therefore, we were not careless, we did not break their failed heat lamp, and did not cause any unnecessary damage to customers property.  Although we had more hours into the job we did discount the labor to only 2 man hours. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9415433, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******



Amelia Mills,
 
I am ***** ******s son ******* *******.
 
I am the one who filled out the complaint on the BBB website. I am the co owner of the property at ** ******* ** ** with my mother.
 
Mine and her concerns are, Akland Pump arrived onsite to address water issue. As in their statement "Upon viewing through one of there large gaps we could see multiple leaks spraying under the mobile home".
 
This would be impossible due to freezing temperatures if the heat lamp was broken in the well house prior to their arrival. The pump would have froze up, thus not letting water to the house plumbing. Not once was the heat lamp brought up by Akland Pump and the well house door was left open by Akland Pump.
 
As I stated in the complaint, the water issue was fixed by another company; however, we had to pay the other company to address Akland Pumps careless actions in the well house. 
Thank you,
 
******* S ******* Jr


Business Response:

Customer states    " Akland Pumps careless actions in the well house "  were the cause of their complaint.  Lets review our " careless actions ".    We arrived at the sight at dark.  There was no light or heat in the well house.  With a flashlight we trouble shot the failed pumping system.  We determined that the tank was bad and the test results were a possible stripped spline between the pump and motor.  To check this, access for a boom truck needed to be provided through the snow.  We then communicated with **** ( the mother at the home ) these facts and closed the well house door.  The following day we arrived at the sight and lifted the pump off the pitless adapter and checked the pump performance, determining that the pump was actually pumping pressure and air charged the failed tank.  Now in daylight we looked for where the water was actually flowing and located massive leaks under the mobile home.  Our recommendation at this point was that they needed to contract with a licensed plumber for this repair.  We then again instructed **** that there was a bad heat lamp and failed tank in the well house.  After again checking that there were no visable leaks in the well house, where all our work had been performed, we closed the well house door and secured it with the screws the way it was when we had arrived.  Not having solved their water problem we did not charge for the boom and discounted the labor rate to 2 minimum calls.  

We would like to communicate with the plumber that was contracted to repair the leaks under the mobile home.  Please forward that information and a copy of their billing.  There were no leaks in the well house when we left the jobsight, so, we would like to varify the work this plumber needed to do in the well house. 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9415433, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

******,ID 9415433
This is the feedback I received,


Thank you,
 
******* S ******* Jr






Business Response:

I fail to find our answer I sent on 3/5/13.  I kept a copy so I will enter it again as you must not have received it.

 

The plumber found and isolated the leak under the mobile home but did not repair the leak.  The leak is after an isolation valve tee off the main line into the mobile home.  The leak under the mobile home is in the plumbing to a hose bib valve for irrigation.  The plumber found the door of the pump shed ajar.  This door is plywood secured with screws.  When we left the premises the pumping system was functional and not frozen up and the plywood access was securely closed and fastened with screws.  The door was not ajar.  However, the heat lamp was not functional.  The glass portion of the bulb was separated from the screw in base portion with the base remaining in the socket.  We did not touch the bulb but did notify the customer of the failed condition and the urgency of replacement as it was freezing weather.  Of course, without heat in the pump shed the pressure switch and relief valve are the first things to freeze, causing the system to fail.  Remember, the tank still needs to be replaced as our air charge is only a temporary fix.  Before irrigation season the plumbing to the hose bib valve also needs to be repaired.

In addition,  it should be noted that our billing is considerably smaller than what should have been charged for the work performed.  The first call was after hours in the dark  with a trip all the way out to Tampico and back  at overtime rate.  That trip would normally be billed at $ 255.00 plus sales tax.  Then the next day we had a boom truck fee and labor that should normally be an additional $ 330.00 plus tax.  We only billed the customer a total of $ 170.00 plus tax.  And, we are still waiting for dollar one.  We would appreciate prompt payment.

**** ******, President  

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9415433, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
***** ******

We have provided a detailed response for Akland Pump's representatives carelessness, which is documented in the report that was provided to the BBB. Prior to that, we stated our position and concerns about Akland Pumps billing and their damage to our property. Upon Akland Pumps requested, a report was provided by a plumber which is on file with the BBB. 


Akland Pump's position is customer satisfaction, quality work, and respect. I ask for this to follow during these proceedings. We ask that Akland Pump take responsibility for the damages that their representative caused to our property.