BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Property Management Investment Group, LLC

Phone: (208) 457-9723 Fax: (866) 355-0049 614D E Seltice Way Ste D, Post Falls, ID 83854 http://www.mypmig.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Property Management Investment Group, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Property Management Investment Group, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Property Management Investment Group, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 22, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1981 in ID Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated: 02/23/2012 in ID
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Darlene Berry, Owner
Related Businesses
Idaho Management Group, LLC Property Management of Idaho LLC
Business Category

Property Management Apartment Sharing Service

Additional Information

In addition to the types of business provided in this report, Property Management Investment Group also provides services in regard to commercial rentals.


Additional Locations

  • 614D E Seltice Way Ste D

    Post Falls, ID 83854 (208) 457-9723

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted PMIG on their website's "contact us" link several days ago about a particular property I am interested in renting. Since I have not received a response from PMIG, I called their office today. I was treated in an extremely rude manner by two staffers. I don't know the name of the first woman who spoke to me, but the second woman identified herself as *** ***** and said she was in charge of collections. After being treated rudely by *** *****, I asked to speak to the owner of the business and my request was denied. I then asked *** ***** for the owner's name and she again refused to give me any avenue of bringing my complaint to anyone but herself. On PMIG's website it states: "Our friendly and exceptional service sets us apart from other property management companies who fail to match our extensive resources and long-standing relationships with the community."I did not receive friendly or exceptional service. I was treated in a rude and disrespectful manner which is inexcusable for any service-related business. As a business owner, I would want to know if my employees were tarnishing my reputation by treating potential customers like I was treated today.

Desired Settlement: I would like the opportunity to inform the owner of PMIG how negatively I now view this business based on what transpired during the telephone conversation today with two of their employees as well as receiving no follow-up on my inquiry sent on their website.

Business Response:

In response to the complaint #*******, I've been made aware of this complainant and the events that transpired.  According to the two staff members who spoke with the complainant, it was reported she has contacted the office repeatedly with regard to one specific property.  She continually requests the rent be lowered so she can afford to rent it.  She has not viewed the property, nor has she submitted a rental application.  At this time, the owner is not interested in lowering rent on any property to accommodate an inquiry, without submission of rental application and is unknown whether or not even qualifies with our company.  This has been explained to the complainant who apparently became increasingly agitated and is unsatisfied with the response to her inquiry by our staff members. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response PMIG provided to my initial complaint is inaccurate. I have not contacted this business "repeatedly with regard to one specific property'. The facts are that I telephoned the business on one occasion and I filled out their "contact us" form on their website once. Furthermore, the statement that I "continually request the rent be lowered so she can can afford to rent it" is misleading and offensive. I simply requested that the owner of the property be given the opportunity to consider my proposal, which was flately and rudely dismissed by PMIG staff. I do not believe PMIG is serving the best interest of the property owner by not allowing him/her to make an informed decision that would result with a long-term tenant and less turnover; ultimately keeping more money in the hands of the landlord. Based on the response from PMIG, it seems the owner/manager of this business is either clueless as to how negatively some staff are treating potential customers or is simply apathetic. Adding an additional cloud on the reputation of this business, the advertised rental amount on the property I inquired about has just been reduced.

Regards,

***** ******




Business Response:

 Is the purpose of the complaint to lower the rent enough to suit her income?  It is true that last week we lowered the rent;  her complaint gives the impression that we lowered the rent significantly.  In truth, we lowered it by $25/month to the bottom of the approved range.  This would not have been significant enough to appease the complainant in her quest to lower the rent enough to fit her income. 

As an additional note; the complainant has lodged this complaint without submitting an application.  We qualify applicants based on income, background and rental history.  Without this basis, we are unable to ascertain whether this person's application would qualify.

The complainant states that two employees were rude to her.  What is her desired resolution?  She relates the desire to give the property owner the "opportunity" to entertain her proposal, and asked for personal information and contact details for the property owner, the responses she received were immediate .  Perhaps, she received direct, (not rude), answers to her questions due to her asking the two employees whose desks face each other, the same exact questions and that our employees are knowledgeable of the properties, property owners' requirements and desires and are aware of confidentiality agreement between our company and the property owners.  We do not provide property owner information to Tenants, other property owners and mere inquiries.

We have no idea the purpose of this complaint.   At this time, the complainant has received the answers to her questions but has stated no true resolution to her complaint.  We believe we have invested the utmost time available to her complaint and are unable to expend more.  We wish her well in her search for affordable housing. 

 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This complaint process has gone on long enough. I have invested far too much of my time on a business that obviously doesn't care about customer service or genuine customer complaints. I haven't even received so much as an apology for the rude treatment I experienced. This company is unbelievably complacent and smug. Treating potential customers in this manner will most certainly come back to bite them. I, for one, will not hesitate to tell as many people as I can how unprofessional and dishonest this company has treated me. Their last reply takes the cake; I NEVER once asked for the owner's private information! Furthermore, I never stated any of my financial proposal information to any of their staff members and for this company to presume to have that knowledge is completely asinine.
 
This will be my last post regarding the abhorant way PMIG has handled my complaint when all I asked for was a simple phone call from the owner of PMIG and an apology. Now, I truly hope that the BBB will infact post this unresolved complaint so that others may discover how they go out of their way to alienate potential tennants. Their property owners have a right to know how they do business.
 
Regards,

***** ******




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: REceived a phone call today from some lady at this office telling me my water bill was over by 9.95 and that I must come to pay it right now. I explained it was 430 in the afternoon and I could not come at this moment I was at work. I told her I would bring it on Monday with the rent and she got irrate with me as rent is not accepted over the counter only by mail. I asked to speak to the manager she told me "No", I asked to speak to ******** teh office manager, she refused and told me that I am only going ot deal with her and her only as she is screaming at me. I asked again for ******** she informed me that ******** is not her boss and if I had a problem with that to come down there and face her in person. I was threatened, screamed at and harrassed by this employee. I come to find out it is the managers sister and she is doing this to others and hey allow this. I was so threatened I even call the police. I have asked multiple times for a Manager instead of an out of control irrate employee and I still can not get a Manager's name or phone number to call. I want out of the lease fro this company as I am worried for my safety with this lady. She knows where I live and I live with a small child. This is how they conduct business. I looked at my lease agreement and it states, I am to get the bill in writing and i have 10 days to pay it. She called me at 4:30 on a Friday afternoon and demanded it get paid today. According to her she received the bill today. Where is my letter in writing and my 10 days to pay it. I am not deliquent on rent, on this bill. I want a number for a manager. I called ******** on her cell phone that I had from when I was looking at the place to rent and she agreed that this lady was completely out of control and out of line but said there is nothing that she could do because of her relationship to the manager. I want the owners name and a number to file a complaint other.

Desired Settlement: I am scared for my and my sons safety in this house we are renting from this company and want out of this contract from them so that I do not have to worry about our safety every day. I do not want to have to call the police every month that she thinks she is allowed to call and harrass tentants for no reason. I am worried of what this lady might do. I am so scared of what she could do if she threatens over the phone I have taken my son to a hotel for the night. I cant get a name of a Manager.

Business Response:

This is very much over exaggerated, she was told in August and September that all rents must be mailed into the address on her contract, she was referred to her contract again on Friday the 27th, we understand that since she works across the street from the office at ******** **** **** that this would be much easier for her to drop her rent off but when you have over 250 people trying to drop their rent off the same day this becomes a disaster, as for the conversation that took place there were 3 of us in the office at the time which we did hear the whole conversation, she was told that she does have overages and we also need a copy of her renters insurance and she stated that she would pay it with the rent  at the office next week, she was then instructed that rent must be mailed to the office and at that time she demanded to talk with the management and *** told her that she was in charge of collections and she started yelling and *** asked her to stop yelling and then *** said have a good day and hung up. This is not about the overages, this is about not wanting to mail the rent or provide us with renters insurance in accordance with her contract. As for a police report this is unknown since no one has contacted our office and filling a false report is against the law. We do have cameras and audio in our office for this reason. As for letting this person out of her lease because she feels threatened is once again an exaggeration, if she would like to move we cannot make her stay but we will hold her to her lease. She spoke with ******** the office manager on Friday and ******** apologized for any misunderstanding that she might have had and explained her contract to her so there would be no miscommunication in the future.

Below is ***'s response:

On September 27th, 2013 I contacted ****** regarding her water overages and to arrange payment, ****** said she would be in on 9/30/2013 to pay the overages and rent, ****** was reminded at that time she needed to bring in a copy of her renter's insurance and she needed to refer to her contract that states all rents must be mailed in unless other arrangements are made in advance, ****** became very hostile demanding to speak with ********, the manager. I explained to ****** that I am in charge of collections and that she needs to make payment arrangements with me, ****** continued to yell and scream at me, she was asked to stop but didn't I then told her to have a good day and disconnected the call. As of this date we still do not have a copy of the renter's insurance.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
The water overage has never been sent to me. I would like for someone to produce this audio that they have proving I was yelling at them. I have 3 witness in my office of that conversation.  What they have said is complete lies. 
But does not surprise me since *** is allowed to do anything since she is the managers sister. I still do nor have a name of the manager in the office either. 
Regards

***** ******




Business Response:

In the original complaint, the complainant claims she was spoken to extremely and unnecessarily brusquely.  When she asked to speak to ********, (Office Manager), her request was refused and contacted ******** via personal mobile number.  After a brief relay of the event, ******** apologized for the misunderstanding.  The complainant also states that she would like out of the rental contract; attached is a copy of the complainant’s rental agreement.  The complainant (tenant) may break her contract prior to the end of term, but needs to be aware that should she make that decision, she will end up forfeiting Security Damage Deposit, and any damages will be charged. 

There is a continuing thread with regard to providing proof of renters’ insurance by the tenant (complainant).  Within the rental agreement, page 5, item 23, tenants are required to provide proof of renters’ insurance.  This is still required per the rental agreement and  is requested that this be provided by Friday, October 11, 2013.

The complainant’s second response was that PMIG’s response did not resolve her complaint.  The invoice for the water/sewer/garbage overages is attached and has also been forwarded to the complainant’s personal email.  The oversight in the manner notifications of water/sewer/garbage overages are being relayed has been corrected and in the event there are overages next month, the complainant should see an emailed invoice.  As for the continual aside, that *** is the managers sister, is not illegal for business’ to hire family members and would not be surprising if the complainants own employer participated in that practice also and therefore has no bearing in this complaint. 

Consumer Response:

Here is a copy of the sent renters insurance ot the company and that it was received by them on 10/8. I still would like resolution on why I was not allowed to speak to a manager.? Nor have I been given a name or phone number to reach them. As they said in their email, I was refused to speak to the Office Manager. So if there is another complaint I am assuming I will need to go to the BBB to get it resolved as they are not furnishing that information. I also would like to be reassurred that since *** is in Collections and my account is not a collection account that I will not be receiving any phone calls from her on any matter unless I am past a due date. ******** has been absolutely the only one in their offices that has any kind of customer service skills. Thsi will not resolved until I am able to get a number and name of a Manager that I will not be refused to speak to, and confirmation that I will not receive a phone call unless my account is in default from ***. Also would like to know about the Audio they through out in the first response was that supplied?  

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ******




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This rental management company has created a lucrative business by using little underhanded maneuvers that while would be considered legal are created to drain the pockets of tenants of their rental properties and prevent tenants from being "comfortable and safe" in the properties that they call their home.I have put up with numerous issues, and maintenance problems that have been reported multiple times, been personally injured more than once due to faulty wiring, and maintenance. There was over 600 volts of electricity going through the garage door and I was severly shocked each time I opened or closed the door. That was eventually fixed, but the wiring in the shop and garage is still not grounded and very old, dangerous wiring. Several containers of old oil and other mechanical fluids were dumped on the ground outside the garage by the maintenance man a few weeks after I moved in here. The smell made it almost unbearable to come and go for days. I was told it was okay, it would disappear shortly. The toilet has had a leak since moving in last July, I have told them several times yet it still leaks. I gave a list of repairs needed to the office manager three months ago, but the maintenance man has not been here for over six months. There is not enough room to list all the issues I have dealt with here while at the same time being charged over $1000 in "penalties" for supposed violations to the rental agreement, that border on ridiculous. I have had so many people tell me that they rented from this company and were ripped off in similar manner and no one ever gets their deposit returned at all. Now I have been given a three day vacate notice because there is no current lease agreement. The last time I talked to the office the office manager was going to talk to the owner and the landlord about additional charges to the new lease and get back to me. She has never called back and now wants to say it is my fault we have no lease and I am being charged double rent.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the double rent fees dropped for May and June, any future one year leases actually be for 12 months, not 11 months. The company should be held responsible for finalizing the new lease agreement after they never got back to me as promised. I would like to be able to continue living here with my fellow renters without feeling uncertain as to what their next little financial game is going to be that is going to drain my pocket book and put extra money in their coffers.

Business Response:

In review, this tenant's complaint revolves around several issues that have long since been resolved from the beginning of her tenancy in July 2012. An electrical issue in the garage in which she claims was "severely shocked" several times, was addressed and corrected immediately upon her eventual report of the problem. The garage that was “created” for the Tenant’s benefit, and scheduled removal of items from the garage space, were to be addressed by the property owners themselves and their hired independent contractors, however, the scheduling did not meet with the tenant's time-table, so an independent contractor removed the drums himself, at his own expense.  Apparently, the manner in which he had to hoist the full drums of fluids did not meet tenant’s approval, even though, they were removed immediately when she unceremoniously “dumped” several items at our office to prove her disdain over the time-table she thought these things should have been addressed.  The toilet “leak” which the Tenant is referring is inside the water tank itself.  Any maintenance required has been completed by an independent maintenance contractor who visited the property twice for the same reported issue.  It is unknown why this continues to be a problem for the tenant but as it is currently not posing a health or safety issue, it will be addressed as per the schedule of an independent subcontractor.     

With regard to the penalties the Tenant wishes to address, in fact, are valid violations or defaults (breach) of contract.  The tenant was required to transfer electric/gas utilities into her name upon signing the original lease in July of 2012.  The property owner was still receiving current utility billings well into October 2012 and notified our office of such at that time.  The possibility the Tenant was paying a very large utility billing from a previous address and “thought services were transferred” for the current address could have been the reason she did not transfer the services into her own name.  Failure to transfer utilities into their name is breach of contract and the tenant was defaulted as such.  By the time the services were transferred the combined total of those bills reached approximately $130.00 plus default fees of $150 per occurrence ( of which totaled 2) in addition to 2 defaults of an unauthorized animal on the premises.  The penalty of the unauthorized animal was either immediate removal of the animal or by providing the required documentation and fee for an additional animal ($200.00).  The tenant elected to give the animal away and was considering giving it to an animal shelter when the property manager offered to adopt the animal herself.  It was upon adoption of the animal it was discovered that this animal was not “house trained” and is concerned due to the length of time this animal was in the home, has caused urine and feces damage to the carpet and underlayment.  In March of this year (2013) the tenant was unusually late with rent.  Several attempts to contact the tenant by office staff as well as the maintenance subcontractor to inquire of payment resulted in no response from the tenant.  Finally, the tenant was served a 3-Day Notice to Pay or Vacate, as is documented in the rental agreement.  A family member saw the notice posted on the door and contacted the office with information the tenant was “out of town”.  Regardless, rent is still required to be paid on time and penalties are assessed in the event of non-payment.  The tenant’s statement of “ridiculous penalties” is ludicrous on her part.  While over the past year, the Tenant has paid approximately $1000.00 in late fees and penalties, these charges are indeed, valid penalties.  These are penalties the tenant is well aware of, and agreed to with the signing of the rental agreement.  Most recently, the tenant acquired (2) roommates and correctly submitted applications for such to the office, upon review and submission to the property owner, an increase of rent, water/sewer/garbage rate, and security/damage deposit was requested by the property owner upon lease renewal.  On verbal notification on or about April 15, 2013, (well within the state of Idaho requirements prior to lease agreement expiration) the aforementioned increases would take place – the tenant refused the increase, siting several updates she offered to make at her own expense and were approved by the property owner at the beginning of the rental term.  The office manager did say she would inform the property manager and property owner of “the improvements to the property” the tenant had made but that the answer would probably be the same, based on the addition of two (2) roommates (the increase of wear and tear, and increase of water/sewer/garbage).  Even though the tenant has blatantly refused the increase in rent and deposit, the tenant also refuses to acknowledge the current rental agreement as it is in the “at will” tenancy (as noted Item 3c – Holdover). The renewal in its original offer is still valid.  The tenant does not have to move, however would be required to enter into a new rental agreement, at the new rental rate.  The rent would be increased to $1220.00 plus $95.00 for water/sewer/garbage (not including overages) plus the addition of $400.00 to increase the security/damage deposit; as originally offered in April 2013 at the request of the property owner.  The property owner is also aware of and acknowledges the Hold Over and is not currently inclined to set aside the short falls in rent.  In the event the tenant is not in agreement with this offer, the tenant can either continue with the rental agreement in “at will” tenancy at the Holdover rate, or submit her 30 day Notice to Move in accordance with the rental agreement (Items 3d and 7a, respectively), and appropriately vacate the premises.  As of today, July 4, 2013, the tenant is again late with rent in the amount of $2215.00 in accordance with the Hold Over, where all late fees, and defaults still apply as it pertains to late payment of rent.   A monthly rent of $1315.00 is much more economical than a monthly rent of $2215.00.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After vacating a property rented by PMIG we have recently received our "Security/Damage Deposit Statement" and amongst the charges PMIG claimed were a combined forty-five days in late rent payment to which they charged us, from our deposit, $25 a day.We had exactly one (1) month of late rent which we were charged $25 and paid the fee via personal check. Despite our lease allowing for payment by "money order or check" PMIG issued a notice on December 10, 2010 requiring as of 1/1/11 that "Money Orders, Certified Checks and Cash" would be the only accepted forms of payments. We complied with this order and all subsequent rent payments were made via cashier's check from a credit union and mailed as required by our lease. PMIG also instituted a "3 day Grace period" in the 12/10/10 letter.PMIG alleges that we paid rent late a total of 12 months yet all of the cashier's checks were acquired from the credit union before, on or within the three day grace period. Upon contacting PMIG's office on Friday, April 26, 2013 I am told by "********" that we were "habitually" late and that the date of our checks were always late which is factually incorrect. When I questioned her on this she then said the checks were received late in the mail but could over no specifics of what proof they have of such lateness. Our security damage statement simply indicates a list of dates which aren't even in chronological order.The lease was begun in 2010 and renewed in 2011 and 2012 which seems quite odd that we would be allowed to continue to rent given our apparent inability to pay on time. Furthermore, or lease stipulates that if rent is late the "Manager shall give Tenant a three (3) day notice to pay rent or vacate the premises if neither is done the eviction process will begin". By PMIG's account we should have received a total of twelve (12) separate notices yet we did not. Why did we not receive notices? Why were we not charged at the time of the lates and under what authority are they allowed to simply rack up charges in hindsight.

Desired Settlement: We expect to have all charges related to "Late Fees" as listed on our "Security/Damage Deposit" statement to be returned to us immediately. These backdated late fees have in effect stolen money that rightfully belongs to us.To add insult to injury PMIG actually put on our statement "Thank you for being such a Great Tenant!! Your refund is enclosed!"

Business Response:

Regarding Mr. ***** complaint, he states he was charged for 45 days of late fees at a daily rate of $25/daily during the calendar year 2012, he neglected to include in his complaint, that a he was given a very large credit, by the property manager's decision, and only charged $250 of those late fees.  If the BBB is interested, supporting documents will be submitted for review.

 

Thank you,

******** ******

Office Manager

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9523562, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

We do not accept the business' response as it relates to Complaint ID 9523562.

Our original lease, dated March 1, 2010 states on Page 1, Section 6 (a) that “If Tenant is more than 2 days past due, Manager has the right to start the eviction process. Manager shall give Tenant a three (3) day notice to pay the rent due or vacate the premises if neither is done than the eviction process will begin”.

In a letter dated December 10, 2010 sent to us by PMIG all rent payments from that date forward were required to be paid by either “Money Order, Certified Checks and Cash”. This letter also included notice that we would be given a three day grace period for payment however it did not indicate any revision to Section 6(a) of the lease which states “Manager shall give Tenant a three (3) day notice to pay the rent due or vacate”.

By PMIG’s accounting, they allege twelve (12) months in which the rent was paid therefore we, as tenants, should have received twelve (12) separate notices to pay or vacate in accordance with the provisions of the signed lease. As previously stated we did not receive these notices.

It should be noted as well that we complied with PMIG’s requirement to pay by money order, certified check and cash despite the December 10, 2010 notice changing the provisions of the lease in violation of Section 25 of the signed lease. Our rent payments were drawn via certified check and mailed in accordance with Section 5(a) of the signed lease.

PMIG has failed, on more than one occasion, to follow the signed lease both in the collection of alleged late fees and modifying the agreement without approval of both parties. If rent was paid late by us as tenants we should have been notified in accordance with Section 6(a) of our signed lease.

We expect to be refunded for the alleged late fees charged on the Security/Damage Deposit Statement. Attached is a copy of the original lease, December 10, 2010 letter and a comparison table showing dates funds were drawn and alleged date(s) funds were received by PMIG.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

Regardless that Mr. ***** actually depicts and admits in one of his own attachments labeled "Comparison Data", the fact that his rents were received late, by his own worksheet should have been charged;  in his quotation of his rental agreement Item 6(a) in that he should have indeed received 3-Day Notice to Pay or Vacate Notices for each and every occurrance along with the $150.00 per occurrance Default Notice Fee which would have totaled $1,800.00 plus the $1,125.00 in late fees for a grand total of Late Fees plus Default Notices equaling $2.925.00, where in fact, we reduced his late fees to a total of $250.00 on his Security Deposit Statement.  We will concede on the reduction of charges and refund Mr. ***** the $250.00 we withheld from his Security Deposit Statement based on his very astute observations that he was never served any 3-Day Notices to Pay or Vacate the entire length of his rental tenancy with this company regardless of the lateness of receipt of rent payments, however, it has been noted that on several occasions he was given a courtesy call for rent payment in order for him to avoid the late fees and default fees..  Please inform us if this is an acceptable resolution for the complaintant.

 

Sincerely,

******** ******

Office Manager

Property Management Investment Group

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9523562, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

We accept PMIG’s offer to refund the $250.00 in late fees deducted from the security deposit. We appreciate that they have acknowledged they did not provide notice of alleged late receipt of rent as stipulated in the signed lease.

It should be noted that no admission of late payment was made in the file entitled Comparison Data sent to the Better Business Bureau on May 8, 2013. The dates contained therein, under the column “Alleged Date of Receipt” were dates PMIG alleged to have received rent payment from us as listed on the Security Damage Deposit Statement.


Regards,


***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are renting a house that is listed though PMIG, We have had nothing but problems with them. We noticed the first month that we had not received a water bill, I called at least once a week for the next two months looking for it, I was told that when they had it they would let me know and to please stop calling about it. I stopped calling and a week and a half later I get a rude message on my machine from PMIG saying that my water bill is overdue and I need to get it taken care of, I now go through the city and bypass PMIG, we get water bill from PMIG once in a while now but it is usually overdue when it arrives. The second issue was when out lease was coming close to expiring, I got a call from PMIG informing me that it was time to sign for a year. I told them that we were thinking about buying a house and asked if we could go month to month. PMIG told me that the rent would increase 30% 15 days after our lease was up and 30% every 15 days thereafter until the lease was signed with the final touch being "oh and by the way, there is no rent cap in Idaho". My husband called and asked about the phone call and PMIG was respectful to him and said, that was not the case, they only raise the rent when they have to. One week later I got a letter in the mail informing me as of may 15th the rent would increase by 30% if the contract was not signed. May 25th I got a very rude message saying that I needed to move my BBQ before I melted the siding off my house and mow the grass while I'm at it. My grass is always mowed and my BBQ was 6 Feet from the house. I informed them of some pot holes in the driveway and a septic problem. PMIG said well then I guess we just need to do a full house walk through, set it up for May 29th at 9 AM. They never showed up, and never called. I called the office and no one knew anything about it. June 11th I get informed of a home inspection June 14th with the owner. I have never been late on any bills credit scores are in the 800's, house is clean, why am I being harassed!

Desired Settlement: Simply would like to let anyone interested in renting a house from them to know what they are getting into.

Business Response:

After review of the complaint from our tenant, our response is as follows:

With regard to the tenants inquiry of the water bill, the Tenant started calling for a water bill soon after they moved into the property.  While we greatly appreciated her keeping in contact in making sure she was kept appraised of the bill, since it is their responsibility, the billing cycle was not in step with their rent.  We found out after two billing cycles that the owner had not signed the authorization to change the mailing address, but in the process we provided the tenant with the account number so they could comfortably pay the bill until we started receiving it.  As to the complaint that the water bill is 'usually overdue' by the time they receive it, is a timing issue.  We mail the bills out on the same day we receive them, due to city ordinances, the bill remains in the owners name and mailed to an authorized recipient.  It is also part of our management policies that we oversee the billings

The second issue I would like to address regarding the expiration of the lease; we apologize for the presentation of the offer of extension in all instances but there is credence to the conversation.  Even though there is not a cap on rent in Idaho, we would not increase the rent without owner knowledge or notifying the tenant appropriately. 

The comment of the pot holes in the drivway and the septic problem - no one in the office, nor our maintenance people have knowledge of; in particular, the problem with the septic.  Also, to our knowledge, the property is on city sewer, not a septic system.  With respect, the walk-through scheduled for May 29th, our maintenance remembers the work order - without prejudice, the tenant called a day or two prior with other issues, and a walk-through was suggested.  Our maintenance attempted to contact the tenant to confirm the date and a time but never received confirmation from the tenant.

The other issues the tenant is referring to (i.e. BBQ, the walk-through scheduled for June 14th) are at the request of the property owner.  Under normal circumstances we as a property manager would not interfere with the tenants right to quiet enjoyment.

******** ******

Office Manager

###-###-####

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9074962, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, even though I was never given an account number for the water bill, the house is on a septic not city sewer, and I was never given a conformation phone call for the May 29th inspection, (I have the phone records to prove it). I did receive a phone call today with an apology on behalf of PMIG for the rude and unprofessional phone calls, I appreciate that they took the time to apologize personally. I will not pursue the issue further at this time in hope that the any future issues will be handled in a more professional manner.

Thanks to everyone for their time in this matter,

**** *****

 

 

 

 

Business Response:

In Response to **** *****'s complaint regarding "harassment and retaliation" we firmly state that in accordance with our contract, (attached) Item 13 - Managers Right of Entry - "Manager shall have the right to enter the property at reasonable times and places after giving Tenant twenty-four (24) hours notice thereof for the purpose of inspecting for damage..."  We also state that each and every time we have requested a walk-through of the property, it has been at the request of the property owner.  The scheduled walk-through on June 14th, 2012, at the request of the property owner, because it was shortly after **** and her husband had just signed their rental extension and the owner wanted to view the property.  Also, the claim that the tenant contacted the office regarding a non-working water spigot, and that there is not record of it in the office, is because the tenant admitted to me, ******** ****** (office manager) that she did not contact the office, but contacted maintenance directly who is an independant contractor, not an employee, clearly "breaking" Item 10 Maintenance Call - "Tenant is required to report all maintenance issues immediately to management, in the advent tenant does not report maintenance issues and damage has been created to property from neglect then tenant will be held liable. . .", ". . . therefore if maintenance is required then please make arrangements during business hours unless it is an emergency."

On August 29, 2012, the property owner again contacted our office, to report that the lawn at the property was now brown, possibly dead and the tenant needed to get water on it immediately.  Because of this, the property owner again, requested a walk-through be performed.  Again, in accordance with Item 13 - Managers Right of Entry - **** was contacted and informed that the property owner noticed the lawn was extremely dry, and brown.  Water needed to be put on the grass immediately, and because of this, they requested a walk-thru be performed.  **** was given proper 24 hour notice in accordance with the contract she signed.  Having placed that phone call myself, I know that replacing the lawn with sod was never mentioned.  **** called the office again after I ended my call with her.  She began stating that she felt that she is continually harassed by PMIG and that she had reported in June that she had no working outside water spigots.  I checked our Work Order file, and found that there were no work orders created for that particular issue.  There is also no record of work order of the carpet repair she claims to have requested.  In continuing to speak with ****, it was discovered that she did not contact the office, but contacted the independant contractor who performs addresses our maintenance issues. 

After the walk-through on August 30th, it was reported that the interior of the property was immaculate as always, and that she again discussed with the maintenance contractor that she was unable to locate any working outside water spigots.  He located the spigots, showed **** where they were, and discovered that they were shut-off.  He turned them on for her and are now working.  As for the septic issue, to this date, at her walk-through with the property owner on June 14th, and during the most recent walk-through on August 30th, **** still has not discussed the issue of the septic backing up into her bathtub.  She has discussed minor issues such as carpet repair and outside water spigots but has not addressed something of more of a health concern.  This behavior concerns PMIG.  The fact that **** claims it is still not resolved from her last complaint and that the only response from PMIG is "that is just the way it is and cannot be fixed", is completely untrue because this issue has never been raised as a concern of hers, there is no record of a work order for maintenance to investigate and/or repair and the only time it is ever mentioned is when she has complained to the Better Business Bureau.  This septic issue has been placed on a separate work order and will be addressed by our maintenance contractor.

In closing, **** ***** has not lived up to her end of the contract, in Items 10, 13, and 15.  She has also signed a rental agreement extension in which she and her husband have obligated themselves to another term which ends May 31st, 2013.  Shortly, before **** and her husband signed the extension (also attached), they inquired about allowing their contract term to expire and rent on a month-to-month basis, because they were thinking of buying a home.  It was explained that if they were going to rent on a month-to-month basis they would be outside of term in their contract, and that they would have no protection from periodic increases in rent.  This prompted them to sign the extension at the current rent they are paying now.  Within a week after signing the extension in early May, **** called the PMIG office and spoke to me directly again asking what would happen if they "broke" the lease and moved out citing that she and her husband would soon be closing on a home purchase.  All aspects of breach of lease were explained to ****, including that the breach would result in forfeiture of security deposit, and responsibility of rent until the property rented again.  It was also explained that should they decide to submit a 30 Day Notice to Move, thereby causing a breach of lease, it would be in her best interest (rent-wise) to advertise, and show the property to re-rent as quickly as possible.  This effort would be to help her alleviate the stress of continuing to pay rent where they were no longer living.  We believe **** feelings of retailiation against her for reporting PMIG to the Better Business Bureau, is nothing more than a play to be released from her lease as stated in the "Desired Settlement" section of her complaint.  PMIG has followed all aspects of the lease agreement as signed by **** and her husband, ****.

 

******** ******

Office Manager

Property Management Investment Group

###-###-####

Consumer Response:


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9074962, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. response to item 13 "manager shall have the right to enter the property at reasonable times and places" I do not feel that the grass being dry is a reaonable excuse to order a full home inspection less than 2 1/2 months after the last home inspection and only one month after P.M.I.G's maintenance man was just in my home to fix the carpet. Response to ******** ******* claim that I never contacted the office and instead went through a maintenance man is absurdly untrue, I do not even have the maintenance mans phone number (how would I have contacted P.M.I.G's contracted maintenance man without going through the office first) (why would I contact a independent contractor and have to pay out of my pocket for a house that I rent and an not responsible for making repairs to), it has always been through the office they put a message into the maintenance man and he returns my call. In response to the claim that sod was never mentioned is completely untrue, it was in the very first part of our conversation. The claim that water spigots were never mentioned is completely untrue; I have called numerous times specifically for that reason (I have records of the calls). In response to ******** ******* claim that there is no record of work order for the carpets being repaired, I do not doubt that there is not a record of it seeing that P.M.I.G's book keeping seems to be flawed (Lack of any records) (missing water bills for 3 months), I would just like to know who was in my home fixing my carpets and who paid for that work to be done because I know I didn’t, and once again I do not have P.M.I.G's independent contactors phone number! As for the claim that I have still to date never addressed the issue of the septic problem, that is also untrue, it has been brought up numerous times on numerous occasions, it is even written in my first BBB complaint in that P.M.I.G clearly responded to in the Business Response section of the complaint, how they can now say that they have never been informed of a septic issue is clearly untrue (it is in writing on the internet with their response to the issue clearly stated). It is true that we did ask about going month to month because we were thinking of buying a house, I was told that the rent would increase 30% every 15 days that the contract was not signed, I do not consider that to be a "periodic increase". As to her response that within a week of sighing the contract in May we called to report that we were buying a house is also completely untrue. We are currently buying a house yes, however we did not start looking until after the first of August, not in May. Yes I did call and let them know we would be moving soon if all went ok with the house and asked what our options were for breaking the lease, I was informed that if I found someone to take over our lease we would only forfeit our deposit that seemed absolutely fair to us. I do have a friend that would like to take over my lease, but I cannot bring myself to let her move into this house knowing that she will probably be just as harassed as I have been and have heath concerns of the home not addressed. In response to P.M.I.G's claim that my reporting them to BBB is simply a play to be released from my lease in untrue; I was not even considering buying a house when the first report was filed, my husband and I had decided to stay for the remainder of the lease, until we were harassed to the point of not feeling comfortable in the residence, and the health concern for our children being in a home where septic back up into the bath tub became more that we could stand. Yes I would like to be released from my lease, not because I am moving, because P.M.I.G has been over powering, over pressuring and refuses to fix health issues in the home simply stating that they have no record of any problems even though I have reported them time and time again to P.M.I.G. even in writing through the BBB.

Consumer Response:

In response to P.M.I.G's last response, I have phone records to prove that I contacted the office not the "independent maintenance man". As far as P.M.I.G insisting that all of this was upon request of the property owner and not P.M.I.G., P.M.I.G is a representative of the property owner, if the property owners request is inappropriate it is P.M.I.Gs job to inform her of that. In regards to the septic, to my knowledge the septic issue was not closed, the maintenance man said the drain trap was too short and that was the reason for the standing water in the drain, I asked him if that also caused the septic back up and he stated that was a completely different issue that he would have to have a plumber investigate. He asked me how much longer we would be living at the residence; I told him we were moving in eight days, he said that it would be best to wait until we were moved out until the septic issues were fixed sense it would be so soon. Just to be clear, no the residue is not from a slow drain, I have watched the water rise from the drain and cover the bottom of the bath tub, and I do not run the washer, the dish washer and the sink at the same time! once again P.M.I.G. did tell me that the lawn would have to be replaced, that was what I was so upset about in the first place (why would I get upset if they simply asked me to water the grass)! In response to my offer to P.M.I.G. I did not call on September 11th, I called at exactly 10:56 am and offered to let them keep our deposit as long as we were no longer responsible for the remainder of the lease; I only made them this offer because by the time we pay for court cost, child care and missed days of work we are going to be out nearly that much anyway, not to mention all the added stress. I was told that P.M.I.G would respond to my offer through BBB. I P.M.I.G back on September 12th at 11:00 am to ask if they had come to a decision because I had not heard back and time was running out for me to respond to the request of arbitration through BBB, I did not restate my offer! There was never anything in my offer saying that the lease would be signed by my friend, as I have already stated in my complaint, I do have a friend that wants to rent the house, I will not ask her to rent this house because she will probably be harassed and obviously they do not intend on fixing the septic if the work order has already been closed; She has a child and no child should have to live in a home where septic comes up through the bath tub!

In response to the work order attached to the last response.

I would like to know why the Completed date on the work order is 9/5/12 when the home inspection and water system was done on 8/30/12 and drains were not inspected until 9/6/12. I would just like to know how the draining issues were completed the day before anyone was in my home to look at the drains.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we rented a vacation property thru ******* ***** of property management investment group of post falls idaho..she was extremely helpful in taking our check but since having issues with property upon arival, she is no where to be found. we called emergengy person to turn on water, refrigerator, fix leaks around toilets. property was pitch dark even when ******* knew of our late arival,1:30am. ******* will never return our phone calls, emails to discuss these issues. she is very hard to work with, really impossible. we have however, been in communication with owner of property.just want people to be aware of pmig unethical business practices. we did find several neg. comments on citysearch web site. wish we would have taken note before.we filed complaints with cda **** ****** ethics dept. vrbo she represented herself as agent with them. is no longer.

Desired Settlement: just want people to steer clear of ******* ***** and pmig.

Business Response: I had spoke with ******* ******, he called about a vacation rental that we had listed with VRBO, I told Mr. ****** that this place was not available for rent but we had a new place that had not been put on our web-site as of yet, I sent him pictures, and he called and said he wanted to rent it, I sent him the contract, I never told him that this place was on VRBO, I did tell him that the home had not been put on our web-site as of yet, which is idahoriverlake.com. Mr ****** said they would be arriving around 2:40 pm and would like to have early possession which was fine since we did not have anyone checking out on the home that day, therefore I called to give him the code and received his voice mail therefore I left the code, and the maintenance person's phone number just in case there were any maintenance issues. The next day after their stay they called the office and stated they had some issues and the maintenance department went right out to take care of it, they even took them an extra bed since they had more people in the home then what they put on the contract or that was agreed upon, our maintenance even took them ice, everything they asked for they were given except a free vacation, we did give them one night free for any inconvenience they may have received. They were also told that they needed to speak with ******** which is the office manager not ******* which is in Sales and Marketing. Everyone in our office has a certain department this is what keeps the business running not one person can handle everything, as for the property not having power this is untrue, there were several of us at the property 2 days prior to the guest arrival and the power was on, we had a professional photographer taking pictures and the broker's husband was there turning all the lights on for the photographer. Our maintenance person called them several times a day while they were here to see if there was anything they needed. The bottom line is as follows: They had the maintenance person's 24 hour phone number and this is what pmig pays him for and they had the office manager's number and this is what she gets paid for, my question is what other number did they need? They made contact right away with everyone that they needed to deal with also don't forget about the free night. How were we unethical? Thank you

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9201009, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ******




Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9201009, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

please reopen this complaint about property management investment group. i did not agree with whomever' response. ******* skirted the issues and gave you half truths. ******* is property manager. we rented, we though, thru VRBO because on all of *******'s emails it was mentioned on there. we have emails. when we arrived at property at 1:30 am it was pitch dark. refrigerator was not turned on. there was no water in tank..not a drop. we turned it on.  then we found leaks around toilets and in carpet in MB. we waited until much later to call emergency person to fix these things. he did. he never initiated any calls. we wanted to speak directly to ******* since she was sole person we were in contact. she would not communicate with us. why? she already had our money. she has never accepted emails or phone calls or did not accept certified letter sent to her. her response does not address any of these specific issues.
why was the property not ready to be rented?
why did she not return any calls etc. her letter seems to ramble on and not be very business like.
joel please check citysearch.com see neg. remarks about pmig. we also filed complaint with VRBO since it was on all her emails.
also with CDA board of ethics. ******* says she was there with photographers prior.i don't care. property was not ready to be rented. the builder did come by while we happened to be on porch. said place had been winterized in march. which would be reason water was off and ran brown for several hours. feel free to address these specific issues.

Regards,

****** ******




Business Response: As shown by the attached email stream, ******* ****** initiated the email, referencing VRBO in the Subject Line.  This is because he initially inquired about another property listed on the VRBO website.  As it turned out, that property was not available during the period they wanted to vacation.  ******* simply recommended another property that would be available at the period of time the ******’s wanted to vacation.  Also referenced in the attached email stream, she responded to the email ******* initially started.  This is why the email stream continued with VRBO in the subject line.  The property the ******’s rented for their vacation was never listed on the VRBO website, nor did they reserve the property through the VRBO website. Regarding the issue of no contact with anyone from PMIG office, where the ******’s were inconvenienced, has been explained over the phone with both ******* and ****** ******, the vacation rental lease holders.  They both claim that they were never contacted; however ******** (office manager) spoke with both of them after answering a phone call from ****** on August 6, 2012 regarding accommodations for their first night of stay was offered (in short, their first night refunded, or they may stay an extra night if they desired to do so), the phone was handed to another person in their party, a person who identified herself as ****, ******’s sister.  It was explained to her that while it was understood their frustration over their first night of their vacation, the conversation should be limited to either ******* or ****** as being the lease holders of the vacation rental.  On August 13, 2012, ******** spoke with ******* ****** and reiterated the offer of their first night refunded.  He requested two nights refunded.  In that conversation, ******** explained that she was only authorized to refund the one night, with assurances he would be returned any amount of the Security/Damage Fee they were entitled.As to the specific issues ****** is referencing, (pitch dark at 130am, refrigerator off and no water in tank, leaking ).  This is regarding their first night.  As soon as the ****** party contacted the office with the issues, maintenance was dispatched to respond to their needs.  In an email to our office by **** Iffrig, it was admitted that her brother turned the water on to the toilets.  While we greatly appreciated their willingness to be self-sufficient, it was also noticed by maintenance when they arrived to address those issues reported, water was actually spraying out of the water supply lines enough to be seen.  This was not a light mist spray, and it had been going on all morning and into the afternoon causing the water to start draining down the wall in the garage which is below the house.  If they could turn the water on, why did they not attempt to make contact sooner than early afternoon the following day? Why did they allow the water to continue to spray throughout the rest of the night and into morning?  It was obviously felt when they turned the water on.  Their negligence caused much more damage to the house than the $500.00 Security Damage Fee they paid and were refunded all but the Cleaning Fee of $200.00.  Maintenance also brought out an extra bed for extra persons not included in the original contract signed by the ******s, ice for the freezer, and maintained constant contact with the ****** party to see to their needs throughout their stay.  In her complaint, ****** ****** states that her Desired Resolution is to let others know how bad PMIG is:  In answer to her questions below;why was the property not ready to be rented?  The property was ready to be rented.  It had been used twice prior to the ******’s vacation, once by the owner, and the other being the owner’s personal maintenance person.  Neither had any of the issues reported by the ******’s.  Prior to the ****** party, the property had to be cleaned and made ready for the vacationers coming in.  So, in essence everything had to be on and in working order.  Also, ******* went out to the property to have photographs taken for advertising.  She was there for some time and walked through to ensure everything was in working order for the ****** party.  She does however state that because it was broad daylight she did not check the exterior lights and could not be sure they had working bulbs in the fixtures.

why did she not return any calls etc. her letter seems to ramble on and not be very business like.  As was explained to several members of the ****** party, ******* is in Sales & Marketing.  Yes, she would have worked with the contacts until contract signing.  At that point, they become clients. Maintenance, questions and complaints would be redirected to the correct contacts.  The ******’s refused to speak to any others but Maintenance and *******, to the point that they neglected to acknowledge they were contacted by and spoke with, on different occasions, the office manager.

joel please check citysearch.com see neg. remarks about pmig. we also filed complaint with VRBO since it was on all her emails.  also with CDA board of ethics.  The ******’s did file a complaint with VRBO, however since the property they rented was not listed on the VRBO website, caused much confusion for the site managers and did not assist in their situation.  This will be PMIG’s last response to this complaint and/or the complainant.  Any other complaints will be viewed as defamatory and slanderous and will be referred to PMIG attorney.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9201009, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Regards,

****** ******



BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was trying to rent a house through this company and after I paid the $40 application fee he goes on to tell me that this landlord doesnt rent to people that have a criminal record. This company knew that I had a criminal record before I paid the $40 dollars. They waited until after I signed a paper saying that there is no refund. I was denied the house two days later. I called and tried to explain that I think this isnt fair and the man that was on the phone yelled at me and told me to never call there again or he would call the cops. He was yelling a screaming at me and this is not ok to do to a customer. I need help please. Thank you for your time, ***** ******

Desired Settlement: I would like all my information out of that business and I would like my $40 dollars back. I am afraid that this man will use my personnel information to hurt me some how.

Business Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau,

 In regards to Mr. ******'s complaint, I would like to start by stating that I did not have had any information on ***** until he submitted his application and it was screened. We had a full staff the day he purchased his application and noone heard a word about his criminal activity. I truly did not have a clue how the owner was going to react. I did feel however that since he paid he deserved a chance to rent. So I pleaded his case to the owner and he was denied due to his maliscious destruction to property charges. Mr. ****** called the office a couple of days after he submitted his application to find out the results. When I told Mr. ****** the owner denied his application, he became verbally hostile towards me stating that I knew the owner would not rent to him. I told him that I did not appreciate him telling me what I know and he started yelling at me so I told him not to call anymore that we were done. He called back immediately and I told him if he called again I would report him for harrassment. I followed office protocol by reading and having him sign a form stating his application fee was non refundable. I have attached a copy of the form he signed. If you look up Mr. ******'s criminal record on the Idaho repository website you will understand why I informed him that I would make a report. Ultimately I feel I have done nothing wrong or unjust as far as Mr. ****** case is concerned. I did not mislead him and had nothing but the best of intentions.

 In conclusion, I do beleive I legally and morally did the right thing. Our company protocol is to have prospective tenants prepurchase their applications to avoid printing out hundreds of applications to non serious applicants. We do not recieve any info until the app has been purchased and then returned. Our application fees I'm told are the lowest in town. We really just charge for paper ink and office time. Unfortyunately in this business we can't make everyone happy.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I along with 2 other people went and looked at a house Property Management Investment Group had listed for being available. This house was apparently on the market for several weeks and after we had viewed it, we decided to fill out applications. We paid $60 (in cash, they would not provide a receipt) for applications and demanded that we turn them in 24 hrs later. We did, and I turned mine in first and they said the property was still available. The last person turned theirs in and he was swiftly informed that "the property has been rented to someone else" Basically, they stole our money (and our information) without giving us the option to lease. I have demanded a refund or an explanation and they have not provided anything.

Desired Settlement: We would like the $60 refunded, at least.

Business Response:

Our applications clearly state "No refund of Application Fees" once they are purchased and an instruction sheet provided that applications need to be returned within 24 hours and complete.  It is also the responsibility of the applicant to turn in "Complete" applications. 

This property was applied for by a proposed (3) roommates.  One of the applicants submitted his application 1 week ago and after review would not have quailfied financially on his own.  The other 2 applicants submitted their applications at two different times on 10/27.   In the interim, a completely different applicant was approved and agreed to a lease signing as of 10/28. 

Upon the last person of this group submitting his application he was notified that there was a lease signing scheduled for 10/28 and that we wouldn't know for sure until late afternoon on 10/28 if he would actually appear for the lease signing.  Another property of comparable rent and square footage was offered if they were interested and if after their applications were reviewed, found to be qualified. 

The applications have not been reviewed since the two applications submitted yesterday are incomplete.   Applications are maintained for 30 days in the event an applicant is qualified but the original property has been rented to another person.  They are welcome during that time to complete their applications and if interested in another property, welcome to inquire about it and use the application already paid for if this happens within the 30 day time frame.

This afternoon one of these applicants came to request his application back.  Our policy is that we must maintain record of all applicants.  He was rude to our office assistant, by telling her to "Shut Up" when I offered to assist him with his issue.  This applicant was given a copy of his application and asked politely to leave our office.

******** ******, Office Manager

Property Management Investment Group

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8787814, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Dear Better Business Bureau,

 

My response to the PMIG response is such:    All 3 applicants received applications on October 26 at approximately 4:30pm, and all 3 applicants returned their applications prior to 5:30pm on October 27 and the final applicant returned his application at approximately 5:15pm on October 27 and was informed that the property was “to be rented and no longer available.”   If the lease was scheduled to be signed “in the interim” what is their reason for not providing the first applicant (me) returned at 3:40pm October 27 or the second applicant (4:30pm October 27) the information that a lease was to be signed, why did they wait for the last applicant to provide his information?  

 

The business claimed that the lease was scheduled to be signed on October 28 however when we went to get the applications we were not informed of this at all or we would not have forfeited $60 for applications.    If the business had the lease signing on the schedule – whether or not they would show up to sign – we should have been informed that another applicant was approved for the same property and would have the option to lease.  We would not have applied and would have waited for the result of the primary applicant before filing applications.  The business claimed it would take 24hrs for applications to be approved,  that means that the applicant would have applied and likely approved prior to us even receiving applications, so they would have known

 

If one of the applicants was not approved by this business then how would we have been approved for a different property?   In addition,  both of the applications submitted on October 27 cannot be “incomplete” because I distinctly requested someone to look at it and questioned “is my application complete and is there any more information I need to provide?”  They claimed that I needed to provide the information for my credit card company (phone number) and then they said my application was complete, so either they provided me false information so they would not have to consider my application or they were unaware of their own application statuses.

 

The reason one of the applicants was rude to the assistant is primarily because the office assistants are extremely rude and I had the displeasure of speaking with them regarding this issue initially, which is why a complaint was filed.  Also the applicant that was ‘rude’ was because he is extremely worried about identity theft from this company.  I concur, because they have our identification information, social security numbers, and address information and it could be possible for them to contact our credit sources pretending to be us and essentially destroy our identities.  This is why he requested his application back from the company because if they lied about the “lease signing on October 28” to get the application money, who knows what they would do to other information.

 

We want the money refunded because if we had known about another approved applicant we would not have applied – thus we feel it should be refunded.   In addition they were very rude to the third applicant in mentioning “the property is no longer available” which was very unprofessional.  If this company would refund our money and relinquish our applications, we will be able to use it towards a deposit for a different place and be at ease that our information is no longer in their dangerous hands.  We do not trust them or their office assistants to comply with regulation, and we are sincerely worried about identity theft from office assistants or managers from Property Management Investment Group.

 

******** *******

**************************

Mobile: ***** *** **** 

 

Regards,

******** *******

 

 

 

Business Response:

We maintain that our application fees are non-refundable and applications must be submitted complete.  Only ******** application was submitted as complete.  Unfortunately, ****** would not have been able to financially afford the rent on his own.  ********** application which was not, is attached with more than just her credit card company phone number as a requirement to complete.  This also includes the snide remark with regard to her banking information.  Refusal to provide information as requested in our applications deems them as incomplete.  I have blacked out some of her information to protect her privacy.

Between the time ******** submitted her application and the 3rd applicant in their party submitted his, another applicant was decided upon who immediately decided to accept our offer even though applicants are given 24 hours to decide upon acceptance.  Only upon submission of the final person in ********** party was he notified that we had selected another applicant.  If qualified, ********** party was offered another property if they were interested.

Company policy is that applications are maintained in the office for 30 days for situations such as this.  We do not use their personal information for anything other than ascertaining credit references, rental history, and verifying income.  Since no other pertinent information was provided, it would not be in our best interests to acquire any other information. 

The three applicants are welcome to pick up their applications, however, the non-refundable fees still apply.

 

Consumer Response:

PMIG discriminated against the three of us as soon as we walked in the door.  Their remark about my "snide" application shows the disdain.  

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8787814, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have attached other rental applications from credible property management companies and they don't require banking information.  There is nothing in Idaho tenant/landlord law that requires them to have banking information such as my bank account to do a background and credit check.  My income is all that matters because maybe I don't have a bank account - maybe I do not store my money in a bank, but I could have thousands of dollars to use to rent a property; and the company lost out because they discriminated and assumed I wouldn't have income if I did not have a bank account.   Were they planning on contacting banks and requesting fund amounts?  Or do they simply store that information until tenant 'damages' need to be 'claimed'?  I noticed prior complaints filed under billing/collection issues - perhaps there is a clear reason that needs investigating. 

PMIG discriminated against three unrelated young adults attempting to rent a property - even though I had plenty of money to rent they refused my application based on potential societal status.  They never even bothered to consider that we would be better tenants and have ample resources to rent this property, that is by accordance to the FHA, discrimination.  PMIG believes the FHA does not cover rental properties, however there clearly states FHA regulations on rental properties.  

I feel sorry for anyone coming to PMIGs door who may be a minority, ethnic, or religious group, for they will also fall victim to PMIGs discrimination.

Lastly,
PMIG, do not assume everyone that comes to your door is as naive as you hope they are.   In my career as a chemical engineer I have learned that assumptions make calculations simpler, however it will not accurately represent reality and often leads to severe consequences.

******** *******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1