BBB Accredited Business since

Hometown Property Management, LLC

Phone: (406) 294-2150 Fax: (406) 294-2170 1575 Shiloh Rd  Ste B, Billings, MT 59106 http://hpmyellowstone.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Property Management & Property Maintenance Services for Billings, MT and Surrounding Areas Including
Management for Homeowner's Assoications


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hometown Property Management, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hometown Property Management, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hometown Property Management, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 30, 2008 Business started: 04/14/2003 in MT Business started locally: 04/14/2003 Business incorporated 04/14/2003 in MT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Bureau
P.O. Box 202801, Helena MT 59620-2801
http://www.state.mt.us/sos/index.htm
Fax Number: 406-475-3662

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Brandy Groscop, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Brandy Groscop, Manager
Business Category

Property Management Real Estate Property Maintenance

Hours of Operation
M: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
F: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard Accepted for Rental Payments, Security Deposit Payments and Application Fees

Additional Locations

  • 1575 Shiloh Rd  Ste B

    Billings, MT 59106 (406) 294-2150

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** ***** and Hometown Property Management sat down with one of my contractors, ***** to decide a plan on managing my apartment building (a 5plex). Services were discussed with the contractor without my permission. My tenants received a letter from ****** stating that they would be taking over control. I had all 5 tenants calling wondering who ****** was. I advised all of the tenants to stop all communication with ****** since I was the Property Manager (Landlord). Hometown Property put a "For Rent" sign on my front lawn and said they were seeking new tenants using "********************". They sent my business a bill with an itemized list that they were charging me for using my Pictures and Description for my vacant unit. I told my contractor ***** to go speak to ****** about what was going on with this situation. He went to go talk to ****** and told her that my business has not given her authorization to do any work for my property. ****** disagreed and put her hands on him and threw him out of their office and called the police. The police arrived and gave both parties due process. The owner of Hometown Property lied to me on the phone and said that he had a Personal Protection Order against *****. I called the Police department right after and it is completely false. Last week I received a final notification that I owe $244.00 for services that were not rendered. This company did not ask my permission to start any services. I did not give them the $500 start up fee or any fee to start services. ****** took advantage of my contractor without doing her research about *** ************ *** ****** and billed me, ****** the owner. Services were not agreed upon with my company and I have been lied to many times on the phone from the Manager there, ******.

Desired Settlement: Please do not send my company to collections or else I will be contacting a Lawyer to talk about legal actions against their business.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern,

The complaint should be satisified as of now. 

Mr. **** and ***** ****** (Owner of HPM) agreed to a final settlement and the account has now been paid off and the account will not be turned over to collections.  At this time, we have closed the account.  If you need a copy of the final settlement agreement, please let me know  Or if you should have any additional questions, please let me know. 

Thank you,

Hometown Property Management, LLC
****** *******

Property Manager

###-###-#### Office

7/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We own a rental property that HPM has managed for us for 6 months - thankfully, not for much longer as it is now under a sales contract and we should be closing on 6/25/13. This company's customer service is abysmal - the worst of any service company I have ever dealt with - not sure if this is due to short-staffing or just a blatant disregard for their customers. I suspect it is both. ****** *******, the manager, takes days (and sometimes longer) to respond to property owner's questions or concerns. The latest example is that I sent a question to her on 6/18/13 about our most recent statement and it is now 6/22/13 and I have yet to receive a response from her. I frequently have had to send her a second or third request for response if I have a question or concern. I have not wanted to report this until now as I knew I would have to deal with HPM for as long as the tenants lived there. I am so relieved that we no longer have to deal with them. I can't imagine how they can retain any business from property owners when they treat their customers this way. On a side note, they also nickel and dime owners with various miscellaneous fees in addition to the 10% management fee - these extra fees are either not spelled out or are referred to very vaguely in the contract. They will hire and send out subcontractors for minor issues like a tripped electrical braker, instead of actually trouble-shooting the problem first. Based on our experience, we would never recommend this company to any rental property owner, or tenant for that matter.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate a response from ****** ******* to my e-mail from 6/18/13. Otherwise, this is just an FYI about the poor customer service offered by this company.

Business Response:

BBB Serving E WA, N ID & MT -

Good Evening... I was unaware of the lack of response from our office.  Thank you for bringing it to my attention.  I researched the account and email assignment and found it was in fact our lack of response.  We will definatley be taking measures to make sure that when emails are assigned to our staff that they are responded to timely.  I have recently corresponded with Mr. & Mrs. ******* via email and hope that all their questions are answered from the email sent on 6/18/2013.  We have no excuse, just need to be better in our response time.  I am sorry that your company had to get involved. 

Best Regards,

Hometown Property Management, LLC

****** *******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9593602, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I received an e-mail yesterday evening with the answers to our questions.  It should not have taken 3 e-mails to Ms. ******* and a complaint to the BBB to receive a response, but I am glad that we finally did get a response.  Thank you for your help.

Regards,


***** *******