BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Multi-Family apartment communities.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cedar Property Management meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cedar Property Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cedar Property Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 29, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1976 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated: 01/01/1976 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rich Naccarato, President Ms. Donna Naccarato, Vice President Ms. Brenda Reynolds, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rich Naccarato, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Brenda Reynolds, Office Manager
Business Category

Property Management Apartments Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Cedar Builders, Inc. Cedar Canyon Villas Cedar Chateau Estates A & B Cedar Creek Village I & II Cedar Forest Estates Cedar Meadows Cedar Park Cedar Springs Estates I, II, III, IV Cedar Summit Estates Cedar Wood Estates

Additional Locations

  • 907 E Rosewood Ave

    Spokane, WA 99208 (509) 489-4287

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I lived at Cedar Canyon Villas from Feb-end of Aug. 2013. I was in apt 91 and when I left on Aug 29th I had cleaned all apartment. I was suppose to get a refund up to $125.00, but only got $27.00 back. Was told it took someone 7 hours to clean a 660 sq ft apt. There is no way that it would take that long to clean something that small. I know I am a housekeeper. I saw pictures that were taken that were sent to me. Still does not explain 7 hours for cleaning. I am NOT happy with this company will never recommend them or rent from them again.I moved out of my apartment due to unwanted attention from female manager ******. Had no complaints about apartment itself, except wish it had full size washer/dryer. ****** and I talked a few times. I thought she was nice at first, until she started hitting on me. She kept trying to get me to show up for inspection. I told her I couldn't.

Desired Settlement: I would like a higher refund. There is no way it took 7 hours to clean my small apartment. Especially since I already cleaned it. Obviously this probably isn't gonna happen, because it seems they take her word over mine. So I would like documentation on what was cleaned each hour, to prove to me it did indeed take 7 hours to clean it. I did get a list of what was cleaned, but didn't specify time it took to do each task.

Business Response: I am responding to the complaint filed by ****** ******. Her complaint is regarding the cleaning hours she was charged for upon vacating her apartment.

 
As Ms. ****** mentioned she has already received a copy of the cleaners bill showing the items that needed to be cleaned and the total time spent doing so. When I look at the pictures it is clear that it was necessary to do a complete clean for the entire apartment.
 
We do not ask our cleaners to write down how long it takes to do each task in the apartment item by item. We only ask that they track the total hours spent cleaning. If we had charged Ms. ****** for the items as they are listed on her deposit agreement. The amount would have been greater than $126.00 just for the Stove, Refrigerator, Cupboards, Bathtub and windows and window tracks. This is not the only items needing cleaned but it shows that by charging the hourly rate it was a lessor amount charged to Ms. ******.
 
I am including a couple of pictures just because they correspond to some of the items listed above as needing cleaned. I am sorry but we will not be increasing the refund amount to Ms. ******.
 
****** ********
Cedar Property Management
 
 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

****** ******

6/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I notified Cedar Property Management on March 20th, 2013 that I was moving out of my unit at the end of April(more than 30 days notice). However, I notified them via their website rather than my e-mail. They said they received no notification until April 17 when they retrieved comments from their website and saw my notification. I thought they responded to their website but I guess I was wrong. I should have notified them by other means such as by mail or e-mail. They charged me another months rent of $650 for improper notification.Also, I just received the final settlement on my deposit showing that my $250 deposit was assessed $125 for carpet cleaning(I agree),$31.60 for electrical(I agree), $100 for painting(???). They say I owe them another $66.00. At best I owe them $6.60. I also paid $30 deposit for keys and misc. which I turned in and got no credit for.I thought these people were more honorable but I guess its all about the money

Desired Settlement: 1. Get my $650 back2. Get their accounting corrected.

Business Response: I am responding to the BBB complaint from ***** ********. He claims to have sent his notice to vacate through our website well before the required date. His comment is that his notice sat until we retrieved our comments from our website. It does not work that way, when someone contacts us via the website link the comments are emailed to me immediately. I have done some test on our site and I have been unable to delay these contact comments in anyway. They are received in my inbox within a very short time, there may be a delay in my opening my inbox and retrieving them but I would always take in to account the date on the email as the date the item was sent.


Mr. ********'s email was sent on April 17, 2013 this would make it a late notice and he would be and was charged for May rent. This is standard policy and within the guidelines of the Washington State Landlord Tenant Laws.

If Mr. ******** has a copy of his email in his sent folder with the March date he mentioned or possibly a notice that it was not delivered from his internet provider I would certainly be willing to look at it but at this time the May rent paid is not going to be refunded.

I am embarrassed to say that there was an addition error on the accounting section of Mr. ********'s move out form and the balance he owes is in fact $6.60 as he states. I am willing to take a wash on this amount so he does not need to send any payment his account is zero.

Please let me know if there is anything further I can do or any questions I can answer.

Thank you,
****** ********
Cedar Property Management
*** * ********
Spokane, WA 99208
###-###-####

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have signed our papers on march 29th 2013 and the manager did walk thru and said everything is good and clean and he wrote on the rental agreement that everything is left in same condition as when we first rented the apartment.He said that cedars will contact us withing 14 days about returning our deposit back.We have not heard from them for over a month then called the manager on 5-10 and asked about it the response was we will let cedars property know and they will contact you, we waited almost 2 more weeks and contacted manager again on 5-23 their reply was:main manager is on vacation and the one that picked up does not know anything about our situationSo we called the actual cedars property management on 5-23 and told them we have not received our deposit yet their reply was that they have mailed it out on April 5th and we said we never received it and we have address forwarding with **** so even with mistakes on the address it would have still made it to our house and so they said that the person in charge is on vacation when they will get back they will check on this.We thought that we will receive our deposit refund withing 3 weeks after moved out and we depended on that but it has been almost 2 months and seems like no one is not planing to fix this right away, we don't know how long vacation is going to be of the lady in chargeI Believe that Cedars should try and fix this right away and not give us another "when someone gets back from vacation" resolution

Desired Settlement: We would like our deposit back as soon as possible because everything was in Order and we have copy of the document that manager and us initialed stating that everything was good

Business Response: I would like to respond to the complaint from ***** *************, it seems that they have not received the deposit refund check that was mailed on April 5, 2013. When he made calls to the Resident Manager to inquire about his check he should have been referred to the corporate office. I apologize that he did not receive this information as it would have sped up the process for him.


When I looked in the file for the apartment he rented there was a refund of $96.36 due to him and it was issued and mailed on April 5th. The address we have is correct as it matches the address he put on the BBB complaint. It will be necessary to put a stop payment on the check with our bank and after the required three day period before it is guaranteed to be stopped we will issue a new check.

The call Mr. ************* made to our office yesterday was referred to the bookkeeper/property manager for this complex and she does happen to be on vacation this week. She would have addressed this on Tuesday when she returned. I will contact the bank today and start the stop payment process so that we can issue a new check. Does Mr. ************* want to come to our office and pick up the check when it is ready? If so we can call him when it is available for him.

Again I apologize for the confusion that seemed to plague Ramon and of course we have no control over the mail, we did not get the check returned to us so of course we assume it has been received.

Thank you,
****** ********
Cedar Property Management
*** * ********
******** ** *****
###-###-####

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9554447, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


***** *************


Please double check the address and when the check is ready,  please  mail it to ***** *************
                                                                                                                                                **** * ***** **
                                                                                                                                                ****** **** ** *****



12/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented an apartment from Cedar creek managment from Sept. of 2009 till Sept of 2011. When I moved out in 2011, Cedar creek management claims that i did not clean the apartment correctly. I had several people who helped me clean the apart and were also witnesses to the condition in which I left the apartment. None of my $250 deposit was returned to me and Cedar property management is claiming that there was over $750 in additional cleaning was neccesary. Fortunately I did take pictures of the apartment and the condition it was in before I left. Cedar management did send a list of things they claim were not taken care of. In this list they were originally claimng that I owed upwards of $1300 in cleaning fees but that amount was whited out leaving me with a balance of over $700. I am now unable to rent an apartment and i am a single parent of an 11yr old. Cedar proprty mainagements inflated charges and out right lies about the way I left the apartment has ruined my credit and made it difficult for me to obtain a rental in the spokane area. I have and will continue to dispute these charges as they are inflated and incorrect.

Desired Settlement: Would like their business practices looked into to see if this is an ongoing issue for other renters as well, have my credit restored by any means and restore my rental history.

Business Response: I am responding to the complaint from Mr. ********, he rented an apartment from us at ***** ***** ******* from Sept 11, 2009 until he vacated November 2, 2011. Mr. ******** received the move out inspection report from us and as is policy two follow up letters before his account was turned over to the collection agency. I notice that the address we have on file is the same address Mr. ******** used on this complaint so he would have been able to contact us to discuss these charges had he chosen to do so.


When Mr. ******** moved he was charged for twelve hours of cleaning, some paint, two broken doors, carpet cleaning with an extra cleaning as the carpets were very dirty. The total of these cost came to $774.59 after deducting the deposit his balance was $524.59. I don't know what the $1300 charge is that he is talking about there are no notes on this amount and there were not any changes made to the file. It is possible with as bad as the carpets were it may have been mentioned that we may need to replace them but they did come clean with the additional carpet cleaning.

The total amount Mr. ******** references now is probably additional charges added on by the collection agency, I have no control over these amounts. I too have pictures of this apartment from when Mr. ******** vacated and based on these pictures we stand firm on the amount owing. This account was not turned over to the collection agency until January of 2012. Mr. ******** had two and a half months to contact us before that time. He did not.

If Mr. ******** wants to repair his credit and rental history he needs to pay these move out charges as most management companies will consider that a good rental history because he paid. As far as his other comment, our business practices are in very good standing with the BBB, the local landlord association and the Fair Housing Alliance. We are very reachable and we work with current and ex-tenants all of the time.

****** ********
Cedar Property Management



12/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented from Cedar property management for 2 years, during 2001-2003. We cleaned the apartment and made every necessary attempt to make it acceptable by cedar property management. Cedar property management determined the carpet needed to be replaced in the whole apartment due to the three stains in the dining room my kids created on accident. We argued with them that this is a ridiculous amount and if we were going to pay for the new carpet, we wanted the old carpet that was taken out. They refused to give us the old carpet. Besides the 3 stains in the old carpet, the rest of it was in perfect condition. They charged us 3000$ dollars for the new carpet. My wife and I ended up filing bankruptcy and included them in it due to finical problems. This means they are to halt all action to collect the debt. We decided to move again and were forced to use them as a reference during the 2010 year, allmost 7 years later. My new rental agency called to confirm we lived there and they told the rental agency we still owed them the 3000$ for the carpet. Under bankruptcy laws this is illegal to attempt to collect a debt after a chapter 7 bankruptcy has been discharged.

Desired Settlement: 500$ to settle this dispute.

Business Response: I am responding to the complaint from ***** ****** ******. If Mr. ****** filed Bankruptcy as he says his tenant file would have been pulled from our collection files and securely discarded as is our policy.


The only way we would have been able to look up there tenant history in 2010 for the rental reference would have been through the screening companies computer data. I'm sure this showed that he did leave owing us money and it may have been relayed that this went unpaid to us. Since this was a rental reference this information would have been correct. I would expect the company doing his screening in 2010 to pull a credit report and therefore connect the bankruptcy with clearing the account balance owed as there should not have been any collection account listed from us showing on their public records section of their credit report.

There certainly was no attempt to collect a debt as stated in Mr. ******'s complaint and I am not going to pay any settlement as requested.

****** ********
Cedar Property Management

11/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I recently purchased a home and moved away from these apartments. We moved out towards the beginning of October, afer having paid for the full month of October. While moving out the manager came to me and stated that they had a person waiting for the apartment already and that i could get a refund for two to three weeks of my rent because we had left so early. I agreed, I cleaned the apartment, patched the nail holes, and we had our walk through with the managers wife. During the walk through the managers wife listed several things to me that needed to be cleaned, first the inside of the firdge needed to be wiped down a little more, the outside door to the porch needed to be cleaned, there was a little oven cleaner left over on the door that needed to be wiped down. And the living room mirror needed to be cleaned as it had a hand print. All of those things that were listed were taken care of and signed off on. I turned my keys in October 9 2012. I went in October 18 2012 and the paperwork had not even been turned in yet, meaning because the office did not have time or want to, that was nine days I went without getting my refund. Upon getting my deposit back I was charged for two hours of work for things that were never mentioned in our initital walkthorugh, or marked on the signed paperwork i left with. What upsets me is the fact that first i paid for a whole months rent, only to turn the keys in for the manager to sit on it because he didnt go to the main office. Second if it has been empty why was I not contacted that additional cleaning needed to be done. Third why was cleaning done when I had paid for the apartment at that time.

Desired Settlement: I would like the rest of my refund back for my deposit and I want to be reimbursed for the time that it sat empty because the manager didnt turn in the paperwork. At least for the time that it was cleaned and sat empty.

Business Response: I have gone over the file for apartment #90 at Cedar Wood Estates II to review the complaint from Mr. ********.


The notice to vacate was turned in on September 23rd which would make them responsible for the month of October. I understand that there was an interested party but unfortunately they have not moved in yet so there is no rent refund available. Since Mr. ********'s was still on a Lease through October 31, 2012 he would be responsible for the whole month of October whether they lived there or not.

The "Apartment Inspection Report" was done on October 9th and it looks like some items were pointed out and Mr. ******** did clean again and then turned in the keys on October 12th.

Once the keys are turned in by the tenant we will not longer contact them for additional cleaning and we do consider the apartment to be in our possession. Because the manager had an interested party they continued with turning the apartment in anticipation of getting it ready for the new move in. It is unfortunate that the new tenants moved back their date but it does happen.

The State of Idaho allows twenty-one (21) days for the files to be completed and the deposit refund or accounting of any charges to be mailed. We mailed the deposit refund on October 22nd which is well within the twenty-one days allowed. We did charge for two hours of additional cleaning as there was still a couple of items that were missed or were found. It does state on the inspection sheet that any additional items if found will be added and that there will be a charge for them.

I am not going to be offering any alternative settlement nor am I willing to refund any additional money to Mr. ********.

****** ********
Cedar Property Management


6/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been sent to collections by Cedar Property because they claim I owe them for a month of rent. Their policy SPECIFICALLY states I must give my intent to vacate within 20 days prior to the first of the month or by the 10th. I turned in my notice on January 10th, the property managers were on their days off and didn't receive them until January 12th. I was told that I was still responsible for Februarys rent even though this is not my fault. I chose to move out of the property not only because I have a growing family but also because the living conditions of the unit were and I'm more then positive are still unsanitary! My 1 year old continuously became ill with breathing problems, his doctor had asked if there was any mold growing any place in our home. I stated to her that the bathroom was pretty bad with mold coming through the grout in the shower stall and the auto timer for the fan didn't work. A few days after talking to his doctor we had found a patch of mold growth on an outer wall about the size of a soccer ball. I reported this to the apartment managers but was told to just bleach it. I did just that and within a week it came back, I was told to continue to bleach it clean. My son was placed on multiple breathing treatments, so we began looking elsewhere for a place to live. My father looked at the mold and being a previous business owner of a drywall company state that the entire wall needs to be removed and cleaned out because it will continue to grow. I was told by ***** a manager about the apartment managers to leave a note for them stating that I would like for them to try and rent the unit so I will not be responsible for the month of February because we were still discussing the issues and me disagreeing with paying for the rent. I did just that. I absolutely REFUSE to pay this company money that they do not deserve from me. I turned in my notice within the guidelines of the policy and was out of the unit within the guidelines of the policy as well.

Desired Settlement: I want them to reverse their charges for the apartment manager falsified the documents crossing out the date that I turned in the notice and put the date that she received them. I do not owe this money. I followed the policy as stated in black and white. I have rented several units from Cedar Property Management and have NEVER had a problem with when I have turned in my intent to vacate. If anything they owe my son for making an infant suffer from health conditions that the unit caused him.

Business Response: The ****'s are being charged February rent because they did not drop off their Notice to Vacate on time.


Since they have been tenant of ours for so long of a time they knew that there was a drop box that they could put this notice in as well as their rent checks in. They did not use the drop box instead they waited to bring in the notice to the mangers, therefore, it was late. The managers changed the date because that is the date the notice was handed to them. The ****'s were informed of their notice being late and they were told that they would be responsible for the next months rent. We have several tenants that will delay their move out date until the next month in order to eliminate this penalty as the ****'s could have done.

The mold ******* mentions cannot grow unless there is water or moisture present. We did not receive any maintenance request from the ****'s to repair the fans timer that she mentions was not working so I cannot comment on what caused the mold or if they took necessary precautions to prevent it. Including the requirements in the Mold/Moisture Disclosure Statement required by the Washington State Landlord Tenant Laws.

I am sorry but we are not going to reverse the charges. This account has been turned over to Automated Accounts and they are now responsible for any further actions to be taken.

****** ********
Cedar Property Management
*** * ********
Spokane, WA 99208
###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9072508, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I did use the drop box on many occasions both at Cedar Chateau as well as Cedar Summit. I did indeed drop my notice into the drop box on the evening of January 10th after I got notification from my current landlord that we were in the clear to go ahead and give notice, I have 2 individuals that were with me at the time. Therefore, the manager falsified the documentation that I provided to them by crossing off the date and writing in the "received" date, I repeat January 10th and 11th were their days off there for they did not "receive" the notice until the 12th of January. They claim that they check their box on their weekends in which they did not. I have delayed my notice by a month because I didn't fall into the timeline in one of my past moves which was the time that I moved from Cedar Chateau apartment 27 to Cedar Summit apartment 301. Other than this occasion I have never had any issues with the time frame of turning in my notice on time. The account is with Automated accounts who is working greatly to resolve my issue.


As for the timer not working properly, I did speak with the onsite managers in which I was told to just make sure I keep the fan on to help prevent the mold growth. I did inform them of both issues but they were not addressed other then a response of "bleach it" or "keep the fans on". I kept the fan going in the bathroom nearly 24-7, it wasn't the fan itself that wouldn't work it was the timer. The mold growth was on an outer wall to the left of the living room window and the unit was on a bottom floor. I have photos of the mold growth that are on my cell phone in which I will try to get off and send them in I also have photos of the mold growth in the bathroom that was uncontrollable as well. I shouldn't have had to bleach my shower 2-3 times a week, weekly cleaning yes but bleaching it with Clorox bleach 2-3 times a week is out of control. I am going to contact the Washington State Health Department and request that they see about investigating the unit as well as I will contact my son's doctor and get a letter from her stating his breathing problems. I will also have a professional drywall company write up the proper procedures to eliminate mold growth, no it will not be my father for he has retired from drywall.


The onsite manager did everything to keep me there even offering me a discounted rent.

If there is anything else that I can provide please let me know, I do have my intent to vacate form and all of my lease agreements from all 8 apartments that I rented with Cedar Property. I have also been informed that I am not the first that this company has falsely charged. I am still requesting the charges be reversed!

Regards,

******* ****

 

 

Business Response: In regards to the complaint ID 9072508 filed against Cedar Chateau Estates by ******* ****. I am down to her word against my resident managers word. Without additional documentation to sway my decision one way or the other I am going to error on the side of the tenant at this time. I will contact Automated Accounts and remove the additional rent charge from the move out for ******* & ***** Mead. This will close the account with Automated and cancel any amount owing from the Meads.


Thank you,

****** ********
Cedar Property Management
*** * ********
Spokane, WA 99208

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9072508, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

 ******* ****

 

 

 

 

3/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ground managers unwillingness to follow through with lease contract violation of the #10 REGULATIONS specifically as follows: 1) Failure to evict tenants after several complaints led them to the discovery of unlawful drug activity taking place in a middle apartment. The managers asked the tenants affected by the activity (including complaints marijuana smoke rising into the top apartment stinking up the clothes of a single mom and her 11 year old daughters)to give the "boys" a "second chance". The second chance was permitted by myself and the single mom based on the SPECIFIC promise that quote "One more complaint and they will be out"! 2) The activity soon returned after a couple of weeks with a complaint of "massive marijuana smoke smell" inside the top apartment and outside the building. The odor problem of marijuana was brought up to the managers each time it occurred. The noise problem at night continued off and on causing me to loose sleep. The managers have consistently abused their position to protect the unlawful activity and boisterious nightime activity that continues to "interfere with the rights,comforts and convenience of other persons on or around the premises". 3) Said managers have resorted to intimidation measures ie; distorting truth in order to minimize concerns brought up by myself and other tenants.Fabricating untrue senerios about me to intimidate me to keep quiet. They also refuse to acknowledge concerns regarding the unlawful activity by suggesting there is "nothing we can do", "just drop it" " you can always move"

Desired Settlement: To have the tenants of unlawful drug activity evicted per lease requirement #10. Require the managers to make good on the "one more complaint" promise. Provide this particular building with managers that will do their job and not discriminate against law abiding tenants for complaining about illegal behavior and violations of lease contract.

Business Response: The Resident Manager has responded to complaints, the Property Manager has responded to complaints and the Spokane Police Department has responded to complaints from ***** *****. None of these have been able to confirm unlawful drug activity especially with enough certainty to cause someone to have an eviction on their record.


Ms. ***** has asked to be released from her lease and this request has been granted by the Property Manager, I believe she is moving at the end of this month.

If you have any additional questions or need anything else please feel free to contact us.

****** ********
Cedar Property Management
907 E Rosewood
Spokane, WA 99208
###-###-####