Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Plumb Tech Plumbing and Heating LLC

Phone: (406) 251-3555 Fax: (406) 251-3555 6290 St Thomas Dr, Missoula, MT 59803 http://www.plumbtechplumbingandheating.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company offers radiant floor heating as well as boiler service.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Plumb Tech Plumbing and Heating LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Plumb Tech Plumbing and Heating LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 03, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Labor and Industries-Montana
1805 Prospect Avenue, Helena MT 59604
Phone Number: (406) 444-2840

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Lance Hogan, Owner Mrs. Carlette Hogan, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lance Hogan, Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Water Heater - Tankless Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heat Pumps Heating Contractors

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Personal check, Visa, Mastercard & American Express
Alternate Business Names
Plumb Tech Plumbing and Heating

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Plumb Tech Plumbing and Heating LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6290 St Thomas Dr

    Missoula, MT 59803

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Plumb Tech about a frozen pipe in a home rented to my tenant in Stevensville MT. They went out and fixed the frozen pipe and billed me $487.80 which was paid from US Bank Check # ****. My Insurance company Farmers Insurance also was billed $319.70 for the same issue and paid to them. The canceled check is in my possecion. Plumb Tech further stated that the shower handle was broken and needed to repair the issue. They never sent me a proposal to fix the item as promised. I then receive a bill for $319.70, $1716.30 and Interest totaling $28.54 and $94.80. I disputed the charges and my tenant had stated they were out there on several occasions but never fixed thje problem of the shower handle and used a wrench to operate the shower. My builder repairing a wall of the frozen pipe had stated there was a box filled with over $600 in parts left by Plumb Tech for future repairs on other showers. He stated everything work kin the home plumbingwise other than the shower in question that needs a handle.. I notified Plumb Tech and disputed this to no avail. I went to my home and discovered this box and proceeded to take it to ****** ******** ****** where I was told these parts were not to any of my showers or any plumbing fixtures and belonged to a very expensive Spa Shower my home does not have. I purchased a shower part that cost me $3.50 and fixed the issue myself. I now received a statement form a collection company for all the above charges. I have written to them stating the fraudulent activities and repairs billed never authorized by me. I have advised them if they continue to harrass me in this fraudulent claim I will bring legal action to both parties. Plumb Tech was paid for the work authorized by me not once but twice through my insurance company also. This is a questionable business that appears to take advantage of elderly persons from out of town. The work supposedly performed, parts ordered still at the home were never authorized by me nor by anyone directly asking me to perform these services.

Desired Settlement: Cancel out all fraudulent bills and stop harrassing me!

Business Response: I'm writing in regards to a complaint the BBB received by a customer that we have turned into collections for nonpayment. I have attempted to contact Mr. ****** several times by mail to get him to pay his outstanding bills before finally sending him to collections, I also sent him a final notice letter on August 13, 2014 telling him if we didn't hear from him in 14 days he would be turned over to collections. 

On February 17, 2014 Mr ****** called us to fix a possible frozen pipe, He was referred to us by his general contractor because the plumber that had previously worked on the job couldn't get to it. We explained at that time that our rate was a $110.00 per hour and that we would charge mileage to and from. 
We went out to the property on **** *** ** which is 41 miles from Missoula, We tested the shower and found a frozen elbow in the wall, we cut out sheet rock and repaired it. This work was going to be turned into his insurance company, So we sent an invoice to Mr. ****** (not his insurance company) to turn into the insurance company, That is invoice # **** for the amount of 319.70. This invoice has not been paid, As of April 2014 it started accruing finance charges. Mr. ****** has stated he has a cancelled check for this amount, So I would like a copy of that check because in my records I show no payment has been made from him or his insurance company.
As we were there for the frozen pipe we were asked to repair a couple of other things, we installed a body spray into the wall and tightened handles in the bath off the kitchen, we pulled out a broken filter out of the fridge, We took apart a body spray and reassembled it after cleaning it, we also found a broken handle adapter on the master shower. We stated on the invoice that we left New Kohler repair kits for future repairs of the shower valves. We shared that trip charge with the insurance company and billed 41 miles to the customer and 41 miles to the insurance company. We invoiced the customer for the extra work that was done and he paid invoice # **** with check **** for the amount of $487.80 on the 18th of March. 
In May we were asked to go back out to the property by the tenant and the general contractor to do more repairs They said they spoke with the homeowner and he gave them permission. So again we charged labor, mileage and parts, And at this point the customer knows our rate. We installed a new part on the shower handle of the master, we also found that a balancing spool in the shower valve cartridge was calcified, we tried to clean it the best we could to reuse the part but it was to corroded! The parts we used at this visit were Kohler stem adapters, handle screws, grommets, leak shields and a body spray adapter kit. We spent 4 hours at this repair, The next time we went up we worked on installing the new parts for the master shower and the shower off of the kitchen, again we charged mileage and the parts we used were a 306 KS Kohler cartridges and stem/cartridge caps, We charged the customer our cost for that. All fixtures in this house whether it's the ones we installed or someone else did are very high end so they are not a cheep repair. Several of theses repairs had to get parts from kits where there at multiple items that comes with the kits, We left all unused items at the house so the owner wouldn't need to purchase another kit. 
For this customer to say we are taking advantage of elderly out of town people is defamation of character, We are a ********* ran business and have several older folks that don't live in this state and trust our company to perform work for them.
The customer never asked for a bid for the work that needed to be done and it's not unusual for us not to provide a bid for small repairs, We spoke with the general contractor several times in this process! 
I have attached the invoices that we have sent Mr. ****** in March and in May. Mr. ****** states that we charged him and his insurance company for the same job, he's insinuating that we have been paid twice for the same job? That is a untrue statement. 
  

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******

This is not the way things transpired ********* business or not.
  There was no proposal, there was no quote on travel time on these repairs.
 I was told that a shower handle was broken, by my renter and I asked the plumber to fix it.  The repairs were not done according to my renter at the time.
 In addition I repaired the shower handle that cost $3.50, receipt enclosed.  I took photos of the broken handle and are enclosed from Sept 12, 2014
I was billed for many parts  ordered by this firm were not for any of my fixtures according to ******* ******** supply in Missoula. These parts are sitting in my basement and are of no use to me.

I refuse to pay for items and repairs not agreed. I refuse to pay for charges on fraudulent claims of repairs and parts never rendered by this plumber. I will bring legal suit to this company and their collection agency for aggrevation and harrassment.
 I have referred this complaint to the Montana Department of Licensing and will press chrages to investigate with the MT board should this continue further.

Business Response: I understand that Mr. ****** may be upset that he had to fix one of the three shower handles but there was a lot more wrong with the three bathrooms in this house then just one $3.50 broken shower handle adaptor (if you just take even a minute to look at the invoices it shows all the work that was done). We were asked to fix multiply things at this property. The reason the one shower handle was still not fixed when Mr ****** visited his vacation/rental property in September is because we still had two invoices that were not paid. Before we would do any more work ***** called Mr. ****** to let him know we needed to see payment before continuing and at that point he was very rude on the phone. We then spoke with **** the general contractor and he said he would make sure we got paid by Mr. ****** to please come and finish the job, After we spoke with **** we continually tried to reach the tenant to gain access to the property to finish the job ( which we were planning on not charging trip fees or labor), after not hearing back from the tenant we spoke with **** again and he said that the tenant was out of town on vacation and that the tenant would get back to us when he got back in town. We never did hear from the tenant or seen any payment for the work completed at this house. 

I spoke with his insurance agency Farmers Insurance and they stated that they didn't not pay us for invoice **** for 319.70 but in turn gave Mr. ****** a check about the time this was invoiced. I also spoke with ****** ******** and they say there is no way that they would know what Mr. ****** has in his house for fixtures and they wouldn't have said that the parts he had in the box don't belong to the fixtures in his house. As I have stated in my last response we had to buy kits to repair the hand held body wash sprays and handles, when you purchase some kits, it comes with a few extra parts and you may not use all the parts, that is why we have stated all along that we left the extra items for future repairs. I will get this in writing from ****** ****** if need be. 
During the entire process of repairs and trying to get payment we have kept in contact with **** ******** the General Contractor and ***** ****** the original Plumber (he is who referred us to this project and a lot of other past and present jobs).  
This project was not completed due to none payment and lack of contact with the tenant.  I have once again attached the unpaid invoices for your review. 
We will be receiving letters from **** ********, ***** ******, ****** ****** and Farmers Insurance and will attach them as soon as we get them. I needed to send this reply before time expired.  
 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB, I have read the above from the plumbing contractor.  I never gave a go ahead on anything but the repair of the frozen pipe issue.  There are no hand held Body spray showers in my home.  There was only one pipe that froze, not 3.  My contractor was the one that told me about the extra parts purchased by this plumbing contractor.  I never received the calls in question the plumber states. I did speak to my contractor that the job was not finished according to my tenant, the job was never completed as admitted by the plumber. I had completed the job myself with a $3.50 part invoice  (previously sent). This matter has been referred to Montana Licensing in Helena and I have asked to investigate this matter and take whatever disciplinary action needed against this business.

I would like to offer one item alone of evidence that no one has, as there was never one given. He stated that simple inexpensive repairs in his earlier correspondence never require an estimate.  I would think that a $1700 plus bill is not a simple and inexpensive expense! Please have him provide a statement and estimate or further with my signature on it. I spoke with my builder about the excessive expense and advised him that on the bills in question a note on a sticky was sent Pay whatever makes you happy".  He stated the shower handle needs to fixed but the company would not proceed until paid.  I told him to get out of the middle as I was dealing with an unethical business charging me for work not needed, not authorized nor approved by me.

I again state for the record the last time.
State Farm advised me the plumbing company was paid.
 I have never paid nor intend to pay for a fraudulent so called repairs because these were not needed nor authorized by me to render this work. 
There was no written estimate to complete the work this company is claiming was approved. 
None of this work other than the frozen pipe and broken $3.50 handle was approved by me verbally, in writing or no other way. 
The plumber went about doing what he did on his own without my consent. 
The call he is referring to with me was after the frozen pipe that he sated there was a broken handle that needed replacement and he would not fix till the insurance company or my (initial) bill was paid for.  I had stated I had sent him a check US bank #**** in the amount of $487.80.  You have copies of this transaction previously sent.  He was the one rude that said he would not finish work without payment. I assured him that the check was sent and was cashed several days after this call.  That was the only call I was on with this person from the plumbing company.

This matter if not resolved with this letter in response is becoming harassment on the part on the part of the plumbing company.
I have nothing further to say on this issue.

Thank you

***** ******

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Plumb Tech Plumbing and Heating LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart