Download

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gold Seal Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gold Seal Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Gold Seal Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1967 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1967 Business incorporated 12/26/1967 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard L Dixon, President Mr. Chris Dixon, Vice President Mr. Robert Dixon, Secretary Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard L Dixon, President
Business Category

Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
Ace Plumbing and Sewer Gold Seal Mechanical, Inc. Gold Seal Service

Additional Locations

  • 5524 E Boone Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The weather was below zero and my 77 year old mother's pipes froze. She called Gold Seal by a recommendation from an acquaintance. She called in the morning of Feb 5th. The Plumber **** eventually showed up early evening. There is no time stated on the invoice ****** for arrival nor is there a times stated for departure. The invoice does state the work is not guaranteed, I have no problems with that, if in fact someone would have actually did something to help my mother in her position. She paid for the service call of $100.00 and was given a Senior discount of $25.00. The issue is the pipes were of course frozen, she has heat tape and it was not even addressed by ****. What he stated on the invoice is he used a heat gun for 1/2 hour, this of course would not even begin to "thaw" the pipes in a sub zero temperature. He left my mothers home by putting her heater, **** **** under the mobile. The fuse kept blowing and this certainly could have been a fire hazard for my mother. The pipes of course did not open. I visited my mother the next morning, Feb 6th, early of course for my concern on her behalf of still no water. No way to flush her toilet etc. I brought her water over. Then I called my son and he went to check on things. He found the heat tape in a bundle under the mobile, the area in which the pipes come in to the home, possible source of freeze, the insulation had not been moved nor was there any evidence that ****'s work was even complete. It was not an hour later when my son had the heat tape plugged in, the heater back in her home and the pipes were beginning to thaw. It is very unfortunate that a company such as your size in Spokane failed on assisting an older senior with a very needed service.

Desired Settlement: Please take in to consideration when working with seniors. Why allow a discount on failed work. So sad. thank you

Business Response: We did not do our job properly and the client had every right to be upset.  We have sent the client an apology and  a full refund. 

9/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cracked sewer pipe in basement associated with plugged drain required clean out of drain & replacement of exposed & readily accessable drain pipe. I anticapated a cost of about $150-200. Gold Seal Plumbing but in a bid of $461.77 to replace pipe & $177.13 to clean out obstruction down stream. In the course of locating another plumbing company it was mentioned that Gold Medal's bid was higher than what would be normal for this job to be done. After locating another plumber who was available, the entire job, including parts, labor & tax to replace pipe and do cleanout came to $158.15. I am not sure which legal term would be the most appropiate to describe this situation. Gold Seal certainly can charge whatever it wants to, but it is unbelieveable that the BBB would grant their seal of approval to this company based on their billing practices.

Desired Settlement: Removal of BBB endorsement of Gold Seal Plumbing

Business Response: We regret that your were unhappy with the price we quoted to correct your plumbing problem. We are glad that you were able to find a solution at a lower cost. That is a win-win situation for both of us.
Your situation perfectly illustrates why we went to "up front pricing" over a year ago. Most of our clients prefer to know what a project is going to cost them before they commit to having the work done. Before "up front pricing" we would have started the work at an agreed upon hourly price and you would probably have gained if everything had gone well, but paid more if the plumber ran into problems.
To come up with our price list we subscribe to a national pricing guide. Their database uses an average time for each of the projects and we have found that overall, the system is very accurate.
All of our service personnel are licensed journeymen plumbers. It would be legal and cheaper to use unlicensed staff for drain work, but our policy is to insure we take excellent care of our clients. Everything from using "booties" to laying down temporary floor covering if we need to bring in machines or remove old equipment is designed to insure our clients receive the very best plumbing care possible.
Our service plumbers are uniformed, background checked, and do NOT work on commission. We conduct regular training sessions to insure they are kept up to date on new products and procedures, and many of them are selected to attend week long training within specialized area of the trade.
If you ever have another plumbing problem we hope you will give us a change to give you a price on the work. We would like to show you why 83% of our business is either repeat or referrals.
Sincerely,
GOLD SEAL PLUMBING
******* ***** General Manager


We have contacted Mrs. ****** and she reported that she was very pleased with the professionalism and manner of the plumber who responded to her call, but that she felt the quoted price was too high.
We subscribe to a pricing service to provide our clients with "up front pricing" so our customers know the cost before we start working on the project. The prices are based on average costs and are generally very accurate. We do not charge a fee if the client declines our proposal.
Our service plumbers are all state-licensed, uniformed service plumbers, who have passed a complete background check. All of our employees are drug tested and required to maintain technical proficiency. Our plumbers are hourly employees and they are not paid by commission. We provide specialized training for our plumbers and insure that they are appropriately licensed for the job at hand.
We have been servicing local clients for over 45 years with the same family ownership Over 83% of our business is repeat or referral We strive to provide value to everyone we serve and we work very hard to earn our client’s trust.
Sincerely,
******* ***** General Manager

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9200720, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Gold Seal, as mentioned in my original complaint is entitled to charge whatever they want. I suppose my complaint should have been lodged against the BBB for endorsement of this company. After reviewing the BBB website and reading the "mission statement" of the BBB, it seems the mission of the BBB is to only be related to dispute conflict and not business ethics. I realize I was misinformed as to the function of the BBB. There is one problem I would like to address. The last sentence of the second paragraph "We do not charge a fee if the client declines our porposal"  of Mr *****'s response to Ms ******* was rather disenginuous in that we were told if we did not utilize their services there would still be a matter of a $ 100.00 service call. When my wife purchased a degreasing product, the service fee was waived. Had the purchase not been made we would have been responsible for the service call fee.

Regards,


**** ******