BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

This Business is not BBB accredited

Chris Johnson Plumbing

Phone: (509) 520-5022 2009 Portland Ave, Walla Walla, WA 99362 http://chrisjohnsonplumbing.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers plumbing services to residential remodeled and new construction customers as well as light commercial work.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Chris Johnson Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chris Johnson Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 24, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2004 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Department of Labor and Industries WA State
901 N Monroe St Ste 100, Spokane WA 99201
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (509) 324-2600

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Brooke Johnson, Co-Owner Mr. Chris Johnson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Brooke Johnson, Co-Owner
Business Category

Plumbers Water Works Contractors Remodeling Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2009 Portland Ave

    Walla Walla, WA 99362 (509) 520-5022

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is absolutely appalling to me that you would expect a customer to pay for something that they did order. ******, when we talked about the temporary handles the week of July 23, you told me they would be $70 each, I told you I didn’t know if we wanted them and that I would call ***** and call you back. I called you back within 10-15 minutes and told you, ‘No, we did not want them installed.’ I even asked if you wanted me to call **** and let him know. You said, ‘No, that you would take care of it.’ I got home from work and found the handles were installed which was quite a surprise. **** was still here and I asked him if you had called and told him not to install them and he said "No." I told him that we did not want them, but he said that he never got that message from you, ******, so **** would not remove the handles. Therefore, ******, I don’t feel I should have to pay for the miscommunication between you and your employee. I called the next day and told you that they were installed and I was told **** would be by that evening at 5:30 to get them. I made sure someone was home by 5:00. The handles had not been used by us, but they obviously became "used" when they were taken out of the package, installed and turned on to be tested! That is not our responsibility. That is totally on you and it is unfathomable that you are not taking responsibility for NOT telling your employee not to install the handles!
Now, almost three weeks have passed and still you have not sent anyone to retrieve the handles! I called to let you know that two of the trim pieces were loose and asked if someone could come and look at them to see if they needed to be tightened. At that time, I told you again that the handles were still on the shower. By this time, we had used the shower. It was pretty clear that after this amount of time had passed and no one had come to remove the handles that apparently you must have decided not to get them, but this was your decision not ours! I called you while **** was at my house and asked you to have **** take them and you argued with me stating they had now been used and you would not remove them as you could not re-sell them. To my recollection, it was another three weeks before the actual handles did arrive and were installed.
You continue to state that we shouldn’t have used the handles, but you won’t take responsibility for installing them when you were clearly told not to install them. And, again, they became used once they were removed from the box; installed and tested by your employee which was your lack of communication to **** not anything that we did.
To blame us for using the handles when you never sent your employee back to get the handles at all is ridiculous. We trusted you with our business and it’s hard to believe that you would treat us this way for something that is clearly your responsibility. This is absolutely the worst customer service we have EVER received, and all of our friends that are aware of this situation have strongly stated that they also will never do business with your company and are appalled by your actions.
Enclosed is a check in the amount of $2,277.77 for payment in full less these two handles, which we did not order and have returned to you.
Enclosure c: Better Business Bureau

Business Response:

I am writing in response to a letter you received from Mrs. ******** regarding a disagreement about a set of shower handles. I appreciate the opportunity to provide our side of the disagreement and hope to in this letter. 
 
We provided Mr. & Mrs. ******** with an estimate to install a new shower system in their bathroom. We also provided a number of hours with the ********s helping them decide on shower valves and how to design their shower. The ********s took our information and free help and decided to provide their own shower valves and trim pieces.
 
When we arrived to install the shower valves, the customer’s valves had not arrived yet. We told her that it was not a problem and that we would come back to finish the job when her material arrived.  When her valves arrived, we did come back to install and did not charge them an extra trip for not having their material ready when they asked us to be there.
 
We returned to install the trim and the ********’s had all of their material except for the volume control handles. In the type of shower Mrs. ******** had, she would not be able to use her new shower without the volume control handles. She called and asked if we had any spare parts that she could use until her handles arrived. I explained I did have some handles but they were “new” items and if she used them they would cost her $70 each. My plumber went to Mrs. ********’s house to check on a different issue and installed the handles so he would not have to make a special trip if they did, in fact, want the handles. I did receive a call from Mrs. ******** stating they did not want the handles. We did set up a time for my plumber to pick up the handles. Unfortunately, he was running late that day and he forgot. At this point, we made a decision to remove the handles when Mrs. ********’s new handles came in as we were already over budget by having to return to install their valves. This didn’t seem to be a problem because Mrs. ******** would not have been able to use her shower without the handles. So as long as the shower wasn’t turned on, we could have taken them back without question.
 
Mrs. ******** decided to use the shower, therefore, we billed for the handles. In turn, she has not paid for the handles and we have absorbed the cost.
 
It was our attempt to provide good customer service to her by not charging a separate trip to install her valves when she was not ready on the initial trip as well as providing shower handles so she could use her new shower. We strive hard to make sure every customer is pleased. Thankfully, most of them are.
 
Although it is disappointing to lose a customer, we hope that this settles the matter and will continue to strive to provide excellent service to our continued customers.  
               

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9259277, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Hi *****,


Thank you for speaking with me regarding this incident.  I appreciate your time and understanding.  I’ve attached a copy of my response to the letter you received from ****** ******* from ***** ******* Plumbing on October 15, 2012.  Hopefully, the case can be closed and finalized.

Have a great afternoon. 

**** ********

Administrative Assistant

Department of Biological Sciences

October 22, 2012

Dear Ms. *******,

First of all I would like to let you know that there are some untruths and misleading’s in the letter from ****** *******, ******* Plumbing dated October 15, 2012.  I will not delve into all of them, but would like to clear up some of what she stated.

We ordered over $1,000 of product and paid over $1300 for labor which has been paid in full.

The trim pieces she speaks of were on back order through Chris ******* Plumbing.

The main issue I have is that ****** ******* was told prior to the installation not to install the temporary handles and they installed them anyway, and then they did not return to get them after I called and told her they had been installed. She states in her letter that “At this point, we made a decision to remove the handles when Mrs. ********’s new handles came in as we were already over budget by having to return to install their valves.”  Of course she never let us know of this decision that they made to wait and remove the handles when the new handles came in which would have been a nice thing to communicate to us.  Also, she states that we would not have been able to use our shower without these handles and this is not true.  We were told we could be shown how to use the shower without these handles.  She states that as long as the shower wasn’t turned on they could have taken them back without question.  But her employee turned them on to show me how they worked when I arrived home and saw that they had been installed. Although he wouldn’t take them off because he said he was not instructed to. (This is all stated in my original letter). Therefore, they were initially turned on by her employee and not by us anyway.

Since they have written off the temporary handles, I am not seeking any other further action.  We are just extremely unhappy with the way they handled this situation, and are concerned about the poor customer service that future customers may receive from Chris ******* Plumbing.  Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

**** ********

*** ** **** *** ******* ****** ** *****

###-###-####

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

8/26/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1