BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ProTECH Mechanical Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ProTECH Mechanical Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ProTECH Mechanical Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 24, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1992 in MT Business started locally: 01/01/1992 Business incorporated: 08/18/1992 in MT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Department of Labor & Industry
1805 Prospect Ave, Helena MT 59624
Phone Number: 406-444-2840
dliquestions@mt.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Adams, President Mrs. Rita Adams , Office Supervisor Ms. Carla Martin, Administrative Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Adams, President
Principal: Mrs. Rita Adams , Office Supervisor
Business Category

Mechanical Contractors Plumbers Sheet Metal Work Water Heaters - Dealers Refrigeration Equipment - Supplies & Parts Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Contractor - General Green Builder Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Pro Tech Mechanical Inc.
Industry Tips
Contractors - GENERAL ADVICE

Additional Locations

  • 1100 Central Ave

    Billings, MT 59102

  • PO Box 23334

    Billings, MT 59104 (406) 245-1221

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company advertises that they are "experts in Geo-Thermal Heating and Cooling systems" and they were asked to design the "most efficient,least cost to operate system to heat and cool our new home and water". The system that they installed was using so much fuel to heat the home and water that we were filling our fuel tank so much we were afraid we would not be able to continue living in the new home we had built. We had others who were experts in the field of heating and cooling and plumbing come evaluate the systems that PRO TECH designed. We were told that the entire system was not correct for a home the size of ours. The radiant heat is still completely ineffective due to their design. The insulation under the floors is not sufficient. To this day we continue to have more expenses due solely to the poor installation of plumbing fixtures. The final straw was today when a shower fixture which was installed incorrectly fell and broke our tile in the master shower!!!!!!! The filters that are required for the Water furnace cost over $80 each! When we asked about the excessive use of fuel to heat and cool the house and the domestic water, they said we must have a leak in the fuel tank feeding our new home! **** the owner is a blow-hard who tries to impress with large words, interrupts, and does not listen at all. We have tried to get them to help us and they are useless. They continued to blame all of our issues on other people, products, and circumstances. We are so upset with the broken tile in the master shower that we feel that we need to speak up. Their advertisements that they are such a great BBB endorsed company are the main reason that this complaint is being filed!I feel sorry for anyone who gets involved with this company! They charge way way too much and claim to be experts in things that they are not experts in. Every single system in our home that they were involved with has issues with it. Every time I hear their advertisements I get extremely angry!

Desired Settlement: They need to own up to the fact that they designed the heating, cooling system and domestic water incorrectly! Failed to insulate the staple up radiant heating tubing. We have now paid another $20,000 to have the correct radiant heat equipment installed, separated the domestic hot water heating and the radiant floor heating. They need to repair our master shower tile floor. Repair the shower fixture that was not installed correctly. Replace or repair the other shower fixture that has failed

Business Response:

Attention:  Better Business
Bureau         ******                                                                  Date: 3/10/13

From: Protech Mechanical Inc.                                     
Re:Written response------BBB ID # 9416863 

Invoice
Statements:
Project Status: Paid in Full: terms met by projects end: out of warranty:      
Equipment used:
 *(1) Geothermal
(5 ton) Air to Air heating/cooling system, The HERS rating performed, by an independent
company, wrote : Geothermal unit can both heat and cool the entire home, stand
alone. Report attached *(1) 3-ton
Mini-Split A/c unit for special cooling occupancies, *(1)Plumbing
system for DWV-
(Inspected & approved) and *(1)
High Eff. 96% LP Triangle Tube Boiler w Smart Exchanger, for radiant zones & generating
high volume gpm hot water needs, for a body wash specified by Mr. ******, that’s not
usually applied for use with fixed water cistern due to high water volume req. Imagine
how quickly a water tank capacity would be depleted w this high output.  *(1)
An electric KW heater; included
for back up or emergency air heating needs. The suggestion that the equipment
is poor in design is untrue. The work began in 2007. His portrayal of me is very
poisonous at best & his caustic behavior is an indicator of his attitude.  This caused us at Protech to withdraw from
him years ago.  The main reason he filed
a complaint to the BBB, he said, was that we had advertised to be a great BBB
endorsed company. The suggestion that any reference to the BBB was in bad taste
is false. Our track record is for striving to meet all of our dear customers
needs, and we’ve prospered because of them. We grossed over $4 million in business
last year and we consider all customers very important. We feel that “Hook,
line & sinker, ProTECHs customers are #1.  Those customers range from in house
employees, residential homeowners, commercial businesses and industrial
customers. Mr. ****** had more to say in what was to be spent and what
equipment would be used than he would lead us to believe now. The complainant’s
choice to spend $20,000 for the geothermal equipment he purchased to produce
hot water cost more than he was willing to pay back in 2007. The equipment he
used likely was not available nearly 7 yrs ago. The whole geothermal industry
is improving & changing.

 When Mr. ****** received
what he felt to be a high propane bill he complained. None of us like expense. We
installed an LP meter to monitor usage. No cost to customer and ProTECH has
responded to any call.  The propane use
has been spoken of sufficiently, repeatedly and even confirmed that after
checking for leaks (which he apparently thinks was ridiculous too, in his letter)
we were told by the LP provider that the amount used was not out of line. The first
thing to do with LP, if a leak is suspected, is find & locate any such leak
if possible.  This boiler would later become
despised by the complainant because of LP usage; even as we confirmed its high
eff. operation by combustion analysis. In late 2009 he wanted us to buy back
the boiler.  We were not interested in
doing such business so now the rest of the story unfolds.  At this point we began to question even more, Mr.
******’s continuity with the real project at his home and his questionable
responses as well as just his common knowledge on what he should expect.  He complains that we did not insulate the
staple up tubes in his letter, as if it were deficient and incorrect.  Staple up tubes are not insulated when
attached to the underside of subfloors.  The
6” insulation bat  is usually attached with
the shiny side up (reflects up) toward the stapled up tube on the subfloor – attaches
across the joist space and down the entire length of each bay leaving a dead
air space for the exposed uninsulated tube to radiate up through the floor,
thus radiant tubing. For the complainant to accuse us here only exposes
ignorance respectfully, on his part. I would like to point out, regarding slab
insulation, was not ProTECHs responsibility. Document point out that all
insulation by others  We were never paid
to provide or install any under slab insulation which was done by others.  If heat loss is being experienced then this
would be the responsibility of those that did it.  Budget tightness would not allow money to be
paid to Protech for this under slab insulation that was performed by others.  All insulation was by others for floor
or staple up.  The general contractor was
rarely there and chose what was to be done and when. 

The complainant speaks of a shower head falling off and damaging
tile. The high water volume may have loosened the shower head over time but with
other workers on site, it’s anyone’s guess what may have been the cause.  The accusation is unreasonable to blame
Protech after some 6 yrs later. Preventative maintenance would be a viable
consideration and is the home owner’s responsibility.

Protech monitored the homes temperatures throughout the
entire range of bitter cold and scorching hot outdoor temperatures, for 2 years
and were pleased with acceptable results. The HERS rating test mentioned above
was performed at ProTECH’s expense ($650 see attached) with an acceptable
result.  --- To be sent with hard copy.

We do not work with this General Contractor due to non-payment
of services rendered.. This general contractor called for our help &
expertise because he was in trouble with some folks getting sick from the deadly
Ecoli bacteria in a cistern, that had been installed for him some other
contractor who would not respond to him..  He used our excavation and licensing to avoid
lawsuit himself, get work done and then failed to pay us. Protech turned him
over to Debt collection for this failure to pay. This gives a clearer picture
why we chose not to continue business with the complainant who was his close
friend. We have received no calls or communication from the complainant since
2011 when we responded to a non warranted call for a condensation problem in
his vault that was created by his own neglect. 
He had forgotten about it.  We
wonder what else he may have forgotten.  So
we all see the relationship has deteriorated and we want no part of either of
these folks due to obvious reasons and deny any of their charges as being
completely false.   Both arrogance and
hatefulness have been their motivated companions.

 

 

Thank you.            ******, please call with any questions ------------  ###-###-#### or ###-###-####

 
Respectfully,



**** ** ****s, (HVAC
specialist 38yrs) Master plumber, Owner

ProTECH Mechanical Inc.                                                        

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9416863, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

PLEASE SEE MY RESPONSE ATTACHED.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Please find my response attached to this email.  Please let me know that you have received my response to Pro-tech's response. 

Regards,

**** ******

Dear ******,

Where should I even start to address **** ***** response to
our complaint about him and his company?

First of all, after reading his ranting, going in circles
and not saying anything, response, you should be able to see exactly what we brought
up in our original complaint about Pro-Tech. 
Just like his response, we are still waiting to have our complaints
actually addressed, not just have **** spin his way out of fixing the extremely
poor heating and cooling system and domestic hot water system which they
designed for our new home.

Let me begin with just listing the bullet points that we
believe need to be addressed:

1.      
 The fact
that we asked them to design a system that was the MOST efficient possible to
heat and cool our home.   (meaning the
least expensive on fuel usage, be that propane or electric or a combination of
both fuel types)

2.      
Design the MOST efficient way to heat our water
for domestic use.  (meaning least
expensive on fuel usage)

3.      
Provide faucets that would actually work, and
not fall off the wall and damage the tile in the master shower.

4.      
Install the radiant heat piping so that it
actually does what it was intended to do, heat our home.

5.      
Take some ownership in the fact that THEY
designed the system, we did not.  That
goes along with his signature stating that he is a “HVAC  specialist 38 yrs) Master Plumber, and Owner,
(which for the record he is VERY SIMPLY, one of MULTIPLE owners of
Pro-Tech!!!!!!)

6.      
The fact that our complaints represent just
that:  OUR Complaints!!!   Having nothing to do with our general
contractor.  **** felt the need to drag
the name of the general contractor into his response, and through the mud at
that!  If he has a problem with the
general why has he not filed a claim with the Better Business Bureau about that?

We originally asked about
utilizing geo-thermal heating and cooling as it was presented to us as the
“Most Efficient” means of heating and cooling a large home for the least amount
of money.  I first spoke with ****s
son-in-law ****, (who is also a part-owner of the company) about possibly
becoming involved in our new home construction project.  They called themselves experts on Geo-thermal
heating and cooling systems.  While in
reality, they used our home as a “learning job”!!!!!!!

The price of diesel for instance,
was about $4.75 per gallon at the time of construction.  I distinctly remember saying to **** that we
were planning on living in this home for the next 30 years, and we needed to
have the best, most efficient heating and cooling possible in order to enable
us to afford to live in the home that long. 
**** likes to bring out signatures on paperwork to prove that we signed
off on the system.  The only example that
I can give you is that when one goes to a physician to get guidance on their
health, they take the expert opinion and decide how to move forward.  In the case of a person going to a surgeon
and asking for their professional opinion about what type of surgery to have
they “Trust that the so-called expert” who suggests the correct type of surgery
for the patient.  In our case, we went to
the “self-proclaimed”  expert of 38
years, MASTER PLUMBER!!! To get an appropriate heating and cooling system and
domestic hot water system design.  OF
COURSE we signed when they came up with what was requested by us to be the BEST
OF THE BEST to meet our above mentioned goals. 
I submit to you that our signature means that we had confidence that
these self-promoted experts listened to what we requested and designed a system
that would accomplish what we asked that it do! 
In fact in one of our many meetings with **** following the construction
of our home, My wife asked **** point blank “Are you proud of the system that
you designed and installed in our home to heat and cool it in the most
efficient manner”?  ****’s answer after
some prodding was:  “No”.

When we asked about an on-demand
hot water heater for our domestic hot water needs, we were told that it would
be “REDUNDANT” because of the system that they had designed.  What we did not understand at that point is
that by redundant **** meant that instead of using the geo-thermal wells that
we drilled that are at a constant temperature of 65 degrees, we would simply be
using propane to boil water for the radiant heat in our floors!!!!!!!!

**** the expert did not even use
the geo-thermal “cost saving” well loops that we paid through the nose to have
drilled!!!!  They designed a completely
different boiler to heat the in-floor radiant heat tubes in addition to the
system that was going to be used through forced air to heat and cool the rest
of the home.  So in reality, we have two
totally separate systems that “fight against” each other and increase the usage
of the propane that we so desperately wanted to conserve!  ****’s quote to my wife was: “the radiant in-floor
heating that you asked for was just to make your toes warm, not to actually
heat the home.  It is just a luxury item” 

So the bottom line is that the
boiler was running all the time trying to heat the fluid in the radiant heat
tubing, without even taking advantage of the geo-thermal wells, while also
attempting to passively heat our domestic hot water at the same time!  No wonder that the propane bills were
astronomical! 

****’s answer to us:  “the gas company must have installed
something wrong when they put in your buried propane tank”.  He said the reason that we were going through
propane so fast was that it must be leaking into the ground or the air.  So after he pointed the finger at the propane
company, he told us he would install a gas gauge on our gas valve where it came
into the home.  Free of charge.  Thanks but it did absolutely nothing to
address the fact that we were burning propane at such a fast rate.

Along those same lines, ****
states in his response, that they paid a person to come out and perform a HERS rating
evaluation.  Again, a way to side step
any responsibility on his part. 

The best way I can explain the
issue with the HERS rating evaluation is this: 
If I buy a Ferarri that is designed to have a 24 valve engine that goes 190
miles per hour, and after I buy it and I take it out on the highway and I am
getting passed by every vehicle on the highway, including Yugo’s, I am
disappointed so I take it back to the service department at the Ferarri dealer.  They inspect it and see that the 24 valve
engine has been replaced with a tiny 4 cylinder engine.  They proceed to do an evaluation on that 4
cylinder engine (even though it is wrong for my Ferarri) and come back and say
that the results of the HERS test
is that the 4 cylinder engine is running great. 
Just because an evaluation says the engine (in this case heating and
cooling and domestic hot water system) is working correctly does not
prove that it is what was requested by the consumer nor does it prove that it
provides the end result which in our case is: “the MOST efficient system to
heat and cool our home and also provide domestic hot water without breaking the
bank in excessive propane usage”!

That is what his HERS rating
evaluation is.  It is another way for
**** to point the finger at someone, anyone else!  It must have been the insulation guys, the
concrete guys, the window guys, etc.  but
not with the 38 year experienced self-proclaimed EXPERT!

So what I am telling you is that
we are tired of the smokescreens and the finger pointing.  The buck stops with the 38 year experienced
EXPERT!

The last time we had **** out to
take a look at the system was in 2011. 
Camille, my wife, asked him to come back to us with a plan on how they
planned to fix the dysfunctional heating and cooling system combined with our
domestic hot water heat.  WE ARE STILL
WAITING FOR AN ANSWER!

We were then forced to hire
someone else to FIX Pro-Tech’s nightmare of a system in our home.  It cost us almost $20,000 more and we now
have gone through the entire year without having to fill our 1000 gallon
propane tank at all.  While we were still
waiting for Pro-Tech to come back to us with a way to fix the faulty system
they designed, we were having to get our propane tank filled about every 2
months at a cost of about $1000 each time! 


Pro-Tech’s non-action forced us to
come to the realization that they do not care about their customers,
period! 

After just re-reading the last few
paragraphs of ****’s response I have to laugh! 
It is a perfect example of him avoiding any responsibility for the
system they designed!  The fact that he
goes into attacking my choices of body wash faucets that deplete water from my
cistern due to high water volume is a perfect example of not addressing the
actual complaint.  Twist words, confuse
issues, and blame anyone but themselves, that is business as usual at Pro-Tech
Mechanical.  Simply muddy the water so
much, with non-sensical, babbling, that you as an evaluator are confused, and
it works. 

The point of my bringing this to
the attention of the Better Business Bureau is to make you aware that this is
the Modus operandi of Pro-tech Mechanical in a nutshell!  We know that we will never get satisfaction
from this company!  That is proven by his
response.  The sole purpose of this
complaint is to try, at whatever cost, to help some other innocent person from
becoming a victim of Pro-Tech Mechanical and their so-called, self-proclaimed,
leader. 

The very fact that they advertise
themselves as Better Business Bureau endorsed needs to be addressed!  I feel you need to know who you are
endorsing.  The people of Billings
deserve better!

Thank you very much,

Sincerely,

**** *. ******







Business Response:
Attention:  ****** - Better Business Bureau       Date: 4/1/13  
      Response 2: - complaint
9416863

 

The Better Business Bureau is a superb measuring
medium influencing balance for situations as they present themselves in the business
world.  The medium of exchange is present
for sensible judgment and goals for logical, fair considerations.  When dealing with trades’ systems and their
application it is my pleasure to deal regularly with mechanical engineers,
architects, and professionals in the construction trades alike. 

Overview
response:

The
complainant was out of funds with projected cost overruns for this new home
during equipment selection. This fact seems to have been long forgotten since
that time. These were the conditions, in 2007, when we were asked if we
installed geothermal systems.

The
complainant has portrayed me & our company as unfavorable.  What he has said is so untrue, misleading
and unfair it is slanderous to be sure. 
I refute the complainants’ bitter comments as also being very misleading
of the facts.   

He states in
his letter that the price of Diesel was about $4.75 per gallon at the time of
their construction.  I have absolutely no
idea what he is talking about here.  

 

Response to complainant’s bullet points:    

Bullet point # 1 “ ask them to design a system that was the most efficient possible to
heat & cool his home.”  (Meaning the
least expensive on fuel usage be that propane, electric or combination of both
fuel types).

Response #1:  The complainant’s enhancement
of details above, were not asked of us in the context he implies.  We did not have many meetings.  In his letter, he states that we said that
this system was the Best of the Best. His system was very good but the “Best of
the Best” was not our phrase, nor did we say it.  The systems proposed were fine choices
fitting his budget.  His general contractor,
requested us to install a geothermal system, which is known to be one of the
best.  The general contractor asked, “Do
you install geothermal.”  We answered yes.   

These systems
have been designed by product engineers. 
A typical geothermal system is known to be one of the best systems
available with good efficiencies for both Heating & Air Conditioning & their
home was not used by us as a learning job, not true at all.  Upon the complainants’ choice and request, we
installed the geothermal system. The relevance of the HERS rating tests, ( that
the complainant seems not to understand, but accuses us as using it as a
diversion tactic) were, to confirm for better or worse, the sizing &
functionality  for heating & cooling,
efficiencies and energy star ratings of this installed geothermal system at the
time of install.  It was not sidestepping
responsibilities but rather to confirm correct sizing & operation.   

            The
propane meter installed by Protech was for free in an attempt to show that we
cared about any perceived deficiency.  He
caustically referred to it as a gas gauge. 
 He has spent neither the time to
understand or considered its usefulness and has missed the point of it altogether,
much like the content of his complaints. 
We were wondering from the claim of propane use, if in fact there may
have been a leak. The meter would show us and help us determine usage for
evaluation.  (Not to side step or to
evade concerns)  This disregard for
sensible reasoning and the inability to grasp it is puzzling. We did not find
fault with the propane provider as alleged but comments were made by them
saying, they did not feel the usages were that high.  The domestic water heating plant was approved
by the homeowner, before we installed it. 
We could not predict Lp fuel costs but this type of heating is done all
the time.   The complainant did have a condition that was
significant not caused by Protech; a low insulating R-value in the slab &
perimeter foundation areas which allow heat loss & Lp use.  Current energy standards, require R-11 or
greater for under slab concrete & perimeters vertical areas. The R-value
installed for their slab & perimeter areas we’ve been told is insufficient.
 In this installation, the general

                                                                                                                                                 
Pg2

contractor, under the homeowner’s direction & a
restricted budget provided and installed all insulation. Protech did not
provide or install any insulation at all anywhere. 

 

Bullet point #2, Design the MOST efficient way to heat our water for domestic use.
(Meaning least expensive on fuel usage)

Response #2:  This claim is not true.  As a master plumber & for domestic hot
water & what must be considered is gallons per minute & gallons per
hour of recovery required. The largest WSFU (water supply fixture unit) was
determined, which in the case of Mr. ******, was the body wash & shower of
24 Gpm, ( specified by the homeowner) very large, in addition to, water WSFU for
the remaining water using plumbing fixtures of the home.  Also the radiant floor zones requirements at peak
load conditions for heating that water.  We
presented the 95% eff. Energy Star boiler @ ($10,500). The additional
geothermal expense that would be at least $20,000+ would not be approved but
rather the 95% Energy Star Boiler.  To be
demonized for complying with his choice is unreasonable.

 

Bullet point #3 “Provide faucets that would actually work, and not fall off the wall
and damage the tile in the master shower”

 

Response #3:  With this much time having
passed (6 years plus), it is anyone’s guess who may have done what with the
shower faucets.  What we do know, is that
the complainant chose the master shower faucets, the other faucets, were chosen
by the homeowners as well, which were Brushed Nickel Premier Brand. Annual
plumbing maintenance should be implemented by the complainant to assure no
further incident similar to the one he describes and of course to maintain the
systems.

 

Bullet point #4 “ install the radiant heat piping so that it actually does what it
was intended to do, heat our home.” The complainant stated that what was said was
the radiant floors were only a luxury item to warm his wife’s toes. 

 

Response #4:   The floor radiation zones were all functional
on start up, every zone heated and responded to their respective zone
thermostats. The radiant tube zones were secondary heating requirements heated
by the 95% Energy Star boiler equip.  Approximately, seven radiant tube zones were
requested per the homeowner. Toe warming was not the first concern.  But what is relevant, is that often in the
radiant world of considerations, basement concrete and tiled floors, open floor
areas, that tend to be cold to the touch, are often radiant heated, not just
for the toes, but for the zones they serve. Radiant floors are attributes of
comfort during cold weather.  The suggestion
that the radiant zones did not work is simply not correct at all and is
misleading. If now after these long years the radiant zones do not work then
those (not Protech) performing the $20,000 of changes may well need to be
consulted.

 

Bullet point #5:  Take some ownership in the fact
that THEY designed the system, we did not. That goes along with his signature
stating that he is a “HVAC specialist 38 years” master plumber, and owner,
(which for the record he is VERY SIMPLY, one of MULTIPLE owners of Protech.)
                                                                                                                            
                 Pg 3

Response #5:   Very simply, for the record, in
2007  I was 70.5% principal owner and
presently am 98% principal owner of the company.  There are but two owners presently, back in
2007 there were three.     Am not sure what this reference is meant to
imply but it seems important to the complainant. I am grateful every day and feel
humbled and responsible for my 29 team players.

May I remind all parties that in business, doing
what is ask of us is a great way to keep peace & to be paid for services
rendered.  Not to make too fine a point, but
the complainant did, in fact, approve all systems installed in his home and paid
us in full for these very nice systems.  Your
statement that my Son in Law is an owner is not true.  “I am proud of the systems I worked on at ******’s
home, he said.  They had claimed that he had
said, NO, when ask if he was proud of the systems he had installed at their
home, he said, surprised by the comment, that this was not true at all.  This conversation took place nearly 4 yrs after
our dealings at the home were complete, and another nearly 3 years ago to now.  2007 was when the project began.

 

Bullet point #6:  The fact that our complaints
represent just that, Our Complaints. 
Having nothing to do with our general contractor. **** felt the need to
drag the general contractor into his response, and through the mud at
that.   If he has a problem with the
general, why has he not filed a claim with the Better Business Bureau about that? 

 

Response # 6:  First of all, I’ve never
mentioned the general contractor’s name. 
I thank God that in America we have freedom of speech but I choose to be
discreet in what I say.  I must remind
everyone that this work that finished up nearly 7 years ago, has only recently
come up due to the Mr. ******’s need to tell the BBB how awful he thinks we
are, stemming from a radio advertisement mentioning our Accredited Status with
the Better Business Bureau.  Protech has used
company revenues, hired consultants and independent auditors and purchased equipment
& performed investigative service calls, until all issues were
resolved.  It amazing what a little
advertising can do.  We have always been
straight forward with the ******’s and we wish them good luck.   

 

In summary:

The analogy
of the Ferrari being requested for 24 valve engine that moves 190 mph and
getting a 4 cylinder engine in its place is questionable.   So his requests for systems, being the
Ferrari and what he received as systems, being under powered 4 cylinder vehicle
are out of balance.  First of all he must
be willing to pay for the things he asks for. 
When he isn’t willing to pay for the Ferrari there must be a settling
for something less.  What he authorized
is a geothermal energy star Heat/Cool system, a Energy Star Boiler heating
plant for the generation of domestic water and heat for radiant zones, as well
as a standalone Mini split system for the upstairs area to serve as a comfort
A/C circulation subsidy for those areas. 
For the HVAC side of considerations and a plumbing system for the DWV , bathrooms
& kitchen areas of the home. The customer has received systems that were
designated by the homeowner and the HERS  rating proved sufficient for both the sizing
and the operation.  For the record the ground
source temperature of 65F the complainant mentioned as being always available
is also not true.  In the winter months
ground temperatures go low often near 40F. 


 

Respectfully,

            

**** (****) *****

Protech Mechanical Inc.  

 

 

 

 




Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9416863, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

After reading the most recent response from Pro-Tech, It is abundantly obvious that neither **** nor his company has the best interests of the client in mind.

I have already written 5 pages of responses to his meandering, non-sensical, dribble.  We could keep writing back and forth and trade barbs all day long.  The bottom line is that we built a home that appraises for more than one million dollars.  The budget for our heating and cooling and the heating of our domestic water was sufficient.  The contractor WAS NOT!

After reading ****'s latest response, I pulled out a micro cassette recording of the last meeting that we had with Pro-Tech, our general contractor, and my wife and I.  **** was well aware of the fact that I was recording the meeting as I turned it on and sat it on the table for all to see.  The recording is dated 6-24-2010. I do for the record have to correct one thing from my last letter:  I mistakenly said my wife asked Rich, (rick's son-in-law) "If he was proud of the system that they installed in our home."  In fact, It was **** who after being asked and asked again who said "No I am not proud of the system that we installed in your home"

Another fact that is also extremely clear when listening to the tapes of the last meeting that we had with **** is that **** dominates about 75% of the conversation, does not allow others to speak, interrupts over and over again to divert the other speaker from the topic at hand.  I will be glad to provide a copy of the tape to the Better Business Bureau so that you can hear exactly how the meeting went. 

I can provide a few verbatim excerpts:  Speaking of the Equipment...**** says"I want to make it real real clear, the equipment that you have got, we we we there's there's the the Water Furnace Furnace is the grandaddy wonderful, wonderful or carrier furnace the climate master furnace those types of furnaces that we sell that we sell, they have proven to be some of the best system's in the World! We we have put hundreds of thousands of dollars worth worth of similar types of equipment in the Crown Plaza, we've put them into homes all over the place and and in terms of being proud of the geo-thermal system and how it works yeah I think that the geo-thermal system in an of itself is a great system, Now    ******* asks again Are you proud of the end result of what we have?  **** says: No No I am not proud of that" 

The term that **** keeps using during our last meeting and on the tape is: that we are having a "Loss of LP gas"  because he keeps pointing the finger at the company that provided the Propane tank must have screwed it up and the propane is mysteriously disappearing.  When in reality, the system is very simply using so much propane that we are having to fill our propane tank every two months and it is a 1000 Gallon Tank! 

**** just keeps coming back to the the fact that propane must be leaking out into the ground!  It is simply not realistic to believe that the propane is just leaking out of the tank and into the ground or the atmosphere.  That is why the odor is added to odorless propane gas, to warn people that it is leaking. 

So fast forward to today.  We have now spent over $20,000 additional money to CORRECT the system that Pro-Tech designed and installed BY HIRING A HEATING/COOLING PLUMBING CONTRACTOR THAT ACTUALLY KNOWS WHAT THEY ARE DOING!  THAT IS EVIDENCED BY THE UNDENIABLE FACT THAT  Lo and behold, we HAVE NOT HAD TO FILL OUR 1000 GALLON PROPANE TANK SINCE MARCH 2012!  FOR THOSE THAT ARE COUNTING:  THAT IS OVER A FULL YEAR AND WE STILL HAVE 50% OF OUR PROPANE REMAINING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PLEASE ALSO NOTE THAT OUR ELECTRIC BILL HAS RISEN ONLY SLIGHTLY!!!!!!!!!!AND NOTHING WAS DONE TO THE PROPANE TANK ITSELF OR THE GAS LINES FROM IT!!!!!!

RETURNING TO THE ORIGINAL COMPLAINT:  IF THE SYSTEM WAS ORIGINALLY INSTALLED AS PER OUR REQUEST "TO BE THE MOST EFFICIENT SYSTEM POSSIBLE"  WITHOUT PROOF LIKE THOSE PROPANE USAGE FACTS LISTED ABOVE I COULD NOT PROVE THAT PRO-TECH INSTALLED A TOTALLY INEFFICIENT SYSTEM.  SO DUE TO THE STONEWALLING, AVOIDING, AND BLAMING OF THE PROPANE TANK PROVIDER, PRO-TECH DIVERTED ANY BLAME FROM THEMSELVES. 

THE LAST WORD WE HAD WHEN RICH, THE SON-IN-LAW CAME OUT TO OUR HOME THE LAST TIME OVER A YEAR AND A HALF AGO:  MY WIFE ASKED HIM TO GET BACK TO US WITH A PLAN TO "FIX" OUR SYSTEM.  WE ARE STILL WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM HIM AND OR PRO-TECH! 

SO WE HAD TO COME TO THE CONCLUSION THAT WITH **** AND HIS BLAMING THE TANK AND OR THE PIPES FOR SIMPLY LEAKING PROPANE OUT, AND NO PLAN FROM RICH TO MAKE IT RIGHT, WE HIRED A REPUTABLE CONTRACTOR TO RIP OUT THE PRO-TECH DESIGNED AND INSTALLED SYSTEM AND MAKE IT RIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   

THE RESOLUTION OF OUR COMPLAINT WOULD BE THAT **** FINALLY OWNS UP TO THE TRUE FACT THAT HIS COMPANY:

A. DESIGNED AND INSTALLED A TERRIBLY INEFFICIENT HEATING/COOLING AND DOMESTIC HOT WATER HEATING SYSTEM.

B.  POINTED THE FINGER AT ANYONE TO DIVERT THE BLAME TO ANYONE BUT THEMSELVES

C.  RE-DIRECTED EFFORTS FROM ACTUALLY FIXING THE SYSTEM TO "GIVING" US A PROPANE GAUGE SO WE COULD BETTER WATCH OUR MONEY DISAPPEAR IN THE FORM OF PROPANE BEING WASTED THROUGH THE USAGE IN THE SYSTEM THAT THEY DESIGNED.

D.  AGAIN DIVERT ANY RESPONSIBILITY FROM HIMSELF AND PROTECH BY "GIVING" US A HERS EVALUATION TO TELL US NOTHING ABOUT WHY THE HEATING/COOLING AND DOMESTIC HOT WATER SYSTEM THAT THEY DESIGNED WAS CONSUMING SO MUCH PROPANE! 

So now please put yourself in the shoes of some unsuspecting couple that would like to build a home and have pro-tech mechanical design and install a heating/cooling and domestic hot water system for their new home.  Do you truly believe that it is in the best interests of the Better Business Bureau to endorse Pro-Tech as an approved vendor?  After living through his response to our complaints...I say no!!!!!!!!   And I believe that the people of Billings would agree.  

**** can call it slander...I call it the truth!  The numbers simply do not lie! 

Thank you for hearing my complaint. 

Sincerely,

**** ******





11/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother is 75 years old and has early stages of dementia. Central air conditioning was having problems so she called Pro-Tech Mechanical and they came to her residence to diagnosis the problem and repair it. Their diagnosis it was to cold outside of a temperature to do a full assessment of the problem. This was in Oct on Friday 12, 2012 and the temperature that day was above 65 degrees and Billings hasn't seen any snow or temps below 40 degrees during this year yet. They charged her for a diagnosis and repair of $118.00. Now if it were to cold outside why did they come out to begin with? The diagnosis was that the central air conditioner was running during the same time as the furnace was. The repair was to pull the fuse out of the central air unit since they said it was to cold outside to diagnosis why the central air and furnace was running at the same time. I called and spoke to the manager and asked her if a additional diagnosis would be added in the spring and she stated "yes". We encountered a verbal confrontation over the phone about who's right and who's wrong I decided I wasn't dealing with a unprofessional manager and hung up the phone. If you have parents who are senior citizens I'm sure you know about business like this who take advantage of them. We don't need businesses in our city who take advantage of seniors citizens and this is a trend that needs to be stopped. We will become senior citizens some day and if we stand up to these businesses and do not support them then we can help make sure this will not continue to be a problem for anyone.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) They came out to my mothers residence to make a diagnosis.They explained that they couldn't properly make a diagnosis because of the outside temperature but still charged her for one.They charged her for a repair. They said the furnace and central air were working at the same time, so they pulled out the fuse that operated the central air. They consided that as a repair.I feel they took advantage of her, I want them to refund my mother or come b

Business Response:

Thanks for the information and here is our response.

The aggressive rush to negative judgment from **** ***** ***** concerning the work done by Protech was stunning, per the facts as they transpired. Mr. ***** called our office and was inflamed and disrespectful at the thought of payment of services as he declared, “that he works on that stuff all the time”. The verbal argument on the phone was initiated by him alone with very civilized communication attempts being made to him from one of our phone receptionists.  He hung up on her rudely before even connecting with the owner or manager of Protech, saying that he wanted his money back or he was call writing the BBB.   The signed invoice agreement including explanation of services is included:  **** *** *****, the owner of the property called and requested service to be done: invoice 64921, as acknowledged by her signature approval.  She was cold and her furnace was not functioning and she needed the furnace to heat.  She requested that we investigate. We found the air conditioning stuck on due to a failed control component. The indoor coil of the furnace was blocked by a solid slab of ice that had formed due to this problem.  Melting of the ice slab would be necessary. So instead of staying and charging more to accomplish ice removal, a decision was made to de-energize the A/C unit to disable.  Furnace operation as it pertains to heating was restored. These air conditioning problems were discussed & the customer wanted to hold off with these additional repair requirements due to the age of the A/C equipment. Repair for the A/C would be done in the spring, she did not want the expense now, she said.  Mr. ***** was not present during the work process and did not call to talk to our tech to find out the real facts and made his own assumptions and decided to call the Better Business Bureau without knowing the facts.  The work performed was reasonable, the customer was not overcharged by any consideration and the furnace was enabled to heat once again for the invoice price of $118.50. He was not charged for air conditioning repairs because non were done; but would be if we return in the Spring.  This is consistent with sensible thinking.                                          

10/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable