BBB Accredited Business since

Living Water Lawn and Tree Care

Phone: (509) 487-3439 View Additional Phone Numbers 6925 E Bigelow Gulch Rd, Spokane, WA 99217 http://www.livingwaterlawncare.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Living Water Lawn and Tree Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Living Water Lawn and Tree Care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Living Water Lawn and Tree Care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1991 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated 08/18/1999 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Fairburn, Owner Ms. Carolyn Alvarez, Office Manager Ms. Lisa Fairburn, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Carolyn Alvarez, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael Fairburn, Owner
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Pest Control Services Organic Soil Fertilizer Landscape Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Living Water Lawn and Tree Care has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6925 E Bigelow Gulch Rd

    Spokane, WA 99217 (509) 487-3439 (800) 529-6227

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Living Water from April to Sept 2014. During that time, they serviced my yard with weed and fertizlier products, as well as core aeration per their recommendation. Beginning in June, I began to notice weeds were not disappearing and there was no change in my yard from the services. I called, and they came out and "sprayed" again. This caused no difference which resulted in me calling a 2nd time in July. again they said they would come out and "spray again". After the 2nd spray, there was no change and I sent an email and called them, which neither was returned. My overall complaint: Their services did not provide any positive benefit to my yard, even after repeated attempts to "fix". I followed every recommendation they offered. This is the 2nd season I've used them and the result was the same. Their products are inferior and they do not honor their "satisfaction guaranteed" statement. Their technicians and staff have little accountability to ensure their customers are happy with their service.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund on my services for the 2014 year as I will have to invest at least that much this year to improve my lawn.

Business Response: Consumer requested fertilizer w/weed control applications and aeration services in May of 2011 and received all remaining services requested for that season. In 2012 consumer cancelled services after 1 fertilizer w/weed control application and an aeration were done. In 2013 consumer requested and received an estimate for an overseed program for the thinning lawn but did not setup or receive that service. In 2014 consumer requested fertilizer w/weed control applications and an aeration. Consumer did not setup the overseed program as quoted in the fall of the the previous season. Consumer called 34 days after the 2nd fertilizer w/weed control application was done regarding weeds in the lawn and it was explained that we would get his next scheduled application done as soon as possible. The service technician applied the 3rd fertilizer w/weed control application and left a note to the consumer regarding proper watering and advised (and quoted) for the overseed program for the lawn. Consumer called 6 days after the 3rd fertilizer w/weed control application was done to request that the application of fertilizer w/weed control be at no charge to him. It was explained to consumer that it was time for the next scheduled application which is why there was a charge. The consumer called a day later to find out if the back yard had been being treated. The service technician called consumer and left a voice mail explaining that it had been treated but if there were no changes to the lawn in 2 weeks to call back so we could setup a retreat service call. Consumer emailed 3 months later to cancel the remaining service.

Our fertilizer w/weed control applications are for feeding the lawn and controlling the weeds. When consumers setup a full fertilizer w/weed control program we perform the service on an every 4 week cycle. We can go as far out as 6 weeks in between applications but any longer allows weeds to re-establish and also weakens the lawn color. We advise our consumers to call in between application cycles if the lawn is lacking in green or if the weeds are starting to re-establish so that we may retreat as necessary. If there are no calls in between applications we maintain our normal cycle for the applications. We work with consumers to help lawns be green and weed free by providing service and advising of things the consumer can do such as proper watering and mowing practices.
Based on the account information we have on file for this consumer, no refund will be issued.

11/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the above listed lawn service earlier this month. I was interested in a sprinkler blowout and aeration. I received an estimate of $49.95 for the blowout. I was not given an appointment time for this service to be provided and was told the company would call me at a later date to schedule a date and time. After a couple of weeks and no phone call, my brother said he would come over and blow the sprinklers out. My brother came with his air compressor and did blow out the sprinkler system. He did it three different times to make sure all the water was out. The last time there was nothing but air coming out of the system. Also, my nephew was with his Dad and witnessed the process, as well as the owner of the home next door. He was outside, working on his rental home, and asked my brother if he needed any help getting the air compressor out of the trailer. Yesterday, 10/28/14, I discovered a "bill" from Living Water & Tree Care left on my front door. The bill stated service was provided at 9:32 am and "winterized my sprinkler system" and charged me $54.30. I contacted the company yesterday, as soon as I discovered the "bill" and reported what I indicated above to the woman who answered the phone. She said she would try to contact the technician who left the bill. She was unsuccessful and said she would follow up with a call to me today. I just got off the phone with the above mentioned woman. She said her technician said "there was water running out of the pipes" and "surely my pipes would have froze this winter." I responded by telling her: 1) I did not confirm the "voice mail" they left on my phone the day prior to the technician "winterizing my sprinkler system". I did not, in any manner, give them permission to complete this service, nor did I need or want it. 2) I did not sign a contract. All I received was a "service estimate". (She did respond by saying landscaping companies do not require signed contracts, but the day before the woman I spoke with said I had "signed a contract".....not sure if this was the same woman I spoke to this am.) 3) I was witness to my brother blowing the sprinkler system out and there was absolutely nothing but AIR coming out of the system when he completed the task. 4) I was in my basement at 9:32 am working out on the day of "service", 10/28/14. My curtain was open and I did not see anyone in my back yard, nor did I hear the LOUD industrial air compressor he supposedly used, nor a ring on my doorbell indicating he was there. After hearing the above, the woman went on to state that they would send the bill to collections. She was also kind enough to tell me the man could be verified as being at my address, as they have "GPS" on the service vans. Oh really??? I would imagine he did come to my address as he did leave a bill on my front door. She also said "he wouldn't have charged anything had there been no water coming out." I am retired, on a fixed income and I have PERFECT credit. I believe the company took it upon themselves to come to my home to "provide services" that I did not confirm I needed or wanted. I also believe the technician, who "heroically saved my pipes from freezing and catastrophic disaster" was less than honest, as there was NO WATER coming out of the sprinkler pipes when my brother completed the blowout, nor did I see the serviceman in my back yard, that I would have definitely observed from my basement window, when working out at the time the "service" was completed, hear his compressor or hear him ring my doorbell. And as far as the "Commit your work to the Lord & it will succeed - Proverbs 16.3" printed on their service estimate...........what a sad, sorry scam......."bully and scammer" would be more accurate verbiage for my unfortunate incident.

Desired Settlement: I am retired and on a fixed income. The $54.30 will not reduce me to bankruptcy, nor do I want my perfect credit tarnished, or to lastly, have to pay for services I did not need, approve or receive. I would like to pass along my misfortune where hopefully, it won't happen to other unsuspecting people. I am hopeful you can help me with this frustrating dilemma. Thank you in advance for your help. As you will note, I did cc the BBB and will also file a complaint with them as well. Additionally, I will write a review on the "Living Water Lawn & Tree Care" web site.

Business Response: On 10/13/14 in the afternoon the consumer called in to setup a sprinkler blowout and request and estimate of other services. Our head of customer service setup for the sprinkler blowout to be scheduled and setup for our service representative to get the property measurements. The consumer talked with our service representative shortly after her initial call and she setup 2015 services of 3 lawn applications and an aeration. The consumers account was setup as a Call Ahead which means we will call the afternoon before services are to be done.

 
On 10/21/14 a computer generated call was made to the consumer. The phone call was answered at 10:01 am and lasted 42 seconds. This phone call advised of the scheduled sprinkler blowout on 10/28/14 and advised to be sure to shut off the water and timer prior to the scheduled day to avoid a reschedule fee and to call if there are any questions or concerns.
 
On 10/27/14 at 1:20 pm one of our customer service representatives left another message to remind the consumer of the 10/28/14 scheduled sprinkler blowout and again advised to be sure to shut off the water and timer prior to the scheduled day to avoid a reschedule fee and to call if there are any questions or concerns.

On 10/28/14 at 9:31 am our sprinkler technician arrived at the property and did the sprinkler blowout.

The consumer did not let us know prior that she didn't want to have the service any longer despite having 2 phone calls advising of the scheduled service. It was only after the service was done did she call. Our sprinkler technician observed water coming out of the sprinklers and the backflow. If he had not seen water he would have called the consumer to find out if she had already had the work done.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Thank you for forwarding the business response from Living Water Lawn and Tree Care to me.  As per your instructions, I am forwarding a total of two documents I received from said company to support my position.  The first document was a "Service Estimate" and the second document, a billing, I received on my front door from the company. 

 
Living Water indicated I called on 10/13/14.  As noted in my original complaint, as well as verifying on my phone record, I did call on that date............please refer to the first paragraph of my original complaint.  I did receive an estimate of $49.95 for the blowout.  I was not, however, given an appointment time for the blowout.  The Service Rep, *** *****, did come to my residence and gave me an estimate for the "weed and feed" control, as well as the aeration that I had asked about on the original call (not a separate second phone call as the response appeared to indicate).  Again, as referenced in my original complaint, I was not given a date and time for the blow out, but was informed, by Service Rep, *** *****, while at my residence, I would be hearing from the company to set up an appointment time.
 
As referenced above, I made one initial call on 10/13/14.  I had NO IDEA, according to the company response to my complaint, that I had "set up 2015 services of 3 lawn applications and an aeration."  I assumed, as the enclosed documentation clearly states, this was a "SERVICE ESTIMATE".  As you will note, the service rep did not date the document, nor request I initial the document in the space provided below the very small print, indicating "Our lawn & tree care services will automatically begin for you each year.  To change your service at anytime, please call our office at ###-###-####."   I did not note the small print and space for "customer initials" until I reviewed the documentation closely prior to forwarding my complaint to BBB.
 
According to ******* * ******* **********, "Estimate" is defined as "Verb.......:To give or form a general idea about the value, size, or cost of (something): to make an estimate of (something).  This is what I received, "SERVICE ESTIMATE".  This was not a "Contract", defined as "Noun......:"A legal agreement between people, companies, etc.; :A document on which the words of a contract are written."  
 
The company response to my complaint reports computer generated call to me on 10/21/14; indicating this call WAS ANSWERED and lasted 42 seconds.  Please be advised, my telephone record indicates this call as a MISSED CALLED.........###-###-####, 10:00 am, Oct 21.  
 
Likewise, my telephone records again indicate as a MISSED CALL..........###-###-####, 1:17 pm, Oct 27.  I will be happy to verify the information on my phone records, revealed both calls were MISSED, not answered, as erroneously stated in the company's response.  Please let me know, and I will be happy to take a picture of this record and forward to you.
 
The bill, as I reported being left on my door, was dated 10/28/14, 9:32 am.  Please refer to my original response regarding this billing.
 
Lastly, it would appear the company is accusing me of "scamming them" and only calling them once their "service" was completed, rather than before.   As I indicated in my original complaint, I had not heard from the company and when relaying this information to my brother, he volunteered to come over and blow out my sprinkler system.  I witnessed this, along with his son, ******, and also the owner of the house directly east of me, ***** *******, **** ** **** ***., ###-###-####.  Mr. ******* is the owner/landlord of this rental house.  He was working on the house at the time my brother and his son came to blow out the sprinkler system.  
 
In preparing my response, I spoke with Mr. ******* today, 11/1/14.  I do  not know Mr. ******* personally and have only shared "neighborly pleasantries" over the fence on one prior occasion.  During my conversation with him today, I asked him if he recalled the incident (I'm not sure of the exact date, but it was the week before Halloween between 10/20 and 10/24/14......BEFORE the billing date of 10/28/14).  He had no trouble recalling the encounter.  As I had previously reported in my original complaint, he had offered to help my brother get the compressor out of his trailer.  Mr. ******* further advised he would be happy to verify to you (BBB), that he indeed had witnessed my brother at my house, completing the sprinkler blowout, PRIOR to the 10/28/14 billing date.  I would like to reiterate my brother blew out all sprinklers three different times, with only air coming out of the sprinklers on the last occasion.   Lastly, after having personally witnessed only air coming out of the sprinklers on the third blow out my brother performed, I do not believe water was coming from the sprinklers, on 10/28/14, as reported by the technician to his employer.  


Regards,

***** ********

Business Response: We acknowledge that an estimate was given to this consumer after she called in to setup a sprinkler blowout because she wanted to get additional services for her property. Our service representative gave her an estimate of other services and she setup to have 2015 services consisting of 3 weed and feed applications for the lawn and an aeration for the lawn. At this time there are no active services for this consumer.

 
This consumer stated in her first complaint that she did not confirm the voice mail we left on the phone the day prior to the service. In the second complaint she states that her phone records show a missed call. The facts are that we did leave 2 separate messages as reminders of what we needed to be done prior to arrival of our sprinkler technician.
 
We are, for the most part, a non-contract based company. We only require signed contracts for big jobs such as minor landscaping, sprinkler installations, landscape cleanups and pruning due to the extent of the service being provided. We did not require a contract for this consumer which allows her to cancel services at any time.
 
We do not believe that this consumer was scamming us as she believes. We believe her statement that her brother did her sprinkler blowout for her. We also feel that the reason our sprinkler technician was still observing water coming from the sprinklers is due to water still being left in the pipes. Clearly there was a lack of communication as we would have stopped our sprinkler technician from going out to the property had we known this consumer did not feel our services were required. Had the sprinkler technician found no water coming from the sprinkler system he would have called the consumer to find out if she had already had the work done.
 
We did the work this consumer requested. We do not find that we made a mistake in our records nor did we try to scam her as she believes. Although we believe that the $54.30 is due on her account for services rendered, we have made an adjustment which clears the balance due on her account. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  In reading the response, I see the business indicates I answered their initial automated phone call to me.  I told them in my conversation to them after discovering the bill on my front door, "Checking my voice mail is at the end of my to do list".  The call was, as shown, "missed"...........which is different from choosing to leave a voice mail from the missed call options.  

 

Regards,


***** ********

10/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our issues begin in the Spring. I have 2 young men come to my home and VERY rapidly change out some heads and "fix" 2 valves. These men leave and I'm given a bill of $315 for sprinkler turn on, THEN a bill for $294 for the Sprinkler "Repair" (Which come to find out later didn't really happen). This repair included the labor, repair of 2 valves - $60, 3 heads (large)-$90 and 1 head (small)-$25. While I am floored by the cost, I assume everything is in working order, which I would be paying the company to make sure of, so I am prepared to write the check after the coming payday. After about a week I notice that my lawn is browning. My sprinklers are set to come on in the evening so I am usually in bed before they come on. I initially presume the times need to be increased on the settings. I, therefore, up the times on each of the zones. After another week I notice the lawn is still browning now basically dead. I commence going through each zone to up the times and check them out myself (which I thought I was paying someone else to do). I find that SIX of my zones aren't coming on at all. I attempt to contact Living Water by first leaving a message and next emailing via the website. I get NO response for over a month about this issue. I finally call in a private sprinkler guy who spends a couple hours meticulously going through everything and replacing the six valves. He found that many of the electrical wires were not hooked up correctly or AT ALL. Some wires were just exposed in the valve box. His cost was $383. My husband has talked with a man at Living Water a couple of times about the issue and he has been told both times that, "He'll look into it, and get back to us." The first time, we waited and called back getting the same response and no resolution. The second time we waited but my husband decided we should just pay it and make sure to never use them again. I have been trying to gather the $600 but feel this is wrong since I had to pay someone else to do the work they want money for.

Desired Settlement: I am having a real issue paying the 294.03 for the sprinkler repair since it wasn't really repaired and I had to hire someone else to come out and fix even more (with the incorrect wiring) then if they had done the job initially. I want either the 294.03 taken off the amount owing OR the 383.17 which was the additional cost for the other serviceman to correctly fix the problems.

Business Response: I have reviewed the account and left message for Mrs. ********* to inform her that I made the credit adjustment she has requested along with an additional credit adjustment since she will not be continuing the sprinkler program that she originally setup last year. I apologize that we had not resolved her concerns until now. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and sadly we did not live up to it for the *********s.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


**** *********

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called for estimate for Lawn Sprinkler adjustment from Living Water Lawn and Tree Care in Spokane, WA last week. Over the phone, I was provided an estimate of $49.95 per hour (there was no mention as to how many people will provide labor) + parts and taxes. The company failed to provide any other details about the pricing. I signed up for the service of sprinkler adjustment. Upon completion of service (which took about half hour) I was provided a bill of $49.95 +taxes = $54.29 which I immediately called and paid off to the company. A few days later I received a revised bill of $133.70. When I called the company they informed that although it took less than an hour for service, but they sent out two people instead of one and thus they charged $49.95 X 2 for labor + a part that was replaced for $25 and taxes. I was not informed at the time of requesting an estimate that the service charge is $49.95 per hour "per person" (which the company later mentioned that, that was their rate and which should have been mentioned to me - but I was not provided this information when requesting an estimate, whatsoever). This is not a fair trade practice as the customer was not given full information about the correct service estimate. Had I been provided this information that the service charges is $49.95 per hour per person, I would have never signed-up for service from this company.

Desired Settlement: The company to honor the estimate of $49.95 per hour + parts ($25) provided to me, and correct the final bill amount to = $49.95+$25 (parts) = $74.95+taxes (and I can pay the balance ($27.18) off.

Business Response: Our price for sprinkler repairs is $99.90 ($49.95 per man, per hour) plus parts and tax. We strive to do our best in communicating this with all customers that call in to inquire about the costs. Our goal is to provide the best possible service to our customers in all we do.

 
We have adjusted Mr. ******'s account to reflect the charge he believes he was quoted. The remaining balance due is $27.18.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** ******

5/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for 3 lawncare services upfront last year. I have a very large yard and these services were discounted last year by 50% if I paid in full, which I did. This year they put me on a revolving account (without me asking) and came out twice without my permission. Then charged me and now have sent me to collections. The offered to discount the services again to 50%, but I don't need their servies this year and do not feel like I owe them for servies that I did not request.

Desired Settlement: need to remove charges and take me out of collections

Business Response:

All of our invoices, prepay letters, newsletters and monthly statements state:  For your convenience, SERVICE CONTINUES FROM SEASON TO SEASON. For a change in service please call our office.

On 03/26/12 Mrs. ******* ok’d 3 lawn applications to be done. Mrs. ******* requested that the notes be added to her account for the times she applies fertilizer to her lawn on her own so that we do not schedule ours at the same times. The dates were May 31st, July 4th, and Labor Day. At that time she also setup to have installment billing and was also sent out a prepay letter to receive 8% prepay discount if she chose to change billing option.

On 06/13/12 Mrs. ******* spoke with the head of our accounts receivables, *** Lake, regarding the account being 60 days past due. At that time the installment billing was cancelled and account was adjusted to reflect only the balance due. Mrs. ******* also explained to *** that she thought she had prepaid for her services but her credit card was not charged.

On 06/22/12 Mrs. ******* called in and paid $284.28, the balance due for the 2 lawn applications done.

On 09/27/12 the last lawn application was done for Mrs. *******.

On 11/14/12 a message was left regarding the balance due on account.

On 01/25/13 *** spoke with Mrs. ******* regarding her account balance. Mrs. claimed that she had prepaid for all 3 applications but ****** ***** never ran her credit card. *** explained that her credit card was only charged in June 2012 for the balance due on the account. Since there was some sort of misunderstanding *** had agreed to write off ½ of the cost of the lawn application once we receive her payment.

On 02/12/13 Mrs. ******* called in to pay $71.82 (1/2 of the cost of the last lawn application done).

On 03/25/13 the first lawn application was done for 2013.

On 05/08/13 the 2nd lawn application was done for 2013.

On 05/13/13 Mrs. ******* called and spoke with *** regarding the applications done on her property. The auto-renewal policy was explained to Mrs. *******. Mrs. ******* claimed she was unaware of the policy although it is printed on invoices, statements, prepay letters and newsletters.  *** agreed to write off $165.83 the cost of 1 of the lawn applications.   Mrs. requested to speak with manager. I, ******* *******, spoke with Mrs. *******. Mrs. ******* felt she should not have to pay anything she didn’t want to have the auto renew. Mrs. ******* said we should have called her. I told her the phone number we have on file is the number we called. Mrs. ******* said, "Oh I'm sure it connected but this is my office number and I don’t have time to take calls when I'm working." I told her that we are willing to write off 1 of the apps for her but since she didn't call after the 1st one was done we are not able to write off the entire balance due. She said she doesn't have $165.83 to pay right now and she will have to think about it. I told Mrs. ******* we will make the adjustment for the one app, send her a statement and if needed she can pay as little as $10 each month. Mrs. ******* received 4 statements since that time and was eventually sent to collections since no payments were received on account.