BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Living Water Lawn and Tree care

Phone: (509) 487-3439 View Additional Phone Numbers 6925 E Bigelow Gulch Rd, Spokane, WA 99217 http://www.livingwaterlawncare.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Living Water Lawn and Tree care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Living Water Lawn and Tree care include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Living Water Lawn and Tree care
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 19, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1991 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated: 08/18/1999 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Fairburn, Owner Ms. Carolyn Alvarez, Office Manager Ms. Lisa Fairburn, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Carolyn Alvarez, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael Fairburn, Owner
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Pest Control Services Organic Soil Fertilizer Landscape Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 6925 E Bigelow Gulch Rd

    Spokane, WA 99217 (509) 487-3439 (800) 529-6227

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 529-6227(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for 3 lawncare services upfront last year. I have a very large yard and these services were discounted last year by 50% if I paid in full, which I did. This year they put me on a revolving account (without me asking) and came out twice without my permission. Then charged me and now have sent me to collections. The offered to discount the services again to 50%, but I don't need their servies this year and do not feel like I owe them for servies that I did not request.

Desired Settlement: need to remove charges and take me out of collections

Business Response:

All of our invoices, prepay letters, newsletters and monthly statements state:  For your convenience, SERVICE CONTINUES FROM SEASON TO SEASON. For a change in service please call our office.

On 03/26/12 Mrs. ******* ok’d 3 lawn applications to be done. Mrs. ******* requested that the notes be added to her account for the times she applies fertilizer to her lawn on her own so that we do not schedule ours at the same times. The dates were May 31st, July 4th, and Labor Day. At that time she also setup to have installment billing and was also sent out a prepay letter to receive 8% prepay discount if she chose to change billing option.

On 06/13/12 Mrs. ******* spoke with the head of our accounts receivables, *** Lake, regarding the account being 60 days past due. At that time the installment billing was cancelled and account was adjusted to reflect only the balance due. Mrs. ******* also explained to *** that she thought she had prepaid for her services but her credit card was not charged.

On 06/22/12 Mrs. ******* called in and paid $284.28, the balance due for the 2 lawn applications done.

On 09/27/12 the last lawn application was done for Mrs. *******.

On 11/14/12 a message was left regarding the balance due on account.

On 01/25/13 *** spoke with Mrs. ******* regarding her account balance. Mrs. claimed that she had prepaid for all 3 applications but ****** ***** never ran her credit card. *** explained that her credit card was only charged in June 2012 for the balance due on the account. Since there was some sort of misunderstanding *** had agreed to write off ½ of the cost of the lawn application once we receive her payment.

On 02/12/13 Mrs. ******* called in to pay $71.82 (1/2 of the cost of the last lawn application done).

On 03/25/13 the first lawn application was done for 2013.

On 05/08/13 the 2nd lawn application was done for 2013.

On 05/13/13 Mrs. ******* called and spoke with *** regarding the applications done on her property. The auto-renewal policy was explained to Mrs. *******. Mrs. ******* claimed she was unaware of the policy although it is printed on invoices, statements, prepay letters and newsletters.  *** agreed to write off $165.83 the cost of 1 of the lawn applications.   Mrs. requested to speak with manager. I, ******* *******, spoke with Mrs. *******. Mrs. ******* felt she should not have to pay anything she didn’t want to have the auto renew. Mrs. ******* said we should have called her. I told her the phone number we have on file is the number we called. Mrs. ******* said, "Oh I'm sure it connected but this is my office number and I don’t have time to take calls when I'm working." I told her that we are willing to write off 1 of the apps for her but since she didn't call after the 1st one was done we are not able to write off the entire balance due. She said she doesn't have $165.83 to pay right now and she will have to think about it. I told Mrs. ******* we will make the adjustment for the one app, send her a statement and if needed she can pay as little as $10 each month. Mrs. ******* received 4 statements since that time and was eventually sent to collections since no payments were received on account.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1