This business is not BBB accredited.

Yochum Landscaping LLC

Phone: (208) 660-9822 Serving the Greater Post Falls and Hayden Areas , Post Falls, ID 83854

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Yochum Landscaping LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Yochum Landscaping LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Yochum Landscaping LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 23, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2003 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Department of Revenue
1910 N.W. Blvd.; Suite 100, Coeur D'Alene ID 838l4
Phone Number: (208) 769-1500

Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 W State St , Boise ID 83702
Phone Number: 208-334-3233

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chad Yochum
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Yochum
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Tree Service Mason Contractors Nurseries - Plants, Trees Contractors - Retaining Wall

Additional Locations


    Serving the Greater Post Falls and Hayden Areas

    Post Falls, ID 83854


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Yochum Landscaping in 2014 to landscape my yard. I had previously landscaped some of my backyard and had decided to finish landscaping the rest of my property. When I hired Yochum Landscaping, **** advised me that he was already scheduled for some other jobs, so he would not be able to get to mine right away. I said that was fine. My main concern was that the landscaping be completely done by the end of the year. Everything started out okay. **** and his crew came out as they said they would. There were some scheduling errors, but things were getting done, so I was happy. Near the end of the job is where the problems started. **** had promised to come back in 2 weeks to finish up on a few small items and make sure the new grass was coming in okay. Since they had hydroseeded, I was unable to walk around and check things until later when the grass came in. I figured he would fix any issues, as he said he would, when he returned in 2 weeks, so I paid him. That was a mistake. **** never came back in 2 weeks. Countless phone calls and texts later, not to mention that it has now been a year since he started, **** has still not finished the job. Items that still need to be completed include: Bark around two trees in back that he could not do initially because he had the hydroseed put down before the bark, and a small area in front where neighboring construction was covering part of my property. Areas with large rocks in the middle of the yard. Before **** started, and early in the process, I had pointed these out to **** and advised him that they would need to be taken out. He advised me that he would take care of it. Needless to say, that did not happen, and I still have large rocks in my yard. The area of transition from my old yard to the new is so uneven that if I drive over it at regular speed with my lawnmower, it actually bounces me off the seat. This is a danger as I live on a hill. There are multiple areas of bare dirt where the hydroseed did not take that need more seeding. I had **** create a vegetable garden area. He built 8 boxes and has a water line to each. I advised him that I wanted soaker hoses that I would be able to change easily from year to year depending on what crops I wanted to grow. The lengths of soaker hose he cut were too short, so I attempted to combine them to more appropriate lengths. It was at that time I discovered that the system was not easily interchangeable. When I brought this to his attention, he told me that it was not interchangeable off the valve, that the only way to change it would be to make cuts to the hoses and patch them together. For the rest of the summer (and so far this year) I have had to hand water on a daily basis because I cannot get them reattached tightly enough that they do not leak. I think one of the lines to one box may be leaking as well as the ground where the pipe comes up to the box gets soaked when I turn on the water to that bed. I have asked him to retighten them so it is functional. There is an area of soaker hose on my retaining wall that he did not clamp down so that leaks. I have already fixed on my own an area where he did not even put a drip line to a plant which I noted when the plant started to die. I have also had to replace a sprinkler head that accidentally got mowed because he did not place it deep enough. Now I have to be careful to mow around it so it doesn’t get destroyed again. Between last year and now, I have contacted **** via phone and text numerous times. He scheduled 5 different times with me last year to come finish up and didn’t bother to come. Five times I rearranged my work schedule to be home for him to come finish and he didn’t even bother to tell me he wasn’t going to come. I even have a voicemail where he admits that he has “blown me off.” After that, I have found that he no longer will even respond to my phone calls or texts 98% of the time. The only way I have been able to reach him recently is to call him with someone else’s phone so he doesn’t know it is me calling and will actually answer. I have advised him that I am very unhappy that he has not completed the job he was hired and paid to do. I offered to have him reimburse me the money it would cost to hire someone else to come finish up, but he never responded. Unfortunately it has now come to me filing a complaint with you, the Better Business Bureau, to try to get the job completed. I am hopeful that this will resolve the issue so it doesn’t go any further and I can get my yard done. Thank you for your assistance.

Desired Settlement: I would like Yochum Landscape to finish the job I contracted them for, the job they said they would do for me, and the job I have paid them for.