BBB Accredited Business since

C & C Yard Care, Inc.

Phone: (509) 482-0303 Fax: (509) 482-4310   http://www.candcyardcare.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Services we provide:

Sprinkler System Installation & Maintenance
Lawn Care and Maintenance
Tree Pruning & Removal
Landscape Design, Renovation & Installation
Snow Removal
Commercial Landscape Maintenance

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C & C Yard Care, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C & C Yard Care, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on C & C Yard Care, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 18, 1997 Business started: 04/01/1985 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated: 10/12/1998 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Corigliano, President Ms. Sandra Amann, Bookeeper Ms. Jenni Corigliano, Sec/Treas
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Corigliano, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Sod & Sodding Service Tree Service Weed Control Service Sprinkler Supervisory Service Ice Melting Equipment & Supplies Fertilizers Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Lawn & Garden Pond Dealers & Supplies Pest Control Services Irrigation Consultants Snow Removal Service Landscape Maintenance Lawn & Tree Care Snow Removal Service - Commercial Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall

Products & Services

C & C Yard Care, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Hunter, Irritrol, Rain Bird

C & C Yard Care, Inc. offers the following product(s): Melt-Off Ice Melter, Superior Ice Melter

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
Mastercard
Cash
Check        
Refund and Exchange Policy
All services are guaranteed.   We will work with you until you are satisfied.
Licensing

WA Contractors License: CCYARCI000DH
WSDA Pesticide Applicator: Lic# 45988
ISA Certified Arborist: Lic# PN-1977A


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 18768

    Spokane, WA 99228

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired C&C in the spring (for my home and office). I wanted them to fix my sprinklers at my home. They sent *** out to fix them. He went through the cycles and said he replaced a few heads and fixed everything but one station that he could not figure out. I paid the service call and he said I would get a bill for the parts. A couple weeks went by, I got a bill for $86+ for parts (no listing of what parts) and my grass was dieing. We watched the sprinklers and they were not working! I called and got ******, our sales person to come out. He checked and confirmed they had not been fixed. I told him I was not paying for parts as there was no description of what they were and that obviously it didn't work. I told him I did not want *** back. ****** said he would come as well being he had walked through all the steps and knew what was not working. A few days later, *** showed up! I asked where was ****** and he said he had never heard of ******! He said he fixed everything and that I would be a bill. There was also another person with him. We are now in the heat of summer, my grass is dead. I see **** at my work location. I talked to him about it. He drove to my house with me. He said there have been problems with *** and that he is not suited for this type of work. I told him I was not paying for services or anymore parts; he agreed. next ****** came out, spent two hours there and everything worked. They charged me again! I have paid for everything except the $86 and change for parts. they are now charging me a late fee and sent me to collections. My desired outcome is to credit me the now $89.39 past due for parts and remove me from the collections

Desired Settlement: I want them to credit the balance of $89.39 for parts and late fees and remove me for collections.

Business Response: This is ***** **********, owner of C&C Yard Care.   I have read Ms. ******'s complaint and understand her concerns.  In reviewing all of our documents I see that Ms. ******'s sprinkler system did require extensive repairs.   Our service technician, *******, made two service calls to correct several small issues in June and July.   ***** returned in August to make yet more repairs.  On the third visit ***** did not bill a service call, but only for the parts & labor needed to make the final repairs.

Ms. ****** called on September 16th to discuss the billing.  At that time the total sprinkler repairs totaled $410 plus tax.   Ms. ****** addressed her concerns and negotiated with ****** and *****.  We issued a credit of $196 + tax to her account.   This credit was reversing the labor and service call fees for *******'s work.  In the end, we have billed only for parts and for *****'s labor on the third visit.  The rest of the labor has been waived completely. 
While I feel the credits we have already made are more than fair, I am willing to accept $50 as full and final payment if received within 10 days.

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: C&C yard care was contracted by neighbors in the **** ***** ** ***** *** **, ******** **, to install a 4 foot retainer wall. C&C yard care did not have full permission to build the retainer wall as there was a property dispute between myself and the neighbors. This fact was well known to the workers and possibly, *****, the owner was there. The neighbors refused to obtain a legal survey for full proof of the property line. *****, an employee of C&C yard, care brought measurements and it was discovered that the neighbors appeared to have less square footage than they originally thought. Of course, the measurements were not by a legal survey. The neighbors begrudgingly agreed to move the wall a few inches back in favor of my mother's property line. The neighbors were not pleased about moving the property line back a few inches and argued so I insisted they obtain a legal survey to erase any doubt. At this point, the neighbors and specifically, *****, overwhelmingly stated they were going to proceed that day and I felt bullied and harassed. I felt I had no choice since the neighbors refused to obtain a legal survey and ***** of C&C yard care strongly and boldly stated he was going to start the building of the retainer wall anyway and my request for a legal survey was completely dismissed by the neighbors and C&C yard care. *****, an employee of C&C yard care complained that they were behind schedule and he stated his boss, (evidently *****) knew about the situation and *****, the worker, said he was going to go ahead and start building the retainer wall that very day, despite te disagreement between myself and the neighbors where the wall should be located. ***** angrily stated he could not understand the significance of the square footage being alittle longer or shorter in length. Legal square footage does matter to a homeowner, is all I can say. I further stated knowing the legal property line does matter when a house is sold in the future and I was thinking of the future as this does matter in a significant way. *****, the worker, was very disrespectful, rude and I felt harassed by his demanding attitude that he was going to begin the wall anyway despite the disagreement with my mother's neighbor over the property line. The workers proceeded to work that day installing the wall and ***** said his employer gave him permission to do so. The workers trespassed on my mother's property and took out a portion of my mother's landscape to level the ground and lay gravel so they could have a nice work surface for themselves as they proceeded to built the retainer wall and they moved my mother's sprinkler head. The workers left several large rocks on my mother's property. These rocks were part of the neighbor's previous rock wall but they were left behind on my mother's property, without permission. At one point, I went to the backyard to see how the rock wall would look like and , *****, the worker for C&C yard care stated he was very angry and he stated he would not forget this for a long time. He told his fellow workers not to talk to me and I wasn't saying a word, just observing. I felt threatened and I feared for my own safety and I worried that they would further damage my mother's property even more so I left and never went back to see what they were doing for fear of retaliation, specifically by *****, of C&C yard care. I called C&C yard care on 8-20-14 and I left a message for ***** and I called again today on 8-26-14 to discuss this matter but I have never received a call back from *****, the owner of C&C yard care. I left a message to ***** explaining this was in regard to a complaint and that I was going to be contacting the BBB.

Desired Settlement: Please remove the large rocks from my mother's property that were part of the neighbor's previous rock wall. By leaving the rocks there, it appears her property line is even less than what it should be. I demand that *****, the owner, be there when the rocks are removed from my mother's property to oversee that the job is done in a professional and proper manner and not to further damage my mother's property or sprinklers. The rocks are to be removed by the workers by entering and exiting from the neighbor's side of the property. I demand that if there are any large holes when removing the rocks that the holes be filled in with dirt to ground level and landscaped in a nice way by C&C yard care since my mother's property did not have large rocks all in a row on her property in the first place. I fear for retaliation from *****, the worker, since he expressed how angry he was and he stated he would not forget this so I also demand that he have no contact with myself or my mother, ever. I never want to have any contact by any other employee of C&C yard care either. Thank you.

Business Response: I will gladly work with the complainant to resolve any issues.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** ********

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I had a phone conversation with ***** ********** on 9-2-14 at 9:05 a.m. It was agreed that he would meet me on 9-4-14 and remove the rocks that belonged to the neighbor's off of my mother's property.  Our appointment was at 8:00 a.m. and ***** showed up at 8:30 a.m. on 9-4-14.  He did not have his crew with him and he stated he would be back in "a couple of weeks" to remove the rocks when his crew would be doing more work for the neighbors.  He said he had not even spoken to his worker that I complained about, named *****. I did not feel *****, owner of C&C Yard Care,  was interested or concerned in resolving this issue quickly. 
 
*****, C&C Yard Care, called me back on 9-4-14 and stated his crew would be back on 9-11-14 to remove the rocks. This was agreed with me and I told ***** I would be at my mother's at 8:00 a.m. I was at my mother's today from 8:00-9:30 a.m. and I did not see ***** or his crew from C&C Yard Care after waiting for an hour and a half.  When I spoke to ***** by phone on 9-4-14, he did not say his crew was going to be there at a later time in the morning or the afternoon, otherwise I would have shown up at a different time.
I called ***** at his cell number at ******** at 9:35 a.m. and I left him a message that we had an appointment this morning but he did not show. 
 
I called BBB at 9:40 to report by phone this information so far.  Also, the rocks are not on the neighbor's property.  The rocks are clearly on my mother's property.  I even showed ***** from C&C Yard Care a picture of my mother's backyard dated 2012 showing the previous landscape before it was destroyed by C&C Yard Care for the purpose of installing a retainer wall for the neighbor's located on "G" street.  It appears the neighbors are disagreeing about removing the rocks stating it is on their property so that is why I insisted on the neighbors obtaining a legal property survey before the work on their rock wall was to begin but as I said previously the idea was completely dismissed by the neighbors and by the workers at C&C Yard Care and the workers began working on the rock wall without a legal survey which I had a right to request which was backed up by a person to person conversation with a city inspector.
 
Just now at 10:11, I received a call from ***** of C&C Yard Care. He is not pleased that I made a complaint and a business review with the BBB stating I made two complaints on the same issue.  I explained to ***** I felt he put me off when he told me previously that he would remove the rocks on 9-4-14.  ***** further stated that his crew would NOT be removing the rocks today, 9-11-14. He stated he sent an email to the BBB and he wishes to have my customer review removed since I made a complaint to the BBB and he feels there should only be one complaint, not two, on the same issue.  ***** said he is waiting to hear back from the BBB so he will not be removing the rocks today even though we had a verbal agreement that he would be removing the rocks today.  
 
In my opinion, since he knew he wasn't going to be removing the rocks today on 9-11-14, he should have given me a courtesy call to tell me in advance instead after the fact and I waited for him to show up for one and half hours.
 
I told ***** I would ask the BBB to remove the second review but I request the rocks be removed and dirt filled in on her property so the ground is level and there are no gaps or holes after the rocks are removed and this is to be done to my satisfaction before I authorize the BBB to remove my customer review,  but NOT to remove the original BBB complaint, however.   If all is done to my satisfaction, then yes, I give BBB permission to remove the second complaint, or business review on C&C Yard Care.
 
From my phone conversation with *****, it appeared to me that ***** is requesting the customer review be removed before he will remove the rocks from my mother's property, which is not acceptable. My impression was that ***** is expecting the second complaint or business review to be removed today by the BBB and THEN he will remove the rocks belonging to my neighbor's sometime tomorrow, with no specific timeframe given to me.  
 
Thank you for your attention to this matter.
 
Sincerely,
 
****** ********
###-###-####


Regards,

****** ********

Business Response: We have resolved this complaint with ******.   Rocks were removed and hauled off today.  

Consumer Response:

*****, owner of C&C Yard Care,  did not remove the rocks that belonged to the neighbor's from their previous rock wall off of my mother's property on 9-11-14, as discussed and agreed to by me and the owner, *****,  but the rocks were removed on 9-12-14,  a day later because *****, owner of C&C decided to change the date, without my prior knowledge.
 
***** and I had a verbal discussion in which I asked him twice, to please not to have *****, his worker, that I complained about in my original complaint on C&C Yard Care to be one of the workers on the job when the rocks would be removed off of my mother's property.  *****, owner of C&C Yard Care assured me he would send out another crew to finish the job which he said *****, his worker, would not be there.  This is not what happened. On 9-12-14, when the rocks were removed off of my mother's property, *****, the worker that I specifically complained about and one that ***** assured me would not be there, was in fact there along with the same crew from the start of the job.
 
I feel it was deliberate on the part of *****, the owner, to have the same crew, especially *****, on site just to annoy me.  I asked ***** why he did that when he verbally told me, twice, he would not have the same crew out.  *****, explained *****,  his worker, has been with him for 10 years and he was a good worker.  It was totally unacceptable for ***** to say he would not have the same crew but did in fact bring back the same crew.  I strongly feel *****, owner of C&C Yard Care cannot be trusted and he is not a man of his word.  He also delayed the removal of the rocks one day, without telling me in advance.
 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** ********

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired C & C to install a sprinkler system. Discussed options and toured the property with the estimator discussing the location of underground services (electric, propane, water, septic). Locator service came and marked the electrical. Was unable to be on site day of installation. Returned home after work to discover that they had trenched through my septic system, despite previously discussing its location and the manhole covers and cleanouts being in plain view. In fact, they had trenched to within 3' of one cleanout and had continued to dig even after the trencher had partially fallen in the septic system. The satellite cable had been cut 2X, also being in plain view. None of the trenches were returned to their original state. In one place a rock over 2' in diameter had been turned up by the trencher and just left, creating a 6" lift in the lawn. The sprinkler system was not completed because of the breach in the septic. Overall it was obvious that the work was done carelessly and not to acceptable standard. I had to hire a septic company to come and replace 6 vaults which cost over $900. I repaired the satellite cable myself an returned all the trenches to their original state as best as I could. I finished installing the sprinkler system, regraded and reseeded the lawn that had been destroyed.

Desired Settlement: C & C should be responsible at least for the cost of the septic repair. The labor, cost and time for the other repairs I am willing to be responsible for.

Business Response: Before we begin any excavation type work we always call for a utility locate.   This service marks all utilities to the property - electric, gas, water, sewer, telephone, cable, etc.   Homeowner installed utilities, lines, etc. are not located with this service.   Upon arrival we inspect for possible other underground hazards and attempt to meet with the homeowner before work begins.   Unfortunately,  on this property we did run into some unmarked underground items - a cable and a septic line.   Neither the cable nor the septic line were marked or disclosed to us beforehand.   It is impossible to know the exact location of these items as they are underground.   Our contract with each homeowner states that we are not responsible for damage to any unmarked underground obstruction.   Regardless of this fact, we have agreed to help cover the cost of the repair to the septic line.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


***** ******

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: called the company the first week of April to fix our sprinkler system. the employee came out at the scheduled day. he went down into the cellar basement to turn on the sprinkler system. he then checked the system and repaired the sprinkler heads that were broken. he then informed us that he was missing a part and could not replace it, and that another tech would come out and put in the new part on a different day. the part that was unfixed was leaking at the time. when he left our home he told us the system was fine other than the leaking part, so he left the water to the system turned on. weeks passed with no phone call from the company to schedule the follow up repair. we received the bill in the mail but still no call to set up a return visit. we payed the bill and a few days later when i was standing on the back porch looking at the lawn, i heard a noise, when i went over i discovered water gushing from the pipe the leaking part was attached to. we went into the basement to shut off the water to find our basement flooded. i called the company to let the manager know what had happened. later that day the manager came out to the house to check out the basement. he looked over the basement and told us he would have someone come out and fix the part that day if they got all their other work done first. he said he was going to bring fans later that day to help air out the basement. we never heard back from him, and 4 days later i had to call them. i talked to the receptionist who was rude. left a message with the manager who would not return my phone calls. a few days later the same employee came back out to replace the part at which he claimed would be done for free. he replaced the leaking part with a used part given to him by the manager, after he left i discovered it was gushing water again from the used part he had put in, he came back the next morning to put in a new part that finally worked. but a few weeks later we received a bill in the mail. tried to contact the manager, no call back.

Desired Settlement: i would like the last charges from the company to be removed, and an apology from the manager for never returning any of my phone calls.

Business Response: We will credit the $34.73 charges for the repair.   An invoice has just been mailed, so please disregard that.


I apologize for the trouble and that the repair was not able to be completed on the first visit.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9567562, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


P.S. Just because we don't want the stress of pursuing it anymore we have accepted, but we still had to call another company to completely repair the system after what they did. Still did not receive a call from the company which i view as very unprofessional. we'll never contact this company again.

Regards,


**** *********



10/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July we hired C&C to do a small patio and walkway for us. This included a short wall for the small slop. We asked when they would start, we got the answer could be early aug but more towards the end of the month. Then we called again and they stated they would start the work on the 28th of Aug. no one showed up! Another call made and they would be there the next day. yes a crew of two showed up on the 29th and worked liked dogs. Level ground, the base was done and poof gone they are. Finding the old concreat pad laying on the grass, another call made. All things taken away. On the 30th someone came by and did the pounding of gravel to prep it. A call was made today the 4th of Sept and they don't know when we are getting our pour of concreat! they got caught up on a nother job! No communication skills from this company. I gave them 1/3 of the cost back in July. I sit today unknown if this work will ever be completed. My gate is down to allow them easy access, I have a 5 year old that runs away and this has truely been a headace for me. I am giving them until Friday at 3 pm to have this little job done. I feel that if this job does get done this week I am due at least a 25% discount for the fault of the company that has put me on hold over and over again. Coving for the crew, saying they should have been there. I don't even have forms set in place at this time. I am so mad about the run around we have been given. Is my little job of 4300.00 not just important as the high dollar one?

Desired Settlement: This jobs if ever completed requires a 25% discount at the least.

Business Response:

This job has been completed and customer has paid in full.

 

Thank you,

 

***** **********

9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had asked the company to come out and look at a few broken sprinkler heads and turn on my system. A month later I was presented with a bill over $400.00 They had come out and replaced all kinds of parts and did things with no explanation or permission. When I called to ask for an explanation (after I told them it wasn't a problem to pay it in installments, but I require an explanation), the receptionist proceeded to yell at me on the phone, interrupt me, talk to me like a child, and told me that this service is what I asked for. (Why would I ask them to replace certain parts that I, myself had just replaced the week before?) The fact that they came out was my request, yes. I knew there were broken heads but they replaced an entire system and control panel. When you take your car in for an oil change and they replace your engine without asking you, I bet you'd be a little upset as well.

Desired Settlement: I would like the public to be able to know that this company essentially took advantage of me then told me it was my fault. The way the receptionist handled my questions was beyond unprofessional.

Business Response:

Please let me take a look at our technician notes and see what we have done. . .

 

 

Business Response:

I have the work orders for **** *******.   I've reviewed them and it looks as though she had asked us to get her sprinkler system up and running and knew there was to be several repairs.  She left an opener for the garage so that we could access her timer.   I've left a message for her yesterday AM, but have not heard back.   We replaced 4 sprinkler heads, a solenoid, the sprinkler controller and a few other misc parts.   We are fine if Ms. ******* wants to make payments.  

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9194518, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


*** *******



8/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This claim is for Pest control Spray service performed by C&C Yardcare located in Spokane, WA.I had signed up for one full year of outside perimeter barrier pest control spray service through the said company. This service consists of four sprays in a year. Two were completed by June 25, 2012. Upon the second spray I noticed increasing amounts of insects both outside (along the perimeter of the house, and on door and window trims) as well as on the inside my home along the door and window trims). I called the said company and requested a re-spray to arrest the issue. The company did re-spray on July 18, 2012, to no effect though. Even after two weeks after the re-spray I could see increasing number of insects (springtails) in the above listed areas both outside as well as inside the home. I called again and was told that the next spray that will be scheduled will be with another pest control product, to arrest the issue. However, since the pest control sprays were not at all effective, I decided to terminate the services and requested a full refund ($163.02). They promised me a full refund, but informed me that since the person processing the refund was on vacation for two weeks, it will be two weeks before I see a refund back to my credit card. I waited for two weeks for the refund to show back on my credit card. After two weeks when I did not receive a refund, I called the company and reminded them again. I was finally informed that the amount that would be refunded would be just $54.00 instead of the full amount ($163.02). The reason I was provided being that two out of four spray services were rendered and I will be required to pay the corresponding amount, and hence the partial refund. However, inspite of the partial treatments performed, these treatments have not yielded any results whatsoever and insects still exist both outside and inside my home, and for which I request a full refund as the pest control service has not done me any good nor have they kept pests bay.

Desired Settlement: I request a full refund of the annual pest control service amount ($163.02), as the two pest sprays performed have not eliminated the pests and insects outside (nor have the sprays kept insects from comming inside my home). In fact the year started with my home being insect free and after the two pest sprays performed I see increased amounts of insects at the residence.

Business Response:

I'm sorry that our program does not seem to be effective.  Our policy with any spray work is 100% customer satisfaction.  Our first step is to offer a free re-treatment.  It appears that we have done this.   If our service is still not effective we will refund the cost of the last treatment.  Mr. ****** has pre-paid for 4 treatments in Feb 2012.  Our pre-pay program is set up as follows.   Pre-pay for 3 treatments and receive the fourth one free.   Mr. ****** called for service after the second treatment.   We did not receive a call about the first treatment not being effective.  We will not refund the first treatment, but will refund the cost of the second completed treatment and the third uncompleted treatment.  The fourth treatment was to be free and hence there will be no refund there.  There will be no charge for the retreatment visit.  The refunded amount will be $108.68.  This is $49.99 + tax times 2 treatments.

Thank you,

***** **********

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9192762, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards, 


****** ******




8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In approximately 2007/2008 I was using C & C Yard Care to maintain my lawn and flower beds. The owner, ***** **********, approached me and told me that my sprinkler system needed to be renovated and provided a bid in excess of $2,000. It was my understanding that this included the entire system, which would have been logical. Once he completed it, only the back was done and he insisted that was all that was bid (and the contract was very deceiving as to that) and I had fewer heads and coverage issues in the back. Even worse, the sprinklers in the front along the side of my house had been disabled! ***** argued that there had been no sprinklers there, but I showed his employee where they were. ***** said it would take another $500 to put in a sprinkler system in that area. This made me furious and I declined. He "enhanced" the valve control area in the back with a mess of wires and gadgets that stuck up above the ground about 2'. Thereafter, I have had repairs to the system three or four times. When I again had a large leak in that area this spring I asked my lawncare professional to repair it (again) and we planned to move it because I was going to pour a patio there. He opened it up and encountered a leaking mass of hoses that were stacked and woven around the yard like a spider web. It was so bad he fixed the leaks and covered it back up. He then tackled the valves and found wires that went to nowhere, etc. A 5 minute repair to a head in the back reactivated my front/side sprinklers that ***** had wanted to charge me $500 to return to the their original function. I paid $597.85 to have this massive mess repaired. The entire job was fraudulent in my opinion and I should fully reimbursed for this partial repair to the unacceptable mess he created. He states that I cannot do anything to him because he updated the sprinklers so long ago. Unethical man and company.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded $597.85 for the repairs that I had to the mess ***** and C & C Yard Care created in my back yard. They system is still a mess but this is the cost of repairs thus far.

Business Response:

Dear BBB:

 

We did in fact renovate Ms. *********'s sprinkler system in late 2007.    The back yard sprinkler system was in poor condition with spotty coverage and old, worn out heads.   We renovated the three zones with rotors and spray heads to improve coverage and efficiency.   The dry spots in the back yard were corrected.  We did no work to the front yard as coverage there was pretty good.   I have clear e-mail documentation that the work was to include THE BACK YARD ONLY.

 

I do not recall any working sprinklers on the South side of Ms. *********'s home.   In all the time that I have visited and worked there I never did see them working.   I suspect that at some point before we began work another person had disconnected them.

 

In addition, we did no work to the valves and "mess of wires" at the back of the home.   This area remained as it was.   We started our work after the valves.  I have clear e-mail documentation that states this fact also. 

 

When Ms. ********* requested that the side yard be watered I evaluated and submitted a proposal to add another zone of sprinklers to the side yard.  The cost was around $500.   My proposal was to install a new valve, pull a new line and install new heads.   I did not bid trying to investigate what pipe may or may not have been available to reconnect.   The existing heads looked to be antiquated and poorly placed so I determined the best solution was to start fresh.    Ms. ********* declined our bid.

 

I cannot reimburse the customer for work that she had done recently to her sprinkler system by another contractor.   Our work was completed satisfactorily five years ago.  I have heard no mention of problems with our work until now.    I was not given an opportunity to evaluate the alleged mess we created.   Because of this and the reasons above I am not willing to reimburse Ms. *********.

 

***** **********

 

President, C&C Yard Care, Inc.