BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

C & C Yard Care, Inc.

Phone: (509) 482-0303 Fax: (509) 482-4310 PO Box 18768, Spokane, WA 99228 http://www.candcyardcare.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that C & C Yard Care, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for C & C Yard Care, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on C & C Yard Care, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 18, 1997 Business started: 04/01/1985 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated: 10/12/1998 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sandra Amann, Bookeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Corigliano, President
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Landscape Designers Lawn Maintenance Sod & Sodding Service Tree Service Weed Control Service Sprinkler Supervisory Service Ice Melting Equipment & Supplies Fertilizers Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Lawn & Garden Pond Dealers & Supplies Pest Control Services Irrigation Consultants Snow Removal Service Landscape Maintenance Lawn & Tree Care Snow Removal Service - Commercial Landscaping Clean-Up - Spring & Fall Landscape Architects

Products & Services

C & C Yard Care, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Hunter, Irritrol, Rain Bird

C & C Yard Care, Inc. offers the following product(s): Melt-Off Ice Melter, Superior Ice Melter

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
Mastercard
Cash
Check        
Refund and Exchange Policy
All services are guaranteed.   We will work with you until you are satisfied.
Licensing

WA Contractors License: CCYARCI000DH
WSDA Pesticide Applicator: Lic# 45988
ISA Certified Arborist: Lic# PN-1977A


Additional Locations

  • PO Box 18768

    Spokane, WA 99228

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: called the company the first week of April to fix our sprinkler system. the employee came out at the scheduled day. he went down into the cellar basement to turn on the sprinkler system. he then checked the system and repaired the sprinkler heads that were broken. he then informed us that he was missing a part and could not replace it, and that another tech would come out and put in the new part on a different day. the part that was unfixed was leaking at the time. when he left our home he told us the system was fine other than the leaking part, so he left the water to the system turned on. weeks passed with no phone call from the company to schedule the follow up repair. we received the bill in the mail but still no call to set up a return visit. we payed the bill and a few days later when i was standing on the back porch looking at the lawn, i heard a noise, when i went over i discovered water gushing from the pipe the leaking part was attached to. we went into the basement to shut off the water to find our basement flooded. i called the company to let the manager know what had happened. later that day the manager came out to the house to check out the basement. he looked over the basement and told us he would have someone come out and fix the part that day if they got all their other work done first. he said he was going to bring fans later that day to help air out the basement. we never heard back from him, and 4 days later i had to call them. i talked to the receptionist who was rude. left a message with the manager who would not return my phone calls. a few days later the same employee came back out to replace the part at which he claimed would be done for free. he replaced the leaking part with a used part given to him by the manager, after he left i discovered it was gushing water again from the used part he had put in, he came back the next morning to put in a new part that finally worked. but a few weeks later we received a bill in the mail. tried to contact the manager, no call back.

Desired Settlement: i would like the last charges from the company to be removed, and an apology from the manager for never returning any of my phone calls.

Business Response: We will credit the $34.73 charges for the repair.   An invoice has just been mailed, so please disregard that.


I apologize for the trouble and that the repair was not able to be completed on the first visit.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9567562, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


P.S. Just because we don't want the stress of pursuing it anymore we have accepted, but we still had to call another company to completely repair the system after what they did. Still did not receive a call from the company which i view as very unprofessional. we'll never contact this company again.

Regards,


**** *********



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July we hired C&C to do a small patio and walkway for us. This included a short wall for the small slop. We asked when they would start, we got the answer could be early aug but more towards the end of the month. Then we called again and they stated they would start the work on the 28th of Aug. no one showed up! Another call made and they would be there the next day. yes a crew of two showed up on the 29th and worked liked dogs. Level ground, the base was done and poof gone they are. Finding the old concreat pad laying on the grass, another call made. All things taken away. On the 30th someone came by and did the pounding of gravel to prep it. A call was made today the 4th of Sept and they don't know when we are getting our pour of concreat! they got caught up on a nother job! No communication skills from this company. I gave them 1/3 of the cost back in July. I sit today unknown if this work will ever be completed. My gate is down to allow them easy access, I have a 5 year old that runs away and this has truely been a headace for me. I am giving them until Friday at 3 pm to have this little job done. I feel that if this job does get done this week I am due at least a 25% discount for the fault of the company that has put me on hold over and over again. Coving for the crew, saying they should have been there. I don't even have forms set in place at this time. I am so mad about the run around we have been given. Is my little job of 4300.00 not just important as the high dollar one?

Desired Settlement: This jobs if ever completed requires a 25% discount at the least.

Business Response:

This job has been completed and customer has paid in full.

 

Thank you,

 

***** **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had asked the company to come out and look at a few broken sprinkler heads and turn on my system. A month later I was presented with a bill over $400.00 They had come out and replaced all kinds of parts and did things with no explanation or permission. When I called to ask for an explanation (after I told them it wasn't a problem to pay it in installments, but I require an explanation), the receptionist proceeded to yell at me on the phone, interrupt me, talk to me like a child, and told me that this service is what I asked for. (Why would I ask them to replace certain parts that I, myself had just replaced the week before?) The fact that they came out was my request, yes. I knew there were broken heads but they replaced an entire system and control panel. When you take your car in for an oil change and they replace your engine without asking you, I bet you'd be a little upset as well.

Desired Settlement: I would like the public to be able to know that this company essentially took advantage of me then told me it was my fault. The way the receptionist handled my questions was beyond unprofessional.

Business Response:

Please let me take a look at our technician notes and see what we have done. . .

 

 

Business Response:

I have the work orders for **** *******.   I've reviewed them and it looks as though she had asked us to get her sprinkler system up and running and knew there was to be several repairs.  She left an opener for the garage so that we could access her timer.   I've left a message for her yesterday AM, but have not heard back.   We replaced 4 sprinkler heads, a solenoid, the sprinkler controller and a few other misc parts.   We are fine if Ms. ******* wants to make payments.  

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9194518, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


*** *******



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This claim is for Pest control Spray service performed by C&C Yardcare located in Spokane, WA.I had signed up for one full year of outside perimeter barrier pest control spray service through the said company. This service consists of four sprays in a year. Two were completed by June 25, 2012. Upon the second spray I noticed increasing amounts of insects both outside (along the perimeter of the house, and on door and window trims) as well as on the inside my home along the door and window trims). I called the said company and requested a re-spray to arrest the issue. The company did re-spray on July 18, 2012, to no effect though. Even after two weeks after the re-spray I could see increasing number of insects (springtails) in the above listed areas both outside as well as inside the home. I called again and was told that the next spray that will be scheduled will be with another pest control product, to arrest the issue. However, since the pest control sprays were not at all effective, I decided to terminate the services and requested a full refund ($163.02). They promised me a full refund, but informed me that since the person processing the refund was on vacation for two weeks, it will be two weeks before I see a refund back to my credit card. I waited for two weeks for the refund to show back on my credit card. After two weeks when I did not receive a refund, I called the company and reminded them again. I was finally informed that the amount that would be refunded would be just $54.00 instead of the full amount ($163.02). The reason I was provided being that two out of four spray services were rendered and I will be required to pay the corresponding amount, and hence the partial refund. However, inspite of the partial treatments performed, these treatments have not yielded any results whatsoever and insects still exist both outside and inside my home, and for which I request a full refund as the pest control service has not done me any good nor have they kept pests bay.

Desired Settlement: I request a full refund of the annual pest control service amount ($163.02), as the two pest sprays performed have not eliminated the pests and insects outside (nor have the sprays kept insects from comming inside my home). In fact the year started with my home being insect free and after the two pest sprays performed I see increased amounts of insects at the residence.

Business Response:

I'm sorry that our program does not seem to be effective.  Our policy with any spray work is 100% customer satisfaction.  Our first step is to offer a free re-treatment.  It appears that we have done this.   If our service is still not effective we will refund the cost of the last treatment.  Mr. ****** has pre-paid for 4 treatments in Feb 2012.  Our pre-pay program is set up as follows.   Pre-pay for 3 treatments and receive the fourth one free.   Mr. ****** called for service after the second treatment.   We did not receive a call about the first treatment not being effective.  We will not refund the first treatment, but will refund the cost of the second completed treatment and the third uncompleted treatment.  The fourth treatment was to be free and hence there will be no refund there.  There will be no charge for the retreatment visit.  The refunded amount will be $108.68.  This is $49.99 + tax times 2 treatments.

Thank you,

***** **********

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9192762, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards, 


****** ******




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In approximately 2007/2008 I was using C & C Yard Care to maintain my lawn and flower beds. The owner, ***** **********, approached me and told me that my sprinkler system needed to be renovated and provided a bid in excess of $2,000. It was my understanding that this included the entire system, which would have been logical. Once he completed it, only the back was done and he insisted that was all that was bid (and the contract was very deceiving as to that) and I had fewer heads and coverage issues in the back. Even worse, the sprinklers in the front along the side of my house had been disabled! ***** argued that there had been no sprinklers there, but I showed his employee where they were. ***** said it would take another $500 to put in a sprinkler system in that area. This made me furious and I declined. He "enhanced" the valve control area in the back with a mess of wires and gadgets that stuck up above the ground about 2'. Thereafter, I have had repairs to the system three or four times. When I again had a large leak in that area this spring I asked my lawncare professional to repair it (again) and we planned to move it because I was going to pour a patio there. He opened it up and encountered a leaking mass of hoses that were stacked and woven around the yard like a spider web. It was so bad he fixed the leaks and covered it back up. He then tackled the valves and found wires that went to nowhere, etc. A 5 minute repair to a head in the back reactivated my front/side sprinklers that ***** had wanted to charge me $500 to return to the their original function. I paid $597.85 to have this massive mess repaired. The entire job was fraudulent in my opinion and I should fully reimbursed for this partial repair to the unacceptable mess he created. He states that I cannot do anything to him because he updated the sprinklers so long ago. Unethical man and company.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded $597.85 for the repairs that I had to the mess ***** and C & C Yard Care created in my back yard. They system is still a mess but this is the cost of repairs thus far.

Business Response:

Dear BBB:

 

We did in fact renovate Ms. *********'s sprinkler system in late 2007.    The back yard sprinkler system was in poor condition with spotty coverage and old, worn out heads.   We renovated the three zones with rotors and spray heads to improve coverage and efficiency.   The dry spots in the back yard were corrected.  We did no work to the front yard as coverage there was pretty good.   I have clear e-mail documentation that the work was to include THE BACK YARD ONLY.

 

I do not recall any working sprinklers on the South side of Ms. *********'s home.   In all the time that I have visited and worked there I never did see them working.   I suspect that at some point before we began work another person had disconnected them.

 

In addition, we did no work to the valves and "mess of wires" at the back of the home.   This area remained as it was.   We started our work after the valves.  I have clear e-mail documentation that states this fact also. 

 

When Ms. ********* requested that the side yard be watered I evaluated and submitted a proposal to add another zone of sprinklers to the side yard.  The cost was around $500.   My proposal was to install a new valve, pull a new line and install new heads.   I did not bid trying to investigate what pipe may or may not have been available to reconnect.   The existing heads looked to be antiquated and poorly placed so I determined the best solution was to start fresh.    Ms. ********* declined our bid.

 

I cannot reimburse the customer for work that she had done recently to her sprinkler system by another contractor.   Our work was completed satisfactorily five years ago.  I have heard no mention of problems with our work until now.    I was not given an opportunity to evaluate the alleged mess we created.   Because of this and the reasons above I am not willing to reimburse Ms. *********.

 

***** **********

 

President, C&C Yard Care, Inc.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
**** * ******* ****** ******** ********** ***** ******** *** ****
Transworld Systems **** *** ***** ******** *** ****** *****
RE: C and C Yard Care ACCTNO: 9853P-*********3
To Whom It May Concern:
I am writing this letter to dispute charges from C and C Yard Care, Spokane, Washington, in the amount of $83.21. There are several reasons for this dispute.
This company came to my house, so they say, to turn on my sprinkler system. They had blown out the system the previous fall, and took it upon themselves to provide this service last April. I did not solicit them for this service. What’s more, they did not notify me in any way that they were coming; not by phone, mail, text message, or email. When I arrived home from work, I found a bill on the doorknob of my front door. In addition, they could not have checked the sprinkler system, as was described on the bill, because the water was not turned on. The valves for the water to the sprinkler system are inside the house, and I had not yet turned them on. Also, if they actually had checked the system, they would have found a rupture in one of the hoses, one sprinkler head that was not operating properly and needed to be adjusted, and another that was not working at all and needed to be replaced. I was not notified of any problems with my sprinkler system by this company. I hired another company to make the repairs to my system, and they would be happy to offer a statement.
I phoned C and C three times: once in April, right after I received the bill, once in June, and again in August.
I was told on each occasion that someone would call me back. No one ever returned my calls.
I dispute this bill because I did not ask for this service, nor did I sign any maintenance agreement authorizing this company to service my sprinkler system on an on-going basis. I have tried to resolve this situation with C and C, but they have not afforded me the courtesy of explaining their "service."
I take pride in always paying my bills on time and have a stellar credit report. In fact, I just refinanced my home with a 3.62%, fifteen-year fixed mortgage rate and received a considerable amount of cash. The company, Quicken Loans, contacted me and offered this service. In the economic strains we all seem to be in these days, I have remained financially responsible, so this has caused me considerable concern and stress.
Please let me know when this issue is resolved. If you need additional information, I can be reached at the above address or at ###-###-####. Thank you for your assistance and consideration in this matter.
****** ** ** *****
cc: C and C Yard Care
Better Business Bureau, Spokane, WA

Business Response:

December 29, 2011

 

 

I disagree with Ms. *******'s allegation that we did not service her home on April 22, 2011.  Our records show that we had mailed a renewal engagement letter on January 30, 2011 and a reminder postcard one week before the sprinkler start-up service.  Our technician's service log was filled out completely stating that the service had been completed. 

Nevertheless, I will credit Ms. *******'s account for the sprinkler start-up service and all late fees.

Regards,

 

 

***** **********, President

C&C Yard Care

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1