BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

James Black & Associates Insurance, Inc.

Phone: (800) 576-0075 View Additional Phone Numbers 7407 N Division St Ste D, Spokane, WA 99208 http://www.blackandassociatesins.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Personal and Commercial lines insurance agency

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that James Black & Associates Insurance, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for James Black & Associates Insurance, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on James Black & Associates Insurance, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 10, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1987 in WA Business incorporated: 03/10/1997 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington State Department of Licensing
PO Box 9034 , Olympia WA 98507-9015
https://fortress.wa.gov/dol/dolprod/bpdLicenseQuery/Default.aspx
Phone Number: (360) 664-0116
Fax Number: 360-705-6699

Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner
P O Box 40244, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: 1-800-562-6900

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Black, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Black, President
Business Category

Insurance Agents Insurance - Auto Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Insurance - Rental Insurance - Property Insurance Agency Insurance Services - Commercial

Products & Services

James Black & Associates Insurance, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Allied/Nationwide Insurance

James Black & Associates Insurance, Inc. offers the following product(s): Auto Insurance, Commercial Insurance, Home Insurance, Life Insurance


Additional Locations

  • 7407 N Division St Ste D

    Spokane, WA 99208 (800) 576-0075

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 464-0058(Phone)
  • (509) 464-0747 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about Nov. 25 2011 I cancelled ALL of my policies with James Black Insurance after receiving several cancellation notices when my payment had been made. Not to mention the THOUSANDS of dollars I saved myself by changing agents. As of today I have yet to receive a refund. My new insurance lady ****** **** of ********* *********, contacted James Black on Tuesday January 24, 2012 and was promised I would have the refund no later than Friday January 27, 2012. My new home owners policy will cancel tomorrow due to non payment as it has taken 2 months already. When my new agent ****** ****, contacted them today, January 31, 2012, she was informed that the money had been in their possession for over a month and that the front office lady ****, had been on vacation, as **** stated, she was entitled to that vacation. Not my problem! She is not the only person in that office. I am facing bigger issues. I cancelled my homeowners policy with them at the same time I cancelled all of my other policies and they have yet to notify my old home owners insurance carrier of that cancellation, so they have not even begun to process my refund. This is completely unacceptable and part of the reason I no longer use them as my insurance agent.

Desired Settlement: I want the money over nighted to me immediately.

Business Response:

Dear ****,

I looked into this issue about the refund. We have not had any of the customers money in our possession. When we found out about the delay, we requested that the policy be canceled with ******* ********* on 1/31/2012. I called them today and they will be mailing out the refund check directly to the *****’s residence today they assured me.

Sometimes as in this case we have no control how quickly a refund check is mailed by an insurance company.

Thank you,

*** *****

President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved