BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers

Phone: (509) 462-4222 View Additional Phone Numbers 220 W Francis Ave, Spokane, WA 99205 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.positivechanges.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers behavior modification using hypnosis.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews on Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 11
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 12

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 17, 2002 Business started: 09/01/2002 in WA Business started locally: 09/01/2002 Business incorporated: 05/01/2008 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers is a Franchise business of Franchisor Positive Changes Hypnosis Franchisor Corporate Headquarters

Business Management
Mr. Hubertus PE Guenther, CFO Ms. Tanya Guenther, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hubertus PE Guenther, CFO
Principal: Ms. Tanya Guenther, President/CEO
Business Category

Hypnotherapists - Hypnotists Smokers Information & Treatment Weight Control Services Pain Management Services

Alternate Business Names
E T Research, Inc. Positive Changes Hypnosis of Spokane

Additional Locations

  • 220 W Francis Ave

    Spokane, WA 99205 (509) 462-4222

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 767-4848(Phone)
  • (509) 747-4294 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responded to a TV promotion and went in for a consultation on a weight loss program. I was told in the sale pitch that 98% of people are easily hypnotized. After I did research I found out that the ******* ******** ************** study (HIP) stated 10% of the population are easily hypnotized (High Probability), 80% Average (Medium probability) of being hypnotized and 10% are low probability of being hypnotized. This treatment is based on hypnotic suggestion so if you can’t be hypnotized it will not work. I was also told that I could opt out of the program after the first session if I did not like it or it didn’t work. It was a one on one high pressure sale pitch and I was told I had to pay total $2700 dollar cost for 9 month treatment guaranteed. This sales approach was probably because they know only 10% of the population will have great results because of their susceptibility to hypnosis. After one hypnosis session I informed the hypnotists that I didn’t think I was ever hypnotized. I was told to go home and listen to the sessions and there would be results. I went home and found no changes even after I listened to the session several times. I contacted the office and informed them that I was not happy and wanted a refund. I was informed that once I left the building after my first session there was no refund. This fact was not made clear to me during the sale pitch. I was left with the impression that after 1 session I could opt out. After talking to ****** the Office manager she was very insistent that once I left the building I was bound to a 9 month contract. She also stated she just wants to help me and I said "Then refund me the money and stop all the stress you are causing me by your high pressure sales process." ****** then said she would have the regional sales manager contact me. I have heard nothing since. I have not returned to the facility.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund. If there program is so good why do they have such a harsh warranty? It is hard to tell if something is going to work only after a half hour of talking and 22 minutes of a hypnotic session.

Business Response: Please see attached.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came to positive changes for weight lose. at the first interview they make it seem like if we are lucky we can get on a program. I felt like I was made to think I was maybe not able to get in they start the appt. with a mind game getting you to think that your trying out you naturally get in a mind set of making the cut. After I was (ACCEPTED) in the program they tell you how much. I agreed. After I set up payment they set-up your first appt for hypnosis then they tell you how many times you have to listen to the CD's 3 times a day or more and other Cd's. I have tried but don't have time to listen 3 If I knew that I was going to have to listen 3 times a day and go to classes I would never have started. I work fulltime and have other things on my plate. I feel like they don't tell you up front what you have to do to make it work and after you get in to the first one and they tell you its to late. I feel its false advertisement.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund. at least %75 I feel I should receive if not %100

Business Response: November 5, 2013

Dear *****,

We received your complaint from the Better Business Bureau. A review of your file shows 

that you enrolled in a 6 month weight loss program with Positive Changes on August 22, 

2013. If you were to complete your program, you would finish around February of 2014.

Our programs are designed as continuous weekly sessions over a six month period. They 

include our 6 point system for success. Your program provides personal hypnosis sessions 

every month, personal coaching sessions, informative classes, self hypnosis instruction and 

accelerations. We also ask that our clients listen to their personal hypnosis sessions at least 

once a day, of course the more repetition the better. We state all of this during our free 

consultations before our clients enroll in a program.

You attended 2 sessions and shared with us your great results from your program. You 

lost 5 pounds by September 30th and experienced additional positive behavior changes. 

Specifically, you said you were drinking less diet Pepsi, feeling more confident, making 

better food choices and drinking more water. All of these great things happened even 

though you were having trouble listening at home. Imagine the results you would likely 

experience if you made the time to listen to your session at least once a day.

As we state in our Program Commitment, “Success using hypnosis is dependent upon many 

variables including the attitude, motivation, cooperation and the attendance of scheduled 

sessions by the participant.” This holds true regarding your experience with Positive 

Changes. While you were participating, you told us that you experienced weight loss which 

was your goal when you first came to us along with other positive behavior changes. 

After 2 months, you submitted this complaint to the Better Business Bureau while still 

attending your program without any mention to our staff as to how you were feeling. Had 

we known about your concerns sooner, we would have been happy to discuss this with you 

sooner. 

We invite you to return and complete your program, and receive your results. We are here 

for you just as we have been since you started your program. Considering the excellent 

results you have experienced, we expect that you can continue to enjoy those kinds of 

results.

We have an excellent record of achieving success for our clients and would like to assist 

you to achieve your success as well. Our program guarantee states, “If at your FIRST 

program session you are not satisfied, we will refund 100% of your money, as long as you 

let us know before you leave our offices.” You did not exercise this, and actually you later 

reported success in several areas, including weight loss.

The total price of your program is $1977. To this date you have paid $1030.80. Considering 

the amount of the program you have used and in order to demonstrate our good will, if you 

choose to discontinue our relationship, we are willing to reimburse you $300.00. 

We sincerely wish you well in the pursuit of your weight loss goals and hope that you will 

allow us to assist you in reaching those goals.

Sincerely,

***** ********

C.E.O

Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers

Enclosed Documents:

Program Agreement

Program Guarantee

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory if they refund the $300 and do not take any additional money out of my account. I have already paid  $1030.80. So as long as no other monies are withdrawn from my account and they refund the $300 I will accept the resolution.

Regards,


***** ******




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WENT TO POSITIVE CHANGES IN JULY 2011, TO STOP SMOKING. IT COST ME ABOUT $800.00. I HAD TWO APPOITMENTS. THEY MADE IT SOUND LIKE IT WOULD BE EASY.IT DID NOTHING FOR ME.AFTER TWO APPOINTMENTS YOU ARE DONE IF YOUR THERE FOR SMOKING, BUT THE WEIGHT CENTER HAS ALOT MORE CESSIONS. I WAS GONE FROM THE AREA FOR SIX MONTHS, STILL SMOKING OF COURSE, AND WHEN I CAME BACK, NOW THEY DON'T EVEN ADVERTISE FOR SMOKING, JUST FOR WEIGHT LOSS.I FEEL LIKE THEY TOOK MY AND OTHER PEOPLES MONEY KNOWING IT WAS A RIP OFF. I FEEL CHEATED.IT TOOK ALOT FOR ME TO GIVE UP THAT MUCH MONEY AND I THOUGHT THAT IN THE END IT WOULD BE WORTH IT.I DON'T HAVE THE MONEY TO SMOKE, OR GIVE IT AWAY ON A SCAM. I THINK THEY WERE DISHONEST. WHAT DO YOU THINK?

Desired Settlement: SINCE THEY AREN'T FAULSE ADVERTISING ANYMORE, THAT MUST BE TAKEN CARE OF ALREADY, BUT I DO FEEL LIKE ME, AND OTHERS LIKE ME SHOULD GET A REFUND.

Business Response:

January 22, 2013

 

 

***** **** ***** **** **** ****** ** **** ***** ** *****

 

RE: BBB Case # 9384207

 

 

Dear Ms. *****,

 

We have received your complaint and we are sorry that you were not able to become tobacco free. We know that overcoming the habit of smoking can be extremely difficult.

 

You enrolled in our Hypno Quit program on July 6, 2011. As you know this is a highly intensive program that includes three personal sessions with one of our hypnotists. Because we know that personal motivation and commitment are an absolute requirement in order to achieve success, we state on our contract with you,

 

   “ Success using hypnosis is dependent upon many variables including attitude, motivation, cooperation and attendance of scheduled sessions by the participant.”

 

In addition, we state, “Because your commitment and desire to become tobacco free is outside of our control, there is no guarantee and/or refunds offered for this program.” (See attached copy of your signed contract)

 

A review of your file shows that you completed your first session on July 19. Your second session, which was recorded onto a CD and sent home with you, was completed on July 22. We asked you to listen to this hypnotic process at least once per day. You stated that your CD player was broken and that you would buy one on your way home.  At your third session, one week later, you told us that you still had not listened to your hypnotic process because you had yet to buy or borrow a CD player.

 

Though we empathize with you about the difficulty of quitting smoking, we also find your choice of not participating fully in your program with us, extremely likely to be the reason for your lack of success. The only thing we asked of you was to listen to your processes, and you did not do that, as you told us.

 

Because your sessions are recorded and given to you at the time, we hope you still have them. If you still wish to quit smoking you may listen to them at any time and receive the benefit of our program whenever you wish.

 

We did provide the services we promised and these services have assisted thousands of clients to successfully quit smoking.  

 

Your suggestion that Positive Changes Hypnosis has been dishonest is absolutely incorrect. 100% of the testimonials we have obtained from successful clients are signed and notarized by a Notary Public as the true statements of the client.

 

We care deeply about our clients. We wish you well in your pursuit to become tobacco free.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

***** ********

C.E.O.

Positive Changes Hypnosis Center, Spokane

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/12/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I went in for my first weight loss hypnosis session They told me I would feel great afterwards. I felt the same afterwards and asked for a refund. They told me it was not magic and my expectations were too high. Very high pressure to get me out the door. The second hypnosis session was the same. Again I asked for a refund and was told that only applies to the first session. Once you are out the door on the first session, no refunds, no guarantee. They told me to stick with it. I stuck with it for 3 months until the thought of going to the sessions was getting my blood pressure up. Each session was spent arguing with me about how it was all my fault and Hypnosis was not magic. They finally agreed to talk to me about a refund and set up an appointment. The day of the appointment they called me and said there are no refunds and cancelled the appointment.

Desired Settlement: At first I would have been happy with a pro-rated refund. But after the treatment I was given I feel that a full refund is in order.

Business Response:

June 11th, 2012

****** *****

PO*** **********, WA 99029

 

RE: BBB Case #9067171

 

Dear Mr. *****,

 

We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your weight loss program. We care about you and we are committed to resolving your concerns. 

 

You enrolled in a 9 month weight loss program. According to our records, you attended approximately 3 months of your program. Client results vary for each individual. Some clients can take 2 to 3 months, or even longer, to notice results in their behavior. We wish you would have continued your program with us.

 

Our records show that you did not exercise the “No-Risk” Guarantee and that we did provide service to you for 3 months. Regardless of our policy, we care about you. We are truly sorry that you decided not to complete your program. However, as an expression of our wish to retain your good will, we enclose a check for $1,500.00 representing unused services.

 

We have an excellent record of achieving success for our clients and would have liked to assist you to achieve your success as well.

 

We sincerely wish you well in the pursuit of your weight loss goals.

 

Sincerely,

***** ********

C.E.O

Positive Changes Hypnosis Center, Spokane

Enclosures

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9067171, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I would hope that you change your "No-Risk" Guarantee to be more in line with how you presently implement it. As well as instruct your Hypnotists in what it means since they did not seem to be familiar with it when I questioned them.

 

Regards,

 

 

 ****** *****

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1