Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 462-4222 View Additional Phone Numbers 220 W Francis Ave Ste 2, Spokane, WA 99205 View Additional Email Addresses http://positivechangesnw.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers behavior modification using hypnosis.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 17 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

92 Customer Reviews on Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 85
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 92

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 17, 2002 Business started: 09/01/2002 in WA Business started locally: 09/01/2002 Business incorporated 05/01/2008 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Stephanie Day, Social Media Specialist Ms. Sheryl Manchester, CEO Mr. Kevin Oliver, VP, Marketing/Corporate Manager Ms. Patricia Quist, Marketing Manager Ms. Michele Redmon, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Stephanie Day, Social Media Specialist
Business Category

Hypnotherapists - Hypnotists Smokers Information & Treatment Weight Control Services Pain Management Services

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, most major credit/debit cards.
Refund and Exchange Policy
We offer a "no-risk" guarantee of our services: If at your first personal session you are not satisfied for any reason, we will refund 100% of your money. Just let us know before leaving the premises. No questions asked.
Alternate Business Names
E T Research, Inc. Positive Changes Hypnosis Bellevue Positive Changes Hypnosis of Beaverton Positive Changes Hypnosis of Boise Positive Changes Hypnosis of Spokane

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 220 W Francis Ave Ste 2

    Spokane, WA 99205 (509) 462-4222 (877) 767-4848

  • 606 120th Ave NE Ste 204

    Bellevue, WA 98005

  • 8030 W Emerald St Ste 165

    Boise, ID 83704 (208) 376-6900

  • 8285 SW Nimbus Ave STE 130

    Beaverton, OR 97008

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in the program on 1-12-16. Had first session on 1-20. Went home feeling ok, but after doing the program for a week, started feeling "weird". Like out-of-body feeling. My sleep patterns were severely disturbed, I only slept about 4-5 hours at night and wound up all day, was rather groggy and not myself. No one but my husband knew what I was doing, but several people told me that whatever it was needed to be stopped. I wasn't acting or sounding like myself. Felt like I wasn't in control of myself or my emotions. Your policy Refund and Exchange Policy "We offer a "no-risk" guarantee of our services: If at your first personal session you are not satisfied for any reason, we will refund 100% of your money. Just let us know before leaving the premises. No questions asked." needs to be revised. Even when buying a new car you get 3 days to decide - this is bigger emotionally and mentally - than buying a car. I talked to my advisor at my next appt to quit the program, the manager (Lisa) contacted me and said that I'd be refunded for the light (glasses) and the program, which was $3097 for a 9mo program for weight loss. Now upon talking to her today - 3-28-16, I'm told that they never said for the entire program, but only the glasses and the $1548.50 which was to come from my checking acct. The other $1548.50 is on me ... I don't believe that was what I was told in our original phone call. I should not have to pay for a program in which I only attended 1 session, as I was sick on my second appt due to the "side effects" of the "dreamy, drowsy, dynamic state of hypnosis". That's one very expensive session. I sent all materials and glasses back, and recd a credit on my VISA for $224.95, but feel that the entire amt shown above should also be refunded. One session is NOT ENOUGH TIME to know how your mind and body are going to react to hypnosis, having never had it done to me before. And then to drive home 30 miles in traffic - no thank you.

Desired Settlement: Even after talking with Lisa today, I feel that the remainder of the program should be refunded to me. Every time I see your commercials on TV, I get a sick feeling in my stomach. This is not a "one size fits all program". It may work for some, but not everyone, as there have been other complaints similar to mine with the Better Business Bureau.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ********,
We are very sorry to hear that you decided not to move forward with your program. You purchased a 9
month weight loss program on January 12, 2016 and had your first personal hypnosis session on January
20,2016.
As you stated in your letter, our refund policy that you agreed to states; "If at your first session you are
not satisfied for any reason, we will refund 100% of your money, as long as you let us know before you
leave our offices. You risk nothing." It wasn't until February 1, 2016, 10 days after your first session, that
we were made aware of your desire to discontinue your program. Based on our program guarantee you
would not be eligible for a refund.
On February 8, 2016, during your conversation with the center manager, regardless of our refund policy,
we agreed to refund you $224.95 for the product you were returning and we released you from the
remainder of the payment contract in the amount of $1548.50. At that time we had the impression that
we had come to a mutual agreement and resolution. Six weeks later, we were notified of your complaint
to the BBB.
Because we care about our clients and as a measure of good will, we are extending a further refund.
Since you attended your first session we will be holding out $347.99 for services rendered. You will find
a check enclosed in the amount of $975.56. We sincerely wish you well in the pursuit of your weight
loss goals.

Sincerely,
Monique S****
Client Care Coordinator
Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ********

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Before I signed the contract I asked specifically if Positive Changes Hypnosis could counteract the effects of a slow metabolism from having the lap-band for 10 years, and the effects of a medication that causes excessive weight gain. I was told that they could do this. I signed the contract which says I can get my money back within the first 30 days. I had not lost any weight within those 30 days, in fact I had gain 12 pounds, but the staff at Positive Changes told me I needed to give it more time so I stayed past the 30 days. I did not lose any weight throughout the 7.5 months I was there. I followed the instructions of every staff member exactly as I was told and I did not lose a single pound. Julie H****, the manager, eventually offered me a $500 refund but I declined because I would like the entire amount refunded.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the full amount of $2277 which was the program fee.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. **** *******,


We received your complaint from the Better Business Bureau and are sorry to hear you were unable to
attain your weight loss goal.

A review of your file shows that you enrolled in a 6 month weight loss program with Positive
Changes on March 13, 2015. Our records indicate that you completed your 6 months of appointments.
You discussed with the center manager during your 6th month in the program that you were not
satisfied with your results. As a gesture of good faith we added an extra 30 days to your program
along with 2 acceleration COs at no charge to you as we continued to support you in reaching your
goal. You unfortunately only attended 1of the 4 appointments scheduled for you during the program
extension. Those appointments are still available for you to use if you choose.

The attached signed guarantee states; "We are committed to help you obtain the results that you
want. We will support you 100% through your program. Your success is our top priority and we will
not give up on you... Success using hypnosis is dependent upon many variables including the
attitude, motivation, and cooperation by the participant." We cannot ethically guarantee human
behavior, but we do guarantee that we will support our clients throughout their program. We have
been here to help support you in your weight loss journey since you started your program as agreed
upon in our program guarantee and also during your 30- day program extension.

You stated in your complaint that you are/were taking medication that causes excessive weight gain
while you were attending our program. According to your file, you mentioned to our hypnotists and
coaches that you had successful changes of increased self-esteem, less stress, better sleep,
drinking more water, better food choices, and a loss of inches. Here at Positive Changes we
specialize in behavior modification through hypnosis. Hypnosis is a deep state of relaxation that
is designed to address the mindset and behaviors of an individual so that weight loss can follow.
Though you may not have reached your weight loss goal you were able to make changes, through our
program, that hindered the excessive weight gain you thought you would experience during the time
you were taking your medication.

You are asking for a 100% refund on your program even though you completed the program and
received additional services and products. Our program guarantee states that we do not give
refunds after the first personal session. Regardless of our stated guarantee, we offered you a
refund of $500. You declined our offer.

We are committed to resolving client concerns and we faithfully observe high standards in our
business relationships. We sincerely wish you well in the pursuit of your weight loss goals and
hope that you will take advantage of the remaining appointments in your 30 day program extension.



Sincerely, Monique S****
Client Care Coordinator
Positive Change Hypnosis Northwest

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:
BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Their offer is no different than the one they gave me which led to me filing this complaint.  I did not finish the additional  sessions offered to me because I had reached a point of exhaustion and frustration with the service not providing me the results they stated they could provide within the 6 months.  At the point I chose to stop going to scheduled classes and sessions I was well past the 6th month mark and I told the staff at Positive Changes that I would not be attending any of the sessions that were already scheduled as "extra" because I had not lost a single pound in 7.5 months.  I get that Positive Changes cannot predict human behavior and they do not guarantee a client's success.  But then why tell me that their services will help me lose weight?  If I had lost any weight at all then I might not feel that I was duped.  But I was very specific in what my issues were that led to the weight gain and I asked the staff at Positive Changes if their services would help me lose weight and they said "Yes".  So what am I to do?  $500 does not come close to the $2277 program fee and $330 additional for the glasses and special topic CDs.  And the statement that I was given 2 free CDs is incorrect.  I brought in 2 that were not opened and I wanted to return them but the staff convinced me to swap them for 2 different recordings when I had already paid for the first 2.   I would like the entire program fee refunded and I will return the $330 worth of additional items for the refund of the $330.

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: November 10, 2015


BBB Case #:********


Dear Ms. **** ********
On November 2nd we gave you a full refund as a resolution to your complaint. Sincerely,
Monique S****
Client Care Coordinator
Positive Change Hypnosis Northwest

Consumer Response:

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


**** *******

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel like I was taken advantage of. When I asked if the program was covered by insurance I was led to believe that all major insurers would reimburse patients for the services. When I asked for help with the insurance paperwork they said to come back later that day. I did not think the program was working for me halfway into the 1st (and only) session. Before I was even able to ask for a refund I was being told that I needed to go home and continue listening to the recording of the session. I was not able to get a word in and felt very pressured to continue the therapy at home. When I tried to explain that I did not think it was working for me they changed the subject and I was quickly escorted to the door. I now realize this was to get me to "leave the premises" to insure I would not be eligible for a refund. When I returned later for the insurance paperwork the front desk person just handed me some forms. I asked to talk to someone about a refund and was told "no one was available". As it turns out their services are not covered by insurance, even though they assured me it would be. The way they usher clients out the door to ensure they don't qualify for a refund seems very shady.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund

Business Response:

June 1, 2015

 

Case #: ********

 

Dear Ms. ****** ******,

We are very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the program. You purchased a 1 session Hypno-Quit program on April 16, 2015.  The program you purchased comes with the understanding that we cannot ethically guarantee human behavior. You singed the commitment document stating that you were committed to becoming tobacco-free. The commitment states;  “I understood that because my commitment and desire to become tobacco-free is outside of your control, there is no guarantee for my Hypno-Quit Program and no refund given once I begin my program.” You were not eligible for a refund on your program because you had already completed your Hypno-Quit Session.

You mentioned in your letter that your insurance does not cover our programs. We are sorry to hear this. There are some insurance companies that do reimburse clients for the services provided however; this greatly depends on your insurance company and the policy that you are enrolled in.

Since we care about our clients and want to support you in becoming tobacco free, we would like to offer you another Hypno-Quit Session at no charge. If you choose to accept this offer, please contact the Bellevue center General Manager, *****. She will be happy to schedule a session for you. We wish you the best in your efforts to become tobacco free and hope you will allow us to continue to help you.

 

Sincerely,

******* *****

Client Care Coordinator

Positive Changes Hypnosis

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***



Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am already smoke free through a different program.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******,

Thank you for your response. Our records indicate that your refund in the amount of $166.33 was processed on June 17th, 2015, the day after we came to a resolution. The refund was processed to the card you paid with, a visa ending in ****. I have attached the receipt for this transaction. If for some reason this transaction is not showing up on your side, please let us know so we can remedy the situation right away.

Thank you,

Monique S****

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

6/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $2,995 for a nine month program. I was never hypnotized and the program did not work on me. I told them about it and that the tapes interfered with my sleep within two weeks of signing up. They kept sending tapes for 4 or 5 weeks and then stopped but have refused to refund any of my money. I have called and they said they would get back to me but would probably not refund any of my money. I have never heard from them again. Product_Or_Service: weight loss program. Account_Number: n/a

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund At least $2,000.00 refunded.

Business Response: BBB Case #:********


Dear Ms. ****** *******

We received your complaint from the Better Business Bureau and are sorry to hear you are
unhappy with your program.

A review of your file shows that you enrolled in a 9 month weight loss program with Positive
Changes on October 9, 2014. You attended 3 months of your 9 month weight loss program.
Hypnosis is a deep state of relaxation that is designed to address the mindset and behaviors of an
individual so that weight loss can follow. Client results vary for each individual. Some clients can
take 2 to 3 months, or even longer, to notice changes in their behavior.

We are committed to resolving client concerns and we faithfully observe high standards in our
business relationships. We invite you to return and complete your program to receive the results
you came to us for. We are here for you just as we have been since you started your program. We
have an excellent record of achieving success for our clients and would like to assist you to achieve
your success as well.


The total price of yourst program is $2927. Our program guarantee states that we do not give
refunds after the 1 personal session. However, we care about you. In an effort to
demonstrate our good will, if you choose to discontinue our relationship, we will reimburse you
$1463.50.

We sincerely wish you well in the pursuit of your weight loss goals and hope that you will allow us
to assist you in reaching those goals.


Sincerely,
**** **** ******
General Manager
Positive Changes Hypnosis Center-Beaverton

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *******

9/23/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live 1.5 hours from the closest Positive Changes location, so when I came in for my consultation I was told about an out of area program option. I was told that I would receive ALL the same services, personal attention, weekly coaching sessions, etc. as someone that lives near the center. I was told I needed to sign up for the 9 month program, I had to really press for what exactly I would be receiving. I was told I would get 9 personal hypnosis sessions plus weekly coaching calls, at a minimum. I went to my first 2 personal hypnosis sessions, and I received one weekly coaching session. I scheduled other weekly coaching sessions but no one ever phoned me, which I was told they would call me, not that I was to call them at the scheduled time. I called and cancelled the 3rd session and explained that this wasn't working for me. That the way the program was explained to me, with all of this engagement from the center, just wasn't occurring. I mentioned wanting a refund, the gal on the phone said just think about this, and we'll have someone reach out to you. No one ever phoned. Fast forward a few months, I phoned to ask for a refund, re-explained everything, the lady told me "someone will call you tomorrow", we need to get you re-engaged. Tomorrow came and went, no one ever phoned me back - no surprise since they don't call for the one on one coaching sessions each week that were scheduled. So I phoned again, today spoke with a new center director - who had been told I had phoned needing a refund because my "parents" were moving in with me...nope, not my story, obviously the center had me confused with another client wanting a refund. The director told me they don't give refunds, but I had a couple more months of services if I wanted to come in and finish up, and since I had previous success on the program, this would be a good plan. I told the lady, again you must have me confused with someone else, I haven't had previous success on the program as I've only had 2 hypnosis sessions and one weekly phone call. Also, finish up - you mean I paid close to $3,000 for 2 hypnosis sessions and a one time weekly phone call, and I could take advantage of the remaining 3 months left - so I would have then been charged $3000 for 5 hypnosis sessions? This is not acceptable, it is completely one sided, I have reached out and reached out, the program has not been delivered as it was promised to me, and explained to me. It is unacceptable to collect money from people and not follow through on your end with what the program was supposed to entail. I am asking for a refund. I deserve a refund, and you all should get your long distance/out of town program created in a way that delivers on what is promised.

Desired Settlement: a refund minus the 2 hypnosis sessions. I think this is a very fair request.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/28) */ To Whom it may concern, In response to the letter regarding Case# XXXXXXXX, we have resolved the concerns of Ms. ***** *****. When we received Ms. ***** complaint through the BBB on August 18th, we responded directly to Ms. *****. ****** ********** our VP of Operations, spoke directly with *****. I'm pleased that they reached a refund agreement. Ms ***** signed up for a 9 month program and attended 2 sessions. Unfortunately she didn't continue her program for several months. Had we known earlier about her concerns, we would have been happy to discuss this sooner. We invited ***** to return to completed her program, and receive her results. Ms. ***** chose the refund instead. We are here for our clients and want to help with great success. We are sorry to hear that Ms. ***** chose to discontinue her program and we wish her well in her pursuit of her goals. Please let us know if there are any questions or if any further documentation is needed. Sincerely, ****** ******

9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for weight loss program (Naturally Thin) and after 5 months gained weight. Several times in coaching sessions and personal sessions as well as my evaluation session I have requested to work on my food addiction. They have not in fact they have given me stress management instead of weight loss. I have told them in person, email and recently again via phone that I was very dissatisfied and felt I should be refunded for at the least unused sessions. I have never received a reply, buy they did cancel all my appointments.

Desired Settlement: at least refunded for the sessions not used or attended. Which would be half of original payment of $2,727.00 = ($1365.50)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/09/17) */ September 17, 2014 Case# XXXXXXXX To the Better Business Bureau, In response to your letter regarding file# XXXXXXX, we have resolved the concerns of Ms. ***** *******. Our VP of Operations, ****** ********** spoke with ***** and reached an agreement resulting in a refund of $1365.50. We were sorry to hear that ***** chose to discontinue her program but we wish her well in her pursuit of her goals. Thank you, ****** ****** Positive Changes Hypnosis Center Client Care/ Accounts Receivable XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext. *** Fax XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Started their program on 3/31/2014. Was supposed to be 9 months for $2727.00. When I went in on 6/25 I asked for a refund because the program wasn't working for me (I actually gained 14 pounds) and wanted six months refunded to me, which would be $1818. Was told I need to talk to the Office Manager and she wasn't available because she was in meetings all day but would call me at her earliest convenience. Never called. I have called their office several times and have been assured that the manager would call me back. Went in on 7/2/2014 for hypnosis and again asked for refund. Was told Office Manager would call me and never has. I'm getting the run-around and have talked with others that their hypnosis isn't working for. Starting to think the whole thing is a scam.

Desired Settlement: Since I signed up for 9 months at $2727, I would like $1818 refunded as a prorated one third of the total cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/17) */ July 15, 2014 Dear **********, Thank you for speaking with me today. I’m very happy that we were able to reach an agreement regarding your program. You have chosen to discontinue your program at this time and we have agreed to refund you $1363.50. However, we have agreed to allow you to come back and complete your program. This offer will be available to you through December 2014. If you choose to come back, and let us help you achieve your weight loss goals, at that time you will resume payment of $1363.50. **********, we would like to help you reach your goal and believe you can do this if you complete your program as it was designed. We are here for you just as we have been since you started your program. We sincerely wish you well and look forward to working with you in the future. Sincerely, ****************** Vice President Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers of Beaverton

5/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in the positive changes weight loss program and put $516.00 down and was making payments of $245.13 a month.I followed there program and listen to the personal cd"s they make for you.I also exercised and changed my diet.I never loss any weight at all.There staff always had a excuse of why I was seeing any results in the program.On March 1st they took there monthly payment from my bank account.On the 3rd of the month I asked to be relived of my contract I had signed due to my hours at work being cut back to 18 a week.Thisand a short stay in the hospital where going to eat up all my cash coming in and I wouldn't be able to afford the program.They let me out of my contract and cancelled all my classes for march,which I had already paid for. I feel that I should have been able to get a refund for March or be able to finish the classes for March. Product_Or_Service: weight loss program

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund for March as they wouldn't let me finish classes for that month,even though I had paid for them.I think that is only fair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/18) */ March 18, 2014 Case #:********* Dear ************, We received your complaint from the Better Business Bureau. A review of your file shows that you enrolled in a 9 month weight loss program with Positive Changes on November 20, 2013. If you were to complete your program, you would finish around August of 2014. Our programs are designed as continuous weekly sessions over a nine month period. They include our 6 point system for success. Your program provides personal hypnosis sessions every month, personal coaching sessions, informative classes, self-hypnosis instruction and accelerations. You attended 3 months of appointments and shared with us some great results from your program. During your coaching session on January 20th, you shared with your coach that you had lost 8 pounds. That was after only 2 months in the program. On March 3rd you spoke with one of our consultants about cancelling your program. She reiterated our no refund policy but was able to release you from your contract as a gesture of good will. We invite you to return and complete your program, and continue to receive the results you came to us for. We are here for you just as we have been since you started your program. Considering the excellent results you have experienced, we expect that you can continue to enjoy those kinds of results. We have an excellent record of achieving success for our clients and would like to assist you to achieve your success as well. Our program guarantee states, "If at your FIRST program session you are not satisfied, we will refund 100% of your money, as long as you let us know before you leave our offices." You did not exercise this, and actually you later reported success in weight loss. The total price of your program is $2477. To this date you have paid $1251.39. Considering the amount of the program you have used and in order to demonstrate our good will, if you choose to discontinue our relationship, we are willing to reimburse you $245.13 the amount of your March payment. We sincerely wish you well in the pursuit of your weight loss goals and hope that you will allow us to assist you in reaching those goals. Sincerely, **************** Center Manager Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers, Bellevue

3/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I initially went in for a consult the lady used high pressure tactics and personal shame. She said that they just don't let anyone into their program, that I am a great candidate and that I will be successful on their weight loss program, and that it would take 9 months to get to my target weight goal, which initially was stated as 150 lbs. I was so excited to start that I signed up on the spot. One week later I had my initial appointment where I was asked a lot of questions and then hypnotized for half an hour and then told to listen to the cd of the hypnosis session that I had just had, along with 2 other hypnosis sessions each day, then I left. After I got home and no longer felt "weird" I started thinking about it and no one had told me before that I would have to do 2 hours of hypnosis in my home each day, along with the 1 1/2 hours at the center once per week, but I had just spent a lot of money and so I was willing to do what they wanted me to do so that I would loose the weight. One week later I was scheduled to go in for my second appointment and I had not noticed any changes what so ever in my habits or thought and so when I went in I let them know that I had not had any change and had read in the paperwork that was given to me that if I was not satisfied I could get a 100% refund after the first personal session. They informed me that my first "personal session" was the day that I came in and was hypnotized the week before. I expressed my concern and asked how is anyone supposed to know if it is for them, without even trying it for 1 week. I let her know that I was not happy and that I wanted a refund. She expressed that they do not allow refunds. I again asked how is someone supposed to decide if they like it.. while they are still under hypnotic suggestions.. that tell them that it will work if they just drink more water and exercise and eat healthy. .. I gave this a total of 11 weeks to work for me, and it has not. I have not lost any weight and this seems to be a scam. They use high pressure tactics to get people to sign up and then hypnotize them before they can say that they do not like it, and then refuse to refund after people realize that it does not work. I mentioned my concerns about this program not working for me every two weeks when I went in for my personal sessions. I listened to my CD's once each morning and once each night for 11 weeks and drove to the center once a week for 1 1/2 hours of "class" and hypnosis. I held up my bargain, and they have not held up theirs. They advertise that this is a "Our "No-Risk" Guarantee We at Positive Changes are so confident in the effectiveness of our comprehensive Six-Point System, we offer an exclusive, "no-risk" guarantee of our services: If at your FIRST PERSONAL SESSION you are not satisfied for any reason, we will refund 100% of your money. Just let us know before leaving the premises. No questions asked. They are advertising a no-risk guarantee. This has cost me $2,144.26. All I want is a refund for my unused portion which equals $1416.83 (2144.26 paid so far, it was a 9 month program which equals 38.97 weeks.. the total cost for this program is 2577.00 divided by 38.97 weeks =66.13 per week. I have gone for 11 weeks so 11 x 66.134 equals 727.43 that I owe for my sessions which leaves $1416.83 to be refunded)

Desired Settlement: All I want is a refund for my unused portion which equals $1416.83 (2144.26 paid so far, it was a 9 month program which equals 38.97 weeks.. the total cost for this program is 2577.00 divided by 38.97 weeks =66.13 per week. I have gone for 11 weeks so 11 x 66.134 equals 727.43 that I owe for my sessions which leaves $1416.83 to be refunded)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/21) */ March 20, 2014 BBB Case #: ******** Dear Ms. *****************, We received your complaint from the Better Business Bureau. A review of your file shows that you enrolled in a 9 month weight loss program with Positive Changes on December 27, 2013. If you were to complete your program, you would finish around September of 2014. Our programs are designed as continuous weekly sessions over a nine month period. They include our 6 point system for success. Your program provides personal hypnosis sessions every month, personal coaching sessions, informative classes, self-hypnosis instruction and accelerations. You attended 3 months of your 9 month weight loss program. Client results vary for each individual. Hypnosis is designed to address the mindset and behaviors of an individual so that weight loss can follow. Some clients can take 2 to 3 months, or even longer, to notice results in their behavior. We invite you to return and complete your program to receive the results you came to us for. We are here for you just as we have been since you started your program. We have an excellent record of achieving success for our clients and would like to assist you to achieve your success as well. The total price of your program is $2577. To this date you have paid $2144.22. Considering the amount of the program you have used and in order to demonstrate our good will, if you choose to discontinue our relationship, we are willing to reimburse you $1400 for the unused portion of your program. We sincerely wish you well in the pursuit of your weight loss goals and hope that you will allow us to assist you in reaching those goals. Sincerely, ************* General Manager Positive Changes Hypnosis Center-Beaverton Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) As per your offer, I choose to discontinue our relationship, and am willing to accept a reimbursement of $1400 for the unused portion of my program. Please let me know if you will be sending the reimbursement to my address on record, or if you will be refunding it to the card you have on file for me.

3/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When called to ask for refund for services, which I have not used any, I was told someone, the counselor I met with, would have to call me back. I said I did not want a call back from them and that I have already chose not to use them for my rehabilitation. The person argued with me that this was their policy. After this the put the phone down and went on to talk about me with other personnel. I was left on the phone for over two minutes while I listened to them talk about me and eventually caring on with business. After this the person hang up. I proceeded to call the counselor I met with and they told me they would deal with it on Monday. I asked for clarification about what was going to be addressed on Monday and I was told whether if I would receive a refund. I said what do you mean if? This is when they hang up on me.

Desired Settlement: Refund for two thirds of the full amount for which I have not begun any services. All money that has been taken without any services rendered.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 7, 2014/03/06) */ February 28, 2014 Dear **** We received your complaint from the Better Business Bureau. A review of your file shows that you enrolled in a 9 week breakthrough program for anger management with Positive Changes on December 6th, 2014. Your first personal hypnosis session was scheduled for December 10th, 2014. Unfortunately you did not show up to this appointment. We called to follow up and didn't receive a return phone call until February 7th, 2014 when you requested a refund. At that time your call was directed to the manager. Since you had not attended any of your appointments, we put a check in the mail for a complete refund of your program on February 8th, 2014. We are very sorry that you chose not to continue your program with us. We would have liked to assist you in reaching your goals. We sincerely wish you well in the pursuit of your goals. Sincerly, ***** ***** Center Manager Positive Changes Hypnosis Center-Beaverton ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

2/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responded to a TV promotion and went in for a consultation on a weight loss program. I was told in the sale pitch that 98% of people are easily hypnotized. After I did research I found out that the ******* ******** ************** study (HIP) stated 10% of the population are easily hypnotized (High Probability), 80% Average (Medium probability) of being hypnotized and 10% are low probability of being hypnotized. This treatment is based on hypnotic suggestion so if you can’t be hypnotized it will not work. I was also told that I could opt out of the program after the first session if I did not like it or it didn’t work. It was a one on one high pressure sale pitch and I was told I had to pay total $2700 dollar cost for 9 month treatment guaranteed. This sales approach was probably because they know only 10% of the population will have great results because of their susceptibility to hypnosis. After one hypnosis session I informed the hypnotists that I didn’t think I was ever hypnotized. I was told to go home and listen to the sessions and there would be results. I went home and found no changes even after I listened to the session several times. I contacted the office and informed them that I was not happy and wanted a refund. I was informed that once I left the building after my first session there was no refund. This fact was not made clear to me during the sale pitch. I was left with the impression that after 1 session I could opt out. After talking to ****** the Office manager she was very insistent that once I left the building I was bound to a 9 month contract. She also stated she just wants to help me and I said "Then refund me the money and stop all the stress you are causing me by your high pressure sales process." ****** then said she would have the regional sales manager contact me. I have heard nothing since. I have not returned to the facility.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund. If there program is so good why do they have such a harsh warranty? It is hard to tell if something is going to work only after a half hour of talking and 22 minutes of a hypnotic session.

Business Response: Please see attached.

2/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PositveChanges advertised that some people can lose weigh two to three pounds per week. I down payment $400. I told ******* ******* a case manager that I would like to try out for one month. If I do not lose weigh, I will stop and get my refund back. She assured me that I will get my refund. I tried out for a month and I did not lose a pound. I also paid $204 for one month of tried out. It did not work like they advertised. I call the manager to give me $400 refund and she refused.Regards,****** ************

Desired Settlement: Send a check or credit back to the bank

Business Response:

**** *******

 


We received your complaint from the Better Business Bureau, A review of your file shows that you
enrolled in a
6 month weight loss program with Positive Changes on November 16t", 2013,

In your complaint you state that your intention was to try the program for one month, stop at that
time and receive a refund. Our program guarantee states,
"If at your FIRST program session you are
not satisfied, we will refund
100 of your money, as long as you let us know before you leave our
offices
." You did not exercise this, and you attended one month of appointments, (See enclosed
program guarantee with your signature).

On January 30ttl, 2014 you called the Boise center manager to request a refund. She explained our
refund policy and offered her help in your program to get you the results you carne to
us for.
Unfortunately, you hung up on her. She tried to call you multiple times after this with no response
from you, On February
5th, 2014 we received your complaint from the Better Business Bureau.
Again we tried to reach you in order to discuss this with you and again we didn't receive
a response,

Client success is our top priority. With thousands of satisfied clients, notarized client testimonials,
and an independent study performed by **** ***** **********, we have ample proof
of achieving
success for our clients
. We would like to help you reach your weight loss goal and believe you can
do this if you complete your program as it was designed. We invite you to return and complete your
program, and receive your results. We are here for you just as we have been since you started your
program.

The total price of your program is $1421.60. To this date you have paid $604.32. Considering the
amount of the program you have used and in order to demonstrate our good will, if you choose to
discontinue our relationship, we are willing to reimburse you
$204.32.

We sincerely Wish you well in the pursuit of your weight loss goals and hope that you will allow us
to assist you in reaching those goals.

Sincerely,

***** *************** *******

Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers of Boise

******** ********** ******* ********* ******* *********

11/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came to positive changes for weight lose. at the first interview they make it seem like if we are lucky we can get on a program. I felt like I was made to think I was maybe not able to get in they start the appt. with a mind game getting you to think that your trying out you naturally get in a mind set of making the cut. After I was (ACCEPTED) in the program they tell you how much. I agreed. After I set up payment they set-up your first appt for hypnosis then they tell you how many times you have to listen to the CD's 3 times a day or more and other Cd's. I have tried but don't have time to listen 3 If I knew that I was going to have to listen 3 times a day and go to classes I would never have started. I work fulltime and have other things on my plate. I feel like they don't tell you up front what you have to do to make it work and after you get in to the first one and they tell you its to late. I feel its false advertisement.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund. at least %75 I feel I should receive if not %100

Business Response: November 5, 2013

Dear *****,

We received your complaint from the Better Business Bureau. A review of your file shows 

that you enrolled in a 6 month weight loss program with Positive Changes on August 22, 

2013. If you were to complete your program, you would finish around February of 2014.

Our programs are designed as continuous weekly sessions over a six month period. They 

include our 6 point system for success. Your program provides personal hypnosis sessions 

every month, personal coaching sessions, informative classes, self hypnosis instruction and 

accelerations. We also ask that our clients listen to their personal hypnosis sessions at least 

once a day, of course the more repetition the better. We state all of this during our free 

consultations before our clients enroll in a program.

You attended 2 sessions and shared with us your great results from your program. You 

lost 5 pounds by September 30th and experienced additional positive behavior changes. 

Specifically, you said you were drinking less diet Pepsi, feeling more confident, making 

better food choices and drinking more water. All of these great things happened even 

though you were having trouble listening at home. Imagine the results you would likely 

experience if you made the time to listen to your session at least once a day.

As we state in our Program Commitment, “Success using hypnosis is dependent upon many 

variables including the attitude, motivation, cooperation and the attendance of scheduled 

sessions by the participant.” This holds true regarding your experience with Positive 

Changes. While you were participating, you told us that you experienced weight loss which 

was your goal when you first came to us along with other positive behavior changes. 

After 2 months, you submitted this complaint to the Better Business Bureau while still 

attending your program without any mention to our staff as to how you were feeling. Had 

we known about your concerns sooner, we would have been happy to discuss this with you 

sooner. 

We invite you to return and complete your program, and receive your results. We are here 

for you just as we have been since you started your program. Considering the excellent 

results you have experienced, we expect that you can continue to enjoy those kinds of 

results.

We have an excellent record of achieving success for our clients and would like to assist 

you to achieve your success as well. Our program guarantee states, “If at your FIRST 

program session you are not satisfied, we will refund 100% of your money, as long as you 

let us know before you leave our offices.” You did not exercise this, and actually you later 

reported success in several areas, including weight loss.

The total price of your program is $1977. To this date you have paid $1030.80. Considering 

the amount of the program you have used and in order to demonstrate our good will, if you 

choose to discontinue our relationship, we are willing to reimburse you $300.00. 

We sincerely wish you well in the pursuit of your weight loss goals and hope that you will 

allow us to assist you in reaching those goals.

Sincerely,

***** ********

C.E.O

Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers

Enclosed Documents:

Program Agreement

Program Guarantee

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory if they refund the $300 and do not take any additional money out of my account. I have already paid  $1030.80. So as long as no other monies are withdrawn from my account and they refund the $300 I will accept the resolution.

Regards,


***** ******





Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

92 Customer Reviews on Positive Changes Hypnosis Centers
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart