Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Service & New Installation of Residential & Commercial Heating & Cooling Systems
Geothermal Ground Source Heat Pumps
Duct Cleaning
Fireplaces
Radiant Floor Heating
System Design - New Construction & Retrofit Solutions
Much more


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that R&R Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for R&R Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on R&R Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1984 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1984 Business incorporated 02/01/1985 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Division of Building Safety-ID
1250 Ironwood Drive, Suite 220, Coeur D'Alene ID 83814
http://www2.state.id.us/dbs
Phone Number: (208) 769-1579

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Randy Hastings, Owner Mr. Matt Hair, Vice President of Service
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Matt Hair, Vice President of Service
Principal: Mr. Randy Hastings, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Duct & Duct Fittings Filters Air & Gas Cleaning Fireplaces Water Heaters - Dealers Energy Audits Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Duct Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Heating Equipment Air Balancing Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing

Hours of Operation
Office hours Monday – Friday 7:30 A.M. – 5:00 P.M.
On call service, repair & replacement 24 hours/day, 365 days/year
Method(s) of Payment
Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Terms
Refund and Exchange Policy
We stand behind our work 100%. 
Alternate Business Names
R and R Heating and Air Conditioning RnR Heating and Air Conditioning

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

R&R Heating & Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5202 N Florida St

    Spokane, WA 99217 (877) 727-4328 (509) 484-1405

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaints: On 9/7/14- R&R heating & AC completed the design and installation of a Trane AC system in my attic. The following problems have been experienced: 1. R&R had not conducted a courtesy check of the entire system. It was stated by R&R salesman that It would be done by spring of this year to ensure proper operation. 2. Short cycling was observed in May, run time experienced were 6-8 minutes, R&R was contacted and a technician stated that 12-15 minute run times are required. R&R was asked to provide documentation from Trane Inc., the manufacturer, which states that the shorter run times are acceptable. No response from R&R at this time. 3. Master bedroom ceiling vent was placed in a corner of the room which blows cold air directly onto our face while in bed. R&R replaced the vent, but it did not solve the problem. Nothing further has been done. 4. 8/12/15 I contacted R&R concerning reduced airflow through vents coming from the plenum and in the family room. I discussed the concern with an R&R staff, and he transferred my phone call to the General Manager. The call went to a voice mail, so I left a message. I have called him back over half a dozen times and have left 3 voice messages; I have received no response at this time. At this time we are very concerned that R&R is not able and/or not willing to properly address the problems noted. There remains less than one week on the warranty of the system, 9/7/15.

Desired Settlement: to address the 4 concerns we have.

Business Response: ****, We have addressed all of your concerns as follows: 1) 1st year check was performed on 7/28/15 (10 month after installation, this check is typically performed after the first 12 months of operation). 2) On 7/28/15 the run times were verified and found to be within the proper operating specifications. 3) On 7/23/15 the bedroom register was replaced, at no charge to the homeowner, with a new manual register allowing complete directional airflow control by the homeowner. 4) On 8/12/15 our office received one voicemail from ****, on 8/13/15 a return call was made to **** and the previous three items were discussed in detail again.

Consumer Response:



BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

R&R response was inaccurate. And in item 4 they did not respond to the issue.

Item #1, R&R technician who came on 7/28/15 said he was only here for maintenence check of the outside compressor. He stated he would not enter the attic to check the duct work or the air handler. At the completion of the work I asked for a copy of the service record. He would not give me a copy. We would like R&R to provide the copy of the service please.

Item#2, We would like R&R to provide a record indicating the runtime has been checked and what specifications were used. Again the technician stated that he was only here to perform the compressor check. I was with the technician the whole time he was here, he did not check the run times.

Item#3, the bedroom vent in the corner located on the side of the room where the door leads to the hall way where the return vent is. there are only 3 positons the louvers can be positioned, toward the bed, straight down or toward the wall. If the louvers are positioned straight down or to the wall, the cooling air does not reach the bed because the cool air is drawn toward to return vent in the hall way. If the louvers are directed toward the bed, to not hit our faces, then only approximately 20% of the airflow comes out.

Item#4, R&R did not address the reduced airflow throuhg the vent from the plenum and in the family room.

The Labor and Industry construction compliance officer asked me whether the R&R Lein Disclosure Contact was reviewed with me, and whether I had signed it. I had not seen the document. We would like to see a copy of the document as well.


Regards,

*** ***********

Business Response: Item#1- R&R installed the cooling portion of the HVAC system only (air handler & ducting in the attic and condensing unit outside) on 7/28/15 the technician tested the functionality of the cooling system from both the outdoor unit location as well as the air handler location. Item#2- 7/28/15 the technician verified the cycle rate/run time setting located within the existing thermostat. Item#3 & item#4- 8/13/15 the foreman discussed both the question re: the register in the bedroom and the airflow to the family room at which time the homeowner agreed that the cooling system was satisfying the thermostat setting even when the outside temperatures exceeded 100 degrees F. Request #1- R&R will forward the maintenance task sheet from the technician's visit on 7/28/15. Request #2- The technician noted the cycle rate/run time setting on the task sheet, the specifications used are from the manufacturer of the thermostat. The thermostat was supplied by the owner. Request #3- The Lien Disclosure information is located on the original proposal, R&R will forward a copy to the owner. The proposal has both the customer's signature and initials confirming the owner acceptance of the proposal, the terms and conditions of the proposal and confirmation that the owner was made aware of the Lien Disclosure.

Consumer Response:



BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

*** ***********

---We have not yet received the maintenance task sheet nor the Lien disclosure information from R&R. Concerning the issue of the 4 items, we have concluded that R&R has not been truthful with the responses, and are not interested in resolving our concerns. R&R will answer to a higher authority.

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: r and r came to our home a year ago and said I needed a new air conditioner that this one is non repairable and that I needed a new one. I still have the same air conditioner I called another company about the same air conditioner. I paid him $185.00 and I went on line and purchased a air filter and a compressor for a total of $46.00 . our air conditioner is working fine and they wanted to put in $6000,00 air conditioner that I don't need. that is why I am filing a complaint so they don't do that to someone else.

Business Response: ********, We apologize that you feel our technician was trying to have you do something you didn't need. We pride ourselves on offering our clients all options available to them, in your specific situation the tech recommended the option of replacement because of the current and possibility of future repair cost due to the age/condition of your existing heating and cooling system. We are pleased that your cooling system is currently operating and hope you have continued comfort.

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Schedule routine maintenance on my ****** with R&R early last week. I mentioned there was a slight leak in the circ pump that might require a seal repair. Technician arrived on time on Wednesday afternoon (I took work off that afternoon to be at the house). He said he tightened the bolts on the pump and the leak subsided and that everything checked out fine.The next day I noted my heat was not working and called R&R. They sent a tech out. He indicated that the pressure relief valve had not seated when tested and the tech who did the PM didn't notice. He said he'd have to find a valve...could take days. In the meantime, I needed to keep the floors warm with space heaters to prevent the floor lines from freezing - no hot water for dishes or bathing either. I called first thing Friday morning and they said it would be Monday before they could get the valve. Later that day they found one (I left work) and installed it late afternoon Friday and restarted the ******. Saturday morning the ****** was no longer working. A tech came out Saturday evening and said he was not sure what was going on and their system guy would need to look at it. He thought it may have something to do with the circ pump b/t the holding tank and ****** but wasn't sure. I mentioned it sounded as if there was air in the system. He said that was boiling in the ****** - too hot and cavitating when reached 230 degrees F and shut down. Sunday the system stopped again. I restarted it several times and bled air off the air trap assembly and noted that it was banging in the ****** at 150 degrees, not 230 which I believe means air was introduced into the system - three times it shut itself down, but finally started and held after I bled considerable air out of the system at a low temperature. This morning, the system is running. I called R&R and asked when their system guy could come out. Tanya, their service manager, said it would be several weeks - they intended to try replacing the circ pump this week

Desired Settlement: Fix the ******!! It worked absolutely fine for years 'til R&R performed "PM" on it. I don't believe I should have to pay another penny. I paid ~$160 for them to "PM" it which they didn't do and another ~$130 for them to replace the pressure relief valve. I should not incur additional costs. In fact, I went to the doctor Friday to follow up knee surgery I had last week and my blood pressure was 169/107 because of the frustration of dealing with R&R. They claim no responsibility.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on R&R Heating & Air Conditioning
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart