BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

This Business is not BBB accredited

Mike's Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (208) 743-0776 Fax: (208) 746-3815 3504 9th St, Lewiston, ID 83501 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mikesheatair.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning systems, as well as ventilation, plumbing, and electrical services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mike's Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mike's Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 12, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1980 in ID Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated: 01/01/1980 in ID
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State - Idaho
Boise ID
http://www.idsos.state.id.us
Phone Number: (208) 334-2300

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jon Brotnov, President Mr. Darrin P. Erdhal, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Brotnov, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Duct Cleaning Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors Plumbers Ventilating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Mike's Mechanical, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3504 9th St

    Lewiston, ID 83501 (208) 743-0776

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we called Mikes for an estimate. **** came over and took pictures of 3 plug ins and a dryer plug in and a ceiling light. he said he might have to run wires, go into the attic and it could take several hours. but since we lived in the next block from their business they would charge $50 per hour. 2 men came and older man and a younger man. older man changed the GFC plug in, another plug in and checked to switches to see if active. younger man went downstairs and changed the dryer plug in. younger man came up and got a latter and started working on the ceiling light fixture that I had purchased from Home depot. older man just watched. we had two sons here at the time, one a paramedic/fireman and the other works for UPS all three of us were timing the electricians. finally the older man says is there anything else for us to do. I said no you guys are quick. he says it's our job. I said well it didn't even take 2 hours the older man said no it didn't and I said well it actually only took 1 hour and 46 minutes from the time you came until you are walking out the door. the older man agreed and left. we then got a bill for $36 in parts and $406 for labor. my husband called **** and said you told us it was $50 per hour **** said well there was 2 men and we said yes so it should be $200 for labor. **** said he wasn't charging us the usual $75 fee for coming because we lived just a block away. **** got real short with my husband, so I called him because I am the one that was here and said exactly what I have written about and **** said Mrs Hoyt I will talk back with your husband and was real short with me. we will not recomment these people or company to anyone. their phone message says "HONEST AND RELIABLE" how can this be honest and they won't even try to work with us on this

Desired Settlement: they should only charge us $200 in labor and parts of $36...that is what they said and won't do....$406 in labor is wrong......they are trying to retract stuff now and we had 3 adults timing them...and we will stand for what we have said and will also let everyone we know not to deal with these people if they keep charging wrong

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9439250, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ****



***** **** **********@msn.com via spokane.bbb.org 11:54 AM (0 minutes ago)
NO WE DO NOT EXCEPT THE $331 BILL...THEY WERE HERE FOR 1 HOUR AND 46 MINUTES...WHICH SHOULD BE $200 FOR LABOR PLUS $36 FOR PARTS AND TAXES...***** AGREED TO THEM CHECKING WITH HIS BOSS AND GETTING BACK TO HIM...WE ARE STANDING FIRM ON WHAT IS RIGHT....

Business Response:

We have contacted Mr. **** and have agreed to bill him $331.00 for our services and materials.  Mr. **** has verbally agreed to this amount, the billing will be released today 2-26-2013.  

Business Response:

Being that a previously agreed compromise has failed due to Mr. **** verbally agreeing to an adjusted amount with Kirk Ross only to then later retract on the agreement by means of an e-mail to the BBB, I’m now prepared to present any and all evidence that supports my charge for man power that is in question.  In most circumstances I’m willing to work with the customer to come to terms even if it means  me giving the job away for free in order to keep the customer happy when and if mutual respect and perceptive is show by the customer.  However, with receiving nothing but threats and broken agreements over this issue and being that I originally discounted the labor rate going into the project I see little more than I can do to realistically adjust this billing.         

   

Attached is original documentation of time cards that were filled out by **** ****** and **** ***** that breaks down every hour that they worked on the 12 of February 2013.  As the time cards show my employees were at the **** residence from 9:30am until 12:30pm, 3 hours each.  Mike’s charged the ****’s 6 hours for the work that was completed at a discounted rate of $50.00 per hour rather than our normal rate of $63.00 per hour.

Both my employees had two other customers that they had performed work on after the **** residence, one being form12:30 to 1 and another from 1 until 7:15 and 5:15.  

There is no possible way that my electricians could have performed the scope of work that was completed at the **** residence in the alleged time of 1 hour and 46 minutes as stated by the ****’s.

In one last attempt to resolve this situation I’m willing to split the difference of the disputed amount in a rounded off number of $50.00.  The compromised bill to the Mr. and Mrs. **** is $281.33, this is an adjustment of 124.67 from the original billing of $406.00.                 

           

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9439250, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


***** ****



***** **** via spokane.bbb.org 10:23 AM (46 minutes ago)
to complaints
we have tried to be totally honest with everyone here....we did have 3 adult people here that timed them but all said and done we will pay the agreed amount of $281.33 in full...we haven't threaten them which they say we did we went straight to you the BBB with our problem...the men who came were polite, good at their job and did a great job...it was the bill after we had complaints with....but all is over and we will pay the agreed amount of $281.33...thank you for all your help...
***** *** ***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a partial (less than 100%) settlement which the consumer accepted

10/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i called this company and asked if they did free estimants i was told yes. I then told the lady i needed an estimate on my ac unit and how much it would cost to fix. They sent a technition out. HE showed up looked around for a bit and informed me that the unit was not functionable and was missing the main unit. I was then informed that the sales team would give me a quote to replace the unit. it has been a month no phone call. so thought nothing about it. I then receive a bill for 52.50. no phone call at all. So i go ahead give them a call they take my number and said the owner would get ahold of me. She then informs me i asked for them to come repair my unit and were unable and still wants to charge me for 45 minutes of wrk it all sounds pretty low to me exspecially cause the sales deparment did not try to reach me no messages of any sort.

Desired Settlement: no bill at all i asked if they did free estimates and was told yes i just wanted an estimate on what it was gonna cost to make it work and the honestly still havnt gave me an answer now im upset with this companies policy and way of bussiness

Business Response: Mr. *******,


For what it is worth we do have free estimates at our company since the doors were opened 32 years ago for customers that are interested in installing new HVAC, plumbing, electrical or duct cleaning services.  We do not offer a free estimate to diagnose a problem and then tell you how much it will cost to make a repair.  If you had purchased a new unit from us we would have waived the $52.50 from your installation bill.  

My technician should have collected before leaving your home as this is my company policy and we could have handled this in a much more timely manner and this is the only reason that I will consider removing the fees that are associated with this service call.        

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb 2, 2012 Mike's Heating came to my Mother's home - ******* ***** - at **** *******, ********, ***** in response to my call for service. To get heat I would have to turn the furnace thermostat off leaving it off for 10 minutes then turn it back on before the furnace would kick on and heat the house. That day the repairman cleaned the furnace saying he could not find anything wrong with any of the parts - he thought it was just dirty. I did have him install a programmable thermostat at that time.Before he left I asked him, "IF accumulated dirt is not the problem what are the possible other issues?" His reply "it could be that the sensor or the valve are not functioning properly and need to be replaced. IF installing those do not solve the problem, then the main control board needed replaced.As he was leaving, the repairman said, "if the cleaning does not solve the problem, call them and the next visit would be free of labor charges, only for parts."Because I do not live in Lewiston, I was unable to ascertain that the furnace problem was not solved until my return the following week. The problem was the same - I would have to turn the thermostat off, leave off for a time, then turn it back on. I called Mike's Heating for a return call.A different repairman came and diagnosed the problem as being the main control board, which had to be ordered. BUT the following week even when the control board and a sensor was installed, the same problem remained - no heat unless the thermostaat was turned off, left off then turned back on. It took another visit and the installation of a valve to solve the problem. I maintain the control board $196.35 and the associated labor cost was/is an unneccessary cost to me as it did not solve the problem. That as the 1st repairman related to me - a sensor and a valve replacement should have been the first course of action.Office personnel states "the control board was needed so as to know the valve was needed." Differs from 1st diagnosis.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the cost of the main control board and the associated labor cost - part $196.35, freight $8.50 and labor charge of $87.50 = total $292.35. I did pay the bill in full on 4/27/2012 even though I disputed the amount.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

I sympathize with the nature of this complaint, many times an intermittent problem such as this it is very difficult to pin point the exact component that is causing the problem.  Unfortunately, the original control board was discarded so reinstalling it is not an option at this point to see if the board was part of the problem.  I would be willing to refund the cost of the control board and the freight for a total of $204.85 but not the labor.  This was a very difficult problem to diagnose due it being very intermittent and my technicians did all that they could to resolve the problem and every hour was used to try to find or correct the problem.   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9011425, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Please make the check payable to the ****** ** * ******* ***** *** **** ** ** **** ******** ***** * **** **** ******* ******* *** ******

Thank you Mike's Heating and Better Business Bureau.

Regards,

 

 **** *******

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1