Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Mike's Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (208) 743-0776 Fax: (208) 746-3815 3504 9th St, Lewiston, ID 83501 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.mikesheatair.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers heating and air conditioning systems, as well as ventilation, plumbing, and electrical services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mike's Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mike's Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 12, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1980 in ID Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 01/01/1980 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Secretary of State - Idaho
Boise ID
http://www.idsos.state.id.us
Phone Number: (208) 334-2300

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jon Brotnov, President Mr. Darrin P. Erdhal, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Brotnov, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Duct Cleaning Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors Plumbers Ventilating Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Mike's Mechanical, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3504 9th St

    Lewiston, ID 83501 (208) 743-0776

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i called on saturday the 27th to get the central unit looked at the lady said she was the ansering servies for mikes i ask her if they could come fix it she say it would be time and a half i told her the landlord could not pay to mush so i toll her to have them come on monday she got my address and sayd someone would be out monday to fix it i said ok two hours layter a van from mikes shows up and starts working on the air unit he ask to come in the house and whent dowstairs he check the air fow in the vents then he went outside tock one screw of the unit and check it he got the hose and spraid the front of the fillter and put freon in one of the lines it tock obout 5 minutes to do that then he came in the house and said it will be getting coller in her soon at 3 in the morning it was still 84 degres in the house so i had to go at 3 in the morning go get a fan at walmart when he was in the house he wanted me to sing the paperwork i told him the landlord is paing for it not me and he ask for her phone number and then left... on monday they called me and said i have to pay 328.00 or they will shot thr air of i told them the unit is not working its still 84 degress in the house they said i told them i owed the house i have to pay the bill or the will not come fix anything and said i was a lier for telling them i owend the house but i nerver said that to them now there saing they will put a lean on the house if i dont pay them..

Desired Settlement: i told them the landlord could not pay to much so i made the apointment on monday and they still came out on sathurday and charge me time and a half and didnt fix anything

Business Response: It is the policy of our company to have authorization from the home owner before we commence on any type of work.  When we talked to the tenant, he said that he was the home owner and that he would pay upon completion of the work performed by our company.  When the work was completed and the technician asked for payment the tenant said that he was not the home owner and that his landlord would be paying the bill for the services provided by our company. Our company then placed a call to the home owner on Monday and the home owner denied giving any authorization to the tenant for the repair of the HVAC system.

This complaint is not legitimate being that it has originating from a person that does not own the home but is rather a tenant where services were provided.  The actual home owner has no complaints with our company or our services.  Payment is still expected to be paid in full.        

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on thursday july 10th, my air conditioning quit working, on the morning of 7/11/14, my son in law determined that the compressor was working, but that the fan in the furnace wasn't turning on to circulate the cooled air. i called mike's heating and air conditioning to schedule an appointment, and was told the technician would be there between 12 pm and 1 pm. at 2 pm he showed up and was shown where the furnace was. he did whatever it was he did, and determined that the air filter was dirty, he changed it and charged me $77. an hour later when i called back to report that the air conditioner still wasn't working i was told "lady, your walls, carpet, and other things in your house are hot and take time to cool off" even though i'd told her that temperature had gone up in that hour. when i called later to again report that it wasn't working, i was told i would be charged double if a service man came out anytime before monday. (the daytime highs were in the upper 90's, low 100's during this period) i am an 83 year old widow, who had to leave my own house to stay with my daughters family during this time because the house was too hot to stay in. i have since called another repair service to come and fix my air conditioning

Desired Settlement: i would like a refund for a job not completed. i live on a fixed income, and can't afford to be paying for services not rendered

Business Response: After review we issued a full credit to the customer and all issues are resolved.   


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mike's Heating & Air Conditioning
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)