BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Intermountain Heating & AC

Phone: (406) 449-4567 Fax: (406) 449-3767 1751 E Lyndale Ave, Helena, MT 59601 http://www.intermountainheating.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Intermountain Heating & AC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Intermountain Heating & AC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Intermountain Heating & AC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 24, 2007 Business started: 07/14/1994 in MT Business started locally: 07/14/1994 Business incorporated: 02/20/2002 in MT
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Department of Labor & Industry
1805 Prospect Ave, Helena MT 59624
Phone Number: 406-444-2840
dliquestions@mt.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Patzer, Owner Mr. Keven Patzer, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Patzer, Owner
Principal: Mrs. Debbie Patzer, Owner
Principal: Mr. Keven Patzer, Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Electric Heating Elements Heating Equipment Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Products & Services

Intermountain Heating & AC offers the following product(s): Geothermal


Additional Locations

  • 1751 E Lyndale Ave

    Helena, MT 59601 (406) 449-4567

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We inquired about a air filter in June 2012 to which Intermountain said was covered under warranty. A technician replaced the filter in August 2012. On January 24th 2013 we received a statement that we had to pay 374.00 because Intermountain needed a number to process the warranty. They said they left 2 voice mails in August which we did not hear.When we contacted them to ask why should we be responsible and why they did not send us a letter or try calling they said they are to busy to do this. Then we ask why would they wait 6 months to contact us, they felt we we rude and hung up the phone and would not take our calls. We believe this company took the responsibility to fill out warranty information and failed to do so correctly.We could of filled it out if we had it. We should not be responsible if the warranty was supposed to be taken care of through Intermnountain. It was out of our hands and they should have in good faith continued to contact us before it expired. Cell phones are not a reliable means of communication by any means. We receive our mail quite consistently and a business you would think would take care of its customers and realize we did not have any reason to not give a number if we had known.Its unfortunate that this company can just hang up on its customers and be insulted if people are upset about paying 374.00 for work we assumed was taken care of.

Desired Settlement: we would like this statement dissolved and an apology from this company since it was very upsetting and ruined the weekend off.

Business Response: This job was completed on 9-26-07 and the Honeywell product has a 5 year parts warranty. We were contacted by ***** ******* via cell phone stating that the cells on his filter were bad. The new cells were ordered. We called *****’s cell phone on 8-20-12 saying the cells were here and stated that he would be in the following week (8-27) to exchange the cells. On 9-11-12 ***** had not been to our shop yet to exchange the cells. We were working on a project in Butte and called ***** to see if we could drop off the cells, a time was set and the cells were exchanged. The warranty was only for parts so we assessed  a ½ hour fee for exchanging the cells.  We attempted to process the warranty and needed more information from *****. Attempting to contact *****, we left two voice mails and we never received a call back. On 9-26-12 the 5 year warranty expired.
 
***** called us on 1-24-13 prior to normal business hours and we returned his call later that morning. Upon calling ***** back he immediately raised his voice and we asked him several times to lower his voice. He said he never received our voice mails and feels that he does not need to pay this bill. After repeated attempts asking him  to talk rationally we did hang up as we felt we did not need to be verbally abused. He then called back  and continued to  verbally abuse us and began name calling. Again we asked him to talk instead of yell. This conversation was getting nowhere and we again hung up. He never made any other attempt to contact us. He did mention that he would be up the next week and return the new parts. He never did. We were contracted by a general contractor on this project in 2007 and we do not have an email to contact *****.
 
We do feel that this bill is just and their for  must be paid as we did try to contact ***** and never received a response. If he decides to return the replacement parts in working order we could refund the price of the parts $327.00. At this point ***** still has the replacement parts.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9395570, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. I response to Intermountain,

I contacted ***** on June 6th 2012( I attached the record) to ask why our filters were making noise. I was told by ***** the filters were under warranty and they would replace them, I did say I could pick them up when I got to Helena.  ***** called and said they had a technician in Butte and he would drop them off to our home. There was never any mention of a 1/2 hour fee nor did I sign any work order. I did call the shop when I received the statement in the mail in January 2013, the partner there was very condescending implying  to bad you have to pay, he in no way was trying to resolve the matter but sounded himself extremely bother by the conversation. He was rude and just hung up several times. I called and the office lady answered being sarcastic and rude telling me not to speak loud to *****, I told her sorry I normally speak loud and said ***** was a baby, so that was the extent of the name calling. (I apologize if  that hurt *****'s feelings) but I  ask to speak to the owner and she hung up. So as you can see they are difficult to deal with. I believe the company did not in good faith notify me about needing a number and since they took the responsibility of filling out the warranty it was out of my hands. I surely could have filled out the papers in a timely manner if I had known. I honestly did not hear any voice mails and it is very ridiculous when I asked why they did not send a request in the mail they stated they are too busy to do this,but yet months later send a bill. I have never dealt with a company that depends on cell phones to do business and not mail as well. I would hope ***** understands our position that he provided us a service and neglected to follow through on his end. Intermountain should be responsible and take care of the expired warranty since they let it expire, it was out of our hands, and they did not make fair effort to contact us in time. We truly felt everything was taken care of and had absolutely no reason not to get them any information they needed. Its very discouraging to be expected to pay for something someone else messed up on, very irresponsible on *****'s part, and frustrating since I just called in the first place to ask a question and ***** elaborated about the warranty.

Business Response: I am very concerned regarding his allegations against our company. We have been in business since 1994 and have never had any complaints filed against us. This complaint is something we take with great concern. I would like to present our facts:

1) Please refer again to *****’s response to you in his 2/5/13 email regarding the timelines of the service we provided for his Honeywell filter. In addition to *****’s response, I would like to state that I personally talked to ***** via his cell phone, setting the appointment for our employee to stop at his home with the filter cells on 9/11/12, therefore ***** did give us permission to make the repair. At the time of the repair completion, we were unaware of any additional information being needed for processing this warranty, it was later that the manufacturer requested more information.

2) Regarding the recent rebuttal from *****, we do take exceptions to some of his comments:

1) The phone listing that ***** provided you only goes to 8/17/12, we are requesting that he provides his complete phone listing through all of the dates mentioned, as you see they stop on 8/17/12. We did request a listing through our phone provider but that takes a court order which we are not able to attain in order to substantiate our calls to him. We can only offer notes from our service ticket, phone messages and employee time sheet.

2) ***** did call our office leaving an after hours message from 1/23/13. As stated, ***** did call ***** on the morning of 1/24/13 to respond to his concerns left on his message. As ***** stated previously, ***** was yelling and not willing to communicate rationally to come to a solution so ***** did finally hang up from that conversation stating that he would be willing to communicate with him if he would stop yelling. Immediately after ***** disconnected the call from *****, ***** called back and I answered the phone. ***** told me he wanted to talk to an owner & I stated that he just was talking to a partner, *****. I also told him that I too was a partner and we could find a solution to this problem. However he would not stop yelling at me either or even speak rationally about resolving the issue. His verbal tones to me continued to became much louder and very angry, in fact ***** could hear him yelling through my phone at his desk across the room. I did repeatedly ask ***** to stop yelling and he proceeded to say “its not my fault that his (*****’s) bladder is to close to his eyeballs” and I said “sir that is very inappropriate” and I do not appreciate that kind of talk so I also hung up on him because the conversation was getting nothing resolved.

3) Without the information we requested from *****, via phone messages to him, we were unable to process the warranty prior to the manufacturers expiration date.

4) In regards to *****’s comment of using cell phones as a poor means of communication, ***** was the person that provided us his cell phone for our means of communications.

5) ***** did offer a resolution to ***** through his email to you and that was to have ***** return the replacement parts in working condition and we will remove the cost for the parts.

We have not communicated with ***** since 1/24/13. In closing, we did correct the problem of *****’s filter with a new replacement filter, therefore providing the service he requested from us. We also left phone messages with ***** to request the additional information from him for us to complete the warranty process, without the requested information from him, the warranty was denied by the manufacturer, thus causing us no option but to bill him for the cost of the parts. We provide a 1 year labor warranty however this labor warranty expired 9/26/08.

6) As you can see there is a definite difference of opion/fact in this situation and it is very unfortunate. Please advise us as to how we must proceed to resolve this issue.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9395570, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In regards to Intermountain response to ours, it is very unfortunate that we as consumers who have been home owners for over thirty years and have done business in the surrounding area did have to resort to turning this company into the BBB. We have never had to do this but feel extremely upset by their business tactics. In response to the other partner ****** comments, I (*****’s wife, *****) was sitting next to ***** in a vehicle listening to the whole conversation on 01/24/13 and both sides were loud, obviously a unsuspecting customer who unbeknown receives a bill FOUR months after the fact and a business owner who apparently got stuck with the bill because of incomplete paperwork they filled out. Let me say that ****** is correct in responding to the fact we provided them with our cell phone number. This is another upsetting fact because we have spoken with this company many times and believe the lines of communication were always open, and being a customer ,they again out of good faith (entrusting Intermountain) and using a business code of ethics would have tried to call several more times or sent a request in the mail informing us to get them the number they needed, not informing us they are too busy to do this. Please remember this company was paid thousands of dollars from us to put in the system and again when ***** was contacted by us, not asking of a warranty but why they were making noise, he told us about the warranty obviously knowing what it entailed. Also since ***** continued as well speak loud and disregard the situation and continue to hang up on 1-24-13 , ****** who did not in any way say she was a partner, answered the phone in a rude, condescending tone ,absolutely not addressing the problem, her concern was not to speak loud and ***** informed her  and apologized he speaks loudly (HOH) and the comment about *****, insinuating he was a baby (and we apologized if it hurt his feelings) was just a humorous comment because he was acting immature, hanging up repeatedly  and having the office lady ,or unknown to us was  a partner answer(******).  ***** was just trying to get somewhere with the conversation asking several times to speak with the owner and having the phone slammed in his ear. Also ****** did not call ***** on 9/11/12 to make arrangements to drop off filters, their employee  Rick, called ***** (at 1107 9/11/12) and told ***** he was in Butte working, had the filters and could drop them off as he was heading back to Helena. ***** who was in town, had to leave to meet Rick at our home as we live out of town. ***** told Intermountain previously he would pick them up which he intended to do, but was contacted by Rick that day. Never were we given, told or received a statement for the 39.00 fee as seen in Intermountains attachment, absolutely absurd. Seriously look at that work order, it contains whatever Intermountain wants to put on it (lots of scratched off info), we never, never, never, seen that and if we did, we would have seen the expiration date that is on the top, which would not have mattered because again Intermountain was taking care of the warranty papers. Really did Rick write this and have it with him? Why was it never sent to us or given to us when Rick was here? Again this business could have given us the bill (in a timely manner) when Rick was here would have been fine, since they do not feel sending important information in the mail is appropriate. It is very upsetting any business who could have avoided a 374.00 charge to their customers just ignored and disregarded the timeline of the warranty. Intermountain took the responsibility, had the warranty papers in hand did not fulfill their end. This whole situation is so disheartening, we feel as consumer we were blindside by this business, they believe they communicated appropriate, and we feel their communication methods were lacking and understand, since we spoke on many, many occasions  without difficulty, they could have and should have called many more times or sent a request per mail, common decently . Very simple requests but apparently as they responded they are too busy to do this. The request to return the units and obviously get ours back is sickening and we surely do not feel comfortable to go to the shop as we feel the partners are condescending and difficult. We had a warranty and feel strongly it was not our fault, again ***** informed us about the warranty, took the ball and dropped it, So BBB please help resolve this complaint.

 Regards,


**** ***** *******




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1