BBB Accredited Business since

Andrews Mechanical, Inc.

Phone: (509) 489-3860 View Additional Phone Numbers 2727 N Madelia St Ste 8, Spokane, WA 99207 http://www.andrewsmechanical.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Andrews Mechanical, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Andrews Mechanical, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Andrews Mechanical, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 27, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1989 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated 01/16/1998 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Andrews, President Ms. Louise Andrews, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Andrews, President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Induction Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Boilers - New & Used Electric Heating Elements Furnaces - Industrial Heating Equipment Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Furnace Sales & Service Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Hydronic Heating Boilers - Sales & Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbers


Additional Locations

  • 2727 N Madelia St Ste 8

    Spokane, WA 99207 (509) 489-3860

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called Anrews Mechanical to indicate that our AC needed Freon. We were told it wold be $93 per hour from the minute the service man left the office to the minute he got back. He got here and spent 45 minutes checking the furnace and then told us we needed freon. That is what we told him to begin with so we have now wasted $70. He then spent about a hour fiddling with his freon to try and get it out of the bottle. He first asked for power so that he could thaw it, and then after this did not work he asked for hot water to put in a bucket to thaw it. Now we are at $163 of wasted time. I cannot believe anyopne would try to pass on the cost of not having functioning equipment for the service call onto the customer!The AC does not work still. Our bill came to $266.64 for a service that rendered us right where we were to begin with. If we call the company back I am scared that we will get the same service, and with no guarantee for the service we could keep spending money and keep being dissatisfied. I will not use a company that does not quarantee their work!

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay the bill minus the wasted time. I figure one hour of work and the cost of the freon plus tax. This comes to $116. Please realize that I am willing to pay even though I do not have a properly functioning AC. I figure that is reasonable since some time was spent at my house. Just not successful time. I have sinced scheduled an appointment with another company that does quarantee their work!

Business Response:

Our Customers are notified of our rates when they call in for our services, when we arrive at their door (before we start work) and when we are done. This is all stated on our Work Orders which are signed by our customers. If we find a major problem that will cost the customer much more than expected, we inform them and get their approval before we continue working.   As Mrs. Dennis stated in her complaint, she was told our rates are $93.00 per hour from shop to shop plus parts and plus tax.   It took 25 minutes to drive to her home from our shop and 20 minutes back to our shop. Our technician was at her residence for 1 hour and 45 minutes.   When our technician arrived, he was told by the customer that their air conditioner just needs some Freon. Our company does not do work based solely on what the customer thinks is wrong with their equipment. We examine the whole system for proper diagnosis. This was explained to the customer.   Our technician first checked the air filter and blower for cleanliness. The ductwork was opened to inspect the indoor coil for cleanliness. If any of those were dirty, the system would not operate correctly and a proper, professional, diagnosis would not be possible. Air conditioning needs proper air flow to properly measure refrigerant and refrigerant temperature. If there’s anything in the system that is dirty, it could mislead the technician into other problems which could cost the customer more money than was necessary. The initial 45 minutes checking the system for cleanliness is not wasted time on a system we have never serviced, but is insurance that up to that point, the entire A/C system was in proper working order. Then an accurate diagnosis of the problem is possible.   As for not having functioning equipment, that is incorrect. Refrigerants react to temperatures to create pressure. We use heat to raise the refrigerant bottle temperature to raise the pressure higher than the system pressure to force refrigerant into the system to get a proper charge. Our bottle was almost at the same pressure, so our technician first used an electric band which helped but was taking longer than he would like so he asked the owner if he could use hot water in a bucket to put the refrigerant bottle in, to speed up the process. This was done to speed up the charge time and save the customer money instead of letting the refrigerant seep in at a slow rate. Our technician checked for leaks and found one at the outside service valve and at the connection at the indoor coil and fixed them both. At that time he couldn’t detect any other leaks.   The customer’s system was working when our technician was done and the customers even mentioned that it was nice and cool in their house. We do guarantee our work but we were never contacted that their system was still not working after our technician left so we can only assume their system is still working properly.   We feel we have billed this customer fairly.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9632625, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I had a different company out today to look at my air conditioner , because as I said in my orginal complaint, I did not have a guarantee for Andrews Electrical and did not want to throw good money after bad trying to resolve this issue since their business to door fee structure would have me invest another $63 before any resolution could happen.  Andrews indicates in their reponse that they do guarantee their work, but I have checked the work order/contract as well as the bill and do not see any such written guarantee. 

Here are the facts as I see them today:

1.  Both the response and the work order indicates that the technician checked the blower for cleanliness.  The blower today ( 3 weeks later) was covered in dust and dead bugs.  I find it very suspect that it was checked. 

2.  The work order indicates that the liquid connection to the furnace was tightened.  This would have been impossible.  We have a 4 shelve green house with lights set up blocking access to this connection.  This entire shevling unit would have had to be removed from the furnace room in order for this fitting to be tightened.  There was no requst made to move the unit, so how was this connection tightened?

3.  Today there is no refrigerant in the system.  Since the technician checked for leaks, it does not appear he did a very through job.  Did he check for leaks properly?

4.  On the work order he indicates that he checked the low pressure saftey valve.  As I understand this, if the unit is out of refrigerant, the system will turn off if this valve is working properly.  Today, there was no (zero) refrigerant, the lines did not have condensation on them and cold air was blowing from the top of the unit that should have been hot air.   I am now concerned that we have ruined our air conditioner by running it for the last three weeks when the safety that was supposedly checked should have turned it off.

It appears that the only cooling that has been happening in our house is the pulling of the cool air from the basement.  That might have been what we were experiencing that day for all I know or it could have been cooling from the refrigerant that was fast leaking out.  I originally was willing to pay over half the bill because I felt that a good faith effort had been made to provide service to me.  Now based on statements made by Andrews Electric that differ from validation today, I am disputing the entire bill.  I prefer to invest my money into fixing my air conditioner.

Business Response:

Response to #1: Our technician did not clean the blower area; he checked for cleanliness and found the blower area was clean enough for proper air flow to happen. Our technician did a minimal check to make sure the blower had the proper air flow. If our technician would have taken the time to clean the blower area, it would have cost the customer even more than what was charged.   Response to #2:  Our technician did not need to move the shelving unit to tighten the liquid connection. It wasn’t easy, but he was able to wiggle in enough with a couple of wrenches to tighten the nut.   Response to #3:  The two leaks that were found were fixed and no other leaks were found at that time. The only way to check further would be to remove all of the refrigerant and pressure check the system. This could mean tearing the whole system down and checking piece by piece before we could fix any other possible leaks that may not exist. We don’t do this on the first trip to a customer’s home because of the time and cost it would take to do this. Most of the time, when we find one or two leaks that is the problem, it doesn’t warrant pulling the whole system down and pressure check for more leaks that may not even be there. When a pressure check is needed, the system first needs to be pressure tested, then repairs done to fix the leak, then re-pressurized the system until it holds pressure, then has to be pulled down to deep vacuum to remove all of the contaminates and then re-charged. Normally, simple leaks do not require this much work and we do not like to charge our customers any more than we have to when it’s not needed.   Response to #4:  It’s possible the safety pressure switch did break after we were there, but it worked when we were there because the system wouldn’t work when it was low on refrigerant.   We have attached our #2 checklist, which the customer has the yellow copy. If you look at where it says “SA DB TEMP / ? T”. It was at 17° ? T (delta tee) across the indoor coil, so it was cooling. And if you look at “LIQ LINE PRES”, it had a pressure of 325psi and (just above on the checklist) 145psi on the suction side out the compressor and 13° sub-cooling and the compressor was working. If the unit was pulling the cool air from the basement, it wouldn’t have had a reading of 17° ? T (delta tee) across the indoor coil.   From what I can tell, they most likely have another leak in their system that needs to be addressed which would take more time and more labor which they would be charged. It is possible to take all day on some leaks to find and fix them, sometimes even longer depending on where the leak is.   In Summary: 1)     We found their system to have proper air flow which is the first thing required in charging a unit. 2)     We found two leaks and fixed them. 3)     We don’t own the equipment, the customers do and it is their problem that we are trying to fix. 4)     We didn’t install the equipment. 5)     We did the reasonable job when finding the two leaks and fixing them. We did not find any other leaks and the system appeared to be OK. 6)     I can’t help that the owner didn’t call us back when there was another problem. 7)     We do warranty our work but, in this case, the only thing we installed was 2lbs of R410 Refrigerant. 8)     If there is another leak, we would charge the owner to find such leak and fix it. 9)     If the owner would have called us to let us know they were having additional problems, we would not have charged for the additional travel time to and from the job to find other leaks and we would have credited them for the 2lbs of refrigerant we put in. 10)  We do good, cost effective work. 11)  Wouldn’t you think that the owner would at least call or email us to let us know they were still having problems and to find out what we warranty?


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Andrews Mechanical, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)