BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Andrews Mechanical, Inc.

Phone: (509) 489-3860 View Additional Phone Numbers 2727 N Madelia St Ste 8, Spokane, WA 99207 http://www.andrewsmechanical.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Andrews Mechanical, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Andrews Mechanical, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Andrews Mechanical, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 27, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1989 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1989 Business incorporated: 01/16/1998 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Andrews, President/ Owner Ms. Louise Andrews, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Andrews, President/ Owner
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Induction Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts Boilers - New & Used Electric Heating Elements Furnaces - Industrial Heating Equipment Refrigeration Equipment - Commercial - Sales & Service Furnace Sales & Service Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Hydronic Heating Boilers - Sales & Service Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Plumbers


Additional Locations

  • 2727 N Madelia St Ste 8

    Spokane, WA 99207

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 435-7830(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called Anrews Mechanical to indicate that our AC needed Freon. We were told it wold be $93 per hour from the minute the service man left the office to the minute he got back. He got here and spent 45 minutes checking the furnace and then told us we needed freon. That is what we told him to begin with so we have now wasted $70. He then spent about a hour fiddling with his freon to try and get it out of the bottle. He first asked for power so that he could thaw it, and then after this did not work he asked for hot water to put in a bucket to thaw it. Now we are at $163 of wasted time. I cannot believe anyopne would try to pass on the cost of not having functioning equipment for the service call onto the customer!The AC does not work still. Our bill came to $266.64 for a service that rendered us right where we were to begin with. If we call the company back I am scared that we will get the same service, and with no guarantee for the service we could keep spending money and keep being dissatisfied. I will not use a company that does not quarantee their work!

Desired Settlement: I am willing to pay the bill minus the wasted time. I figure one hour of work and the cost of the freon plus tax. This comes to $116. Please realize that I am willing to pay even though I do not have a properly functioning AC. I figure that is reasonable since some time was spent at my house. Just not successful time. I have sinced scheduled an appointment with another company that does quarantee their work!

Business Response:

Our Customers are notified of our rates when they call in for our services, when we arrive at their door (before we start work) and when we are done. This is all stated on our Work Orders which are signed by our customers. If we find a major problem that will cost the customer much more than expected, we inform them and get their approval before we continue working.   As Mrs. Dennis stated in her complaint, she was told our rates are $93.00 per hour from shop to shop plus parts and plus tax.   It took 25 minutes to drive to her home from our shop and 20 minutes back to our shop. Our technician was at her residence for 1 hour and 45 minutes.   When our technician arrived, he was told by the customer that their air conditioner just needs some Freon. Our company does not do work based solely on what the customer thinks is wrong with their equipment. We examine the whole system for proper diagnosis. This was explained to the customer.   Our technician first checked the air filter and blower for cleanliness. The ductwork was opened to inspect the indoor coil for cleanliness. If any of those were dirty, the system would not operate correctly and a proper, professional, diagnosis would not be possible. Air conditioning needs proper air flow to properly measure refrigerant and refrigerant temperature. If there’s anything in the system that is dirty, it could mislead the technician into other problems which could cost the customer more money than was necessary. The initial 45 minutes checking the system for cleanliness is not wasted time on a system we have never serviced, but is insurance that up to that point, the entire A/C system was in proper working order. Then an accurate diagnosis of the problem is possible.   As for not having functioning equipment, that is incorrect. Refrigerants react to temperatures to create pressure. We use heat to raise the refrigerant bottle temperature to raise the pressure higher than the system pressure to force refrigerant into the system to get a proper charge. Our bottle was almost at the same pressure, so our technician first used an electric band which helped but was taking longer than he would like so he asked the owner if he could use hot water in a bucket to put the refrigerant bottle in, to speed up the process. This was done to speed up the charge time and save the customer money instead of letting the refrigerant seep in at a slow rate. Our technician checked for leaks and found one at the outside service valve and at the connection at the indoor coil and fixed them both. At that time he couldn’t detect any other leaks.   The customer’s system was working when our technician was done and the customers even mentioned that it was nice and cool in their house. We do guarantee our work but we were never contacted that their system was still not working after our technician left so we can only assume their system is still working properly.   We feel we have billed this customer fairly.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9632625, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I had a different company out today to look at my air conditioner , because as I said in my orginal complaint, I did not have a guarantee for Andrews Electrical and did not want to throw good money after bad trying to resolve this issue since their business to door fee structure would have me invest another $63 before any resolution could happen.  Andrews indicates in their reponse that they do guarantee their work, but I have checked the work order/contract as well as the bill and do not see any such written guarantee. 

Here are the facts as I see them today:

1.  Both the response and the work order indicates that the technician checked the blower for cleanliness.  The blower today ( 3 weeks later) was covered in dust and dead bugs.  I find it very suspect that it was checked. 

2.  The work order indicates that the liquid connection to the furnace was tightened.  This would have been impossible.  We have a 4 shelve green house with lights set up blocking access to this connection.  This entire shevling unit would have had to be removed from the furnace room in order for this fitting to be tightened.  There was no requst made to move the unit, so how was this connection tightened?

3.  Today there is no refrigerant in the system.  Since the technician checked for leaks, it does not appear he did a very through job.  Did he check for leaks properly?

4.  On the work order he indicates that he checked the low pressure saftey valve.  As I understand this, if the unit is out of refrigerant, the system will turn off if this valve is working properly.  Today, there was no (zero) refrigerant, the lines did not have condensation on them and cold air was blowing from the top of the unit that should have been hot air.   I am now concerned that we have ruined our air conditioner by running it for the last three weeks when the safety that was supposedly checked should have turned it off.

It appears that the only cooling that has been happening in our house is the pulling of the cool air from the basement.  That might have been what we were experiencing that day for all I know or it could have been cooling from the refrigerant that was fast leaking out.  I originally was willing to pay over half the bill because I felt that a good faith effort had been made to provide service to me.  Now based on statements made by Andrews Electric that differ from validation today, I am disputing the entire bill.  I prefer to invest my money into fixing my air conditioner.

Business Response:

Response to #1: Our technician did not clean the blower area; he checked for cleanliness and found the blower area was clean enough for proper air flow to happen. Our technician did a minimal check to make sure the blower had the proper air flow. If our technician would have taken the time to clean the blower area, it would have cost the customer even more than what was charged.   Response to #2:  Our technician did not need to move the shelving unit to tighten the liquid connection. It wasn’t easy, but he was able to wiggle in enough with a couple of wrenches to tighten the nut.   Response to #3:  The two leaks that were found were fixed and no other leaks were found at that time. The only way to check further would be to remove all of the refrigerant and pressure check the system. This could mean tearing the whole system down and checking piece by piece before we could fix any other possible leaks that may not exist. We don’t do this on the first trip to a customer’s home because of the time and cost it would take to do this. Most of the time, when we find one or two leaks that is the problem, it doesn’t warrant pulling the whole system down and pressure check for more leaks that may not even be there. When a pressure check is needed, the system first needs to be pressure tested, then repairs done to fix the leak, then re-pressurized the system until it holds pressure, then has to be pulled down to deep vacuum to remove all of the contaminates and then re-charged. Normally, simple leaks do not require this much work and we do not like to charge our customers any more than we have to when it’s not needed.   Response to #4:  It’s possible the safety pressure switch did break after we were there, but it worked when we were there because the system wouldn’t work when it was low on refrigerant.   We have attached our #2 checklist, which the customer has the yellow copy. If you look at where it says “SA DB TEMP / ? T”. It was at 17° ? T (delta tee) across the indoor coil, so it was cooling. And if you look at “LIQ LINE PRES”, it had a pressure of 325psi and (just above on the checklist) 145psi on the suction side out the compressor and 13° sub-cooling and the compressor was working. If the unit was pulling the cool air from the basement, it wouldn’t have had a reading of 17° ? T (delta tee) across the indoor coil.   From what I can tell, they most likely have another leak in their system that needs to be addressed which would take more time and more labor which they would be charged. It is possible to take all day on some leaks to find and fix them, sometimes even longer depending on where the leak is.   In Summary: 1)     We found their system to have proper air flow which is the first thing required in charging a unit. 2)     We found two leaks and fixed them. 3)     We don’t own the equipment, the customers do and it is their problem that we are trying to fix. 4)     We didn’t install the equipment. 5)     We did the reasonable job when finding the two leaks and fixing them. We did not find any other leaks and the system appeared to be OK. 6)     I can’t help that the owner didn’t call us back when there was another problem. 7)     We do warranty our work but, in this case, the only thing we installed was 2lbs of R410 Refrigerant. 8)     If there is another leak, we would charge the owner to find such leak and fix it. 9)     If the owner would have called us to let us know they were having additional problems, we would not have charged for the additional travel time to and from the job to find other leaks and we would have credited them for the 2lbs of refrigerant we put in. 10)  We do good, cost effective work. 11)  Wouldn’t you think that the owner would at least call or email us to let us know they were still having problems and to find out what we warranty?

2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had moved in to our house and then on 06/09/2004 contracted Andrews Mechanical to install an 80% efficient furnace and central air conditioner unit in our home. On approximately January 22, 2013, our furnace started to have problems turning on. I had done everything I knew how to do as far as simple maintenance. We called Andrews Mechanical to come out to see if they could fix it. I took half a day off work to let the repair man in only to find out that by the time he got here the furnace was functioning so **** (the repair man) asked me if I still wanted him to take a look so knowing that they charge $93 per hour I reluctantly agreed. **** took a look and told me a few things I didnt know about what kind of furnace filter I should be using and also that the furnace had a small viewing window that you could see three little lights and that while viewing these lights if there was something wrong with the furnace the lights would blink in a certain pattern and thereby you could look in the back of the owners manual to find out what the code was to know what was wrong with the furnace. I thanked him and sent him on his way after .75 hours of work thinking our furnace was going to function after he had made some minor adjustments. Well later that night on January 23, we got a phone call from my wifes mother saying that my wifes father had died so the very next morning my wife had to go to Lewiston, ID to help her mother with the arrangements. So again, after I got off work on the 24th of January, the furnace did not want to start so we called Andrews Mechanical again being the people who sold and installed our furnace I believed they would be the best people to accurately diagnose our problem. I was told that **** was sick and that he couldnt come out and that **** would be our serviceman this time. Again I took another half day off on the January 25th to let **** in to repair the furnace and again by the time **** got there the furnace was working so I asked **** to give the furnace a thorough going over and after him taking a look his diagnosis is that the control board is the problem. How he came to this conclusion I have very little idea because he did not check the board or any other component with any sort of diagnostic tool, but since the furnace at that time was working I told him I would talk with my wife over the weekend and we would get back to him.I was scheduled to go to Lewiston on Sunday, January 27 to be with my wife and her family. On Saturday (January 26, the furnace was working so I went to Lewiston on Sunday morning. Well by the time we returned late Monday evening (January 28), the furnace would not start at all. So as soon as Andrews opened Tuesday, January 29, I called and they said they had to order a control board from back east and that if we wanted to we could have the part one-day air shipped if we paid for it, well not wanting to be in the cold for four or five days, we said yes. The cost of the shipping would be about $25 or so.This whole time the furnace keeps trying to turn on with no success, but just after the phone call to Andrews about the ordering the control board I went down to look at the furnace and through the little window I see the three lights one of them is blinking twice so I look up in the booklet to see the code says its low pressure. I called **** right back wanting to give him all the information I could so he could make the proper assessment of the situation and he assures me that it is a control board at a cost of $200.00. So the next day, Wednesday, January 30, we get a call and my wife has to leave work early to let **** in so he can install the control board. My wife was told she had to sign a waiver for **** to install the part that once the part was in no matter what we had to pay for it. Well when I get home from work about 3:30 pm, **** had the control board installed and the furnace was doing the same thing as it did with the old control board. **** spent four hours at our home that day and when he left at a little after 6:00 pm, the furnace was still not working. **** called the next day (Thursday, January 31), and again my wife had to leave her work to let **** in and after two more hours and now a PRESSURE SWITCH replaced for $63, the furnace seemed to be running as it should.**** talked to my wife and it seemed he felt bad that the control board did not solve the problem and that it was the pressure switch and that he hoped their company could work out something.My wife asked them to call us before sending the bill since we didnt want to get blindsided by the bill. They did say that they did not charge us for the driving time, but other than that, no other discount was given. We were charged for the control board that we did not need and for the pressure switch assembly which we did need. The pressure switch assembly only took about 2 hours to put in and that is what we felt they should have done in the first place so the bill should have only been about $300 total. The first bill is for $75.82; the second bill is for $50.55; and the third bill is for $851.08 which totals almost $1,000. It was extra stressful with it being winter, cold outside, and my wifes father passing away. Andrews Mechanical diagnostic capabilities seem to be extremely flawed for the prices they charge and I believe we were overcharged in labor by about $500. And both my wife and myself lost time at work as we had to leave work early several times and meet the repairman. Please look into our situation and see if you can help get our bill reduced to a more reasonable cost. We dont want this to happen to someone else. We feel that since the furnace light indicated the pressure switch was bad, that is where they should have started and replaced that. Then if that didnt work, they could have done further trouble shooting.

Desired Settlement: I believe that since this bill is mostly labor that should not have occurred this total bill of $977.45 should be around $500.00

Business Response:
To: *** ****** **** ** ********* ******** *** ***** And the BBB

On 1-23-13, we received a phone call from Mr. ****** telling us his furnace is not working. We informed the ******* of our rate of $93.00 per hour shop to shop and we went out to the ****** house he was also informed at the door what our rates were before work was stated by our technician, ****. When **** arrived, the furnace worked every time it called for heat and no error codes where found on the board. **** found that the filter was dirty and Mr. ****** was using pleated filters. **** informed Mr. ****** that he should not use the pleated filter due to the large pressure drop across the pleated filter but Mr. ****** still wants to use them any wav. This causes the blower to work under pressure that it was not design for, possibly over heating the heat exchanger, shortening the life of the blower motor and could take the AC unit over time.

When **** was there the furnace worked every time it called for heat and Mr. ******* didn’t want **** to spend any time and money to do further checks. Before **** left he told Mr. ******* about the indicator lights on circuit board and what to look for. On 1-25-13 we received a phone call from Mr. ****** saying that the furnace was not working and ****, our senior technician, was sent to see what was wrong, again the furnace would not fail to heat the house. He then pulled the circuit board out and looked at the back of the board and found 1 discolored spot on the back of the board, no codes were found on the board at the time from the indicator lights when **** was there. At this time **** recommended replacement of the circuit board, the owner declined for the replacement. **** had found out from the manufacturer that the board had been updated at some point since 2004. Many times, when the Ruud Company finds a better way to do something, they will update the older parts to the new way of doing things. I think this is a good way to do business. On 1-29-13, the owner called us and said that the furnace is down again and tells **** to go ahead and order the circuit board next day air. He was told again that this being a special order part, it’s his part. Mr. ****** said to order it. Approximately 2 hours later, Mr. ****** called back and said that this time there is code and that code says the pressure switch not working for some reason. **** offered to go out there but owner declined and wants **** to tell him what he thinks the problem is over the phone because he does not want to be charged our $93.00 per hour shop to shop rate. Remember, **** is not at the job site only has the knowledge of what he had seen from the last visit there and what the owner told him. **** referred to his notes on his past work order and recommended to order the board and advised Mr. ****** that the board would cost about $200.00 and once the board is installed, it cannot be returned. Board problems can give other codes at times. Mr. ****** agreed for Andrews Mechanical to order the board. On 1-30-13 the board came in and **** went out to install the new board, but before he installed the board he had the owner sign our Electrical Part Install Agreement, which I have enclosed, to make clear what our company policy is on electrical parts, before **** installed the new board he tried to turn the furnace on and the inducer motor came on but would not light and no codes where showing at the board at the time. **** then told Mrs. ****** and that we should put in the new board, which she agreed to. After the new board was installed the furnace would light but the flame went out and would not stay on. Each time it was started the flame would come on but then go off. Now with the new board the furnace would at least light where before it would not even light. **** then jumped out the pressure switch and the furnace would light but it still would not stay on. If the pressure switch was the only problem when he jumped it out it should have staved on and worked but it didn’t. He then spent some time checking the wiring and grounding to the unit out, but it was getting late and he didn’t have the right pressure switch with him to replace it. He work 41/4 hours that evening and didn’t get back to our shop until 6:30pm. Note that after 4:00 PM we charge our over time rate of $139.50 per hour shop to shop, however, we did not charge the over time rate for this call. **** returned the next day to install the pressure switch and it works ok now.

Mr. ****** feels we over charged him for too much labor and a circuit board. I feel we went above and beyond and gave a lot more then we should have. Note he was only charged travel time one time to his house and back. We made four trips to his house and we did not charge the over time rate as we should have. The first two times we were there, the furnace would not fail. It is hard to fix something that is not broken when you are there and there were no codes. Then when the furnace wouldn’t relight Mr. ****** wants us tell him what is wrong over the phone and doesn’t want us come out and look over the furnace and do further checks. I can understand Mr. ******’s frustration and having to take time off from work so we can be there to solve his problem in his furnace, but he must remember Andrews Mechanical, Inc doesn’t own the furnace. We sold it to him in 2004, that was over ten years ago we serviced the furnace last in 2007 that was six years ago. Avista, The National Fuel Gas Code and Ruud Company (the furnace Manufacturer) recommends servicing the furnace every year. We get frustrated the same as the owner when we are unable to solve their problems right away, but sometimes it happens that way and intermittent problems are one of those types of problems. After reviewing the problems I feel that there were probably three things wrong with furnace, a bad circuit board with intermittent problems, a bad pressure switch that works some times and some times it doesn’t and some wiring problems. After all, these parts have been working over ten years they are going to wear out and not be as reliable as new parts. After everything that was done the furnace now works, but Mr. ****** feels that it was only the pressure switch. We did our best and discounted our price because he was a past customer. The bill we gave Mr. ****** is as low as we are willing to go. Mr. ****** must remember that the furnace is ten years old and all electrical and mechanical parts have a limited life. As time goes by more parts are going to need to be replaced and when servicing and recommendations by the manufacturer are not being done, most likely those repairs will be more frequent and costly.

***** *******