BBB Accredited Business since

Community Health Association of Spokane

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 444-8888 View Additional Phone Numbers 203 N Washington St Ste 300, Spokane, WA 99201 http://www.CHAS.org



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers primary health care for medical and dental, and pharmacy services.
Community Health Association of Spokane is a non-profit organization providing medical, dental, behavioral health and pharmacy services to all patients, regardless of insurance status. CHAS offers high-quality, convenient and affordable healthcare throughout the Inland Northwest.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Community Health Association of Spokane meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Community Health Association of Spokane include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Community Health Association of Spokane
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 22, 2002 Business started: 02/23/2000 in WA Business started locally: 02/23/2000 Business incorporated 09/09/1994 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington State Department of Health
101 Israel Rd St, Olympia WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-525-0127

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Nonprofit

Business Management
Mr. Aaron Wilson, Chief Operating Officer Ms. Kelley Halverson, Interim VP of Workforce Development Ms. Peg Hopkins, Chief Executive Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aaron Wilson, Chief Operating Officer
Business Category

Health & Medical - General Pharmacies Clinics Dentists

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
CHAS CHAS Health

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Community Health Association of Spokane has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1001 W 2nd Ave

    Spokane, WA 99201

  • 12824 W 12th Ave Bldg C

    Airway Hgts, WA 99001

  • 203 N Washington St Ste 300

    Spokane, WA 99201 (866) 840-2427 (509) 444-8888

  • 338 6th St Ste 101

    Lewiston, ID 83501 (208) 848-8300 (866) 729-8258

  • 3919 N Maple St

    Spokane, WA 99205

  • 401 S Main St

    Deer Park, WA 99006

  • 5901 N Lidgerwood St Ste 126

    Spokane, WA 99208 (509) 434-1990

  • 5921 N Market St

    Spokane, WA 99208

  • 719 S Main St

    Moscow, ID 83843

  • 817 S Perry St Unit B

    Spokane, WA 99202

  • 844 6th St

    Clarkston, WA 99403 (208) 848-8308

  • 924 S Pines Rd

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have Community Health First Medicare Advantage Plan. I had an $875 limit in dental benefits for the year. From the beginning they were explicitly informed that I needed to remain at or below my limit. CHAS has familiarity with me and my insurance. On nearly every visit I inquired how much would be billed to my insurance. Every visit they stated a dollar amount. On several visits, the dollar amount they stated would be billed was less than the billed amount. When I was getting closer to my $875 limit, I inquired with the insurance specialist there how much of my $875 was yet to be used. The reply was $221. At that point they had already billed the insurance at least $875. I didn't learn of this misinformation until weeks after the matter. I thought I was doing my part in keeping track of my insurance benefits by checking with them how much they had billed. I naively assumed I could trust that they weren't billing more than they stated. I have attempted on 3 occasions to resolve this issue with the provider and on 2 occasions with the insurance, all to no avail. Unfortunately, I have no proof that they told me one # and billed another, as I was unaware that I could not trust them and didn't think to insist on having it all in writing prior to services. This same report will be going to the state insurance commissioner. Thanks for your time.

Desired Settlement: I respectfully request that this complaint be noted and that CHAS be investigated and/or monitored if possible. If multiple such complaints exist, I hope that CHAS is forced to change through court order. I would like to think that somehow this helps people in the future with any similar issues. I have no expectations of my remaining balance being eliminated, but have also informed CHAS they can have no expectation of payment.

Business Response:

********* ****, Resolution Moderator

Re: Complaint ID *******

Prior to beginning a course of services at any CHAS dental clinic, a treatment plan is created, reviewed with the patient and then signed and dated by the patient. These treatment plans include a recommended course of treatment and a cost estimate for each service (ex. 1st visit - scaling - x dollars; 2nd visit - extraction - x dollars, etc.). On the treatment plan for this particular patient, the dental benefit limit, the amount of benefits used at the time the treatment plan was created and the remaining annual benefit amount are clearly noted on the treatment plan. This treatment plan also included a handwritten line indicating the point at which the patient would run out of annual dental benefits and a note stating, "wait till next year." However, the patient continued to schedule appointments, we continued to provide services and the patient ended up exceeding the annual benefit limit. Supporting documentation is available if necessary.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.
An email was sent with my reply prior to reaching this page. The matter remains unresolved because they are neither admitting they lied repeatedly, making adjustments with my insurance nor crediting my account with them the appropriate amount. Unless those actions are completed, they have lost a patient for life, a patient that has been going to CHAS clinics since 1999 and would have continued to go there for years to come.

Regards,

******* *******




Business Response:

This patient was notified on multiple occasions that specific vists would not be covered due to benefit limits in his insurance plan. The patient opted to receive treatment despite our recommendations that he wait until the new year for renewal of his annual dental benefit to complete his treatment plan. This recommendation is on the treatment plan issued on August 9, 2013, prior to the patient exceeding his benefit limit. Previous attempts to explain this to the patient in person have been unsuccessful.

2/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I went to Chas for dental work, I told them I was not working and would not be able to pay for anything that was not covered by the insurance. On 11/14/2013 I received a bill that says I now owe $162.00 for ************. I told them I could not pay. Why was that work done?

Desired Settlement: Is there any way to help with my payments to get the dentures finished?

Business Response: We have contacted this patient directly and resolved the matter.

10/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 7 2013 I called **** ****** ****** and was quoted $80.00 for a ***** **********. Went to the office paid $88.00 had the**********. On 9-11-2013 received a statement for an additionalbill in the amount of $31.00. I have called their billing office and was told that the dentist had used more of something than wasusual and that I would have to pay the additional $33.00.

Desired Settlement: Dismissal of the charge.

Business Response: A **** representative will contact the consumer to resolve the matter.

9/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When i went into the clinic in Deer Park Washington I i was supposed to get my tooth extracted that day i got the day off from work even to get this done when i went in they decided that they needed to reschedule me for 2 weeks out. when i had originally come in on an emergency appointment. then i went and had my tooth extracted elsewhere and when i called them to just refund the money i had payed and cancel the appointment they said yeah no problem and got my information canceled my appointment it all seemed to go well until when i waited the 8 weeks they said to issue a refund and still received nothing so i called in and got transferred around to 3 people in the billing department and finally a man said to me that i apparently owed 150 or so to them for work i had done in 2010 and that my amount was just credited to that amount which i never said could be done nor was aware that the balance they stated even existed from before it seemed really awkward why i wouldn't receive any paper work about this amount i owed or hear about it when i came in to get work done the three times after that so all in all they just said they would sent me a statement which would show that i magically now owe money and they had said they sent out 18 notices to me which i havent received and ive always had my address updated. all in all this company is just trying to keep my money and not refund for a service that was never done.

Desired Settlement: i want the money i was supposed to have refunded to me 8 weeks ago refunded i'm tired of their games i'm tired of their bull. and i want the money ASAP with no excuses and no mysterious Debts

Business Response:

Pursuant to the Healthcare Information Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) we are unable to disclose any information pertaining to patient care, including the existence of a patient/provider relationship, without a signed release from the patient. Once we’ve received a signed copy of the attached release form we can fully respond to this complaint. Thank you.