BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest Fence Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest Fence Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Northwest Fence Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 08/16/1982 in WA Business started locally: 08/16/1982 Business incorporated: 08/16/1982 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Department of Labor and Industries WA State
901 N Monroe St Ste 100, Spokane WA 99201
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (509) 324-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Roy Masterson, Owner/President Mr. Dave Anderson, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dave Anderson, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Roy Masterson, Owner/President
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence Posts & Fittings Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 14909 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99216 (509) 928-8084

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We selected Northwest Fence Company to install a wooden fence at our new home in Spokane Valley on June 8, 2013. The posts were installed week of 4th of July and fence boards installed on July 8th (after I complained about the date originally being July 18th). After 55 days, we have gone through 4 rounds of redo work. Each time the Supervisor met us on site, noted the issues and sent out a crew to address the issues. Each time all issues were not resolved and more issues surfaced. During this time, I have sent emails to the General Manager, with a CC to Supervisor and Salesperson with photos showing the problem areas. During the last round of redo work on August 28th, the Supervisor and General Manager came onsite as we still needed a board replaced and had discovered 2 days earlier the back side of the fence had multiple rotten boards. The General Manager told the Supervisor, Why would you let these boards be installed? during a conversation between the two them. As for the conversation with us, General Manager stated he felt there have not been any workmanship or quality issues. We provided more information about how their service does not meet their mission statement of quality customer service and product in a timely manner. There are a number of customer service issues that I can provide through the string of emails since there is not enough space to do so here. The main themes are Supervisor not returning calls, states work will be done on a Monday and they do not come until that Wednesday, states issues are due to the crews learning curve, only one courtesy call placed during this whole time, and no acknowledgment of how after 55 days and four rounds of redo work is a customer service issue. Lastly, after a walk-through of the fence from the 4th round of redo work, the outcome is still three rotten boards that are main supporting boards to the fence.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a reduction in our final bill of $1,000 due to the Northwest Fence Company not meeting full quality standards after 55 days and 4 rounds of redo work including not fullfilling quality customer service and product in a timely manner.

Business Response: **** **** and ***** *******; Scheduled Project with ****: Phase 1 scheduled the post set for 6/26 Phase 2 Finish fence and hang gates scheduled for 7/8/13. 

  • Phase 1 Set Posts on 6/25/13 One day early. 
  • Phase 2 Finished project on 7/1 and 7/2/13 One week early.
7/22/13 ***** initiated meeting with ***** (Installation Manager) for site review . ***** identified: Some material needed replaced, reveal at the gates uneven and needed adjusted, drop rod on gate was too short. Customer requested we change the location of latch on wood walk gate which was installed to industry standard and to change the direction of swing on the double gate gate from swing in, as clearly shown on the contract, to swing out. No additional charges were applied for the "new" work. Crew was scheduled for 8/1/13 to make necessary repairs and requested changes.
8/1/13 Began repairs and requested changes which were completed 8/2/13
8/6/13 ***** contacted **** (General Manager) with complaints of 2 week turnaround to finish job, latch on the wrong side of double gate that was just redone (installation again was to industry standard), no boards left on site as agreed upon. She then demanded we contact **** **** and address the gate latch and deliver spare boards..
8/6/13 ***** left **** a voice mail, received no call back
8/7/13 **** left ***** a voice mail, received no call back
8/8/13 ***** made contact with ****. **** was unaware ***** had contacted Northwest Fence and was not concerned about the latch and said he would change it himself. ***** told **** we would take care of it.
8/14/13 Changed latch location
8/16/13 ***** followed up with ***** to verify work completed to her satisfaction. ***** was upset because our crew used one of the boards we had left on site. ***** said he would deliver another.
8/19/13 ***** left ***** a message, he was unable to return during business hours. At 10:50 pm ***** sent **** an e mail lodging complaints and asking for $1,225 discount
8/21/13 **** responded to ***** and arranged for Fence Crew, Installation Manager, General Manager and customer to meet and correct any questionable or unresolved items 8/27/13 at 7am
8/27/13 *****'s main complaint was we had over sized the hole for the pull cable release. Increasing it from 3/16" to 1/2" and it did not match the other gates. **** identified no other workmanship issues. ***** and **** then walked the entire job inspecting the material with ***** following and marking the boards indicated. ***** nor **** would be available to inspect the job after the board replacement, **** assured her that ***** or **** would inspect the job before the crew would leave their site. ***** helped the crew complete the board replacement and approved the work as satisfactory and complete.
8/27/13 ***** again sent an after hours email lodging new complaints and demanding a discount

We deeply regret this project has concluded in a negative fashion. We have gone to great lengths and expense to try and satisfy this customer. Repairing and replacing material, even to the point of making changes to work satisfactorily completed. We have fulfilled our contractual obligation and will require payment in full for work completed.



Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The main complaint still remains rotting boards on our fence which was not resolved on 8/27/13. The response from Northwest Fence Company states “Dave assured me that he or ***** would do a final walk through”. Dave actually assured me he would do the final walk through with ***** as at that point we were no longer trusting in *****’s ability to complete redo work. Also in the response, it sates we would not be available for a final walk through that day as I let Dave know I had to go to work and Rick had doctor appointments. I offered to do the walk through the next day but he said they would just do it that day. The result is still rotting boards on our fence. I have taken video and noted the rotting and other issue boards as part of this complaint on the video. Due its overall size, the video is in 3 segments which are attached as part of this response. If there are technical difficulties reviewing the video, please let me know. It was taken on my iphone and can be delivered in a different format if needed. There are 9 complaint boards total, which 6 are due to rotting boards
 
Inaccurate information has been provided by Northwest Fence Company in their response. We have returned all phone calls and nothing is noted where ***** did not return our calls. In all, the multiple dates show the number of times we had to contact the company regarding the multiple quality issues. While the “***** demanded” language is actually insulting to me as a customer, it shows the lack of customer service regarding quality, product and workmanship issues and the amount of times we had to contact the company to resolve those issues. We still, at this point, have never received a signed copy of the contract. ***** requested the signed copy before the last redo work day of 8/27/13 via email to Dave.
At this point, the main complaint remains, rotting boards on our fence. We are still requesting $1,000 discount on our final bill due to the lack of quality boards and customer service in a timely manner.

Regards,
***** *******





Business Response:

8/27/13 ***** and **** walked the fence line and marked material for replacement together. All material marked was immediately replaced. 

  • ***** emailed pictures of additional boards with slight blemishes and or wane. Neither of which represent rot or impact the integrity of the fence. She indicated no dissatisfaction with any of these materials during our walk through earlier in the day or they would have been replaced as well.

Northwest Fence has provided a quality finished product and fulfilled its contractual obligation. To resolve this matter, Northwest Fence will provide 9 replacement boards, material only that are available for immediate pickup by the customer. 

Northwest Fence employs a payment on completion agreement. As of 8/27/13 this job is completed. As of 9/27/13, every effort to collect payment in full will be made.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The latest response from Northwest Fence Company regarding this complaint is inaccurate. On 8/27/13, *****, ****, **** and ***** did a walk-through of the fence where **** began to see all of the rotting boards. After the walk through, **** states to us he does not see any quality or workmanship issues even after noting rotting boards and telling ***** to have his crew begin replacing boards.  All four of us then talked further about the situation and our frustration with the lack of customer service, quality product, the amount of redo work, and the latest issue of rotting boards. After that point we parted ways, as **** continued to say there were no issues. ***** marked which boards needed to be replaced. I did not tell them each board to replace. They did not ask me to tell them each board to replace. They told me they would do a complete quality check and replace all rotting boards which included a final walk through by **** and ***** which sounds like from a previous response that ***** may have done the final walk through?

In the latest response, we provided a video of the current state of the fence as it shows more of an accurate picture of the last redo work on 8/27/13. I wish we had a fence that was complete and finished but as you can see on the video there are rotting boards and other issues even after the redo work.

In hindsight, a better outcome on 8/27/13 would be a General Manager that would have worked with us as a valued customer and listened to our frustrations and concerns before stating he did not see any quality or workmanship issues after noting rotting boards. Every time, we tried to convey our frustrations, none of them were validated or considered. All of us should have marked each board together to make sure we were in agreement that the redo work would be done correctly. When **** talked to me later in the driveway, he then apologized for the lack of customer service stating these situations happen rarely and sorry it happened to us, should have been stated when all four of us were talking together. Even at that point when he asked if we could do the walk through that day and I let him know I had to go to work and **** had appointments, I offered the next day. **** then told me they he and ***** would do the final walk through. All of us should have  done a final walk through together. I am still baffled and not understanding why Northwest Fence Company will not acknowledge all of these issues and continue to provide inaccurate information.  

The final result is still a fence that has rotting boards and other issues that does not meet quality standards. As for the job being complete on 8/27/13, the job is still incomplete due to these issues. Northwest Fence Company has not provided a quality finished project.  We hired a company to provide a quality fence, which was still not the outcome after redo work on 8/27/13. We are asking for a reduction in our bill of $1,000 and not replacement boards.



Regards,

***** *******




7/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 13, 2012, we signed a contract with NW Fence Company to install fence posts on our patio pad and to install 4 other fence posts in the ground connecting to an existing fence. This was a vinyl fence product and I agreed to install the rest of the fence. When I first met their salesman ***** at the Home and Garden Show, he showed me a vinyl fence they had there, and showed me how using the trim pieces really finished it off. When he wrote up the contract there was no itemized bill, it was just a diagram of the fence area and an explanation that they would install all fence posts and the owner would install the fence.On Wednesday, May 2nd, 2012, NW Fence had a crew scheduled to come out and do the installation. When they arrived I was actually home sick and went out to show them exactly where the posts were to go so there was no confusion. I told them I would be in the house all day if they had any questions. I also asked them if there was anything I needed to know about installing the rest of the fence, and they showed me to put the metal bracing in the bottom cross beam. They also said to give the concrete a few days to harden before installing the fence. That was it. I went into the house and never heard from them again. They finished the job and didnt ask me anything, or let me know they were done. They left all the rest of the fence materials in the yard and were gone. I assumed installing the fence was self explanatory, which it wasnt. There were no directions as to which boards to put up first or how to lock the cross bars in place. There were also no trim pieces like the salesman showed me at the Home and Garden Show. When I got out to look at the job later that day, I realized they had put one of the posts in the wrong place, cutting off part of our yard. I contacted NW Fence about that and the fact that I didnt get any trim pieces left behind. They told me that the trim pieces are generally not used by the crews as they cut the boards pretty straight so they didnt send any. When I asked if I could get them they told me I had to buy them separately, all the time knowing I was the one installing the fence and that was a feature that was sold to me in the beginning. Time was of the essence because the following weekend we had a large group coming to our house for a wake and we needed to have the fence up, so I went ahead and started to install the fence on the weekend of May 5th. As I was looking at all the materials, I realized there were some round plastic rings that I was not sure what they were, but installed the fence based on how I saw it at the Home and Garden Show. The following week I called NW Fence again and they told me I had to come down to buy the trim pieces, which I did on May 9th, spending $26 more than quoted. As I was at their office I looked at a demo fence they had in their showroom and realized what the plastic rings were for. So I took the entire fence apart again to install the lock rings into the cross boards. If they had a sheet explaining how to use these I would have done it right the first time. I also had to install the trim pieces to give the fence the finished look like the one at the Home and Yard Show. However I still had no fix for the misplaced fence post. Once I got the fence installed, I was able to turn on my sprinkler system only to find that the fence post that was in the wrong spot was placed right on top of my sprinkler line and the line was cut and water was pouring out at the fence post. My lawn was turning brown and I still had no fix for the fence post. I finally got a hold of the installation manager and he told me he would come out and look at the fence. Finally! He told me to meet him at the house at 4:30 PM and I agreed. He called me at 3:40 PM and said he was at the house. I told him I couldnt get away right then but talked to him about the fence post that was misplaced. He also said he was there to look at the sprinkler. I told him that the parts I had were in the house and no way to get them at that point. I told him I would fix the sprinkler as I couldnt get the parts right then.That night I dug out around the still wrong fence post all the way under the concrete to find the cut sprinkler line, stuck in the concrete, which I was assured the crew wouldnt do, And yes, I have pictures of it. I fixed the sprinkler line after an extra trip to Home Depot to get enough pipe to go around the concrete block in a fence post that shouldnt have even been there. Monte, the installation manager, told me they would come out and move the fence post to the correct spot, and that the crew that did our job no longer works for them as they were not doing things correctly. In the meantime, I got a bill for the remaining charge on the fence, but they didnt credit half of our payment to our account, so it showed we owed $600 more. I then contacted **** ********, the General Manager of NW Fence, to discuss my fence post issues and to see what monetary compensation I would receive for the errors. He told me that it is in their contract that they may hit a sprinkler line and its not their problem. Period. And he was giving no monetary compensation for the time and trouble and expense I had that his crew put the fence post in the wrong place. Putting a fence post in the wrong spot and cutting our sprinkler line is their fault. If they would have put the fence post in the correct place to begin with, they would not have cut the sprinkler system, period. This is all their fault and Im the one that has to now try to plant new grass over a hole that shouldnt be there, and all the time and money spent fixing a sprinkler that shouldnt have been cut because they werent digging in the right place. It took 3 weeks to get my job finished and I spent a lot of my own time and extra money to get it done the way it should have been done the first time. This is terrible customer service and not the way to treat a customer when their company made the error to be

Desired Settlement: I would like them to give a monetary settlement for all the work and expenses I put out to fix their installation error in the amount of $200.

Business Response:

Regarding the ***** ****** complaint

 

Northwest Fence Response

 

I offer the following information for your review.

 

Home & Garden Show:  There was an “installation” display which was assembled and disassembled continuously. Trim pieces are always offered as an option and were not chosen at the outset.  If there is care and regard for quality and craftsmanship they are not required.

 

Fence location is established with customer present and the end, corner and gate posts are marked with paint on the ground.  When the location of the fence was later questioned and the foreman who did the work was no longer with us, we scheduled a crew to move the post without questioning the original placement.

 

Sprinkler damage is not uncommon as they cannot be precisely located or marked like a power, phone or gas line.  This is reviewed and noted on our “Terms & Conditions” then signed by the customer, see attached.

 

Deposit error:  We received two checks for the deposit on the ***** ****** project.  One check from ***** ****** and one check from ***** ******.  Due to a clerical error the ****** check was recorded to a “******” account.  This was immediately corrected as soon as Mr. ****** notified us of the error.

 

Mistakes whether real or perceived were addressed in a timely and professional manner  and additional costs were incurred by Northwest Fence.  In retrospect we believe Mr. ****** did not have a full understanding of the challenges associated with the project he was undertaking.

 

Based on the above, we do not feel we owe Mr. ****** any compensation.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Adminstratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9087478, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Your sales representative made it very clear at the sales presentation at the home show that trim pieces were a part of the installation. The proposal did not include any itemized parts so the trim pieces were EXPECTED in the prosposal.

If the installer would have put the post in the correct place to begin with, he would not have hit the sprinkler line, period. You continue to say that hitting sprinkler lines can happen. I knew where the sprinkler line was and it was in no way close to where the post should have been placed. I didn't put the post in the wrong place, NW Fence did. They did move the fence post but I still had to fix the sprinkler line that should never have been hit if they would have put the post in the right place. Not to mention replacing the lawn as well. Why should I pay for your mistakes? I paid extra for peices that should have been included in the price and I paid for a sprinkler line that should never have been hit, and I paid for lawn patch, not to mentiion labor to fix these.

Regards,

***** ******

 

Business Response:

Trim channels are not, nor have they ever been presented as part of a standard installation. They are offered as an option for customers who lack the proper tools or trade skills to rip (cut) a vinyl picket to size.

The fence was installed as directed and approved by the homeowner. The homeowner was present though out the duration of post installation.

In the interest of closing this matter, Northwest Fence will credit Mr. ******’s account $100.00