Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Northwest Fence Company, Inc.

Phone: (509) 928-8084 Fax: (509) 926-9931 14909 E Sprague Ave, Spokane Vly, WA 99216 http://www.northwestfencecompany.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northwest Fence Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwest Fence Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Northwest Fence Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 08/16/1982 in WA Business started locally: 08/16/1982 Business incorporated 08/16/1982 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Department of Labor and Industries WA State
901 N Monroe St Ste 100, Spokane WA 99201
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (509) 324-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Roy Masterson, President Mr. Dave Anderson, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Dave Anderson, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Roy Masterson, President
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence Posts & Fittings Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Northwest Fence Company, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 14909 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99216 (509) 928-8084

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We selected Northwest Fence Company to install a wooden fence at our new home in Spokane Valley on June 8, 2013. The posts were installed week of 4th of July and fence boards installed on July 8th (after I complained about the date originally being July 18th). After 55 days, we have gone through 4 rounds of redo work. Each time the Supervisor met us on site, noted the issues and sent out a crew to address the issues. Each time all issues were not resolved and more issues surfaced. During this time, I have sent emails to the General Manager, with a CC to Supervisor and Salesperson with photos showing the problem areas. During the last round of redo work on August 28th, the Supervisor and General Manager came onsite as we still needed a board replaced and had discovered 2 days earlier the back side of the fence had multiple rotten boards. The General Manager told the Supervisor, Why would you let these boards be installed? during a conversation between the two them. As for the conversation with us, General Manager stated he felt there have not been any workmanship or quality issues. We provided more information about how their service does not meet their mission statement of quality customer service and product in a timely manner. There are a number of customer service issues that I can provide through the string of emails since there is not enough space to do so here. The main themes are Supervisor not returning calls, states work will be done on a Monday and they do not come until that Wednesday, states issues are due to the crews learning curve, only one courtesy call placed during this whole time, and no acknowledgment of how after 55 days and four rounds of redo work is a customer service issue. Lastly, after a walk-through of the fence from the 4th round of redo work, the outcome is still three rotten boards that are main supporting boards to the fence.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a reduction in our final bill of $1,000 due to the Northwest Fence Company not meeting full quality standards after 55 days and 4 rounds of redo work including not fullfilling quality customer service and product in a timely manner.

Business Response: **** **** and ***** *******; Scheduled Project with ****: Phase 1 scheduled the post set for 6/26 Phase 2 Finish fence and hang gates scheduled for 7/8/13. 

  • Phase 1 Set Posts on 6/25/13 One day early. 
  • Phase 2 Finished project on 7/1 and 7/2/13 One week early.
7/22/13 ***** initiated meeting with ***** (Installation Manager) for site review . ***** identified: Some material needed replaced, reveal at the gates uneven and needed adjusted, drop rod on gate was too short. Customer requested we change the location of latch on wood walk gate which was installed to industry standard and to change the direction of swing on the double gate gate from swing in, as clearly shown on the contract, to swing out. No additional charges were applied for the "new" work. Crew was scheduled for 8/1/13 to make necessary repairs and requested changes.
8/1/13 Began repairs and requested changes which were completed 8/2/13
8/6/13 ***** contacted **** (General Manager) with complaints of 2 week turnaround to finish job, latch on the wrong side of double gate that was just redone (installation again was to industry standard), no boards left on site as agreed upon. She then demanded we contact **** **** and address the gate latch and deliver spare boards..
8/6/13 ***** left **** a voice mail, received no call back
8/7/13 **** left ***** a voice mail, received no call back
8/8/13 ***** made contact with ****. **** was unaware ***** had contacted Northwest Fence and was not concerned about the latch and said he would change it himself. ***** told **** we would take care of it.
8/14/13 Changed latch location
8/16/13 ***** followed up with ***** to verify work completed to her satisfaction. ***** was upset because our crew used one of the boards we had left on site. ***** said he would deliver another.
8/19/13 ***** left ***** a message, he was unable to return during business hours. At 10:50 pm ***** sent **** an e mail lodging complaints and asking for $1,225 discount
8/21/13 **** responded to ***** and arranged for Fence Crew, Installation Manager, General Manager and customer to meet and correct any questionable or unresolved items 8/27/13 at 7am
8/27/13 *****'s main complaint was we had over sized the hole for the pull cable release. Increasing it from 3/16" to 1/2" and it did not match the other gates. **** identified no other workmanship issues. ***** and **** then walked the entire job inspecting the material with ***** following and marking the boards indicated. ***** nor **** would be available to inspect the job after the board replacement, **** assured her that ***** or **** would inspect the job before the crew would leave their site. ***** helped the crew complete the board replacement and approved the work as satisfactory and complete.
8/27/13 ***** again sent an after hours email lodging new complaints and demanding a discount

We deeply regret this project has concluded in a negative fashion. We have gone to great lengths and expense to try and satisfy this customer. Repairing and replacing material, even to the point of making changes to work satisfactorily completed. We have fulfilled our contractual obligation and will require payment in full for work completed.



Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The main complaint still remains rotting boards on our fence which was not resolved on 8/27/13. The response from Northwest Fence Company states “Dave assured me that he or ***** would do a final walk through”. Dave actually assured me he would do the final walk through with ***** as at that point we were no longer trusting in *****’s ability to complete redo work. Also in the response, it sates we would not be available for a final walk through that day as I let Dave know I had to go to work and Rick had doctor appointments. I offered to do the walk through the next day but he said they would just do it that day. The result is still rotting boards on our fence. I have taken video and noted the rotting and other issue boards as part of this complaint on the video. Due its overall size, the video is in 3 segments which are attached as part of this response. If there are technical difficulties reviewing the video, please let me know. It was taken on my iphone and can be delivered in a different format if needed. There are 9 complaint boards total, which 6 are due to rotting boards
 
Inaccurate information has been provided by Northwest Fence Company in their response. We have returned all phone calls and nothing is noted where ***** did not return our calls. In all, the multiple dates show the number of times we had to contact the company regarding the multiple quality issues. While the “***** demanded” language is actually insulting to me as a customer, it shows the lack of customer service regarding quality, product and workmanship issues and the amount of times we had to contact the company to resolve those issues. We still, at this point, have never received a signed copy of the contract. ***** requested the signed copy before the last redo work day of 8/27/13 via email to Dave.
At this point, the main complaint remains, rotting boards on our fence. We are still requesting $1,000 discount on our final bill due to the lack of quality boards and customer service in a timely manner.

Regards,
***** *******





Business Response:

8/27/13 ***** and **** walked the fence line and marked material for replacement together. All material marked was immediately replaced. 

  • ***** emailed pictures of additional boards with slight blemishes and or wane. Neither of which represent rot or impact the integrity of the fence. She indicated no dissatisfaction with any of these materials during our walk through earlier in the day or they would have been replaced as well.

Northwest Fence has provided a quality finished product and fulfilled its contractual obligation. To resolve this matter, Northwest Fence will provide 9 replacement boards, material only that are available for immediate pickup by the customer. 

Northwest Fence employs a payment on completion agreement. As of 8/27/13 this job is completed. As of 9/27/13, every effort to collect payment in full will be made.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The latest response from Northwest Fence Company regarding this complaint is inaccurate. On 8/27/13, *****, ****, **** and ***** did a walk-through of the fence where **** began to see all of the rotting boards. After the walk through, **** states to us he does not see any quality or workmanship issues even after noting rotting boards and telling ***** to have his crew begin replacing boards.  All four of us then talked further about the situation and our frustration with the lack of customer service, quality product, the amount of redo work, and the latest issue of rotting boards. After that point we parted ways, as **** continued to say there were no issues. ***** marked which boards needed to be replaced. I did not tell them each board to replace. They did not ask me to tell them each board to replace. They told me they would do a complete quality check and replace all rotting boards which included a final walk through by **** and ***** which sounds like from a previous response that ***** may have done the final walk through?

In the latest response, we provided a video of the current state of the fence as it shows more of an accurate picture of the last redo work on 8/27/13. I wish we had a fence that was complete and finished but as you can see on the video there are rotting boards and other issues even after the redo work.

In hindsight, a better outcome on 8/27/13 would be a General Manager that would have worked with us as a valued customer and listened to our frustrations and concerns before stating he did not see any quality or workmanship issues after noting rotting boards. Every time, we tried to convey our frustrations, none of them were validated or considered. All of us should have marked each board together to make sure we were in agreement that the redo work would be done correctly. When **** talked to me later in the driveway, he then apologized for the lack of customer service stating these situations happen rarely and sorry it happened to us, should have been stated when all four of us were talking together. Even at that point when he asked if we could do the walk through that day and I let him know I had to go to work and **** had appointments, I offered the next day. **** then told me they he and ***** would do the final walk through. All of us should have  done a final walk through together. I am still baffled and not understanding why Northwest Fence Company will not acknowledge all of these issues and continue to provide inaccurate information.  

The final result is still a fence that has rotting boards and other issues that does not meet quality standards. As for the job being complete on 8/27/13, the job is still incomplete due to these issues. Northwest Fence Company has not provided a quality finished project.  We hired a company to provide a quality fence, which was still not the outcome after redo work on 8/27/13. We are asking for a reduction in our bill of $1,000 and not replacement boards.



Regards,

***** *******





Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Northwest Fence Company, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart