BBB Accredited Business since

Spokane Teachers Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 858-3750 Fax: (509) 328-9553 View Additional Phone Numbers 106 W Nora Ave, Spokane, WA 99205 http://www.stcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Spokane Teachers Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Spokane Teachers Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Spokane Teachers Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1934 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1934 Business incorporated 06/02/1934 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan Hanson, Communications Manager Mr. Tom Johnson, President and CEO Ms. Laura Wood, Director - Human Resources
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Loans - Small Business Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Financial Services Credit Cards & Plans

Alternate Business Names
STCU
Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Spokane Teachers Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 106 W Nora Ave

    Spokane, WA 99205

  • 13211 E 32nd Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99216

  • 13501 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99216

  • 202 W Walnut St

    Newport, WA 99156

  • 207 E Hastings Rd

    Spokane, WA 99218

  • 2201 N Madson Rd

    Liberty Lake, WA 99019

  • 2712 N Ramsey Rd

    Coeur D Alene, ID 83815

  • 2718 1st St

    Cheney, WA 99004

  • 3903 E Primrose Ln

    Post Falls, ID 83854

  • 4727 N Division St Ste 105

    Spokane, WA 99207

  • 477181 Highway 95

    Ponderay, ID 83852

  • 528 E Spokane Falls Blvd

    Spokane, WA 99202

  • 5711 S Hailee Ln

    Spokane, WA 99223

  • 6704 N Government Way

    Dalton Gdns, ID 83815

  • 707 W Main Ave Ste B4

    Spokane, WA 99201

  • 820 E 29th Ave

    Spokane, WA 99203

  • 8703 N Indian Trail Rd

    Spokane, WA 99208

  • 9 S Washington St

    Spokane, WA 99201

  • PO Box 1954

    Spokane, WA 99210

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing a complaint against STCU RE: Acct. # ********** because thus far my efforts to correct a situation with them have went nowhere. I have an auto loan that I co-signed for my daughter last May. According to STCU, my daughter missed her December 2014 auto loan payment in the amount of $150. Unfortunately, I found out about this sitting in my mortgage lender’s office on January 5, 2015. We actually lost out on a home because of this reporting. STCU has taken the stance that they cannot do anything about this if the payment was truly 30 days late. I am well aware that they are actually the only party who COULD contact the credit report agencies and make a goodwill adjustment on my behalf. It is not unheard of for a lender to change how something is reported, or to show goodwill to their clients. They could help us but unfortunately have chosen not to. Reasons STCU should feel compelled to make a goodwill adjustment on my behalf: 1. At no point was I ever contacted by STCU that this account was about to go 30 days late. When I brought this point up to them, the lady I spoke with told me they didn’t have my phone number on the loan file. How is this even possible? As the co-signer, I am the primary person on the account and the reason this loan was even possible. She also indicated automated calls were placed to my daughter, that were unanswered (she doesn’t answer calls from unknown numbers, and no messages were left). With something as damaging as a 30 days late, why did I not receive a mere phone call?? Every person on the loan should have been contacted, preferably by an actual person. It is not my fault that their file was incomplete and lacking my telephone number. I have a checking, savings and two auto loans with STCU. If an actual human had been looking into this account and not an automated system, surely I would have been contacted. We also received no written notices alerting us to the late payment. 2. The amount being reported leaves me to question if the payment was actually ever late. The payment is $150 but is being reported as $156. We had another issue on this loan, where STCU said we didn’t have the extra comp & collision insurance. They were charging us an exorbitant monthly fee of around $78/month for this insurance (which typically costs about $20/month). $156 would be approximately 2 months of this insurance coverage. I think it is 100% possible that when my daughter made her December payment at the bank, and the funds went to pay the fee and not the car payment. The funds could have been misappropriated. I have not been able to get a clear understanding of why the amount being reported is not the payment amount. 3. This is the first late payment on the account. This needs to be taken into consideration. Furthermore, on January 6, I logged in and made 2 payments immediately while we straighten this out. My daughter has made 3 payments since then and the loan should be paid through April. We have demonstrated that if the payment was in fact missed, it was an oversight and not a lack of ability to make the payments. I have a much larger auto loan through STCU that has a perfect record (and probably my phone number on file). I have had numerous auto loans throughout my life. I have never had such a rough time with a loan, especially a loan so small! Anyone who has ever had an auto loan and even come close to 30 days late, can attest to the fact that you can guarantee the lender will be notifying you in more ways than one. If there is an issue going on with a loan, typically a real person reaches out to try to correct the problem. The bottom line is, I have worked, successfully on my credit for months to get it where it was before this fiasco. I should not have to pay the price of a 105 point credit drop because STCU negligibly didn’t have my phone number on file. If my credit was going to be impacted, I should have been reached out to, and this entire fiasco could have been avoided. We actually lost out on buying a home, inspection fees, etc. because of the severe drop in my credit. Furthermore, I just checked my Experian report and Transunion report this morning, and it is indicating the loan is 30 days late, 2 times, for December and January now. As I have already indicated, the loan is paid through April and has definitely not been late twice, so I expect this to be corrected immediately. I expect this to be fixed immediately. If my January is being reported as late there is some serious concerns with your accounting and reporting systems. I have evidence for FOUR payments made in January, and an additional payment at the beginning of February.

Desired Settlement: I want STCU to make a goodwill adjustment and rapidly remove (the now two!) 30 days late from my files with the 3 credit reporting agencies. This reporting is in error because had I been contacted even once, the payment would have been made IMMEDIATELY. I'm not even sure if the first 30 days late is accurate, but the second I have evidence that it is completely bogus. If STCU can’t find it in their heart to make a goodwill adjustment for the first 30 days late, they could at least remove the (now two) 30 days late marks due to their own negligence in this circumstance. I have spent more time trying to rectify this situation than anyone at STCU has ever spent actually looking into my account and trying to assist me, besides telling me "there's nothing we can do Mr ****". I also would like them to develop a better system of preventing issues like this from affecting other consumers. All information for everybody on the loan should be in the loan file, period. How do you ding my credit but not even have my phone number on file? If two people are being reported on, two people should be contacted and given the chance to correct the situation, period. STCU should ask the question, what could we have done better in this situation? Where did we drop the ball, and are we doing enough to communicate account issues with our clients? Do we have dedicated account managers on hand to reach out or are we relying too much on automated calls? This is a serious issue and I would expect MUCH better service from a local credit union, but surprisingly have had much better communication from larger outfits such as ***** ***** for auto loans. I never would expect to be treated like such a number instead of a valued customer. I feel like STCU grabbed my social security number and financials to approve this loan and then has shown nothing but disregard for me as a customer.

Business Response:

February 11, 2015

 

 

********* ****

**** ** **** *** *****

******** ** *****                 

 

Re: BBB Complaint Regarding Credit Bureau Reporting

 

Dear Mr. ****:

 

We received your complaint letter from the Better Business Bureau regarding the reporting of late payments on your auto loan. First and foremost, I do apologize for your time and frustration in reaching a resolution in this matter. I have researched the situation regarding your auto loan and have determined the following findings:

 

·        One clarification to your letter is that you are a joint borrower on the loan, not a co-signer as you had indicated. ****** is listed as the primary borrower, so all the early stage delinquency calls (from 15 to 30 days delinquent) will always be sent to her primary contact number. If you would like this primary number changed, please let us know.

 

·        On the loan application, both you and ****** listed the same home address on **** ******. We sent notifications addressed to you and ****** to this address at 7, 14, and 21 days delinquent prior to reporting anything to the credit bureau.

 

·        What you were told about our limited ability to just change credit reporting was accurate, but we do have exception authority for that. We are bound by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) which requires that we report all credit transactions as fairly and as accurately as possible. We would love to be able to change any late transaction as an act of goodwill, as you mentioned, but unfortunately regulation restricts that ability.

 

We have reviewed our internal processes for improvements on our end. Our loan documentation states that a notice to one borrower is notice to all. Your situation is unique in that you are not a joint borrower, by definition, or a user of the auto. You were added to the loan solely to ensure repayment, and your direct contact number was not called prior to the 30 day delinquency date. For this reason, our director of consumer lending has authorized, as a one-time exception, removal of the late payments connected to this loan on your credit file with all three reporting agencies. This correction will be done immediately on our end.  It generally takes five to seven days for the bureaus to correct their reports.

 

We truly value your membership and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

 

Sincerely,

 

**** *****

Collections and Loan Service Manager

 

###-###-####

*****************

           

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

We thank STCU for working with us on this issue, you can be assured this account with continue to not only be paid on time but ahead of time.
I want to add, in response to the letters that were reportedly sent to us--we did not receive them. These are not letters we would have ignored, especially in the midst of buying a home. This also happened with the insurance issue, where they said we were sent multiple letters but hadn't received any. 
Our current mailing address is **** * **** *** ****** ******** ** *****. We do, however, receive some mail (such as statements) from STCU so I'm not sure what's going on with that..

Regards,


********* ****

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

I wanted to reach out to you real quick regarding this complaint that just closed. STCU agreed to remove the 30 days late off the credit reports, and did indicate that it would take 5-7 days.

The 30 days late was removed immediately  from the Experian and Equifax, on Tuesday. Transunion saw no change yet but we still are in the 5-7 day time frame.

The Equifax, however, now shows 31-60 days past due and shows that was reported this morning so I am concerned because it was corrected and now it's back.

Would you be able to reach out to Mr. ***** and verify that the marks are being removed correctly and not re-reported? Thank you,

********* ****

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ****,

 

We have received your request for additional information via the Better Business Bureau regarding your credit reporting complaint. We have successfully verified that all late pays regarding the auto loan in question have been removed through both Experian and Transunion. As you indicated, the Equifax report was also corrected but then reverted back to the original status. After making the corrections through Equifax, we received the credit reporting dispute you submitted directly through Equifax. Our speculation is that this reset the corrections we had already made. This speculation can’t be confirmed directly with Equifax as they are currently closed due to extreme weather conditions.

 

This morning (2/17/2015), we resubmitted the Universal Data Form (UAD) directly to Equifax to again correct your reporting information. At this point any disputes you make directly to them jeopardize this correction, so please do not submit any further disputes directly through Equifax. They state a 5-7 day turn-around for corrections, but as you saw from the last correction, it was corrected the following day. We have also set an internal reminder to verify directly with Equifax this has been resolved after the 5-7 day window.

 

Thanks and let me know if you have further questions.

 

****

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I refinanced my auto loan with another credit union and I paid my STCU auto loan off 8 weeks ago and as of 4/3/14, I was told by the loan department that I have to wait an additional 6 to eight weeks to receive my Title.

Desired Settlement: I want my Title immediately. I have to turn it over to my new bank that I refinanced my loan with or they will covert my loan to unsecured.

Business Response:

April 4, 2014

 

Better Business Bureau

Attn: **** *******

*** * ********* *** ***

******** ** *****

 

RE:  Case ID *******

Dear Ms. *******:

In response to the complaint received April 4, 2014, Case ID *******, STCU has researched the matter further and found that Mr. ******’s title was released by STCU on January 31, 2014.

The loan secured by Mr. ******’s 2011 Ford Escape was paid off January 10, 2014. STCU submitted an electronic title release to the State of Washington removing the lien 1/31/2014. The title appears to have been sent by the Department of Licensing to the registered owners listed as: 

            ******** ****** **

            ******* ******

* **** ******* ***

******* ** *****

Mr. ****** did call into STCU on April 3, 2014 to inquire about the title. He was provided the above information and advised to file for a missing title with the Department of Licensing as STCU no longer has the ability to assist as our lien has been released.

Please feel free to contact me directly if further information is needed.

Sincerely,

****** *******

Loan Service Assistant Manager

###-###-####

Enclosure:  WA State Department of Licensing Vehicle/Vessel Inquiry

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******** ******

 

Dear Sir,

I called STCU in February, checking on my Title. and I was told then it could take up to 6 - 8 weeks, why wasn't I told then it was already released in January? I find it ridicules that I'm responsible for paying the fee of a lost title that I never received. I executed my portion of the contract, by paying of the loan, and STCU has not, because it has failed to get my Title in my hands.  How does the WA DOL backlog turnaround time effect the delivery date? 

Unless STCU can provide proof my title was mailed and the day it was mailed, should be responsible for the fee of replacing the title, in my opinion. Therefore, I asked that STCU pay for the $31 fee it would cost to file for lost title

Business Response: STCU responded twice since the initial complaint (April 4 and April 14). We are again uploading our responses to the BBB website. 

3/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have three housing loans with STCU going back about 8-years. I mail my payments to STCU. To the best of my knowledge I have never been late...or so I thought. This month (February- 2014) I received a strange piece of paper showing about $90.00 in fines. Upon calling STCU I was informed these were fines for late payments back in 2011. They also said they could do deferred billing for such matters. I protested that their failure to notify me in a timely manner prevented me from changing my mailing date to prevent future late charges. In fact, this could be a very nice revenue stream for this business, taking advantage of folks who are making mailing errors and don't know it as the years roll by and the fines accumulate. This STCU policy is at the very least immoral and unethical. And I certainly would not want to continue doing business with such an unscrupulous firm.

Desired Settlement: Refund all charges collected under this ill advised policy back to the affected customers and change company policy to promptly notify any client when a late fee is going to be assessed so that the customer has the information to correct the mailing date or at least protest in a timely manner.

Business Response:

March 10, 2014

Mr. ****** *. *******

*** ** ******* ******

********* **  *****

RE:  BBB Complaint, Case ID *******

Dear Mr. *******,

Thank you for your feedback concerning the accrued late charges on your home loans with STCU.  We value our relationship with you as we do with all members of STCU.  Therefore, be assured that it is not our practice to assess late charges if a borrower is not late.    

Our records indicate that you did make some of the monthly payments due beyond the grace period allowed by your Notes.   STCU has record of conversations with you which took place in November 2011 regarding these late payments.  Since those conversations took place, you have not paid any payments outside of the allowed grace period.

Late charges were assessed on your home loans for the late payments received in 2011.  The charges were assessed in accordance with the Notes that you signed.  The Notes specifically state the due dates of payments and under what conditions late charges may be assessed.

Prior to January 10, 2014 there were no regulations requiring a periodic statement or formal notification of late charge assessment for closed-end mortgage loans.  Again, the Notes signed by you dictate the timing and amount of any late charge assessments.

Regulations prohibit us from deducting a late charge from a regular monthly payment, thereby causing the payment to be insufficient for the month for which it is being remitted.  We are allowed, however, to accrue late charges as an unpaid item and collect them at a later date, for example at loan payoff.

In the future, home loan borrowers will receive a monthly statement for their home loans from their mortgage servicers which, along with other information, will indicate any new or outstanding accrued late charges.  These new statements are a result of new rules issued by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and are intended to bring more awareness to borrowers.  As the best interest of our members has always been forefront in our business practices, STCU fully supports and complies with this new rule.

As a gesture of goodwill on our part, we will refund one late charge assessed per loan on your home loan accounts though they were properly assessed and accrued.

It is our hope that you will continue to enjoy the benefits of membership with STCU. 

Sincerely,

**** *****

Director Real Estate Services

Spokane Teachers Credit Union

cc:  Better Business Bureau

      

11/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: STCUs computer system has always worked very well, however when they changed there acct numbers and upgraded there system at the beginning of 2012 something changed. If I had $25 in my acct, and bought something on my debit card for $10 and another for $5 and another one for $11, obviously I know my acct has been over drawn and I would receive an overdraft fee of $25 when my acct goes negative. Under this circumstance, with there new system STCU will charge me 3 overdraft fees, for each transaction that is pending. So if there is $25 in my acct and those 3 are pending when one post to my acct, for instance $10, then in theory my acct should still be positive of $15, however because they are going off of there pending transactions, immediately after my $10 posts then I receive an overdraft fee of $25. Then another 2 when the other transactions post. I asked if I go get gas and the gas station holds $75 from my acct as an pre-authorization then STCU says if there isn't sufficient funds to cover that then a $25 overdraft fee will be applied. Regardless the final amount that post to my acct. I have had multiple company's be on the phone with me fighting with STCU over this issue, ******* being the one that I got the furthest with, I had the *** with me and ***** ****** from STCU. We talked for about an hour at the time of this instance about 3 months ago, ******* *** at one point said that what you are doing is wrong and should be illegal and is close to being called fraud. ***** ****** said I will refund the 3 overdraft fees if I removed the protection off of my acct, I told her that this is a huge inconvenience for me and any other member that has had issues. Her reply was I'm sorry you'll just have to get use to it. The main problem, they are charging people overdraft fees before the actual acct balance has gone overdrawn. I have considered moving banks but I have my car loan through them and have never had any issues until there upgrade. At one point I also called a random attorney and agreed.

Desired Settlement: I want STCU to make this right, how can they make this better.

Business Response:

Response to complaint #*******

Sorry for the delay!  Thank you

Business Response:

November 21, 2013

 **** ********

**** ******* ***

SPOKANE, WA   99205

                             

 Re: *** Complaint of Overdraft Fees

 

Dear Mr. ********:

 

In response to your complaint filed to the ****** ******** ****** on November 7, 2013, STCU has outlined the following as an explanation of what transpired.

 

Our records indicate the last overdraft fees you received on your account was in July due to the ****** ** transaction you reference, as well as a transaction from ********’s. As a courtesy to you, STCU refunded one of the $25.00 overdraft fees, in addition to the refund of $25.00 that ******* issued to you directly.  

 

The fee that was assessed by STCU for the ******* charge of $16.49 was caused because your account had an available balance of only $9.57 at the time. This was due to a preauthorization hold of $7.36 to ********s from July 3, 2013 that had not yet posted, as well as a preauthorization from ******* of $41.49 which never posted.  Although the statement balance in your account was $16.93 at that time, it was not the actual amount that your account had available to use due to the two pending transactions being held. The actual amount that was available in your account at the time the ******* transaction came through was zero. After the ******* transaction posted your account became negative, and when the ********s transaction posted it caused another overdraft fee.  A total of two overdraft fees, one for the ******* charge and one for the ********’s charge, were assessed by STCU.  These fees were valid due to funds not being available.

 

You may find this informational page helpful, as it discusses STCU overdrafts and how to avoid a similar situation in the future: https://www.stcu.org/media/STCU_Debit_overdraft_FAQ-0513.pdf The advantage of preauthorization holds is that you can check your balance and get a more accurate picture of what is truly available to you before you spend. Another alternative to avoid overdraft fees is to remove overdraft protection from your account, in which case your card could be declined when funds are not available.

If you have any questions or would like additional information on this, please do not hesitate to call me directly.

 

Regards,

******* ******* Card Services Assistant Manager
---------------------------------------------------
STCU Card Services
 ###-###-####
-------------------------------------------------

Consumer Response:

****** ******** ******:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


 Your company didn't resolve the issue, I already know what your company did, and how it happens. What I don't agree with and have talked with multiple attorneys is, your company is handing out overdraft fees BASED ON PENDING TRANSACTIONS. If I printed out my acct it would show that my acct would still be positive if you didn't apply the first overdraft fee basing that fee off of pending transactions. 

Regards,

**** ********




11/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February of 2013, I made my final payment on an auto lien that was carried by Spokane Teacher's Credit Union. Upon my inquiry, I was told that I would receive my car title in four to six weeks. I did not receive my car title in four to six weeks. I called to inquire further and was told that I needed to just wait longer. In May, June, and July of 2013 I called STCU to inquire about my title since it had now been more than 12 weeks since I made my final payment. Each time I was told that the lien release had been faxed to various treasury office locations in Kansas City, where I am now living, and the title would be coming.In mid July, I contacted a supervisor at STCU who told me that she would order a duplicate title to be sent out. This was completed by the beginning of August. However, when I contacted my titling office in late August to inquire further about receiving my auto title, they informed me that they had not received a lien release.It has now been seven months since I paid off my lien and I still do not posses my title to my vehicle because, according to my local treasury office, STCU has still not faxed the lien release.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting:1) My car title to be released to me 2) $500 to cover depreciation/maintenance costs since I have been unable to sell my vehicle and have had to pay for maintenance on the car as well as I will no longer be able to request the initial sale amount due to deprecation over the last five months from age and increased mileage on the vehicle.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I received your letter.  I found your letter to be very condescending and blame-shifting.  In the letter, you stated that STCU followed "standard procedures to ensure a timely release of the lien from the date your loan paid off"  is this a joke? 7 months of time, 9 hours on the phone, and terrible customer service is your company's standard procedure?  I didn't hear anything from Jessica until mid-March, and even then it was not helpful nor did it move the process along. 

You also state in the letter that I "relocated to Kansas."  To me, this is in implication, an implication that my relocating to Kansas somehow messed the process up and that it was my fault that the process was so delayed.  If this is not what you meant to say then what did you mean to say?  Why would you include this if not to somehow imply that this caused a problem. I fail to see how it has anything to do with the issue?  I changed my address accordingly so I would receive the bills, which I continued to pay.  If my uprooting my life to move to Kansas so my son could spend 111 days in a children's specialist hospital somehow inconvenienced you, then I'm sorry about that.

Your letter also contains false statements.  I was told as late as 9/08/13 by the State of Kansas that the reason for the delay was because YOUR BANK had not faxed a release to the right location.  I put this responsibility in your staff's hand, as I did not feel it was appropriate for me to research where you needed to send it since I am the CUSTOMER.  So, no Steve, it was not a delay because I moved to Kansas or because of a lost title that was just being processed on-time, normally.  Your company should have applied for the duplicate title in MARCH, not AUGUST.  Besides, how could the lost title have been holding things up in September when the  title had already been recovered back in August when Kris Sherman applied for the lost title through Idaho?  That story doesn't add up.

I find this letter right in step with how my whole experience has been with STCU- a lot of blame shifting, false information, and statements that make me feel as though I've done something wrong by not doing your jobs for you.

You can be assured that my business with STCU is done for life.  You can also be assured that my family in Spokane will be switching to another lender in the future when they seek to buy another car and/or rental property

Business Response: Thank you for the recent feedback provided in your letter dated 9/6/2013. We appreciate your membership with STCU as well as the concern expressed regarding the delay in releasing the lien on your automobile.

Please note STCU followed standard procedures to ensure a timely release of the lien from the date your loan paid off, 2/14/2013 by releasing our lien to the State of Idaho on 2/26/2013.

Our records show, that you relocated to Kansas. Please know that during our follow up to you not receiving the Certificate of Title from Idaho State, The Department of Licensing/ Kansas, advised STCU they were delayed in processing the lien release due to a “lost title”. STCU requested duplicate title from Idaho as well as submitted additional lien release requests to the State of Kansas on 3 occasions to attempt to accommodate your request. Per a telephone conversation on 09/11/12 with the Kansas D.O.L., I have verified the lien release has been completed and you now possess a valid Kansas paper Title.

STCU wants you to know that your membership is valued and we would like to extend our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please do not hesitate to contact our office should you have any further questions or concerns.

3/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: STCU just contacted me about my exwife's checking account that I thought I was removed from, that she has been using without my knowledge of still being secondary on that account, they just now contacted me now that the account is $970 over drawn. They refuse to remove my name from the account even though I showed them divorce papers and they can clearly see that she is the only one using the account.

Desired Settlement: Remove my name from the account.

Business Response: Good Afternoon - We had a meeting with the member and he offered a settlement amount which we accepted.  He stated he intended to update his complaint indicating it is resolved to his satisfaction.  Our due date for response is this Friday.  Can you please let me know if the individual has updated his complaint?  We are wondering if we still need to prepare a formal response.  Thank you

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9472520, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
STCU agreed to take my name off of my ex wife's overdrawn checking account for payment of $200.


Regards,


***** *******