BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Solarity Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Solarity Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Solarity Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 11, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1939 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1939 Business incorporated: 06/25/1951 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Nonprofit

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Mina Worthington, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Financial Services

Additional Information

February 13, 2009 the Better Business Bureau has just learned of another telephone number used this scam text messages - (877) 355-9231.

Additional Information

February 10, 2009 we have just become aware that some calls regarding this scam are also from the telephone number (647)724-1303 appears to be coming from Ontario, Canada. Also 918-398-8335 and 330-259-1578 may be associated with this illegal activity.

Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 110 N 5th Ave

    Yakima, WA 98902

  • 122 N 50th Ave  Westside Branch

    Yakima, WA 98908

  • 128 N 2nd St

    Yakima, WA 98901

  • 171 Iron Horse Ct  Terrace Heights Branch

    Yakima, WA 98901

  • 2811 Tieton Dr

    Yakima, WA 98902

  • 308 Washington Ave  Toppenish Branch

    Toppenish, WA 98948

  • 6600 W Nob Hill Blvd  West Valley Walmart Branch

    Yakima, WA 98908

  • 703 North Park Ctr  Selah Branch

    Selah, WA 98942

  • 900 S Ruby St  Ellensburg Branch

    Ellensburg, WA 98926

  • PO Box 2922

    Yakima, WA 98907

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 347-9222(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 11,2014 I checked my account balance online because I was expecting my income tax refund to be deposited the next morning. I discovered that my account was over drawn -$834.65. There were 70 charges of $1.07 from Amazon.com that I had never authorized. The bank told me to contact Amazon and figure out what happened. I contacted Amazon that same day and found out that there was a glitch in my kindle and it had caused these 70 charges to be authorized. My credit card information was on file because my daughter and I have bought things from them before. They sent me an email apologizing for the huge inconvenience and immediately refunded the 70 unauthorized charges. Well, these charges had ended up overdrawing my checking account and the bank charged me 28 over draft fees of $25 equaling $700! Once the original charges from Amazon were credited back to my account, I went into the bank and spoke to the bank manager (at the *** *** ****** ** *********). She told me that they were only willing to credit my account back $300 of the $700 they took from me!! I was extremely upset! I have since spoken to many friends and family members (a lot of them are current members of ******** ****** *****) and they all agree that since the charges were done in error, due to a computer glitch,and that Amazon has already acknowledged this and refunded my money, then the bank needs to do so as well. There are no longer any charges for them to charge me an overdraft fee ON! I have been dealing with the bank since then and today I told by the bank manager (at the ******* ******* location) that I needed to fill out a dispute and file a report with the police! How do you file a police report against a Kindle!!?? This is just the bank wasting more of my time and keeping my money in their accounts longer. A credit union is supposed to be not for profit and for the people and this is not what they did to me. This is extremely unethical.

Desired Settlement: Due to a lot of persistence, on my part, I have gotten the bank to refund $300 of the $700 they took from me. I want my remaining $400 applied back to my account. Since there are no longer any Amazon charges on my account they have nothing to charge me for. Therefore, I feel that they are blatantly stealing from me. I have enjoyed being a member of Solarity, as do my two kids and my family, but it is unacceptable to treat your customers like this!

Business Response:

We have attached a response letter to Complaint IC *******. While the transactions that initiated ** ********* complaint were not caused by any error on the credit union's part, we are refunding the requested amount to her account. 

** ********** ***
Solarity Credit Union

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/25/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened this checking account years ago and invested endless hours setting up monthly direct deposits, transfers, bill payments, etc. In Jan 2012, the credit union (******** ****** *****) merged with another local credit union and now the merged outcome is called Solarity Credit Union. Our checking account was called an "Elite" account which featured NO monthly fee and no minimum balance fee. The requirement for this account was to open a savings account and maintain a minimum balance of $25. If the accounts debit card was used enough times and there was a monthly direct deposit attached to the account then the agreement was to receive a small monthly interest.Okay, so apparently what they have done with this merging of credit unions is to redefine what "Elite" account means and requires. Basically, NOW, the very same account that was free in Dec now is charged $6 per month UNLESS a minimum balance of $250. Furthermore, this $6 fee is assessed on the LAST day of the month.Apparently this is legal for the credit union to redefine the terms of a checking account without the agreement or consent of the account holders. Even if this is true, I find this to be unacceptable as a consumer. Last month, we spoke with ***** ******** at Solarity concerning this $6 monthly fee and complained about it and requested the account be returned or converted to a free account. The response was that the ONLY way to have a free checking account would be to close the existing account and open a brand new one. That is UNACCEPTABLE!! That places a MAJOR hardship on the account holder to simply maintain the same account they opened in the first place. This effects EVERYTHING: the direct deposits, the scheduled bill payments, transfers etc! Basically, the credit union has given the account holder 2 choices: maintain a $250 minimum balance or suffer the consequences, and that is not what I agreed to wIt would require a major hardship on our family to either change financial institutions or to.

Desired Settlement: I want:1) to keep my EXISTING checking account.2) for my existing checking account to be free (with NO minimum balance).3) a refund for all $6 fees on the account since Jan 2012.Just "convert" this account to the new free account... we do not want the monthly interest on the "elite" account. What we signed up for was the free checking, and that is all we want.That is what must happen to resolve this.

Business Response: SOLARTTY
CREDIT UNION
May 8, 2012
**** ******** Better Business Bureau 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Via Fax: ###-###-####
Re: Case #9014209, ***** ********
Dear Mr. ********,
Ms. ******** opened an Elite Checking account with ******** ****** ***** ***** in November 2009. ****** ****** ****** ***** ****** merged with *** in October 2011. At the time of the merger, all products and services were evaluated. It was determined that Elite Checking was a Dividend Checking account, similar to what **** offered. The Elite Checking had the least number of members who would be impacted by no longer offering this type of checking.
All Elite Account holders were given the option of switching to a Dividend Checking account or opening a new Free Checking account.
We have reached out to Ms. ******** and left messages. We would like to assist her with switching direct deposits and bill payments if she chooses to open a Free Checking account.
Please let me know if you have any questions. I can be reached at ###-###-####. Thank you.
Sincerely,
***** ******* Marketing Manager
www.soiarltycu.orq • ###-###-#### •************ • P.O. Box 2922, Yakima, WA 96907

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Adminstratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9014209, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


The offer requires me to close my account and open a new account.   That is not an offer, since that is the same situation that I am complaining about.   My complaint is precisely in regards to the hardship that would be created for myself and my family if my existing account has to be closed and everything re established.  It is not possible for Solarity to "assist" me with this hardship, as they have no control over the sources of my income which take time to process a new direct deposit, etc.  Additionally, they can not re- set up my accounts for me for bill payment, etc.  


Solarity can either waive the monthly $6 fee on my account and leave it as it is (and if they want to cancel the interest payment on the account that is fine) OR they can convert it without closing it.  

Regards,

***** ********

 

 

Business Response: SOLARITY
CREDIT UNION
May 17, 2012
***** ******** 108 South 11th Avenue Yakima, WA 98902
Re: Better Business Bureau Case #9014209 Dear Ms. ********,
In reviewing your concerns, as a courtesy, we did reverse fees in the amount of $24 on May 7, 2012 for the months of January through April.
We understand your desire to keep your original account number while changing the account type. However, this is not something that our system allows. In an effort to accommodate your request, we have come up with a system modification. Unfortunately, we cannot verify that our modification has functioned properly until the end of this month.
We have now switched your Dividend Checking Account to a Free Checking Account that does not accrue dividends or monthly fees. We will verify on June 1, 2012 that the account is functioning properly and no fees were assessed.
Our attempts to reach you by phone have been unsuccessful. We hope that this solution resolves the issue and we will attempt contact again on June 1st to confirm.
If you have questions or concerns, please contact me directly. I can be reached at ###-###-####.
www.soiaruycu.orq • ************ • ************ P.O. Box 2922. Yakima, WA 98907
cc: **** ******** Better Business Bureau Via Fax: ###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After years of having a checking account at (previously) Catholic Credit Union, the business recently merged with another with new name: Solarity Credit Union. They completely changed EVERYTHING with the online website for online banking. They did send a small pamphlet in the mailwhich was supposed to outline all the changes. However, there were MANY more changes in reality than what the pamphlet detailed or explained. It has been a difficult process and a steep challenge to try to navigate this new website for online banking. The focus of my complaint concerns the change that was made to the "transfer funds" option in the online banking. Previously, this function was simple. You could make a "one time" transfer of funds between accounts. Now, you have many challenges when trying to transfer funds. First of all, it is very difficult if you have MULTIPLE accounts listed as we do to accurately identify which account you are transferring to and from since the accounts are all listed only in account numbers. And worse yet is that if you start a transfer having in mind an immediate transfer (as would be the case for customers who are used to the old website), you are now given an option to make the transfer ongoing just as you would for a monthly bill. It happened that I did want to make this a monthly transfer in the same amount as the immediate one, so I selected to do so. I did not realize that in doing so, this automatically removes the immediate transfer I was originally there to make; rather the transfer completed as a monthly transfer beginning May 1st. However, I believed the transfer function would do BOTH the monthly and the immediate transfers of that amount and I believed that is what I had accomplished with that transaction. I proceded to my credit card website where I set up a payment on my credit card which was to draw funds from the savings account I believed I had just made a deposit to. The next day I saw Solarity had placed a NSF fee of $25 on my checking accout

Desired Settlement: A full refund of the $25 NSF fee placed on my savings account.

Business Response: SOLARITY
CREDIT UNION
April 17, 2012
**** ******** Better Business Bureau 152 S. Jefferson, Ste. 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Via Fax: ###-###-####
Re: Case #8985990, ***** ********
Dear Mr. ********,
Yakima Valley Credit Union and CCU merged on October 1, 2011 and a data integration was completed on January 1,2012. This required a new platform for the online banking product. An Integration Guide was mailed to all members in December, it referenced online banking and cited a web address to access an online Banking Demo site (which is still available at www.solaritycu.org). This site addressed setting up transfers and account options. The account options allow the member to nickname their primary accounts for easy reference. Solarity Credit Union has offered two online banking seminars in the last month for members to learn more about the new product.
After researching the overdraft fee on this account, it was determined that an ACH transfer was being initiated out of savings. However, there were not adequate funds to cover it. Due to the circumstances explained by the member, the fee has been reversed. A phone message was left today for this member to contact the Credit Union, so the features in online banking can be explained further.
Please let me know if you have any questions. I can be reached at ###-###-####. Thank you.
Sincerely,
***** *******
VP of Organizational Development

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8985990, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

***** ********

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I PAYED AN INTEREST PAYMENT ON MY CAR LOAN OVER THE PHONE TO SOLARITY CREDIT UNION(###-###-####) ON 1/26/12. I WAS GOING TO SEND JUST A CHECK BUT THE REPRESENTATIVE SAID I COULD USE MY CREDIT CARD,SO I DID. NOW I HAVE RECEIVED A BILL FROM MY CREDIT CARD COMPANY(WELLS FARGO(###-###-####). AND IT HAS A $20 FEE FOR A CASH ADVANCE PLUS INCREASED INTEREST ON SOLARITYS BILL THAT THEY SUBMITTED. WELLS FARGO SAYS IT'S THE BANKS FAULT BECAUSE THEY BILLED/RAN IT THAT WAY AND TO CALL THEM TO CHANGE THE MANNER OF BILLING. SOLARITY CREDIT UNION SAYS IT CAN ONLY BILL IT AS A CASH ADVANCE BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT A MERCHANT, THEY ARE A FINANCIAL INSTITUTION. THEY SAY ITS WELLS FARGO FAULT BECAUSE THEY ARE THE ONE CHARGING THE FEES FOR THE TRANSACTION ACCORDING TO MY CARDS TERMS AND CONDITIONS ON MY CREDIT CARD BUT WELLS FARGO SAYS THERE IS NOTHING IN THEIR TERMS THAT SAYS MY CREDIT CARD CAN ONLY BE USED AS A CASH ADVANCE(WITH FEES) IF I'M PAYING IN A FINANCIAL INSTITUTION. SO WELLS FARGO SAYS THAT THE TERMS OF PAYMENT ARE ON THE CREDIT UNION AND I GUESS THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN DISCLOSED TO ME BY SOLARITY. SOLARITY SAYS THEY DON'T HAVE THOSE TERMS AND IT'S THE CREDIT CARD COMPANYS FAULT AND TO CALL FOR THE THIRD TIME AND ASK THEM TO DROP THE FEE. THE POINT IS,SOLARITY CREDIT UNION TOOK MY CREDIT CARD AS PAYMENT BUT NEVER TOLD ME IT WAS GOING TO BE RUN AS A CASH ADVANCE OR I WOULD HAVE SENT A CHECK. BOTH INSTITUTIONS ARE POINTING FINGERS AT EACH OTHER. IF I WERE AWARE,I WOULD HAVE DECLINED TO USE MY CREDIT CARD AND JUST PAID BY CHECK TO AVOID PAYING EXTRA MONEY. NONE OF THE FEES OR EVEN THE TYPE OF TRANSACTION BEING USED WAS DISCLOSED TO ME BY ANYONE AT ANYTIME.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE MY FEES AND INTEREST REVERSED OR REIMBURSED WITH AN APOLOGY

Business Response:

To BBB:

Your letter addressed to **** ***********, President and CEO of Solarity Credit Union, was referred to me for review and response. The letter addresses the fee charged to ***** ******* resulting from a cash advance for a loan payment with Solarity Credit Union.

 

Several attempts were made to contact Ms. ***** ******* by telephone the week of March 26.  On Saturday, March 31, 2012, I spoke with her regarding her complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau. Our conversation clarified the actions that took place regarding her payment by credit card to her loan with Solarity Credit Union. Our discussion was a very pleasant exchange, and resulted in our reimbursing Ms ******* the $25.00 cash advance fee and the interest amount that was assessed to her.  In addition, we extended our apologies for our failure to meet our mutual member service standards.   A notification crediting her account will be sent to her on Monday

Sincerely,
******* ******* V.P. Sales & Service
Solarity Credit Union

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1