BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Solarity Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Solarity Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Solarity Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 11, 1964 Business started: 01/01/1939 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1939 Business incorporated 06/25/1951 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mrs. Mina Worthington, President/CEO Ms. Andrea Andeson, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Andrea Andeson, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mrs. Mina Worthington, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Financial Services

Additional Information

February 13, 2009 the Better Business Bureau has just learned of another telephone number used this scam text messages - (877) 355-9231.

Additional Information

February 10, 2009 we have just become aware that some calls regarding this scam are also from the telephone number (647)724-1303 appears to be coming from Ontario, Canada. Also 918-398-8335 and 330-259-1578 may be associated with this illegal activity.

Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 110 N 5th Ave
    North Fifth Ave Branch

    Yakima, WA 98902 (800) 347-9222 (509) 248-1720

  • 122 N 50th Ave
    Westside Branch

    Yakima, WA 98908

  • 171 Iron Horse Ct
    Terrace Heights Branch

    Yakima, WA 98901

  • 2811 Tieton Dr
    ATM @ Memorial Hospital, Main Floor

    Yakima, WA 98902

  • 308 Washington Ave
    Toppenish Branch

    Toppenish, WA 98948

  • 703 North Park Ctr
    Selah Branch

    Selah, WA 98942

  • 900 S Ruby St
    Ellensburg Branch

    Ellensburg, WA 98926

  • PO Box 2922

    Yakima, WA 98907


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $150.00 in negative fees with my actual balance only being negative 38.64. My balance now is negative 188.64. I was charged $25.00 5 times before my account was negative. I only had one purchase amount that was less then $40. Every time I try talking to them they tell me I was negative because of pending charges that haven't come out yet. But I could see the pending charges and was not negative for 5 of my purchases.

Desired Settlement: I realize that my account was overdrawn but it was only overdrawn from one purchase. I am wanting 5 of the 6 negative balance fees dropped and I will pay my negative balance including one negative fee. And I will close my account with Solarity credit union

9/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 11,2014 I checked my account balance online because I was expecting my income tax refund to be deposited the next morning. I discovered that my account was over drawn -$834.65. There were 70 charges of $1.07 from that I had never authorized. The bank told me to contact Amazon and figure out what happened. I contacted Amazon that same day and found out that there was a glitch in my kindle and it had caused these 70 charges to be authorized. My credit card information was on file because my daughter and I have bought things from them before. They sent me an email apologizing for the huge inconvenience and immediately refunded the 70 unauthorized charges. Well, these charges had ended up overdrawing my checking account and the bank charged me 28 over draft fees of $25 equaling $700! Once the original charges from Amazon were credited back to my account, I went into the bank and spoke to the bank manager (at the *** *** ****** ** *********). She told me that they were only willing to credit my account back $300 of the $700 they took from me!! I was extremely upset! I have since spoken to many friends and family members (a lot of them are current members of ******** ****** *****) and they all agree that since the charges were done in error, due to a computer glitch,and that Amazon has already acknowledged this and refunded my money, then the bank needs to do so as well. There are no longer any charges for them to charge me an overdraft fee ON! I have been dealing with the bank since then and today I told by the bank manager (at the ******* ******* location) that I needed to fill out a dispute and file a report with the police! How do you file a police report against a Kindle!!?? This is just the bank wasting more of my time and keeping my money in their accounts longer. A credit union is supposed to be not for profit and for the people and this is not what they did to me. This is extremely unethical.

Desired Settlement: Due to a lot of persistence, on my part, I have gotten the bank to refund $300 of the $700 they took from me. I want my remaining $400 applied back to my account. Since there are no longer any Amazon charges on my account they have nothing to charge me for. Therefore, I feel that they are blatantly stealing from me. I have enjoyed being a member of Solarity, as do my two kids and my family, but it is unacceptable to treat your customers like this!

Business Response:

We have attached a response letter to Complaint IC *******. While the transactions that initiated ** ********* complaint were not caused by any error on the credit union's part, we are refunding the requested amount to her account. 

** ********** ***
Solarity Credit Union

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


***** *******