BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Checking Account
Auto Loan
Savings Account
Boat/RV Loan
Certificates
Mortgage
VISA Card
Home Equity Line of Credit
IRAs


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that PrimeSource Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for PrimeSource Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on PrimeSource Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1981 Business started: 02/01/1935 in WA Business started locally: 02/01/1935 Business incorporated 03/11/1935 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

National Credit Union Adm.
1776 G Street N.W., Washington, D.C. 20456
Phone Number: (202) 682-9600

Type of Entity

Nonprofit

Business Management
Ms. Margaret Burkholz, CEO Ms. Renee Robertsen, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Annettee Babb, Vice President of Operations
Principal: Ms. Margaret Burkholz, CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Financial Services

Hours of Operation
THIS IS 2ND LOCATION - CREATED SEPERATE RECORD 11/1/11 = SEE 1000004382
Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 428 E 3rd Ave

    Spokane, WA 99202

  • 9208 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206

  • 9707 N Nevada St

    Spokane, WA 99218 (509) 838-6157 (800) 660-0444

  • PO Box 48275

    Spokane, WA 99228

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had taken out a loan from Primesource credit union. On may 8th of 2015 I called the company to ask how much was left on my loan as I thought it was paid off completely. After being passed around to about 5 different people , they finally tell me that I owe them roughly $11.00. So I give them my credit card info over the phone to take care of the $11.00. I was told my loan was now paid off and my title would be sent to the address on my registration within 8-10 weeks. I was very happy about paying off my first car loan. I woke up on June 8th 2015 to see that Primesource had done another automatic withdrawal on my account for $146.98. I was very confused by this because I had been told that my balance was completely paid. After talking with the company rep named ***** , she informed me that I owed $16.00 now because I had a $5.00 charge for delinquent payment and the company is only authorized to take exactly $146.98 from my bank account , even though I only owed $11.00 . This has overdrawn my bank account and caused excess charges to my account , I now have a negative balance of over $200 because this company pulled out $146.98 from my account which led to 2 over draft fees , my card would not have been overdrawn if this company had not pulled out $146.98 when I only owed them $11.00 which I was under the impression was already paid. I have been told there is nothing they will do about the charges to my bank account resulting from the overdrawn amount and was even told by the rep that I should learn how to budget better. The main problem is I gave my credit card info over the phone on May 11th to pay off the balance , they said my card was declined and the payment didn't go through , I'm convinced whoever took my card info over the phone did not enter it correctly because there was money in my bank account and the rep at the time told me everything was good to go. I'm being told this is my fault and they will not correct their own mistake. I paid a 24 month loan to them , every payment on time , never late , and because of $11.00 that I thought I had paid , I now owe bank of america $200 , have a late payment on my credit report , and am being told this is my fault. I do not see how a company can rightfully do this , I am extremely unhappy about this.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have all the money they owe me , plus any charges to my account that are a direct cause and effect of this, including any and all overdraft and returned item fees. I also want the delinquent payment taken off my credit report because I tried to pay them the $11.00 over the phone. I was not late on the payment.

Business Response:

PrimeSource Credit Union has had a relationship with Mr. ******* * ******* since April 2013. Our records indicate Mr. ******* called into the office to inquire about his auto loan on May 8th. At that time, he provided credit card information to pay the remaining balance of just over $11.00. At the end of the phone conversation, the employee attempted to process the credit card transaction which was declined. The employee attempted calling Mr. ******* back the same day to inform him the transaction was declined, and therefore the loan was not paid off however there was no answer and she was unable to leave a message. The same employee attempted to contact Mr. ******* again on May 21, and reached his sister this time. The sister indicated this was no longer Mr. *******’s phone number. The employee asked to leave a message with her name and number, and was allowed to do so. The employee waited until May 28 for a response before using alternative avenues to attempt and collect a good phone number for Mr. *******, but did not have any luck. At this point in time, PrimeSource Credit Union does not have a good phone number or a good address for Mr. ******* leading us without any way to communicate with him.

 

On June 8th, Mr. ******* called the office and spoke with a manager regarding PrimeSource Credit Union taking the full payment amount. The manager had a hard time explaining that the credit union recognizes the issue due to Mr. ******* being very upset, and that would be glad to help. Mr. ******* mentioned there may be fees at his other institution, but never gave specifics or provided documentation so the credit union could reimburse him for those. The manager attempted to give Mr. ******* several options to resolve, but was not able to complete the conversation before Mr. ******* ended the call abruptly.

 

PrimeSource Credit Union prides itself on our service, and our commitment to making members’ lives better. We apologize for any inconvenience this matter has caused.

8/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I currently have three motorcycles that are financed. During the winter we normally place the bikes in storage and make changes to our insurance to identify them as being in storage. Last fall after placing a motorcycle financed by Prime source in Storage I received a letter from their insurance broker stating that I needed to provide proof of insurance. I call the 1 800 number provided and gave them the proof of insurance requested. about a month later I received another letter. I went to their web site and uploaded documentation showing the proof of insurance. In May I received another letter stating that they have purchased additional insurance and the cost would be added to the total amount financed. I spoke with the primary point of contact the beginning of June and she stated she would do some research and get back to me. I missed her call on June 11th and returned her call on the 21st of June and left a message. I made countless calls between then and the last week of July and each time received a voice mail and left my name, number, point of contact and asked her to return my call. I finally spoke to her the last week of July and was told that the form I mailed in to get authorization to place my motorcycle in storage was never received by Primesource. Additionally that if I wanted to place my motorcycle in storage I would have to mail the tags to them. She told me that my only option was to pay the additional charges since it was my fault that they did not receive the request for storage authorization and in the future they would go out of their way to make sure the process was executed as designed. This is the first and only time that I have heard of anyone having to mail their tags to a creditor to place their bike in storage. I will go out of my way to make sure that no one I know ever finances a motorcycle with this company.

Business Response: PrimeSource Credit Union prides itself on providing exceptional member service and is disappointed that ** ********** feels he may have received anything less. The credit unions policy for insurance on all titled units is the same, which does require insurance be on the collateral at all times. The contracts signed between PrimeSource Credit Union and our members state all borrowers will provide the insurance for the term of the loan, so long as money is owed on the collateral. PrimeSource regrets that ** ********** is unhappy with his services. We would like the opportunity to research this issue and follow up with our member for a resolution.