BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Numerica Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 535-7613 14610 E Sprague Ave, Spokane Vly, WA 99216 http://www.numericacu.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Numerica Credit Union is a member-owned not-for-profit. They practice the philosophy of "People Helping People," which means giving back to the communities that they serve through volunteerism, fund-raising, and through corporate sponsorships & donations.  

Numerica also gives back to the community by ensuring that quality financial products and services are available to all people in all walks of life. They’re here to help people buy their dream home, retire comfortably, or start their own business. 

Numerica offers a full line of financial products and services, including mortgages and a full line of business products. Membership is open to anyone who lives or works in Washington or Northern Idaho. Numerica currently has over 90,000 members and over $1.2 billion in assets. 

More information about Numerica can be found at numericacu.com.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Numerica Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Numerica Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Numerica Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1937 Business started locally: 01/01/1937
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Nonprofit

Business Management
Ms. Lynn Ciani, General Counsell Ms. Kelli Hawkins, Communications Manager Ms. Jane Ronnfeldt, VP Marketing Mr. Scott Walker, Accounts Control Manager/AVP
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lynn Ciani, General Counsell
Principal: Ms. Karen Weis, AVP Risk Management
Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Planning Consultants Insurance Companies Insurance - Life Insurance - Long Term Care Annuities Insurance - Disability Investment Securities Loans Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Mutual Funds Financial Services

Products & Services

Numerica Credit Union offers the following product(s): Business Services, Checking Accounts, Credit Cards, Financial Services (Investment & Insurance), Loans, Mortgages, Savings Accounts

Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company is falsely posting negative information regarding late payments on my credit reports.

Desired Settlement: The information regarding late payments needs to be removed from my credit reports.

Business Response: Numerica has reviewed the complaint and has researched the member's payment history.  The negative information regarding late payments reported to the credit bureau was correct. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



Regards,

***** ****




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response: This letter is in response to a complaint that was filed with the Better Business Bureau by Mr. *** ***** on or about July 10, 2013.

Numerica also received a letter from Mr. ***** asking us to make an exception and split a refund check to himself and the other owner on the contract. We have since complied with his request and checks and letters to each party were issued on July 11, 2013.

As this issue has already been resolved I truly hope that Numerica met your satisfaction. If you have any questions, please feel free to call me directly at ###-###-####. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Numerica Credit Union repossessed my vehicle. They refused any kind of work out plan and demanded the full loan balance plus outrageous fees to get my vehicle back. I paid off the loan and fees within the redemption period. I got the vehicle back with a bent door and smashed weather stripping. Numerica couldnt even wait the 10 days required by law, or for a key, to break the driver door open and ruin it. Nor was there any reason to open it. I worked 22 hours a day to earn the redemption amount expecting to get my vehicle back in the condition it was taken.

Desired Settlement: I want to be compensated for a new door. The door Numerica destroyed is decreasing the vehicles value and function, compromises its safety, and was completely unnecessary.

Business Response:

 

Numerica Credit Union reviewed the member's complaint.  In this matter, Numerica reached out to the member via email, letters, and phone calls over 15 times prior to repossession to discuss the member's delinquency.  Each of those communications remained unanswered.  Due to the delinquency on the account and the failure of the member to respond to the communications, Numerica repossessed the car.  Numerica contracted with **** to repossess the vehicle.  Upon repossession, **** opened the car to inventory all personal property in the vehicle.  **** would be responsible for any damage to the vehicle upon repossession.   We reviewed the pictures of the vehicle taken by **** after repossession and we could not see the damage described by the member to the door.  The member may contact **** to seek recovery if the vehicle was damaged.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9521796, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Numerica Credit Union’s opinions of attempts to reach me with outdated contact information leading up to the repossession really isn’t relevant as this complaint regards issues with the repossession process.

 I am not a customer of said 3rd party “****” or any other company that Numerica Credit Union chooses to outsource services to.  They were hired, directed and paid by Numerica credit union, which should be responsible for holding those vendors accountable for their performance.

 A professional body shop of 27 years with current ASE certifications, experienced in vehicle damage, did see the described damage as well as damage to the front passenger door and estimate $551.11 to repair the damage.  Pictures and estimate of the damage are included.  I would like to be paid $551.11 for the damage done to my vehicle.


Regards,

*** ******




Business Response: May 23,2013

This is being sent in response to the damage claim to *********************

**** agent ****** gave a statement that he went in through the Passenger side door with a Slim Jim to unlock the unit.

At no point was there any attempt made to go in through the driver side door.

****’s policy is that any attempt to enter a locked unit is always done on the Passenger side door to avoid any claims on the Drivers side door as this is an area that most people assume damage would occur.

We will be happy to meet with the customer to review the damage with them.

Thank you,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9521796, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As a good faith effort to resolve this issue I called Numerica Credit Union’s vendor “****” several times. They offered no resolution, only that they would review the damage, which I have already had done by qualified professionals. It’s also a conflict of interest as physical evidence conflicts with the statement given by their worker. They are not legally responsible for the damage as Numerica Credit Union is. Finger pointing to dead end solutions isn’t an acceptable resolution.

Regards,

*** ******



Consumer Response: I have larger pictures if needed.  The marks in the fresh dirt from a tool or pry bar are still on the vehicle too for inspection.
Thanks,
*** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Complaint was resolved through BBB Arbitration

5/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have just paid off a loan that I had with Numerica at 7% interest. I had the loan for over 3 years and was never late or never missed a payment. I applied for a pre-qualifed loan to purchase another vehicle. I was pre-qualified and ready to purchase a vehicle when I happend to ask the loan officer what the interest was on the new loan. The loan officer, ****** ********, informed me it was 13%. He had not informed me of that when he pulled my credit report from Equifax that the score came back zero. I purchase my credit scores from Equifax that same day and let them know it was not zero with any of the three credit companies. I have talked with Equifax and Numerica and they both blame each other, leaving me with no credit score. Numerica will not accept my scores that I paid for with Equifax and the time limit(30days) for checking credit for an auto loan is almost up. The loan officer did not know this information, I found out from a car dealer. I am stuck in the middle with no recourse and not much time left to loan shop. I feel that Numerica is treating me unfairly and price gouging.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to accept my credit scores for the loan.

Business Response:


March 8,2013
Via Fax (###-###-####) and Regular Mail
Better Business Bureau 152 S Jefferson, Suite 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Attention: Mr. **** ********, Resolution Moderator
Re: Numerica Credit Union- Complaint - ID 9440307
Dear Mr. ********:

In response to the complaint referenced above the member who filed the complaint had filed a Chapter 7 bankruptcy which was discharged in 2012, The prior loan with Numerica was not reaffirmed in bankruptcy. Due to the recent,bankruptcy, the 13% annual interest rate was the best Numerica could offer.

When the member applied for a loan, Numerica requested a credit report from Equifax. Equifax has several models it uses to determine a credit score. The model used is different for a consumer who requests a score as compared to the models used for lenders. Numerica relies on a specific model provided by Equifax when underwriting its loans. As a result, Numerica cannot use the credit score she received from the credit bureau,

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at ###-###-####.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recently charged an overdraft protection fee twice for the same transaction. When I asked why I was charged twice, I was told that I am charged for the deposit on the Visa, and when the transaction actually clears. I was not aware of this policy and when I asked to have only one of the fees reversed, they refused. We have had fees reversed before within the last three months, but they were not for this situation. Even if I had deposited my paycheck before the transaction actually cleared, they had already charged me an overdraft fee, even though I was not in a negative balance.

Desired Settlement: I ask only that one of the fees be reversed. I will gladly pay the fee for the transaction when it processed. I do not feel that I need to pay a "what if fee". It would be like filing an insurance claim on an accident that almost happened. Doesn't make a whole lot of sense.

Business Response: Numerica Credit Union investigated this complaint.  The member was not charged two overdraft fees for the same item as claimed.  Rather, two overdraft protection charges were incurred on the same day but were for two separate transactions.  The charges incurred were in accordance with Numerica’s Courtesy Pay Overdraft Policy.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Numerica and asked why my balance was in the negative and they told me that Spokane Quick Lube charged me twice for one service which caused 5 overdraft fees. So I went to Spokane Quick Lube and showed them my bank statement saying that they charged me twice but their records show that for my service I was only charged once. So, the Quick Lube manager came with me to Numerica and showed him the credit card records showing that they did not double charge me, and Numerica had me call the credit card company and ask them what happened and they said that the bank approved that service twice (because I had to swipe my card twice because the machine lost signal) Therefore the bank made a mistakce and charged me twice for $120.59 at Spokane Quick Lube which made my balance in the negative and caused five overdraft fees.

Desired Settlement: I would like the bank to cancle one of the two charges frome Spokane Quick Lube and pay the overdraft fees and since I have direct deposit with them, The money will automatically be taken out to pay off the negitive ammount that I owe so I would like that money back as well, If it doesnt get taken care of before hand.

Business Response: NUMERICA
CREDIT UNION
July 24, 2012
Better Business Bureau 152 S Jefferson, Suite 200 Spokane, WA 99201
Attention: Mr. **** ********, Resolution Moderator
Re Numerica Credit Union- Complaint by Member ******* ******* ******* -
Dear Mr. ********:
In response to Ms. *******’s complaint referenced above, Numerica Credit Union has credited Ms. *******’s account with the amount of the overcharge and all fees charged to her account resulting from the overdraft caused by the overcharge have been refunded. Enclosed please find a copy of the transaction summary for Ms. ******* showing the refunding of the fees and the $120.59 overcharge.
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at ###-###-####.
Sincerely,
**** ***** General Counsel Numerica Credit Union

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reason: incorrect reporting of lates in March and February 2010(30 Days)

Desired Settlement: Resolution: immediate deletion from the credit report, as well as an official letter

Business Response: This email/letter is in response to the BBB complaint filed on May 22, 2012 regarding ******* ******** ****** and your case# 9047792. Mr. ****** believes that Numerica Credit Union has reported his credit incorrectly in February and March of 2010 and requests immediate deletion from the credit report as well as an official letter of such.  The account he refers to was included in a Chapter 7 Bankruptcy that was filed on October 13, 2005.  On the debtors statement of intent the Numerica Credit Union loan was retained but not reaffirmed. When this happens we suspend credit reporting. We have double checked how we are reporting and it shows we are not sending any information. If Mr. ****** has a copy of the report that shows that a bureau out there does show us reporting and can provide us with a copy we can look into this further. At this point, we have nothing we can correct.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Adminstratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9047792, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

The complaint was not the bankruptcy it was involving a more recient information

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

Business Response:

Our core system is not currently showing that we are reporting any late loans.  I am unable to see what would have been reported in February and March of 2010.

If you would please provide me a copy of the document  you are reviewing that reflects these late reports, I will review and provide response.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Adminstratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9047792, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

******* ******

 

 

Business Response:

Mr. ******

Please use the attached letter from Numerica as our official notification that your real estate loan with Numerica Credit Union should not be reporting late to any credit reporting agency.

If I can be of further assistance, please let me know.

***** ****

AVP Risk Management

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1