BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that HAPO Community Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for HAPO Community Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on HAPO Community Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 28, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1953 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1953
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

National Credit Union Adm.
1776 G Street N.W., Washington, D.C. 20456
Phone Number: (202) 682-9600

Type of Entity

Nonprofit

Business Management
Mr. David Schulz, Pres./CEO Ms. Crystal Sharnhorst, Executive Secretary for David Schultz Ms. Reyna Barajas, Branch Manager Yakima Mr. Dustin Brown, Branch Manager Walla Walla Ms. Ruby Campos, VP of Branch Operations Ms. Noemy Correa, Director of Branch Management Ms. Claudia Downey , Branch Manger HAPO Business Complex Ms. Paula Fuller, Branch Manager Nob Hill Mr. Francisco Guerero , Branch Manager Sunnyside Ms. Sarah Keyes, Branch Manger West Pasco Ms. Kristen Latta , Branch Manger Meadow Springs Ms. Janel Marino, Branch Manager Queensgate Mr. Enif Michael, Branch Manager Kennewick Mr. Reyes Navarro , Branch Manager Hermiston Ms. Lisa Nordin , Branch Manager Richland Ms. Nicole Prince , Branch Manager Southgate Ms. Erica Santos, Branch Manager Pasco Mr. John Schnellbach, Senior Vice President/CFO Ms. Cindy Soto, Branch Manager Terrace Heights
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Noemy Correa, Director of Branch Management
Principal: Mr. David Schulz, Pres./CEO
Principal: Ms. Crystal Sharnhorst, Executive Secretary for David Schultz
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Financial Services Payday Loans Banking Services Mortgage Lender Credit Cards & Plans

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Richland-Corporate Office
Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an auto loan and a credit card through HAPO. I have had one late payment on each, both of which dropped my credit score over 40pts- so over 80pts combined. A few things I would like to mention about their process/practices are; 1) I had a conversation with an "*****" in customer service and she told me that late payments weren't reported until after 60 days.I was then told it was in fact 30 days, with which even she was surprised. 2) I'm not sure if it is required of them, but I don't remember having gotten a courtesy call about either of my accounts until I received a call a few weeks ago on 6/9/2015. Again, I don't think they had ever given me a courtesy call, and if they had, it was so long ago that I don't remember. And after mentioning that to the woman who did cal, she said that they had a "*******" phone number for me which was a number from a residence I lived in 14yrs ago and I wouldn't have given to them(they clearly just found it online by searching my name and SS#) and 3) "HAPO's" online payment system is handled by a third party. When you chose to "Make a Payment" you are redirected, and notified that you a leaving the HAPO site. The payment page is EXTREMELY basic, not showing any mor details other than the last four digits of the account #, the date and the amount paid. It shows nothing about due dates, balances, etc.... In regards to the card, I thought my due date was the 15th of each Month and went online and confirmed I had made a payment on the 17th the previous month. In fact, my due date is the 21st. After figuring this out, I called and made a payment on the 34th day and the late payment had already been reported after 30 days. In regards to the late payment on my auto loan..a few Summers ago, I believe in July(I can find the specific date, but assume HAPO can provide it when we discuss this matter further), I had called to make a payment arrangement and have the funds taken out on a specific date to make the payment on the loan. I was told that that would happen for certain, but it never did. They even asked if I wanted to make an automatic payment on the credit card that same day, and neither happened. I eventually made a payment over the phone a few days later, but that went past the 30 days(for the auto loan) and it was reported to the bureaus, dropping my score(and my father's) by 42pts. That automatic payment did, however, come out of my account the following two months, which I did not authorize(that's not my complaint). After realizing that my credit score had decreased by 42pts, I put in a request(through the bureaus) that HAPO reverse it, explaining how/why it happened, expecting that they would have no problem doing that considering I had never been late on a payment, and they did not reverse it. I then called them to ask why it wasn't overturned, was transferred from customer service(who has ALWAYS been so helpful) to the Collections department. After speaking to one woman who was very pleasant, but couldn't explain in detail why it wasn't reversed..I asked to speak to a Supervisor in the Collections department. At that point a younger woman got on the phone and was incredibly rude! I don't remember her name, but again, I'm sure they have record of the conversations and that information. She seemed extremely irritated and was basically yelling throughout the entire conversation. She said, "You are implying that we did something wrong, and we didn't do anything wrong!! And besides, it's not like you have an exemplary payment history anyway!!" She said this because I typically pay within the "Grace Period" which another woman(in Customer Service), in a different phone conversation said to me that she does the same and, "that's why they have a grace period". But again, the Supervisor from the Collections department was extremely rude and insulting throughout the conversation. I didn't raise my voice once, and while it was ultimately just a misunderstanding and I thought they would have no problem reversing it, considering I had made my payments on time for about 4yrs at this point, she still said no.

Desired Settlement: Again, my credit report has been affected on two different occasions from late payments(one for the auto loan and one for my credit card). Otherwise, Ultimately, I would appreciate if adjustments were made in both instances, but if not, I am asking that they make an adjustment(on mine and my Father's credit report because both were affected) for the late payment reported on the auto loan because of the misunderstanding. Again, I was assured that the funds would come out on a specific date and they did not(I can provide bank statements proving the funds were in there on that date if needed). And for whatever reason, funds were taken out of my account the following two months for payment on the loan and the card. When defending the Bank about my late loan payment, the rude Supervisor made the comment that, "Well we can't even take funds out automatically unless you sign forms"..which I never did, yet the funds were taken out two consecutive months following the date we agreed on(again, that's not my complaint), but not on that date.

Business Response:

July 2, 2015

 

 

**** * *******

**** ***** ** ** * **** ********* ** *****

 

Re:         Complaint to Better Business Bureau ID#********

 

 

Dear *****

 

We received your complaint regarding your late credit bureau reporting on your auto loan and Visa financed with HAPO Community Credit Union.  We have contacted you via phone on June 29, 2015 to review your payment history as well as your complaints below.   

 

 

Complaint:  Reporting timeframes to the credit bureaus

 

All HAPO representatives pride themselves with providing the best service possible to our membership.  I would like to apologize for the confusion on the way we report to the credit bureaus.  We report auto loans at 30 days past due and our Visa Credit cards when they are delinquent for 2 cycles. 

 

 

Complaint:  Courtesy calls

 

HAPO is not required to make calls out on delinquent accounts; however we do strive to initiate a courtesy call when an account reaches a certain threshold.

 

Complaint:  HAPO’s online payment system

 

HAPO does use a third party vendor to process our payments. Because it is a third party vendor they have limited information regarding your account.  However, HAPO does offer online banking for your convenience. This service would provide you with the additional information regarding your payment history and an updated status on your loan or Visa.

 

Complaint:  Failed payment arrangement

 

I had the opportunity to discuss this with you over the phone, and came to a mutual recognition that it was a misunderstanding.  You had authorized HAPO to run you credit card on three different dates; however an automatic payment is a different type of transaction.  We agreed that is where the confusion is as to how these payments were negotiated.

 

 

Complaint: Member Service

 

After speaking to you on June 29, 2015, I (Collection’s Director) assured you that all HAPO representatives pride themselves with providing the best service possible to our membership.  I would like to apologize if that did not happen.  You confirmed that you were absolutely sure it was not a Manager you spoke to, after our conversation. 

 

I have personally reviewed your account and based on your account history and the circumstances we will be removing the late reporting on your credit for your loan and Visa.  This will also remove any reporting under your Father’s credit as well.

 

If you have additional questions, please feel free to contact HAPO at ************.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

**** ******

Director of Collections

HAPO Community Credit Union

 

 

cc:          Better Business Bureau

 

 

5/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've had a savings account with Hapo Community Credit Union for a few years now. I haven't used it much, mainly to cash birthday and holiday checks from family. After today, I will no longer do business with them and will adopt my husband's distrust of all banks and credit unions. I am going through an unnecessary child support process through the courts. I was told about this through a letter just today 5/15/15. I also received a letter from Hapo regarding the child support process. THIS IS NOT MY CHILD SUPPORT TO PAY, and the courts are looking into why I am being charged with this as I type this. Apparently, thanks to this letter, Hapo thinks they can withdraw $35 from my account and add an overdrawn fee for a total of $50. I had only $9.xx in this bank account at the time of this withdrawal. According to the bank manager, if there is no positive activity in the next 30 days, then they can put my account in collections. How is this ethical? My husband told the bank manager to just close my account and put it in collections. They will NOT be getting any money from me anymore, through collections or not.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the bank to zero out my account and place me back as even and not send anything to collections. I am still wanting my account to be closed, but I do not want any negativity to come out of this from my end.

Business Response:

Dear *********,
 
On May 13th, HAPO received an Order to Withhold and Deliver, also known as a Garnishment Order, from Washington State, Division of Child Support.  Upon receipt of any Order, HAPO is required to comply, and a $50 Legal Order Processing Fee is applied. 
 
After reviewing your account, we have processed a one-time fee reversal.  Any disputes regarding the Order must be directed to Washington State, Division of Child Support.
 
Please feel free to contact me directly with any additional questions or concerns.
 
***** ******
Director of Branch Management
HAPO Community Credit Union
** ************ *** *****

5/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ever since I refinanced, traded in my car for another one, and took my brother off the loan as he was a co-signer, I have had nothing but problems. If payment wasn't on the exact date it was due, I was getting phone calls and letters saying if I didn't pay I was going to have my car repossessed. When I tried paying online with my bank card, it went through as I saw it on my bank statement, then a few days later, it was gone and HAPO was saying I never paid it and I must have put in my information wrong, which made me behind on other bills as I had to use other bill money to pay them. I was making my payments to catch up and when I had help from the state of Oregon due to me being jobless at that time, they sent a check to HAPO and HAPO told me to "Have my bank cancel the check and put it back in my account, and pay it over the phone." I told them it wasn't from my bank, but from the State of Oregon and couldn't do that and that they needed to wait until they got the check in the mail since I mailed it 2 days prior. They continued to try and get me to pay it over the phone and I told them no. I continued to pay through either mail or online and come October they're trying to tell me I owe so much amount of money. I get a new job and give them $425.00 and thought that would pay Oct and Nov. Apparently that only covered past months and only part of October. Which means I somehow missed 4 months worth of payments and I know I didn't. When I contacted them they said to call them to talk about the issue. I couldn't call them because my cell phone was shut off for the past 3 months due to giving them every penny I had. One representative told me that I missed one months payment so payment in that month was for the payment missed in the previous month, and so on for a couple months. They told me I had missed March's payment and Aprils payment was for March, and Mays payment was for April. I had made 2 payments in April. 1 for March and 1 for April. When I asked why I am being told I didn't make Aprils payment when I did, I got ignored and another representative asked me a few days later when I was going to make my payment. I then asked again the same question, why I am being told that I didn't pay for April when I did, I got told to call to resolve the issue. My phone was still shut off at this time and got ignored yet again. Another representative contacted me about a week later for my payment. I again asked about Aprils payment and still was never told and keep getting harassed and being told that they're coming to repo my car due to nonpayment in October. I was asked when I was going to make another payment, and I told them I was going to try to on a certain date, and they are telling me I said I was going to be "In to make a payment" when I never once said that. I asked them for the email that said I was coming to their place of business and I never once said I was going to. I live 2 hours away from that place of business, and cannot easily travel to them due to the terrible road conditions in the winter where I live. I told them I can make a payment on the 4th of January and they told me to "clean out my car if I cannot make the payment by Dec 26th at noon." I just now got my car insurance back (haven't been able to afford it due to being jobless and giving every penny from having to be on welfare to HAPO to keep my car from being repossessed, and trying to keep my phone turned on which didn't work because it was shut off for months, and paying my electricity.) I have a temporary/seasonal job to pay my bills. I have tried to work with them but I get nothing but bad customer service and harassment. I not once got a letter in the mail saying I owe, how much, and for what month. Just emails and phone calls.

Desired Settlement: I would like an explanation of charges as to why I am being told I didn't make Aprils payment when on my loan account, it says I made the payment, and why all the other months are not paid for when I paid them. I would like a sincere apology from each representative that contacted me and harassed me. And a letter in the mail with my detailed payment which includes: The date I paid each payment(s), how much, how it was paid whether it was by phone, mail, or online since March of 2014.

Consumer Response: i my name is ****** *******, and I made a complaint about HAPO Community Credit Union. My complaint number is #********. The last email I got from you (BBB) said to contact you (BBB) if any new information came up. HAPO called me while I was working on December 30th and told me to call them so we can go over the issue. I quote "Hi ******, this is ****** calling from HAPO Credit Union. I was calling because we recieved a letter in the mail, if you could give me a call back I would like to go over it with you myself." I was unable to call back because I worked all week and by the time I got off, the business was closed. And now my car has been repossessed. So the dispute remains at issue. I have all the emails from everyone who has contacted me, would you like me to forward them to you?

Business Response:

Re:         Complaint to Better Business Bureau ID#********

 

Dear ******,

 

We received your complaint regarding your auto loan financed with HAPO Community Credit Union.  We attempted to contact you via phone on December 30, 2014 to review your payment history and were unsuccessful in reaching you.  Please find our response below. 

 

Complaint:  I would like a sincere apology from each representative that contacted me and harassed me.

 

All HAPO representatives pride themselves with providing the best service possible to our membership.  We apologize if this was not your experience.  As stated in your complaint, the majority of our communication with you was through email as you were without a phone.  In the instances we were able to speak with you, our representatives found it necessary to directly communicate the severity of your situation.  

 

Complaint:  I would like an explanation of charges as to why I am being told I didn't make Aprils payment when on my loan account, it says I made the payment, and why all the other months are not paid for when I paid them.

 

Below is a detailed explanation with regards to all your payments to date:

·       You purchased a vehicle on February 4, 2014.  Minimum payment due was $175.26 with a payment start date of March 21, 2014.

·       The first payment to your loan was received on April 16, 2014 in the amount of $150.00.  This did not fulfill your minimum payment requirement of $175.26 that was due on March 21, 2014.  For this reason, your due date was not advanced.   You needed $25.26 to complete the payment March payment.

·       The following payment was received on April 29, 2014 in the amount of $175.00.  This payment fulfilled the $25.26 needed to complete the March’s payment and your due date was advanced to April 21, 2014. This left you partial payment towards April payment of $149.74. You needed $25.52 to complete the April payment and advance you to May.

·       On May 23, 2014, we received a payment in the amount of $200.00.  This advanced your due date to May 21st.  It paid the $25.52 needed to complete the May payment. This left you a partial payment of $174.48 towards your June payment.  You needed $.78 cents to complete your June payment.

·       On May 29, 2014, HAPO received notice that the payment made of $200.00 on May 23, 2014 was returned by the paying bank.  This required the payment to be removed from your loan and it returned your payment due date to April 21, 2014 as well as your partial to $149.74, being short $25.52 to complete the April.

·       On June 13, 2014, a payment for $200.00 was received.  This payment advanced your due date to May 21, 2014. It fulfilled your $25.52 to pay April, leaving you with a partial of $174.48 towards May.  You needed $0.78 cents to complete May payment.

·       On June 17, 2014, HAPO’s Collection Department advanced your due date from May 21, 2014 to June 21, 2014 as you were only short $0.78 to complete your next minimum payment.  This $0.78 cents is now due to be collected at the end of the loan.

·       On June 23, 2014, HAPO received notice that your payment made on June 13, 2014 for $200.00 was returned by the paying bank.  This required the payment to be removed from your loan and it returned your payment due date to April 21, 2014.  Due to this payment being returned, the advance done on June 17, 2014 from May to June was also reversed making the loan due for April 21, 2014 - as if the payment from June 13, 2014 was never received. This left you with a partial payment of $150.52, short $24.74 to complete a payment. However this total should have been a partial of $149.74 and short $25.52, but because we decided to move the $0.78 cents to be collected to the end of contract, the amount changed by the $0.78 cents.

·       On June 27, 2014, a payment for $180.00 was received.  This payment advanced your due date to May 21, 2014. This fulfilled the $24.74 to complete the April payment leaving you with a partial of  $155.26, and needing $20.00 to complete your May payment.

·       On July 22, 2014, a payment for $200.00 was received.  This payment advanced your due date to July 21, 2014.  This fulfilled the $20.00 to complete your May payment, it made your June payment of $175.26 and left $4.74 towards your July payment.

·       On July 25, 2014, HAPO received notice that your payment made for $200.00 on July 22, 2014 was returned by the paying bank.  This required the payment to be removed from your loan and it returned your payment due date to May 21, 2014, and a partial of $155.26, and needing $20.00 to complete you May payment

·       On July 28, 2014, we received a payment for $ 195.00. This payment fulfilled the $20.00 needed to complete your May payment, and gave you a partial payment of $175.00, leaving you short $0.26 cents to complete your June payment.

·       On August 7, 2014, HAPO’s Collection Department advanced your due date from June 21, 20014 to July 21, 2014 as you were short $0.26 cents to complete your next minimum payment.  This $0.26 cents will be collected at the end of the loan.

·       On August 13, 2014, a payment for $160.00 was made; the payment was short $15.26 to complete the July payment. 

·       On September 10, 2014, HAPO’s Collections Department advanced the due date form July 21, 2014 to August 21, 2014 as you were only short $15.26 to complete your next minimum payment.  This $15.26 will be collected at the end of the loan.

·       On October 28, 2014, we received a payment for $200.00 this made your August payment and a partial payment of $24.74 towards your September payment.

·       On November 10, 2014, we received a payment for $225.00 this completed your September payment and a partial payment for $74.48 towards your October payment.

·       On December 2, 2014, we added insurance to your loan, because the unit had no coverage as required on the contract. The amount added to your loan was for $1,228.00.  The payment changed from $175.26 to $359.88 for 9 payments beginning in December 21, 2014.

 

In summary, per your Contract, HAPO should have received 9 payments for $175.26 and 1 payment of $359.88 a total of $1,937.22 for this loan to be current.  HAPO has received a total of $1,285.00 in payments toward this loan, making it short in the amount of $652.22.  For this reason, HAPO made the business decision to repossess the vehicle. 

 

Complaint:  I not once got a letter in the mail saying I owe, how much, and for what month. Just emails and phone calls.

 

Letters regarding the status of your loan were mailed to the address on file on the following dates:

·         April 7, 2014

·         April 22, 2014

·         April 25, 2014

·         May 8, 2014

·         June 11, 2014

·         July 11, 2014

·         August 25, 2014

·         September 25, 2014

·         September 26, 2014

·         October 10, 2014

·         November 25, 2014

·         December 12, 2014

·         December 26, 2014

 

Per your request, statements have been mailed to the address on file including details on how the payment was made.

 

If you have additional questions, please feel free to contact HAPO at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** ******

Director of Branch Management

HAPO Community Credit Union

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid off a truck loan (2008 Chevy Silverado, #******) but HAPO has failed to release/provide the title to me despite repeated requests.

Desired Settlement: Release and mail title to me

Business Response:

Dear *** ******,

We apologize for the added delay in the release of your title.  On September 26, 2014, your title was released and mailed to you via UPS. 

Please review the following series of events as an explanation as to the delay:

o   On July 11, 2014 the loan to the 2008 Chevy Silverado was paid in full

o   On July 25, 2014 a cross-collateralization inquiry identified that your checking account ******* had an outstanding balance owed in the amount of $28.44 from August 2, 2011  For this reason, the title was not released

o   On September 11, 2014, you called HAPO’s Contact Center and were advised of the outstanding balance.  You were notified that the title would be released

o   The title request was submitted pending an address change

o   An internal control failed and the address change was not completed

o   On September 26th, you were contacted via phone after the receipt of your complaint.  Your address was updated and you were notified that the balance in your savings account, of $17.05 would be taken to satisfy the outstanding balancing

o   The UPS tracking number was sent to you via the email provided

Please feel free to contact me directly with any other questions at ************ *** *****.

Thank you,

***** ******

Director of Branch Management

HAPO Community Credit Union

** ************ **** ***** ** ************ *********************

5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife obtained a credit card from HAPO shortly after she moved to Yakima, WA. We got married in 2010, and in 2012, we moved to Tacoma, WA. We ensured that a mail forwarding form had been completed when the move took place, and if I remember correctly, we paid off the balance on the card before we departed from Yakima, with the intent to keep the card to use only in dire emergency. We lived in a rental home in Tacoma, WA from 2012-2013 before we bought a house on 8/8/2013 and moved again and, again, we filed a mail forwarding form for the credit card statements. This entire time, we did not receive a single statement in the mail. My wife used the card a few months ago apparently for something or other, and we continued to not receive a bill. Finally, on 4/29/2014, my wife received a telephone call from HAPO informing her that her balance was overdue and she owed $50 in fees. Panicking, my wife paid the bill without considering if HAPO was in the wrong. I contacted HAPO and explained the situation, requesting ultimately that the fees be dismissed as we made good-faith efforts to ensure that our statements, if any were forthcoming, would find us, given that we had the mail forwarding in place. I was initially told (after the woman I spoke with conferred with her supervisor) that they would not refund the fees at all (likely because my wife had already paid them). I informed them that we would have no choice but to terminate our card and the connecting savings account required. The woman I spoke with then spoke to her supervisor again, and I was told that one of the two $25.00 late charges would be removed, but the other would stand. I, again, said that we wanted to terminate the card/account. The woman began to be obnoxious and told me that we would have to wait until 5/27/2014 for the account to terminate, after which we would be refunded the $25.00, and my wife would receive an e-mailed form that would need to be signed and sent back. I informed the woman that I was glad that the form was going to be e-mailed, as it seemed that HAPO clearly had problems with using the mail. I was sarcastically told to have a nice day. I returned the sarcasm and bid her farewell.

Desired Settlement: HAPO rescinds the remaining $25 fee, refunds whatever money my wife paid (minus that required to zero out the bill) and the credit/savings account are closed.

Business Response:

*** ******,

 

Thank you for your inquiry.  I would like to apologize for the manner in which your initial inquiry was handled.  I have personally reviewed your account and based on your account history and the circumstances described in your complaint, we have refunded the additional charge.  These credits were refunded to **** *********'s VISA and then transferred back to her HAPO Savings account.

 

We pride ourselves in delivering the highest service possible to our members and would like to apologize again if that was not the service you received.  All employees involved have been addressed as well as coached in looking at each situation individually.  We hope you and **** ********* accept our apology and continue to give us the opportunity to continue serving you.

 

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me directly. 

 

Thank you,

 

  **** ****** *********** ******* ************ **** ***** ********************

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, with the following stipulation: the credit/savings account with HAPO be closed as soon as possible. These accounts are not being used.

Regards,


******* ******

4/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a savings account with HAPO in March of 2013. Without any type of communication with me, they reduced the balance down to $1 this month, and took the rest as an "inactivity fee." I consider this stealing and deliberately shady. Then they sent me a letter demanding that I deposit more money into the account. I just called and closed my account with this shady credit union, but I would like the money they stole from me returned. I am also contacting the Washington State Attorney General's office, and the ******** ****** ***** ************** ***** **** ******.

Desired Settlement: Give me back the money you stole from me for the "inactivity fee."

Business Response:

*** *******,

Below you will find a brief explanation giving cause for the inactive fee:

·         Per HAPO’s Membership Agreement part B , an inactive account is subject to an inactive fee.  An account is considered inactive if the account does not have any transactions in a full year and has a balance less than $50.00.

I would like to apologize for the manner in which this was handled.  Our representative should have explained the fee and requested additional assistance.  I have refunded the charge and a check has been mailed to the address on file.

Please feel free to contact me directly with any additional questions.

Thank you,

***** ******

Director of Branch Management

HAPO Community Credit Union

** ************ **** ***** ** ************

*********************

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have over paid on a car loan and have tried to recover funds for a month . I have called twice since January. I wanted my account closed and a refund sent. a good company would of completed the tasks at hand. I am older I don't have time to track down money owed to me. shame on the secretary and business. the account number for the loan is *******

Desired Settlement: I want my money from this account. I want it in one week.

Business Response:

Dear *** *********,

Please accept our apologies in regards to not receiving the monies owed to you.  The following is a brief explanation of the events that transpired.  I will also attempt to contact you directly in order to assure your monies are received promptly.

·         On February 27, 2014, a representative in our Contact Center assisted you over the phone.  Per your request, the funds in your savings account were disbursed as a cashier’s check and the account was closed.  Check #****** in the amount of $262.48 was mailed to the address on file:  ***** ***** ** *** ******* ***** *** *****

o   $5.00 base deposit + $92.20 overpayment on 11/12/2013 + $165.25 overpayment on 12/11/2013 + $0.03 dividends = $262.48

In researching this complaint, we determined that the cashier’s check mailed to you on February 27th has not cleared.  HAPO will be placing a stop payment on check #****** and reissuing it.  I will be attempting to contact you by phone to confirm the mailing address. 

As for your complaint regarding contacting HAPO on January 23rd, we apologize, unfortunately we are unable to confirm that a representative assisted you on this date.

Please feel free to contact me directly with any additional concerns.

Thank you,

***** ******

Director of Branch Management

HAPO Community Credit Union

** ************ **** ***** ** ************ *********************

8/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged overdraft fees for a charge that never cleared my account. HAPO explained to me that on 8/6/13 a hotel tried to charge my debit card. At the same time I had legitimate charges clear my account so they automatically transferred money from savings and charged me $20. On 8/12/13 when I went online to view my account there was no hotel charge. I can't even see what HAPO is talking about. The hotel charge did NOT clear my account, there is no hotel even listed on my account history. I always had a positive balance. Despite an erroneous hold on my funds from an unknown vendor who never actually charged my account HAPO refused to reverse overdraft fees, despite the fact I was never actually overdrawn. When looking at my transaction history I always had a positive balance. I asked if I could make a dispute because when I have an erroneous charge on my account I am allowed to dispute it. I was told that because the charge never actually occurred there is nothing to dispute - but HAPO still charged me a $20 fee which seems to contradict the fees they charged me.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $20 fees

Business Response:

I have credited your account the $20 in transfer fees received due to the ******** pre-authorization.  When hotel reservations are made, they will pre-authorize the transaction for the full amount on the card given to hold the room.  While they do not complete the transaction and the funds are not withdrawn, the funds are on hold and unavailable until the pre-authorization expires.  It is strongly recommended that hotel reservations be made with a credit card to avoid the funds being unavailable to the customer. Please review the following series of events for explanation regarding the transactions causing fees in your HAPO Checking account. ·         At the close of business on August 6, 2013 the balance in your HAPO CCU checking account was $348.36 with an available balance of $318.83.  The following items were pre-authorized causing the difference in your balance to available balance: o   $13.21   ********** ******** o   $3.22     ******* o   $7.99     ***** o   $5.11     **** ***** ·         On August 6, 2013 at approximately 6:20 pm a debit pre-authorization was received from the ******** Seattle in the amount of $588.36.  This transaction was authorized using overdraft protection.  The balance in your checking account after the ******** preauthorization was -$269.53. ·         On August 7, 2013 your pending transactions from August 6th were completed by the merchants and posted to your account, however, the funds were no longer available due to the ******** hold.  The system automatically transferred the available funds from your savings account to cover the authorized transactions.  These transfers result in a $5.00 fee per transfer. ·         On August 11, 2013 at approximately 8:39 pm the pre-authorization placed by the ******** Seattle expired and the hold on the funds was released.  This is typical of hotel charges. If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you, **** ****** VP of Branch Operations ###-###-#### ****************.org

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.


Regards,


****** ********

7/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

Mr. *****’s complaint had been researched from January 1, 2013 to July 7, 2013 and the following findings have been found: ·         Mr. ***** has a savings account with HAPO Community Credit Union ·         On June 13, 2013 at 10:34 am, Mr. ***** visited the HAPO Business Complex Financial Center (HBC) and deposited $50.00 cash ·         The following transaction for Mr. ***** was completed at 10:35 am which was  a cashier’s check in the amount of $50.00 payable to US Cellular. Mr. ***** then returned to the HBC at 11:30 am stating that he did not need the cashier’s check.  The check was endorsed by Mr. ***** and documented “Not Used for Purpose Intended” and then deposited into Mr. *****’s savings account at HAPO From January 1, 2013 to July 7, 2013, please note that: Mr. ***** has had any returned items marked as NSF from his savings account. Mr. ***** has not been charged any return item fees from HAPO. HAPO has not declined any transactions from Mr. *****’s savings account that have been authorized by him Please feel free to contact us with any other questions.

5/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: issurance policy that covered unemployment that was excessive and did not understand. Also the dealer sold it to me unaware of what i was signing!He misrepresented it to me and the cost.

Desired Settlement: i want any monies for this policy refunded or applied to vehicle amount owed.

Business Response:

Re: ID# 9529743

Dear Ms. *****,

Our records indicate that your loan with HAPO Community Credit Union, originated in April, 2006.  On May 9, 2006, GAP and Debt Protection disclosures were signed and acknowledged as an added protected to your loan.  Debt Protection Plan 2 in which was elected, has following coverage:

·         Disability: Cancels up to 6 Payments per occurrence (12 Payments Max)

·         Involuntary Unemployment: Suspends up to 3 Payments per occurrence (6 Payments Max)

·         Family Leave: Suspends up to 3 Payments per occurrence (6 payments Max)

Our records indicate that throughout your loan history, you have applied and been approved for payment suspension under Involuntary Unemployment. Our records indicate additional claims were denied  due the  maximum number of  payment suspensions already utilized and not meeting the requirement of 6 continuous months of employment prior to filing your next claim.

Attached are all supporting documentation including the original signed agreement and any letters sent from Minnesota Life regarding Debt Protection claims. For your security, the account number has been blacked out.

As for reimbursement of past premiums, this loan has been covered and  benefits have been utilized so therefore we are unable to grant your request. If you would like to cancel the remaining protections under Plan 2,  please visit the nearest branch location to sign and acknowledge cancellation of coverage and any future premiums.

Thank you,

**** ******
HAPO Community Credit Union
Vice President of Branch Operations
###-###-####  Ext. *****
Ruby.campos@hapo.org

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9529743, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



The insurance was sold to me by owner/salesman of the car dealership, single page document from hapo was not filled out when i signed it., Thats why i asked how much a month is policy. he responded equal to 2 payments so i figured 74 payments instead of 72. They deducted my insurance from each payment and did not contact me and say your short the insurance you sgned for. i believe they did this to cover up the price of the policy. I have disability on my state farm policy i carry. There was no transperency to payments and policy, i dont know if car dealers are insurance salesman! And work on behalf of hapo.


regards, ****** *****