BBB Accredited Business since

Global Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 455-4700 GlobalHQ  1520 W 3rd Ave, Spokane, WA 99201 https://www.globalcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Global Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Global Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Global Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 10/10/1954 in WA Business started locally: 10/10/1954 Business incorporated 02/14/1997 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

National Credit Union Adm.
1776 G Street N.W., Washington, D.C. 20456
Phone Number: (202) 682-9600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Madri, President Ms. Marcia Spry, Member Services Manager Mr. Jack L. Fallis, Jr., President/CEO Ms. Abigail Franklin, VP Marketing & Strategy Ms. Yvonne Holland, Vice President of Branch Administration Ms. Andrea Sewright, Web Ms. Mary Starkey, Senior VP of Operations/COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Madri, President
Principal: Ms. Marcia Spry, Member Services Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Starkey, Senior VP of Operations/COO
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Financial Services

Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • GlobalArgonne  9227 E Montgomery Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206 (509) 455-4700

  • GlobalCDA  320 E Neider Ave

    Coeur D Alene, ID 83815 (208) 765-0606

  • GlobalFairchild  107 E Spaatz Rd

    Fairchild AFB, WA 99011 (509) 455-4700

  • GlobalHQ  1520 W 3rd Ave

    Spokane, WA 99201 (509) 455-4700

  • GlobalKennewick - Inside Yoke's Fresh Market  1410 W 27th Ave

    Kennewick, WA 99337 (509) 737-2640

  • GlobalPasco - Inside Yoke's Fresh Market  4905 N Road 68

    Pasco, WA 99301 (509) 737-2650

  • GlobalPost Falls  3640 E Seltice Way

    Post Falls, ID 83854 (509) 455-4700

  • GlobalShadle  2401 W Wellesley Ave Ste F

    Spokane, WA 99205 (509) 455-4700

  • GlobalSullivan  315 S Sullivan Rd Ste A

    Spokane Vly, WA 99037 (509) 455-4700

  • PO Box 3200

    Spokane, WA 99220

  • Spokane Home Loan Center  726 W Riverside Ave

    Spokane, WA 99201

  • Tri-Cities Home Loan Center  8836 W Gage Blvd Ste 202A

    Kennewick, WA 99336 (509) 737-2601

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been with this credit union for over 20 years. The last 3 months I have received a total of $493.00 worth of NSF Fees. As I'm taking responsibility for my own actions, this amount is absolutely ridiculous! They put a larger amount through first then process all these small amounts to bounce! This should be illegal!! I have NEVER asked for them to remove any NSF fees EVER! All i ask is that they remove at least half of these fees. This is getting me further and further in debt without getting caught up EVER! on 10.9.14 I tried to talk to someone at the bank and they refused without even looking at my account. I then contacted a "chat" representative to help me and she said she was unable to that I would need to speak with her manager ***** *******. She gave me her phone number which I have tried calling and leaving 2 messages. I also have tried emailing her on 10.15 & 10.16 without ANY response. PLEASE try to reach out to this bank to help me resolve this very LARGE issue.

Desired Settlement: half of the NSF fees of $246.50

Business Response:

Global has received Better Business Bureau case ID ********.  This complaint is that a Member issued personal drafts that Global paid using the overdraft coverage product, Advantage Pay.  The Member contends that Global inflates fee income by posting drafts by order of largest item first.  The Member was charged for each item Global paid using Advantage Pay at $29.00 each, for a total of $493.00 on seventeen items presented non-sufficient funds (NSF). 


This Member is familiar with how Global processes drafts, having incurred thirty-four NSF returned items in 2013 and eight in 2014.  The Member was provided the benefit of Advantage Pay beginning July 2014.  Global has saved the Member the embarrassment of vendor contact to collect payment on insufficient funds draft.  


Global provides the Membership & Account Agreement at account opening which is also available upon request and posted on the public website for easy access.  Any changes to this disclosure require a new disclosure be delivered to the Member prior to any provision changes.  This disclosure provides the required explanation of the order in which drafts are applied to the account.    A copy of the current Membership & Account Agreement disclosure is provided as reference. This agreement explains that drafts are processed to allow the largest and perhaps most important items to be paid first.


Global charges the same fee for returning an item unpaid NSF as for paying an item using overdraft coverage.  There is no daily limit for the amount of fees that can be charged for NSF items, but Advantage Pay fees are limited to 6 per day, or $174.  Global offers Advantage Pay as a courtesy to cover draft and ACH transactions; the Member can elect out of this service, but will incur an NSF fee in place of an Advantage Pay fee, if an item is presented without sufficient funds.  Global offers this service to reduce the negative impact of having an item returned NSF.


Global appreciates the opportunity to reply to this complaint; The Member has received the benefit of overdraft coverage and is familiar with the fee process.  The Member would have incurred the same fees if the items had been returned unpaid.  Global has fully disclosed policies and practices and therefore will not refund fees for use of the product.  The Member is encouraged to contact Global to investigate if there is another product that may be more appropriate for overdraft coverage, such as a savings account, or an open-end loan product.       


 

 

10/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened my account with Global Credit Union and was not told about the specific practices about depositing money through the ATMs and how holds would be placed on checks. I deposited a check for $80.00 in the ATM and a hold was placed on it. I was given courtesy fees of $29.00, which they call "advantage pay". I spoke with someone in the branch about the fees and was told there was nothing they could do because it was standard policy, despite being a first time customer and a new bank account. I immediately closed my account. Then, I called a manager at the downtown branch, and explained the situation and was given all the fees back and explained the policies in better fashion. I decided to reopen the account. I was told to deposit checks in person to avoid holds. And that cash would be fine in a ATM, with the first $200 generally available the next business day. Since that incident, I was careful not to overdraw or deposit anything that would have any holds. On 9/19/14, I deposited $440 CASH into the ATM at the downtown branch, and I was never notified of ANY holds on CASH! It was my money, there was no funds to debate on if there was any availability or not....it was cash, saving for my rent money. I didn't even utilize the funds immediately either. But, somehow....they charged me 3 more "advantage pay" fees for $29.00 each taking almost $100 of my October rent money....and for WHAT???? It was cash...there was nothing to verify about the funds being there! CASH is CASH! And I was told there was no holds on it!

Desired Settlement: I want all of my $29.00 advantage pay fees to be reversed. It was MY CASH that I didn't have to put into the ATM that day and use their business. I didn't overdraw my account! I didn't do ANYTHING wrong with my money. I had no CHECK....it was CASH!!!! They shouldn't be putting a hold on it because I was told they don't! And if this isn't resolved I will go to every news station in this town and tell them how much of my money they have taken from me in the 5 months my account has been opened. I want my money returned to keep my business there, and my mouth closed to the news, twitter, facebook, and anyone else I can manage to tell the hundreds that Global has taken by not representing their business in the right manor or explaining things as needed to be!

Business Response: October 10, 2014 Global has received Better Business Bureau case ID ********. This complaint is that a Member deposited $440 into a Global Automated Teller Machine (ATM) on Friday 9/19/2014 and that the funds were placed on hold. Prior to the hold release on 9/22/2014, the Member had three transactions, an ATM cash withdrawal at another location and two purchases that were authorized on the debit card using the Advantage Pay (Overdraft Program). The Member was charged for using Advantage Pay at $29.00 each, for a total of $87.00. Global provides required disclosures at account opening which are also available upon request and posted on the public website for easy access. The disclosures include the Membership & Account Agreement, Electronic Funds Transfer Agreement and the Funds Availability Disclosure. Copies of each disclosure are provided as reference. In addition, Global provides convenient branch hours and a call center to provide answers to questions. This Member elected to receive a debit card for convenience and has opted-in for Regulation E authorization to allow Global to initiate Advantage Pay in the event of non-sufficient funds to authorize purchases, which includes ATM withdrawals, up to the daily overdraft limit calculated by an automated dynamic system. Each use of Advantage Pay incurs a fee of $29 up to a maximum of $174 per day. The Member was sent Advantage Pay disclosure on 4/16/2014. The Member has documented within the complaint a prior issue with an ATM check deposit hold and that after refusal to reverse the fees, the account was closed at the Member’s request. The Member presented the case again and was provided full refund of all fees incurred in May 2014 and the account was re-opened with the refund of $174 on May 20, 2014. The Funds Availability Policy was explained to the Member at that time as documented in the complaint. Global also provides disclosure at each ATM that it owns or operates as required by law. The ATM used for the Cash deposit has a notice physically posted on the outside of the machine: Availability of Deposits Notice Funds from deposits may not be available for immediate withdrawal. Please refer to your institution’s rules governing funds availability for details. In addition, in order to proceed with an ATM deposit, the user must positively accept the disclosure on the ATM screen that reads: Availability of Deposits Funds from deposits may not be available for immediate withdrawal. Please refer to your institution’s rules governing funds availability for details. The receipt from the ATM deposit would also indicate the deposit date, time, location, amount, account balance and the available account balance. The availability of the disclosure prior to the deposit provided the Member ample opportunity to cancel the transaction. The receipt following the transaction provided the Member opportunity to manage the account balance. The ATM where the cash deposit was transacted provides envelopes to enclose deposits and places all Global deposits on hold in accordance with our check hold policy. The ATM does not include recognition software to identify currency and verify check deposits, so all deposits are treated as check deposits. Deposits are collected and verified each weekday morning and any holds on cash deposits are manually released upon verification. Global offers one ATM at the Shadle Branch that does have the newer recognition software to identify cash deposits and make funds immediately available. In addition, Global has multiple branches with drive up locations for the convenience of our Members. Advantage Pay is offered as a courtesy to avoid frustration and embarrassment when a debit card does not authorize due to insufficient funds. The Member can elect to reverse the Regulation E Opt-in election and remove Advantage Pay coverage from the account to avoid future fees on debit card overdraft transactions; this will cause Global to reject future transactions that are submitted on insufficient funds. Global also offers Advantage Pay as a courtesy to cover draft and ACH transactions; the Member can elect out of this service also, but will incur an NSF fee in place of an Advantage Pay fee, if an item is presented without sufficient funds. Global offers this service to reduce the negative impact of having an item returned NSF. The threat posed by the Member is unfortunate, social media can have a very negative affect on businesses; it can also have a very positive outcome used in the appropriate manner. Global appreciates the opportunity to reply to this complaint; The Member received a fee reversal of $174 in May 2014 for the same reason. Global has adequately disclosed policies and practices and has worked directly with this Member to explain best uses of the products that Global has to offer.

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Global Credit Union illegitamately charged fees against a loan that I have with them. There were a total of thirteen $30 dollar fees that were charged against a car loan. There was also one payment that was applied to another loan that was not mine. I had to contact my bank and get photo copies of all of my checks and provide them to Global for them to fix it. While the fees were reversed there was no notification that these fees were being charged. No statement was ever issued via mail, email, or phone. No comment was ever given when I periodically called to check on the balance. I did not notice this was occuring until over 2 years after the fees were charged when i called to pay off the loan. The problem is that this reduced the principle that was paid on my loan. In turn additional interest was charged to me by the bank. I was told that there is only 60 days to dispute incorrect charges. As far as i'm concerned I should not have to check on my loan every month to verify if the bank is ripping me off or not. I never recieved any statements, and they are basically stealing from me because they are holding the vehicle title hostage till the balance of the loan is paid off which is higher than it should be. I am forced to pay the extra money so that it does not negatively affect my credit score. I will never work with Global Credit Union again.

Desired Settlement: I want this to be posted so that other consumers are weary of working with Global Credit Union. It should be illegal to charge interest against illegitamate fees with no notification that they are occuring. I also don't believe that as a consumer you should be held accountable for a banks mistake, and the burden should not fall on you to ensure that the financial institution you have chosen to work with is not ripping you off.

Business Response: May 3, 2013

Better Business Bureau
**** ********
152 S Jefferson Ste 200
Spokane WA 99201

RE: ID 9504980

Dear Joel,

We received your e-mail dated 5-2-2013 regarding a complaint filed by ******* ******. After
researching Mr. ******’s concern about late payment fees on his loan and not receiving a
notification from Global Credit Union, the below is our conclusion.

When payments are not made on loans by the contractual due date our normal procedure is to
contact the borrower by mail and by phone. This was the case with Mr. ******. Several Past
due payment notices were sent to Mr. ****** starting back in 11-2009. In addition, when we
still did not receive payment, phone calls were made to Mr. ******. Our call records indicate
phone calls were made and conversations with Mr. ****** were tracked regarding his past due
payments on the following dates; 7-2010, 10-2011,2-2012, 3-2012, 3-2012, 10-2012, 1-2013
and 2-2013. We even have noted Mr. ****** called us on 7-2-2010 because he received a late
notice from us.

Our records do indicate Mr. ****** changed his mailing address with us in May of 2012. At no
time before, after, or during any of our phone calls with him did he inform us he was not receiving
a statement.

Our late fee disclosure is part of the contract our member’s sign when they sign the contract for
the loan, in addition it is listed on the late fee notice, and the statement.

Global Credit Union is concerned about the burden charging late fees can be for our members, so
we send notices and make phone calls to try and prevent late payments. This is also why when
Mr. ****** contacted us on 4-12-2013 regarding his payoff amount, we reversed $319.00 of
those late fees and applied this amount to the principal balance of the loan to assist Mr. ******
in paying off his loan, which he did on 4-15-13.

If you have any further questions please contact me.

Sincerely,

*** *****
Vice President Lending