BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Global Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Global Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Global Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 10/10/1954 in WA Business started locally: 10/10/1954 Business incorporated: 02/14/1997 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Madri, President Ms. Marcia Spry, Member Services Manager Mr. Jack L. Fallis, Jr., President/CEO Ms. Abby Franklin, Marketing Manager Ms. Yvonne Holland, Vice President of Branch Administration Ms. Andrea Sewright, Web Ms. Mary Starkey, Senior VP of Operations/COO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Madri, President
Principal: Ms. Marcia Spry, Member Services Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Starkey, Senior VP of Operations/COO
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Financial Services

Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • Argonne Branch - 9227 E Montgomery Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206 (509) 455-4700

  • Coeur d'Alene Financial Center - 320 E Neider Ave

    Coeur D Alene, ID 83815 (208) 765-0606

  • Fairchild Branch - 107 E Spaatz Rd

    Fairchild AFB, WA 99011 (509) 455-4700

  • Kennewick Branch - 1410 W 27th Ave

    Kennewick, WA 99337 (509) 737-2640

  • Main Branch - 1520 W 3rd Ave

    Spokane, WA 99201 (509) 455-4700

  • Member Business Services - 726 W Riverside Ave

    Spokane, WA 99201

  • North Spokane Branch - 2401 W Wellesley Ave Ste F

    Spokane, WA 99205 (509) 455-4700

  • Pasco Branch - 4905 N Road 68

    Pasco, WA 99301 (509) 737-2650

  • Post Falls Branch - 3640 E Seltice Way

    Post Falls, ID 83854 (509) 455-4700

  • Sullivan Branch - 315 S Sullivan Rd

    Spokane Vly, WA 99037 (509) 455-4700

  • Tri-Cities Home Loan Center - 8836 W Gage Blvd Ste 202A

    Kennewick, WA 99336 (509) 737-2601

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened my account with Global Credit Union and was not told about the specific practices about depositing money through the ATMs and how holds would be placed on checks. I deposited a check for $80.00 in the ATM and a hold was placed on it. I was given courtesy fees of $29.00, which they call "advantage pay". I spoke with someone in the branch about the fees and was told there was nothing they could do because it was standard policy, despite being a first time customer and a new bank account. I immediately closed my account. Then, I called a manager at the downtown branch, and explained the situation and was given all the fees back and explained the policies in better fashion. I decided to reopen the account. I was told to deposit checks in person to avoid holds. And that cash would be fine in a ATM, with the first $200 generally available the next business day. Since that incident, I was careful not to overdraw or deposit anything that would have any holds. On 9/19/14, I deposited $440 CASH into the ATM at the downtown branch, and I was never notified of ANY holds on CASH! It was my money, there was no funds to debate on if there was any availability or not....it was cash, saving for my rent money. I didn't even utilize the funds immediately either. But, somehow....they charged me 3 more "advantage pay" fees for $29.00 each taking almost $100 of my October rent money....and for WHAT???? It was cash...there was nothing to verify about the funds being there! CASH is CASH! And I was told there was no holds on it!

Desired Settlement: I want all of my $29.00 advantage pay fees to be reversed. It was MY CASH that I didn't have to put into the ATM that day and use their business. I didn't overdraw my account! I didn't do ANYTHING wrong with my money. I had no CHECK....it was CASH!!!! They shouldn't be putting a hold on it because I was told they don't! And if this isn't resolved I will go to every news station in this town and tell them how much of my money they have taken from me in the 5 months my account has been opened. I want my money returned to keep my business there, and my mouth closed to the news, twitter, facebook, and anyone else I can manage to tell the hundreds that Global has taken by not representing their business in the right manor or explaining things as needed to be!

Business Response: October 10, 2014 Global has received Better Business Bureau case ID ********. This complaint is that a Member deposited $440 into a Global Automated Teller Machine (ATM) on Friday 9/19/2014 and that the funds were placed on hold. Prior to the hold release on 9/22/2014, the Member had three transactions, an ATM cash withdrawal at another location and two purchases that were authorized on the debit card using the Advantage Pay (Overdraft Program). The Member was charged for using Advantage Pay at $29.00 each, for a total of $87.00. Global provides required disclosures at account opening which are also available upon request and posted on the public website for easy access. The disclosures include the Membership & Account Agreement, Electronic Funds Transfer Agreement and the Funds Availability Disclosure. Copies of each disclosure are provided as reference. In addition, Global provides convenient branch hours and a call center to provide answers to questions. This Member elected to receive a debit card for convenience and has opted-in for Regulation E authorization to allow Global to initiate Advantage Pay in the event of non-sufficient funds to authorize purchases, which includes ATM withdrawals, up to the daily overdraft limit calculated by an automated dynamic system. Each use of Advantage Pay incurs a fee of $29 up to a maximum of $174 per day. The Member was sent Advantage Pay disclosure on 4/16/2014. The Member has documented within the complaint a prior issue with an ATM check deposit hold and that after refusal to reverse the fees, the account was closed at the Member’s request. The Member presented the case again and was provided full refund of all fees incurred in May 2014 and the account was re-opened with the refund of $174 on May 20, 2014. The Funds Availability Policy was explained to the Member at that time as documented in the complaint. Global also provides disclosure at each ATM that it owns or operates as required by law. The ATM used for the Cash deposit has a notice physically posted on the outside of the machine: Availability of Deposits Notice Funds from deposits may not be available for immediate withdrawal. Please refer to your institution’s rules governing funds availability for details. In addition, in order to proceed with an ATM deposit, the user must positively accept the disclosure on the ATM screen that reads: Availability of Deposits Funds from deposits may not be available for immediate withdrawal. Please refer to your institution’s rules governing funds availability for details. The receipt from the ATM deposit would also indicate the deposit date, time, location, amount, account balance and the available account balance. The availability of the disclosure prior to the deposit provided the Member ample opportunity to cancel the transaction. The receipt following the transaction provided the Member opportunity to manage the account balance. The ATM where the cash deposit was transacted provides envelopes to enclose deposits and places all Global deposits on hold in accordance with our check hold policy. The ATM does not include recognition software to identify currency and verify check deposits, so all deposits are treated as check deposits. Deposits are collected and verified each weekday morning and any holds on cash deposits are manually released upon verification. Global offers one ATM at the Shadle Branch that does have the newer recognition software to identify cash deposits and make funds immediately available. In addition, Global has multiple branches with drive up locations for the convenience of our Members. Advantage Pay is offered as a courtesy to avoid frustration and embarrassment when a debit card does not authorize due to insufficient funds. The Member can elect to reverse the Regulation E Opt-in election and remove Advantage Pay coverage from the account to avoid future fees on debit card overdraft transactions; this will cause Global to reject future transactions that are submitted on insufficient funds. Global also offers Advantage Pay as a courtesy to cover draft and ACH transactions; the Member can elect out of this service also, but will incur an NSF fee in place of an Advantage Pay fee, if an item is presented without sufficient funds. Global offers this service to reduce the negative impact of having an item returned NSF. The threat posed by the Member is unfortunate, social media can have a very negative affect on businesses; it can also have a very positive outcome used in the appropriate manner. Global appreciates the opportunity to reply to this complaint; The Member received a fee reversal of $174 in May 2014 for the same reason. Global has adequately disclosed policies and practices and has worked directly with this Member to explain best uses of the products that Global has to offer.

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Global Credit Union illegitamately charged fees against a loan that I have with them. There were a total of thirteen $30 dollar fees that were charged against a car loan. There was also one payment that was applied to another loan that was not mine. I had to contact my bank and get photo copies of all of my checks and provide them to Global for them to fix it. While the fees were reversed there was no notification that these fees were being charged. No statement was ever issued via mail, email, or phone. No comment was ever given when I periodically called to check on the balance. I did not notice this was occuring until over 2 years after the fees were charged when i called to pay off the loan. The problem is that this reduced the principle that was paid on my loan. In turn additional interest was charged to me by the bank. I was told that there is only 60 days to dispute incorrect charges. As far as i'm concerned I should not have to check on my loan every month to verify if the bank is ripping me off or not. I never recieved any statements, and they are basically stealing from me because they are holding the vehicle title hostage till the balance of the loan is paid off which is higher than it should be. I am forced to pay the extra money so that it does not negatively affect my credit score. I will never work with Global Credit Union again.

Desired Settlement: I want this to be posted so that other consumers are weary of working with Global Credit Union. It should be illegal to charge interest against illegitamate fees with no notification that they are occuring. I also don't believe that as a consumer you should be held accountable for a banks mistake, and the burden should not fall on you to ensure that the financial institution you have chosen to work with is not ripping you off.

Business Response: May 3, 2013

Better Business Bureau
**** ********
152 S Jefferson Ste 200
Spokane WA 99201

RE: ID 9504980

Dear Joel,

We received your e-mail dated 5-2-2013 regarding a complaint filed by ******* ******. After
researching Mr. ******’s concern about late payment fees on his loan and not receiving a
notification from Global Credit Union, the below is our conclusion.

When payments are not made on loans by the contractual due date our normal procedure is to
contact the borrower by mail and by phone. This was the case with Mr. ******. Several Past
due payment notices were sent to Mr. ****** starting back in 11-2009. In addition, when we
still did not receive payment, phone calls were made to Mr. ******. Our call records indicate
phone calls were made and conversations with Mr. ****** were tracked regarding his past due
payments on the following dates; 7-2010, 10-2011,2-2012, 3-2012, 3-2012, 10-2012, 1-2013
and 2-2013. We even have noted Mr. ****** called us on 7-2-2010 because he received a late
notice from us.

Our records do indicate Mr. ****** changed his mailing address with us in May of 2012. At no
time before, after, or during any of our phone calls with him did he inform us he was not receiving
a statement.

Our late fee disclosure is part of the contract our member’s sign when they sign the contract for
the loan, in addition it is listed on the late fee notice, and the statement.

Global Credit Union is concerned about the burden charging late fees can be for our members, so
we send notices and make phone calls to try and prevent late payments. This is also why when
Mr. ****** contacted us on 4-12-2013 regarding his payoff amount, we reversed $319.00 of
those late fees and applied this amount to the principal balance of the loan to assist Mr. ******
in paying off his loan, which he did on 4-15-13.

If you have any further questions please contact me.

Sincerely,

*** *****
Vice President Lending

2/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a loan contract with Global CU on my car. Our loan contract clearly states that our loan is due on the 30th of each month with a fifteen (15) day grace period before any late fees will be access. Global decided that our grace period is three (3) days. No where in our contract does it state that the terms of the contract can be changed for any reason. Then with our contract 7 days past our grace period, Global took our vehicle payment out of checking account without authorization or notice. Again, nowhere does it state in our contract that they can take our payment out our bank account at their discretion. The loan contract does NOT contain a provision allowing either party to modify the agreement.

Desired Settlement: We want a return of the unauthorized payment and return of all improperly charged late fees.

Business Response:
Better Business Bureau Case # 8857148
******* ********** **** ** ** **** ******* ******* ** *****
Dear ***** **********,
The payment that you inquired about was taken from your checking account on the 21st day of December. At that time your account was 21 days delinquent. Your loan payment was due November 30th. Today, December 30th- 2011, you paid your November 30th- 2011 payment. As a courtesy the funds that were taken from your checking account were redeposited on December 23rd, 2011. We appreciate that you called us to make payment arrangements, making it possible for us to redeposit the funds. Global Credit Union does have the right of offset on all accounts. You will find this in the pamphlet that you received in the mail. This is also on the back of your contract, in paragraph 7 under default. It states,
"Time is of the essence under this contract. If any of the following occur, I will be in default. (A) I fail to pay the full installment when it is due." Under rights and remedies on default it states," if I am in default you can, without prior notice, require me to pay the remaining balance and all charges at once. You can use all remedies the law provides you." In your pamphlet it states, "If any account owner is indebted to us, we may enforce our rights against any account of the indebted owner, including all funds in the joint account, regardless of who contributed the funds."
In October of 2008 you were mailed a notice that appeared on you October statement that the 15 day grace period had been changed to a 5 day grace period before a late charge would be assessed.
I hope this clears up the questions that you had about to your payments and late charges. Thank you for your inquiry and payment arrangements. Please contact us again if you have any questions or need our assistance at ###-###-####.
*** ***
CREDIT UNION


Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Adminstratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8857148, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.Global credit union did resolve the issue of taking a payment without asking. However, their response indicates that they only want to be held to the contract when it favors them. The attached loan contract does NOT allow for unilateral changes in the loan. In particular, the grace period.

Regards,

***** **********

 

 

Business Response:
Dear Ms. **********
***** * ********** **** ** *** **** ******* ****** *** *****I’m glad we were able to explain to your satisfaction why Global Credit Union debited your account for the late payments, and that we were able to resolve that matter.
When you obtained the loan to purchase your vehicle and opened your account at Global Credit Union, you signed the enclosed Membership Card. The Membership Card states that by signing the Card, you agreed to all of the terms of the Account Agreement that was provided to you at that time, and to any amendments to the Account Agreement Global may make. The Account Agreement applied to all of your accounts at Global, including the loan for the vehicle. Pursuant to the Account Agreement, Global changed the grace period and late fee effective November 15, 2008 as indicated by the notation on the September 11, 2008 to October 10, 2008 account statement that was sent to you.
Although Global Credit Union was entitled to amend the Account Agreement, in order to resolve the confusion about the amendments relating to the grace period and late fee, Global is willing post a principal reduction to your loan account in the amount $493.00 for the past late fees assessed on your account. We hope by this action we completely resolve your complaint.
Sincerely, ^
*** ***
VP Special Credits
Global
CREDIT UNION

www.globaicu.org

1/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE ONCE HAD A BANKING ACCOUNT WITH GLOBAL CREDIT UNION. I HAD A COUPLE OF CHARGES THAT APPEARED ON MY ACCOUNT AND DISPUTRD THROUGH THE PROPER CHANNELS. AS OF 17TH JANUARY 2012 MY ACCOUNT WAS CLOSED OUT BY GLOBAL CREDIT UNION SAYING THAT I DEFURDED MY ACCOUNT. IN THIS CASE THAT IS A LIE. I HAVE BEEN SEVERING AS A MILITARY POLICE OFFICER FOR 7 YEARS, I KNOW THE LAWS. THEY CLOSED MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT LEETING ME KNOW BEFORE HAND. WHILE DEALING WITH THE DISPUTED CHARGES I WAS DEALING WITH A WOMAN BY THE NMAE OF *****. SHE WAS COMPLETELY RUDE AND INCONSIDERATE OF MY AND FEELINGS REGARDING THESE TRANSACTIONS. WHAT AS HAPPENED TO THE AMERICA WHERE THE BANKS WORK FOR THE PEOPLE. I DEFEND MY NATION AND GET TREAT LIKE DIRT BY A BANK.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE FOR ***** TO BE FIRED AND THE BANK TO GIVE ME WHAT THEY OWE ME AFTER THAT TAKE MONEY FORM MY TAX REFUND CHECK ON 25 JANUARY 2012. I WANT THE BANKS TO HAVE TO SEND OUT LETTERS AND KEEP THE ACCOUNT OPEN FOR A MIN. OF 30 DAYS. THAT IS NOT TO MUCH TO ASK.

Business Response:
Dear Mr. ********,

On October 6, 2011 you filed a dispute against ******! stating that the charge for $406.21 was not authorized by you and that you did not use ******l. Global filed your dispute in good faith and the merchant was debited for the amount of $406.21.

On December 21, 2011 you filed another dispute against ******l for $144.19 and one for an AAFES charge of $182.15 and demanded immediate credit. It was disclosed to you that the ******l charges were Vodafone phone charges and the AAFES charge was from ******** ***** for home delivery. Twice, in emails, a Global representative reviewed the charges with you and made you aware that your dispute would be filed as fraud against these companies. You were also told if the charges turned out to be valid we would consider it deliberate fraud against Global Credit Union

On January 17, 2012 Global received copies of statements from ******l and ********.

******l provided information showing that you opened your account with them in May when you first arrived in Italy. You signed up for a special discount offer which included phone services, some free calls to the United States and internet services. Looking back on your account we found phone charges from Vodafone, which is ******l, in May, July and September that were not disputed, but the charges in October and December were disputed.

******** provided a signed copy of an order to have a cooler rental and water delivered to your home from June to November. The contract that you signed gave the merchant authorization to charge your debit card.

A letter has been mailed regarding your closed accounts with Global Credit Union due to your action ve issues. We do regret the

necessity of closing your accou jft us no other choice.
*** ***

Vice President of Special Credits
CC. BBB case #8890601

Foils
Sincerely,
Per our conversation, once your tax refund has been posted to your account, all overdrafts and fees will be paid. The remaining balance may be withdrawn at the branch, or you may make other arrangements.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Adminstratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8890601, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Thank You,

 

******* *******