This business is not BBB accredited.

Sphyra, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (877) 928-0305 621 N Argonne Rd Ste 100, Spokane Vly, WA 99212 https://www.sphyra.com/ ! There is an alert on Sphyra, LLC !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers credit card processing equipment and services. Leases for the equipment are handled by First Data Global Leasing of FL, and Executech Lease Group of Vancouver, WA. Processing payment contracts are handled by iPayment, Inc. of Thousand Oaks, CA.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Sphyra, LLC include:

  • Government action(s) against the business

Factors that raised the rating for Sphyra, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Sphyra, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 30, 2008 Business started: 04/01/2007 in WA Business started locally: 04/01/2007 Business incorporated 03/29/2007 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington State Department of Licensing
PO Box 9034 , Olympia WA 98507-9015
https://fortress.wa.gov/dol/dolprod/bpdLicenseQuery/Default.aspx
Phone Number: (360) 664-0116
Fax Number: 360-705-6699

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Rebecca Jensen, CFO
Business Category

Credit Card Processing Service Factoring Service Point of Sale Systems Accounting Services VOIP (Voice Over Internet Protocol) Sales & Service Gift Certificates/Cards Bookkeeping Service Automated Teller Machines Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies

Refund and Exchange Policy
We are happy to work with all customers on any issues they might have. Please call Customer Relations at 877-928-0305, Ext. 273.
Alternate Business Names
The Home Office

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sphyra, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    621 N Argonne Rd Ste 100

    Spokane Vly, WA 99212

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9212 E Montgomery Ave Ste 400

    Spokane Vly, WA 99206

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2545 Farmers Dr Suite #140

    Columbus, OH 43235

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5100 W Lemon St Ste 110

    Tampa, FL 33609

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6500 S Quebec St Ste 210

    Centennial, CO 80111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6500 S Quebec St Ste 210

    Centennial, CO 80111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    960 W Elliot Rd Ste 112

    Tempe, AZ 85284

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After several years using there credit card processing service it was getting difficult to get any customer service(extremely long waits on hold, sometimes more than an hour) After getting more competitive bids with real service I once again tried to contact them thru customer service, again on hold indefinitely, after thirty minutes I gave up and got a new credit card processor. When I cancelled my service I was charged $250.00. Seems to me I should be able to cancel my service because of poor customer service with out being penalized.

Business Response:

Mr. ******,

Per your merchant account contract, your account is subject to an early termination fee if closed prior to 36 months of opening.  Our records show your account was opened August 6, 2013 and closed May 4, 2016.

We apologize for any difficulties you may have had reaching customer service. We know last fall was especially busy due to the EMV upgrade requirements, and hold times were much longer than normal. This has since been resolved, and you should not have had such an extended wait for service.

As a courtesy, we are requesting a refund of your ETF, as you were only a couple months short of fulfilling your contract terms. Please call us directly at 877-928-0305 ext. *** if you have any further questions about your account or the refund.

Best regards,

Rebecca J*****

11/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our account was closed and verified on 10/08/2015. On 11/03/2015 I noticed a $250 cancellation fee on my bank statement. I called and spoke with *******. He stated that it was in my contract and I explained to him that it was marked out in my contract as well as initialed. He agreed and said that would be refunded back to me in 3 to 5 days. On 11/13/2015, I called back using another number. I spoke with *******. He told me he would have to transfer me to customer service since they were the one who initiated the refund. After being on hold for a lengthy time, I called back. This time I spoke with *****. I explained everything again and she began to transfer me to customer service and I told her that I only get put on hold forever. She told me they would have to be the ones to handle the refund. I told her on the BBB website there was a number for refunds and this was it!!! She asked what number I called. I repeated it . Then she said yes and didn't understand why it was sent over there. She said she would have to get involved herself and would get back with me just as soon as she found something out. She said it normally takes 10-15 days for a refund. I told her that they had no right to take this amount to begin with and she said it was probably and accident. on 11/17/2015 I called and spoke with *****. I told him I spoke with ***** and the whole story, he said he works closely with ***** and sees the notes she made. He told me he was going to check into it and get back with me.. Later that day he did get back with me and said because I require my refund to be in a check and not ACH, I needed to take a screen shot of the charges from my bank account and fax it to him. He gave me a number and said it was his fax line, that way it would come directly to him. I repeated the number ************. This was at 4:30 pm. I prepared the document with the cover sheet, tried to fax it and. it was his voicemail. I left a message explaining that I was trying to fax the documents he requested but the number he gave me was his voice mail. I stated the time of 4:50 and that the business would be closing at 5. He could call and leave a message on the machine or call back tomorrow. 11/18/2015 NO PHONE CALL

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back. I do not have time to always be on the phone trying to get back my money that they had no right to take.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

We sincerely apologize for the delay in getting refunds to the client. The client did call the bank to obtain a refund on 11/3/15. The bank did not process her refund request right away, and we apologize for the error. This refund was never in dispute, but there must have been an error in the process at the bank, as the original refund request was not completed. When the client called in to our direct support line on 11/13, our protocol is to send the call back to the bank to inquire into the refund. This client did not want to wait on hold, so a member of our support team let her know she would follow up with the bank to get the refund processed without her having to wait for a bank agent. In order to expedite the refund request, we recommended the client submit a bank statement to us showing proof of the charge, so we could request the refund on her behalf. We requested the bank statement from the client in an effort to expedite the refund on 11/13.

Our office was hit by a severe storm that knocked out our computer system, phones and email from the afternoon on 11/17 until approximately 9am 11/19. A member of our support team called the client back on the morning of 11/19 to follow up, as we had not yet received the requested bank statement. The client probably did attempt to send her bank statement to us while we were unable to respond on 11/17. We apologize, as we do have backup systems in place to prevent this situation, but our backup systems were also out due to the severity of the storm. We talked to the client again the afternoon of 11/19 to confirm we not longer needed the statement, and also confirmed the bank was processing the refund. Per the bank, a refund check is now on its way. The client will receive the refund within 5-7 business days and it will be mailed via check to **** **** ******* ******* ****** ** *****.

We sincerely apologize for this delay and the billing error, as the client should not have been charged $250. We understand the client is losing patience with  us, but we are doing our best to get her the refund to her as soon as possible. Additionally, we discovered another billing error with the terminal insurance going out of the client's bank account after the account closed. This was an error at the home office and we have issued the client a check in the amount of $35.95 to account for the cost of the stop payment she had to place as well.  We called the client to confirm the address and are processing the check today.

Please let me know if there is anything else we can do to assist the client at this time. Again, we are very sorry for the inconvenience and billing errors.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** ****

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed this complaint before and the company said they would return my money,but never did.They had a rep come in my store and sell me a contract stating the only fees would be at the time credit cards were used.In truth as I found out they charges other fees.Still waiting for my refund.All info was given in a prior BBB complaint,as to costs etc..

Desired Settlement: Refund of the money I gave them.

Business Response:

Dear ******,


Please accept this as the formal response on behalf of Sphyra to the complaint referenced above. I have reviewed your complaint, all notes, emails, statements, etc and completed a full investigation.

I will address your complaint as to the specific points you referenced. First, you stated that you previously filed a complaint with the BBB and were requesting refunds promised to you; however, I cannot find any record of that.  I show you have asked for refunds multiple times and they have not been approved. However, we did waive your annual fee and lower your monthly minimum from $25 per month to $10 per month in June 2013.

We communicated to you on several occasions that your account could not be cancelled without a cancellation form. The form was sent to you via email two times and snail mailed for a third time on 9/18/13. Unfortunately, had you closed your account by returning the closure form, you would not have been assessed the fees you are disputing.

Looks like you currently have a balance due in the amount of $25.  However, as a courtesy, since you did not process on the account and there are allegations of misrepresentation, we are waiving that $25 collections balance.

Also, to ensure this relationship is ended amicably, we are refunding you for 3 months of your $5 statement fee, as well as 2 months of your $10 monthly minimum fee. You were not charged these fees for August as they were waived. We also waived the cancellation fee of $350. The remaining fees on the account are non-refundable.

I hope this resolves your concerns and we can all move forward from here. 

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *******

Legal Resolution Manager

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed contract for their services and got a list of charges correct with the contract I signed. Started getting billed for charges not on my contract and asked for another copy of the contract from them. Found that they had written in amounts on the contract after the fact in their system. They changed a signed contract to suit their needs. After this came to light, I contacted them, sent copies of all the paper work I had and waited for a response for over 30 days. I contacted them later after I received a call from a collection department, and was once again told that the matter would go to upper management to be reviewed. Their response was to take off $19.45 off a bill of $142.45 which leaves a balance of $123.00. This I paid due to the fact that I am a small business starting out and do not need this on my credit report. Their business practice is unethical and Illegal.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund check in the amount of $123.00

Business Response: *** *****,

 
In response to the recent complaint you filed against us with the BBB, we stand by our previous decision. You were only refunded debit fees you paid per your complaint you filed with our office previous to pursuing us via the BBB.
 
First, to address your complaint about the numerous things added onto your contract after it was submitted, we only received a complaint from you in regard to the debit fee, nothing further. You agreed to the remaining fees on the account. You signed the attached agreement and that is not in dispute. 
 
Second, to better understand why you were only previously refunded $19.45, the remaining amount you have requested to be refunded ($123.00) was the processing fees you paid for credit card transactions that were not in dispute. 
 
Third, our office completed a full investigation to include: reviewing all notes, emails, telephone calls, processing statements and documents you submitted. We confidently feel the resolution to refund you debit processing fees was the most fair option to resolve your complaint.
 
Thank you for your previous business with us and we apologize this matter can not be resolved to your amicable resolution. 
 
Best Regards,
 
***** *******

12/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was approached by a Merchant Services Direct salesman in June of 2012. The salesman was very pushy and insisted that the credit card processing would work exactly as I explained that it needed to with Quickbooks. I was attimate that this service MUST integrate with Quickbooks seamlessly. After 4 months, still no luck. I was charged a $150 setup fee and about $65 dollars every month to date (11/8/2013). I called in and requested a cancellation in October of 2012 with all fee's waived. I was told that I would have to try working with their technical department to integrate MSD Pay with Quickbooks. After hours and hours of trying again, no luck. This company has taken over $1000 of my money and I have not had a single successful transaction processed. I called again, today 11/8/2013 and still the representative told me that I would have to wait to until the cancellation could be approved through the manager again. Over a year later and this is still not resolved. I do not care that there was a contract. I specifically told the rep that if this service did not work for our business that I did not want it. DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY!

Desired Settlement: I would like all fee's returned, the initial $150 setup fee refunded and the cancellation fee waived. The the account closed forever.

Business Response:

Dear ****,

This email is to respond to the above referenced complaint. Please accept this email as the formal response on behalf of Sphyra.

This merchant claims that we were never able to integrate his account with Quickbooks; however we called him three times in October 2012 to get him set up to integrate with Quickbooks. The merchant never returned our calls.

We will gladly refund the merchant monthly fees for the months he was unable to process because he wasn’t set up correctly up to the time we tried to contact him to get set up. At this time, we are offering to refund the following: June 2012-September 2012 monthly fees: $25 monthly minimum and $5 statement fee. The total refund, upon his acceptance of this offer, will be $120. Additionally, for this merchant’s trouble and in an effort to end this matter as amicably as possible, we will waive his ETF.

We are still able to service this account for the merchant if he chooses to stay with the company. We can get him set up with Quickbooks if he calls us to complete the integration. We can also do a full rate review to potentially save him even more money if he chooses not to close his account. If the merchant still wants to close his account, the offer above stands. He will need to complete the attached cancellation form and return via fax to: ************ or by mail to the address below.

***** *******

Resolutions Manager

*****.*******@Sphyra.com

*****@Sphyra.com

*** ************ * *** ************ *** * ******* *** ***** *** ******* ******* ** *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ******



****,

Their reply is not accurate, regardless of what their internal notes reflect.  I sat on the phone on 3-4 occasions for HOURS trying to get the integration to work.  Different reps, different departments, manager, sales rep, etc...  The plug-in for Quickbooks was available but did not work at the time for Quickbooks Premier 2012.  Nobody could help me and no voicemails were ever left with our company which I never replied.  Emails were also exchanged.  The last time in 2012 that I spoke with MSD, I requested they close the account as no resolution had been made.  That is the last I ever heard from them.  Come to find out they never closed the account and they charged us since 2012 until present!  I want every penny that has been charged to our business refunded.  Any other amount is not acceptable.  This company has done nothing but waste my time and money.  I have read even the attorney general filed a lawsuit against them in early 2013.  I am sure this is not the first case against this company and I can guarantee it won't be the last.  
**** ******
********* *** **** *********** ** *** * **** ********** ** ***** ************

Business Response:

Hi ****,

There is nothing more that we can do for this merchant. We feel that the offer we put on the table was appropriate given the situation.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience. I will go ahead and get this refund processed for the merchant as promised, even though he did not accept our offer.

I will also reiterate, in order to close the account down he needs to complete the Closure Form I emailed with our response and fax it back to ************.

Thank you,

***** *******

Resolutions Manager

*****.*******@Sphyra.com

*****@Sphyra.com

*** ************ * *** ************ *** * ******* *** ***** *** ******* ******* ** *****

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

**** ******


I have attached the closure form.  I will also be sending this to the representatives email and fax.  I require a full refund of all funds withdrawn from my account since the sales rep entered my building.  

**** ******
ROCKRIDGE 4WD
**** *********** *** ***** * **** ********** ** ***** ************
******************** *****************************

Business Response: In response to this merchant's rejection, I have processed the closure form he submitted and have requested refunds for June 2012- September 2012 monthly fees. A total refund of $120 should be processed within the next week, but could take up to 15 business days.

Additionally, this merchant contacted me via email yesterday regarding account charges for November. Since the account was not closed by the end of November, the merchant was charged November monthly fees. I have inquired into getting those fees refunded; however, I am not making any promises. I will update the BBB and **** once I hear back on what we are able to refund for November. 
Thank you,
***** *******
Resolutions Manager
Sphyra, LLC

11/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel totally ripped off by this company. They are deceitful and crooked in their practices. I was approached by a representative that wanted to show me their credit card services. The young man filled out paper work even though I said I was undecided about transferring my business to their company. I wanted to compare prices with my processor. He said he would not process me till he checked back with me. I did not hear back from him and in a few days I received a terminal. I was furious and called the company. I returned the terminal unopened and called the company and stated that I did not confirm this and was very upset that he processed me any way. I did not want to switch to their company when their practices were so underhanded.They have a voice recording of that conversation. I was sent a cancellation form which to the best of my knowledge I sent back. I never received a call telling me there was a problem with it not coming back. I have NEVER used there company. I have not processed a dime with them and I found out that they have been charging me for approximately a year and a half around $700. dollars worth of charges. I thought the charges were from my current processors and did not question it. After finding this out I contacted them and they have told me that they cannot give me my money back because they did not receive my cancellation form. They have all recordings of my dealings with them.. the fact that I was tricked by their salesman, the fact that I did not want to use their company for processing. The fact that I returned the terminal, The fact that I have never processed a dime and they still can't give me my money back.I am so upset and frustrated that have cheated me this way. It is underhanded, crooked, and very sad that they are able to deny me my money back. Conveniently their salesman no longer works for them. I should have had a representative call and check as to why there was no activity in this account and a follow up on the cancellation form. Ethics! Ethics!

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my money back from this company. Every representative I talked to stated that my phone conversations were recorded and they had record of all the history. They neglected to check back with me and make sure that I had filled out the form properly. I did not know it did not go through. This company has been deceitful from the very beginning. I feel that a voice recording should be enough. I deserve my money back!

Business Response: Hi ****, 

This email is in response to the above referenced BBB complaint from ***** ****** of ********* *******. Please accept this email as the formal response on behalf of Sphyra.

This merchant sent me an email the night before she filed her BBB complaint and posted on our company ******** page. It is unfortunate that she did not allow us time to properly investigate this matter and offer her a resolution before filing a BBB complaint. 

On 5/As explained to the merchant on a telephone call on 11/4/13, we would like to offer her 3 months of refunds and a waiver of the ETF to get her account closed. This represents the amount of time that lapsed from when the merchant opened her account (allegedly the account was not supposed to be opened), until the time she contacted us for closure. We sent her a closure form as promised on June 25th, 2012. The merchant acknowledges that she received the form. The problem is, the merchant claims to have sent us back the closure form; however, we did not receive it. We checked all systems and emails to ensure we did not receive it. 

This matter can easily be resolved and they could potentially be entitled to more refunds if she forwards us the email she claims to have sent us with the completed closure form. We explained this to her on the phone on the 4th; however, she was not willing to work with us.  

Thank you, 

***** *******
Resolutions Manager
************************
Legal@Sphyra.com
(P) ###-###-#### | (F) ###-###-####

*** * ******* *** ***** ********** ******* ** *****

11/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began using Merchant Services Direct in May of 2013 for my business. In August I received a call from my agent of MSD stating that I needed to cancel my service as soon as possible due to MSD being investigated by the FTC. I contacted MSD corporate office via email and was called by someone who told me that the allegations were not true and that they were coming from a disgruntled employee. Instead of investigating, I believed her and continued using their services. Shortly after, I attempted to contact MSD for a terminal issue and was unable to find any contact information online. I also attempted to call the number on my business card from my former agent. The woman from corporate that I spoke with had left me her phone number but I misplaced it. In my attempt to find contact information via **********.com I was educated in the FTC investigation as well as reviews from other websites stating the complaints made against this company. I was informed by my other credit card processing agent that MSD was now Sphyra. I sent an email via their website stating my issues and that I wanted to cancel my service due to lack of communication and because MSD technically no longer exists. I was immediately contacted by the woman from corporate telling me that MSD does still exist, that everything is fine (which is a lie), and that cancelling because of these things is not realistic or plausible. **** is the name of the woman at the Sphyra/MSD corporate office. She is hostile, rude, and not helpful. I would really like my service with MSD to be disconnected but so far whenever I attempt it, the conversation turns into an argument.

Desired Settlement: I want my service cancelled with Merchant Services Direct and I don't feel that at this point I should have to pay the cancellation fee since it is of no fault of mine that they are no longer a reputable or really even existing company.

Business Response: This email is in response to the BBB complaint made by ******* ******, dba ********* **** * ******. Please accept this email as Sphyra’s (formerly MSD) formal response. 

******* ****** is correct about the following:  she applied for and contracted to use our services in May 2013, and she began processing credit card and debit card charges for ********* **** * ****** in June 2013; by her own account and our company records, she was happy with our services for several months.  Unfortunately, she received a call from one of Sphyra’s former, disgruntled sales agent who had been terminated by Sphyra.  That former sales agent was terminated by Sphyra because the sales agent did not meet Sphyra’s high standards of business.  The former sales agent then capitalized on the pending lawsuits by the FTC and the State of Washington in an attempt to recruit and solicit Ms. ****** to move her business from Sphyra to the company for whom that agent went to work after being terminated by Sphyra.   

When Ms. ****** contacted Sphyra, our Partner Support Representative **** ******* did everything she could to try to explain that Sphyra vehemently disputes the allegations against it and that Sphyra remains an active business concerned first and foremost with the satisfaction of its merchants.  Partner Support Representative **** ******* provided a direct line at which Sphyra could be reached to address any future questions or concerns that Ms. ****** might have.  We hoped that having a direct, personal contact at the company would show Ms. ****** we were committed to ensuring her satisfaction with our services.  This direct phone line was provided to Ms. ****** in addition to the general contact information previously provided to her via email and telephone in May 2013.  Supporting records detailing these emails and phone conversations is available upon request.   

The BBB’s own website, the WA State Attorney General Information Release, and the press releases issued by the FTC have made it extremely difficult to keep our merchants; even merchants who were happy and satisfied with our services have asked to breach their contracts because they feared the worst after reading the press release about Sphyra.  The business disruption caused by the press release was worsened because the companies issuing the press releases failed to update their posts and websites with accurate information detailing the court’s initial rulings and Sphyra’s response to the unfounded allegations raised in the press releases.  Sphyra continues to suffer ongoing harm as a consequence of the press releases.     

As we understand Ms. ******’s complaint, she is afraid that Sphyra is not an active company.  That is mistaken and we welcome an opportunity to address Ms. ******’s concerns and questions because she is a valued customer.  She is also free to discuss her questions and concerns with our company’s lawyers.  Sphyra is ready, willing and able to continue to provide excellent service to Ms. ******’s business.  If Ms. ****** wants, instead, to cancel her contract with Sphyra, she needs to complete the attached form and return it to our office via fax at ###-###-####.  Ms. ******’s contract is attached for your convenience and for Ms. ******’s convenience.  If she chooses to cancel her contract, the early termination fee is $350, as clearly stated in her signed agreement.  

We trust that this response will sufficiently address any concerns.  If you should need additional information, please contact our Customer Relations department at ###-###-####, Ext. ***.  Once you have had an opportunity to review the facts, I would appreciate confirmation that this matter has been resolved and that no damaging negative statements about this matter will be published. 


Sincerely,  
***** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



Regards,

MRS. ******* ******

 

1. The "disgruntled former employee" did NOT attempt to get me to sign on to her new company and don't appreciate being treated like an idiot who would follow someone the likes of that just because she no longer worked for you.  I took her advice under advisement and after doing the research agreed with the fact that I should attempt to disconnect my service.  She, along with others, suggested the BBB in order to resolve my cancellation.

2.  I am not only cancelling because of the name change that I was not informed of (which I feel was impersonal and irresponsible), but because in my 2 attempts to cancel my service, **** ******* proceeded to argue with me instead of follow through on my request.  I pay MSD, so technically MSD should be working for me.  NOT arguing with me, telling me I'm wrong, and dismissing my requests.

3.  I also do not appreciate the company not taking responsibility for their issues with the FTC as well as the issues that I have.  They are instead placing blame on the websites (not updating the FTC investigation), the former employee, and myself.

4.  I have requested a stop payment on all finances attempted to be retrieved by MSD/Sphyra via my bank account.  I do not want to be charged for services that I am no longer using, nor be charged for a cancellation service behind my back.  I have also returned their swiping machine to the headquarters address in Spokane, WA.




Business Response: Hi ****, 

It is unfortunate that this merchant cannot work with us on a resolution in an amicable manner. There is nothing we can do to help this merchant at this point. In an attempt to resolve this matter, I have attached the two calls we have on file between the merchant and **** *******. This should resolve her concern about our employees arguing with her when she attempted to close her account. 

Although we asked that the merchant return the cancellation form to close her account, she refused to work with us and instead closed her account and stopped payment. She didn’t need to do that by any means and we could have resolved this by receipt of the cancellation form. As of today, it appears that her account is still open. Until we receive a cancellation form from the merchant, her account charges may continue to accumulate and in turn she may be taken to collections in the future. We ask this merchant once again to please complete the cancellation form and return to us ASAP. 


***** *******
Resolutions Manager
********************.com************.com
(P) ###-###-#### | (F) ###-###-####
*** * ******* *** ***** ********** ******, WA 99212

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This company is not at all interested in helping me with my discpute.  They could care less if I cancel or not because they get paid either way, even if their name is tainted.  Apparently if they are going to threaten to send me to collections I have no choice but to pay the cancellation fee and some point or another.  I will pay it when I have the funds available, but because they have continuously taken money out of my account for PCI non compliance (even though I am fully compliant with another company), I am unable to afford to that right now. 


Regards,

******* ******




10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by a merchant services account representative about lowering my credit card processing rates and promised that if I switch over the fees would be reduced. I was promised that I can try out the service for 30 days and if I was not happy with it I can cancel at anytime without termination fees or bound by any long term contracts. I processed several transactions within the 30 days trial period and realized that I was not saving any money and decided to cancel the contract. I was told that there was going to be a $350 termination fee and I was obligated to a 3 yr contract which was not disclosed on any contracts that I signed. I was informed by the sales representative David Bernal there would be no termination fee and it would be "risk free" for 30days. I've tried calling the sales rep, there was no response from the rep. I contacted Merchant Services Direct customer service trying to resolved this contract issue and was unsuccessful. I had requested a copy of the sign contract I signed which states the terms and conditions, Merchant services will not refused to send me copies or proof that I had signed such a contract. My account has been debited a total of $1058.24 since 11/2/12. I'm requesting a refund for the fees charged.

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting a refund for the fees charged of $1058.24 since 11/2/12

Business Response: This email is in response to the above referenced BBB complaint posted by **** *** ** ** ********** *********** ********. Please accept this email as the formal response on behalf of Sphyra. 

On September 9th, 2013, this merchant called in wanting to cancel the account and spoke to our Customer Relations Dept. He told our CR representative that he called almost a year ago to have the account closed and it was not. Our CR representative reminded him that we did receive a call from him on 12/4/12 to close the account; however, when we advised the merchant of the ETF. he stated that he didn’t have one. When our CR representative told him that our records do show that he does indeed have an ETF, he was unhappy. We attempted to retain the account and make the customer happy by offering to try for a limit increase. He agreed that if the limit increase were declined, we would waive the ETF. The increase was approved and even offered to meet or beat his fees with previous processor. In order to complete the increase and rate change, we let him know that we needed a document from him. However, the merchant never returned the calls or emails. We never received the document we requested.

Due to the unresponsiveness of the merchant throughout the course of this account, we cannot offer him any refunds. However, as a courtesy and in an effort to end this relationship on a positive note, we will offer to waive the ETF.  The merchant has already been sent the closure form. Please relay this email to the merchant and have him return the form ASAP to close his account without penalty.


Thank you, 

***** *******
Senior HR & Legal Administrator

9/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing this complaint as a owner/partner in ***'* ***** *******, ******, ******. The fees they charge, in my opinion, are unreasonable. I wrote letters and cancelled their services. I called and verifyed with the company that our contract was cancelled as of June 3, 2013. They agreed that the contract was cancelled as of June 3, 2013 but they have continued to charge fees to our checking account.

Desired Settlement: I feel that our business should be refunded for the unnecessary charges that were charged to our account. We have returned the credit card machine back to the company. The only service they provided to us was to process one credit card payment.

Business Response: Dear ****/******,
 
I sincerely apologize for the delay on our BBB complaint response. I have thoroughly reviewed this merchant’s file, statements, notes, and contacted the agent for their feedback and potential resolution to this complaint.
 
The agent that assisted this merchant with the initial set up for this account was ***** ***. He is one of our best agents and is currently the Assistant Manager in our Denver branch location. He prides himself in providing the best customer service experience possible and was disappointed to see that this
merchant had submitted a BBB complaint vs resolving his concerns with the agent. Since we cannot change the past, we offer a solution that hopefully will resolve this merchant’s concerns.

The agent has offered to not only waive this merchant’s cancellation fee of $350, but he has also offered to refund this merchant $73.95 for the May fees they paid on this account. Since the charge for the cancellation fee bounced back, we need to have updated deposit information to send the refund to the
merchant. Please call our Customer Relations team at ###-###-#### to provide that updated information.

Please let me know if this response resolves this merchant’s concerns so that we can close this account without any further grievances.

The information in this message may be proprietary and/or confidential, and protected from disclosure. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, or an employee or agent responsible for delivering this message to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please notify Sphyra immediately by replying to this message and deleting it from your computer.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


******* ******


P.S.  Any refund may be sent to the business address: ***** ***** ******** *** ******** ***** ********* *****
We do not need the $350.00 cancellation fee sent, as we already have that.

8/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon receiving a phone call from a sales representative that was kind of pushy to meet up and get services started, I was unsure about this company. I met with the sales representative that was still pushy in the meeting and told me to give her a voided check so they would have the information on file when I was ready to go. She also had me sign a contract with them and told me that I could cancel any time if I was not happy. I had several questions that the sales representative could not answer while she was there and told me that she would get the answers for me. After about two weeks of, "I am still trying to get these answers and am having no luck", I called and tried to cancel. They then told me that I would be charged a cancellation fee if I canceled. I told them that I was told that I could cancel at any time if I was not happy and they said that I would be charged no matter what because I signed the contract. So I waited to cancel and FINALLY got the answer I was looking for about 2 Weeks later. So I am already one full month into service and have not used anything yet and am getting charged a monthly fee with no description on what it is for. Finally get things working and all seems ok then get my first statement with a $25 Additional Fees that I was not told anything about which is apparently a one time setup fee. That is fine, just would have liked to know about it. All seems ok and I get my 3rd statement with another $30 additional fee that I was never told about. Called them again and they told me that it was because I was not in compliance. Another thing that I was never told about. All I want from this is to close my account and not be charged a cancellation fee because I have been lied to from the beginning about everything that was told to me. The sales rep that signed me up for this didn't know much about the company and had no clue about answers to my questions and took weeks to figure out, and I was only able to get my answers after I wanted to close my account.

Desired Settlement: I want my account with Merchant Services Direct, to be closed without being charged their cancellation fee. I feel that this is only fair considering that I was lied to about everything from day 1.

Business Response: In response to the above referenced complaint, we have researched this account, all notes, statements, etc. on this account. Please consider this as the formal response on behalf of MSD/Sphrya. 

We apologize for the issues that this merchant has experienced on this account and would like to offer to close this merchant’s account without the penalty. It appears that this agent was brand new when she signed this account and was not trained as well as she should have been. We would like to address the issues of fees the complainant listed to help all parties understand what happened here. 1. The agent was not trained enough to get the merchant answers to his questions. She could have simply called in to Corporate for answers to these questions. The merchant could have called in to get these resolutions as well. 2. The first statement (April 2013), this merchant was only charged $5 statement fee. The 2nd month (March 2013), the merchant was charged a $30 PCI fee, along with the normal batch header and $4.95 regulatory fees. The 3rd month (May 2013), the merchant was charged the same statement fee, $4.95 regulatory fee, and normal card fees. The last month (July 2013), the merchant was charged, the batch header fee, a return fee (.08), a statement fee, regulatory fee and another $30 PCI fee. 3. On 5/13/13, we lowered this merchant’s rates to .03% + IC from .5$ + IC. 4. Since the agent quotes a 90 day  “trial” period that does not exist, in conjunction with the miscommunication on the PCI fees, we are offering to waive this merchant’s ETF so that he can close his account. Lowering his rates was our attempt to save the account, but it appears the merchant is still unhappy. If the merchant would like to give us one last shot, please do! 

This is an issue we have uncovered internally and have taken the following measures to ensure our accounts do not end up in situations such as this one: 
1. We launched an interactive, company-wide training video that is module based and our agents will be required to pass a test to move on to the next training module;
2. We are launching a Quality Control program next week where each merchant will have a dedicated Relationship Manager that will contact them upon receipt of their application, to ensure all parties are on the same page.
3. Part of the QC program involves our Corporate Trainer to go out to each office, do one on one reviews and trainings with agents and owners, as well as ensure the trainings are completed and any issues are resolved.
4. New mobile application that will allow a more accurate merchant savings analysis at the time of the appointment.

Please be advised, in order to close this account, the merchant needs to complete the attached closure form. Since, we are nearing the end of the month, the sooner this form is returned, the quicker the account can be closed. If the merchant decides to stay with us, please notify us that this complaint is resolved and they would like to retain their account with Sphyra. If that is the case, we will have his new Relationship Manager contact him ASAP to resolve any further issues. 

Please let me know if these is anything further that I can do to resolve this account. 

Thank you,

***** *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9663476, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


***** ****




8/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About 18 months ago ***** **** stopped in our gallery. We had been processing our cards with Regions and we were unhappy and he told us we were being overcharge. He told us that we would be able to save money by switching to Merchant Services Direct. Our one concern at the time was that we were going to be hit with a cancellation fee from Regions and we wanted to switch, but he assured us there was no time requirement or cancelation fee. When we called to cancel and told them we were told there would be no cancellation penalty. I asked to speak to the representative who signed us up and was told he was no longer with the company and then I asked to speak to his boss. It seems the company they worked for was no longer doing business with Merchant Direct. We asked to have the fee waived and after a week and a half we finally got an answer of no. This is unacceptable. I wish I had check the BBB before signing up with this horrible company. Not to mention that they held our money for 3 to 4 days after it was processed. We are now with a new company and I would tell any business that is considering using Merchant Direct, LLC to look elsewhere. They obviously do not have a good rating with the BBB and we learned the hard way.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have the cancellation fee of $250 waived as we were told by our representative who is no longer with the company was the policy. We feel we were misled in this business transaction.

Business Response: This merchant’s complaint was resolved, to her satisfaction outside of BBB involvement. Thank you,

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9640904, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** ********




8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract in May on 2012 with this particular merchant. After signing my contract the only way I could turn on my machine is by faxing my information, which I didn't have a fax at the time and mailing it would take to long and I needed to start my credit card machine sooner then what the mailing process was going to take. and they wouldn't let me email it at first. Finally, after 2-3 weeks of back and forth discussion they let me email over my information so I could start using my machine.Fast forward a few months to August. I wasn't aware that by signing a contract that fees outside of the normal ones, could just be drafted out of my account. I was being charged 14.95 a month for something that wasn't mandatory. I had to call and get this fee taken off that wasn't authorized.Now, in May 2013, I'm thinking that my year contract is up only to call and find out that I have a three year contract. When I called this time the first man I spoke with told me my contract was two years, the next person I was transferred to said I had no contract, and the third person told me it was three years. This is not the first time I've called and have gotten different answers for the same question. When I realized that the girl that initially came into the salon gave misleading information about the contract I called customer service to speak to a supervisor. The lady I was speaking with informed me that it was a $200 dollar fee to cancel the contract and that the supervisor was very busy and probably wouldn't have time to talk to me but that she would get back with me in a couple of days. I didn't get a call back till two weeks later. I called again today and was able to speak with the supervisor who informed me that the fee was actually $250 dollars. This is why I was so glad when I thought my contract was up in may of 2013 because the left doesn't know what the right is doing at this place. This company is really lacking organization, consistently, and customer service.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get out of my contract. I don't believe with the service that's been give to me this year alone that I should have to pay $200-$250 dollars to break this contract that I wasn't aware that it was three years in the first place. I would like to not have to pay but if not I would like to only pay a portion of the fee.

Business Response: Hello, 

This email is in response to the above referenced complaint of ******** ********. We have reviewed this merchants account and offer this email as a resolution. This merchant has been thorough too many issues in setting up her account with us. We apologize for the issues she had to deal with in that regard. Also, it is not 100% clear as to what was communicated to her by MSD in regard to her contract term; however, due to the issues she had in initially setting up her account and the miscommunication that may have occurred, we are willing to waive this merchant’s ETF. To be clear, this was a 3 year contract; however, a year has passed and she had a remaining 2 years left on the contract. Her ETF was $250 and we have waived this for her in an effort to resolve this complaint amicably for all parties involved. Please remember to return the equipment you have to the following address: *** ** ******** ***** ********** ******* ** ***** Also, please do not forget to send in the cancellation form ASAP. I attached the cancellation form for your convenience. 

Thank you, 

***** *******
Senior Legal & HR Administrator 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9648095, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** ********

7/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 8th, the Merchant Services Direct LLC s two Salesmen stormed into my business claiming they have very low rates of $.05per transaction and could save me $375 on the statement I showed him and he also wrote this amount down on the back of the statement envelope I showed him(I kept it very well now). He also told me that we are neighborhood business.He told me their service wont have any fees but just one time system setting up fee @ $195.99. Now I was charged the setting up fee @195.99 and "Early Termination fees" of $350 for this never been set up or used account and service. On May 22nd, I received an email from their Customer Relations Specialist II, ******* ****** that my merchant account was set up and I can start to use it also with the attached contract which was revised the transaction rate to $.07(which I noticed later but not right away.) I told her this is a gas station we have pumps processing but not only a card processing machine they provided us. But her answer is from her system it shows we are good to go.( Actually the type of our system was marked and noted on the contract by **** *****, but obviously she doesnt read it and understand it at all.) I tried so hard to explain it to her, but she still insisted on You are all set. I have to call the reps, **** *****, who strolled into my store and lied to me but his phone says the service is not existing anymore (Tel No: ###-###-####). I have to call another rep whose name is *** ***** (Ph: ###-###-####) and tell him we need him to come to set up the machine. Two days later this guy came in but even did not touch anything at all and he said he did not know this system, he need to contact his head office to solve it. Then I kept waiting for another month and keep calling *** ***** who keeps telling me that their head office is working on it. Then I check the BBB as I doubted their morality and ability. While I am reading the complaints posted on the BBB, it seems to me I am reading the same story as it happened to me. Then I asked for closing the account that I never used and I was told by ******* ******:You will be charged more than $500.00 if you cancel the account. Read your contract , did you read it? and you are welcomed to cancel it and I do not need to talk to you anymore. she emailed me a cancellation form immediately. I shipped their equipment back to them on June17th and faxed the account Closure Form to them for this never been set up, never used account. Then my bankers and I, We called together from the bank and this time they answer the phone and I talked to ******* (I asked her last name but she wont give me) to tell her the reason why we have to cancel this account. She told us she is going to report to her management office and call us back. But 2 or 3 days later, she called me and told me she is going to have her technecian to give me a questionario. After that she can make the decision whether we are qualified by her to cancel the account without a charge. The next day she called me and left me a message said if I dont do the questionair as she required, she wont do anything for me. I called her back but nobody answer even if I left her a message and let her call me back. But since then, dated June 22nd, I never get a call back from their customer service. Yesterday afternoon, I received a statement from MSD for month ending 06/30/2013. There is only one item of this statement which is: Summary of Miscellaneous FeesMIN DISCOUNT 25.00STATEMENT FEE 5.00REGULATORY FEE 4.95**ADDITIONAL FEES 25.00 TOTALS CHARGES $59.95Then at midnight today I got a bank alerting email it shows MSD is transferring $350.00 from my bank account. Then I have to call my bank for disputing till 2:00 am. I have to file this complaint on this company: Merchant Services Direct, LLC through the Better Business Bureau.

Desired Settlement: Merchant Services Direct LLC to close this we never used never set up merchant accout completely, stop charging us the cancellation fees $350.00) and refund us the setting up fees($195.99).

Business Response: This email is in response to the above reference BBB complaint. A full investigation was completed on this account and all details were analyzed prior to crafting this response. We have reviewed all notes, recorded calls, contacted all agents and administrators involved. Please accept this email as the formal response on behalf of Merchant Services Direct.

First, please remove any personally identifying information from this publicly posted complaint. This merchant has listed our agent’s names and phone numbers. Please notify me when this information is redacted.
Second, the setup fee actually was rejected by the bank and the merchant never paid it. Please inform the merchant to check their bank account to confirm that they never paid us the set up fee.

Third, in regard to the many issues this merchant has had in setting up her account, we have attempted to offer a resolution on her account due to the lapse in time to get her gas pumps set up. There was some confusion and miscommunication with our agents, as they were expected to complete a POS inquiry form sooner than anticipated. This needed to be done in order for us to have the merchant’s **** system reprogrammed. This was never completed; however, several of our administrators communicated this to the merchant and she was unwilling to allow us to get it done. She only wanted to cancel her account.

On 6/14/13, 6/17/13 & 6/18/13, our Customer Relations department made it very clear that the possibility of refunds and an ETF waiver were still on the table. The only way this was possible was if the merchant allowed us to complete the POS inquiry first. She was unwilling to do so and said she would contact her attorney for advice. Instead of returning our call and completing the POS inquiry form, she filed a BBB complaint and closed her account. Despite what the complaint details that she posted state, ******* never received a return call from this merchant.

Please note this account has been closed as of 7/16/13 and is scheduled to be charged the ETF at any time, if not done already. Unfortunately, we aren't really sure what else to do since the merchant already closed their account and rejected every attempt we made to remedy the solution prior to the BBB becoming involved. We apologize that we were unable to offer any further solutions.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Senior Legal Administrator 
Merchant Services Direct, LLC


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Sphyra, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart