BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Reliable Credit Association, Inc. (WA)

Phone: (509) 924-1114 Fax: (509) 924-3048 14916 E Sprague Ave, Spokane Vly, WA 99216 http://www.reliablecredit.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers direct loans & dealer sales financing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Reliable Credit Association, Inc. (WA) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Reliable Credit Association, Inc. (WA) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Reliable Credit Association, Inc. (WA)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 26, 2010 Business started: 09/30/1958 in WA Business started locally: 09/30/1958 Business incorporated: 08/01/1994 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Department of Financial Institutions
152 Israel Rd SW , Olympia WA 98501-9033
http://dfi.wa.gov/default.htm
Phone Number: 360-902-8700
Fax Number: 360-902-8760

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Benjamin Scheele, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Benjamin Scheele, Manager
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Savings & Loan Associations Financial Services Escrow Service Financing Consultants Loan Servicing Financial Planning Consultants Financing Loans Loans - Small Business


Additional Locations

  • 14916 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99216 (509) 924-1114

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is terrible to its customers. We financed a vehicle through them and made 6 or 7 payments all on time or early and above the payment amount. In April of this year they repossed it for it being past due 36 days on half of a payment. They sent a letter stating we had 5 days to contact them and the letter was delivered to us 9 days later and actually 3 hours after they had repossed this. They told us we had to pay for the vehicle in full and we did. Everything about this company is terrible business practices and people need to know to not do business with them. They are now posting a repossession on our credit in all actuallity we had grounds to sue but our attorney advised us it would be cheaper to pay the vehicle off. We've contacted the credirt bureaus to have this changed to PAID IN FULL but relaible credit believes in mistreating their customers. We should have never been treated this way and hope more people give them an "F" in customer service like they deserve

Desired Settlement: We want Reliable Credit to change the standing on our credit from Repossed to Paid In Full. They were in the wrong and they know it. If its not resolved I will have my Attorney file my complaint

Business Response:

December 20, 2011

BBB Serving E WA, <st1:place w:st="on">N ID & MT

152 <st1:place w:st="on">S Jefferson STE #200

<st1:place w:st="on"><st1:city w:st="on">Spokane, <st1:state w:st="on">WA  <st1:postalcode w:st="on">99201

                                                                        RE:      ID#  8843697

                                                                                    *******, ****

Attention: BBB

            Reliable Credit Association, Inc repossessed our collateral (the vehicle) after receiving no response from multiple phone calls, emails, and a series of 4 letters to Mr. *******.  The final notice advising of possible repossession was sent on March 22nd advising Mr. ******* to remedy his account within 5 days.  The account was 38 days past due when the collateral (vehicle) was repossessed 8 days later on March 31st

            After the repossession Mr. ******* did contact our office to determine how he could redeem the collateral (the vehicle).  As per the terms of his contact, Reliable Credit Association, Inc. advised Mr. ******* he would need to payoff the entire balance.  On April 8th Mr. ******* paid the account in full and the collateral (the vehicle) was returned to him. 

            While Mr. ******* may not like Reliable Credit Association Inc’s reporting the credit bureaus, it is accurate.  The correct reporting is a repossession as of March 2011, with a paid in full balance as of April 2011.  Difficult news can be difficult to both deliver and to receive.  However, Reliable Credit Association, Inc endeavors to deliver our services with a smile, with professionalism, and in a manner consistent with how we ourselves wish to be treated.

                                                                        Sincerely,

                                                                        ******** ** *******                                                                        Branch Manager

           

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: Not only was there NO emails there was not  4 letters. There was one letter which stated we had 5 days to respond and it ARRIVED at our P.O. Box 9 days later !! After contacting this Attorney about The matter our attorney agreed we had grounds to file suit but litegation would cost more than the Payoff amount , which i might asdd was jacked up by their added fees and tow charge. This was premature and they know it.  I personally drove over ther 6-7 months straight paid early and over the amount due. They took this rig on $98 dollars owed for a $170 payment. They can say what they want but if its not changed I will present the letter that was 9 days late to the attorney and file suit

Regards,

**** ******* 

 

 

 

Business Response: Reliable Credit Association, Inc.
***** ** ******* ******
P*** *** *** ******* ******, WA 99037-0160
December 29, 2011
Consumer Loans Sales Financing Real Estate Loans Insurance
Telephone ###-###-#### Facsimile
###-###-#### www.reliablecredit.com
BBB Serving E WA, N ID & MT 152 S Jefferson STE #200 Spokane, WA 99201
RE: ID# 8843697
*******, ****
Attn: BBB
As a reputable business established since 1958, Reliable Credit Association, Inc. documents all collections calls, emails and letters. There were multiple phone calls, multiple emails and a series of 4 letters sent prior to repossession. Regardless of when Mr. ******* received his final letter, the letter was mailed on March 22nd. The emphasis on this one letter is not warranted as it was one of many attempts to discuss mutually acceptable payment arrangements.
Mr. ******* feels that Reliable Credit Association, Inc. prematurely repossessed the collateral. Our business practice is to review an account for repossession once an account is 35-40 days past due if the customer has not committed to a mutually acceptable payment plan. Again, the collateral was repossessed when it was 38 days past due (2 installments due) and Mr. ******* had not made mutually acceptable payment arrangements. After repossession, the payoff quoted to Mr. ******* included 2 late fees and the repossession charge. All charges are permitted as per the contract signed September 8, 2010.
As mentioned in the previous response, difficult news is difficult to deliver and to receive. It is apparent that Mr. ******* does not like our response, but it is accurate. As a reputable business it is important that Reliable Credit Association, Inc. properly reports information to the credit bureaus for the betterment of the financial market for both businesses and consumers.
Sincerely,
******** ** ******* Branch Manager
Enclosure: Account Ledger, Account Comments

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are in the process of trying to get our car back since we missed one payment and the company repo'd it. The guy we are working with named **** ******* said we needed to come up with 1400the to get our car back and we wouldn't have any hassles. Well after calling over and over (he wouldn't return our calls) we found out that we couldn't get the car back because of this auction house needing to set it up with him for us to get the car back. Oh and we were informed we had to have a gps unit on the car because of we ever miss another payment they will come and take yhe car and we won't get it back. So we came up with the money to get the car and now the guy won't release it and tells us he doesn't care if we get our car back or not. He was completely rude and won't answer any questions that we have. So now we have the 1400.00 for the car and we can pay it but not sure of we even get the car back. Seems like a very shady business and deal. DON'T TRUST **** ******* he is rude and not willing to help out with anything.

Desired Settlement: We would like our car back and then personally I would like to see this **** ******* fired for lack of customer service because no body deserves to be treated the way he treated myself.

Business Response:

*** ******** automobile was lawfully repossessed as per the default terms of his contract on October 25, 2011.  *** ****** contacted our office by phone on October 26, 2011 and **** ******* fielded his call.  The contract *** ****** signed states that, upon default, and ensuing repossession of the automobile (collateral) the entire PAYOFF is due or Reliable Credit Association, Inc. has the right to sell the collateral.  After discussing the reason for default and determining that *** ****** had the ability to make future payments in a timely manner, **** ******* determined *** ****** was eligible to reinstate his contract and redeem his automobile for the amount of the past due payments, repossession fees and the cost of a GPS device (far less than the PAYOFF). 

 

In this particular circumstance, the auto was repossessed out of state.  **** ******* had to coordinate with a 3rd party company to install the GPS and release the automobile to *** ******.  If the repossession occurred in the Spokane area where our office is located, Reliable Credit Association, Inc has a better business relationship with the local 3rd party companies capable of installing the GPS unit in a timely manner.  The length of time between agreeing to reinstating the contract and *** ****** getting his automobile was the source of frustration.  On the same day as *** ******’s BBB complaint, he and I spoke on the phone in regards to the delay, his frustrations, and the anticipated timeline of when the automobile would be ready.  I feel *** ****** and I were able to come to an understanding about the entire situation and his complaints were remedied.  I apologized to him about how he felt he was treated and insured him that Reliable Credit Association, Inc. is committed to treating people as we ourselves wish to be treated.  As of October 31st *** ****** now has his vehicle and his account has been reinstated.  I believe this matter has now been resolved in a mutually satisfying manner.    

 

*** *******

Reliable Credit Association, Inc. (WA)

Spokane Branch Manager

Phone ###-###-####

Fax ###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8788163, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

***** ******

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.