BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Evergreen Financial Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Evergreen Financial Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Evergreen Financial Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 03, 1981 Business started: 04/03/1978 in WA Business started locally: 04/03/1978 Business incorporated: 04/03/1978 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Quigley, Owner Ms. Susan Cox, Collections Manager Ms. Brenda Wondercheck-Smith, Admin Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Quigley, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Brenda Wondercheck-Smith, Admin Assistant
Business Category

Collection Agencies Credit Services Financial Services


Additional Locations

  • 1167 Jadwin Ave

    Richland, WA 99352 (509) 943-2224

  • 1214 N 16th Ave

    Yakima, WA 98902 (800) 780-6574 (509) 654-7110 (800) 444-6574 (509) 577-7170 (800) 280-5879

  • 23 S Wenatchee Ave Ste 116

    Wenatchee, WA 98801

  • PO Box 9073

    Yakima, WA 98909

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 577-7170(Phone)
  • (509) 654-7110(Phone)
  • (800) 280-5879(Phone)
  • (800) 444-6574(Phone)
  • (800) 780-6574(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a voice mail from *** from Evergreen Financial Services on 12/4/2012. I promptly returned the call and spoke to a pleasant customer service representative. I asked her what they were calling about she told me.I then told her that I recalled that I had paid the medical provider a long time ago ( the bill in question was under $50) She asked me if I had a receipt. I told her I would no longer have it as it was incurred in the year 2010 and it was now almost 2013. I asked for her to sent the information to me as I had not received it and I did not know who they were. She told me that they had sent it and would not send it again and I could look them up. I repeated to her that they must provide me with the written document. She then told me I was yelling at her and I politely told her I was not yelling at her and repeated my request once more. She then became verbally angry with me and hung up. I called back and asked to speak to a supervisor and was quickly transferred to a female supervisor. I explained the problem. She said she could not understand me so I asked if the volume was too loud on my phone (smart phones can have this problem depending on the receiver of the call)she said yes and I adjusted the phone volume. I asked her again to send a copy of the collection request and she refused saying that she had it in her system that it was sent in July. I told her that I had not received the document and reminded her that her note in her system does not constitute proof that it was sent and just because she said it was not returned does not constitute any proof. Any number of things could have happened. It could have been mis-addressed, not delivered, delivered to the wrong person (I often receive other peoples mail including someone elses IRS check!) I told them if they could mot provide me with a written document then to cease and desist any collection activity and I would be writing a complaint to the medical office they are collecting for, then a lawyer if that doesnt work.

Desired Settlement: Resend the document in question! It is simple request. I will not pay any item that I do not have written proof of and do not know who the people are who are asking me for money. It could be a scam for all I know. I expect to be treated with respect. They were polite initially but in the end not respectful. Respect would be understanding the possibility that someone might not have received their letter ( we have no control over the USmail as I receive other's mail at least twice a year)

Business Response:

Please see attached document we have submitted to Ms. *********  We also contacted our client and confirmed that the bill was still owing.

Please contact me directly at ###-###-#### if we can do anything further to resolve.

 

Sincerely,

****** ******

Business Service Manager

EVERGREEN FINANCIAL SERVICES, INC. **** * **** *** ****** WA 98 902 ###-###-#### OR ###-###-####
Principal Due: $46.62
12/05/12
********* * ******** **** * **** ** ****** ** *** * *
Interest added by Creditor: $0.00
Interest after assigned: $2.71
Collection Costs by Creditor: $0.00
Handling Fee: $0.00
Collection Fee: $0.00
Amount Due: $4 9.3 3
*******-96
RE: ACCOUNT # ******* Dear Sir or Madam:
This letter shows your balance currently owed on the creditor(s) listed below.
CREDITOR SERVICE DATE ACCT# BALANCE OWING
******* ** *** 09/24/10 ******* 49.33
Sincerely,
Debt Collector
Interest computed at 12% per annum (1% per month).
THIS IS AN ATTEMPT TO COLLECT A DEBT. ANY INFORMATION OBTAINED WILL BE USED FOR THAT PURPOSE. THIS COMMUNICATION IS FROM A DEBT COLLECTOR.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/12/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is charging me 12% interest on an account. According to the FDCPA a collection agency cannot charge interest unless the original account had an agreed interest charge or their is a judgement. Neither of these situations apply yet they still are charging me interest.

Desired Settlement: Remove the interest charges.

Business Response: Enclosed is a copy of Washington Statue 19.52.010 which calls for interest at the rate of twelve percent per annum in the absence of a written agreement.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9266152, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


According to Evergreen Financial Services they are allowed to charge interest lawfully due to Washington statute 19.52.010. Here is a copy of that statute.

(1) Every loan or forbearance of money, goods, or thing in action shall bear interest at the rate of twelve percent per annum where no different rate is agreed to in writing between the parties: PROVIDED, That with regard to any transaction heretofore or hereafter entered into subject to this section, if an agreement in writing between the parties evidencing such transaction provides for the payment of money at the end of an agreed period of time or in installments over an agreed period of time, then such agreement shall constitute a writing for purposes of this section and satisfy the requirements thereof. The discounting of commercial paper, where the borrower makes himself or herself liable as maker, guarantor, or indorser, shall be considered as a loan for the purposes of this chapter.

(2) A lease shall not be considered a loan or forbearance for the purposes of this chapter if:

     (a) It constitutes a "consumer lease" as defined in RCW 63.10.020;

     (b) It constitutes a lease-purchase agreement under chapter 63.19 RCW; or

     (c) It would constitute such "consumer lease" but for the fact that:

     (i) The lessee was not a natural person;

     (ii) The lease was not primarily for personal, family, or household purposes; or

     (iii) The total contractual obligation exceeded twenty-five thousand dollars.

Here is a copy of the definition of a consumer lease defined by RCW 63.10.020

The term "consumer lease" means a contract of lease or bailment for the use of personal property by a natural person for a period of time exceeding four months, and for a total contractual obligation not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars, primarily for personal, family, or household purposes, whether or not the lessee has the option to purchase or otherwise become the owner of the property at the expiration of the lease, except that such term shall not include any lease which meets the definition of a retail installment contract under RCW 63.14.010 or the definition of a lease-purchase agreement under chapter 63.19 RCW. The twenty-five thousand dollar total contractual obligation in this subsection shall not apply to consumer leases of motor vehicles. The inclusion in a lease of a provision whereby the lessee's or lessor's liability, at the end of the lease period or upon an earlier termination, is based on the value of the leased property at that time, shall not be deemed to make the transaction other than a consumer lease. The term "consumer lease" does not include a lease for agricultural, business, or commercial purposes, or to a government or governmental agency or instrumentality, or to an organization.

My debt is not considered a consumer lease. There was never a payment plan, personal property, or option to buy personal property.  This charge is unlawful.

Regards,

***** ******



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They did not address the complaint I had. Their response is that I have paid my account in full. They obviously do not care about my complaint.

Regards,

***** ******




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was threatened and treated unfairly by this company. I requested further information regarding a questionable debt and even after giving them ALL my information, they were extremely rude to me and would not provide any information I asked for. I have not dealt with a collection agency before and was just trying to understand what I needed to do in order to find out if the debt was valid. I understand the point of a collection agency, but I am a young woman that is obviously not aware of my rights and they took complete advantage of that.

Desired Settlement: I am unsure of what a settlement would be, except to let them know they need to learn a better way of doing business. I understand they might have difficult people to work with, but if they have someone who is willing to "make it right" they need to treat them FAIRLY and respectfully.

Business Response: This letter is in response to the complaint filed by ***** ***** ******** #*******.  In our phone conversation with Ms. ********, we did a complete budget analysis and offered Ms. ******** monthly payment arrangements in the amount of $150.00. 
 
 Ms. ******** declined and stated that she would come to our Richland location for more information, she did not come to our office.  Ms. ******** then called us back, and entered into monthly arrangements of $150.00 beginning 10/25/12.
 
Please feel free to contact me directly at ###-###-#### if you require anything further.
 
 
Sincerely,
 
 
****** ******
Business Service Manager
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This debt was brought to my attention as of 10/03/2012. It was not received by ANY paperwork, or professionally by statement, but by a personal phone call to a number I had NOT given out. It was an unexpected call. They explained the debt by telling me the amount and who it was sent by. My response was "I believe this bill should have been written off by *** upon charity request. Do you have a statement that you an send me" ******* stated that they cannot provide any information to me without a written request. As oblivious as I was, which she took full advantage of, I stated I couldn't afford to pay $600. She then started to ask me for personal information, which I felt VERY uncomfortable giving, such as my place of employment, whether I work full time and how much I take home. Not realizing I did NOT have to give her, I did. Once ******* received that info, she created a payment analysis and somehow came up with the fact that I would have $150 extra. I explained I could not afford this, however she stated that there was nothing less that they could ask for. As I explained that I could not afford to pay $150 per month, she then threatened me by explaining they will note that I am NOT WILLING to work with their arrangements and they would collect the debt however they can since they do have my employment information. I asked her "So, basically you are saying that because I cannot pay a debt "in full" (that may in fact not be a valid debt), and since your computer system states that I can afford $150 per month, which I ACTUALLY cannot, you consider me "unwilling to work with you?" It was then obvious to me that I was getting nowhere and I ended the call. I called at a later time, setting up payments in order to avoid further action by this company. However, I will be going to *** to ask them about this debt and gather more information, and then I will create a hand written request for proof on there part that this debt is valid. And this will take place BEFORE I pay this business any money. I will protect my own rights, and definitely will not be taken advantage of like this again. This company is unprofessional, unorganized, non negotiable and disrespectful. I am sorry for anyone that may have to deal with them. They do not give good people the opportunity to "make things right" and that to me is not in anyway a good way of doing business. At this point, I will handle my own affairs with this company, but wanted to share with you this information. 


There should be recordings of our phone calls, considering this is what they state at the beginning of each call.

Regards,

***** ********




Business Response: I have reviewed the second complaint from Ms. ********.  We are forwarding you a copy of a letter written 10/28/2008 by Ms. ******** acknowledging the debt from ********* ********* **********, and in fact promised to pay $30.00 monthly.
 
Ms. ********, enclosed with the letter, a copy of our validation notice that we mailed to her when the account was placed for collection.  Ms. ******** promised to pay $30.00 monthly in 2008 and paid nothing.
 
Ms. ******** called our office 10/03/2012 at 12:24pm stating that she agreed to pay $150.00 monthly beginning 10/25/12.  We will expect Ms. ******** to keep her arrangement.
 
 
Respectfully,
 
 
 
***** ** *******
Owner/President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9246061, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have forwarded a letter to this company and will be awaiting their prompt response to my request. Their response will determine the final arrangement of this account. I do not wish for any further discussion. 

Regards,

***** ********




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: tried to pay some of a debt i had with them which they only gave me one notice of they wouldnt take it which i understood is illegal not to take money when someone is trying to make a payment towards and they said wouldnt take my money unless was full amount right then and there which was almost triple amount of debt origianally which was not first time tried to give them money offered them couple months ago about a week after orginal just to put check back through they have horrible customer service

Desired Settlement: that use this information to help other customers probably going through same thing

Business Response:
July 18, 2012

 

 

Better
Business Bureau

Attn:
**** ********

Via
email *********@spokane.bbb.org





Re: #*******

       ********, ******** *******

 

 

Dear Mr. ********,

 

This is in response to the
complaint #******* from ******** ******* ********.  A notice of dishonor was mailed to Ms.
******** on May 3, 2012 notifying her that she had 33 days to take care of the
debt prior to additional fees.

 

On May 4, 2012 Matt ********
contacted our office and agreed to pay the debt in full in the amount of $90.50
on June 4, 2012.  No payment was
received.  A collection fee was added
according to RCW 62A.3-515 in the amount of $40.00 on June 5, 2012 at 9:00pm.

 

On July 17, 2012 Ms. ********
contacted our office and offered to make a partial payment in the amount of $50.00
on her dishonored check.  Our standard
policy is to take only balance in full on dishonored checks.  Ms. ******** hung up.  Ms. ******** called back and spoke with our
collection manager Ms. ***, and due to Ms. ********’s income situation Ms. ***
agreed to give Ms. ******** until the end of July to take care of the debt in
full.  Ms. ******** did not agree to
that, and stated she would make a complaint to the BBB.  Ms. ******** then called back and paid the
balance in full of $131.82 with a debit card.  The account is now closed.

 

I hope the above information
resolves this complaint.  Please contact
me directly if you require anything further at ###-###-#### or ******@efscollects.com

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 
****** ******

Business Service Manager

 

 




BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is letter is in response to a summons filed against ******* ******** and ****** ******** by Evergreen Financial Service, Inc aka Evergreen Collection and Check Service. The summons states that we (the defendants) were mailed a written Notice of Dishonor on an NSF check on 10/3/06. We never received any communication in writing or any other form from either the Creditor (***** ***) or the Plaintiff (Evergreen). On April 16, 2012 during a review of our credit report, it was found that there was an Outstanding Collection for Evergreen Financial Service. At this time, due to the fact of no prior knowledge of what this item was, we filed an investigation through *******. At the conclusion of *******s investigation on May 14, 2012, we received a report from them that the item had been deleted from our credit file. A copy of this is attached. Soon after we received the results from *******, we received a phone call from Evergreen. As we still had no knowledge of this debt, we request a bill and proof of the debt. We never heard anything from Evergreen until we received this summons on 6/18/2012. We have answered the summons denying any knowledge of this and feel that this is harassment due to the fact that Evergreen could not prove their claim to the credit bureau so now they are attempting to bully us into paying us for something they cannot prove that we owe and they are violating FDCPA. We request that Evergreen cease and desist all attempts to extort us for money.

Desired Settlement: cease and desist

Business Response:
EVERGREEN


Tailored collections for:

Predictive Dialer
Letter Service


Please contact me directly at ###-###-#### if you require anything further.

****** ****** Business Service Manager
This letter is in response to the complaint filed by Ms. ********. We have reviewed our records and on October 13, 2006 mailed a notice of dishonor to the address that was imprinted on the dishonored check. On October 20, 2006 we received an updated address via the United States postal service, and we remailed a letter of dishonor to the updated address, we did not receive a mail return.
On April 23, 2012 we received a dispute via ******, stating that Ms. ******** was not aware of this collection account. We responded back that our information reported to the credit bureau was accurate.
On May 29, 2012 we spoke with Mr. ******** who requested a detailed statement and we asked for his request in writing. We did not receive that request. On June 8, 2012 we filed a Summons and Complaint in Franklin County Dist. Court Case#**********
This account was eligible to report to ******* on November 29, 2006. We are still reporting this account to ******* as owing, and are unaware of their decision to delete from the credit file.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have a report from the credit bureau showing that this has been deleted from my credit report.  I have attached this.  If Evergreen was really able to validate their debt like they stated in their response, the credit bureau would never have deleted this from my report.  I feel that Evergreen was not able to prove their claim and they are trying to bully me into paying something they cannot prove I owe.  The only contact I have ever had with this company is after I disputed the issue through ******* and it was deleted from my credit file.  I received one phone call after the fact and I did request a statement, but they never said anything about sending a request in writting;  I was told that they would send me something.  What they sent me was a summons in the hopes that I would ignore so they could get a default judgement for something they cannot prove.  Once again, I request that Evergreen cease and desist on this matter. 

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

 

Business Response:

Please find attached response we sent consumer as well.

We hope this resolves complaint #*******

Sincerely,

****** ******

Business Services Manager


******* ******** ****** ******** **** * ***** *** ****** ** *****
Re* Evergreen Financial Services. Inc. v. ******** Franklin County District Court No.: *********
Dear Mr. & Mrs. ********:
Our attorney, ****** ** *****, I'll forwarded your answer in the above matter to us. In response, please find enclosed a copy of the dishonored check and a copy of the notice of dishonor mailed October 13, 2006 to the address on the check.
On October 20, 2006, we received an address correction from the postal service and another notice was sent on that day to the updated address. A copy of that notice is enclosed as well.
We supply information to Equifax for credit reporting purposes. Equifax may exercise certain internal controls with respect to removing data from a file, which appears to be the case based on the copy of the reinvestigation results supplied with your BBB complaint.
Please be aware that Equifax’s internal decision to remove the data has no bearing on the validity of this debt.
If you have questions or would like to discuss a resolution, please contact our office at ###-###-#### or ###-###-####.
Sincerely,
***** ***** *** Collection Manager
Enclosures
THIS IS AN ATTEMPT TO COLLECT A DEBT AND ANY INFORMATION OBTAINED WILL BE USED FOR THAT PURPOSE. THIS COMMUNICATION IS FROM A DEBT COLLECTOR.
Dedicated To Serving Our Clients Since 1970"
Tailored collections for:
Health Care

Predictive Dialer








Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.This letter is in response to your letter on 6/28/2012 related to the debt listed above. I wish to save us both some time and effort by settling this debt.Please be aware that this is not a promise to pay and is not a payment agreement unless you provide a response as detailed below.I am willing to pay $63.00 as settlement for this debt in return for your agreement to remove all information regarding this debt from the credit reporting agencies within ten calendar days of payment.  If you agree to the terms, I will send certified payment in the amount of $63.00 payable to Evergreen Financial Services in exchange to have all information related to this debt removed from all of my credit files.If you accept this offer, you also agree not to discuss the offer with any third-party, excluding the original creditor. If you accept the offer, please prepare a letter on your company letterhead agreeing to the terms. This letter should be signed by an authorized agent of Evergreen Financial Services. The letter will be treated as a contract and subject to the laws of my state.

Please forward your agreement to the address listed above.

Regards,

****** ********

(a certified copy of this letter was also mailed on 7/2/12)

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/29/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a verbal agreement with Evergreen to make a monthly payment around $165, no other stipulation other than to make the payment each month. So because of other bills that need to be paid, I decided to give them $75 today and the rest the next week. In doing so i would have met our verbal agreement, and continued on with my happy little life paying the rest and filling my duty of paying other financial obligations. instead of taking my money like any other collection agency, they turned me away and told me to pay my payment in full. This is one of the dumbest things that ive heard especially from a company whos complete duty is to COLLECT money. They told me, why should they let their clients dictate how much and how often they pay, saying that some customers would only give them maybe $2 a week. That comparison has nothing to do with what i was doing, i was paying over half my bill and giving them the rest no later than 7 days later. Thats almost false advertisement, how are you gonna tell companies that your job is to collect money for them and then tell the people theyre collecting from that theyre not going to take their money. A company like that needs to make better policies, meet there customers half way. I really would like to get in touch with the owner of the customer, and let them know that things need to change. This company has a bad customer service policy, and nobody knows cause everybody is to busy getting handled by this agency to say anything. My bottom complaint is that a Collection Agency refused to take my money today, and thats the most ridiculous thing ive ever heard.

Desired Settlement: I want them to be able to accept my payment and then accept another payment the next week, if i fail to meet our verbal agreement, then i could understand them being stricter. But i would like them to respect my financial situation and see that im making every effort to pay them.

Business Response:

On 10/11/11 Mr. ****** agreed to four (4) equal payments of $165.00 each due on the 20th of each month.  He paid 165.00 on 10/11/11.  On 11/15/11 Mr. ****** came to our office and wanted to make a partial payment in the amount of $75.00, and the remaining amount the following week.  We advised Mr. ****** of his due date and to just bring in the full payment of $165.00 on the 20th.  He was concerned he was going to spend the money before the following week.  We then advised Mr. ****** to purchase a money order in the amount of $75.00, and then bring in the rest of the payment by the 20th.  He got upset and was cursing and hung up the call.  He was speaking with one of our managers on 11/15/11.

We hope this resolves the complaint.  If you require anything further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

****** ******

Business Services Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8810405, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** ******

I know what they said, the fact is that they should have just take'n my money. Now they're going to have to wait till im done with school and out of the Worker Retraining Program. Which means that my only source of income is from Washington State Unemployment, which by Federal law is exempt from collection. I was willing to work with them and make my payments, now i'm going to make them wait. Seems pretty stupid on their part. This company probably needs to figure out how to work with their customers. i also have no idea if their is a law saying that the company should've notified my of all my routes, but they were told that my only source of income is Unemployment, and still excepted my payments as well as called to ask and remind me of further payments. I have requested everything about my case from them, so hopefully that will show that. the first request i handed them a paper, i'm also send a certified letter requesting the same things. Which they must abide by. i will let you know if they follow through. But no, has not resolved the problem and only made things more difficult for them, i guess the customer does get to dictate their payment arrangements.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** agreed to payment arrangements on 10/11/11 in the amount of $165.00 monthly due on the 20th of the month.  Mr ****** is now in default of the agreed upon payment arrangement.

Please contact me directly if you require anything further on this account at ###-###-####

 

Sincerely,

****** ******

Business Services Manager

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved