BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Washington Trust Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Washington Trust Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Washington Trust Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1955 Business started: 11/03/1902 in WA Business started locally: 11/03/1902 Business incorporated 11/03/1902 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jack E. Heath, President/COO Mr. Peter Stanton, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack E. Heath, President/COO
Customer Contact: Ms. Elizabeth Schroeder, Compliance Manager
Business Category

Banks Bonds - Surety & Fidelity Financial Planning Consultants Insurance - Life Annuities Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Mutual Funds Retirement Planning Service Stock & Bond Brokers Estate Planning & Management

Alternate Business Names
W.T.B. Financial Corporation
Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have submitted what the bank requested regarding detail description with regards to my checking account. I mailed one a month ago and another one last week. Up to this date no response. When I called there the Customer Service check if the first letter I send was received. None. Then I send another copy of my letter and up to this date...no response from the bank. I discuss my situation with another bank and the Banker said, WTB should have help me when the first incident happened.

Desired Settlement: Refund to my checking the amounts that is in question.

Business Response:  

We have responded to the customer throughout the investigation and have been working with her on the transactions being disputed.  We are following applicable regulatory requirements regarding timeframes and provisional credit.  Steps were taken to protect the customers’ accounts and a new card was issued appropriately.  A follow up letter was sent on May 15, indicating the remaining information needed to complete the investigation.  At this time the investigation has not yet been concluded, we are still working with the consumer to resolve.

 

 

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Washington Trust Bank refuses to close my savings and checking account. I have attempted to close my account in person 5 times. I am always told my account has been closed. However, the next month I get my bank statement. They no longer offer free checking and will soon start charging fees.

Desired Settlement: I would like confirmation that my account is closed and that I owe no money. I would also like an admission of wrongdoing. All of this will need to be in writing.

Business Response:

Dear *** ******** -

I apologize for the lengthly delay in providing a written response.  I was preparing the written response after verifying that the customers concerns were addressed when I had an unscheduled absence for emergency surgery. 

As I stated when we spoke by phone, I verified that *** **** had not been assessed any fees for his accounts and that upon receipt of the complaint on December 13, I promptly ensured that both accounts were closed.  Please note that the free checking account was closed November 8, prior to the complaint being recieved and the second account (free savings) was closed on the date you forwarded the complaint to me.

Again, I apologize for my lengthy unscheduled absence and thus the delay in providing a written response.  It is not Washington Trust Banks policy to ignore or refuse to respond to customer complaints, but to research them diligently, ensure the consumer is not harmed in any way, and provide a thorough written response, addressing all concerns. 

If I can be of further assistance to you or *** ****, please contact me at ***** ******** or

**********************

 

Thank you,

 

********* ********** ********** ******* ********** ***** ****