BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers traditional banking services and products, business and commercial lending, real estate loans and mortgages. Investment securities offered through Raymond James Financial Services, Inc.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Banner Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Banner Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Banner Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 02, 1966 Business started: 01/01/1890 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1890 Business incorporated 11/22/1993 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark C. Grescovich, President / CEO Mr. Lloyd W. Baker, Executive VP, CFO Mr. Tyrone Bliss, Executive VP, Senior Risk Mgmt & Compliance Officer Ms. Cindy Purcell, Executive VP, Retail Banking & Administration
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tyrone Bliss, Executive VP, Senior Risk Mgmt & Compliance Officer
Principal: Mr. Mark C. Grescovich, President / CEO
Business Category

Banks Bonds - Surety & Fidelity Financial Planning Consultants Annuities Investment Advisory Service Investment Securities Loans Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Mortgage Brokers Mutual Funds Retirement Planning Service Financial Services

Hours of Operation
Corporate Headquarters
Alternate Business Names
Banner Corporation
Additional Information

This is the HQ for Banner Bank and the report reflects national activity.

Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been banking with Banner Bank for a couple of years with not overdrafts of problems. I used Banner Banks smartphone app (official Banner Bank App promoted by bank) to make a deposit as I was leaving for vacation. I had used this process a couple of times before with no problem. This was used to move money from one of my bank account to another (available funds was never stated as a problem). The app involves submitting a photo of both the front and back of the check. When submitting the deposit the app show "submitted" as status. After reviewing, the app status gets changed to "accepted". I verified that the status was "Accepted" before leaving data coverage. When I returned on 7/19/2014, the status still showed "accepted" but the transaction was never processed. This resulted in overdraft fees of $120 plus the fees applied by the other banks that were declined. On 7/21/2014 I went to the branch to see what had happened. They said that they had questions about the check and had declined to process it. The teller told me that she didn't care what the app said, it didn't process and they weren't going to back off any charges. When I asked to speak to the manager I was asked to be seated. then a couple of minutes later the teller came back out and said that the manager "reviewed the case" and that they wouldn't make any changes. When asked if I could talk to her, I was told NO. When I returned home, I contacted the corporate office and was told it was up to the local branch manager. I did get a phone number for a regional supervisor, but he seams to not want to answer his phone.

Desired Settlement: 1) reversal of the overdraft fees 2) covering any fees instated by other banks for returned checks 3) removing and or preventing any adverse credit bureau reporting relating to this event

Business Response:

The attached letter has been mailed to Mr. ********. 

We have apologized to him for how his situation was handled by the staff at our Federal Way Branch Office; refunded the overdraft/NSF fees; and assured him that there has been and will not be any adverse report made about this matter to any credit reporting agency.  Further, Ms. ******* stands ready to promtly refund to Mr. ******** any reasonably documented fees that he may have been charged by third parties as the result of the returned items.  Therefore, we believe that we have fulfilled his desired settlement of this complaint.

Sincerely,

****** *. *****, EVP

 

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Thank You,


***** ********

7/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Banner bank has taken two payments from my account plus interest after my loan was paid off and closed. They refuse to return my calls or answer my questions. Two payments of $100 have been taken from my account. Personal banker Carmelita has promised answers and returned phone calls. Then doesn't call me back. Three Fridays in a rowI want and need my money.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back, along with the interest they took after my line of credit was paid off and closed!!

Business Response:

Banner Bank is pleased to report our response to the complaint of Ms. ***** ****:

We acknowledge that Ms. **** contacted us on February 26, 2013 to pay off her line of credit.  After the payoff, we received two $100 payments which were debits from her account on 02/28/13 and 03/29/13.  These debits occured because Ms. **** had set up an automatic bill payment from her online banking account, but she had inadvertently failed to discontinue these payments after she paid off her line of credit.  At the time she first notified us of her concerns we had promised her a prompt refund of the overpayments, but we experienced an unexpected delay in doing so and for that we are truly sorry.

By April 15, 2013 we had credited Ms. ****'s deposit account for the two overpayments as requested.  We also credited her with an additional $25.00 to compensate her for her inconvenience.  Our Teller Ms. Presho also personally apologized to Ms. **** when she came in to our Branch Office for our service delay.   

We now consider this important matter resolved with our valued client.

****** ** *****, EVP

 

4/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Banner Bank incorrectly processed a wire transfer request for 8,000.00 USD and have admitted to sending the funds to the wrong bank. Over the past month we have had several communications via email and phone with Banner Bank employees to try to resolve the error internally but have yet to have the funds returned to our account. As the error was banks we do not feel it is reasonable for them to ask our company Combustion Labs Media Inc. to continue to wait for the funds to be returned.

Desired Settlement: Would be to be immediately be credited the 8,000.00 USD to our account.

Business Response:

The is Banner Bank's reply to the complaint filed by Mr. ***** ****** on behalf of his employer, Combustion Labs Media, Inc. on March 21, 2013.

We are pleased to report that as of March 22, 2013 Banner Bank credited the account of Combustion Labs Media, Inc. in the amount of $8000.00 U.S. dollars as requested by our client.

We acknowledge that we inadvertently sent an international wire for $8000 to the incorrect international bank.  Since being notified of our mistake on February 28, 2013, we were in regular contact with Combustion Labs Media, Inc. and with the foreign bank and intermediary bank involved to have the wire returned.  We further acknowledge that Combustion Media Labs, Inc. also attempted to have the wire reversed.   Finally, on March 21 Banner Bank Retail Division Manager ****** **** spoke with three representatives of the company, and they agreed that Banner Bank would make an additional attempt to contact HSBC to return the wire.  On March 22, HSBC indicated that the wire had been returned and we credited the company's account in the amount of $8000.00 -- although Banner Bank did not receive the funds until March 27 in the amount of $7559.55.  We will absorb the difference of $440.45. 

****** ** *****, EVP

 

 

2/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a mail advertisement from Banner Bank which included the following offer:New Account Reward VoucherReward amount: ******* FIFTY DOLLARS AND 00/100 **** New account code 3494740-DF Amount $50.00 Valid thru February 15, 2013PREPARED FOR: (my name and address)It is a voucher made out to look like a check signed by the Executive Vice President, New account services **** ******.I visited the Fairview branch on 1/24/13 at 9:00am to open a new personal checking account, with a $50 deposit, and redeem my $50 reward. The offer required a $50 minimum deposit, and was for a new customer checking account. $50 reward will be deposited in your new checking account within 60 days after account opening.The bank checked my credit, which I did not authorize, nor was it required per their advertisement that was mailed to me U.S.P.S. Then refused to honor their voucher.

Desired Settlement: The bank apologize to all the consumers who were deceived, and mislead by their false advertisement. The bank should pay the $50 promised by their voucher in an unsolicited advertisement. The bank should also have to reimburse all consumers for their time and expenses lost due to their failure to honor their advertisement.My loss due to their false, misleading, and deceiving advertising have exceeded $90 calculated as follows:$50 for the cash value of their offer redemption. $10.00 for mileage and transportation, and $30 for over an hour of my time spent responding to their offer in good faith to start a business relationship with the bank. This does not include ongoing time expenditures, and costs to resolve this issue.

Business Response:

Attached is a copy of the letter that Banner Bank Executive Vice President **** ****** has sent today to Mr. ******.  This letter addresses Mr. ******'s concerns and documents the principal reason why Banner Bank was not able to open a new Connected Checking account for him on January 24, 2013.  Our letter also extends our $50 cash reward offer to Mr. ****** through March 15, 2013 to provide him with sufficient time to address certain matters with Wells Fargo Bank should he choose to do so and thereafter pursue opening a new Connected Checking account with us.

Sincerely,

****** ** *****, EVP

 

 

1/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Banner Bank failed to close my personal checking account with them after I called and Faxed my Cancellation Request to them on 08-03-2012. Back on 08-03-2012 I called the Banner Bank Home Office ###-###-#### and spoke with their representative and I told her that I wanted to terminate my Banner Bank personal checking account #1********* immediately, and I asked for their Fax # to do this. The Banner Bank Home Office representive told me that I needed to Fax my request to my local Boise branch office at Fax # ###-###-####, which I did. 2. on 08-28-2012 - I received a letter from the Banner Bank which informed me that they had not closed my checking account and that they continued to make automatic electronic drafts after the date of my instructions to them to close my checking account #1*********. and did not include any mention or acknowledgement of my previous cancellation requestw which i had made on 08-03-2012.3. on 08-31-2012 - I sent a 1 page Fax to Banner Bank Fax 424-2860 asking them to please explain to me why they did did not process my previously made made verbal and written requests to cancel my checking account #1*********, which I had made to them on 08-03-2012.4. on 09-10-2012 - i sent Fax to Banner Bank Walla Walla Fax ###-###-#### 10:08am 5 pages of copies of all of my previous requests to cancel my checking account back on 08-03-2012.Please let me know if there is anything else that you need from me in-order to process my Complaint against the charges which Banner Bank says that I owe them for, which I dispute all for any charges after my 08-03-2012 checking account cancellation request. Thank you very much!!!

Desired Settlement: Please get Banner Bank to drop all of the charges which they made against my will, and their service charges which they have added, for any and all charges after my 08-03-2012 checking account cancellation request.

Business Response:

Based on my personal review of Mr. ******' complaint and the informaton presented to me by Banner Bank staff, it appears clear that Mr. ****** meant to close his account with us, even though we lack solid, written evidence of this.  Banner Bank accepts Mr. ******' word for what he intended to do when his account balance reached $0.01, namely close it. 

Given this, Banner Bank has taken the following actions:

1.  We closed checking account #xxxxxx**** on January 4, 2013.

2.  We reversed $180 in NSF charges.

3.  Banner Bank has voluntarily chosen to absorb $202.77 in expenses for the following ACH transactions that Mr. ****** received the benefit of:

  1. 8/8/12    $54.91 paid to Prov L&A Dis
  2. 8/8/12    $106.41 paid to MetLife
  3. 8/17/12  $41.45 paid to Regence

4.  We contacted ChexSystem and have reversed our report concerning funds due to Banner Bank to help ensure that ChexSystem does not contain a negative report.

We believe that our response fully and completely addresses Mr. ******' complaint and his desired settlement with us.

Sincerely,

****** ** *****, Executive Vice President