BBB Accredited Business since

AmericanWest Bank

Find a Location

Phone: (509) 232-1515 Fax: (509) 465-9681 41 W Riverside Ave, Spokane, WA 99201 http://www.awbank.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AmericanWest Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AmericanWest Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AmericanWest Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1974 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1974 Business incorporated 11/17/1976 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott A. Kisting, CEO Mr. Jim Claffee, President/COO Ms. Kelly McPhee, Director of Communications
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott A. Kisting, CEO
Business Category

Banks Financing Loans Loans - Small Business Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Real Estate Loans Safe Deposit Box Rental Financing Consultants Mortgage Bankers Banking Services Credit Card - Merchant Services

Industry Tips
Financial Tip: Check Status of Health of Bank or Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 100 Main Street

    Orofino, ID 83544 (208) 476-9200

  • 1010 Yakima Valley Hwy

    Sunnyside, WA 98944 (509) 839-5545

  • 104 W Owen

    Uniontown, WA 99179 (509) 229-3347

  • 1115 Meade Ave

    Prosser, WA 99350 (509) 786-3545

  • 127 W Yakima Ave

    Yakima, WA 98902 (509) 457-0706

  • 1300 S Grand Ave

    Pullman, WA 99163 (509) 334-4446

  • 147 North Broadway

    Tekoa, WA 99033 (509) 284-5000

  • 150 North Bridge Street

    Palouse, WA 99161 (509) 878-1300

  • 1500 Main Ave

    Saint Maries, ID 83861 (208) 245-4700

  • 15606 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99037 (509) 927-3028

  • 215 Main St

    Waitsburg, WA 99361 (509) 337-6664

  • 22 E 2nd St

    Naches, WA 98937 (509) 653-2217

  • 2201 Thain Grade

    Lewiston, ID 83501 (208) 743-0456

  • 255 W Hayden Ave

    Hayden, ID 83835 (208) 772-3450

  • 30 W Main St

    Walla Walla, WA 99362 (509) 527-3800

  • 300 E Main St

    Pullman, WA 99163 (509) 332-1561

  • 322 S Division St

    Moses Lake, WA 98837 (509) 766-5929

  • 365 W 3rd Ave

    Kettle Falls, WA 99141 (509) 738-2393

  • 3945 W Court St

    Pasco, WA 99301 (509) 545-0258

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    404 E Huntington Dr

    Monrovia, CA 91016 (626) 357-9611

  • 407 N Main St

    Colfax, WA 99111 (509) 397-3000

  • 408 B St

    Mabton, WA 98935 (509) 894-4670

  • 41 W Riverside Ave

    Spokane, WA 99201 (509) 232-1515

  • 427 E Main St

    Dayton, WA 99328 (509) 382-2800

  • 447 Basin St SW

    Ephrata, WA 98823 (509) 754-5650

  • 5920 W Clearwater Ave

    Kennewick, WA 99336 (509) 735-4663

  • 600 S Jackson St

    Moscow, ID 83843 (208) 882-0809

  • 605 N Fifth Ave

    Sandpoint, ID 83864 (208) 255-1700

  • 621 S Main St

    Colville, WA 99114 (509) 684-5017

  • 639 Morgan St

    Davenport, WA 99122 (509) 725-2265

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8200 Arlington Ave

    Riverside, CA 92503

  • 9506 N Newport Hwy

    Spokane, WA 99218 (509) 467-9084

  • S. 106 2nd St East

    Chewelah, WA 99109 (509) 935-6789

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    255 S Riverside Ave

    Rialto, CA 92376 (909) 874-4444

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    27425 Ynez Rd

    Temecula, CA 92591 (951) 760-7200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3999 Inland Empire Blvd

    Ontario, CA 91764 (909) 483-8888

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5030 Arlington Ave

    Riverside, CA 92504 (951) 588-1450

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8200 Arlington Ave

    Riverside, CA 92503 (951) 588-1450

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1100 Main St Ste 170

    Woodland, CA 95695 (530) 406-2060

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1100 Main St Ste 170

    Woodland, CA 95695 (530) 406-2060

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    115 W Mcknight Way

    Grass Valley, CA 95949 (530) 272-4286

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    115 W Mcknight Way

    Grass Valley, CA 95949 (530) 272-4286

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1201 Solano St

    Corning, CA 96021 (530) 824-4605

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1201 Solano St

    Corning, CA 96021 (530) 824-4605

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    123 N Main St

    Yreka, CA 96097 (530) 842-6191

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    123 N Main St

    Yreka, CA 96097 (530) 842-6191

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1834 Mangrove Ave Ste 1

    Chico, CA 95926 (530) 895-5200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1834 Mangrove Ave Ste 1

    Chico, CA 95926 (530) 895-5200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    312 Maple St

    Mount Shasta, CA 96067 (530) 926-1680

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    312 Maple St

    Mount Shasta, CA 96067 (530) 926-1680

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    333 F St Ste A

    Davis, CA 95616 (530) 758-6250

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    333 F St Ste A

    Davis, CA 95616 (530) 758-6250

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4875 Granite Dr

    Rocklin, CA 95677 (916) 632-7900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4875 Granite Dr

    Rocklin, CA 95677 (916) 632-7900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6701 N Highway 3

    Greenview, CA 96037 (530) 468-5363

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6701 N Highway 3

    Greenview, CA 96037 (530) 468-5363

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 C St

    Galt, CA 95632 (209) 745-7000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 C St

    Galt, CA 95632 (209) 745-7000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 E Bidwell St

    Folsom, CA 95630 (916) 984-8880

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 E Bidwell St

    Folsom, CA 95630 (916) 984-8880

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    880 Cypress Ave

    Redding, CA 96001 (530) 245-1004

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    880 Cypress Ave

    Redding, CA 96001 (530) 245-1004

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9340 E Stockton Blvd

    Elk Grove, CA 95624 (916) 685-6546

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9340 E Stockton Blvd

    Elk Grove, CA 95624 (916) 685-6546

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9340 E Stockton Blvd

    Elk Grove, CA 95624 (916) 685-6546

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    950 Main St

    Red Bluff, CA 96080 (530) 527-7610

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    950 Main St

    Red Bluff, CA 96080 (530) 527-7610

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10757 S River Front Pkwy Ste 150

    South Jordan, UT 84095 (801) 208-4090

  • 10757 S River Front Pkwy Ste 150

    South Jordan, UT 84095 (801) 208-4090

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1290 S 500 WSte 100

    Woods Cross, UT 84010 (385) 399-5221

  • 1290 S 500 W  Ste 100

    Woods Cross, UT 84010 (385) 399-5221

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    135 E 200 N

    Salem, UT 84653 (801) 423-1456

  • 135 E 200 N

    Salem, UT 84653 (801) 423-1456

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1534 S State St

    Orem, UT 84097 (801) 225-0571

  • 1534 S State St

    Orem, UT 84097 (801) 225-0571

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    175 S Main St Ste 120

    Salt Lake Cty, UT 84111 (801) 715-3100

  • 175 S Main St Ste 120

    Salt Lake Cty, UT 84111 (801) 715-3100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 E Center St

    Provo, UT 84606 (801) 342-6000

  • 201 E Center St

    Provo, UT 84606 (801) 342-6000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    885 N Main St

    Springville, UT 84663 (801) 491-0900

  • 885 N Main St

    Springville, UT 84663 (801) 491-0900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12770 High Bluff Dr Ste 180

    San Diego, CA 92130 (858) 523-1940

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1350 Rosecrans St

    San Diego, CA 92106 (619) 243-7900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    279 F St

    Chula Vista, CA 91910 (619) 827-8100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    350 Fletcher Pkwy

    El Cajon, CA 92020 (619) 873-1280

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    355 W Grand Ave

    Escondido, CA 92025 (760) 520-0400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4445 Eastgate Mall Ste 110

    San Diego, CA 92121 (858) 625-9050

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5508 Balboa Ave

    San Diego, CA 92111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5901 Priestly Dr Ste 160

    Carlsbad, CA 92008 (760) 448-8300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 B St Ste 100

    San Diego, CA 92101 (619) 231-8500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    850 Lagoon Dr

    Chula Vista, CA 91910 (619) 827-8100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4146 Woodruff Ave

    Lakewood, CA 90713 (562) 213-1100 (562) 213-1100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7182 Beverly Blvd

    Los Angeles, CA 90036 (323) 935-6132

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    721 E Union St

    Pasadena, CA 91101 (626) 204-0477

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    721 E Union St

    Pasadena, CA 91101 (626) 204-0477

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7182 Beverly Blvd

    Los Angeles, CA 90036 (323) 935-6132

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4146 Woodruff Ave

    Lakewood, CA 90713 (562) 213-1100 (562) 213-1100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13605 Meridian E

    Puyallup, WA 98373 (253) 445-6626

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1409 NE 7th St

    Grants Pass, OR 97526

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1455 E Mcandrews Rd

    Medford, OR 97504 (541) 776-7480

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1689 Williams Hwy

    Grants Pass, OR 97527 (541) 956-6450 (541) 955-4589

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2237 NW 57th St

    Seattle, WA 98107 (206) 784-2200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 E Main St

    Medford, OR 97501 (541) 245-4650

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 E Pine St

    Central Point, OR 97502 (541) 665-8009

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3369 Crater Lake Hwy

    Medford, OR 97504 (541) 618-8247

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    40 NW Glenhart Ave

    Winston, OR 97496 (541) 440-2655

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5701 1st Ave S

    Seattle, WA 98108 (206) 768-1088

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1409 NE 7th St

    Grants Pass, OR 97526

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1455 E Mcandrews Rd

    Medford, OR 97504 (541) 776-7480

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2235 Highway 66

    Ashland, OR 97520 (541) 482-1822

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 E Main St

    Medford, OR 97501 (541) 245-4650

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 E Pine St

    Central Point, OR 97502 (541) 665-8009

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3369 Crater Lake Hwy

    Medford, OR 97504 (541) 618-8247

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    40 NW Glenhart Ave

    Winston, OR 97496 (541) 440-2655

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5701 1st Ave S

    Seattle, WA 98108 (206) 768-1088

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    155 108th Ave NE Ste 100

    Bellevue, WA 98004 (425) 467-5900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13605 Meridian E

    Puyallup, WA 98373 (253) 445-6626

  • 13605 Meridian E

    Puyallup, WA 98373 (253) 445-6626

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1375 NW Mall St Ste 1

    Issaquah, WA 98027 (425) 395-1199

  • 1375 NW Mall St Ste 1

    Issaquah, WA 98027 (425) 395-1199

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1409 NE 7th St

    Grants Pass, OR 97526

  • 1409 NE 7th St

    Grants Pass, OR 97526

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1455 E Mcandrews Rd

    Medford, OR 97504 (541) 776-7480

  • 1455 E Mcandrews Rd

    Medford, OR 97504 (541) 776-7480

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    155 108th Ave NE Ste 100

    Bellevue, WA 98004 (425) 467-5900

  • 155 108th Ave NE Ste 100

    Bellevue, WA 98004 (425) 467-5900

  • 1689 Williams Hwy

    Grants Pass, OR 97527 (541) 956-6450 (541) 955-4589

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1689 Williams Hwy

    Grants Pass, OR 97527 (541) 956-6450 (541) 955-4589

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18960 State Highway 305 NE Ste 100

    Poulsbo, WA 98370 (360) 394-1701

  • 18960 State Highway 305 NE Ste 100

    Poulsbo, WA 98370 (360) 394-1701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2235 Highway 66

    Ashland, OR 97520 (541) 482-1822

  • 2235 Highway 66

    Ashland, OR 97520 (541) 482-1822

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2237 NW 57th St

    Seattle, WA 98107 (206) 784-2200

  • 2237 NW 57th St

    Seattle, WA 98107 (206) 784-2200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2722 Colby Ave Ste 100

    Everett, WA 98201 (425) 740-2888

  • 2722 Colby Ave Ste 100

    Everett, WA 98201 (425) 740-2888

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 E Main St

    Medford, OR 97501 (541) 245-4650

  • 300 E Main St

    Medford, OR 97501 (541) 245-4650

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 E Pine St

    Central Point, OR 97502 (541) 665-8009

  • 300 E Pine St

    Central Point, OR 97502 (541) 665-8009

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3369 Crater Lake Hwy

    Medford, OR 97504 (541) 618-8247

  • 3369 Crater Lake Hwy

    Medford, OR 97504 (541) 618-8247

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    40 NW Glenhart Ave

    Winston, OR 97496 (541) 440-2655

  • 40 NW Glenhart Ave

    Winston, OR 97496 (541) 440-2655

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5701 1st Ave S

    Seattle, WA 98108 (206) 768-1088

  • 5701 1st Ave S

    Seattle, WA 98108 (206) 768-1088

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13605 Meridian E

    Puyallup, WA 98373 (253) 445-6626

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13605 Meridian E

    Puyallup, WA 98373 (253) 445-6626

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1375 NW Mall St Ste 1

    Issaquah, WA 98027 (425) 395-1199

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    155 108th Ave NE Ste 100

    Bellevue, WA 98004 (425) 467-5900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    18960 State Highway 305 NE Ste 100

    Poulsbo, WA 98370 (360) 394-1701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2237 NW 57th St

    Seattle, WA 98107 (206) 784-2200

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2722 Colby Ave Ste 100

    Everett, WA 98201 (425) 740-2888

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5701 1st Ave S

    Seattle, WA 98108 (206) 768-1088

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been using the ATM at the **** ********* ******* *** ***** ** ***** AmericanWest Bank location to make deposits into my **** ******* accounts for the past several months. I am in the process of switching all my funds from ***** ***** to **** *******. I received an insurance claim check for a total loss of my honda fit, which was totalled 11/11/2014. Before the check cleared at WF, I paid off the car with 2 credit cards, $5000 on a ***** **** and $10,000 on the **** ******* Visa. Wells placed a 10-day hold on the $15K check, so that on Dec 1, the day it cleared, I transfered $5000 to the ***** **** account and wrote a ***** ***** check to myself to deposit into **** ******* in the amount of $9,300. As I had been doing since opening an account at **** ***, I went to the AmericanWest ATM to deposit the $9,300 check on Dec 1 so I could pay off the $10,000 **** *** Visa balance. When I deposited the check for $9,300, the receipt read "$93.00" but showed the image of the check for $9,300. I immediately went into the bank and spoke with a teller, who could not help me and said the ATMs are out of their hand. I called **** *** for help the following 5 days in a row: Mon-Fri 12/1 to 12/5. By end of business 12/5, I still don't have my money and no one is able to give me an answer. Meanwhile, I am soon to be accruing interest on that $10,000 visa charge. Also, ***** ***** had no problem reading the check correctly, so the $9300 is out of the WF account and somewhere else. This has been an agonizing process and I feel like AmericanWest doesn't care one bit about me or my money or about fixing this blatant and expensive error.

Desired Settlement: Fix this problem now.

Business Response:

We have reached out personally to the writer and resolved this issue.

The deposit was manually keyed into our ATM as $93.00. When the actual check was received, we noted the discrepancy and manually adjusted. We then noted her financial institution of the disparity and sent them the difference of $9207 on 12/5. We are confident that this issue was resolved quickly and fairly.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** *********

6/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: American West Bank stole $12,364.48 from me, very simple. In mid 2013 American West Bank, acquired ******* **** **** ***** which had been financially struggling for years. I had a mortgage on a commercial parcel with ******* **** **** when American West Bank took over. At the time that American West Bank acquired *** (and the Mortgage on my property); a portion of my building was damaged by a structure fire. I’d previously signed over all insurance proceeds to *** bank that was received, reliant that when the last insurance proceeds where collected, ******* **** **** would assist to re-finance as they'd promised, with cost to repair the damages wrapped in. I’d never missed a payment, nor bounced a check with *** in over 30 years of doing business. Within 45 days of American West Bank acquiring ***, my commercial mortgage loan matured. I’d contacted *** several times about extending and/or refinancing without receiving a response. When my calls and e-mails where returned, my loan had matured and the new account manager at American West Bank informed me that my property doesn't meet their LTV; because of the fire damage, which *** received all the insurance proceeds for repair!,….(Thankfully, *** paid down the loan with majority of the proceeds). The property cash flowed at this time from other tenant’s income, and I’d still never missed a payment AND had the ability to continue making all payments. However, the new account manager at American West Bank refused to accept any further payments, nor extend nor refinance the loan. The new account manager informed me that they’d prefer not to renew or extend and that I’ve three choice’s. 1) Sign the property over to them via Deed in Lieu of Foreclosure 2) Pay it off immediately (knowing the difficulty I’ll have in refinancing a fire damaged building) 3) If not paid off immediately, and if I won’t sign it over to them, then he’ll start a judicial foreclosure process within 30 days. At this time, I’d already bared tremendous expense on my own behalf in demo, engineering and construction cost that should have and was intended to be reimbursed by ***. I immediately contacted three other banks. I was approved for financial options from all three other banks. I’m fortunate in that I don’t have a 9 to 5 hourly paying job; and that I’m successful in what I do. Within a couple weeks I re-visited the American West Bank account manager and presented him with 4 items. 1) A commitment letter from Scott Valley Bank informing American West Bank that they’ll refinance the property for me upon my repair. 2) A contractors repair estimate to complete the repairs that Scott Valley Bank required to be done to refinance and amount of time it will take (90 days) 3) Proof of funds that I could pay cash for the repairs needed to be done. 4) A Letter of Intent from a business whom wants to lease the Suite when the repairs are done. After presenting the 4 items above, I requested a 90 Day extension of the loan, simply allowing me the time to complete the repairs and refinance. American West Bank Manager denied the extension, and presented me with a document titled “Agreement for Deed in Lieu of Foreclosure” and instructed me to sign it. The account manager informed me that if I don’t, then he’ll start the judicial foreclosure process which he believed would take about 90 days from that point; because I was now in a forced default position by *** because he wouldn't accept any payments. Bare in mind, if a foreclosure process started, the new bank won’t be able to refinance stemming from FDIC regulation. In turn, I obtained an attorney for the review of the document *** prepared demanding for me to sign. The attorney didn’t buy into it, little drama back and forth, eventually leading to a conference call requested by American West Bank, between my attorney and their attorney. Prior to getting on the call, my attorney received a letter of consent from American West Bank wanting me to agree to pay for their conference call attorney fee. My Attorney refused, as it was American West Banks desire to have their attorney involved, all I want to do is pay my bills, extend the loan for 90 days and pay off American West Bank! American West Bank Managers agreed to proceed with the call acknowledging that I refused to pay for their unnecessary attorney fees. When American West Bank realized that they weren’t going to easily “take” the property away from me like a bully in a school yard, they agreed to extend the loan for 90 days “ONLY UPON ME SIGNING A NON DEFENSE CIT AGREEMENT”,…….. So, If I agreed, I’d have the 90 day extension, if I didn't agree they would continue to refuse my payments and pursue foreclosure. My attorney advised that legally I shouldn't sign it because I've no defense if they act in bad faith. However, If I don’t sign it, he understands that I won’t get my 90 days to extend, and refinance at another bank and will likely lose the building to American West Bank in the interim if the deal has to go to court. I signed the Non Defense Agreement in good faith; the loan was extended 90 days. I completed all the work and paid cash for the repairs as I'd agreed; after catching up on all payments that they’d previously refused to accept, and continued to pay my interest. At the time to refinance I was given a payoff amount by the account manager. Strapped for cash after paying for all repairs out of my pocket, I was barely able to bring it all together financially. Upon attending the title company to sign papers to refinance I was informed by the title officer that the payoff was then increased by $12,364.48. When I'd contacted the American West Bank Account manager about payoff, he replied "Need I remind you that you've signed a non-defense agreement",...eluding to their ability to technically steal from me in bad faith as my attorney had warned and that I'd no choice. Although the loan was being paid off prior to year end, American West Bank Required me to pay interest on the money throughout the year end! Nowhere in any agreement does it allow American West Bank to act so frivolously. Just prior to the refinance, when construction was 90% completed. American West Bank ordered an appraisal on the property on their own behalf. They were aware that I was refinancing. I'd kept my account manger up to date repeatedly. They where also aware that I'd just invested nearly $100K in repairs, and that the building was fully occupied at an 8% CAP upon completion of the repairs. After American West Bank received the appraisal results, I received an e-mail from American West Bank requesting to keep my business; which I respectfully declined. In turn, American West then forced me to pay for their $3300 last minute appraisal, which was obtained for their own benefit in an effort for them to try and keep my business. The Deed of trust on my property specifically states that the lender is entitled to expenditure reimbursements ONLY in the event their secured asset is jeopardized. American West was very aware that this was not the scenario, I'd just put 100K into it and additionally aware that the property was to be paid off within 30 days. They where additionally aware that I'd recently had to pay for my own appraisal through Scott Valley Bank. That is blatantly malicious, an abuse of power and a breach of their fiduciary and ethical responsibility. The final charge of the $12,364.48 was for American West Banks frivolous attorney fees. Bare in mind “from the start of this process to the end the only thing that I continued to request was for American West Bank to continue to accept my current payments and renew the loan or allow time for me to refinance”. There was absolutely no reason for an attorney. My wife and I have impeccable credit and are financially stable. Their only reason for obtaining an attorney was for their attempt in trying to take the property. Conclusion is, if I’d not agreed to their additional $12,364.48 in frivolous fees, the CIT extension would have expired, they’d already reminded me that I’ve no defense and that they’ll quit accepting my payments again and start a foreclosure process, on my newly remolded building that they're now aware was fully occupied and appraised for 70%LTV for the re-fi………. Extortion is the best and only way to describe what they've done. The reasoning I was given that they’d applied the additional fees was that “technically” they believe that they can get away with it because I’ve no defense in their mind. The account manager should be thrown in jail!

Desired Settlement: Refund the money stolen by extortion.

Business Response:

In exchange for certain accommodations from AmericanWest Bank (“Bank”), Mr. ****** and his company validly waived and released their claims against the Bank in an agreement effective 8/28/2013.  They obtained the advice of outside counsel to represent their interests in connection with the disputes and release. The Bank also engaged outside counsel to represent its interests and to prepare the agreement.  In accordance with the loan documents, the Bank was allowed to recover its legal expenses, which totaled $7,810.56.  The appraisal ordered on 9/11/2013 was obtained consistent with the Bank’s policy, and its cost of $3,296.00 was charged to the borrower as permitted by the loan documents.  The loan payoff quote was prepared assuming a payoff as of 12/30/2013, and included interest per diem information to calculate adjustments if the payoff date differed.  The actual loan payoff did not charge interest beyond the payoff date of 12/23/2013.  Although the borrower included funds in the payoff to pay interest through the end of the year, the extra interest totaling $880.79 was credited back to the borrower’s account on 12/23/2013.  While we understand Mr. ****** was not pleased with these costs, the Bank appropriately recovered its costs in connection with the loan payoff.

Consumer Response: BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
  
1) Please have *** provide any type of "tangible verification of credit" to ****** for the amount of $880.79 as claimed.  No credit was ever conveyed in my favor, nor was any additional interest entitled for *** to charge me for in the first place. The E-mail attached with correspondence back and forth being POST 12/23/13 and denying any refund, verifies that I was never credited any interest money back, nor did they ever intend to.  E-mail correspondence, combined with this response further solidifies their poor judgement of integrity.

 
2)  Please provide any document that states it's "Bank's Policy" to arbitrarily (have a right) to incur appraisal fees and/or random expenditures "without reason" and pass those frivolous costs along to the client.. "When the bank is fully aware" A) that their material interest in the asset has substantially increased in value by hundreds of thousands of dollars within the past 60 days ( & SINCE THEIR OTHER MOST RECENT APPRAISAL)  AND b) that they're aware that their loan is poised to be paid off in full within the next 30+/- days.
 
3) As of June/July there was no dispute as stated in *** response. The dispute evolved when *** unjustifiably refused to allow time for repair, refused to accept any further payments and instead demanded that I sign and agree to a "Agreement for Deed In Lieu of Foreclosure" or a judicial foreclosure would be pursued.  Only then was council obtained on my behalf, and if it wasn't and I'd instead listened to *** representation?,.... I'd currently be out a million dollar property.  
When *** further requested that I pay for their costs to enforce their position of DIL it was refused, and *** agreed to proceed anyway.  See e-mail attached where my council refuses to pay for their attorney fees regarding their matter, then they agreed to proceed. (with their cost at their expense to resolve their issues) 
 
Conclusion, is ultimately an agreement was drafted; A "Change In Terms" (CIT) extension was executed in good faith for a 90 day period.  I completed all the CIT requirements as I'd understood and agreed. The three issue above where not stated, addressed nor implied within any agreement that I'm aware, and where arbitrarily added with malice "after" I'd fully complied with all the CIT and was given a final payoff. They where applied "Outside" of the CIT and final payoff sent.  A respectable surprise to learn about an additional $12.5K in additional fees when attending the title company for signing and funding.  
1) *** DID charge interest through the end of the year and HAS NOT credited me back any interest. 
2) *** E-mailed me upon obtaining the results of the arbitrary appraisal WHICH WAS ORDERED FOR THEIR BENEFIT IN AN EFFORT TO TRY AND RETAIN MY BUSINESS,..see attached e-mail 4 & 5 *** had already been given a pre approval from another bank and been updated on progress the entire time.
3) Agreed to proceed with the conference call at their expense.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: Since Mr. ****** also complained to the Bank’s regulators, a more comprehensive response has been provided to them along with supporting documentation.  We therefore request Mr. ****** await further communications through the regulatory channel.  As a brief summary, however, we continue to disagree with Mr. ******’s characterization of the matter.  The legal fees and appraisal fee were appropriate for the Bank to recover in connection with the loan payoff as permitted by the loan documents.  The appraisal was ordered in early September 2013 after a payment default, and consistent with Bank policies.  Funds equal to seven days of interest were credited back to the borrower’s deposit account on the date of the payoff, so there was no over-charging of interest.

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AmericanWest Bank bought the ***** ***** branch of ******* Trust Bank. Before the actual transfer I physically went into the ***** ***** branch and signed a statement that I chose NOT to have the trust accounts I am in charge of transferred to AmericanWest, but rather stay with ******* ***** (which was bought by **** ** **********) and intended to move the location of my banking branch to La Jolla. After the bank purchase and transfer of accounts, I contacted **** ** ********** and was told my trust accounts were not there. I contacted AmericanWest and physically went there to get the accounts moved. I was told a. it was too late and they could not do anything about it; b. the person who took my statement about not wanting to have my accounts transferred to AmericanWest through away my written statement. Here is the inappropriate and illegal behavior of the bank employee. Further, the name on the trust accounts was removed when transferred to AmericanWest and only my father’s name appears on the accounts, such that I can no longer manage the accounts or get information from the bank because neither my name nor the Trust name appears on the accounts. This is either a fraudulent act or so negligent as to be a breach of fiduciary duty or breach of contract, or more feasibly a crime since there may have been malicious intent by the individual who tossed my written request in the trash and intentionally miss-named the trust accounts. The address of this branch is *** * ******* ***** ****** ** ***** and is referred to as ****** ***

Desired Settlement: Desired outcome: move the accounts to **** ** ********** as originally requested; correct the account name to correctly identify the trust; fire or prosecute the individual responsible for throwing away my written request and intentionally misnaming the accounts.

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

AmericanWest Bank has written to Ms. ******** to explain how the merger process happened and also requested she contact the branch directly for further assistance with her issue.

Regards,

******* *******

AmericanWest Bank

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Yes they sent me a letter, however they did not explain why their personnel intentionally threw away my request to stay with ******* try's, nor did they explain why that person wasn't disciplined, cautioned or counseled for Breckinridge the law and bank policies, in addition, the bank was inept and in violation of law did not allow me access to accounts so my dad's bills were late and the bank destroyed virtually all information including the name on the account such that their on line help refused to help me.  This bank has steadfastly claimed they did no wrong and refused to make any of this right.  

Regards,

**** ********

Business Response:

Good Afternoon,

 

We understand Ms. ********’s displeasure about her accounts being transferred to AmericanWest Bank (“Bank”) and her frustrations about lack of access to her father’s account.  Since the Bank’s review of the matter identified standard account documentation maintained in the ordinary course of business for the accounts that were transferred (such as signature cards, a trust certification, etc.), and the branch staff did not recall receiving a request to not transfer the accounts prior to consummation of our purchase of the branches, there was no evidence of misconduct or a violation of the law in the handling of her accounts.  Therefore, any discussion of disciplinary action was irrelevant, but even if it had been relevant, the Bank does not make public such personnel matters.  We have explained in a letter to Ms. ******** that if she wishes to bank elsewhere, she may do so and may fund the new accounts from her AmericanWest Bank accounts.  With respect to her father’s account, either he will need to direct the Bank or Ms. ******** will need to provide the Bank with appropriate legal documentation showing she is authorized to access the account or to act for her father.   We believe these are reasonable solutions, even though they will require additional effort from Ms. ********. 

2/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/25/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response: AmericanWest Bank replied to *** ************ identical letter to the FDIC on December 20, 2013. In the response, the sequence of events from the Bank's perspective was outlined, and also included an apology for the time her loan took and for sending an adverse action letter when she had in fact withdrawn her loan request.  

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In trying to close my accounts, I have been assessed over $120 in fees for charges that I requested "not to be paid" on the same day that I requested that "my account be closed". Currently it sits open with a negative balance, all fees. I feel these fees are excessive. I did my part in requesting the bills not to be paid and in that same call asked for my account to be closed. If a bill presents for payment again and the customer requested that it not be paid, then it should not be paid or assessed additional fees. Both of which America West feels justified in taking.We opened these accounts with ******* ****. ******* provided the customer with exceptional care and always treated me with courtesy and respect and waived fees whenever they could as a gesture of my loyalty. We banked with them for business, personal and savings accounts and kept our banking with them long after moving from the area. Since then, America West has acquired ******* and their customer service practices have been quite a different experience. They exercise their "rights" to apply fees at every occassion possible without any regard for customer or loyalty.

Desired Settlement: I do not feel I should pay any fees beyond the $60 for stop payment fees. I specifically requested that day that my account be closed and that no additional bills should be paid.

Business Response:

Hello,

This complaint from *** ******** has now been successfully resolved. The branch of account has worked out an agreement that was acceptable to both the bank and Ms. ********.

Thank you.

 

 

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service