BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hallmark Suzuki meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hallmark Suzuki include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hallmark Suzuki
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 10, 1997 Business started: 06/01/1997 in WA Business started locally: 06/01/1997 Business incorporated: 06/01/1987 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Vic Pestrin, Owner/General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Vic Pestrin, Owner/General Manager
Business Category

Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Services - Oil & Lube All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Warranty Processing Service Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars

Alternate Business Names
509cars.com Fourth Letter T, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 8814 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Valley, WA 99212 (509) 924-2233

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car in April of 2010. A few weeks after I purchased the car I noticed the air conditioning was not working. I had a free oil change coming up at Hallmark Hyundai so I figured I would address it at that time. I thought that the Freon just needed to get charged. The service department contacted my sales person and he offered to pay for it himself because he felt it had been overlooked when I bought the vehicle. When I went back to get the vehicle I was told that was not the problem, that it was the compressor and it would be over $1,500 to fix it. I was told by the service department that I could have done the damage to the vehicle myself.Two weeks ago I took my car to a Honda dealer (it is a Honda vehicle) because I was now in a place where I could afford to fix it. The Honda service department said that the car had to have been in a collision, a lot of the front end parts (bumper etc.) were not factory nor Honda parts. The connection to the compressor was cracked off, in no way could this be done with normal driving. The dealer had to have known when a diagnostic was done that it was damaged. They told me to contact Hallmark Suzuki (Hallmark Hyundai was now sold) to have them rectify the situation and do the right thing.

Desired Settlement: I would like my air conditioning fixed.

Business Response:

 

******* & ******* ****** did purchse a used 2004 Honda CR-V from Hallmark Hyundai on the 1st of April 2010. At that time our used vehicle inspection sheet showed that the Air Condition was working.  The only time that I can tell that the vehicle came back to our service department was on December 16, 2010. At that time we did a free oil change & informed the customer that the vehicle needed an air condition compressor. Our repair order shows that the customer declined replacing the compressor In reference to her taking the vehicle to a Honda dealer that told her the vehicle had been in a collision, I pulled a Car-Fax today (August 7th) that shows no accidents reported to them.  The vehicle was sold As Is-No Warranty per our paperwork. The paperwork also states that no free work is promised or implied. I would be glad to offer them a discount on repairing their vehicle. Hallmark Suzuki ***** **********

Consumer Response:

I do not accept their  response.  The air conditioning was not in working order when I purchased the vehicle.  The only way that the damage on the vehicle could have happened was in a wreck..  I have not had  a wreck with the vehicle.  I would like to see their paperwork from when they acquired the vehicle as to the condition of the air conditioning.  I brought the vehicle back in in June, not in December as stated, this was only a few months after I purchased it.
When I spoke with the sales manager I did say I would work with them, I am willing to pay for parts if they will take care of the service.  

Regards,


******* ******




Business Response:

Again, after talking with my employees we tend to not agree on all the statements. Regardless, I think the best thing to do

is to agree  for us to supply the labor and the ******'s purchase the compressor.  Please contact *** ***** ***** @ ********

to make arrangements to accomplish this.

Thank you,

Hallmark Suzuki

***** **********

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/23/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car w/ "Free Tires For Life" through Hallmark Hyundai. I have done everything required in the program and it has cost me extra money to do so. However today when I called to get my snow tires off and get the new free tires on, as their tread-wear are dangerously low, I was informed that as of tomorrow, Hallmark Hyundai no longer exists and has been purchased by ***** ** ******. I was told that all contacts are null and void. I now am faced with paying upwards of $1,000.00 for a brand new set of tires that were supposed to be free. What is my recourse?

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my 4 free tires, as I have done everything that was required of me to meet the guidelines of the agreement in the "Free Tires For Life" Program.

Business Response:

The customer may still qualify for the "Tires For Life" program, as long as she is the original owner & has performed all the necessary maintainance @ Hallmark Hyundai. (In the future @ Larry H. Miller Hyundai in Spokane).

The claim procedure is as follows: When the customer feels they may be due for tires they are required to bring the vehicle to the dealer for tread depth measurement. If one or more tires measure 3/32 of an inch tread or less all the way across the tire, then said tire/tires may qualify for the program.

The dealership will review the service history of the vehicle. If all the requirments have been met, new tires will be provided. The customer is responsible for mounting & balancing.

In reference to the comment that she has spent extra money for the Tires For Life program, the program was originally free to her, and the only requirement was to follow the factory recommended services. Those services should always be done.

Sorry for any confussion.

 

***** **********

Hallmark Hyundai

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The practice of selling extended warranties that do not have the coverage the car salesman at Hallmark Hyundai represented. I purchased a used Mazda from the dealership in November of 2010. The salesmen for the car deal were **** ******* and **** ******. Upon delivery of the car and signing of the paperwork salesman **** ****** explained the extended warranty coverage as bumper to bumper coverage. However, two weeks ago a mechanical failure occurred with the powertrain and throttle mechanism. The extended warranty insurance company denied the claim stating it was not part of the coverage nor would they honor the roadside service that was needed because the mechanical failure was not covered. When the dealership sold the extended warranty coverage, not once did the salesman disclose there were exclusions in the coverage of the warranty. The salesman only gave assurance that it covered bumper to bumper for 50,000 extended miles past the manufactures warranty. It should have been stated by the salesman that the extended warranty had limited coverage instead of bumper to bumper. It appears there was false representation of the extended warranty insurance. Due to this the repairs on the car cost me $1007.86 out of pocket besides the cost of the extended warranty $1791.00. I was also left without transportation for 10 days. I called the dealership to try to get resolve regarding this matter however, I was only given one return call by an employee named ***** ********* who told me he would look into it and get back with me. He failed to contact me.

Desired Settlement: I believe that the dealership owes me an apology for misrepresentation of the extended warranty insurance and reimbursement of the $1007.00 that resulted in their misrepresentation.

Business Response:

First of I would like to apologize for the amount of time it took to reply. I have been out-of-town.

I have discussed this complaint with Mr. *********. He stated that he did have a conversation with

the customer regarding her claim, that was denied.  He informed me he investigated the claim & did find

that the service contract she purchased did not cover a throttle body assembly. The policy clearly states

what is not covered by the policy.

 

I am sorry for the confusion about the customer not being contacted. Mr. ******* was instructed to do so.

In regards to her statement about bumper to bumper coverage, as we sell many service contracts it is policy

that the consumer receive a warranty booklet that shows what is covered & what is not covered. (see attachment)

We did contact the service contract company to try to assist, but we were denied also.

 

In reference to the false representation statement, I can state that our policy is what I listed above. The policy

she purchased is the same today that it was when she purchased it

 

Hallmark Hyundai

***** **********
***** **********

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8933464, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from the dealership stated the policy clearly states what is covered. On the copy of the policy I was given it is hand written coverage is until 98,000 miles bumper to bumper with roadside services.  If the policy does not support that then it is misrepresentation on the part of the dealership.

Regards,

 

 ***** ********

 

 

Business Response:

Our response to the 2nd communication regarding complaint# 8933464 is as follows:

 

The vehicle Service Contract in question requires that the purchaser sign & initial that they

have read and are familiar with the aspects of the Service Contract.

The customer has signed and acknowledged that she has read and is familiar with the following

aspects of this Service Contract. (See attachment) #2. The work and parts covered under this Service Contract

as provided in this section entitled WHAT IS COVERED of this Service Contract.

 

She also has signed that she has read, understand and agree to the terms and conditions within

the body of this contract.

 

Hallmark Hyundai

***** **********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8933464, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

 

Mr. ***** ********** is correct I did read the contract and sign it. However, the contract does not state what is or is not covered nor did I receive any literature that depicted the coverage of the extended warranty. I was told by **** ****** the gentleman that delivered the car to Boise airport that the vehicle was covered until 98000 miles with roadside service and bumper to bumper coverage like a factory warranty covers.  Also when the car needed repaired the extended warranty would not cover roadside services. When I called the warranty roadside service for assistance the representative stated they would not cover a tow unless they covered the cost of the repair. I asked how I would know it the repair was covered due the fact the car was on the side of the road and needed towed to a repair shop.  I had to endure the cost of being towed to the repair shop as well. Again, nowhere on the forms that I signed depicts the information of what is covered or not covered.   When I received the car I was asked by **** ***** to please sign on the highlighted areas because he had a short window to catch his flight back to Washington. I did explain to him I am not inclined to sign things I have not read and I will read before I sign. If I would have received literature on what was and was not covered by the extended warranty you can be assured it would not have been purchased. Unfortunately, I am sure I am not the only consumer that has had to endure the cost of a vehicle repair due to the misrepresentation of the extended warranty coverage. The hope was for reimbursement of the cost of the repair to my vehicle however, it appears that Mr. ***** ********** disagrees that the salesman misrepresented the extended warranty and that it was a lucrative practice.

Regards,

 

***** ********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought Gap insurance ffrom dealer. Didnt know that my car insurance gave it to me for 1 dollar a month when I bought it from them. Dealer added 7 dollars a month to my car payment for it. I okd that. So now I want them to cancel that. Dealer said they will take it off the end of the loan. Wife wants it taken off the 7 dollars a month instead. Do they have to do it that way or can they insist on taking it off at the end of the loan? Thank you, *** *****

Desired Settlement: I want dealer to take Gap Insurance of 7 dollars a month off my monthly payment instead of deducting amount from the end of the contract.

Business Response:

Please be advised that when a gap policy is cancelled the entire cancellation amount is fowarded to the financial institution that orginally funded the policy, unless the financial institution had been paid in full, then it is sent to the customer.

It is the policy of all financial institutions to reduce the balance of the loan and not reduce the monthly payment with the refund amount.

I have been told that this has been explained to Mr. *****.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 12th of January we traded in our vehicle for a larger vehicle that would meet our upcoming needs as a family. We test drove the vehicle for quite a long time, and found the vehicle to be in excellent visible and working condition; it ran smooth, didn't smoke, or make any funny noises under the hood. We were satisfied with it and signed the paperwork, brought it home, made sure it fit into the garage, and were generally pleased.The next day, January 13th, I took my wife to an appointment, picked my son up from school, and we headed out to dinner around 4:30 pm. We didn't make it to dinner before the vehicle broke down, and the entire dash board lit up. We were a little more than upset. We called the dealer since they were still open, and the salesman who sold us the car quickly responded by calling to have a rental car pick us up, and have our new (used) vehicle towed to their shop.This is where it gets hairy; we drove the vehicle less than 20-30 miles, and had it in our possession less than 24 hours. We called on the 14th to see if we could get our original vehicle back and asked about breaking our contract; the dealer said "NO". We contacted the extended warranty company, and they said "it sounds like a pre-existing condition and we wont cover that, it is up to the dealer to fix the problem." The dealership told us that had we purchased the warranty they tried selling us, it would have been covered, also admitting that "we don't diagnose our equipment, buyer beware, and I wasn't there for that transaction," according to one of the sales managers. We were floored when we saw the diagnostic report they do on used vehicles. Very minimal. We asked for car fax twice and did not receive it until the 24th. The vehicle was towed to a Chevy dealer across the street where they diagnosed the problem. A cracked head and the number 5 valve is unseated. The dealership will not fix it and the extended warranty will not cover repairs. We are still in the rental car. We are indebted $16,000 for the car.

Desired Settlement: We would like cost of repairs paid by Hallmark Hyundai and or the cost of the vehicle, and a formal apology.

Business Response:

FIRST I WOULD LIKE TO SAY THAT WE INSPECT ALL OF THE USED VEHICLES THAT WE SELL. IF THIS TRAILBLAZER HAD NOT PASSED OUR INSPECTION WE WOULD NOT OF OFFERED IT FOR SALE. WE INSPECT ALL THESE CARS SO THAT WE CAN OFFER SERVICE CONTRACTS THAT OFFER 1ST DAY COVERAGE FOR ANY PROBLEM. WHEN THE ***** PURCHASED THIS CAR THEY WERE OFFERED OUR SERVICE CONTRACT AND DECLINED. THEY TOLD MY MANAGER THAT THEY COULD GET 1ST DAY COVERAGE FROM USAA FOR LESS MONEY. AS YOU KNOW NO MATTER HOW EXTENSIVE A VEHICLE INSPECTION IS, PROBLEMS MAY COME UP THAT COULD NOT BE PREDICTED. THE ENGINE ON THE TRAILBLAZER APPEARED TO BE IN GOOD CONDITION. WE BELIEVE THAT THE ***** PROBLEM IS WITH THEIR SERVICE CONTRACT THAT IS TRYING TO CLAIM A PRE EXISTING CONDITION. OUT INSPECTION OF THE CAR WOULD HAVE BEEN ENOUGH FOR SERVICE CONTRACT TO HAVE COVERED THE REPAIR. THAT SAID, TO TRY TO RESOLVE THIS PROBLEM, WE ARE PREPARED TO PAY FOR HALF THE REPAIR IF DONE IN OUR SHOP. WE WILL ALSO PICK UP THE RENTAL CAR BILL. WE THINK THAT THIS IS A FAIR OFFER BASED ON THE FACT THE PROBLEM LIES WITH THEIR SERVICE CONTRACT COMPANY DENYING A REPAIR WE FEEL THEY SHOULD COVER.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8899417, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards, 

 

****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 17th I went into Hallmark Hyundai to cancel my warranty coverage on a car that I traded in at a different dealership. I have due back to me a rebate of the coverage at roughly around $2,000. I spoke with my original finance representative, *** ********. I was told that they only process them on the first of every month. So I recieved all of the proper paperwork and submitted it to *** on November 7th so that it can be submitted on their end on December 1st. After submitting all the proper paperwork, stopping in once and leaving 2 voicemails to make sure he recieved my paperwork, I finally learn on January 2nd that my paperwork has never been processed and that the girl that process's them has never recieved it. She also explained further that she can pocess the paperwork whenever needed. Not just on the 1st of every month. I put a large downpayment on my credit card for my new car with the assumtion that I will receive some sort of refund from my warranty within 60 days at most. Now, here it is January 2nd and there has been nothing processed and I have paid over $200 in interest on my credit card that should have been only $100. I realize that there is no guarantee on the amount of my rebate but their lack of customer service has made this a more painful experience than it should have been and has cost me more money than it should have.

Desired Settlement: A formal apology and an explanation as to why I was told something that was not remotely true as to the process of canceling a warranty and the time frame of recieving the rebate.

Business Response:

 After looking into this compaint, I understand why she is upset.  We dropped the ball in every way possible.

I have talked with all of our employees that were involved and deceided that we did not do a very good job.

She was told one thing & nothing seemed to happen. This is not normal and I am embarrased by their lack

of action.  Because of this, I am sending her a check for $200 to cover the interest charge on her credit card.


Also, I can assure her that the paperwork for cancellation was processed on January 3rd,

 

Again, please accept ou apology, as this is not a normal occurrence.

 

Hallmark Hyundai

***** **********

Consumer Response: I recieved a call from ***** ********** at Hallmark Hyundai regarding my complaint number 8865918.  He explained the circumstances and has offered to pay the interest from the last two months.  I appreciate your help in resolving this matter.

 

Thanks so much for your time.

 

Regards,

***** ******

###-###-####

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/13/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1