BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Automobile dealership selling new Dodge, Ram, Chrysler and Jeep vehicles and all makes and models of used vehicles.  Service Department and Body Shop service and repair all makes and models.  Parts and Accessory Departments sell Mopar and after market parts, accessories and apparel.  Economy used vehicles are sold at our lot across the street - Easy Auto Credit

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dishman Dodge Chrysler meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dishman Dodge Chrysler include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Dishman Dodge Chrysler
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1965 Business started: 11/01/1962 in WA Business started locally: 11/01/1962 Business incorporated: 12/31/1975 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Marlene Hollenback, President Mr. Mark D Waltermire Sr., Vice President/Treasurer Mr. Shane Stuhlmiller, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marlene Hollenback, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Shane Stuhlmiller, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Mark D Waltermire Sr., Vice President/Treasurer
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Accessories Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Services - Oil & Lube All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs

Products & Services

Dishman Dodge Chrysler sells the following brand(s): Chrysler-new, Dodge-new, Jeep-new, Ram-new

Dishman Dodge Chrysler offers the following product(s): All makes and models of used vehicles, Mopar and aftermarket parts, accessories and apparel

Alternate Business Names
Dishman Dodge Chrysler Auto Dishman Dodge Ram Chrysler Jeep Easy Auto Credit M and G Investments

Additional Locations

  • 7700 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99212

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 321-5716(Phone)
  • (888) 695-2043(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my 2003 Dodge Ram truck's transmission replaced in ****** *****. The truck didn't make it more then 139 miles. The ****** ***** told us we needed to have the cluster fixed to fix the door locks problem and other issues I wanted fixed. Well, I took it to Dishman Dodge in Spokane to have the cluster replaced to find out That that was not the issue after three clusters were put in and burnt out because of there mechanics kept putting them in it was the WRONG part for the problems. Then to find out that Dishman failed to put all the transmission fluid in our new transmission, that wasn't shifting right after leaving ****** *****. We did not make it home with the truck. Dishman was short 4.5 quarts of transmission fluid, There was a tool left in the engine compartment for the serpentine belts.

Desired Settlement: Those people should not be working on any bodies car or truck!! To many errors!!! I want them to be held accountable!

Business Response: Ms. ********’s vehicle was brought in on 3/26/14 with a complaint that the power locks are not working. She said that it was diagnosed as a bad cluster at ****** ***** and we told her that we generally do our own diagnosis to verify a problem but the customer did not want to pay for our diagnosis. We explained to the customer that if we don’t do our own diagnosis and this part does not fix the problem she still would have to pay for the part and she agreed so we went ahead and installed the cluster. It turns out that it was misdiagnosed at ****** ***** which is why we typically recommend to the customer we do our own diagnosis. Unfortunately with the remanufactured dash clusters we have available to us it is not at all uncommon to have to put it a couple of different clusters until we get a good part which was explained and Ms. ******** was only charged for 1 of the clusters.. In the end we found that there were some faulty wires creating the issues which we did repair and it did fix the problem. On 5/19/14 Ms. ******** brought her vehicle back in for a transmission concern that she said was shifting early which we diagnosed as a valve body issue. We replaced the valve body and test drove the vehicle to confirm the repair. Now the accusation that we left the transmission four and a half quarts low is not accurate because if we were to drop the transmission pan and drain the fluid and then put it back together without refilling the fluid the vehicle wouldn’t have been able to move out of the mechanics bay let alone be driven home. Also we are confused as to why Ms. ******** waited almost five months to bring this to anybody’s attention. We are a very reputable dealership and a fixture in the Spokane community for over fifty years so if there was an issue that we caused and we were made aware in a timely manner we would have no problem making it right. We are sorry that Ms. ******** is unhappy with her service experience but we do not feel that we did anything wrong in this situation and we do not feel that anything is owed to the customer

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have failed to spend the time to correct the recall issue at hand. Instead pushed me along with a bandi-aid and rest my PCM without actually spending the time to diagnose the actual problem which is the ignition which I have expressed my concerns about previously. Now I am stranded and have to have my vehicle towed after I have had the same recall fixed twice, with poor results. The service pro , if you want to call them tat, said it is strange that they fixed the same problem twice. After speaking to a Chrysler tech , I have learned that my car is one of MANY with the same issue. But these service men are not willing to look into the problem well enough, instead tell me that I am mistaken.. As a female I am so very frustrated with the way I am treated in this business. I have been told the same excuses over and over and after reading their complaints on this business's, I realized that my service estimates are the same falsified ..engine mounts missing a 4000 repair..etc..I feel that this company's service department is so unworkable with the needing public.. I would Never recommend their services and I do expect them to fix my now "out of warranty" problem that they should have fixed back in 2007 the first time I spent my money there.. Service records show the same PCM issue has been rest twice to never find the actual problem for the computer being tripped in the first place. Bad business and disrespectful!

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle fixed once and for all and I want them to pay the tow bill that I should have never had to have had anyway...

Business Response: I have reviewed the customers complaint and reviewed their history in our shop and have realized the work she is speaking of was not even done at our facility. This has happened to us before where customers who had work done at the old Spokane Chrysler (which is now out of business) have confused us with them. The only work we have done here in our shop was on 10/19/12 for an oil change and tire rotate and also on 11/9/12 we looked at a clunking noise complaint, a leaking axle and an evaporative code. The recall work, the PCM work and the $4,000.00 engine mount she referenced was done at Spokane Chrysler. We do feel bad that she has had issues with her vehicle and if we can help her we will but we are not the ones who did the work in question.

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Starting October of 2011 I have had 3 used stereos put in my car under a after market warranty which was covered each time with my first $100 deductible that I paid. Dishman Dodge was nice enough to refund me that $100 deductible because the issue with the stereo was not able to be resolved at the time i was in for my third stereo. The customer service department promised they would get in touch with the dodge parts rep to find out what was going with the used stereos that contact was October of 2013. I called Dishman Dodge talked to ***** ********* and he said he would contact me back when he heard from his parts rep. that never happened so i had to call them back in December of 2013 to check on the status and ***** said he still hadn't heard from the parts rep. and that he would find out and call me back well again that never happened. So I called ***** again 02/24/14 and he said he emailed his rep that day 02/24/14 to find out again what they could do about the stereo and the rep returned his email on 02/24/14 5 months after the original request to say they could try a new stereo with a different part#. Shouldnt that have been done on the second try of getting the stereo fixed. Really this service is terrible. I want my warranty that I purchased back dated to October of 2013 when I attemted to have this fixed for the 3rd time.

Desired Settlement: I want my warranty that I purchased back dated to October of 2013 when I attemted to have this fixed for the 3rd time. I dont care if they need it active to fix the stereo for the 4th time. I want it cancelled and I want my money back. This stereol should now come out of the pocket of dishman dodge not mine.

Business Response: I spoke with Mrs. ****** yesterday and was able to clear up some of the confusion and I am sincerely sorry for not doing a better job of explaining everything in the first place. At Dishman it is our goal to create a great customer experience but unfortunately with the faulty parts and me not being involved until after the third attempt to replace the radio we fell short of that goal. After escalating the issue to our Chrysler rep I was able to secure a new radio that we have scheduled to be installed and I am also sending Mrs. ****** the warranty cancellation forms to sign. Once again we apologize for any inconvenience. ***** ***********

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a 2002 PT Cruiser on August 13th. It had no observable fluids leaks but was noisy and vibrated so I took it to Dishman Dodge on August 23rd. I have paid $3485.02 for repairs and the vehicle shows no improvement. Now the mechanic wrote that It will need other mounts to hold the engine in place and that the engine is still shifting a lot. I can observe this myself. The problem is that when I took it in this last time (Sept 9th) they told me that it did NOT need the expensive mount by the transmission only the other two mounts. They called and said once AGAIN the car was "running great" "running smooth" but when I go to pay another $384.55, I see the mechanic's remark that the engine is still shifting a lot and needs more work. My husband and I went out and looked and sure enough the engine is heaving when you shift gears. We now have the vehicle at another repair shop. The vehicle definitely needs the engine mount by the transmission, but what we have no doubt it didn't need was the 2 high priced but easy to put on bracket torques that did nothing to hold the engine in place.Further, as the new mechanic has pointed out the bolts that you have to remove to perform a head gasket repair have never been touched. He showed us this . Apparently, they must have just lifted everything in one piece and shoved in the head gasket, wouldn't be able to really check it well at all. Probably wouldn't be complaining if they had actually fixed the car, but they never accomplished that.

Desired Settlement: We are going Monday to speak with the general manager. We want the money back on the mounts because they're worthless. We were apparently overcharged on labor on the timing belt because supposedly " they were already going to be at that part of the engine anyway" but they charged us labor for getting to the head gasket and then again to reach the timing belt. We were also charged $250 for a cover timing which we feel they broke.I do not trust them,but feel we have to give them a chance.

Business Response:

The owner and myself have already sat down with Mr. and Mrs. ***** and they explained to us their concerns. We came to an agreement on compensation and I stated that we hope we can earn their business in the future.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

Spoke with managers, **** and **** at Dishman Dodge. They have offered to refund us $800.00. We have accepted this offer and feel as it is fair as the total cost to get the mounts fixed was $828.  Close enough that we are satisfied with their solution. I would like their quick resolution to reflect positively on them and will not be pursuing further action. Thank you, ***** *****




6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 6/15/13, my wife & I signed a Lease Agreement with ***** ***** (Bus. Man) & ***** (Finance) at Dishman. After signing, ***** said they were new to Chryslers lease company and they may have missed a document that would require a signature, but they would make arrangements with us to collect the signature if need be. He assured us that it would not change the lease deal, that it would simply be a missed document.6/21/13 we received a phone call from ***** stating that they had additional paperwork that they needed signed ASAP. We made a trip out of our way to meet someone from Dishman to sign the additional paperwork. I asked ***** if anything changed and he stated that the only change was a change in our favor, "a couple dollars lower each month for our payments." ***** also stated that the gentleman meeting us knows nothing about the lease & would not have any answers to our questions... but that I was a smart guy and would realize it was just a couple dollars a month. Upon arriving, my wife & I realized that the lease had in fact changed, with an increase in the residual amount ($12,964.50 to $13,828.80). After feeling very misled by *****, we gave him a call to discuss the changes & the fact that he mentioned nothing about the increase. ***** blamed everything on Chrysler, stating that the lease was incorrectly drawn up and they were no longer able to waive an "access fee" they originally waived. Furthermore, ***** was not able to account for an additional $300 difference between our residual increase and the access fee. We told him we were not comfortable signing a lease we were misled on & that Brain was very unknowledgeable about. We said this was not the deal we agreed on & that we have a signed lease that both parties agreed to on 6/15/13. ***** threatened that if we did not sign this new lease agreement, Dishman would come take the car away from us and unwind the deal. We have never experienced this kind of customer service. We were bullied into signing the new lease.

Desired Settlement: This was not our mistake. Had ***** been upfront & honest about the change, instead of blaming it on Chrysler and making us feel bullied into signing a deal we did not feel comfortable with, we would not be filing a complaint. We are Dishman's customer, and ***** represented Dishman very poorly. I hope Dishman can recover the damage ***** has caused, because as of right now Dishman has lost a very good future customer as well as our acquaintances', friends', and family's future business.

Business Response:

   On 6/24/13 I received a phone call from Mr. *****s and he very politely explained the circumstances to me. I explained to him how upsetting this was to hear

and to please give me the opportunity to investigate further and then I would call him back with a resolution that would hopefully work for both parties.

I spoke with my finance manager and he explained to me that we most definately drafted the paperwork incorrectly and a big part of that was some mis-

information we had received from the leasing company avout being able to drop the acc fee. Unfortunately that was incorrect which created a situation 

where the residual was increased by $865.00 and that was transferred to the total amount due to Mr. and Mrs. *****s. Due to the mistake we made and the

way Mr. and Mrs. *****s felt after speaking with one of our finance agents  felt like we owed them some sort of monitary refund. I then called Mr. *****s back

and presented the idea of refunding him half of the residual back in the amount of $432.50. He said that sounded fair but wanted to consult with his wife 

first. He then called me back and told me that he and Mrs. *****s felt that was a fair resolution.  

 

   In the end we obviously wish we had presented the correct paperwork at the original signing but it did not work out that way. We also are extremely 

saddened about how Mr. and Mrs. *****s felt after their phone conversation on Saturday because we truly do have a great reputation for how we treat our

customers and we put a lot of time and energy into making sure our people are well taken care of. We only hope in the end that the *****s family will give us

another opportunity to earn thier business back.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *********** 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9595279, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


***** ******




4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: short of it. car repaired at dishman dodge. next day car caught fire and was totaled. other than potential loss of life i just lost a car. dishaman won,t even acknowledge me.

Desired Settlement: out of pocket expense and a little for life indangerment,inconvienance nd added expense of another car purchase

Business Response:

 

   On 2/27/13 Mr. ******'s vehicle was totaled and brought to our body shop here at Dishman Dodge.  I then met Mr. ****** along with our Body Shop manager **** ******* and discussed what had happened. He explained to us that he had visited our Service center the day before to have some work done and he felt that the car fire had something to do with the service work we had performed. **** explained to him how the process with the insurance company works and that an adjuster would come out to inspect the vehicle and to determine if it was totaled and to try and find the cause of the fire. I then told Mr. ****** that we would help him get into a new vehicle either way but we would probably need to wait for the insurance company to determine what had happened and wait for them to advise him on what he should do next.  A few days later his vehicle was picked up and taken to a place where the insurance adjuster could look at it.  Then next day I spoke with Mr. ****** again at our Body Shop because he had stopped by to see if something was left in his car. I again reassured him that no matter what Dishman Dodge would help him out as soon as the adjuster made his determination.

   At the beginning of March around the 8th Mr. ****** came in to see what we had available to purchase and was working with one of our salesman *** ******. I know this because *** called me to let me know he was in and I told him to help him out and see if we have a vehicle he likes. Unfortanetly we didn't have a vehicle that worked and at that point we reitterated that we should probably wait and see what the adjuster has to say before we move on. Now since the 8th *** has made a couple seperate phone calls to Mr. ****** to see how it is going and to check on the insurance status but has not recieved a phone call back.

   So since the car was brought in a representative has spoken with or attempted to speak with Mr. ****** on several occasions wich is why I am so confused as to why Mr. ****** mentioned we have never acknowledged him. Mr. ****** has been great to work with and has never once gave me the impression he was upset with us and so I am confused and deeply sorry that he feels this way. We here at Dishman Dodge want nothing more than for this issue to be resolved and for Mr. ****** to be a very happy customer. We will still help him out by giving a great deal on a vehicle that will no doubt make him a happy customer and I hope he accepts our deepest apologies if he feels we neglected him. I did leave Mr. ****** a voicemail today and would love the opportunity to speek with him to clear up any unresolved issues.

Sincerely,

***** ***********

Customer Service Manager

   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9482550, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



I DON'T KNOW IF THIS IS RELATIVE TO THE COMPLAINT.  DISHMAN DID CALL AND LEAVE A MESSAGE BY A SALESMAN AND HE STATED THAT THEY HAD A VAN THAT I WOULD BE INTERESTED IN. THEY CALLED TWICE. BUT  I HAD JUST PURCHASED  A VAN FROM THE POST FALLS DODGE DEALER. IT IS VERY NEAR AN EXACT REPLACEMENT.  I WOULD HAVE LIKED TO WORK WITH DISHMAN DODGE BUT THEY COULD NOT FIND WHAT I WANTED TO REPLACE. I MADE A COMMENT TO THEM THAT I HAD FOUND A VAN AND WOULD LIKE THEM TO GET IT THROUGH THE OTHER DEALER AND SELL IT TO ME. THEY SAID THEY DON'T  DO THAT.   THE SUPERVISOR AND I HAVE TALKED BUT HE WANTED TO WAIT UNTIL THE INSURANCE WAS SETTLED. IT'S SETTLED BUT I HAVEN'T HEARD FROM HIM.THANKS **** I WOULD LIKE TO KEEP THIS CLAIM OPEN. IT SEEMS THEY CALLED JUST AFTER I FILED IT          ******


Regards,

****** ******




Business Response:

I have spoken with Mr. ****** on multiple occasions and as far as I know there are no current issues for us to resolve because this has gone to both of our insurance companies now. As I have stated on many occasions Dishman Dodge will compensate Mr. ****** for anything we have been proven to be responsible for. 

***** ***********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9482550, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** ******




1/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Assistant sales manager ******* stated to me that dishman dodge will beat any price on on any dodge ram I found or pay me $500.00. I dealt with ******* and salesman ****, on multiple occasions I discussed pricing and vehicles. ******* reintegrated the match or beat deal from dishman dodge.! The end result was they ere unable to match or beat pricing I found at another dodge dealer 1 hr away. I called salesman **** for their best price on the vehicle I wanted he told me 45 k was the best they could do, I told him i found the truck ( 3500 SLT) for 44,200.00. I then asked him how I collect the 500.00 . **** the salesman instructed me to bring in the purchased vehicle with the sale documents to verify the price and I would receive a check. I retuned to Dishman Dodge the next day with the new truck and sales documents proving the price. I asked for the manager and presented the information to him (*******) and he confirmed that their policy was to pay 500.00 if they were unable to match or beat the price of a truck, at this point I was informed that I was required to come into the dealership with a written quote of the vehicle I was going to purchase. When I told them a talked to the salesman **** and followed his instructions I was told he was wrong and the dealership would not pay.... I was asked to leave at this point... As a side point on numerous discussions with ******* and the salesman they reiterated the match or beat pricing, at no point was I given specific instructions on steps to follow pertaining to the policy other than the directions received from salesman ****.

Desired Settlement: I expect the dealership to meet its verbal contract with me...

Business Response:

 

Joel,

   I looked into this complaint and found some things that will shed some light on this situation. We did recently try to sell Mr. **** a vehicle and we did tell him about our price match guarantee. Unfortunately Mr. **** did not qualify for the  guarantee for two reasons. On the price match sheet (sheet attached with stipulations) it explains the rules which were explained to Mr. ****.

   - First of all we require a price quote signed by a manager from the dealership giving the quote which we did not recieve.

   - Secondly it is required that the two prices being compared are from identical vehicles, which were not identical in this situation. Mr. **** purchased  an Outdoorsman when the vehicle we quoted a price on was an SLT, these two vehicles are definately not identical.

   I do apologize to Mr. **** for the confusion but Dishman Dodge does not feel we are responsible to pay the price match guarantee in this situation.

 

Thank you,

***** ***********

Customer Service Manager

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9372802, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In response to Dishman Dodge, the information provided by ***** is not accurate based on the time line of events.  The information identified on the coupon  was never presented to me on any of my prior visits, (the attachement is the first time I've seen this) add to this the Salesmen in which I dealt with (*******, **** and ****) never stated /provided further instructions with exception of **** instructing me that he final price on a Dodge Ram 3500 Mega Cab SLT as previously discussed including an email with a build sheet of the truck in interest with a verbal price of 45K, as I told **** this was the last opportunity for Dishman Dodge to beat the price given to me by **** ***** on the same truck Dodge Ram 3500 SLT, I provided **** ***** with the same build sheet.    Once **** told me the final price of 45K, I stated "that won't work, **** ***** has you beat " ****'s  response was " I thought so", it was at this point I asked how to proceed to acquire the 500.00 per the stated meet or beat 500.00 incentive as discussed on the initial complaint.   


In response to the actual tuck purchased on arrival to **** ***** I intended to purchase the an SLT model, when I was presented with the option to purchase the outdoorsman (SLT), I opted for  due to the price which was still under that of Dishman Dodge's finale sale price of 45K for an SLT.  If I had been provided with accurate  requirements to receive the $500.00 on any of the previous visits, or calls to Dishman Dodge I would have delivered a signed quote to Dishman Dodge for the 3500 SLT
per the build sheet sent to both dealerships.. 

As a customer in the market with a set budget for purchasing a specific model, I look for the best possible price on a vehicle.  The issue of 500.00 price guarantee offered by Dishman Dodge put them in 1st place for contact and opportunity for selling me a vehicle not to mention the benefits of discounted oil changes on the vehicle if a vehicle was purchased from them.   I find there attitude and response insulting.  I asked specifically and on numerous occasions , multiple individuals at Dishman Dodge, concerning their meet of beat pricing and was given the basic response with no specific steps to follow with exception of ****,  not to mention the sales staff at Dishman Dodge basically bragged on being able to beat the competition or pay the customer $500.00.  I remain steadfast in my position that Dishman Dodge is dishonest, and not meeting their verbal agreement with me.  




Regards,

******* ****




Business Response: Joel,    I have discussed this situation with the employee’s involved and at no time was a verbal agreement reached with Mr. Mays. Therefore, no payment will be made to Mr. ****.  Thank you for your time, *****

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9372802, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I stand by my previous statements..  On reviewing dishman dodges latest response, the facts are simple, the salemen I dealt with are dishonest. The fact that ***** never contacted me to discuss this situation and what his salesmen said, leads me to believe that dishman dodge has no desire to truely identify what is being said to customers in the buisness of selling vehicles.  

Regards,

******* **** 




9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Aug 23 2012 I took my truck in DISHMAN DODGE for a oil change and ended up with other problems (per their say) the truck had to have some front end work done to, I agreed to it, I still had a extended warrenty on it. When ***** ********* called me to tell me it had to have a brake job, back and front... it was going to cost 589.00, I declined that.. So on 9/10/12 I was still thinking about it.. I decided to take it to another place for second opinon, I took it to Les Schwab,3105 S.REGAL a person by the name of **** * checked it out only to find that the brakes were never checked out at DISHMAN DODGE just a made up story.. The mech never took the wheels of the truck, the factory clips were still on the truck as it came from the factory, I was told that I DIDN'T need a brake job, so after that I went to DISHMAN with the paper work from Les Schwab,I got all kinds of stories from ***** and the BIG CHEESE. Which were all lies, they said that I would get a call as to what happened to the lying mech, never got one. Needless to say, I will never go to that place again, I will bad mouth the place in any way I can. WHAT A BUNCH OF CROOKS, JUST THINK WHAT THEY DO TO ALL THEIR CUST, WHAT A RIP OFF PLACE THEY ARE!!!!

Desired Settlement: I THINK THEY NEED TO PAY ME BACK FOR THE WORK ON THE FRONT END AND OIL CHANGE, I BET THE FRONT END WAS NEVER LOOKED AT.

Business Response:

   On September 3rd  I was notified by one of my Service Writers that he had some customer's (Mr. and Mrs. ******* *****) who were at his desk and were very upset so I had them come up to my office. They explained to me that they were told by our service department that they needed new brakes and rotors. They took it to a different shop for a second opinion and were told that the brakes were fine and we were not giving them the right information. So naturally they were upset and assumed that we were trying to take advantage of them because they were an older couple. I explained to them that without having any knowledge of the situation I would need time the find out exactly what happened. I also explained to them we have an A+ service rating and promised them we would never take advantage of anyone so there must have been a communication break down or a mistake made somewhere. At this point they had their minds made up and there was no chance to explain anything to them because whenever I tried to speak they became belligerent and talked over me. I sympothized with there situation and told them that I needed to look into this and I would get right back to them after apologizing multiple times.

   After Mr. and Mrs. ***** left I got with my Service Manager, Service Writer and Technician to find out what happened. The *****'s told us that what brought them in was that their breaks pulsated dramatically while braking which our technician immediately knew that was an inherent problem with this year of Dakota truck and was part of a Service Bulletin sent out by Chrysler (see attachment above) to advise us what to do if this situation occurs. As you can see the way to fix this issue is to replace brakes and rotors which was our original reccomendation. The one area we did fall short in was that on the repair order we checked the red box on the brake evaluation which showed that the brakes were worse of than they actually were. Our technician did misread the brake depth to which we are extremely sorry and will be more than happy to refund the inspection, oil change and taxes on work performed.  

   I will personally contact the *****'s and let them know they will be recieving a refund of $56.42. I hope this resolves the issue and if there is anything else I can do please contact my email address or my direct line: ###-###-####

 

Sincerely,

***** ***********

Customer Service Manager

9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had some work done to my truck and they had to special order a piece.I didn't hear anything back from the company.I called a few months later and the piece still wasn't in.another few months went by and I called again and the guy,I think his name was **** said "you know what ****,this is getting old,I put that piece on a long time ago,in fact i specifically remember throwing it in your backseat"I never recieved the part.I never even went down there.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund and an apology for the way he spoke to me.

Business Response:

After speaking with our Body Shop manager he told me that the part had been on back order for quite an extensive amount of time. We have had the replacement part since January of this year and we have made several attempts to contact Mr. **** to have the part installed. Mr. **** did not respond to any of our attempts to contact him. Then when Mr. **** finally made contact with our Body Shop Manager he was told that the part was allready installed but it was because the Manager was confused with another vehicle he was just working with that had the same problem. He immediately realized his error to which he called Mr. **** and apologized for the confusion and tried to set another appointment to install the part. On 9/4 we attempted to reach Mr. **** and to date there has been no response from Mr. **** to have the part installed.

Mr. ****'s insurance company paid the claim so any refund would have to go back to the insurance company. The simple sollution to this problem is to have Mr. **** bring his vehicle in and have the part installed.

7/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 2000 Dodge Durango to Dishman Dodge on June 21st, 2012 because the check engine light came on while I was on a trip to Spokane. I dropped it off at 7:30 a.m. and was told they should be able to look at it and have a diagnostic in a couple hours. I contacted them several times throughout the day and they still had not had time to look at it. At 2 p.m. I called and they said I could pick it up in an hour after they had "put it back together." When I arrived they billed me $101.20 and told me that, based on the description I had given them of oil usage, I might have a damaged cylinder head but that they couldn't tell me more without taking the heads off. In the mean time, the engine light was still on. I paid the fee and decided to have my mechanic in Seattle take a look at the vehicle when I returned home. My mechanic hooked my vehicle up to a diagnostic computer and the vehicle coded for a possible emissions problem and nothing else -- he checked the tailpipe for exhaust issues (it had none) and turned off the check engine light. He stated that it did not seem that the inspection I had received in Spokane was thorough or correct. He stated that it seemed they would have listed the correct code and reset the engine light if they had done the work they had been paid for. It took him 5 minutes to complete the diagnostic. The check engine light has not come back on, nor have I had any problems with the vehicle. I contacted Dishman Dodge to let them know I was dissatisfied with the work that they had done and that I would like a refund. I told them that my mechanic had told me that it seemed they hadn't done the work they were billing me. I was transferred between 3 different people finally ending with the customer service manager. He declined to issue a refund stating that he stood behind his mechanic. He offered to take up the issue with the owner of the dealership and get back to me. More than 14 days later I have received no additional contact.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for $101.20, the amount I was billed for the diagnostic.

Business Response:

Excessive oil consumption is not related to emissions but usually due to a problem in the engine. Mr. ******* told us he used two quarts of oil on his trip from Seattle. Based on the information Mr. ******* gave us at the time of his appointment we stand behind our technician's judgement. However, because we did not reset the check engine light, clear the codes and I missplaced the information failing to get back to Mr. ******* we will gladly refund the $101.20. We will contact him directly and make the refund. We apologize for not getting back to him.                                                                                     ******* ******                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Customer Service Manager

1/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
October 10, 2011
Better Business Bureau 152 South Jefferson, Suite 200 Spokane, WA 99201
In re: M & G Investments dba Dishman Dodge dba Easy Auto Credit Washington State Car Dealer License No. 0430 Numerica Credit Union Loan No. *********0
Dear Sir or Madam:
On March 25, 2011 we purchased a 2002 Suzuki Grand Vitara from the above referenced car dealership. The vehicle had 55404 miles on the odometer and
the purchase price was $ 8,927.62. We paid $2,500.00 cash as down payment and the balance of the purchase price was financed by Numerica Credit Union. The personnel at the car dealer represented to us that the vehicle was in mint condition with low miles for the year. Because of this representation we purchased the vehicle and paid a higher price than we would normally have paid for such a vehicle. At that time I told the sales person that we were willing to pay more for a vehicle in "mint condition" because we needed to drive to Texas to visit a family member who is ill and we didn’t want any trouble on such a long trip.
The day after we bought the vehicle the engine developed a strange rattling noise. The rattle persisted and became worse. We took the vehicle back to Dishman Dodge and asked them to address the problem because the timing of the occurrence of this noise meant that the problem had to have evidenced itself while they had the vehicle in their inventory and as a result they knew about the problem and should have fixed it before selling the vehicle.
After doing some research we found that this nine year old, low mileage, "mint condition" vehicle had already had FIVE owners before us. Even more interesting is the fact that only the original owner kept this vehicle for over one year (original owner kept it for seven out of the nine years). Owner Number 2 kept the vehicle for less than one year. Owner Number 3 kept the vehicle for only two months. Owner Number 4 kept the vehicle for only six months. Lastly Owner Number 5 kept the vehicle for only five months. In addition we discovered that our vehicle had been sold through two auctions as it made its way through five owners in two years.
When we brought the vehicle back to Dishman Dodge we found it interesting that they weren’t surprised by the revelation that the engine had a problem that caused a strange rattling noise. We were told that the vehicle should
not have been sold until it was fixed. At the time my wife and I didn’t fully appreciate the significance of this revelation. Instead we were placated by the dealer’s statement that they would fix the problem.
I dropped the vehicle off at Dishman Dodge on the agreed upon day and I fully expected that they would be fixing the problem. Unbeknownst to us Dishman Dodge was not going to do the repairs themselves. Instead they farmed out the work to another auto repair business. We were without the vehicle for two weeks before it was returned to us. Incidentally when the vehicle was returned to us we were not given any of the old parts that allegedly had to be replaced after the engine was opened.
After the vehicle was returned to us the same noise re-appeared before I put 2500 miles on the "repair". We went back to Dishman Dodge to apprise them of the problem. It was at that point that we were told that Dishman Dodge did not do the repairs and that the work had been done by some third party (without our prior knowledge or consent). In that first repeat visit the person at Dishman Dodge revealed the fact that a third party repair shop had been used and that in a telephone conversation the mechanic at that shop didn’t believe the problem reappeared. We invited the person at Dishman Dodge to listen to our vehicle and he heard the problem first hand.
After returning home that evening I had an uneasy feeling about the third party repair place. I opened the engine compartment and scrutinized the bolts on the engine that would have had to be removed in order to access the part of the engine that was allegedly repaired. It was interesting to note that the affected bolts still had motor oil and grease on them and showed no sign of having been wrenched recently. I was and still am suspicious of whether any work was done to our vehicle.
Dishman Dodge told us they would have the same person re-fix the problem and make it right. We were skeptical of having the same third party fix what should have been fixed the first time. I also informed the personnel at Dishman Dodge about my suspicion that the third party really hadn’t done anything to the vehicle the first time. However we were given no choice and we were told that the problem would be fixed. We delivered the vehicle to Dishman Dodge again for the engine to be fixed. When we got the vehicle back we began using it immediately and with not even 6000 miles on the repair the rattling noise problem is back. We do not feel comfortable going on a trip to Texas or anywhere outside of our immediate vicinity in this vehicle.
We went back to Dishman Dodge to allow them to observe the problem. At this point I reminded Dishman Dodge that previously I had asked that they take the vehicle back and refund our money and that I was renewing this request. Just as before they refused to take the vehicle back and return our money to us.
Due to the dealership’s refusal to take the vehicle back I informed them that I wanted to avail myself of the right to go to arbitration. Attached hereto in Exhibit A is a copy of the sales agreement that Dishman Dodge required me to sign for this transaction. You will notice that they required that I initial the "ARBITRATION CLAUSE". As you can see from the language in that clause, arbitration is the agreed upon remedy for disputes under the contract. When I told Dishman Dodge that I wanted to exercise that right they said "NO". They told me arbitration is only available to new car buyers. I don’t see any such distinction in the language of the contract. If arbitration only applies to new car buyers then why did they have me initial this paragraph? When I asked Dishman Dodge this question they had no answer. They told me I was welcome to sue them in court.
Telling me to go to court adds insult to injury. First going to court costs
more and I need to pay for an attorney. Second once I spend the money to get into court I am sure that Dishman Dodge’s lawyer will argue that we have to go to arbitration because that’s what the contract says. So I spend money to get into court only to be told what I already know which is that arbitration is the only remedy. So after my money is wasted I get to go to arbitration. It seems to me that Dishman Dodge is playing this game with the hope of wearing us down so we go away and they don’t have to explain their misrepresentations about this vehicle and the alleged repairs done to it.
It is because of this dilemma that I have decided to write to the regulatory agencies that have jurisdiction over car dealers and also to the lender that financed this vehicle. We do not have the resources to fight a battle with lawyers and legal maneuvers while we are stuck with a vehicle that has never worked properly since the first day we brought it home. We believe the vehicle was misrepresented to us and to the lender that financed the vehicle. We also have reason to believe that Dishman Dodge or one of its related entities had knowledge of the vehicle’s problems before it was sold to us. Dishman Dodge certainly had knowledge of the fact that the vehicle had been through two auctions and five owners in the just two years before the vehicle was sold to us.
We also think that Dishman Dodge wrongfully failed to disclose the fact that it would be "subcontracting" the repairs to our vehicle. Regardless of who did the repairs we should have been provided with the parts that were replaced. Personally I don’t think there were any parts to show (at least the first time our vehicle was allegedly repaired) because none of the work necessary was actually done.
Finally I think Dishman Dodge is playing games with the arbitrary way it invokes or dismisses the applicability of the arbitration clause in our contract. If
this case is indicative of how the various entities that comprise Dishman Dodge do business then this dealership is misrepresenting some of its products to both the consumers and the lenders with which it does business. I believe they should be held accountable for the product they sell. If the product proves problematic then they should have taken the vehicle back and refunded our money (and also refunded the money to the lender too).
I ask that each of you in your respective areas of jurisdiction treat this letter as a formal complaint and open an investigation of this dealership’s conduct in this and possibly other cases.
Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.
Sincerely,
** ******** **** ** ******* Spokane, WA 99205 ###-###-####

Business Response:

**** ********,
As you can see from the attached documents Mr. ******** purchased his vehicle 'AS IS' on July 28, 2011. The used car manager ***** ****** twice had the vehicle repaired at Automotive Maintenance Center after this purchase date to which Mr. ******** agreed to pay one half the bill on the first repair. Dishman Dodge Chrysler is still willing to take the vehicle back to Automotive Maintenance Center to have it looked at again as they will do it under warranty unless there is a separate problem not related to the first repair in which case Mr. ******** will be required to pay the bill.

When I spoke with Mr. ******** on or around 10-3-11 he said he purchased a lemon. I told him that Washington Lemon Law is written around new cars and the manufacturer. Mr. ******** acknowledged that he purchased his vehicle "AS IS" and that our fixing it was a goodwill gesture on the part of Dishman Dodge Chrysler.

I then told Mr. ******** that basically he has four options. 1. Bring the vehicle back and we will have it looked at again and at our discretion have the same shop, Automotive Maintenance Center, do the work. Mr ******** objected to this because he did  not trust that shop to do it right. Option 2; have it fixed at another shop at his expense. Option 3; contact the BBB and/or the Attorney General's Office for possible arbitration or option 4; Take it to small claims court.

On 10-5-11 Mr. ******** told me that he would be painting something on his vehicle and drive it around Dishman Dodge Chrysler and that we would receive a letter from his attorney. As of this date we have received no such letter and have closed the complaint.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8803563, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

   IN REGARDS TO DISHMAN DODGE RESPONSE.
 
   WITHIN 24 HOURS WE TOLD DISMAN DODGE OF THE PROMBEM WITH THE CAR.  THEIR RESPONSE WAS THAT IT SHOULD OF BEEN FIXED BEFORE IT LEFT THE LOT. THAT THEY WOULD FIX IT AND I ONLY PAY 500.00 OF THE 3200.00 EST.  I HAVE SINCE PAID 300.00 OF THAT.
THEY ALSO SAID THAT IT WOULD BE IN A FEW DAYS. THAT I CAN DRIVE IT CAUSE THEY KNOW OF THE PROBLEM  AND WOULD TAKE CARE OF IT.  I WAS WITHOUT CAR FOR 2 WEEKS.   THE SECOND TIME IT HAPPENED, THEY SAID THEY WOULD TAKE CARE OF IT. 
 
   FIRST OF ALL THEY PROLONGED THE REPAIR, SO I WAS PAST MY MY TIME TO CANCEL ORDER.  AND TOLD US JUST DRIVE IT UNTIL WE GET IT TO THE SHOP. USEING UP MY WARRENTY AT THE SHOP.
 
       I BROUGHT IT TO DISHMAN DODGE TO GET IT FIXED NOT AUTOMOTIVE MAINTANCE. THEY TOOK IT UPON THEM SELVES TO SEND IT THERE WITHOUT MY PERMISSION  TO START WITH.
 
     I WANTED DISHMAN DODGE TO DO THE WORK SO I HAD A NATIONAL WARRENTY  THOUGH DODGE.
 
   WHEN I CONTACTED BUTCH AT DISHMAN DODGE DBA EASY AUTO CREDIT  BUTCH SAID HE DON'T CARE ABOUT THE LAW. AND I WAS ON SPEAKER PHONE SO EVEN MY NEIGBORS HEARD IT. I INFORMED HIM I WAS ON SPEAKER PHONE . HIS RESPONSE WAS SO WHAT. 
 
ON THE SECOND TRIP I SHOWED THE GENERAL MANAGER THE THE BOLT WERE STILL GREASSY  ON THE ONE THAT WOULD HAVE TO COME OUT TO DO THE JOB.  THEY WERE NOT REMOVED. THEN AND ONLY THEN DID THEY AGREE TO DO IT AGAIN. I WAS NOT FURNISHED WITH OLD PARTS THAT I ASKED FOR.  THE REASON WAS THEY SAID THEY HAD TO RETURN THEM FOR WARRENTY.  BUT THE FIRST TIME THEY DID NOT HAVE TO AND I WAS TOLD THEY WERE TOSSED.
 
THEY KNEW I NEEDED TO DRIVE THIS CAR TO TEXAS TO SEE A SICK BROTHER. I WAS TOLD NO PROBLEM.  THEY ALSO ONLY GAVE THE FIRST 2 PAGES OF A CARFAX REPORT . I ORDER A NEW ONE AND FOUND IT TO BE 6 PAGES LONG. 
 
THE CAR WAS MISREPRESENTED TO ME AS A GREAT LOW MILES CAR. IT WAS NOT A GREAT CAR
 
COPY OF CARFAX HERE. OR OPEN ATTACHMENT CARFAX
 
THEY MADE ME SIGN ARBRITRATION AGGREEMENT BUT THE SAID THEY DONT HAVE TO CAUSE IT IS NOT A NEW CAR. I SENT THE COPY OF THAT AGGREEMENT WITH THE LETTER I SENT YOU CERTIFIED.
 
THANKS FOR YOU TIME IN THIS MATTER
 
****** *******
###-###-####

 

 

1/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had taken my 2005 dodge magnum to collision center to have my rear bumper repaired. When I got my car back the rear drivers side blinker was malfunctioning (it was acting as if the bulb was out) the collision center manager **** had me bring in my car and said it was probably a bulb so he had a technician take it back and I watched while the technician used his hand and tapped on the outer light (the plastic part on the outside of the car) on the rear driver side and then removed the light and replaced the light bulb. I drove my mar home and the problem was still happening. so I called **** at the collision center again and asked if there was a way that there could be a wire that might of been pinched or smashed in between the bumper and body of the car. He said No there are no wires in that area that could of got in the way of the bumper being put back on. I spoke with **** 3 different times all 3 times he kept insisting that the problem with my blinker wasn't because of the repairs that were done in his shop.He was not even willing to take off the bumper and at least look! **** had suggested that I take my car to the dishman dodge service center and pay an $89 fee to have my car diagnosed to find out what was wrong with it he was saying that maybe it was something electrical that went wrong with my car that had nothing to do with the repair that his shop had done. After dealing with this issue for 4 months and dealing with **** at the dishman dodge collision center being reluctant to even help me. I took my car to another shop that I trust and it took them 20mins to take off my rear bumper and see the problem. There are wires back there (they showed them to me) and there was a wire being smashed in-between the bumper and the body of the car this was causing the wire to ground out and causing the rear blinker to malfunction.This was handled very unprofessionally by **** at the collision center and was a very easy $40 fix that I gladly paid to the other shop that did the repair.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded for the repair that I had to pay another shop to fix. I would also like the manager **** and the collision center to be a lil more open to listening to his customers in order to get to the bottom of issues that happens when making collision repairs on customers vehicles.

Business Response:

I spoke with ***** ****** this morning and we are sending her a check for $40.20 to cover the cost she incured to have her vehicle repaired at another facility. ***** expressed her dissatisfaction and I apologized for our dealership. I believe the matter is taken care of and I am closing the file.

******* ******

Customer Service Manager