BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bob Hall's Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bob Hall's Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Bob Hall's Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1967 Business started: 01/01/1976 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1976 Business incorporated: 01/28/2005 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Teri Bailey, Controller Mr. Bob Hall- FORMER, Former President Mr. Jason Midkiff, President Mr. Mike Hanks, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Teri Bailey, Controller
Principal: Mr. Bob Hall- FORMER, Former President
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Hanks, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Jason Midkiff, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Shock Absorbers Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services Wheel Align, Frame & Axle Service Equipment & Supplies Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Services - Oil & Lube Steering Systems & Equipment All-Terrain Vehicles Auto Air Conditioning Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Bob Hall Auto Dealership Bob Hall Fleet Bob Hall's Automotive Group Bob Hall's Sunfair Chevrolet Sunfair Chevrolet Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1600 E Yakima Ave

    Yakima, WA 98901 (509) 248-7600 (509) 594-4125

  • 1700 E Yakima Ave

    Yakima, WA 98901 (888) 846-4893 (877) 372-8528

  • 1702 E Yakima Ave

    Yakima, WA 98901

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 594-4125(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bob Hall's Mazda Service Department inaccurately diagnosed an A/C problem on my 2002 626, and then charged me over $300. My son was actually able to fix the problem, due to his experience and accumulation of spare parts in his shop, but the Mazda shop charged me anyway, and wanted to charge me more money for more unnecessary parts. Then, when I complained, their Public Relations Executive (**** *****)twisted things around to seem like it was my fault, and made the situation worse. The Service Department's inaccurate diagnosis, dropping the ball on repair, and management's mishandling ***** *****) any chance of recovery has convinced me that Bob Hall's Mazda of Yakima, WA might do better at selling ice cream or picking asparagus than servicing automobiles.

Desired Settlement: I desire a 50% refund, since it should have been fixed the first time. I'm willing to pay for one hour of diagnosis and two cans of freon, but am highly resentful at having to pay for their education in A/C repair. I am a senior citizen on a fixed income, and cannot be throwing money away for an automotive dealership's bungling ineptitude. (**** *****)

Business Response:

This is an unfortunate situation but as you can see in the writing we had trouble reasoning with this customer. ** ***** (******'s son) brought this 2002 Mazda in to our service department after trying to diagnose the A/C problem. Our Master Mazda Technitian diagnosed as a leaking shrader valve. He recommended replacing the acumulater because Mazda on services or sells the shrader valve with a new accumulater. The customer decided to take that dignosis and go replace the accumulator him self rather then having us check into it further. We charge the diagnosis fee and they took the vehicle.

The customer purchased 3 different aftermarket accumulaters and took them to his home to install only to find out non would connect to this car. THey brought the vehicle back to our Mazda shop fo further conversation with our Mazda Tech. During this our Mazda part discovered the accumulater system was no longer availible from Mazda. The customer hearing our tech say the shrader valve was the problem said he could go home and get his assortment of used shrader valves and see if he had one our tech could install. Our Mazda tech expressed to him this may repair it temporrary because shradrer valves are made of different materials and the one he has may breakdown over time and or already be in a failed state. ** wanted to do it anyways and understood this was not a permenant fix. He did bring back the valves, one of them fit and was installed. We recharged the system with frion and checked to make sure the system was working.

We completed the ro for recharging the system and charged the customer for the frion and installing the shrader valve he supplied (A Temp Repair)

I reviewed this entire situation and interviewed our Technician and service manager who directly handled this repair. They both said our tech spent more time on this car and with the customer then billed. The diagnosis was acurate from the begining. We were more then fair in the charges for the services we provided.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9184931, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

Joann Brown

*********************

I do not accept the response made by the business to resolve this complaint. In addition to spelling and grammatical errors, it is inaccurate about what was actually said and what actually happened. The initial diagnosis said nothing about a Schrader valve, only recommending accumulator replacement, (...and it was stated at that time not available from the manufacturer) along with the evaporator and associated presure lines. (At an astronomical cost...) The Schrader valve that eventually was used to fix the leak was new, not used, and had been in an adapter kit for R134a change-overs. The material it is made of is fully compliant with R134a automotive freon. Nothing was said about the "temporary fix." I find it abhorrent that they cannot admit their own inept bungling of such a simple repair, and now try to lie and bully their way out of it.

Business Response: our position and facts on this case remain unchanged

Consumer Response:



Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9184931, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

***********************************

I asked specifically for an ACCURATE DIAGNOSIS upon initial contact with the Mazda Service Department about this car. The technician ascertained that the Schrader valve on the accumulator was leaking, (not the accumulator itself) and notated it on his copy of the work order. However, I was not informed at that time that such a simple repair was possible. I was told that the accumulator 'assembly' needed replaced, that the OEM 'assembly' was not available, and that potentially several other major surrounding components would need replaced in the process at substantial cost. I see this as a very inconsiderate lack of communication on the service manager's part, since she was made well aware of our limited monetary resources, and abilities to do the repairs ourselves, upon getting an ACCURATE DIAGNOSIS. She did not pass on the specific information notated by the technician about the Schrader valve, but apparently wanted to charge as much as possible for a simple repair that could be accomplished in five minutes. After making such a simple five-minute repair, indeed, the system would need to be evacuated and recharged, which takes about an hour. And when the 'Public Relations' employee, **** *****, got involved, his absolute ignorance and arrogance of any such pertinent details have only made things worse. Apparently he is incompetent as well to resolve or even mediate anything. I am willing to pay for an hour of labor and two units of refrigerant, but absolutely demand a refund on the difference. There is NO EXCUSE for such bumbling incompetence on the part of a supposed 'expert' or 'professional' repair shop of ANY kind.




BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sold my car to *** **** on friday. I was assurred that the car would not be posted for sale until after they recieved the title and cut my check. I was also assured that I would get my check within a week. I also was not given a copy of any paperwork that was done. On Sunday, I found out that *** **** had posted my car for sale on their website. On Monday I stopped by to ask for my check due to the fact that *** **** was selling the vehicle. I was told by the manager that I wouldn't get a check for 2 weeks. Also I was told the person that assured me that I would get a check in a week and that they wouldn't post the car until they got the title was lying. I asked for a copy of my paperwork and was told that they didn't know where it was. He also said that I should already of have a copy of the paperwork. I was told that the bank holding the loan would hold the check for 10 days prior to cashing it. Once that was done, *** **** would get the title and then cut my check. I still haven't recieved a copy of the paperwork.I get a different story everytime I go there. I feel that no one is telling the truth and I really don't expect them to actually pay me for my car. I think that the whole process is a scam.

Desired Settlement: I would like to either get paid for the car or get the car back. I would also like their sales people and management to get their facts straight and tell the truth.

Business Response:

I am aware of this situation. We did purchase this vehicle outright from ****** on Friday March 9th. It has ***** as the lien holder of the title. We had the customer sign off on a lost title app and release interest on the vehicle on Friday. At the point we get documents signed and take possession of the vehicle we are allowed to list it as a vehicle we will have for sell on line. We sent to ***** a check on Monday 3/12/12 to pay off the loan so they can release the title to us. We always wait to pay the customer the remainder of funds until after the lien holder sends us the title. If ****** wants to pick up the title and bring it to us we will give her a check on the spot.

Hope this clears up the concern, this is no scam but all normal business

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a Certified used Honda Pilot from Bob Hall Honda on November 28, 2011. The sales experience was very good - as promised there was no hassle or haggle during the sales process. However the "closing" process was not the same experience. We had already declined the extended warranty when offered by our sales person. Another employee of the dealership tried two more times to sell us the extended warranty.We paid $200.00 dollars to title and register our vehicle in Oregon. They gave us three Washington State trip tickets which were good for 3 days a piece. They then told us that we just needed to go to DMV in Oregon to complete the titling and registration process. We left the dealership and returned home. On November 30th my wife went to DMV in Hood River where she was told that the " lien had to be perfected" and that information was needed from the dealership. DMV also told her that it would cost $193 .00 to register the vehicle plus the $10 for the special plate we wanted to purchase. I then contacted the dealership and explained what was occurring and that we were not happy. The person at the dealership explained to me that once the "lien was perfected" they would send the paperwork to DMV in Hood River with a check for $110.00. When I asked why only $110 I was told that the three trip ticket cost $90.00. I expressed that I was not happy and that they should be sending DMV a check for $193 I was told that it was my responsibility to register the vehicle not the dealership. There were some back and forth phone calls attempting to come to a more satisfactory resolution to the problem but the solution remained the same. On 12/5/11 I went to DMV to register the vehicle. There was no paperwork or check from the dealership and in order to keep driving the vehicle I had to purchase a 21 day OR temp tag. I then called the dealership and asked for the status of the paperwork. I was told that they would check and get back with me. That was two hours ago and nothing.

Desired Settlement: We would like the full registration paid ($193.00) reimbursed for the additional temp tag ($30.00) and the additional $10 for the special plate. Check to Oregon DMV for $203.00Check to us for $30.00

Business Response:
, To Whom it May Concern:
Our General Sales Manager has made approximately 5 phone calls to the customer, 2 of those calls were to his listed daytime number and 3 to his listed evening number. The customer has returned 2 of those calls however our Sales Manager missed his return calls. The last message left by the customer for our General Sales Manager stated the only resolution would be his "Desired Settlement".
Upon contact with the customer, it is our intention to address the following;

) It is part of our process to inform all customers of all options available to protect their investment. We believe that it is in the best interest of all consumer to take avantage of an Extended Service Contract when purchasing a vehicle.
) We collected $200.00 in license fees for temporary trip permits. We issued 3 at a cost of $30.00 each for a total cost of $90.00. This is the same amount we pay the Washington State Department of Motor Vehicles for those permits. Per the customers request we issued the balance of license fees in the amount of $110.00 to the Hood River Department of Motor Vehicles in the form of a check. It is the responsibility of the customer to pay all license and registration fees when purchasing a vehicle whether in state or out of state.
) It is our policy to resolve all customer questions and concerns in a timely manner. However, occasionally we are not always able to get back with them as quickly as we would like.
We would like to offer as a good faith resolution to this complaint, a refund of $30.00 for the additional "temp tag" the customer purchased from the Oregon DMV.
If we can be of further asisstance, please contact ***** ******* at ************************ or ###-###-####.
Thank you.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 8836367, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

 

Regards,

 

 

**** ****

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2012 equinox from sunfair chevrolet on 11/5/2011. At the time of the sale I was told there was no rebate on that car because they are such a high selling car. A week later the finance dept. called and said there was a $600.00 rebate on the car and could I come in and re-sign the paper work so they could include the re-bate. I went in on 11/15 and signed without comparing the first paper work with the second paperwork till I got home. The sticker price was $32,600.00. they gave me $5600.00 for my trade in. Bottom line financed was $29,464.00. The new paperwork show they increased the sale price of the car to $33,200.00 which is exactly $600.00 dollars more than the sticker price. Then the paper work shows $5600.00 for my trade in plus a $600.00 rebate which brings my down to $6200.00. bottom line on new contract is $29,513.20. The problem I'm having is can they change the price on the car to more than what was on the sticker price and not tell me about it. Can they tell me Im getting a rebate and then add it in to the paper work so they basicly did'nt give me a re-bate?

Desired Settlement: I want the $600.00 rebate and the $5600.00 for my car. I want to pay the original sticker price $32,600 minus the $6200.00 which would bring down the original agreement price from $29,464.00 to $28,864.00 which is what it should be with the promised rebate.

Business Response:

We received this complaint yesterday about the same time the customer sent this to you.  Our General Sales Manager reviewed it with her yesterday and came to a quick resolution.  The reprint of the price was entered wrong on our part so we are going to reimburse this to the customer today when she comes in at 9:30. 

Thank You,

**** *****

General Manager

Bob Hall Dealership’s

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1