BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

This Business is not BBB accredited

AutoNation Honda/Acura

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 927-7000 Fax: (509) 921-2117 8201 East Sprague Avenue, Spokane Valley, WA 99212 http://www.appleway.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AutoNation Honda/Acura include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AutoNation Honda/Acura
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 20, 1992 Business started: 03/01/1948 Business started locally: 01/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Gookstetter, Manager Ms. Janine Eldredge-Underdahl, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Janine Eldredge-Underdahl, Customer Relations Manager
Principal: Mr. Scott Gookstetter, Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Heaters - Automotive Auto Air Conditioning Alternators & Generators - Auto Repair Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Brake Service Lubricating Service - Automotive Radiators - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Services Automobile Dealers - Imported Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Services - Oil & Lube All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs

Alternate Business Names
Appleway Automotive Group Appleway Honda

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8201 E Sprague Ave

    Spokane Valley, WA 99212

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8201 East Sprague Avenue

    Spokane Valley, WA 99212

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 11, 2014 I brought my 2005 Honda Civic Hybrid to Auto Nation for a 160000 mile checkup. We had been going to this location when it was previously owned by Appleway and Valley Honda for many years. We had never had problems with that service department and decided to stay with the new business. About midday I received a phone call from Auto Nation was given a verbal list of things to be done, rotate the tires, oil change, coolant flush, etc. No cost information was provided. I had been used to the service that we received with the previous business and gave the OK. Nothing major was in the list so it was standard service. From past experience I expected the bill to be around $350. The bill was $661.21. To summarize my complaints: the labor costs are exorbitant, they do not follow manufacturer’s recommendations, an unnecessary and expensive service was performed and I had a service rep outright lie to me in order to add another charge to the bill.

Desired Settlement: Refund the labor costs of the induction service and overpriced coolant system service. The first because it was an unnecessary service and the second as penalty for the out-right lie told by the service rep.

Business Response:

RE: ID ********  **** *****

 

 

*** ****:

 

This is in response to the concern we received from your office regarding Mr. **** *****. After a full investigation and speaking to all associates involved in the transaction that took place on July 11, 2014 between AutoNation Honda and *** ***** I have found the following:

 

When the appointment was set on July 7, 2014 it was set for an Oil Change and the customer stated that there were 155,000 miles on their vehicle and would like to know what is needed at this mileage. 

 

*** ***** contacted me on Friday, July 18, 2014 to discuss his concerns regarding his service visit the week prior. I explained to *** ***** at that time that part of our service includes a Multi-Point Inspection in which we check numerous items on the vehicle. When our technicians do the inspection they complete the Multi-point inspection sheet with any factory and/or dealer recommendations. Again, these are recommendations and the customer has the choice to have the recommended services performed or can decline the recommended services.

 

During my conversation with *** ***** I asked if he had approved the recommended services that were in question and he told me “Yes” he had approved the Coolant Service $149.95, the induction service $219.95 (on any Hybrid vehicle such as the one that *** ***** brought in for service, this service is going to be higher than any gas vehicles, due to the labor involved) the oil change $39.95, Alignment $89.95 and Rotate and Balance of tires $49.95. When I spoke to the Service Advisor who assisted *** ***** he said he placed a call to *** ***** to discuss the recommended services after the technician had completed his inspection, he states that he gave *** ***** a cost with each service he was recommending and that *** ***** approved all of the recommended services.

 

As I also explained to *** ***** our pricing is very competitive as we do market pricing analysis on every maintenance/repair service we offer every quarter, these are very detailed to assure we are competitively priced in our market.

 

From the information I have received from both the customer and the associates involved, the process we have in place was followed and the customer approved the recommended services totaling $608.29 before tax.

 

Should you have any further questions please feel free to contact me.

 

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two weeks ago I was in the process of purchasing a vehicle from AutoNation Honda for a grand total of $4,200 which included paper work fees and licensing. I was going to pay $2,200 in cash and needed $2,000 financed. They said okay they should be able to find someone to finance me. I was told to come back the following day to drop the $2,200 down and pick up the car. I received a phone call from ******** ****** questioning why I needed a loan. I then called AutoNation who explained to me that they are trying to find me the best situation and to not come out to pick up the car yet. 3 days had past no word on the situation, I receive a letter in the mail from **** denying the loan request of $4,982. I call AutoNation to find out why they asked for $4,982 when the car was only $4,200. The verbal agreement was only to finance the remaining $2,000. I spoke with **** and ******** ****** and they both said they only denied me because roughly 5 grand was too high given my circumstances. I then spoke with the lead finance guy at AutoNation today, I inquired about the extra $782 and why it was ran for $4,982 instead of the verbal agreement of $2,000. He told me they added a gap fee and he wasn't informed that it was only supposed to be a loan for $2,000. I then asked is there anything they can do to fix this on my credit report and he told me I would have to figure that out. So here I am trying to figure it out!

Desired Settlement: I Would like AutoNations Honda to have the finance companies that they had run my credit for an unauthorized amount is removed from my credit report. I am aware of 3 finance companies; they are ****, ********, and ******** ******. Or to please remove any and all companies that they had pulled my credit for this unauthorized amount. My credit has been dinged and I would like it corrected. Thank you

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

Attn: ********* ****

Resolution Moderator

 

RE: File# ********

****** ********

 

*********:

 

This is in response to the customer concern we received from office regarding Ms. ****** ********. After to spea**** to the individuals involved we have found the following: The finance department was instructed to submit the documents, there was no down payment noted on any of the paperwork. Following process, we submitted the documents for approval to the following banks, ****, ******** and ******** ****** for the full purchase price, plus applicable state tax, title fees and license fees. With every loan we submit, we submit the loan application with available protection products for the consumer. Ms. ********’s application was submitted with GAP insurance which will protect the loan if Ms. ******** choose to do so.

 

Our Finance Director spoke to Ms. ******** and instructed that if she wanted to dispute inquiries, that she could contact the credit bureaus and file any disputes with them.

 

If you have any further questions please contact **** ******, General Manager or **** *******, Finance Director, both can be reached at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

****** ******************

Service Manager

AutoNation Honda ******* ******

###-###-####

E-mail ************************

Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Better Business Bureau
Attn: ********* ****
Rejection Letter
 
********* this is in response to AutoNation Honda ******* ******’s response to my complaint. First off I’d like to point out the miss-spelling of my name. It shows how important this complaint is to the AutoNation Honda Company. Obviously they are okay with the fact that the gentlemen that helped me lied and didn’t tell me anything what so every that a GAP fee was involved with this transaction. I spoke to the Finance Director **** *******, he didn’t offer any suggestions to fix the mistake that his company made. I then suggested contacting the better business bureau and the credit score company, he then agreed.

I would like both **** ******* and ******* **** to write a letter of apology for not handling my situation and interaction with complete honesty, dignity, and professionalism. I would also like a list of all the company’s name and phone numbers of whom they had my credit pulled by for this transaction. I am aware that although I had specific interactions with these gentlemen the management is also at blame for allowing this type of behavior to go on at this company.

Sincerely,
****** ********

Regards,

****** ********

Business Response:

I understand the frustrations a customer can have when trying to get approved for a loan. ****** ******** asked us to help get a car loan. We have lenders for many different situations. The relationships we have with our lenders is very good and every time they will t*** us how much they would approve a customer for. In this case it was not the amount requested it was strictly based off of the consumers credit rating.

******* ******

AutoNation Honda/Acura 
**** **** ******* ******
******* ******** *****

 

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing this office to report a dispute between myself and Appleway Honda of Spokane, WA. I honored the business by purchasing a car that I was assured, would survive the loan of the vehicle. I took every extreme measure of caution possible to a consumer. I have never been so humiliated in my life. I even bought a protective mechanical breakdown service contract. I also purchased a warranty. We were recently told to take the car to Appleway Volkswagen by Appleway Honda Service Manager ***. Volkswagen then gave us a laundry list of problems with the car totaling over $1500.00. We then called Appleway Honda back and they denied that there were any problems with the car as Sales Manager **** spoke to us with filth and vulgar language. He proceeded to become more and more vituperative and cynical with each phone call that he actually answered. He was a very disgusting individual to deal with, with no moral fortitude. He stated on call once the car has been off the lot for 30-days, IDONT OWE YOU A ******* THING, even if the piece of s*** car doesnt work!!!! Then he calmed down and said he would have service manager *** pick up the car from Volkswagen. We went six days without the car. Finally, when we were able to pick up the car from Appleway Honda, the service manager said all he did was give the car a radiator flush and that it was our responsibility to pay the $200.00 diagnostic bill for him sending us to Volkswagen? The Volkswagen still has all the original problems and now the check engine light is on. Appleway Honda is a danger to my family, and the community of Spokane and should be shut down. I want my money back, the loan canceled and they can keep their useless workmanship and car. Dates calls were made:2/4/2013 @2:52pm -- Left a message for **** Day 5 without our vehicle and no resolved issues or calls back with the status of our vehicle.2/4/2013 @ 4:30pm left a message for **** ****2/1/2013 @ 11:36am.. Left a message for ****.2/1/2013 @ 12:43pm Called VW Dealer spoke with ***, he advised that our VW was still there, and they have not heard anything from Honda. Picked up a copy of the repair costs and issues where2/1/2013@ 3:45pm Spoke with our sales man **** **** Our vehicle never arrived to the Honda dealership and no work was done. **** stated that our vehicle would be moved now on Monday 2/4/13 and we would be called 2/4/13 with the status.1/31/2013 @6:03pm Spoke with **** he agreed to have our vehicle moved from VW dealership to Honda dealership and have the work done and call us but would only pay a small percentage of the repair to be nice1/31/2013 @ 5:43 pm Spoke with **** told us not their problem.1/31/2013 @12:28pm Left message for ****1/31/2013@11:53pm Call from *** (service manager at Appleway VW) informed us of the issues with the Vehicle and the repair cost is about 1500.00 and our extended warrantee we purchased from **** at Appleway Honda would not cover the work that needed to be done. 1/31/12 @9:45am Dropped the VW off at Appleway VW with *** the service manager after dropping our children off at school. Signed a waiver to be charged a 200.00 diagnostic fee just for the vehicle to be looked at.1/30/13 @ 1:09pm Spoke with ****, he advised to schedule with service and have it looked at. **** transferred my call to the service department. Service manager advised they dont specialize in VW cars and my service warrantee would be valid there as they are all part of the Appleway family. 1/30/13 @1:20pm -- Call to Appleway VW service, Spoke with ***. *** advised they could get our car in at 9:00am on 1/31/13 to be looked at.1/13/2013 @10:08am Left message for **** re: issues with car12/26/2012 Left message for ****12/08/2012 left message for **** & **** to return our call11/28/2012 call from service manager telling us that the vehicle is repaired and we wouldnt have anymore issues. Picked up the vehicle and it still had the same issues.11/28/12 (aprox) took the vehicle back to Appleway Honda to have issues resolved. 11/23/2013 left several messages for Service manager to get our vehicle repaired.. no return calls.11/15/2012 (aprox) purchased our vehicle

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my money back, have the loan terminated and Appleway can sell that car to someone else. I do not wish to do business with them as I know they are incompetent and untrustworthy making it physically impossible for them to fix the car.

Business Response: February 12, 2013
 
 
Mr. Joel Oscarson
Better Business Bureau
Resolution Moderator
************************* 
 
RE: ID 9415982 *** ******* 
 
This is in regards to the recent customer concern we received from your office regarding Mr. *******. After a thorough investigation and speaking to the associates involved with the transaction we have found the following: Mr. ******* bought a 2002 VW Passat from Appleway Honda on November 14, 2012. Mr. ******* also purchased an extended warranty on the vehicle.
 
On November 30, 2012 Mr. ******* brought the vehicle into the dealership with the concern that the vehicle smelled like burning rubber when vehicle warmed up. It was determined that there was no concern with the vehicle other than a small amount of oil was on the sub frame of the vehicle. We removed the oil and did not hear from Mr. ******* until February 1, 2013 at which time he stated the vehicle was having the same concerns. The vehicle smelled like burning rubber.  Again, it was determined that the concern Mr. ******* had with the vehicle was leftover oil causing the smell. We immediately steamed cleaned the engine. A follow-up voice mail message was left for Mr. ******* after the visit with no return call from Mr. *******.
 
At this time Appleway Honda has fulfilled all obligations of the contract between Mr. ******* and Appleway, however as a goodwill measure we would be happy to assist Mr. ******* in trading out of his current vehicle and into another vehicle. If this is something Mr. ******* would like to explore he can contact one of our sales managers, **** ****** or ******* ***** at ###-###-####.
 
If you have any additional questions please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####.
 
 
Sincerely,
***** ***********
Appleway Honda/Acura General Manager

Consumer Response:

To whom it may concern,
 
Today 02/21/2013, we resolved our complaint against Appleway Honda, with the management team at Appleway Honda. I have been WELL taken care of by Appleway Honda and I wish to request the deletion of this complaint from your site. I have also sent in a business review stating the issues I experienced with Appleway Honda has been resolved.  Please contact me and let me know when this has been done. 
 
 
Cordially,
 
*** ** *******
###-###-####

9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used vehicle from Appleway Honda on May 20, 2012. The sales associate, *** *****, helped me with the transaction. When we were talking about the price, he explained to me that there was absolutely no negotiating the price because the vehicle was in "mechanically excellent" condition. So naturally I was upset when the vehicle started dying on me and leaving me stranded a month later. I called *** several times and left several messages. He finally called me back, and one week later he said his used car sales manager, *****, would agree to pay for half the cost of the repair. They replaced the battery and I was happy with that. UNTIL not two weeks later the vehicle would not start again. I called *** several times over the course of the next week and a half and he NEVER once returned a message, and when I did get him on the phone he would give me an excuse and say that he had to talk to someone else and then he would call me back on a certain date and time. I never once received a call when promised. So finally *****, the used car sales manager left me a message. I called him back ten minutes after I received the message, no answer, no response that day or several days after. So again I started leaving him messages and trying to get ahold of him. It is absolutely pathetic customer service and I have never had such a hard time with a company. I haven't even put 500 miles on this car in the three months I've had it because it doesn't work and I can't get a response from these people. I was told the vehicle was in mechanically excellent condition and this obviously is not the case, I know that they made a lot of money off of this sale, and I feel like they should resolve this problem.

Desired Settlement: I want this vehicle repaired free of charge.

Business Response: **** ********
Bette Business Bureau
Resolution Moderator
 
RE: File # 9190291
 
****,
 
This is in response to the open file we received regarding ******* ********. We have repaired the vehicle per the concern of Ms. ******** at no charge to her. Should you have any further questions please feel free to contact me. 
****** ******************
Customer Relations Manager
Appleway Automotive Group
Chevrolet, Toyota, Honda, Mitsubishi, Subaru, Mazda, Audi, Scion & Volkswagen 
Direct # ###-###-####
E-mail  ************************

7/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 7 June Appleway Honda listed a 1999 Subaru Legacy wagon for $3995 on Craigslist. 9 June I went to see the car and was told it did not pass safety and could not be sold, it has a bad engine. Dealer said: "This car is scheduled to go to auction." This car was relisted on CL later that evening & again on 11 June. I called around 13 June and talked with a sales manager who gave the impression I should be happy he is not selling me a defective vehicle. I made clear to him that the ad should not run if a vehicle is clearly not for sale. This car has be relisted every other day since 7 June including today 21 June. The 21 June listing includes an alternative vehicle, a Subaru Outback for $4995 that the viewer may also be interested in.

Desired Settlement: There are two options: 1 Rebuild the engine and ensure the car is safe and sell the car to the public - not likely. 2 When a customer points out a problem with advertising it should be corrected & not continue for over a week - a bit more likely.

Business Response:

June 23, 2012

Better Business Bureau

Attn: **** ********

152 S. Jefferson Ste 200

Spokane, WA 99201

 

RE: Case #9095524   **** ********

  

Mr. ********:

 

This is in response to the recent customer concern we received from your office regarding **** ********. After a full investigation into Mr. ********’s concerns we have found the following:

 

When Mr. ******** first brought this to our attention our General Manager, ***** *********** and our Used Car Manager, **** ******** apologized to Mr. ********  and explained to him that the vehicle was not for sale due to some engine concerns. The listing on Craig’s list has been removed and the vehicle has been sent to the auction.

 

Should you have any further questions please contact me.

  

Sincerely,

****** ******************

Customer Relations Manager

Appleway Automotive Group

###-###-####

 

3/16/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my new vehicle in 2007 I elected to purchase five years of "Touch of Class" which to my understanding is a scotch guard for the upholstery that resists stains. The purchase price was added to my vehicle cost. The protective chemical is to be applied every three years. The dealership applied the scotch guard a few days after purchase. After nearly three years I contacted Cal-Tex, which is the company that Valley Honda used for their scotch guard product, to file a claim and have my upholstery cleaned and to have the chemical re-applied. Cal-Tex did not have my purchaser registration information and referred me back to Valley Honda. I called Valley Honda who claimed they gave my information to Cal-Tex. Valley Honda did not offer me proof of the funds I gave them actually being given to the third party. Valley Honda did however offer a short term solution by cleaning my vehicles interior. My husband is in the Army and we happened to be traveling through the area so we were able to let them clean it. They did not offer to reapply the chemical to continue the protection. Now I live in North Carolina and we arent near the dealership and speaking to them on the phone has yielded little. My children are still small and my car needs scotch guard! I still have all my original purchasing documents if you want or need any of them.

Desired Settlement: I would like my vehicles upholstery cleaned and the scotch guard reapplied.

Business Response:

Joel,

 

I have verified with our General Manager at Appleway Honda that we have no access to any Sales/Service Documents/Transactions prior to us taking ownership of the dealership. The customer will have to contact the Foothills Group here locally to see if they can resolve her concerns. Appleway would like to assist but in this case there is nothing we can do for the customer.

 

Let me know if there is anything else you need from us.

 

 

****** ******************
Customer Relations Manager
Appleway Automotive Group
Chevrolet, Toyota, Mitsubishi, Subaru, Mazda, Audi, Scion & Volkswagen
Direct # ###-###-####
E-mail  ************************
Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole..