BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 08, 2002 Business started: 07/25/1997 in WA Business started locally: 07/25/1997 Business incorporated: 07/25/1998 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Sharon Scroggins, Co-owner Mr. Johnny Scroggins, Co-owner Mr. Mike Scroggins, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sharon Scroggins, Co-owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Restoration Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Paint - Mobile Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Maaco Auto Painting and Bodyworks Scropo Co. LLC

Additional Locations

  • 8605 W Clearwater Ave

    Kennewick, WA 99336

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I took my **** ***** ***** to maaco I had EXPRESSLY TOLD **** and ***** NOT TO SAND ON THE ROOF that the ROOF was never going to be perfect and I was ok with the way it was since I had spent well over 100 hours of body work sanding on it myself. THERE WAS NO CRACKS SHOWING ON THE ROOF AT ANYTIME. About a month later I get a message to call I go to see the issue and ****** tells me that there was a crack and I said Oh no someone sanded into my repair work and I had said NOT to sand to far down again this was MAACOs fault for NOT instructing their crew to stay off the roof and just give it a light sanding. So MAACO expected me to pay 8.5 hours for something that was THEIR FAULT I NEVER EVER EXPECTED THEM TO WASTE MY MONEY OR THIER TIME on my roof. Which is why when I EXPRESSLY MENTIONED NOT TO SAND DOWN INTO THE REPAIR.I handed over an additional $1154.00 that had unfairly charged 8.5 hours of work which was NOT REQUESTED. I said I could live with the roof NOT being perfect. It was my decision and **** was responsible for allowing this error to go on much like what is happening right now as on December 18th I drove over to see why I am still not able to get my car when they have been paid IN FULL for this work.My car is NOT FINISHED yet! I went and took pictures of the way they had my car just sitting out unlocked that had a expensive lower panel kit which cost me close to 400.00 which could have been stolen since they left my car unlocked and it is still today sitting out unlocked and unfinished!THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE TO ME! I really regret my choice of taking my car there now after seeing the disregard of my car and carelessness in leaving sharp metal laying across my new restored interior I am appalled by how they are treating the interior of my vehicle.**** wanted to charge me MORE money for installing the lower trim AFTER overcharging me for work NOT requested. The car still is NOT FINISHED yet they have been paid in FULL after 4 months!I have NO ACCESS to my yahoo email account.

Desired Settlement: **** was told right from the beginning NOT TO SAND THE ROOF just prep it lightly for primer n paint.His crew did sand and they charged me extra money for work not requested or agreed on estimate of $4750. I asked about a veterans discount and **** said that the $4750 was the veterans discount and he never knew I was a veteran until I asked about the veterans discount.After paying $5904 I feel there was NO VETERANS DISCOUNT and the way the car is being left out really shows they could care less

Consumer Response: This is an update to the December 18 2013 complaint filed with BBB. This Business has defrauded me and damaged my 1970 Monte carlo.The owners have intentionally used thier buisness to cheat me a women who is a DISABLED VETERAN. I went to this place because THEY ADVERTISED TO OFFER VETERANS A DISCOUNT.After being defrauded out of $6400.In front of two witness the male owner ordered me to leave AFTER I began raising serious concerns about the visible damage to my interior of my car. When the car was left on July 30th 2013 THE DOORs WERE PERFECTLY ADJUSTED. The owner was told what I expected with the driver front fender and the issues surrounding the door and driver fender. This was to be their focus of the main repair this did not happen instead a full on fraud fest and This buisness needs to have thier business license canceled permanently. When you order a customer to leave WHILE DEMANDING MORE MONEY WITH THREATS OF KEEPING THE CAR YOU NEED TO BE SHUT DOWN PERMANENTLY. The owner knew on November 21st when he accepted $2750.00 the doors would not shut as they should have esepcially after paying $500.00 for the door jambs to be painted. This is more proof of deceptive buisness practices. I hope the BBB reports this to the WA ATG I know I have.

intentional damages to my car:crawling over the console intentionally NOT repairing what they forced me to pay for since I was held hostage by the male owner on Decmeber 31 2013 for repairs that were bogus charges since he never really repaired what the first estimate had requested. I expect a full refund $6400 due to deceptive advertising and fraudulent estimates and NEVER OBTAINING MY SIGNATURE to REPAIR THIS CAR before starting their destruction of my Monte and the car doors.
Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Since I am not in the office very often, I became involved in the 1970 Monte Carlo in early September.  At that point I took pictures of the apparent crack in the roof and other damage that was noticed. The core support needed adjusted for the front panels to fit properly.  The left fender, lt frt door, trunk filler and rt quarter lower had damage.  On Sept. 9 I called Ms. ****** and she came in to see what the damage was and decide if she wanted us to do anything with it.  She came in on the 10th and i went over the places with her.  The reason I did this was because it was noted on her invoice to "notify the customer of any filler or issues with bodywork before paint".  She could have just said no she didn't want the work done.  That was her choice but we wanted to make sure she was notified.  I believe there was a sunroof installed in the roof and Ms. ****** had removed it and attempted to take care of it. She had all the materials she had used in the vehicle. Just because a person puts 100 hours in a job doesn't mean that the job was crack free.  When we wiped it down with wax and grease remover it was obvious that there was a crack in the roof.
After I spoke to her and went over the areas of concern, she agreed to have the other work done.  There were several other places that we just took care without charging her.  Had we left the crack in her bondo on the roof, the paint would have sunk into it and it would have been very obvious,  Just because she didn't see the crack when she dropped it off didn't mean it wasn't there and our guys cracked it.  We don't try to generate business like that.  She came back later that same day with payment in full for the additional labor.  At that point she agreed to have the work done and she asked me if I would have her "rocker moldings" installed at no charge.  I agreed to do that.  I wrote that on the invoice that day. I did not agree to put all of the moldings on her car for no charge. That is a big job.
As far as the veterans discount is concerned, she got a discount and we do not give combined discounts. I am one of the owners of this business,  It is a woman owned, veteran owned business.  We don't treat people as Ms. ****** is contending we did. She was not discriminated against at any point. We didn't know she was disabled as she is claiming. We believe we did the work that she requested.  I am not refunding her money.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Jan19 my 95 Honda was dropped off at Maaco to be painted the same color as the original. They said they would match it by Honda paint code found on the car. They told me that it would be the exact same color as the original. The car was sanded to bare metal, dents removed & painted. The bumper, left front fender & mirrors were new & not attached to the car but were painted loose at the same time. Feb11 went to pick it up. I was not satisfied with the paint job on the bumper, mirrors, door & some other parts of the car. The bumper had a LOT of dirt in the paint. The door had run marks & it appeared that the paint didnt adhere to the car. The mirrors had tons of small pits in the paint where it looked like the paint didnt adhere. By the time I left ******* agreed to fix these parts.Feb15 I picked the parts up. I tried to install them & found that the left front fender didnt fit. The auto wrecking shop ordered the wrong part. I got another fender I dropped it off to have it painted. Feb22 I picked up the fender & installed all of the parts that had been painted separate from the car. Then I noticed a big difference in the paint color between parts that were painted loose & the rest of the car. The fender, bumper & mirror were the exact same color which was more of an apple red compared to the rest of the car which was more of a dried tomato color. It was only then that I realized that the car was not painted the color I had originally specified (the apple red color). Mar9 I drove my car to Maaco & he told me it would be 3 weeks before he could fix the mismatched colors. Ma 26 I dropped the car off. He said it would be ready Mar 29th or 30th. Apr13 I picked the car. The front bumper, fender & mirrors still appeared to be the same color. It appeared that now part of the hood & part of the driver side door had been painted also. Apr15 I called & told him that I was unhappy with the paint job & that the colors still didnt match. He told me he didnt understand what I was talking about. I told him the car is still painted two different colors. He explained that he had to blend the two colors. I asked him why he needed to blend the colors when he had the paint code. This didnt make sense to me because they had no problem matching the color of the bumper to the color of the front fender which was painted a week later. I told ******* that the bumper & fender appear to be painted with the Honda paint code & that is why they matched so perfectly. The problem is that they screwed up on the initial paint color and cannot get it to match. After an exchange of words, he agreed to call me the next day.He still hasnt called me back. I have left multiple messages trying to resolve this.

Desired Settlement: They painted the car the incorrect color initially. They had to repaint parts that were poorly painted. The repainted parts were a different color. They then "blended" the two colors. I paid for the entire car to be painted ONE color. The body shop I talked to said they have to sand off all the paint to avoid the paint buildup from so many coats being applied. I have to start over.I would like a full refund in the amount of $1608.42 so I can take it elsewhere to have it repainted.

Business Response:

Mr. ****** did bring his car into our shop for repaint.  Our dates are different than his. Our records show that the car was checked in to our shop on 1/30/2013.  We have been in business for 15 years and we do NOT tell customers that their vehicle will be an exact match to the factory when it is single stage paint, which is what Mr. ****** purchased.  It is an economy single stage paint not a factory-like base coat clear coat.   There will never be a point in time when a customer can purchase an economy paint and get a factory paint for the same price.

The only portions of his vehicle that were stripped to the bare metal were the bodywork areas and the lacquer check areas.  There is no place on his invoice that says we are stripping his entire vehicle to bare metal.  The charge for that alone would be greater than his whole bill.  Plus there would be other notations such as "acid etch bare metal" and there would be a charge for that.  We very seldom do this type of preparation because it is not necessary. Delaminated clearcoat is sanded more agressively than regular sanding for preparation of paint so we charge extra for that as well as lacquer checking.

The mirrors we non painted factory parts that he elected to have painted the same as the car.  We do not warrant the paint on these parts. The tons of small pits in the mirrors were rock chips that had armor all in them.  We wipe down every vehicle with wax and grease remover and alcohol wipes before we paint it.  We do not take a toothbrush and get in every chip. Since these are plastic parts, we do not sand them down and feather the chips out.

When vehicles are painted at the factory, the paint comes in 50 gallon drums and depending on if the drum was mixed right then and the vehicle painted or two hours later without mixing again, the color will have the same code but different variances.  The color on Mr. ******" vehicle has 5 different color chips and all the same code.  When a vehicle is painted in single stage paint there is only one formula available by the code. The same color painted at different times can turn out a different color because we do not count the number of coats that are applied to get even coverage.  One extra coat of paint can change the color.  We usually do not paint parts after a vehicle has been painted because of this.  It has nothing to do with the mixing or using the wrong paint code or painting it the "wrong color in the first place".

The car does not need to have all the paint sanded off of it for it to be painted again.  It just needs a basic preparation. We are willing to refund the cost of the paint only.  We removed all of the lacquer checking, delaminated clearcoat, and did all of the bodywork. He was not charged for the basic prep, ($79.95)we just do that at no charge when there are other areas that require special attention. The refund amount would be $496.88.

We are still willing to repaint the entire vehicle for Mr. ****** if he picks the color he thinks is the right one. We would be able to do that the week of June 17-22, 2013.

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9540807, and find that this resolution of recieving a refund ($496.88) is satisfactory to me. 

The address that is listed is incorrect, and the check should be sent to: **** **** ***** **** ********* ** *****

Regards,


******* * ****** ******




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in to get an estimate around April 13th 2012, my car got vandalized and it needed repair from scratches and dents. I pointed out to the estimator all the repairs I needed done, I specifically pointed out the dents, and he said they would be included on the estimate. I took my car in on or around 4/24/12. I picked up my car on 5/4/12 when I drove off the lot I realized that I could still see dents and came back about 2 minutes later to let them know about the dents and damages that were made to my vehicle that were not on when I took it in. The guy told me to come back on Monday since the owner had already took off for the weekend and they would be fixed. I called on 5/7/12 spoke to **** and he told me I had to take my car in so he could look at it, when I had time. I took the car in on or around 5/14/12 talked to ****, he looked at my car and said the guy who gave me the estimate did not add the removal of the dents and the damages, I told him I had a witness that was with me and heard the guy who made my estimate tell me that the dents would be included. I pointed out where the new damages on my vehicle were at, he was going to have to see the pictures that were taken when I dropped off the car, but they were having issues with the computer and files so he was not able to view them he would give me a call later on after he viewed the files. I waited until 5/17 and called him to check and see what was happening with my complaint, he then told me they are still having issues with the computers and he was not able to see the pictures that were taken, and would give me a call once they resolved the issues. Its now 5/21/12 and have not heard anything from the company regarding the repair of the damages and the removal of the dents I paid for $3,049.00. If I would have known that they would not fix all the dent removals and were going to damage my car more than it had, I would have taken my car to a different shop and would not have spent a penny on this company.

Desired Settlement: I want the dents removed and the damages done to my car repaired.

Business Response:

The 2005 Acura TL came into our shop for an estimate on April 11, 2012.  It had, in fact, been vandalized.  There were several key scratches and the lights had been damaged.  Our estimator wrote an estimate at that time.  According to the customer, she told him that she wanted specific dents taken care of and they didn't get taken care of.  He obviously missed giving a quotefor the labor charges for those specific dents because of all the scratches that needed to be addressed.  At no point in the conversation did she say she wanted ALL of the dings and dents removed. That in itself would add approximately $2400 to her bill and most people do not want to spend that kind of money.  That type of service is typically used when there is a restoration or "show quality" is desired.

A couple of weeks later the car was brought in to do the work that was listed on the estimate. We did the work as contracted.  We did not damage this vehicle while it was in our shop.  Since we are an automotive collision repair shop, had one of our employees damaged any part of the vehicle, we would have repaired it.  The dents that were on the lower portion of the vehicle became more obvious after the car was painted and shiney.  This is typical, especially on cars that have dark colors.

The customer picked up the vehicle right at closing and the foreman had gone home for the weekend.  The detailer told  Ms. ***** that she would have to bring it back in for someone to look at on Monday to address her concerns.  The detailer is an employee who works in the back of the shop and does not deal with customers directly.  That is not his job.  He cleans and reassembles vehicles after the painting and bodywork are done.   He said he didn't know what was supposed to be done on her car.  He didn't say that everything would be fixed. 

When Ms. ***** brought the vehicle back in for **** to look at and go over the repair order with her, she became pretty hostile.  He pointed out to her that those were not listed on the contract.  He tried to suggest to her that we could repair those dents at the cost that it would have been had they originally been listed on the contract and that there would be no additional charge for repainting the three panels.  She would not hear of it.

Our computers were down in excess of a full week so we were not able to get any information regarding her vehicle.  **** contacted and explained to her that we would be willing to repair the dents for $175 plus tax, and we would eat the cost of the paint ($400).  She has not replied to our offer.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service