Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 2002 Business started: 07/25/1997 in WA Business started locally: 07/25/1997 Business incorporated 07/25/1998 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Sharon Scroggins, Co-owner Mr. Johnny Scroggins, Co-owner Mr. Mike Scroggins, Co-owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sharon Scroggins, Co-owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Paint - Mobile Auto Restoration Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Services Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Maaco Auto Painting and Bodyworks Scropo Co. LLC

Additional Locations

  • 8605 W Clearwater Ave

    Kennewick, WA 99336 (509) 572-3902

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was finally contacted by Maaco about the progress on repairs to my vehicle which they had been working on for over two (2) years. Since that time I had checked on the progress off and on for the first year and was told they were just waiting on trim molding to complete the job. During the second year of waiting I retired from my job, got remarried, moved twice, am now living across the country, completely forgot about my vehicle and had considered it a lost cause. Now I find out that the molding I thought we were waiting on has never been ordered and they want to be paid for the work already done. Well I'm sorry but that is just not going to happen. I firmly believe that this is an unreasonable and/or excessive delay in completing a repair.

Desired Settlement: I would like Maaco to buy the vehicle as it is not cost effective for me to retrieve it. I believe $2,000.00 is a fair price as I have invested a whole lot more than that in it. Thank You.

Business Response: When Mr. ***** originally dropped off his Chevrolet truck we wrote him an estimate for repairs that he wanted and he expressed that there was no rush for repairs. He agreed to the repair invoice and we proceeded with repairs. A vast amount or repairs were completed when we found more damage. We called him according to his request if we found more problems. He came in and approved the additional repairs. We completed those additional repairs and finished the paint service that he requested. After notifying him that the vehicle was ready for delivery, he came in and then communicated to us that the truck was supposed to be absolutely brand new. Everything!
When the vehicle had been dropped off Mr. ***** had also communicated that the truck had previously been taken to another shop for repairs and it had been sitting there for over two and a half years and all that had been done was the truck had been "torn apart". He was unhappy with them so he brought it to us.
Mr. ***** did not communicate to us that he wanted all of the truck to be "Brand New". So therefore we did not order all the new emblems, moldings, gaskets, and trim to Restore the entire vehicle. That is not what was agreed to on the repair order. But now at the point of us completing the agreed repairs, he changes his expectations.
We asked him what more he wanted. He said that it had to all look brand new. He was asked to pay for the repairs that had been done and after that we would be more than happy to work him up a new estimate for moldings, trim, and gaskets to achieve the level of repair that he was now wanting.
He said that he would be back in to take care of it after it was all "Brand New".
We then took additional time to clean up the various pieces that were left in large cardboard box in the back of the truck from the last repair facility. Mr. ***** was called multiple times to come back in and take care of his bill. We did not hear from him again after his last vivit to our shop. We continued to call him and eventually his phone number became disconnected. We then found a cell number on some of his paperwork and called it numerous times. Messages were left, but no reply was received.
After some time had passed, I was able to get Mr, ***** on the phone.  When he was asked to come by and take care of his bill, he became upset and stated that he had gotten married and moved across the country and he was not sure when he would be able to come back and pay for his truck. He then asked if we had ordered all the new stuff for his truck and installed it. I said no, and reminded him that we needed the repair billed paid for the work we had completed first. He was upset and said that he was not going to pay for any additional parts, all of that was going to be included because he says that he wanted it to all look brand new, so anything that does not look brand new has to be included in the original price because that is what he wanted, even though he did not communicate that, not pay for it.
He then said that he was just going to send the title to the truck to us and then he would no longer have a bill to pay with us. I communicated to him that he would still have a bill to pay. We did not want the truck, we just wanted the bill to be paid for the repairs completed. He said the vehicle was not worth it and then proceeded to end the phone call by putting another person on the phone. I tried to listen to what she was saying, but it was very difficult to understand her. I asked for her to put Mr. ***** back on and he said he needed our address. I attempted to give it to him but he said he did not have a pan and he was driving. Just text it to me, he said, and then he hung up.
I tried calling him again a few days later. I left a message with our contact address, and also text it to him to the same cell number.
We did not receive any reply from Mr. ***** until we got this complaint from the BBB.
Mr. ***** states that we took way too long to repair the vehicle. This is not the case. He stated when he dropped it off that he was in no rush and he had been without the vehicle for a very long time. He came in a few times over the first year and checked on the progress. He left after inspecting the vehicle after it was ready, and never returned as he said he would.

As for Mr. *****'s desired resolution of this repair bill, that is not agreeable. We do not want or need his vehicle, let alone we are not willing to pay him money for it. We request that he pay his agreed upon repair bill and take possession of his vehicle.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** *****

Some of what Maaco says is true but most of it is not.  Anyone can plainly see that the time to make this repair and paint job is totally unreasonable.  It was back in August of 2012 when I dropped off this vehicle and was not contacted until November of last year 2014, over two years later.  In my opinion it should not take a company like Maaco this long to do some body work and paint a vehicle.  This is what they do and should have done in a timely manner.

My cell phone number had never changed and is still the same and I also have voice mail on it.  No messages were ever left and no effort was made by Maaco to contact me while I was still living in the area.  And before we moved from Washington we stopped by several times to check on the progress and found the work was still not done.   I have since moved, twice, and am now living in South Carolina thousands of miles away.  I sure could have used this truck to help me move but it was not ready.

I am not satisfied with the way this company does business.  I offered to send them the title to the truck but they want that and to be paid too.  Totally unprofessional and unethical as well.  I am still willing to take a loss and take $2,000. for it because it is not cost effective for me to retrieve it now.  I'm sure they can sell it and still make money.  Especially if they finish the work on it and make it look brand new!  

Business Response: We do not want to buy this customers vehicle. We do work for customers to make money, not to buy vehicles that customers move out of state and leave behind. He needs to pay the agreed upon bill for the work that has been done to his vehicle and have the vehicle removed from our shop/lot.
Beginning 4/10/ 15 will will be charging storage fees on this vehicle of $45.00 a day. We have bent over backwards to work with Mr. *****.
He needs to be responsible and get this bill paid for.

Thank You

******* *********

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Back in August of 2012, when I first contacted Maaco to work on this vehicle, I was told that they could make it look good as new.  I did not expect a new vehicle but I did believe they could do what they said.  I truly believed they were a reputable company and never expected this venture to go this far or go so wrong.  This is so unprofessional and is now verging on ridiculous.  If they want to start charging $45.00 per day storage, maybe I should charge them the same for being without a vehicle all this time.  It has been approximately two years and seven months.  I believe seven months is more than a reasonable time to do the body work and paint job so, the remaining two years at $45./day is (730days X $45.) = $32,850.00.  See how ridiculous this is getting!

I am now willing to send them the signed title to this vehicle just to make this go away.  They can recoup what they can for the work they have done.  It was never my intention to sell or give my vehicle to them but they have left me with little choice.  I hope Maaco accepts this final offer and it resolves this matter. 

Regards,

***** *****

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid 1127.37 for a paint job on my personal vehicle. Paint job is horrible. Old paint is showing around several spot. Paint is chipped off in areas. Paint has runs from overspraying in areas. Some areas have spots with little air bubbles that formed when painting. Overall is just no attention to detail and worst paint job ive ever seen. Also along edges by windows where tape was pulled off it apparently took some paint off with it.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full or near full refund. They clearly did not do what they were paid to do. I do not want them to try and fix it after seeing how they paint.

Business Response: Mr. ***** had not contacted us by the time he got in touch with the BBB.  He called a couple of days later.  He returned to the shop on 9/27/2014 to show us his concerns and made it very clear that he in no way was going to try to settle this out of court.  He took a picture of his car at the shop so he could prove that he came back in to talk to us. 

I personally spoke to him and told him we would be more than glad to take care of his issues but he refused.  Mr. ***** was expecting perfection and did not pay for perfection.  I told him that when he came in I went over that with him and decided that this is the paint service he wanted.  If he wants to pay to have all the parts pieces removed so the edges will be perfect, I told him we could do that and he would just have to pay for the labor to do that.  That was more money than he wanted to spend. 

In the beginning he wanted ALL the dings and dents fixed and when I told him that alone would be around $2500, he declined having that done.  We advertise that we will get most of the chips and scratches not all.  There were a few chips missed on the right fender.  Even though he did not pay to have the jambs done, he expected that some of the jamb would be painted because he didn't like the way it looked.
We are still willing to take care of his issues if he brings the vehicle back in.  Attached is a copy of his invoice..  Please feel free to call if you have any further questions.

Thank You
****** *********
###-###-####

Consumer Response: Hello this is ***** *****. In my last reply i forgot to mention the fender that the maaco owner described as having chips. I am attaching a photo which clearly shows these are not chips and maaco is lying to bbb as well. I showed her these when i brought car back. There are 5 air bubbles from a painter doing a careless and very unprofessional paint job. I am an honest person and have indeed been done wrong by maaco kennewick. Thanks for your time.
*****.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,
    The quote she described is much different from what she actually said.  She said i asked for all the dings to be removed which is a flat out lie. I asked about 2 dings on the door and she replied well if you want every ding out its gonna be around 2 thousand. I said i have a ding king tool which can remove them so ill use that. I have a witness that was there with me during the estimate as well. As far as perfection goes this isnt even close to a half decent paint job. Which a judge will confirm upon seeing the large amount of pictures i have. I am going to have another car paint shop look at my paint job and have them give an overall opinion and price to fix this horrible paint job. I plan to take this matter further to legal action once i am prepared to do so. Oh and the door jambs, i did not ask them to paint them whatsoever. I complained because i said i didnt want them painted yet they are half painted on both sides. Its like they closed their eyes and sprayed my car. Paint on lights that illuminate my license plate. Paint on trim everywhere, on tail pipes, even the gas tank. Very unprofessional.
***** *****

Business Response:  I am still willing to fix Mr. *****'s vehicle.  He started pointing out many dings and I said that if he wanted all the dings out it would cost $2500.  I know our charge for that and would not have made an exception for him.  Then he pointed out a hole in the left hood edge that went all the way through and a dent on the  back hatch both of which we repaired.

When a customer changes color on a vehicle and doesn't get the door jambs painted, we mask back a couple of inches so you can't see the old color when you are standing there with the door closed.  Most customers don't want to be able to see the old color with the door closed.

I think Mr. *****'s expectations were higher than what he paid for.  He got an economy paint service and not a show quality or new car quality paint service.  Again, I am willing to fix the concerns that he has about his vehicle.

****** *********
###-###-####



                      

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

The owner is correct stating that i did ask them to fix the hole in hood and dent in rear hatch. As far as the jambs go they were not masked off just randomly sprayed. There are no masking lines whatsoever. I refuse to let a company have a second shot at painting my car after screwing it up so badly the first time. I was unnaware an economy job means paint drips, air bubbles, paint where it shouldnt be, and original color showing everywhere. This is ridiculous. Im tired of the lies and excuses maaco. If the owner would like to try and settle this monetarily they can give me a call on my phone. Otherwise i will be taking them to court. End of story.
Regards,

***** *****

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I took my **** ***** ***** to maaco I had EXPRESSLY TOLD **** and ***** NOT TO SAND ON THE ROOF that the ROOF was never going to be perfect and I was ok with the way it was since I had spent well over 100 hours of body work sanding on it myself. THERE WAS NO CRACKS SHOWING ON THE ROOF AT ANYTIME. About a month later I get a message to call I go to see the issue and ****** tells me that there was a crack and I said Oh no someone sanded into my repair work and I had said NOT to sand to far down again this was MAACOs fault for NOT instructing their crew to stay off the roof and just give it a light sanding. So MAACO expected me to pay 8.5 hours for something that was THEIR FAULT I NEVER EVER EXPECTED THEM TO WASTE MY MONEY OR THIER TIME on my roof. Which is why when I EXPRESSLY MENTIONED NOT TO SAND DOWN INTO THE REPAIR.I handed over an additional $1154.00 that had unfairly charged 8.5 hours of work which was NOT REQUESTED. I said I could live with the roof NOT being perfect. It was my decision and **** was responsible for allowing this error to go on much like what is happening right now as on December 18th I drove over to see why I am still not able to get my car when they have been paid IN FULL for this work.My car is NOT FINISHED yet! I went and took pictures of the way they had my car just sitting out unlocked that had a expensive lower panel kit which cost me close to 400.00 which could have been stolen since they left my car unlocked and it is still today sitting out unlocked and unfinished!THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE TO ME! I really regret my choice of taking my car there now after seeing the disregard of my car and carelessness in leaving sharp metal laying across my new restored interior I am appalled by how they are treating the interior of my vehicle.**** wanted to charge me MORE money for installing the lower trim AFTER overcharging me for work NOT requested. The car still is NOT FINISHED yet they have been paid in FULL after 4 months!I have NO ACCESS to my yahoo email account.

Desired Settlement: **** was told right from the beginning NOT TO SAND THE ROOF just prep it lightly for primer n paint.His crew did sand and they charged me extra money for work not requested or agreed on estimate of $4750. I asked about a veterans discount and **** said that the $4750 was the veterans discount and he never knew I was a veteran until I asked about the veterans discount.After paying $5904 I feel there was NO VETERANS DISCOUNT and the way the car is being left out really shows they could care less

Consumer Response: This is an update to the December 18 2013 complaint filed with BBB. This Business has defrauded me and damaged my 1970 Monte carlo.The owners have intentionally used thier buisness to cheat me a women who is a DISABLED VETERAN. I went to this place because THEY ADVERTISED TO OFFER VETERANS A DISCOUNT.After being defrauded out of $6400.In front of two witness the male owner ordered me to leave AFTER I began raising serious concerns about the visible damage to my interior of my car. When the car was left on July 30th 2013 THE DOORs WERE PERFECTLY ADJUSTED. The owner was told what I expected with the driver front fender and the issues surrounding the door and driver fender. This was to be their focus of the main repair this did not happen instead a full on fraud fest and This buisness needs to have thier business license canceled permanently. When you order a customer to leave WHILE DEMANDING MORE MONEY WITH THREATS OF KEEPING THE CAR YOU NEED TO BE SHUT DOWN PERMANENTLY. The owner knew on November 21st when he accepted $2750.00 the doors would not shut as they should have esepcially after paying $500.00 for the door jambs to be painted. This is more proof of deceptive buisness practices. I hope the BBB reports this to the WA ATG I know I have.

intentional damages to my car:crawling over the console intentionally NOT repairing what they forced me to pay for since I was held hostage by the male owner on Decmeber 31 2013 for repairs that were bogus charges since he never really repaired what the first estimate had requested. I expect a full refund $6400 due to deceptive advertising and fraudulent estimates and NEVER OBTAINING MY SIGNATURE to REPAIR THIS CAR before starting their destruction of my Monte and the car doors.
Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Since I am not in the office very often, I became involved in the 1970 Monte Carlo in early September.  At that point I took pictures of the apparent crack in the roof and other damage that was noticed. The core support needed adjusted for the front panels to fit properly.  The left fender, lt frt door, trunk filler and rt quarter lower had damage.  On Sept. 9 I called Ms. ****** and she came in to see what the damage was and decide if she wanted us to do anything with it.  She came in on the 10th and i went over the places with her.  The reason I did this was because it was noted on her invoice to "notify the customer of any filler or issues with bodywork before paint".  She could have just said no she didn't want the work done.  That was her choice but we wanted to make sure she was notified.  I believe there was a sunroof installed in the roof and Ms. ****** had removed it and attempted to take care of it. She had all the materials she had used in the vehicle. Just because a person puts 100 hours in a job doesn't mean that the job was crack free.  When we wiped it down with wax and grease remover it was obvious that there was a crack in the roof.
After I spoke to her and went over the areas of concern, she agreed to have the other work done.  There were several other places that we just took care without charging her.  Had we left the crack in her bondo on the roof, the paint would have sunk into it and it would have been very obvious,  Just because she didn't see the crack when she dropped it off didn't mean it wasn't there and our guys cracked it.  We don't try to generate business like that.  She came back later that same day with payment in full for the additional labor.  At that point she agreed to have the work done and she asked me if I would have her "rocker moldings" installed at no charge.  I agreed to do that.  I wrote that on the invoice that day. I did not agree to put all of the moldings on her car for no charge. That is a big job.
As far as the veterans discount is concerned, she got a discount and we do not give combined discounts. I am one of the owners of this business,  It is a woman owned, veteran owned business.  We don't treat people as Ms. ****** is contending we did. She was not discriminated against at any point. We didn't know she was disabled as she is claiming. We believe we did the work that she requested.  I am not refunding her money.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)