BBB Accredited Business since

City South Auto Body

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 448-2883 3014 E 55th Ave, Spokane, WA 99223 http://www.citywestautobody.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers complete automotive collision repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that City South Auto Body meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for City South Auto Body include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on City South Auto Body
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 08, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2002 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business under new ownership as of: 12/01/2008 Business incorporated 12/01/2008 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Katanna Ward, Office Manager Mr. John James, Co Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Katanna Ward, Office Manager
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto Restoration Auto Services Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Paint - Mobile Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
City West Auto Body McJames LLC

Additional Locations

  • 11425 W Sunset Hwy

    Airway Hgts, WA 99001 (509) 244-9277

  • 3014 E 55th Ave

    Spokane, WA 99223 (509) 448-2883

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December of 2011 my car was in a small accident, we contacted our insurance company who referred us to City South to have the repair work done;it would save us $100.00 off the deductible. My husband took our car in, when it was returned the inside wheel cover was cut off and half of it was gone, after a month the part that remained started to fall off and cause problems with steering. My husband contacted City South about the issue, they told him that we did not need the cover and to get under the car and push it back up in the well; he did. Later he was unable to turn the car and found that the power steering line was not put on all the way and it caused the line to break free; he contacted City South about this issue and they gave him the run around until my husband said "I may not be a mechanic but I know that you had to be working in the area to get to the area where the damage from the wreck was." At that time they told him to bring the car in and they would take a look at it; so he did and they fixed it. Then later we had a tire blow out; we went to put our spare tire on and it was not there, my husband called, they argued with him for a min, finally got the manager who sent him to pull and save to get a used one, which would have been fine IF we could have drove the car! My husband called a friend to pick him up to take care of the issue. Once the tire was on we went in to get a new tire when we were informed that we could not just buy the one tire we had to buy all four because our tire were wearing unevenly, we should get it checked. Went to my mechanic who asked if the car was in an accident, I said yes why? We went back into the shop were my car was and he showed me the underside of the car and told me that the sway bar was bent which was causing two parts to rub together and this was what was causing the uneven wear. This should have been fixed, they only did half the work. My car is back at that shop, our insurance will not allow us to go elsewhere. I'm scared to drive my car!!!

Desired Settlement: We are a one income family of five, we had to skip a mortgage payment to come up with money for the deductible and we had to do the same to come up with the money for the new tires. I would like to see them refund one or the other. We paid for work that was not done.We have been inconvenienced dealing with the run around for over a year now and both companies treat us like criminals over a $500claim (the only claim/6 years. Saving each other money at our expense. I pay $115mo for 6 years=$8280.

Business Response: May 30, 2013


BBB
152 S. Jefferson St.
Suite 200
Spokane, WA 99201

Re: Case 9537678 ******* * *******

Dear BBB,

With regards to case number 9537678 complaint filed by ******* ** ******* let it be said that we were completely taken aback by the contents of this complaint. At no point in the 17 months that transpired between the original accident repairs and now were we ever given the impression that either ******* or her husband, Clint are so bitterly disappointed with our repairs and/or service.

The vehicle was first brought in for repairs on December 12, 2011. The mileage on the vehicle at that time was 143387. May 5, 2013 it returned for supplemental repairs. The mileage at that time was 177543. An additional 34,156 miles have been added in the 17 months prior to the complaint. The yearly average for most vehicles is 12,000 miles. At 24,110 a year this vehicle is driven double the average miles. Likewise, the average life of a set of tires is 15,000 to 30,000 miles with regular maintenance and rotation. Two variables come into play, were the tires regularly rotated & checked for proper inflation and how many miles had been traveled on this particular set of tires in excess of the 34,156 miles already driven? In doing some quick research, the number one complaint about this tire is tread life. Most people sited wearing/nearly gone tread at 15,000 miles. This being said, any number of possibilities exist just from high mileage alone, be it tire wear or general mechanical wear.

The vehicle was repaired on December 12, 2011. As for Clint calling us in regards to the wheel cover: at no time would we have ever suggested anything less than returning the vehicle at once for us to inspect. Our customer service and customer perception of us is of utmost importance to each of us. We do all that we can to go above and beyond. As shows with the return of the vehicle for inspection of the power steering, there was an issue and we happily fixed it. At the time of repairs we have photos indicating that there was indeed a spare tire on the vehicle. With the realization that it was missing with the blown tire, we were again happy to comply with the purchase of a spare tire. Any argument could be misconstrued with mere questioning. As to the validity of the wearing of the tires due to a bent sway bar going unrepaired: we have photos of the parts from the original repair. The sway bar was not bent at that time. We could not have aligned the vehicle with bent parts, not even close. We feel it is possible that the vehicle had been in a second accident, etc. The insurance company agrees with our assessment however, they paid for the additional repairs in an effort to take care of our mutual customer.

We take full consideration of the complaint. We maintain that we made the repairs as agreed to by the paying insurance company. We were more than happy to address any complaint quickly and efficiently. We took responsibility of complaint and did our best to remedy it. We have no control of the deductible for the claim. We can not waive a deductible under any circumstances let alone this one. The repairs were scheduled and made, the deductible is just part of the equation. We are not responsible for the amount of deductible. As for the replacement cost of the tires, we maintain that excessive use and the possibility of additional damages led to the wearing of the tread. This was not an extension of our repairs.

Lastly, Mr. ******* not only was not aware that such a complaint existed, he made mention that the information may be misconstrued. He did not feel that we had not tried to take care of him or his vehicle. By perception, we had no idea Mrs. ******* felt as if she hadn't been taken care of. The reception we have received has been pleasant, thankful and delighted with each and every visit. We feel that we have done everything we can do within our control fairly and honestly to address this situation from repairs to communication.

We appreciate Clint and ******* Baseth. We appreciate the BBB. We thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

**** *****, Partner City South Auto Body