BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

This Business is not BBB accredited

Big Sky Collision Center

Phone: (406) 259-6328 Fax: (406) 248-9953 315 N 15th St, Billings, MT 59101 http://bigskycol.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Big Sky Collision Center include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Big Sky Collision Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Big Sky Collision Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 24, 2007 Business started: 04/01/1980 in MT Business started locally: 03/27/2006 Business incorporated: 04/01/1980 in MT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Montana Secretary of State, Business Services Bureau
P.O. Box 202801, Helena MT 59620-2801
http://www.state.mt.us/sos/index.htm
Fax Number: 406-475-3662

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan McDonnell, Manager Mr. Matt McDonnell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan McDonnell, Manager
Principal: Mr. Matt McDonnell, Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Method(s) of Payment
cash
credit card
check
Alternate Business Names
Big Sky Collision Center Of Billings McDonnell Enterprises Inc
Licensing

Business License # OL-13-09725

Industry Tips
Car Repair

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    315 N 15th St

    Billings, MT 59101 (406) 259-6328

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July of 2011 Big Sky Collision (BSC) did repair work on my boat after is was swamped. They worked on the: electrical, radio, speakers, interior seats, stripe kit, tarp, motor and interior detail. Then in September 2012 I came in and talked to **** with BSC about all the problems I was (and for the most part still am) having trouble with. He created an invoice describing all the issues. It states the wiring is shorting out, speakers are not working and/or installed properly, interior seats already ripping, tarp straps fraying, decals not in same spot, starter bad, radio shorting out, wiring and side panels are flopping around and the scratches on drivers side back out. I brought the boat in on September 21, 2012. I was called in October and told my boat was ready and that I owed $170.66 for a battery replacement. I told BSC that I did not approve the battery being replaced and said to remove the battery, return me the core and I will purchase my own battery. Only after stating this was I then informed that it can be turned over to insurance. After receiving the boat back I called **** to convey my disappointment in what work was done on the boat. Nothing except the battery being replaced was done. None of the other issues I had talked to him about were addressed. He then stated to me that it sounded like I wanted a new boat out of the deal. I informed him that I paid $7,500 just two years earlier to purchase the boat and that insurance has paid $6,353.66 and that I did indeed expect a lot more that what I received in quality and longevity. I also informed him that I am only talking about issues that insurance paid for and BSC worked on and things were either not done right or haven't even lasted a year. In April/May 2013 I again took my boat in, which only resulted in new or existing issues. I have sent emails attempting to resolve these issues, only to be ignored. I was also informed by my insurance claims representative that BSC has requested further payment for workmanship issues.

Desired Settlement: I want to take my boat to a different repair shop, but of course there is no insurance money to do this. So I would like the full $1,100 for the interior returned to me, as well as the $673 for the decals since I now not only need to have the cut marks in the paint fixed (which I have no idea what that will cost), but I'm sure the decals will need to be redone after this. As it stands that I do not know if the radio and speakers will ever work or not I request $879. This gives an amount of $2,652. However, as I stated I do not know how much it will cost to repair the scratched in the paint. Based off of a preliminary estimate that was sent to my insurance company Big Sky Collision charged for: four hours in labor to remove the previous decals, six hours to sand the old gel-coat and ten hours to buff gel-coat to a new finish; totaling $2,100. Seeing as how this is most likely the simplest fix (yet probably not what will actually conspire) I want $4,752 refunded to me so that I am e

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.