Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Autobody repair & refinish


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Way Collision Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Way Collision Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on American Way Collision Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 06, 2000 Business started: 05/20/1998 in WA Business started locally: 05/20/1998 Business incorporated 05/20/1998 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington State Department of Licensing
PO Box 9034 , Olympia WA 98507-9015
https://fortress.wa.gov/dol/dolprod/bpdLicenseQuery/Default.aspx
Phone Number: (360) 664-0116
Fax Number: 360-705-6699

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Beverly Wallace, President Mr. Robert Wallace, Vice President / General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Beverly Wallace, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Wallace, Vice President / General Manager
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Paint - Mobile Auto Restoration Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Services Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles Auto Parts & Supplies - New Automotive Body, Paint, and Interior Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811121)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, visa, mastercard, discover, debit
Alternate Business Names
Colltec, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Way Collision Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1320 W Francis Ave

    Spokane, WA 99205 (509) 343-1000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a brand new OEM front fender painted. When I brought it in I asked Nicjk if I needed to pull old fender or leave truck for a color match. I guy came out with 2 paint swatches and looked for 2 minutes or so and left said I got it. No need for truck or old fender to be left. I didn't worry because my truck had just been painted on that side not to long ago. So matching paint should have been easy to look up paint code used last time to repair that side of truck. N ick said it would be a couple days. Next morning he called and it was done . I installed fender that morning. Much to my dismay its the wrong color. A couple days later I returned to shop to show them the poor color match. Nick and another guy came out to look. Bob was the other guy, he told me I needed to pay 350 more dollars to have my door changed colors to match the wrong color on the newly painted fender. They call it blending. If the fender was painted the right color I wouldn't need my door changed to meet fender color. I understand that it would not be perfect. But the fender is light blue and my truck is dark blue. Bob kept saying over and over its a great match. I said to him if I this 19 year old truck were a beamer or a Lexus this fender would never have left this shop with such a poor color match. This set bob into a rage. The conversation just went south from there. He yelled , he cursed, and he threatened me with violence, if I did not leave he said. I then said. tell me you name and I will. I don't think we have met. He continued the verbal assault and made more threats of cops and violence. I said please call the police, then I would be able to get your name. I have done nothing wrong here. He then gave me a card and said its him. I said Thank-you and politely left. I have had 3 major repairs on my truck and 2 on my wife's rigs in the past 17 years. Plus a couple minor ones. This is the only shop I use or recommend to friends and family. We have had a great working relationship for many many years.

Desired Settlement: Before the verbal abuse and the threats of violence, I would have let them repaint it and continued our great relationship we had all these years. But now I don't think Id let them any where near my truck. I have never seen anyone so mad as BOB was for no reason. He could have painted that fender in an hour or so and been done with it. American way could pay another shop to paint it. They can buy a new fender at ford,(OEM ONLY), paint it, and give it to me, and ill return the other one, painted the wrong color, or refund my money.

Business Response:

WE HAVE BEEN DOING BUSINESS WITH ****** **** FOR THE LAST 17 YEARS AND HE HAS BEEN A GREAT CUSTOMER. THAT IS WHY WHEN WE WALKED OUT TO HIS PICK UP TRUCK I TOLD HIM WE WOULD REPAINT THE FENDER. BUT INSTEAD OF ACCEPTING MY OFFER HE WANTED TO ARGUE THAT THE COLOR WASNT IN THE SAME COLOR FAMILY, I TOLD HIM IT WAS IN THE SAME COLOR FAMILY AND THATS WHEN IT WENT SIDE WAYS.  I DID TELL HIM THE DOOR NEEDED TO BE BLENDED ( IT IS A STANDARD OPERATION IN THE INDUSTRY TO BLEND WHEN REPLACING A PANEL ) AND NICK TOLD HIM BEFORE WE GAVE HIM A ESTIMATE IT NEEDED TO BE BLENDED FOR COLOR MATCH BUT HE WAS TRYING TO SAVE MONEY AND WE UNDERSTAND THAT. WITH MOST CUSTOMERS WE WOULD TELL THEM WE WONT DO IT IF WE CANT DO IT RIGHT BUT WE MADE A ACCEPTION FOR ****** SHAME ON US THATS WHY I TOLD HIM WE WOULD DO IT AGAIN FOR FREE BUT HE WANTED TO ARGUE I TOLD HIM HE WANTS TO KEEP ARGUEING WE WILL NOT BE INTERESTED IN DOING BUT HE WOULDNT STOP SO I ASKED HIM TO LEAVE THE PROPERTY HE WOULDNT HE FOLLOWED ME INTO THE SHOP ASKING FOR MY NAME I GAVE HIM A CARD AND HE STILL WOULDNT LEAVE I TOLD HIM THEN IF HE DOESNT LEAVE IM CALLING THE COPS I TOLD HIM I WOULD HELP HIM OUT IF HE DOESNT LEAVE AND HE SAID PLEASE DO I KNEW WHERE THAT WAS GOING.

OUR SHOP OUR ARE CREW TAKE A LOT OF PRIDE IN OUR WORK THATS WHY I SAID WE WOULD REPAINT HIS FENDER AND I DIDNT HAVE A PROBLEM WITH DOING THAT,  TO BAD WHEN YOU WANT TO HELP A PERSON BY DOING THE RIGHT THING AND ALLS THEY DO IS WANT TO ARGUE WITH YOU, WE DONT HAVE THESE TYPE OF PROBLEMS EVER, WE ARE NOT INTERESTED IN BUYING OR PAINTING A NEW FENDER FOR HIM HE WAS EXPLAINED UP FRONT IT WOULDNT MATCH IF WE DONT BLEND THE DOOR AND WE ALREADY OFFERED TO PAINT THE FENDER OVER. AMERICAN WAY COLLISION CENTER DID EVERYTHING WE COULD TO MAKE IT RIGHT


MANAGER

BOB W******

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:        They did not offer refund or have another company re paint fender the right color.        If bob had offered to repaint my fender as he states i would have accepted immidiately.  That is all i had ever asked of them.  But the first words out of bobs mouth were that i needed to pay 350 more dollars to have MY DOOR blended to match, THE WRONG COLOR THAT THEY PAINTED MY FENDER .    If  i was to allow this, the fender would still be the wrong color,  and the door too, but they would match each other.   Problem  with that is now I would have 2 major parts of my truck  that would be the wrong color as the rest of my truck.    Why in the world would anyone want that ?

Sincerely,

****** **** ****

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** **** ****


A full refund is acceptable, 
****** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on American Way Collision Center
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart