BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Way Auto Body meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Way Auto Body include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Way Auto Body
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1965 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1965 Business incorporated: 07/02/1973 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Sprague, General Manager Ms. Jackie Peters, Vice President Mr. James Peters, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Sprague, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Restoration Auto Services Auto Body Shop Equipment & Sup Auto Paintless Dent Repair Auto Paint - Mobile Auto Parts & Supplies - Used Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto Bumpers, Guards & Grilles Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Slim's Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 6614 E Trent Ave

    Spokane Vly, WA 99212

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 535-6133 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11-16 2012 i paid the bill and picked up my truck repaired by American Way Auto Body, after a rear end collision i asked what mechanical repairs was preformed as i had informed about a noise under the truck i was told the mechanic did not find any problem,i insisted there was a problem the truck was checked and found a broken exhaust, and found the tailgate was not repaired i was told he would talk to the owner and call me back ,not receiving a reply called on 11-23-2012 i was asked if i received a call from owner i said no was told he would inform owner ,i also informed him my radio was installed upside down as of 11-26-2012 i have not received a reply.

Desired Settlement: I would like the exhaust replaced,the tailgate repaired and the radio properly installed.

Business Response:

I spoke with Mr. ****** about his concerns. All items he has adressed have to have prior approval from the responsible insurance company. A call was place to them on 11/16/12 and a message left. On 11/19/12 we received a call back from the appraiser stating he would have to talk directly to the adjuster to get any approvals for additional work on the tailgate, stereo and exhaust . As of 12/3/12 we are still waiting for a return call with an approval to repair. A second call has been placed to the appraiser with a message left. It appears that Mr. ****** doesn't have a complaint about the work performed, his complaint should be directed at the insurance company responsible for paying the claim. We will be happy to assist him in the additional repairs upon approval from the insurance company. If you have any further questions feel free and contact me anytime Monday through Friday from 7:30 to 5:00.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved