BBB Accredited Business since

Thermex Valley Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC

Phone: (509) 426-7726 1916 Fruitvale Blvd, Yakima, WA 98902 http://www.thermexvalleyheating.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers installation and repairs for heaters, air conditioners, water heaters, boilers, and duct sealing.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Thermex Valley Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thermex Valley Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Thermex Valley Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 29, 2002 Business started: 01/14/2003 in WA Business started locally: 01/14/2003 Business incorporated 01/14/2003 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor and Industries WA State
901 N Monroe St Ste 100, Spokane WA 99201
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (509) 324-2600

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark Troianenello, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Troianenello, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Duct & Duct Fittings Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial


Additional Locations

  • 1916 Fruitvale Blvd

    Yakima, WA 98902 (509) 426-7726

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had filed a service request to American Home Shield (home warranty) on May 5 for a rattling noise on our home furnace of the home we recently purchased. The technician came to the home on May to do the repair, and advised the rattling noise was stemming from loose screws on housing of motor unit. On May 12, I had another tech from an HVAC company, who had previously done an inspection on the furnace, come to the home to complete the required HVAC service under the home purchase agreement. I learned that the technician from Thermex had placed a elbow pipe fitting by the motor and wall of the furnace to stop the rattling. It turns out the the rattling is being caused from a bad barring. The diagnosis and repair work performed by Thermex was very poor and inadequate. I did speak with the owner of Thermex, ****, on May 12 about the concern. He advised me to bring the bad barring to him,and he will determine if he will reimburse me the $75 service fee. My husband had also spoken with ****. It is our home that **** will make things right by reimbursing us for the $75 fee paid under our home warranty.

Desired Settlement: We expect to be reimbursed $75 for the home warranty service fee

Business Response:

On May 6, 2015, we sent a tech to ***** ****’s home on behalf of American Home Shield to investigate a complaint of a rattling noise.  The tech, *******, checked and tightened all screws and bolts in the motor and blower mounts, as well as the motor and blower wheel.  He found that the furnace cabinet itself was rattling.  The only way he could find to stop it, other than replacing the furnace, was to block it in the extended position, thereby preventing it from moving and rattling.  When he left, the furnace was no longer rattling.

 

***** called me on May 12th and said that another HVAC company was there for “an issue” related to the prior owner.  She stated that the other tech said that the block ******* put in was not right and the problem was a bad bearing and they fixed it.  When I asked her if that stopped the problem, she said they hadn’t done it yet but were going to.  At this time I told her to have the other company leave the motor with her and that if stopped the rattling, I would check the motor and return her service fee if the bearings were indeed bad.  She had not even asked for a refund at this point.

 

The following afternoon, her husband, *****, called and asked what was going on.  I explained to him that, unfortunately, not all companies are completely honest, and will condemn good parts, and unjustly criticize their competition to make themselves look better.  I also stated that we did not deposit the check yet, and if the bearings were bad, I would absolutely refund the service fee.  He was very understanding.

 

To date, I still have the check, I have not heard from the customer.  I do not know if the motor was replaced, if the bearings were bad, if the furnace is no longer rattling, or if the block ******* put in was even removed.

 

I was shocked when BBB informed me of this complaint.  She admits that I volunteered to refund the service fee, yet her desired settlement is that I refund it?  Didn’t I already offer that?

 

As a side note, they purchased the home on April 14, 2015, so the other company could not have done an inspection very long ago.  How much credibility do they have if they didn’t find this “problem” on their original inspection?

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received, your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

***** ****

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called an air conditioning company to come repair my air conditioning unit. I first contacted ***** ******* *** *** ************ located in Yakima Washington. They came and examined the unit and also the furnace which was In the attic and diagnosed the problem. I later found out the warranty company 210 home owners warranty only does service through Thermex. I contacted Thermex to set up an appointment for service. The technician came to my house to diagnose the problem. The technicians looked at the air conditioning unit and added refrigerant to the unit. **** then asked where the furnace was and it was located in the attic. The technician was not able to get into the attic because he did not have a ladder that would fit to get him into the attic. He was able to look at the furnace in the attic as he stood on the ladder but never actually went into the attic to inspect the unit. He then decided not to go into the attic to check the unit and said the air was getting cooler coming through the vents in the house so the problem must be fixed. I told **** that his company had previously come out and put coolant in so there must be a larger problem. When the Vance air conditioning technician was at my house I had asked him if it was common to have to re fill the refrigerant and he said because of the vacuum that is created in the line you shouldn't have to top off the coolant unless there was a leak. After I had told **** there was a bigger problem **** told me it would take too long to fix and did not offer another appointment to complete the fix. He told me I would have to call again if the air wasn't cool cause everything costs money and he has to get paid and time is money. I called the Thermex office in Yakima and the phone was answered by a female receptionist who was not able to answer my questions. She told me she had to go and I needed to call back later in the week to set up another appointment. She did not offer to call me back but told me I needed to call back later in the week. I called during regular business hours at 4:25 and their website says they are open until 5:00pm. I understand they are busy but would like to be treated fairly and have the proper repairs done. I would use another company to do the repairs because of my experience with Thermex but I asked the warranty company and Thermex is the only company they are contracted with that services my address.

Desired Settlement: I would like the air conditioning system to be properly fixed and repaired instead of a temporary fix. The previous home owners had the company come out last year and top of the refrigerant and it is low again after one year. I would like the problem completely repaired instead of a quick fix until the warranty expires and no longer covers the repair of the product.

Business Response:

 

We were contacted by 210HBW to service the air conditioning in ****** ******’s home.  Although we were in the middle of a heat wave, we called him and set up an appointment that day.  We arrived after normal hours, but did not charge overtime.  (210HBW does not pay for overtime, they say that if the customer want emergency service, they have to pay the difference.)

****, our tech, found the unit was low on refrigerant.  When he tried to tell this to the homeowner, the homeowner argued that this wasn’t the problem, because another company told him it was a bad expansion valve.  **** added refrigerant and the unit started cooling down the house.  The homeowner wanted **** to go into the attic and look for leaks.  When he arrived, it was over 100 degrees, which meant it was over 150 degrees in the attic.  We will not subject our techs to dangerous conditions such as this.  He was reassured that if there was any problem, we would return ASAP.

When it was cooler, we returned, leak checked, and found the leak.  The air conditioning was still working at this time.  When Mr. ****** better understood the situation, he apologized and said he would contact the BBB and let them know it was taken care of and rescind his complaint.

I’m sorry for not getting back to you sooner, but I was under the impression that this had been taken care of by Mr. ******.

**** Troianello

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

BBB,

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


****** ******

8/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 6, 2012 I called Thermex and spoke to the office manager. I explained to her that my central air hadn't been working properly (unit was frosting up and was only cooling the house down to about 87 degrees) and that I have a young child and the temperature was about 102 degrees. She asked me if the problem had just started, and I replied yes. Immediately she said that most likely it was a leak. I asked if she could have someone come to my house that same afternoon and take a look at it because a family friend said that it just needed refrigerant, she then explained to me that he would have to run a diagnostics test and that would be $58.00, and that the first lb. of freon was $31.00 and extra lb. started at $27. I called her back and told her I agreed and that as soon as the guy ran the diagnostics test that I wanted to know my balance and exactly what it was because I wanted to make sure it wasn't a leak. She agreed. I called August 7, 2012 and told her that the unit had started frosting up more than what it usually did, she told me to run the unit and that due to the high tempature that unit was working as hard as it could and that's why it had more frost. I took pictures later on that night of what the unit looked like, and called her back on August 8, 2012. I spoke to the office manager like I had been and told her about the pictures and that the coils were freezing up and that the whole unit was full of frost. I had my temperature set at 65 degrees and it was 81 degrees and after being on for an hour the temperature was 80 degrees, I simply was just explaining to her that since the begining the job hadn't been done correctly. I wasn't given a call, they didn't give my sister a receipt explaining the service, and I don't understand why she would say it was probably a leak and not explain that to the guy she sent out. She started raising her voice at me, and so did I simply because not only was the service horrible, but now she was being rude and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I don't think I should pay for any of the bill, and simply go with another company that actually has experience and knows what they're doing. I've called ******** ******* in Terrace Heights and told them about the problem and the rude customer service and they have agreed to help me resolve the problem, and they did it with a positive attitude.

Business Response: I plan on responding, but the office manager had a few days off.  I spoke to her and will provide my responce within a few days.  Thank you for your patience.

Business Response:

On Aug. 6th, we received a call from ******** ******** stating that her air conditioner did not work.  As she states in her complaint, it was 102 degrees.  While other companies were booking into the following week, we arranged to be at her home that afternoon.  *****, the office manager that took the call, explained that we are COD, and ******** said she would leave a check with her sister.

********’s family friend, who, apparently, is an HVAC service tech and must have been too busy to help her, is the one who said it was low on refrigerant.  ***** is a dispatcher, not an HVAC tech.  She was simply stating that if the system was low on refrigerant, there must be a leak.  Finding a refrigerant leak can be one of the hardest and most costly jobs in this business.  If the system is just a little low on refrigerant (less than 2 lbs.) and does not have a history of leaking refrigerant, most customers do not want the expense of looking for a leak.

Our service tech arrived that afternoon, checked the system, and added 1 ½ lbs. of refrigerant.  The sister did not pay the tech when after the service was done, so how could she be given a receipt?  When a customer does not pay upon completion of a service call, we keep their copy of the service report and send it with the invoice.  This serves a double purpose, first, we won’t send someone an invoice that has already paid, and also so they get a copy of the work done when they get the bill.  (Very often their copy of the service report gets lost when it is left at the time of service.)

I take exception to your statement that “the job hadn’t been done correctly”.  First you state that you don’t know what we did, but then you claim that whatever we did, we did wrong?  Then you say you will call another company that “actually has experience”?  The company has been in business over 35 years, our senior tech has over 50 years experience and has taught at Perry Tech.  Please get you facts straight before making slanderous statements, as it tends to diminish your credibility.

We warrantee all of our work, and would have returned if there was a problem.  If there is a call back within 30 days, we do not charge a diagnostic charge no matter what the problem is.  If the problem has to do with the work we did, there is no charge for one year.  If there is a different problem, there would be a charge for that work, but the total would be no more than if all the work had been done on the first visit.  When ***** tried to explain this to you, you became argumentative, at which time you both started raising your voices.  It is against our company policy for an employee to raise their voice to a customer.  ***** was wrong to do this.  Because of the emphasis we place on customer service, we will not be charging you for this service call.

Consumer Response: "This serves a double purpose, first, we won’t send someone an invoice that has already paid, and also so they get a copy of the work done when they get the bill.  (Very often their copy of the service report gets lost when it is left at the time of service.) "- Thermex

Your business should definitely reconsider this, simply because there are responsible people who actually take care of their things, and often times any business sends an invoice even if it has been paid, and at the bottom it says to disregard if the payment has been made.  

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9164646, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards, 


******** ********