BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Thermex Valley Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC

Phone: (509) 426-7726 1916 Fruitvale Blvd, Yakima, WA 98902 http://www.thermexvalleyheating.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers installation and repairs for heaters, air conditioners, water heaters, boilers, and duct sealing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Thermex Valley Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thermex Valley Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Thermex Valley Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 29, 2002 Business started: 01/14/2003 in WA Business started locally: 01/14/2003 Business incorporated: 01/14/2003 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor and Industries WA State
901 N Monroe St Ste 100, Spokane WA 99201
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (509) 324-2600

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark Troianenello, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Troianenello, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Duct & Duct Fittings Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Water Heaters - Parts & Supplies Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial


Additional Locations

  • 1916 Fruitvale Blvd

    Yakima, WA 98902 (509) 426-7726

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 6, 2012 I called Thermex and spoke to the office manager. I explained to her that my central air hadn't been working properly (unit was frosting up and was only cooling the house down to about 87 degrees) and that I have a young child and the temperature was about 102 degrees. She asked me if the problem had just started, and I replied yes. Immediately she said that most likely it was a leak. I asked if she could have someone come to my house that same afternoon and take a look at it because a family friend said that it just needed refrigerant, she then explained to me that he would have to run a diagnostics test and that would be $58.00, and that the first lb. of freon was $31.00 and extra lb. started at $27. I called her back and told her I agreed and that as soon as the guy ran the diagnostics test that I wanted to know my balance and exactly what it was because I wanted to make sure it wasn't a leak. She agreed. I called August 7, 2012 and told her that the unit had started frosting up more than what it usually did, she told me to run the unit and that due to the high tempature that unit was working as hard as it could and that's why it had more frost. I took pictures later on that night of what the unit looked like, and called her back on August 8, 2012. I spoke to the office manager like I had been and told her about the pictures and that the coils were freezing up and that the whole unit was full of frost. I had my temperature set at 65 degrees and it was 81 degrees and after being on for an hour the temperature was 80 degrees, I simply was just explaining to her that since the begining the job hadn't been done correctly. I wasn't given a call, they didn't give my sister a receipt explaining the service, and I don't understand why she would say it was probably a leak and not explain that to the guy she sent out. She started raising her voice at me, and so did I simply because not only was the service horrible, but now she was being rude and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I don't think I should pay for any of the bill, and simply go with another company that actually has experience and knows what they're doing. I've called ******** ******* in Terrace Heights and told them about the problem and the rude customer service and they have agreed to help me resolve the problem, and they did it with a positive attitude.

Business Response: I plan on responding, but the office manager had a few days off.  I spoke to her and will provide my responce within a few days.  Thank you for your patience.

Business Response:

On Aug. 6th, we received a call from ******** ******** stating that her air conditioner did not work.  As she states in her complaint, it was 102 degrees.  While other companies were booking into the following week, we arranged to be at her home that afternoon.  *****, the office manager that took the call, explained that we are COD, and ******** said she would leave a check with her sister.

********’s family friend, who, apparently, is an HVAC service tech and must have been too busy to help her, is the one who said it was low on refrigerant.  ***** is a dispatcher, not an HVAC tech.  She was simply stating that if the system was low on refrigerant, there must be a leak.  Finding a refrigerant leak can be one of the hardest and most costly jobs in this business.  If the system is just a little low on refrigerant (less than 2 lbs.) and does not have a history of leaking refrigerant, most customers do not want the expense of looking for a leak.

Our service tech arrived that afternoon, checked the system, and added 1 ½ lbs. of refrigerant.  The sister did not pay the tech when after the service was done, so how could she be given a receipt?  When a customer does not pay upon completion of a service call, we keep their copy of the service report and send it with the invoice.  This serves a double purpose, first, we won’t send someone an invoice that has already paid, and also so they get a copy of the work done when they get the bill.  (Very often their copy of the service report gets lost when it is left at the time of service.)

I take exception to your statement that “the job hadn’t been done correctly”.  First you state that you don’t know what we did, but then you claim that whatever we did, we did wrong?  Then you say you will call another company that “actually has experience”?  The company has been in business over 35 years, our senior tech has over 50 years experience and has taught at Perry Tech.  Please get you facts straight before making slanderous statements, as it tends to diminish your credibility.

We warrantee all of our work, and would have returned if there was a problem.  If there is a call back within 30 days, we do not charge a diagnostic charge no matter what the problem is.  If the problem has to do with the work we did, there is no charge for one year.  If there is a different problem, there would be a charge for that work, but the total would be no more than if all the work had been done on the first visit.  When ***** tried to explain this to you, you became argumentative, at which time you both started raising your voices.  It is against our company policy for an employee to raise their voice to a customer.  ***** was wrong to do this.  Because of the emphasis we place on customer service, we will not be charging you for this service call.

Consumer Response: "This serves a double purpose, first, we won’t send someone an invoice that has already paid, and also so they get a copy of the work done when they get the bill.  (Very often their copy of the service report gets lost when it is left at the time of service.) "- Thermex

Your business should definitely reconsider this, simply because there are responsible people who actually take care of their things, and often times any business sends an invoice even if it has been paid, and at the bottom it says to disregard if the payment has been made.  

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9164646, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards, 


******** ********




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "the dual start 35 capacitor cost $127.00 dollars I think it should have been around $30 dollars from prices I've see online the service call cost $58.00 I think I should call the better business bureau. Did I get soaked for the capacitor @ $127.00??"he attahed it with a plastic wire tie because it was the wrong size and he couldn't get the metal strap back in place around it.

Desired Settlement: refund or remove it and Ill fix it myself.

Business Response:

On Fri., Jan. 20th, 2012, we responded to a call from **** ****** for service on his inoperative heat pump.  We found the problem to be a bad dual fan and compressor capacitor, and corrected the problem by installing a new one.  Capacitors are rated in MFD, and a capacitor with the same MFD ratings was installed.  The replacement capacitor was physically larger, and did not fit in the same bracket as the original one.  Rather than not securing it, or using tape which can fail, which some companies do, we secured it using plastic ty-raps.  This practice is industry standard.  Mr. ****** was charged a $58.00 diagnostic charge, which includes travel to his home and diagnosing the problem.  He was then charged $127.00 to replace the capacitor, which includes the capacitor, labor to replace it, and labor and materials to adapt the new part, if necessary.  His wife paid these charges with check #****.

 

On Mon., Jan 23rd, he called our office and left a message for me to call him.  After going through my messages Tues. morning, I called him and left a message as he was not available.  He returned my call shortly, and voiced his dissatisfaction with our prices and the fact that we used plastic straps, rather than metal.  He claimed that he could get a capacitor on the internet for $35.00.  I explained to him that you could always find anything cheaper on the internet, that the $127.00 was not for just the part, but installation, modifications, if necessary, warrantee, (if the part goes bad within one year, we will replace it free of charge), and the expense of stocking our truck so the repairs can be made on the spot.  I explained that our prices are an excellent value, and suggested he call other  HVAC companies to verify this.  I also explained that it was industry standard to use plastic tyraps to secure items that are different size or shape than the original.

 

Mr. ****** was still not happy at this point.  In an attempt to resolve the complaint to Mr. ******'s satisfaction, I offered him a choice of three solutions.

1.   We would give him at no charge a maintenance agreement for 1 year.  This is a $140.00 value.

2.   If he was concerned about the plastic straps, we would go to his home and secure the capacitor with metal strapping.

3.   We would remove the capacitor and refund him the $127.00.

 

He said he would talk with his wife and get back to us.  As this was almost 2 weeks ago and we have not heard from him, I can only assume that he did check with other HVAC companies and realized that he did, indeed, receive a good value from us, and no longer has a complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved