BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides Commercial and Residential HVAC and electrical sales, service, contracting and installation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sturm Heating, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sturm Heating, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Sturm Heating, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 1958 Business started: 01/01/1945 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1946 Business incorporated: 05/01/1978 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Department of Labor and Industries WA State
901 N Monroe St Ste 100, Spokane WA 99201
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (509) 324-2600

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff McGee, Service Manager Mr. Shawn Adam, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff McGee, Service Manager
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Induction Heating Equipment Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Electric Heating Elements Electric Heating Equipment - Wholesale & Manufacturers Heating Equipment Geothermal Heating & Cooling Heating & Cooling Demolition Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Hydronic Heating

Products & Services

Sturm Heating, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Lennox, Trane

Sturm Heating, Inc. offers the following product(s): Air Cleaners, Air conditioners, Duct Cleaning, Furnaces, Heat Pumps, Water Heaters

Alternate Business Names
Sturm Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had STURM in to repair our radiator system that was not working properly this past winter; after weeks of back and forth, saying that our radiators needed to be 'bled', which we had already done over and over, they put in a pump, telling us it would solve the problem. They provided us a non-itemized invoice for the work which we paid (over $2300). However, it was quickly apparent that the pump was not working properly; every time we called to complain of the noise and that the system was still not working, we were promised calls back, which didn't happen; this occurred throughout the winter of this year. When they did come back to look at the system, they were suggesting ADDITIONAL work/expense to 'fix' the problem. After over a month of living with a heating system that was not functioning properly (we have the ****** bill to prove it) , we finally sought a 2nd opinion and that person quickly fixed our system, put in a smaller pump and told us the pump that STURM installed was inappropriate for our house (it was a commercial grade pump and too large for our home's radiator system; it was pumping too much water, causing the boiler in the basement to actually leak due to too high a water pressure through the system, which could have in and of itself, caused additional damage). My husband has been trying to work with STURM for them to reimburse us…and has been more than patient waiting to go up chain of command to resolve this; we're asking them to basically buy back the pump; we're willing to 'eat' the labor charges for all this crappy work they did, but want to be reimbursed for the amount they charged us for this pump. They are now, as of today, telling us the pump was $480, which is a flat out lie, as this is a commercial grade pump and according to our service person who did end up fixing the boiler system to our satisfaction, the price to a contractor from the company that makes these pumps is over $700….so not including the mark-up that a company would charge a consumer. This was a commercial grade pump, not residential, it was too large for our system, which is why it was so noisy and why we were complaining that it was not working properly…..and STURM will take no responsibility for their actions. We've had worked and worked to try and resolve this with STURM…... We have found them to have poor customer service, show dishonest business practices, be non-responsive and unknowlegeable about the business they are supposedly in.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a refund for the amount for that commercial pump that THEY CHARGED US and to buy the pump back. Our original invoice for this to be installed was over $2,300; according to the information we've received from another contractor, that pump was over $1200 to us……we will return the pump to them.

Business Response:

We are currently working with Mr. *********** to come to a resolution that we both can accept.  He will be calling me on 6/20/14 btween 9-10 am.

 

Thank You,

 

**** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They came out to fix ******* and were not able to fix. They charged for coming to the home. Called another company and they were able to fix the problem. When I called Sturm and requested to speak with the owner they would only let me speak with a service manager. Who became vey aggressive over the phone and demanded that I tell him how it was fixed. He also said that I would not get my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back since they provided no service and were extremely rude to me.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

 

We were out to Mr. ******* home on Wednesday October 2 to diagnose a problem with his gas *******.  Upon arrival we found wires in the control panel that needed to be repaired.  We repaired the wires and started the ******* up.  We found when the cover to the ******* controls were installed it was shorting to ground.  We told the customer that there was a internal short in the ******* and further diagnosis would be needed to correct the problem. Mr. ****** declined further repair and we quoted him a new *******. I was not rude to Mr. ******.  I asked him what ****** did to fix the problem.  He refused to tell me what they did and that it was none of my business.  I told him that if we made a mistake we stand behind our work and I need to know so I can discuss it with my technician.  He told me ****** **** come out on Friday November fourth and he does not know what they did but they fixed it..  I spoke with ******* in the service department at ******, He stated his technician ****** diagnosed the same problem and also told him further diagnostics would be needed to correct the problem.  Mr. ****** again declined further repair with them as well and was quoted a new *******.  Mr. ****** requested the cover to the controls be left off and he was going to buy a new *******.  I feel we did a correct diagnosis as did ****** and do not owe a refund to Mr. ******. 

 

Thank You,

 

**** *****

Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Who ever needs work on a furnace, I repeat do not call STURM , THEY do not know anything about furnaces!!! So I call sturm up to set up an appointment on a Friday, and I told them what kind of Furnace I had. And I gave them the model number, and I told them I need someone who is familiar with this type of furnace, and the guy on the phone said we will send someone out monday between 8:00 am and 9:00am that knows how to work on these furnaces. And am like ok that sounds great. So im sitting here waiting and waiting and finally noon comes along, and no one shows up, so I call them back up, and they had trouble finding me in there log, so finally they find me, and tried to say," oh, We said we would be there between 8:00am and 9:00 pm". This was a complete lie!!! And then they're like will send someone out immediately, becasue they knew they were wrong. So I said, "ok that sounds great! So finally about five o'clock sturm shows up at my door, I let the guy into my house to check out my furnace, I showed him where my furnace is, and he grabs out his fluke meter puts his two prongs on the wires to the thermostat, told me to go turn on the furnace, so I did , I then go back down stairs, and he tells me I need a new spark plug and flame sensor and if those do not work, I will need a ignition control board. He was not even down there for more than two minutes!!!!!! As slow as he was it took him longer to walk up my stairs!!!! So he went straight to his van wrote me up a bill, came back and said we can fix it for $600! And im like no, I will fix it myself. He said it would cost a lot because it would take 2 hours of labor. SO he charges me $70 for diagnostic fee. I pay him he leaves. As soon as he leaves I go down there pull out the Spark plug and flame sensor, Which only TOOK ME 15 Minutes, not two hours. And the next day I replace them with new. I try my furnace still NO START! So then I went and bought a ignition control board brand new, still no start! He had no clue what was wrong with it!

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the diagnostic fee since it was a false diagnosis. I ended up researching online about how these furnaces work and fixed it myself and the problem wasn't even any of the things that this guy said it would be. Come to find out all I needed was a new purge blower for $40. After spending almost $300 on all these other parts that this guy told me I needed, turns out I didn't need so I am out $300 for nothing. On top of that these parts that I don't need I can't return.

Business Response:

I spoke with Mr. ******* regarding the service he recieved.  Since I have a 100% customer satisfaction policy I refunded him the $70.00 he paid us for the service call.  He said he was satisfied. 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Sturm come out to diagnose my ac system, a minisplit unit from LG. It was discovered that a possible line surge had fried the power supply board,which directs varius voltages to different components of the system. I was told that a new board would need to be located and ordered, followed with another trip by the technicians for install, then I would have a operating ac unit. Price for this trip, 86.00 bucks. I was called later that afternoon and told that a new power supply board had been found, and that the new board with install would run about 220.00. Fine. Four days later my wife recieved a conformation call for installation time as well as price {220.00 or thereabouts} and out the techs came. They showed up on time, installed the new board{107.00},and the ac unit still would not turn on. Their explantion was that the line surge that fried the power supply board probably fried the mother board as well and I would need to replace it too! Total cost for this trip,302.85 for a grand total of 409.85 . I contacted the service maneger at sturm {****}, and asked why the mother board's integrity wasn't checked on the first trip,as my options for doing a repair would have been different. He said that low voltage testers won't enable the many different switches and relays that motherboards typically have. Whatever. I have spent half a paycheck on something to get it fixed, and it's still not working. If I had known that BOTH boards were bad I would have gone down to Costco and picked up a portable unit {or two} and at least had a degree of comfort during all this heat.In the last 40 years we've put men on the moon, orbiters around Jupitor, and taken samples of martian soil,and someone has the tumerity to tell me they can't do a more complete job of diagnoising an ac unit.I feel as though I was manuvered to continualy spend more and more money.

Desired Settlement: I think that sturm could put the power supply board on their profit and loss statement, even pull it from our unit{at their cost of course} if they think they might be able to use it in the future, and send me a new bill that reflects the 107.61 deduction.

Business Response: On July 5, 2012 we went out on a quoted $69.00 + tax Travel and diagnostic charge which the total of the call was $75.00.  We found the power supply in the unit had 230 volt going into it and no voltage coming out.  At this time we could not do any further diagnostic's without power to the system.  On july 6, 2012 after getting price and availability for the power supply *** quoted verbally $107.61 for the part, $12.00 for the shipping and $80.00 per hour with a one hour minimum to install the board.  The autherization was given and we ordered the power supply.  On July 10, 2012 we returned with the power supply and installed it.  After it was installed we were now getting power to the main control board but it was also damaged.  The next step would be to replace the control board and further diagnose the rest of the system.  The customer declined at this point.  I believe we did the correct step to diagnose the system.  I understand the customer is frustrated but i don't see any neglagence on our part and don't believe we should refund the board.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enlisted the services of Sturm Heating to repair the gas furnace at one of my rental properties in Spokane, Wa. Following the initial diagnosis on Friday, 12/16/2011, I spoke with the companies technician, *****. Due to the late hour, ***** was unable to secure the replacement part to complete the repair so he informed me that he would have to return the following day to finish the task. At this time I asked ***** for an estimate given the fact that he had diagnosed the problem and was confident that he had correctly identified the defect. ***** told me that he would call me back once the cost of the part was known.The following day ***** telephoned me at approximately 1130 A.M. and informed me that he located the part was enroute to the location to complete the repair. I asked him for the estimate, again. ***** assured me that once he had the labor and the parts itemized that he would call me back to apprise me of the results; he never contatced me again.I received my copy of the work order from the company around the beginning of 2012 and I was somewhat shocked by the elevated cost for the repair. Suspiciously, the itemization that ***** spoke of was not a reality on the work order; in fact the W.O. disclosed that the diagnostic fee along with the follow-up repair costs were "flat rate." So, conceivably, ***** could have informed me of this standard business practice rather than to lead me on to believe that I would paying for only the time necassary to complete the repair. Additionally, the defective part nor its replacement cost are no where on the W.O. but the notes claim that it was replaced. I was not pleased with the lack of notice from ***** regarding the repair so I contacted the company to levy my grievances. I was directed to a manager, ****, and he couldn't explain his employees conduct but he gauranteed me that he would promptly investigate the matter and inform me of his findings. **** never contacted me again; half of the bill has been paid.

Desired Settlement: It is my desire to illuminate this companies poor communication during this business transaction and to prevent other consumers from assuming that this company is reputable and transparent in their billing practices. So, how about disclosing the cost for the replacement; perhaps, even a part number so at least I know what I purchased and the actual time the technician was at my property.

Business Response:

Hello *****,

 

In regards to the complaint from Mr. ****** ***** was sent out Friday at a flat rate of $69.00 + tax to cover the travel and diagnosis of the furnace.  We then would quote a flat rate for the repair.  According to Mr. l***** my technician failed to give him the flat rate repair price.  The flat rate cost to replace the Hot surface ignitor (Part# 20165703S) is $194.73.  For a total after tax of $266.67.  I did forget to call Mr. l***** back regarding this matter.  He did pay half of the bill $133.33.  I told mr ****** that since I did drop the ball I would accept the $133.33. 

 

**** *****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved