BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

RDI Heating & Cooling

Phone: (208) 762-9857 View Additional Phone Numbers 9443 N Government Way, Hayden, ID 83835 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rdiheating.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that RDI Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for RDI Heating & Cooling include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on RDI Heating & Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 30, 2001 Business started: 09/01/1997 in ID Business started locally: 09/01/1997 Business incorporated: 07/19/2010 in ID
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
http://www.sos.idaho.gov/
Phone Number: 208-334-2300
sosinfo@sos.idaho.gov

Division of Building Safety-ID
1250 Ironwood Drive, Suite 220, Coeur D'Alene ID 83814
http://www2.state.id.us/dbs
Phone Number: (208) 769-1579

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov/
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Oveson, Owner Ms. Conny Brown, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Oveson, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Pipe Fittings Fireplaces Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

Products & Services

RDI Heating & Cooling offers the following product(s): Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Heat Pumps, Fireplaces, Stoves, Inserts, Ductless Heat Pumps, Tankless Hot Water Heaters, Geothermal Comfort Systems, Indoor Air Quality Products, and more....

Alternate Business Names
RDI Total Home Services, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 9443 N Government Way

    Hayden, ID 83835 (208) 762-9857 (509) 624-3904

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 624-3904(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/27/13 I had scheduled my regular furnace maintenance. NoteI have been a twice a year RDI customer since 2006. The tech was to be at my home by noon, however, around 9:30am that day, I received a call from RDI saying that an old couple was without heat and could I re-schedule. FYI, this was the second time I was told this when I had service scheduled. Said sorry cant reschedule as I had taken the day off to accommodate RDIs schedule.When the tech, ****, arrived it was nearly two hours after the scheduled time, but I was ok with that as I knew he would be delayed.Within minutes of his arrival, he came in and showed me a part called a flame rod. Visually showed me where there was some darkening and implied that it should be replaced. When I questioned him, he did hem and haw as to it needing to be replaced, but said it likely would go out when most inconvenient. Okd the replacement, but I was skeptical.During conversation, he also asked did I know ******s? He said that my furnace was equivalent to the ****** ****** and that some of my better off neighbors had already replaced this model of furnace. He said the developers buy these furnaces in bulkimplying not the best quality.I told him I have had service on my furnace, AC, water heater and fireplace done on a regular basis by RDI since 2006 and this is the first time a tech has ever told me this. I couldnt help but feel that his goal was to have me order a new furnace.At the end of the service call, he sat at my dining room table filling out the Service Record. Out of the blue, **** said he used to do appliance repair and that if I ever had any questions on dryers, for example, to give him a call.I was stunned. He was totally unprofessional.The following Monday, I called RDI and spoke with operations manager, **** *******, about my service experience. I told him I was insulted by ****s comments, not impressed by his lack of professionalism and could not believe he was then trying to get my appliance repair business on RDIs time.**** did agree to take off the $79 service charge. I was very pleased. HoweverAfter **** left that day, I noticed that he had left the old flame rod behind. I was suspicious that it really needed to be replaced, so I contacted a friend of mine whose husband works at a similar business and asked if he could take the part into work and have them check it out. On 10/24/13 around 7:51am, I called **** at RDI to let him know that I had had the part looked at by a similar company and was told it did NOT need replacing. **** was very nice and said he would speak with **** and that they always take care of their customers. **** said he would get back to me. Told him this isnt about badmouthing RDI, just letting him know and expressing a concern.Please note, that when the other company looked at the part and concluded it was just fine, their service manager questioned if the company was RDI as RDI is known for doing thisreplacing parts that dont need replacing.After hearing nothing from **** for three days, I called him on 10/29/13. **** was less than friendly. He said I was on his list to call today. One of five people.He said that **** had been out, but that he had talked to the other service techs who agreed the part needed replacing. He also was finally able to speak with ****.**** said **** had measured the parts performance with something that sounded like a magohmeter and it tested weak. He said there was the possibility was that it could go anytime. What I find strange is that, per ****, the only way to know the parts viability was to test it in situ via this magohmeter. So how could the other service techs know its viability having not tested the part in situ or visually seeing the part?**** said he could schedule **** to come and swap the new part with the old part. I told I am him not taking another day off for this and I certainly wouldnt want **** anywhere near my furnace. He said he could send another tech and would accommodate my scheduleany time any day.I told him that it would not be acceptable as the point is that the part never should have been replaced.I told him that red flags were raisedfirst when I called on 10/24 and he didnt ask to see the part. Please note that **** visually showed me the flame rod and the dark mark which he said indicated it needed to be replaced. I would have thought that **** would have wanted to see the part to make a determination of its viability. If a similar business to RDI could see that there was nothing wrong with the part visually, so could have ****.The second red flag was that he hadnt called me back as he said he would. I am sure he was hoping I would go away.When I mentioned again about **** promoting his appliance repair business, **** said that that was ok with him and that if an employee had a special talent, they could promote it. This appliance repair business was just another service RDI offered. Really? Is RDI licensed to do appliance repair (for example dryers) in addition to service and repair of furnaces? I then asked to speak to the owner or manager, **** placed me on hold for a short time when a woman came on the line and said that **** would be with me shortly even though I had asked to speak with the owner or manager.**** got right back on the phone, said that he was the general manager, and stated that he had spoken with the owner and the owner felt the same way **** did. They would swap out the part and then refund my money. **** said that he could show me that the part was going bad once reinstalled by using the magohmeter. I told him as Im not in the HVAC business, I would not be able to determine what they were showing me. Red flag three is that when I asked to speak with the owner or manager, I was not allowed to do so. Before the call was ended he became very sarcastic and said, too bad couldnt give it all to me for free. Red flag four is ****s attitude the deteriorated as the conversation went o

Desired Settlement: I would like my $134 back.

Business Response: Dear *****,

I'm sincerely sorry that you feel you've been taken advantage of.  That is never our intent.  However, we do believe in preventative maintenance and the replacement of failing parts prior to the parts actual failure.  Often times, the best thing for our clients is to change-out a failing part while we are on site performing an annual maintenance or tune-up.  It helps our clients avoid the dreaded 'break-down call'.  Generally, if a part breaks down there is a diagnostic fee and a cost to replace the broken part.  If we perform the preventative replacement of a part prior to its breaking down we save the client the diagnostic fee, and any afterhours fees, etc.   

Originally, I had offered to refund Ms. ********'s money if she would allow us back to get our 'new' part and reinstall the 'old' or 'existing' part.  While that option seems perfectly fair and just to me, it has been deemed unacceptable to Ms. ********. At this point, I will agree to refund Ms. ********'s credit card in the amount of $134 and allow her to keep the 'new' part we paid for and paid the technician to install.  Based on the simple fact that I feel this has gone far enough and if that is the only acceptable resolution to *****...then so be it.

But she will need to phone the office and give us the #'s so we can run do the refund...... as we do not keep any credit card #'s on file.

Just to be clear here: Ms. ******** originally disputed the annual maintenance fee of $79. Which we refunded.  Now she has disputed the charge for a new part in the amount of $134 which she agreed to have us replace.  All said and done, we've spent two hours at her residence giving her a free tune-up and installing a new flame sensor. I've spent at least an hour listening to her side and trying my best to help her, as is evidenced by my waiving the original tune-up charge upon her first call to me.

On a personal note: I am truly sorry that our six plus year relationship has ended in this manner.

Respectfully,

 

 

**** *******

RDI Heating and Cooling

**** ** ***** ***

Hayden, ID 83835

###-###-####

***.**********.***

Experience The RDI Difference!

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I am willing to accept this $134 refund on my credit card.  I will call RDI with my credit card number.

Regards,


***** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unscrupulous sales tactics, Bait and Switch sales tactics.Falsely reported a defect using a saftey issue as a scare tactic to promote a sale.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the money spent on doing the initial maintinence call refunded as there was no maintinence done. They did not fix anything only created an opportunity to sell something.

Business Response:

I have read the complaint and the desired settlement. I will immediately refund the $49.00 charged to the customer. by no means does this imply that I agree with the complaint. I apologize if our responsibility to Protect Life & Property came across as Unscrupulous Sales Tactics. I will error on the side of Safety everyday I am in business. We did offer the *****s a brand new furnace at no charge if our findings were not correct and I have pictures to show that it is. All I ask is to be released of any liability upon acceptance of this check from the piece of equipment that needs to be replaced.

The check will be mailed out today 10-24-13

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I will add however, to the effect that not only has this company compromised my heat exchanger by putting water in it, but the owner has made the statment of showing pictures of my heat exchanger when non were taken. If he has pictures I would love to see them. Acceptance of the $49.00 does not relinquish this company of using unscrupulous sales tactics to make sales.

I am adding the entire story to this letter so that it is documented for any future purposes.

On Sept 26th I received a call from a company called RDI Heating and cooling. They were offering an annual maintenance offer of $49.99 for a furnace checkup and cleaning as well as $69.99 for an air conditioning checkup and cleaning

I played phone tag with this phone sales person for three days until we finally connected. I scheduled a date for our furnace to be gone through and cleaned for the winter on Sept 26th. A technician by the name of ***** ******* arrived at our home and proceeded, to what looked to be, start looking at our furnace. ***** took off the gas coupler and the igniter device and said that this was our problem with the system shutting down prior to turning on and that it would need to be replaced. We agreed and stated that we knew there was something going on with it due to it randomly shutting off before it could fully start. I informed ***** that I had explained that information to the sales person on the phone and they stated that you would be able to fix it and add it to the $49.99 maintenance fee.

The technician, *****, very calm, quite, laid back demeanor, then proceeds to tell us that in order to do a full inspection of the furnace he will need to completely disassemble it, so that he would be able to see the heat exchanger and all of the inside components. We agreed with ***** and allowed him to take the furnace apart to make sure everything was in good order. Once ***** had everything taken apart he had laid it out to the side of him on a towel that stretch about three to four feet long. All the parts lying on the floor seemed to be in good order I did not see any holes or broken items  or anything that would raise concern.

***** proceeded to closely inspect the heat exchanger, explaining that these old clam shell models are notorious for getting tears, holes and cracks in them. As I am watching him inspect this item, I am thinking to myself, I don’t see anything like that and it looks like it is in good shape, for being 23 years old, no holes, no nothing. ***** does not bring attention to any of the other items on the floor. He proceeds to pick up our heat exchanger and take out in my front yard and fills it up with water from our garden hose. I watched the heat exchanger fill up with water and couldn’t seem to find any gaping holes or tears. Water began to leak from the seams where the two clam shell half’s are crimped together as well as very slowly start to leak from the rivets where the two clam’s shells are riveted together. I visually witness these very slow forming water droplets starting to slowly come out of where the rivets are. I think to myself, well ok logically I suppose if metal heats up some gas could escape through this non sealed area but outside of that there is no real problem, no holes or tears or breaks anywhere on the exchanger.

We return inside my house and the tech proceeds to inform me the he is going to have to get his supervisor to look at the heat exchanger because it is leaking from around the four or five rivet holes.

My children and wife are preparing to eat dinner when *****’s supervisor arrives, (very quickly for that matter) within ten minutes. He enters our home and proceeds to say how he can see that a lot of water has been lost out of the heat exchanger.

*****’s supervisor’s name is **** ******. **** proceeds to state that our furnace is dangerous and by law they cannot turn this furnace back on. **** also states that this furnace is unsafe and that I am are putting my family’s life at risk. He states that code 108.1 states that they are not allowed to turn the furnace on if it is a hazardous situation. **** then begins to apologize and he is sorry and he knows that this is never a good time but our furnace needs to be replaced. I informed **** that I told his phone rep as well as his technician that we were not ready to buy a furnace and that we need to plan for a purchase like this and now I will tell you ( I said to ****), we do not want to buy a furnace there is nothing wrong with ours it has ran fine, less the limit switch issue, for years. **** apologizes again and states that he understands and knows it is never a good time, however he is more than happy to write us up a quote and they do offer financing for the purchase of a new furnace.

At this point I am absolutely in awe as well as furious. I tell john he needs to put my furnace back together the way it was and yes I will look at his quote. **** writes us up a quote for two furnaces. 1. An 80% efficiency furnace. The  same thing that we currently have but new model for $1800 and 1 year labor warranty and 10 years parts warranty and 20yrs on the heat exchanger. The other quote was for $3445 for a 95% efficiency model with the same support. **** apologizes once again and leaves our home. The technician ***** is left behind to put the furnace back together with my wife and I standing there watching him, feeling angry, upset, mad and in shock. When ***** finished putting the furnace back together I confirmed that is was back to its original state and that we could use it if there was for example an ice age tomorrow and he stated that he was sorry but he was not able to turn it on and that it is against the law and that I should not tell him that I want to run it in case of an ice age.

The next morning I went to work thinking all day, about how these people just came into my house and tore my furnace apart and told me I need to buy a furnace when all along I knew there was nothing wrong with it in the first place less the intermittent limit switch. One of my coworkers recommended I call ****** and have them come out and take a look at it. So I did jus that. I called ****** and set up an appointment to have them come out and give a price on the furnace(because by “Law” mine is broken and has to be replaced). A gentleman by the name of **** ******** with ****** ***** ***** *** ******* arrived at my home and looked at the furnace and took a couple of pictures and verbally went over the different options I have with furnaces. I explained our situation and the experience we just went through with RDI and he was very apologetic and felt sorry for us and that we should not have had to go through that and that it is one of their sales tactics. **** also told me that I had the right to call ****** and have them come out and check out our furnace to see if it was truly broken and dangerous. I ran through all the options with **** in regards to a new furnace and we selected two that would be potentials. He stated he would write up some bids and email them to me and that there was no rush.

The next day I called ****** and had them come out to the house. An older fellow by the name of *** came to our home from ****** and used his CO2 meter and poked the wand in the register, down under the home where the ducting is and in the furnace itself, all of this with it running and had been running. I was completely shocked to have him tell me that his meter read 0 in all instances and that when he did an ambient room check his meter read 0-1, but stated that was due to us using our oven an hour prior to his arrival, (Chicken Pot Pies…yummy). *** also proceeded to tell us that RDI should not have done what they did and if there was a dangerous situation that they should have tagged our furnace with a Haz mat tag and notified ******. ****** then would have to come out and test the furnace immediately and deem the furnace to be safe or not safe. *** also informed my wife and me that we were the third house this week that he had visited to test because of this company. In one instance he stated that we should feel lucky , because they actually put our furnace back together and that they had left some little ole ladies furnace all torn apart. I cringed when I heard this and thought how horrible is this. This should be illegal and these companies need to be held accountable. I feel this is a false scare tactic that is inducing customers to purchase a furnace. This is also called a bait and switch sales tactic using their $49.99 furnace maintenance plan as the bait. *** recommended that we get at least three bids for a furnace and to make sure they itemize every item that is being installed or changed out.

This is my experience with this company and I hope anyone that reads this will have enough foresight to avoid this company and save themselves the pain and anguish of having to deal with the sales tactics that are being used these days.

Regards,

***** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RDI came to my home on 6/26/13 for a routine air conditioning inspection. As you may remember we have had many hot days before this date and the a/c worked just fine. This was a Wednesday and we were expecting temps of 90+ over the weekend. The technician looked over the a/c and turned it on. He came in and told me that the compressor in my a/c was going bad. He said it could last 2hrs or two years, but that it was on its last legs. Since our compressor was apparently outlawed in 2010 it had to be replaced rather than repaired at cost of approx. $2500 to change out or approx. $3000 to get a whole new a/c. He said he wanted to have his supervisor come out to talk with me. While waiting for the supervisor the technician was looking at the furnace and came up and said there was a crack in it and that there was also something wrong with a fan motor would also needed to be replaced. The supervisor showed up and went and looked at both, he concurred with the technician that the a/c needed to be replaced and then also told me that the furnace needed to be replaced as well, that it wouldnt make it through another winter. He verbally quoted me some prices and let me know that with the weather going to be as hot as it was they were going to book up fast and if we decided to have a new a/c installed we should get on the schedule asap. He left me with a credit application to finance the work and for me to discuss the options with my husband.My husband and I discussed it that evening and he was skeptical because the furnace is only 12 years old and the a/c was only 9 years old and both have worked flawlessly. We decided we would get a second opinion before proceeding. Two days later the temperature started rising significantly and I turned the air on. Miraculously the a/c would not turn on. Granted the technician warned that it could work for 2 hrs or 2 years, but I thought it was a little too coincidental. Luckily we were able to get another company out that afternoon. This technician went out to the a/c and did something to turn it on from the outside. He said, youre a/c is working like a champion. He did some further looking and found that a switch had been turned off and that was why I was not able to control the a/c from inside the house. He turned it on and I have had no issues since. He inspected the a/c and said he found nothing that would make him think it needed to be replaced any time soon. It cost me $69 to have the a/c turned off and to be scared to death of a large bill looming and $85 to have a/c and peace of mind restored.I have read previous complaints and they are eerily similar. Im sure the owner will respond to this complaint as he has the others saying that RDI is based on honesty and integrity and that they have this replace the furnace for free offer. The thing is, the equipment we are talking about is important to living and when faced with freezing/or melting and when time is of the essence, people are more likely to trust the experts and go ahead with the work they are told they need rather than getting a second opinion. And if the second opinion happens to be that the work is not needed after all, what good is the guarantee? Why would anyone trust a company who has misdiagnosed a problem to come in and install new equipment?Now, in all fairness the switch that was turned off may have been accidentally left off. The only problem with that is, if I had called RDI again on the 28th and told them my a/c wasnt working, based on the information they gave me on the 26th, I speculate they would have said ok, so do you want us to replace the compressor or put in a new a/c. Not, let us come see if we left a switch turned off.

Desired Settlement: I truly don't expect a resolution, but it would be nice to have the inspection fee refunded. Even if RDI wants to stand by their findings regarding my a/c, they still left a switch turned off that disabled my a/c and I had to have someone come find and fix the issue.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the complaint and the existing service records. The customer is absolutely correct about the charges needing to be returned. My apologies for leaving the switch off. I will have a check sent out this week.

I am at a loss for how to respond to the other feelings we left with the Nichols. But please know that it was not our intention to cause stress or anxiety for you and again I apologize if we did that. We get caught in the middle of situation that go either way. An example would be repairing a system that may have future problems and not offering replacement options. I do not want to make excuses I just want to do what I can to make it right with the customer. I read through out previous years of Furnace & A/C Maintenance we have performed at your Home and wish we were not losing you as a Customer. Please contact me directly if there is anything I can do to restore your trust in RDI Heating & Cooling.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday or Friday, Jan 3 or 4 2013, a woman from RDI Heating called our home stating RDI was expanding into the Spokane area and asked if we were interested in a $50.00 furnace maintance service. We agreed and Monday, Jan. 7th between 12 and 2pm was arranged. The service tech arrived on time and commenced his inspection. Within 10 minutes of his inspection, he stated he found cracks in the heat exchanger and said he needed to call his supervisor, **** *******, to come to our home with video diagnostic equipment. Mr. ******* arrived 45 minutes later and used his small video to show where the tech's reported cracks were located. My wife and I are totally naive to the workings of a gas furnace and she could only see a blurry picture of the purported cracks/dimples and couldn't understand the import of these "cracks". Mr. ******* then said that he would be shutting down the furnace, we could not use it any longer (the temp. outside was 28 degrees that day) and it was imperative that the furnace be replace or repaired immediately, the next day if possible - we could die if we didn't. He also stated he considered our home a "no heat home" and that if Avista were here they would disable our furnace. Mr. ******* scared my wife immensely and we reacted to his statement and thought we had better use RDI services to repair or replace the furnace. On Tuesday, Jan 8th, an employee of RDI called us to "just see how you're doing" and she stated this twice. Our impression: Still alive?? After a days reflection, we got a second opinion/estimate from another company. Their report was the opposite of RDI in that the furnace needed replacing, a very small hairline crack was detected, but not the very next day and we were not going to die. After we received a 2nd opinion, we were able to compare prices and save appx. $1500. When we cancelled our furnace install with RDI, they informed us we would be liable for the metal work/labor they had already begun. At no time did we sign a contract with RDI.

Desired Settlement: We do not feel we are liable for the metal/labor begun by RDI. We did not sign a contract and we feel they mislead us from the beginning on what was needed to be done with our furnace.

Business Response:

Dear ******...I have recieved the complaint and was not surprised to hear about it after the chain of events leading to today. As always RDI Heating will do what needs to be done for complete Customer Satisfaction.

We were out at their home and after starting the Furnace Maintenace our Service Technician ***** ***** noted a breach in the heat exchanger behind the limit switch. After detecting the breach he went further and pulled the blower to find additional 2 visible cracks.

RDI's policy and the International Fuel Gas Code section 108.2 & 108.7 including Appendix D, which states the violation(crack or unsafe condition) must be discontinued. After **** ******* inspection with HVAC Inspection Scope the 3 cracks were verified and reported to the customer with pictures taken and shown to the owner and put into our files. Mrs. ********* was very upset and phoned her husband who **** spoke with and explained the option of price for repair and a price to replace. We left the estimate at the home with Mrs ********* and shut the furnace down. We offered to supply temporay heaters while they made their decision but we were informed by Mrs. ********* that they planned on turning the furnace back on after we left. At that point we left. Shortly after ***** ********* called **** ******* and discussed his options and also asked how much to add a Hot Water Tank at the same time we were installing a furnace, we gave him the price and a within an hour later he called **** back and told us to go ahead with the installation of both the furnace & HWT. This was monday evening and we offered to install on Wednesday 9th but they wanted to wait until Thursday which we did. We pulled all the proper permits, ordered all equipment and made all the Base Cans & Transition"s neeeded to customized their special installation. All of this was completed on Tuesday and ready for installation.  On wednsday at apprx 3:45 PM ***** called to cancel and accused us of Car salesman tactics & Fraudulent Diagnoisis to cause fear. At that point **** reminded ***** that if for any reason we were incorrect in our diagnosis we would install a new Furnace at no cost to him. That was also  in writing on the proposal that **** left.

I have no problem with absorbing  all the cost RDI has incurred to this point. And I offer my sincere apologies to the *********'s for any discomfort this has caused.

I do need to be very clear on one point and that is as the Owner of RDI Heating & Cooling I rely on the Honest, Trained & Skilled representatives of the Company. That is how I am able to offer the Guarantee's for free furnaces if we are wrong. 

Please let me know if any further information is required to settle this matter and once again I offer my Apologies.

There will be no additional charges to the *********s for any Permits, Metal or Labor.

 

*** ******  

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9371147, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,


******** *********




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/6/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted in early April, 2012 by RDI Heating & Cooling with the offer of a promotional price for a one-time maintenance/servicing of my furnace. Two gentleman came to my home on 4/16/2012 to perform this service. One of the techs told me that he could see an irregularity on the heat exchanger but couldn't see it well enough to identify exactly what he was seeing. So he called the boss to come over with the scope to indentify the irregularity. The third person came to the house and after going into the crawl space told me that there was a crack in my heat exchanger. He showed me a picture of the crack that had been sent by the scope to a hand-held device. I had no way of knowing other than what he told me if the picture was actually of my furnace's heat exchanger. I am in a wheelchair and since the furnace is in the crawl space I did not observe what took place at the furnace. He told me they were required by law to disable the furnace since it was a hazard. I asked if it could be repaired and was told that I needed a new furnace. He verbally gave me the prices of two furnaces. Naturally, I was caught totally by surprise and was not prepared to make a decision at that moment. They left and that's the last I heard from them. On 4/19/2012 the furnace was scoped by another company and they said there was not a crack in the heat exchanger. Due to the furnace's age, I decided to go ahead and have it replaced. The new furnace was installed on 5/18/2012. The installer and I examined the heat exchanger in the light of day while the old furnace was sitting in the driveway. We did not see a crack. My wife and I were without heat for over a month because they shutdown our furnace and funds were not immediately available to purchase a replacement.

Desired Settlement: I don't want anything from RDI. I just want it in the record that they apparently fabricated the crack in my heat exchanger, left me and my wife without heat, and caused us unnecessary stress, worry, and discomfort.

Business Response:

 

Dear *****,

I am the Owner of RDI Heating & Cooling and I am responding to the case 9047372 regarding Selling Practices. We have held a Company meeting regarding this Customer and everything that has happened up to this point. We went out to his Home on April 16th, 2012 between 12-2 on our Service Schedule. Andrew Froese our Service Manager & an Intern from the Inland Empire Northwest HVAC Association were the 2 that showed up. We are mentors for the Industry and work closely with Training Facilities and always have at least 1 or 2 Interns working with us. I am in agreement with Mr. ********'s Statement in part and will discuss at the end of my statement. I have enclosed the pictures taken and can further discuss the dangers of operation in that condition. But I do not feel that is the issue here.  I can address the statement that he had no idea whether that was his furnace or not and the statement that we fabricated the crack to sell him a new furnace. That is absolutely not the case. We would not be in Business if we did that nor do we need to do anything like that in an to attempt to stay in business. I have a list of Elderly and  Disabled Customers that we have paid for their Furnace Repairs & Replacements. The cost this year alone is over $15,000.00 that we have given to hardship cases in our area. I understand that this has nothing to do with Mr. ********s Statement nor does it show what went on at his home, but I hope you are able to see the Core Values and Mission of our Company. We have been named by our Customers as the Heating Company with a Heart!!! I can not tell you how many times I have been told or someone in our Company has had a Customer say "God Bless You". I would never bring that up if our Ethics and Reputation were not being attached. The  pleasure of a statement like that is hearing it said to you and knowing that the customer truely wants that for you.

We take our job very very seriously and each and everyday we are in a position to cause harm or save someones life. If I am every wrong in this decision it will always be towards safety of Life & Property. I have License's to protect...Insurance's to keep and above all I need to be able to live with the consequences of the work I perform everyday. This Passion is shared with Our Service Technicians at every Service Meeting on Monday Morning. Over my career in the Heating Business I have been involved in a few Carbon Monoxide Incidents. I will say 1 is TOO MANY! But at these Incident Investigation you will have the Personal Injury Attorney's of the Victim or family if deceased, The Attorney's for the Defendants (and everyone is named, when something like this happens) Attorney's for Avista, And the Head's of any Building Department who has Jurisdication for that area. They are all there for one reason and one reason only and that is to find blame for anyone who has worked on that Home or Business over the past 3-4 years. Winning a case like this or just being dismissed from liability takes up to 2 years and comes at a very high price of time, money and emotional turmoil. Thank You for listening to me about my Industry and my hopes are you consider this when you hear or have to deal with complaints.

Now as far our side of the story with Mr. ********. We found what was a crack in his heat exchanger and also a large seperation in the plenum which adds additional reason for concern. As Mr ******** mentioned with the age of the furnace it was not worth repairing. We are required by law to disable a "Dangerous Condition" upon discovery and I am able to provide code to back that up at your request. Mr. ******** states that we verbally gave him the price...which we did and also wrote it on his signed copy of the work order I have in front of me. He informed us that he needed to talk with his wife and would get back to us. We never heard from him. So I hope that speaks for our no pressure sales techniques. We left it in his hands and never heard from him again. Our policy is "We will replace your furnace for FREE if we misdiagnose a Breach in the safety" So as you can see it really is not much benifit for me to be wrong or state that something is other than it is. We know people will get other bids and use othe Contractors and that is fine with us. We will not call back constantly to see if they have made a decision...so we do not apply pressure period. Our hopes are to get the work but Safety to Life & Property is our #1 concern. 

All of our Service Technicians are highly trained and take part of all the Continueing Education we can. We are referred by Avista on many jobs, do the building maintenance for Kootenai Electric Facility. Work for many of the Building Officials and their staff and are recommended to their friends & family when they need HVAC work. I have personally been told by the Permit Techs at the County that most Companies do not pull permits. How wrong is that!!

I am also faxing you a copy of his signer Service Record that shows the price of the new furnace.

Please contact me with any further information needed on this matter.

*** ******

RDI Heating & Cooling                       

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Adminstratively Resolved]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9047372, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

 

   ***  ********

 

 

Business Response: From: *** ****** [mailto:***@rdiheating.com]
Sent: Wednesday, June 06, 2012 10:01 AM
To: ***** *******
Subject: Case #9047372Dear *****,I have read and understand Mr. ********’s reply to my response to his initial complaint. After reading it for the second time and processing all that has happened my feelings are much different today. And my hopes are that Mr. ******** will accept my sincere apology and further know that we have implemented certain procedures into our Company Policy so these types of things won’t happen again. I further understand that this may have little to no resolution to his complaint and will offer my personal cell phone  number to him if he would like to call and discuss anything about this…what changes have been made here or just to tell me how he feels about me. I can be reached at ###-###-####. I would like to explain & apologize why my initial response was written. No Excuses…just how I felt and why I responded like I did. I really should have looked beyond the accusation and found my part in what was happening and addressed that. Instead I took offense to the statement that we “apparently fabricated the crack in my heat exchanger”. I felt that my Integrity, Honesty and Commitment to Our Local Community was being attached and I defended myself and Our Company. I am sorry that my statement came across as self-aggrandizing and uncertain how to answer that but please know that I don’t go around telling potential customers of all the good things we do.. I just felt it was appropriate in this case to help explain who we are and what we believe in. It appears I could not have been more wrong and I understand now that Mr. ********  is looking at the other side of the coin and had a complete different view of what I was trying to say. Mr. ******** has my word that We will do the only thing he wants from “RDI is to be honest, ethical, and fair when dealing with consumers”.  I have had my finger on everything that happens at RDI over the years….due to how Mr. ******** feels he was treated by RDI he has my personal guarantee that I will have my hand on how our customers feel they are treated from this point forward.Again …My Sincere Apology To You And How You Felt When Dealing With Us And I Am So Sorry That It Happened. Please call if you feel the need.*** ******RDI Heating and Cooling**** ** ********** ********** ** *****###-###-####www.rdiheating.com   Experience The RDI Difference!

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9047372, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I appreciate that Mr. ****** is making adjustments at RDI to ensure that another customer does experience what I did.  While I respect his offer to discuss the changes with me, I do not presume that I'm entitled to be part of the discussion.  It is his company and I take Mr. ****** at his word that he wants to avoid something like this happening again.It would not be honest of me to now say that I'm no longer upset with RDI.  The facts of what happened have not changed.  There were many cold nights and mornings that we were without heat.  Unfortunately, being disabled and on a fixed income, and even with my wife working, we did not have the funds immediately available to purchase a new furnace.  The old furnace was disabled on 4/16/2012 and the new one was not installed until 5/18/2012.  However, I am pleased that Mr. ****** is actively pursuing changes so that there is not a repeat occurence of my situation.

He's doing what I asked to be done; therefore, his actions are a satisfactory resolution to my complaint.

Regards,

 

*** ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/22/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1