Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

RDI Heating & Cooling

Phone: (208) 762-9857 View Additional Phone Numbers 9443 N Government Way, Hayden, ID 83835

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that RDI Heating & Cooling meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on RDI Heating & Cooling
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 30, 2001 Business started: 09/01/1997 in ID Business started locally: 09/01/1997 Business incorporated 07/19/2010 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
Phone Number: 208-334-2300

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW , Olympia WA 98501
Phone Number: 800-647-0982

Washington Secretary of State
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Idaho Division of Building Safety
1090 E Watertower St., Meridian ID 83642
Phone Number: (208) 334-3950

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Ken Oveson, Owner Ms. Conny Brown, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Oveson, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Pipe Fittings Fireplaces Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Alternate Business Names
RDI Total Home Services, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

RDI Heating & Cooling has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 9443 N Government Way

    Hayden, ID 83835 (509) 624-3904 (208) 762-9857


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: RDI was called to our house to inspect heater Steve was the technician. said that he found a hairline fracture in the heater. My Son who is also a heat and air conditioning Tech in Cal was here, and said that he did call Steve on the hair line fracture in the heat exchange. There is no hairline fracture and we have the heater out and he would not come back here to show us were the fracture is. He said I stand by what I said and that is that. We did not have to change out the heater. We had bought and installed a new one but when we pulled it out there was nothing wrong with it. We paid him 59.00 and I have the receipt of what he put down and we have the heater. He lied to us he wanted to put in new one and charge us 2,100.00 for a new one.

Desired Settlement: We would like refund of the 59.00 and payment for new one 528.00 and for my son putting in the new one of 500.00.

Business Response: We showed you and your son where the hairline crack was. When the customer called initially he said that he would be having another qualified heating company come and give a second opinion. We said that if another company did not see the crack we would refund the $59.00 maintenance charge. The customer was given the opportunity for us to come back and pull there heat exchanger to show them again where the crack was. The customer refused, and did not get another qualified contractor to give a second opinion. We also have pictures of the heat exchanger. We will gladly refund the $59.00 but we will not cover the cost of an non licensed contractor to do any repairs. 

2/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had RDI come out to our house th check our fire place. They said that they could put in an electric one to replace the gas. It would look very good. We put a deposit down and waited. The service guy. Their service guy came out and came into our house and said that this electric fire place was designed to go into a mason built fire place and not into what we have. I really really applaud his honesty!!!! He also said it would not look that great So we said no never mind just send it back as that is not what we were told by the person who came to look and measure said. Now we are told that we have to pay a restocking fee!!! They need to pay us for all our wasted time. They can pay that restocking fee we did not make the mistake!!! They did!!!! I will also get ahold of my credit card company and dispute the original charge. Thus is very very dishonest proceedure just to make a sale!!! Shame on you!!!

Desired Settlement: Refund total. Make us whole again. Your error not ours

Business Response:

customer has been refunded full amount. Do not agree with complaint...but understand their position and will give full refund

let me know if further action is required

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


****** ******

11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent the statement below to RDI via email contact form on their website 2 separate times approximately a week apart before coming to the BBB. It is now coming up on a week since my 2nd attempt to contact RDI with no response. My name is ****** ******, My family and I have been a client of RDI for several years having had relatively good experiences with your service technicians. Early this month, our air conditioner went out so I promptly called RDI for a service appointment on it as well as for our furnace. I was expecting a bill for $69 for each unit. A technician named ***** came out on August 6th while my husband was at work. He spent a short time looking around the AC unit, and replaced our air filter. After a short time he told me that our A/C unit needed to be replaced due to a possible leak. He quickly called the sales rep from your office to come out. Once the sales person came out, I was informed that it would cost us approximately $3,000. He then gave me an invoice for $158, (apparently for a diagnostic fee and a tune up) which was much more than we were expecting as we were expecting to pay only for the so called “tune up”. This was disheartening, but I paid. We decided to get a second opinion on *****’s diagnosis. An independent HVAC contractor came out to service and diagnose the problem. He actually took the time to look at all the possible problems. He informed us that the service tech from RDI had not done anything in our system except for changing the air filter. He was quite confused as to what was actually done by your technician. The furnace itself was filthy and there were areas around the control panel that were leaking air, which as you know leads to inefficient workings of the system. This was upsetting to hear. As you can imagine, at this point I am quite angry with your company and am wondering what did I actually pay for? A filter change… I can do that myself! What was further upsetting was that he diagnosed the problem entirely differently than *****. It turns out that the problem was that the control panel was malfunctioning. He ordered the new control panel, and a few days later, he came back to replace the part. The new part immediately corrected the problem. The AC unit kicked back on, and our home is once again comfortable. My husband and I now realize that I have been taken advantage of by RDI. A company that I thought I could trust to help me in my time of need has become a company that I cannot trust nor will they ever be someone who I recommend! The RDI tech simply wanted to sell a new AC unit. We presume that new units bring more money than honest service. We are disappointed and surprised that this came from RDI since we have always had good experiences with your company. Your company has lost any future business from me and any of our friends. To rectify this, the least you could do would be to return our $158, minus the $5 that it cost for the new air filter, since that is all that was really done for us!

Desired Settlement: Refund and no further contact .

Business Response: I am looking into this. The Technician was ****. We do not have a technician named *****. His diagnostic report has readings on amp draws etc. for nearly all components so I do believe he did more than just change a filter. Regardless, it appears as if the problem was misdiagnosed which would warrant a refund for the diagnostic. The cause that he suspected would have been very costly and that is why we make it company policy to give the customer all of their options including replacement so that they can make an informed decision as to if they would like to repair or not. I am looking into the matter further to find out why he came to a misdiagnosis of your system so that we can make sure it doesn't happen again. I apologize for this happening to you. **** is one of our best techs and almost never makes a mistake. If you will allow me the time to talk to him and try to prevent any future mistake I will make sure that you are refunded. I understand how you feel but I hope you can believe that **** is not the type to "manufacture" a problem. He does his best to correctly diagnose problems and was trying to give you all of your options so that a fully informed decision could me made in your best interest. I am confident that he had the best intentions but made a mistake on the diagnosis. Again, I am very sorry for the bad experience and you can expect a full refund shortly.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business' response. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


***** ******

Consumer Response:


My name is ****** ******.  I have and open complaint against RDI heating and cooling in Hayden Idaho through the BBB.  The reference ID is ********.  The matter is marked as closed with BBB, however I wanted to inform you that the business has not yet refunded the fee as they indicated they would do in their communication with us.  Is it possible for the BBB to reach out to the business manager and remind him that he has not yet settled the matter?


****** ****** 

Business Response: The refund has been issued and everything should be resolved.

Consumer Response:

I apologize for the delay in responding to your email...please know that we are satisfied with the response from RDI and thank you for your help in this matter.

***** ******

7/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: RDI called me and offered a furnace preventive checkup for winter. they came and did that service and said that everything was ok, Then when I turned furnace on it would turn on. They sent another man out & he said the control board was not communicating with the starter and that I needed a new control board at a cost of $400.00. I paid it but I think if their was something wrong they should have said some thing on the original visit. I think that this was just a way to charge me for something that was was not broken to begin with. The furnace was working perfectly before ther man came originally.

Desired Settlement: I don't know what is usually done in a case like this but something should be done. NOTHING was wrong before they messed with it.

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/27/13 I had scheduled my regular furnace maintenance. NoteI have been a twice a year RDI customer since 2006. The tech was to be at my home by noon, however, around 9:30am that day, I received a call from RDI saying that an old couple was without heat and could I re-schedule. FYI, this was the second time I was told this when I had service scheduled. Said sorry cant reschedule as I had taken the day off to accommodate RDIs schedule.When the tech, ****, arrived it was nearly two hours after the scheduled time, but I was ok with that as I knew he would be delayed.Within minutes of his arrival, he came in and showed me a part called a flame rod. Visually showed me where there was some darkening and implied that it should be replaced. When I questioned him, he did hem and haw as to it needing to be replaced, but said it likely would go out when most inconvenient. Okd the replacement, but I was skeptical.During conversation, he also asked did I know ******s? He said that my furnace was equivalent to the ****** ****** and that some of my better off neighbors had already replaced this model of furnace. He said the developers buy these furnaces in bulkimplying not the best quality.I told him I have had service on my furnace, AC, water heater and fireplace done on a regular basis by RDI since 2006 and this is the first time a tech has ever told me this. I couldnt help but feel that his goal was to have me order a new furnace.At the end of the service call, he sat at my dining room table filling out the Service Record. Out of the blue, **** said he used to do appliance repair and that if I ever had any questions on dryers, for example, to give him a call.I was stunned. He was totally unprofessional.The following Monday, I called RDI and spoke with operations manager, **** *******, about my service experience. I told him I was insulted by ****s comments, not impressed by his lack of professionalism and could not believe he was then trying to get my appliance repair business on RDIs time.**** did agree to take off the $79 service charge. I was very pleased. HoweverAfter **** left that day, I noticed that he had left the old flame rod behind. I was suspicious that it really needed to be replaced, so I contacted a friend of mine whose husband works at a similar business and asked if he could take the part into work and have them check it out. On 10/24/13 around 7:51am, I called **** at RDI to let him know that I had had the part looked at by a similar company and was told it did NOT need replacing. **** was very nice and said he would speak with **** and that they always take care of their customers. **** said he would get back to me. Told him this isnt about badmouthing RDI, just letting him know and expressing a concern.Please note, that when the other company looked at the part and concluded it was just fine, their service manager questioned if the company was RDI as RDI is known for doing thisreplacing parts that dont need replacing.After hearing nothing from **** for three days, I called him on 10/29/13. **** was less than friendly. He said I was on his list to call today. One of five people.He said that **** had been out, but that he had talked to the other service techs who agreed the part needed replacing. He also was finally able to speak with ****.**** said **** had measured the parts performance with something that sounded like a magohmeter and it tested weak. He said there was the possibility was that it could go anytime. What I find strange is that, per ****, the only way to know the parts viability was to test it in situ via this magohmeter. So how could the other service techs know its viability having not tested the part in situ or visually seeing the part?**** said he could schedule **** to come and swap the new part with the old part. I told I am him not taking another day off for this and I certainly wouldnt want **** anywhere near my furnace. He said he could send another tech and would accommodate my scheduleany time any day.I told him that it would not be acceptable as the point is that the part never should have been replaced.I told him that red flags were raisedfirst when I called on 10/24 and he didnt ask to see the part. Please note that **** visually showed me the flame rod and the dark mark which he said indicated it needed to be replaced. I would have thought that **** would have wanted to see the part to make a determination of its viability. If a similar business to RDI could see that there was nothing wrong with the part visually, so could have ****.The second red flag was that he hadnt called me back as he said he would. I am sure he was hoping I would go away.When I mentioned again about **** promoting his appliance repair business, **** said that that was ok with him and that if an employee had a special talent, they could promote it. This appliance repair business was just another service RDI offered. Really? Is RDI licensed to do appliance repair (for example dryers) in addition to service and repair of furnaces? I then asked to speak to the owner or manager, **** placed me on hold for a short time when a woman came on the line and said that **** would be with me shortly even though I had asked to speak with the owner or manager.**** got right back on the phone, said that he was the general manager, and stated that he had spoken with the owner and the owner felt the same way **** did. They would swap out the part and then refund my money. **** said that he could show me that the part was going bad once reinstalled by using the magohmeter. I told him as Im not in the HVAC business, I would not be able to determine what they were showing me. Red flag three is that when I asked to speak with the owner or manager, I was not allowed to do so. Before the call was ended he became very sarcastic and said, too bad couldnt give it all to me for free. Red flag four is ****s attitude the deteriorated as the conversation went o

Desired Settlement: I would like my $134 back.

Business Response: Dear *****,

I'm sincerely sorry that you feel you've been taken advantage of.  That is never our intent.  However, we do believe in preventative maintenance and the replacement of failing parts prior to the parts actual failure.  Often times, the best thing for our clients is to change-out a failing part while we are on site performing an annual maintenance or tune-up.  It helps our clients avoid the dreaded 'break-down call'.  Generally, if a part breaks down there is a diagnostic fee and a cost to replace the broken part.  If we perform the preventative replacement of a part prior to its breaking down we save the client the diagnostic fee, and any afterhours fees, etc.   

Originally, I had offered to refund Ms. ********'s money if she would allow us back to get our 'new' part and reinstall the 'old' or 'existing' part.  While that option seems perfectly fair and just to me, it has been deemed unacceptable to Ms. ********. At this point, I will agree to refund Ms. ********'s credit card in the amount of $134 and allow her to keep the 'new' part we paid for and paid the technician to install.  Based on the simple fact that I feel this has gone far enough and if that is the only acceptable resolution to *****...then so be it.

But she will need to phone the office and give us the #'s so we can run do the refund...... as we do not keep any credit card #'s on file.

Just to be clear here: Ms. ******** originally disputed the annual maintenance fee of $79. Which we refunded.  Now she has disputed the charge for a new part in the amount of $134 which she agreed to have us replace.  All said and done, we've spent two hours at her residence giving her a free tune-up and installing a new flame sensor. I've spent at least an hour listening to her side and trying my best to help her, as is evidenced by my waiving the original tune-up charge upon her first call to me.

On a personal note: I am truly sorry that our six plus year relationship has ended in this manner.




**** *******

RDI Heating and Cooling

**** ** ***** ***

Hayden, ID 83835



Experience The RDI Difference!


Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

I am willing to accept this $134 refund on my credit card.  I will call RDI with my credit card number.


***** ********

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on RDI Heating & Cooling
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart