Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

K T U of Spokane, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (509) 467-4000 Fax: (509) 467-4005 88 E Westview Ave, Spokane, WA 99218 http://www.ktuofspokane.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that K T U of Spokane, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for K T U of Spokane, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on K T U of Spokane, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 05/01/1985 in WA Business started locally: 05/01/1985 Business incorporated 08/28/2006 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Davidson, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Johanna Smith, Office Mgr
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Roof Cooling Systems Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Furnace Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
KTU of Spokane, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

K T U of Spokane, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 88 E Westview Ave

    Spokane, WA 99218 (509) 467-4000

  • PO Box 28899

    Spokane, WA 99228

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: KTU Plumbing is engaged in suspicious billing practices and I think they should be investigated. . I called them out for inspection and maintenance of heaters in 2 duplex units of a building that I own in Spokane. The tech couldn't find the keybox for one unit and didn't bother asking the teenager in the other unit if the parent was home (he was). I was able to get him the location of the keybox but only apparently as he was just leaving. He just billed me for time and then left. So I called to reschedule but didn't get confirmation. Tech went anyway, reported filters need changed but didn't change them. Why not, I have no idea. I ended up paying another handyman to change the filters. So I got an invoice for time on 2 trips, no actual work done other than an inspection report. They billed me for travel to and from the duplex and when I called to dispute the invoice, they credited me an hour back. I would like to know if they are also billing their previous and next client at the same time, double billing trip charges. When I balked at that and asked to speak to the owner, he refused to take my call. The receptionist criticized my tenant and then hung up on me. I believe the 2nd trip could have been avoided with better communication and I would like another $90 credit for a wasted hour of their labor (at this point I'm not even asking for credit for my time spent trying to manage them). And I do think an investigation into plumbing repair company billing practices is needed as this is the 2nd similar incident we've seen (the other is Bulldog, also in Spokane).

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a credit of $90.00 toward invoice 39218.

Business Response:

First of all, we are not KTU Plumbing, they moved out 10 years ago and we are KTU of Spokane, Inc..  Our company installs and repairs commercial and residential HVAC equipment. 

Mr. ***** called our company to have a service done on the furnace of a vacant unit and he gave me a lockbox code which was written on the dispatch ticket for the technician.  Mr. ***** also requested since we were there if we could check out his other unit as well.  (This unit had a tenant living there.)  When my technician got there the lockbox would not work.  Our technician called Mr ***** twice and left him a message.  Mr. ***** called him back and asked our technician to wait so he could find out why the lockbox would not work.  In the mean time, our technician went to the unit with the tenant in it so he could get started on one of them since he had other calls to go to after this.

The technician knocked several time on the unit with the tenant and no one would answer.  There was a teenage girl there but she would not open the door which was understandable.  Our technician waited 45 min to an hour because Mr ***** asked him to sit tight.  Finally, I had to send him on other calls because Mr ***** had not called back.  I called Mr ***** back to reschedule the job and he seemed fine with it and told me that he found out that the lockbox had been moved to the back porch and the tenant was sleeping on the couch and that is why he did not answer the door.  That is how the first service call went and Mr ***** was charged for 45 minutes @ $67.50 plus tax.

The second call was a couple days later.  The vacant unit had been remodeled and someone had boxed the furnace in and had put drywall 12 inches from the furnace and the technician could not even get in to the furnace.  Our technician went to the unit with the tenant and the furnace was so dirty with hair and mold in the return air drop and base can of the furnace.  The cat was also urinating on it and actually sprayed on it when our technician was there trying to work on it.  This furnace needed an igniter, which had to be ordered from the factory because the furnace was so old.  The ammonia smell from the cat was overwhelming.  The tenant stated he does not use the furnace and had been using space heaters so he wasn't worried about it.  The mold needs to be removed by people who are trained to do that.  Both of these furnaces need to be replace because neither one of them meet code requirements.

We charged Mr. ***** $135.00 plus tax for 1.5 hours which is 45 minutes at each unit plus drive time.  We do charge drive time and our service call fee is $85.00 an hour which starts at the time we head to the job.  Mr. ***** states we charged him drive time when we left, which is not true.  I credited him an hour before I even mailed the bill to him. 

Our invoice ***** was the charge of $67.50 plus tax for the 45 minutes and invoice ***** between 2 service calls was $135.00 plus tax for 1 1/2 hours. 

We didn't get any work done because he could not get into the units the first time when we were out and that was not our fault.  The lockbox would not work and the tenant would not come to the door.

The second call we could not get to the one furnace because of it being dry walled in and the other one needs to be cleaned by a hazmat crew.

Mr. ***** made the statement that the urine and mold situation was none of my business, but it is my business when my technician's health is concerned.  The tenant was not criticized over this we were just making him aware of what was going on.

Mr ***** is a landlord and does not live here and does not seem to know what is going on with his units.  We did the best we could with the situation.  We have already gave Mr ***** a credit and will not give him another credit. 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on K T U of Spokane, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart