BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

HVAC Contractor - Residential
HVAC Contractor - Commercial
AC Services and Repair in the Tri-Cities, WA
Heat Pump Installation
Heating and Air Conditioning Repair and Installation
Trane Equipment
GeoThermal Equipment
Aeroseal Duct Sealing
AC Repair and Service
Full Electrical Service
Gas/Electric Fireplace Repair and Install


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dayco Heating and Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dayco Heating and Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dayco Heating and Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 05, 1997 Business started: 05/01/1985 in WA Business started locally: 05/01/1985 Business incorporated: 02/26/1990 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Labor and Industries WA State
901 N Monroe St Ste 100, Spokane WA 99201
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (509) 324-2600

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Bonetta Day, President, Treasurer, Chairman Mr. Ken Day, VP Of Retro Operations, Director Mr. Terry L. Day, Vice President, Secretary, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Bonetta Day, President, Treasurer, Chairman
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Air Duct Cleaning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial

Products & Services

Dayco Heating and Air Conditioning sells the following brand(s): Napoleon Fireplaces, Trane, Water Furnace

Dayco Heating and Air Conditioning offers the following product(s): Electrical, Miscellaneous Trade Products, Panel Boxes, Sheetmetal

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
American Express
Checks
Cash
Financing Available
Refund and Exchange Policy
No refunds on electrical or HVAC Parts over the counter.  New Trane systems are backed with a 10-12 year warranty plus Dayco Heating, Air & Electrical provides a labor warranty.
Alternate Business Names
Dayco Heating & Air Cond. A Division of Inc Dayco Heating, Air, and Electrical
Licensing

Washington State DAYCOI*107LO General  DaycoI*961QE Electrical; Oregon CCB 81502


Additional Locations

  • 11 N Auburn St

    Kennewick, WA 99336 (509) 586-9464

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dayco installed our hvac and electrical. We still have outlets that have no power. We still havea room that is always 10 degrees hotter than the rest of the house despite the extra hole in the ceiling they insisted despite our requests to not do it. Now I'm stuck with an additional unsightly hole in the ceiling and no improvement.

Desired Settlement: I want all of our money back that we paid for dayco to screw up our brand new 400k house.

Business Response: Dayco has responded to Mr. **** ***** every time he has complained about something.  


The outlets Mr. ***** has complained about is a blank switch that would go to a ceiling fan, if the customer chose a lighted style, in the case the homeowner chooses one.  The plug ins that are installed in the home are required by code for child safety.  We have no complaints about outlets not working.  

The room that Mr. ***** declares hotter  than the other rooms (10 degrees) is on the heat gain side of the house and Dayco added a return air in that room to allow more air to come into the room.  The return air (the "unsightly hole has a grill over it and hooks to the furnace like all return airs)and will suck the hot air out and bring more cooling into the room as long as the thermostat is calling for cooling and the fan is running.  The standard fix for a warmer room is to run the fan on the furnace during the hot season.  Mr. ***** agreed with Terry Day that the return air worked on June 5th and the family room was within  3 degrees of the thermostat which was the goal.  They have chosen not to run the fan so when the thermostat is not calling and the air conditioning is not on, the heat will build up in the room with sun.  The fix is there by running the fan. 

Before we knew of this complaint, we had already contacted Lexar to see if they would buy a fan.  The *****s' chose to buy the fan and we offered  to install the electrical for no charge because they did not want to run the furnace fan and we already had that scheduled on June 11.  According to all of our notes (see attached) and documents, the air has been balanced and sized, the heat pump is working fine and all is really well.  We have not ruined his home or is HVAC in anyway. 

We find this complaint very unnecessary and the statements are very misconstrued.

SEE LOGGED IN NOTES:

Mr. ***** also refused to talk to any of the 40 people that worked here and only wanted to talk to the owner.  The owner was out of state at the time but did return his call while being gone.

Business Response: 2nd response from biz, to attach offer Dayco sent to Bowens.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9050673, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I would like to ammend my complaint as such: After working with ***** ***, my thought is that he truly wants to run a customer friendly business.  I still feel as though there is work to do with some of ***co's employees that I have dealt with in the past; I fear they may not necessarily share the same vision that ***** has for his company which is sad but nevertheless I am very satisfied with the outcome and the dligence that ***** displayed in resolving the matter.  I wish to have my statements regarding the company reflect positive; now having the comfort that ***** will hopefully follow up with some of his employees to further improve operations and having the comfort of knowing that my issues are resolved to my satisfaction. 

Regards,

 **** *****