BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Company offers heating and air conditioning sales, service and repair. In addition, company also cleans ductwork and services gas, electric and oil heaters. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cougar Mechanical meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cougar Mechanical include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cougar Mechanical
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 29, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1997 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1997 Business incorporated: 01/01/2005 in WA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State, Corporations Divison
801 Capitol Way South, P.O. Box 40234, Olympia WA 98504-0234
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: 360-753-7115
Fax Number: 360-664-8781

Department of Revenue Washington State
Department of Revenue ( Public Records Division), PO Box 47478, Olympia WA 98504-7477
http://dor.wa.gov/content/Home/Default.aspx
Phone Number: 800-647-7706

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Katie Yockey, Manager/Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Katie Yockey, Manager/Owner
Principal: Mr. Monte Yockey, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Fireplaces Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment Furnace Cleaning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Quality Service

Alternate Business Names
Yockey Enterprises, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 3818 E Joseph Ave Ste A

    Spokane, WA 99217 (509) 484-6420

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (509) 484-6475 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2013, we contacted Cougar about our heat pump and furnace, requesting a technician come to check on the system under the warranty, as we were hearing strange noises coming from the heat pump. The woman we spoke to said that she would send a technician out and that if any work was needed, he would discuss it with us at the end of the visit. At no time during that conversation did she mention that there would be a charge of any kind for this visit, nor that the technician would do work while he was here without first receiving permission to do so. The day the technician was here, he arrived and stated that he did not know why he had been sent to our home. I explained what was going on and that he was supposed to let us know if there was anything that needed to be done and showed him to where our furnace and heat pump were. The next thing I knew, the technician said he was done and that the charge for the visit was $120. I stated that we had not been told of the charge and that he was only supposed to tell us if there was any work that needed to be completed. He stated that they always charge for a visit and that I needed to sign his form stating that they had been to our home. Later that afternoon I realized that our spare furnace filter was gone and I immediately contacted Cougar and asked about the charge for the visit and about our filter. She ended up being the same one that scheduled our visit, and said that she had told us about the charge for the visit, and said that she would contact the technician regarding our filter and would get back to me. I explained to her that I was very unhappy about this, as it was a spare filter we had just received and that the filter that the technician had removed was only weeks old, and nowhere near needing to be replaced. When several hours had passed and I had not heard about the filter, I called a second time and was told that they would tell us more about it the next day as she had still not talked to the technician and was unsure as to why it had been replaced and where our filter had gone. We eventually learned that the technician felt that the filter need to be replaced but had not discussed this with us nor did he mention it upon leaving. The company did still have our filter but any attempts I have made to try to get that filter back have gone unanswered, however, they were very engaged in sending several bills to us trying to charge for this now infamous visit. I have gone so far as to contact the owner, and received a call several weeks after I sent him a letter, but have not received any response from him since returning his call. The last contact we received was in December. If you would like, I can provide you with a copy of the letter I mailed to Cougar in December.

Desired Settlement: We would like the filter they removed from our home without permission or notice back, and would like them to ensure that we are not charged for the visit as a charge/service was never mentioned prior to the technician requesting payment.

Business Response: This is in response to ********* ********* complaint.  Many of the facts are incorrect in her complaint.  ***** left two messages for a callback.  One to *********'s husband because he was the one that scheduled the maintenance call and one to ********* immediately after we received the letter.  We have not received a call back from Stepahnie ******* to date.  However, when her husband booked the call he scheduled to have the heatpump and furnace mainteanance completed.  He even discussed how often this should be done and I indicated once a year.   However,  we do not have an issue with providing this service a complimentary for the first year, which is what ***** was going to agree to once he received a call back from *********.  We still have her old filter here at the office and she is welcome to come and get it.  Our address is **** **** ******. 

Consumer Response:

I do not want to get into a pissing match of sorts with Cougar, but there are inaccuracies with their response.  I received a message from ***** ****** on 12/16/13 at 12:21 pm, asking me to call him back on his cell phone.  I called him back a few days later during my lunch break from my work phone.  In the message I left him, I suggested that it may be easier for us to speak via e-mail, as I had just started a new job and generally would be unable to answer any calls from him during the work day.  That message was the last communication between us, as I never heard back from him.  
I don't know that I am actually not accepting the response from Cougar, but chose this option more because it did not seem as if they really proposed a solution in their response.  If they are still willing to agree to continue to not bill us for the October visit, and we can get our filter that was wrongfully removed from our home, then I will accept that and will consider our complaint to be resolved. However, if they decide that they will instead be charging us or will not return our filter then I will not consider the complaint to be resolved.  
additionally, while Cougar provided their address in their response, they did not provide the days and hours during which we can come to pick up our filter, including any times that the office may be closed (for lunch, breaks, etc...) If clarification of these actions by Cougar can be guaranteed, then I will consider this claim to be closed.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]


BBB:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]

Regards,

********* *******

Business Response:

Yes, you are able to pickup your filter at **** **** ****** Ste A and yes we have waived the service of your furnace fee. 

If you have any further questions, please feel free to call me at the office at ###-####.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Cougar Mechanical for routine maintenance on our air conditioner and heater. We were told we would need specially ordered filters for our heater, we would be contacted when they arrived to install them; that was 20 May 2013, we paid $431.54 and as of 16 June 2013 we have not received our filters. Additionally, due to the cooler temperatures this week we turned our heater on. The heater is now loud, sputters and sounds like we have motorcycles revving their engines in our home. My husband has called the company several times the past two weeks, asked for the owner to call him and no one is returning our calls.

Desired Settlement: We would like a partial refund for the heater maintenance as it appears our air conditioner is working properly. We desire to use a different company to fix this error so that this situation does not turn into a health problem or do permanent damage to our existing heaters. We'd like to use a company who cares about their customer service enough to call us back.

Business Response:

Cougar Mechanical was in touch with Mr. Maple last week to schedule for a technician to come out and review the situation.  The customer was taking a test and declined the service and has not called to reschedule.  The customer paid for the yearly maintenance of their HVAC equipment and the filters were not included in the price.   However, we will be happy to get the customer his special filters.   We will not pay for another company to fix the air conditioners; however, we will be happy to have our technician check out the situation.  If the equipment malfunction is related to the service completed in May then there will be no charge.  However, any parts that need to be replaced are not related to the yearly maintenance and will be the customer's financial responsibility for our flat rate for the repair.  

Please let us know how the customer would like to proceed.

Thank you~

 

 

Business Response: As indicated in the first response, we would be happy to come and see what the issue is with the heater and if it's related to maintenance than there would be no charge.  However, if it's not related to the maintenance than this would be a billable charge.  We are not willing to provide a refund for the service of the furnace because we have not had the opportunity to evaluate the situation.   We attempted to schedule an appointment with a return call; however, the service was declined and no return call was made to reschedule the appointment. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9585110, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me at this time.  Cougar Mechanical is scheduled to look at the furnace in question this afternoon.


Regards,

Tammie Maple




BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1