Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Andy's Heating & Cooling LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (208) 772-4570 Fax: (208) 762-5628 View Additional Phone Numbers 7800 N Government Way, Dalton Gdns, ID 83815 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Andy's Heating & Cooling LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Andy's Heating & Cooling LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1989 Business started: 04/01/1972 in ID Business started locally: 04/01/1972 Business incorporated 01/17/2003 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Secretary of State
700 West Jefferson Room E205, Boise ID 83720
Phone Number: 208-334-2300

Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses
700 West State Street, Boise ID 83702
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233
Fax Number: (208) 334-3945

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Andy Sims, Manager Mr. Eric Barnett, Ops Manager Mrs. Nancy Sims, Owner - retiring Mr. Wendell Sims, Owner - retiring
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Sims, Manager
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Fireplace Equipment - Retail Fireplaces Stoves - Wood, Coal Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment

Alternate Business Names
Andy's Heating Cooling and Stove Shoppe

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Andy's Heating & Cooling LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7800 N Government Way

    Dalton Gdns, ID 83815 (208) 772-4570

  • PO Box 980

    Hayden, ID 83835 (208) 265-9890 (208) 772-6464


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We contacted Andy's approximately two months ago to replace a gas fireplace with an equivalent unit, upgrade the material in the bottom with decorative stones, and change the brass door accents to bronze. Instead of installing an equivalent 24-inch, 65,000 BTU unit, they installed an 18-inch, 55,000 BTU unit and the new bronze accents on the doors were scratched. After speaking to Andy, he agreed to resolve the issue, but after over 2 weeks, no change has been made, we are without any doors on our fireplace, and we have not been able to reach him despite having left several messages. What should have been a straightforward cycle has now dragged on for months and is by far the worst service I have ever gotten from a company of this type. How this place has an A+ rating is beyond me!

Desired Settlement: I would like this job finished according to the specs requested and agreed upon within 3 business days, at or below the agreed upon price of no more than $1200. At this point, I feel they should, in some way, go above and beyond to make things right given the absolute poor service we've received.

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a purchase for a Quadra Fire Wood burning stove on a special sale Andy's was having approximately 2 years ago. I asked many questions before selecting my purchase in regard to its performance and installation requirements. I was told by the sales prep that the stove I was purchasing would be adequate and I had all the necessary requirements i.e. stove pipe/chimney size and height. After less than 9 months of use I notice that the stove was burning too hot and I was unable to control the heat with the built in dampeners. I went back to Andy's and was given a new door seal rope to replace the existing and a new door handle. The existing handle and rope were not sealing properly and seemed to be defective. After installation nothing had changed. I called Andy's and they said to bring it in...this is not an option as the stove weighs nearly 500 lbs. I was told they would send out a technician to have him take a look at it. Here lies one of the problems and the reason for my complaint. I was never told I would be charged a service call, I assumed that because the stove was still under warranty that the visit would be covered. The service tech arrived on time and spent nearly one hour looking at the stove but mainly chatting with me about my dog. No reasonable conclusion could be met for the fix of the stove the tech also called Quadra Fire directly to see it they had any solution. I was told that my chimney was too tall for this stove and their solution would be to put in a dampener on the stove pipe itself. I was also told by the tech that the catalytic's can be part of the problem as well and should be removed however "you didn't here that from me" he said. After a week or so and no resolve to the problem I received a bill in the mail for the service call plus mileage and purchase of a 8" dampener (which I have never received). I had called several times and spoke with several employee's and explained I have gotten no satisfaction and a stove that no longer works properly. I told them I was never told there would be a service charge for their visit and feel that I should not have to pay for that as my stove was still under warranty. If bringing in the stove to the shop was an option I would have done that but at 500 lbs and being only one man that simple was not going to happen. After many months and several phone calls I have given up on Andy's Heating for resolving this issue. I feel I was sold an inadequate product and given lip service in order to make the sale. I have spoke with other friends and family members who have also made similar purchases from Andy's and have similar complaints to both service and product line. I will never recommend anyone purchase anything from Andy's Heating. A little more communication could go a long way and make the difference between a satisfied customer and a very dissatisfied one.

Desired Settlement: I would ask that the current amount owed for the service all, mileage, and dampener (that I never received ) be dissolved. I want nothing further to do with Andy's Heating and I want them to stop billing me. I have worked with Quadra Fire directly to have my issue resolved.

Business Response:

We are the largest Quadra Fire Dealer last year within 300 miles and have sold Quadra-Fire for over 20 years. We strive to maintain the highest level of customer satisfaction with our products and have a 99.7% satisfaction rating with Quadra-Fire. We have sales and  installation crews that are factory trained with over 40 years of experience. In looking over the customers complaint we would like to address his issues.    *** **** purchased a stove and picked it up at our store and installed it himself.  When he first contacted us he was concerned about not getting the longer burn times.  He thought the door had an issue with either the gasket or door handle assembly.  We provided him a new rope gasket kit with adhesive and door handle assembly at no charge. He contacted us again and was still having a problem not getting the overnight burn times he wanted.  Which is abnormal with that stove, we have sold that model for over twenty years and burn times have never been an issue.  At that point he wanted us to look at it.  We didn’t install it and he lives 45 minutes from the shop. Our policy is and always has been if we don’t install it and there is a problem not due to the stove we charge for the service call. He agreed so we set up a time for our service tech (***) to go onsite and visit his house and check out the stove. Upon inspecting the stove everything was in good working order and functioning like it was designed.  *** then called the factory from *** ****’s house.  They had him check chimney height and upon inspecting the chimney it was pointed out that his chimney is above recommended height by the factory.  They suggested a cast iron damper in the pipe to slow down the draft since he had such a tall chimney.  At that point our service tech and *** **** agreed we he would order a cast iron damper for the chimney and *** **** agreed to pick it up at our store. 

The last thing we want is an unhappy customer. We felt we were in the right to charge for our time since we didn’t install it and it was over drafting due to  chimney height. At this point we would just like to put this behind us and move forward. We will close out the service call.  

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Andy's Heating & Cooling LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart