BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Washington, North Idaho and Montana

BBB Accredited Business since

Central Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (406) 245-5424 1428 1/2 Grand Ave, Billings, MT 59102 http://www.centralheatingandairmt.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Central Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Central Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Central Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 24, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1945 in MT Business started locally: 01/01/1945 Business under new ownership as of: 11/29/2010 Business incorporated: 01/23/1981 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Montana Secretary of State
State Capital 2nd Floor Room 260, Helena MT 59601
Phone Number: 406-444-2034
sos@mt.gov

Department of Labor & Industry
1805 Prospect Ave, Helena MT 59624
Phone Number: 406-444-2840
dliquestions@mt.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Leonard Earnst, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leonard Earnst, Owner
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Sheet Metal Work Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Heating Equipment


Additional Locations

  • 1428 1/2 Grand Ave

    Billings, MT 59102 (406) 245-5424

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company says on their website that they guarantee their work and service. They have come out to my house twice and said the problem was fixed. They were going to charge me for both times coming out instead of making it right. They are just taking your money and NOT fixing the problem. If you use this company, you will be sorry. They are not credible and DO NOT know what they are doing. (The owner is the one who claims he fixed our problem). I also have many friends who have had bad experiences. If he doesn't think he can fix the problem because our system is too old than he needs to quit trying. He says that our system is too old and that they can't fix it. On their website, it says they fix all makes and models of air conditioning units. Save yourself some money and use a different company! We know we will!

Desired Settlement: I want the $388.00 that I paid for them to fix our air conditioning unit. They say they fixed it two times and put freeon in it knowing that there was a leak. That is illegal in the first place and we didn't want to just keep filling the freeon, we wanted them to fix the leak. Their parts are guaranteed for a year, yet they already seem to not be working. Both times fixes lasted only for about a month each.

Business Response:

On 8/03/12 service technician ***** went to customers house and replaced a thermostat and added 2 lbs of refrigerant.  He did try to tighten the "quick connect" fittings at the outdoor unit, but did not charge for or perform any other leak repair.  Leak repairs can be very expensive, so ***** trying to tighten the fittings was his way of trying to stop or slow down the leak.   This is not an unusual practice considering the age of the unit,  nor is it illegal because of the small amount of refrigerant that this system holds.  On 6/11/13, customer called and said that system was not working I (*****) myself went to diagnose system.  I found system to be low on refrigerant and the source of leak were the "quick connect" fittings at the outdoor unit.  The customers husband had tried to seal leak by coating fittings with a tar like substance.  I waived our diagnostic charge of $75 and gave the customer the price for repair.  The customer complained that we should warranty the work, so I explained to her that we did not perform or charge for a leak repair, and the fact that the refrigerant leaked out again was not something that is covered under warranty.  At that point she still seemed dissatisfied so I told her that I would credit her from my repair bill the amount that she was charged for the refrigerant last year.  At that point we agreed on a repair price.

I then performed the repair, cut out old connections and brazed in new, installed liquid line filter dryer, pressure tested system, pulled vacuum and recharged the system with new refrigerant.  As I was finishing, the maintenance man for the mobile home park came over to me at the customers request and  asked to see the old and new bills, I showed them to him and explained the situation and the credits that I had given. He asked if I would warranty all the work, I explained that since we never performed or charged for a leak repair that we could not cover under warranty.  He then asked if I would not charge her to allow for her pain and suffering because she had to go without air conditioning, at that point I agreed to deduct another $100 from the repair bill.

On Sunday 7/21/13 the customers husband called our answering service and said that the air conditioner was not working again,  ***** was the service technician on call that weekend.  The customer told ***** that their system was under warranty for one year, ***** explained that what would be covered under warranty would be the components that had been replaced and the labor for those components.  The customers husband said he would call ***** back if he wanted for him to come out.  We never received another call from customer only a complaint with the BBB on Monday 7/22/13.

I have not been asked to diagnose the system nor have I seen a repair invoice from another HVAC company stating our work to be the cause for the lack of cooling on 7/21/13.  It is unfortunate that this person is still having issues with her air conditioner, however the system is beyond the life expectancy of the manufacturer, which was explained at the time of repair.  She stated that she did not want to replace because she only expected to be in the house approximately two more years.

 

Consumer Response:

When Central Heating and Air conditioning was called to come out in August of 2012, they were called to fix the problem. ***** told us that they could not fix our system because they didn't make parts for it anymore. He then proceeded to add 4 lbs of R22 and R22 using superheat/subcool. We did not wish to have this done, knowing that there was a leak. We wanted the problem fixed not prolonged. Of course ***** did not charge us to have it fixed, because he had told us that it could NOT be fixed. On 6/10/13, I called the business again telling them that I needed them to come out and fix the problem because the first technician did not do what I asked of them. When Lenny came out to my house, he told me that the problem could be fixed he just needed to get his parts in and that he would be over the next day. (How could the system not be fixed last year, but could be this year?) On 6/11/2013 Lenny and a trainee came out to my house to fix the leak. Lenny put 3 new parts on and told me that each part has a one year warranty. I did not complain that they should warranty the work, I just wanted to make sure that they were going to stand by their work. They insisted that they would. Their website, http://www.centralheatingandairmt.com/index.html, states that satisfaction is guaranteed, and that they fix ALL makes and models. It also says that they offer the highest quality of installation, service, and repair of heating and cooling systems. I have experienced TWICE that none of this is true. I had my husband call in regards for me because I have not received the guaranteed service offered to me. This company is lying for gain, and for this reason, I felt that I may get through to them if my husband called. He called this last Sunday and asked them about coming out to repair the problem for a third time. The technician on call gave him a quote of $112.00 just to come out to our home. My husband told him that he needed to discuss that with me and would give him a call back. After discussing it with me, we decided that this company is not worth our time or money anymore. Why would we pay them to come out and look at the problem again when we already know that they are incapable of fixing it? They say that it is because our system is old...It still puts out air and heat, just not A/C air. Our system works, this company just can't outsmart it. (Remember they say that they service ALL makes and models). For example, a car can still work if the A/C is not working, even if the car is old, there is still the option of fixing the A/C. Therefore, it is NOT the car that is the overall problem. The air in our house still works, it just doesn't get cold.The maintenance man in the court here came over to make sure that this company was doing for me what they told me they were doing. Since my husband was gone I needed some reassurance since they couldn't seem to do their job the last time they came by (8/2012).  The maintenance man never asked if they would warranty the work. He just confirmed that the parts had a warranty because that is what they had told me. He was only there to confirm what I was told. We did not call back for the reason being that this company is unable to stand by their work. We have not called another HVAC company because we have not decided what the next step would be. It's frustrating to keep throwing away your money to companies that abuse you. They say they want you to call them back, yet they don't stand behind their work. Supposedly the leak had been fixed but our A/C problem has proved otherwise. My husband and I are extremely unsatisfied and would not refer this company to anyone. We will be sure to help our friends, neighbors, and family know that their problems will only worsen with this company, and we will be sure not to recommend them to anyone. We want our $388.00 refunded for them not doing the job that Lenny reassured us would be fixed. In less than 5 weeks it did not work anymore. Last year it didn't even last for 4 weeks. This is such a disappointment. [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved] Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9631510, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.] Regards, ******** ***********