BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southfield, Serving Eastern Michigan & the U.P.

BBB Accredited Business since

Majic Window Company, Inc.

Phone: (248) 668-9090 Fax: (248) 668-2464 View Additional Phone Numbers 30580 Beck Rd, Wixom, MI 48393 http://www.majicwindow.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company describes it's products or services as fiberglass windows, blown in insulation, seamless siding, acrylic tub walkin bathtubs, and shower enclosures

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Majic Window Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Majic Window Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 34 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 27
Total Closed Complaints 34

Additional Complaint Information

The BBB met with the firm in April 2007 to discuss its complaints. The firm demonstrated a willingness to work with the BBB on any matters presented by the BBB.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 11, 1997 Business started: 02/01/1997 in MI Business started locally: 02/01/1997 Business incorporated: 02/07/1997 in MI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Licensing & Regulatory Affairs (f/k/a Department of Labor and Economic Growth)
P.O. Box 30018, Lansing MI 48909
Phone Number: (517) 241-9288

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Allen Brooks, General Manager
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Siding Contractors Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Floor Materials - Retail Organizing Services - Household & Business

Products & Services

Majic Window Company, Inc. offers the following product(s): Walkin Bathtubs, Blown in Insulation

Alternate Business Names
Majic Window & Bath
Industry Tips

When making any home improvement, the BBB suggests that you obtain all terms of the contract in writing, including, but not limited to: dates when the project is to be started and completed; warranties and guarantees regarding the product and workmanship; and any other terms that you want expressed with the manner in which the job is to be performed.

Industry Tips
Contracts Home Improvement Comment

Additional Locations

  • 30580 Beck Rd

    Wixom, MI 48393 (248) 668-9090 (888) 776-2542 (734) 762-9090

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (734) 762-9090(Phone)
  • (888) 776-2542(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brick above my sliding glass door that they installed is falling down.wood veneer is pealing

Desired Settlement: we want it fixed

Business Response: Dear **** *********


The ************* order was installed on November 2nd of 2005. They first called about a problem on June 6th of this year and we sent a technician out on June 13th. After the inspection we have scheduled the crew that originally installed their order to return on 7/5/13. Our service manager ******* spoke with the Mr. yesterday and scheduled this. Anything that Majic is at fault for we will address and fix like we always do with our customers.

Thank you,

***** ** ******

General Manager 

Majic Window Company

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Installation was hurried, sloppy and incomplete. There was no clean-up whatsoever done by workmen (interior AND exterior of my house was left with insulation bits, wood chips, nails, vinyl, etc.). Moldings and caulking need to be taken down, stripped and re-done. Installation personnel were incompetent, rude and uncooperative. Company is offering an unreasonably long time period for correction of problems. They wanted original installers to return, but they are unwelcome in my home after this debacle, and due to their rudeness. Two windows were incorrectly ordered (wrong shape), outside screen door for sliding door wall was dented and screen was ripped, making completion date even later (all had to be re-ordered). High-pressure salesman/part-owner lied about location of window manufacturing (stated their windows are made in Ohio USA; they are made in Canada). Product is over-priced. Installers used extremely toxic-smelling caulk that forced me to keep windows open for ventilation in fairly cold weather at night, as it was hard to breathe for two days after their first attempt at installation. Also, the stress of dealing with such incompetent and rude workers who did no clean-up (along with the open windows and strong odor) was likely instrumental in my developing bronchitis one day later. Due to my illness and to their lack of willingness/ability to satisfactorily finish the job, my house remains a mess. I am obviously a very dissatisfied customer, and would NEVER recommend this company to anyone!

Desired Settlement: After contacting my attorney and learning that, by law, I am required to give this company a chance to correct their work, I am forced to state that I want the job completed to my full satisfaction in all areas ASAP. I should receive a full refund. I want a partial refund of $2,500 for misrepresentation and added cost of clean-up and carpentry work due to their ineptitude. (I paid interest in the amount of $2,000 when there was NO INTEREST charged by financier ******** *****

Business Response: Dear **** *********


I have had three conversations with ******** ******** since she first sent your office the complaint. I have sent my service technician to her home to inspect all of her installation issues. We have compiled a plan of action which will include installing her last two windows, touching up some caulk replacing some molding to her liking etc. I did also explain to her about who manufacture our windows and where they are manufactured, I also showed her information on our website that supports that. I gave her a customer satisfaction credit of $500 which will be handed to her in a check on Wednesday in exchange for a signed finance completion. We also went over the fees for financing that are charged for specific loans. I believe as of Wednesday any and all issues will be resolved. Any questions please feel free to contact me.

Thank you,

***** ** ******
General Manager
Majic Window Company

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased bathroom wainscotting for a specific scheduled install date. Less than 24 hours before installation, Majic cancelled the appointment because their worker had car trouble. They then scheduled us for 2 weeks later from the scheduled install date. This left us with a major problem because we had other people scheduled immediately after to do other work on our bathroom. I called Majic and complained and was told "there is nothing we can do; things like this are out of our control". We then made other arrangements and no longer needed their service due to their poor scheduling and worker problems. Their customer service was atrocious and i have now spoken with ***** ****** (general manager) and he says he will keep our $300 deposit and will hold us indebted for the additional $1200 because we broke our contract. This is not how you keep customers happy. BTW, we had new windows and a bathtub surround installed with same company previously, so repeat customers mean nothing to them.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $300 deposit back because of the poor service and scheduling conflicts. These problems were caused by Majic, not me. It was not my fault.

Business Response: Dear Mrs. ********,


Mr. ******* is correct that Majic had to cancel his installation due to a problem with our installers vehicle. This was a situation that we could not foresee and we did call 24 hours in advance to reschedule. We have customers cancel every week due to unforeseen situations and we understand that things like this sometimes happen. When I spoke to Mr. ******* I apologized and explained just that, I also explained having to reschedule an appointment is not a valid reason to void a contract. He made it clear that he decided to have other work done instead. As I also explained to him that we have his materials in our warehouse. He is still under contract and his $300 deposit does not even cover the cost of the material. I explained to Mr. ******* I would be forwarding his information to our legal department for enforcement of his contract which has been done. I am willing to allow Mr. ******* to cancel but only if he forfeits his deposit to go toward the cost of the materials. I believe this to be more than fair considering that his materials are in excess of $1,000. He refused this also.

Thank you,

***** ** ******
General Manager
Majic Window Company  

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.

Better Business Bureau:

I am accepting Mr. Brooks' offer to keep our $300 deposit and consider this situation closed.  Please keep our window and tub enclosure purchases unchanged.

 

****** *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/30/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/14/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2012 Delivery Issues
4/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/29/2012 Delivery Issues
1/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service